Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Copthorne Hotel Sheffield 4 stars

Bramall Lane, Sheffield, S2 4SU, United Kingdom

#6 of 28 hotels in Sheffield

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1877 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Perfect one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy beds and blackout curtains so a very good night's sleep. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent value for money. Definitely recommend this hotel and will stay there again when in Shefffield.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable just needs a few twirks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv needs to be higher up. Needs a,magnifying mirror in the bathroom. The lighting in the bathroom is shocking to put makeup on instead of down lighting it needs to light the whole room. The window in our room didn't open and it was very dirty outside. Need more plug sockets.

    Very spacious and clean great wardrobe space very pleasant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    check in was great and the whole service was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    was surprised i couldn't get a plug adapter, to borrow, from reception...........my plugs are CH and forgot my UK adapter

    check in was great and the whole service was good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    A potentially great stay was spoilt by a few issues that we would not expect from a Copthorne Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby bar had run out of soya milk for coffee, and run out of fruit for a Pimms. Table was dirty. Still could not get soya milk at breakfast the following morning.

    Room was clean, spacious with good amenities.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.8
    comfy bed
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of accessible power points in room. Hotel over priced for location and type of accommodation. Unfriendly and unhelpful reception. Over priced drinks.

    comfy bed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.8
    Nice room was a good size
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lication was in a very run down area literally next door to football ground cant imagine what it would be like in match day.breakfast very poor cooked food was lukewarm at best several items were not available such as meats/cheese.several of the staff at breakfast were rude and unhelpful.

    Nice room was a good size

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Size of the room was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The layout of the room wasn’t good . The only plugs near a mirror are by the desk which is then a tight squeeze to get to the mirror. There are 2 full length mirrors with no lights near so they are no use when getting ready. Staff weren’t very friendly when we were checking in. Came across as a bit rude

    Size of the room was good. Lots of space

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    The staff were friendly and very helpful
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we had to leave earlier than intended due to surcumbstances that was beyond our control and no refund

    The staff were friendly and very helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    We found the hotel comfortable, relaxing and convenient.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Temperature adjustment for the shower proved not to work. Bath water fine. Shower water scalding hot. I reported it to the staff when I checked out.

    Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel with peaceful environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit far from shopping place.

    The room is spacious, clean with comfy bed. Breakfast is excellent . Staffs are great and friendly . Overall hotel is exceed our expectation.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    4.6
    Poor twin bed room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor twin bed room. Booked single room, expected double bed. Sink blocked wouldn't drain. Not located in a nice area, right next door to Sheffield FC. Given the area I was nervous about leaving my car in the car park which offered little protection from the street. Poor menu.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    We were down foe the HRH C.R.O.W.S. concert on the Saturday and Sunday. We didn't do anything else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As far as the hotel is concerned... NOTHING. It was a bit of a trek walking into the city centre. There is not really anything more to tell as everything was great. A great room on the 7th floor which overlooked Sheffield United's ground. Very friendly staff. We didn't make use of the facilities as we had other plans for the weekend.

    The room was exceptionally large, bigger then some other places I've stayed in. Before going I phoned to ask if we could check in early, there was no problem with this. When I checked in on the Saturday, it was the same person I had spoken with of the Friday. She remembered me and even called me by my first name. How brilliant is that, she was really nice and friendly. We even all had a laugh when somehow I managed to misplace the room key, while still in the reception area (She will remember this) And I've still not found it. A total mystery?

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.5
    Cleanliness and pleasant staff, water and cans of pop in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough plugs, bit dark by the mirror, being in a club room suppose to get a newspaper didn’t arrive was suppose to get bar snacks with the voucher for free drinks but there was no mention on the voucher and we were only told about the drinks, it didn’t feel like a 4 star hotel to us we have stayed in better 3 star for less money, also the breakfast on first morning was look warm, didn’t realise it was right next to football stadium so arriving on Saturday there wasn’t many places to park

    Cleanliness and pleasant staff, water and cans of pop in fridge, also it having a safe, comfy bed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Very comfortable city centre stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were lucky to get the last parking space though it could be we could have used the large Bramall Lane football club car park next door.

    Nice large rooms. Spotless bathroom. Quiet even though in city centre.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    4.6
    Drunk football fans all over the reception, drunk football...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drunk football fans all over the reception, drunk football fans trying to be intimidating in the lift, when we finally got to our room through the sea of drunk football idiots, we walked into a room that a young lady was staying in on her own, she was terrified. So back down to reception through the sea of drunk football idiots to tell the staff they have double booked us and we have just terrified the life out of another guest by bursting into the room on her. Received 2 complimentary drinks for the mess about. Hopefully they refunded the poor girl we walked in on.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Can't wait to come back. I am booking again to come soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was really friendly. It's always nice to be greated in a friendly manner at check in. Makes you feel welcomed. Even when I called house keeping they were so quick to respond to my request. Check out at 12 is perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Helpfulness of staff shone out, and was a highlight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were able to check in early! Room was clean and comfortable. Staff really helpful and efficient. Restaurant staff took an interest in our travel, and gave local information, getting us to the correct bus stop etc.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    WE were quoted £77 per room with B & B we did the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Costing the price per room it indicated initially on the website and through the transaction. not changing at the end when taken the card details

    WE were quoted £77 per room with B & B we did the transaction on three rooms and after taking all details with payment then said cant do it now it is £107 per room. That is not satisfactory,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Convenient and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Chosen for its location for a family gathering, carparking and value for money, the hotel was excellent. Large, well equipped rooms and good bar food and service. We would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Good location free parking clean comfy room friendly staff ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bath and shower are difficult to use. There is a silver button which has to be pushed in to operate taps, I've stayed in this hotel many times and always find the buttons stiff and difficult to use.

    Good location free parking clean comfy room friendly staff good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel, very clean modern rooms, large comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very nice hotel, very clean modern rooms, large comfortable bed, great bar area. I was surprised how nice it was as it was such good value. Staff were very friendly especially the lovely lady organising tables at breakfast. Who made sure our family all sat together and she didn’t rush us out.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.6
    Great Hotel, Great Staff, Great Location, without question would stay here again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite frankly i would be hard pressed to find a fault with anything.

    The Hotel is modern, clean and i found the staff very pleasant and helpful. If you follow football and Sheffield United you could not get a Hotel closer to their ground.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    Copthorne Sheffield
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv control did not work asked for new batteries was given new handset which still did not work Choice for room service food could do with more lighter bites such as salad selection

    Lovely rooms very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    After a 6 hour drive to reach hotel then instantly put at ease free parking. Very relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to use your room card to operate lift - minor inconvenience

    Location - close to town centre with in easy walking distance to bars and restaurants. Large and very confortable beds and rooms furnished to high standard but only found the fridge and tea making facilities just before checkout.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rowdy football fans but no way is that the hotel's fault.

    When we complained about a sports group causing ruckus on our floor, the hotel immediately offered us to change rooms and we got a slight upgrade!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    The breakfast was good and there was free WiFi and parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a wedding so it wasn't particularly quiet. Cars were beeping their horns and they blocked the roads outside the hotel. There was also someone playing a drum in the carpark which wasn't enjoyable. It's not their fault, just unfortunate timing for my stay. No coffee making facilities in the room.

    The breakfast was good and there was free WiFi and parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.5
    a good business hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed was very comfy. The hotel is near London road with lots of restaurants. It is a good business hotel and the bar is well set up for working meetings

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    Really comfy bed and massive modern room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    The breakfast was fantastic, covered everything a person could want for breakfast. The people working at the hotel where very welcoming and friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Friendly efficient staff, excellent facilities. Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was quite dark, lighting could do with an upgrade.

    All the staff we came across were so friendly and welcoming. We rang and asked if we could check in early and we’re greeted on arrival by such a lovely couple of ladies! So helpful and efficient, ditto the lady supervising breakfast. I asked for my bacon to be cooked a bit more... nothing was too much trouble. Brilliant value for money. Lovely breakfast and superb service from all the waiting staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Ideal location for us, great service
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bit short on electric sockets (2) but luckily we had a splitter/extension lead with us. The lighting was a bit dim with no ceiling lights but being summer it didn't matter really. Being next to the footy, access is via a back road on match days. Get a pass from reception.

    Our club room was huge and spotless with towelling robes and slippers, fridge and very welcome aircon, given the heatwave. Great views as we were on the 5th floor. Breakfast was great and staff very attentive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    Great value stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't work out how to run the bath. Used tissue found in the bathroom.

    All staff encountered were friendly and helpful. Very good choice at breakfast. Easy walk or cheap taxi to center of town. Spacious room. Would definitely go back

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast did not have vast choice especially the continental type of food and no pancakes or waffles. We stayed at a future Inn and we had smoked salmon and also pikelets as a choice.Overall we enjoyed our stay.

    Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    great place to stay for a business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bar food choice was limited but this is scraping the bottom of the barrel to find something wrong

    easy to find with free parking. friendly staff, clean room and good food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    A comfortable, quiet stay within easy reach of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had trouble getting the wifi to work and hadn't appreciated that we needed a different code for each device. Could have been made clearer on arrival.

    Comfortable bed. Good location - close enough to walk the 20 minutes to town, but a bit out of the main rush so quieter.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    Good but could improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attention to detail with cleaning could be better (underneath wardrobe was very dusty and could be seen from bed) , the shower instructions for heat setting could be clearer as the wife couldn’t figure it out at first . Breakfast could have been better but overall a good pleasant place to stay

    Good views and location of the city and football ground

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    overall , standards were as you would expect..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all excellent except the hair dryer had no plug anywhere near a mirror, also the tea facilities were in the cupboard, but you had to walk over to the desk to plug in in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable rooms and beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wanted early breakfast in room . Ordered fir 6.40-7 - arrived at 7 . No butter/jam on tray - too late for me to chase up as had to leave at 7.15 . £3 tray charge for continental breakfast in room excessive

    Rooms spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.5
    Great stay overall
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the office chair was a little low for the desk and there was no lever to adjust the height

    The room was lovely - spacious and clean. I loved the office desk and chair which was really handy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing rude staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man on reception was disgustingly rude and belittling, he looked down his nose at me and my partner and was very rude. Because of this and this alone I highly doubt I will be returning to the establishment. I treat people with respect and deserve it back.

    The bed was comfy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant with no real problems. Particularly impressed by the lady running breakfast service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I never found the light switch located on wardrobe after my husband had gone to sleep (he knew it was there). So slept with light on 😏

    Only had B and B. Staff were lovely at the bar in the evening and breakfast service was efficient and friendly too. Food good too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, relaxing & enjoyable. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No drink making facilities in room. Drinks at bar very expensive, need more offers or happy hours reductions. Residents should get meal/snack reductions . We saw many people ordering take-away meals delivered to hotel.

    Beds are huge & extremely comfortable. Lovely soft towels

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value, superb breakfast. Will definitely book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough wardrobe space and no drawers or shelves to put clothes away. Also I don't like just the frosted glass bathroom door.

    Staff are very friendly and helpful, breakfast is excellent and it is good to have free parking. We've stayed here a few times and it is always consistently of a high standard and excellent value.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Good facility, close to city centre and easy parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could find no fault and good value for money.

    Helpful staff and good central location. Room was large and had good facilities. B'Fast was average for a large business hotel. Ample parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Very happy and would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food price on the menu maybe a little expensive.

    Good location. Good for parking, we parked in Bramall Lane car park which was quiet enough as it was not on a matchday. As we only stayed overnight, we didn't use the gym or any other facilities. The room was clean and tidy, bed was very comfortable, tea making facilities and choice of hot drinks (free) was good. Good size flat screen TV. Overall, very happy with this hotel and would definitely stay here again if ever in Sheffield. Great price for stay. Recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.2
    Fit for purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con was very poor for the size of room. It was swarm night and no windows could be opened in the room so only air con to keep us cool.

    Excellent staff and room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Everything that we needed for a comfortable overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lifts were difficult to operate. Our friends had a wine token in their rom but we didn't

    Lovely spacious room which was decorated nicely. Lots of plug sockets and mirrors. Lights in wardrobe very handy. Good tasty breakfast with plenty of choice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    A Wonderful Hotel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a last minutes change of venue for a night away and I am so glad I got a great deal with the Copthorne Hotel. From the minute I checked in nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they sorted out the issues I had instantly. The room was beautiful and clean and the bed was unbelievably comfy. I can't wait to stay here again!! Wonderful hotel!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Great stay comfortable great breakfast with tea or coffee bought to you in a pot
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the road as we were at the front of the hotel but I know this can't be helped

    In the hot weather we have been having it was nice to walk into a cool room with the air conditioning and to have a couple of comfortable chairs to sit in

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Breakfast, although good quality produce, food could have...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, although good quality produce, food could have been hotter. Coffee served with the breakfast was so weak it hardly tasted of coffee, when asked for a stronger cup they said the only other option was to buy one made by the machine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.3
    I doubt I would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The cleanliness of the room was not good, there was dust everywhere that was just moved about when the room was cleaned, it needed to be picked up (a damp cloth?). There were marks on the bedside table where a previous occupier had spilt a drink - these didn't disappear for a few days. The mirror in the bathroom also had 'help!' written on it in the dust which I admit made me laugh. I ordered food in the bar twice, I wouldn't again. The first time the curry was worse than a cheap supermarket ready meal - rice was microwaved and tasteless, the curry sauce was water, the nan bread was like cardboard and I've never seen a poppadom with so much oil on it. I complained and apparently even the chef agreed it wasn't good. I had the bean burger instead which was ok. Another day I ordered the burger (to be on the safe side!) but the burger bun was so burnt I didn't eat it. The breakfast selection was good but again the quality of cooking failed it. Some items on the menu were not present on the buffet but I guess they would've been given if I'd asked. I didn't ask as sometimes it was difficult to get the coffee I'd ordered. The staff on reception were very well presented but I thought the restaurant and bar staff could've made a little more effort - shirts often looked like they needed a good iron.

    The receptionist was very friendly and efficient, always willing to go above and beyond to help me as much as she could. The room was a good size and comfortable, the location in Sheffield was good for what I needed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    could do with a swimming pool and more spa luxury, just our preferance

    very nice room, extremely clean, good location for the town centre, very friendly staff, booked in quickly, happy to help with anything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Lovely hotel in a great location as it is so easy to get to the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late night room service wasn't great, ordered "steak cut chips", which arrived to the room as undercooked oven chips.

    Lovely hotel and felt like a higher standard then we paid more.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Very smart hotel and lovely staff!
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar prices were a tad expensive!

    Friendly staff, especially Claudia on reception. Very comfy bed. Lovely breakfast choices - couldn't fault it. Not too far to walk into city centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.1
    The rooms were nice and spacious and obviously had some...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are great value for money, but the restaurant was over priced.

    The rooms were nice and spacious and obviously had some thought put into it. The hotel is in a great location and will seek out other Copethorne hotels in the future.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    The hotel was ideal for all our needs
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing , the hotel was perfect.

    Fantastic location , close to the city centre , university ,college and London Road . The hotel is built into the football stadium so on the top 2 floors you have a great view into the ground . Very comfortable rooms with fridge and safe .The air conditioning is brilliant, gave me a fantastic nights sleep. The rooms are very quiet . Good big tv. Breakfast is fine but just by chance we went to the Jump and Jive cafe opposite. Full English breakfast for £3.50 with tea and toast ,1960s theme with records and photos of the stars and a free juke box. What a cafe! Plenty parking 10metres from front door and overspill into Sheffield Utd. Car park. This is the only place I will stay at in future , so easy to get to even with Sheffields mind blowing traffic system .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Room spacious and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing I didn't like, although we did not sample the restaurant.

    Room spacious and very comfortable. Staff extremely helpful, especially Jacqui (?) on reception on Monday afternoon, who was an absolute trooper - and Michael too, who I believe may have been an assistant manager.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, well decorated hotel, I would return.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only had two tea bags for two people - may seem irrelevant to many people, but not if you love your tea!

    Comfortable beds. Attractive looking room and whole hotel. Decent enough breakfast. Only suggestion would be if you are a tea addict, then take some of your own extra tea bags, but good news is you can buy extra fresh milk from just across the road!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Fab stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn't like. It has gorgeous bedrooms. Immaculate

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Offered to put my daughters clothes in her room prior to check in. The bar area is lovely and relaxed. Open and light. Room service also. Will stay again. The double bed was very comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was a wide range of food. Full breakfast, pastries and fruit and smoothies

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a nights stay for a night out, location ideal only 5 mins from the centre in a taxi or a 15 Minute walk. Staff were friendly and helpful during check in. The room was a great size and had a really comfy bed, clean and breakfast was nice too couldn’t have asked for anything better.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    5.8
    Key cards keep failing in the lifts and when trying to get into the room - very annoying.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room key cards kept failing, both for the room and in the lift - very annoying. Paying for breakfast in the dining room was 50% more expensive then pre-booking it at reception. Only one towel per room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    Very nice hotel, clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel, both times I have found the night staff to be rude and dismissive. Perhaps it has something to do with the fact that I was wearing a hoodie and tracksuit bottoms not suit and tie like the other guests. Either way, the attitude was poor and needs to improve because the hotel is lovely.

    Very nice hotel, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evrryth was great apart from the room being extremely warm. The weather was hot but the air con was very poor. I also asked when booking to be placed on a lower floor, but we where in the very last room on the top floor

    The room hence the air con

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel would definitely recommend to a friend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms was fantastic.my only criticism is i would have liked more supplies on the tea and coffee tray as only had a couple of milks and sugars.

    The hotel staff are very friendly and the rooms are clean and tidy.the beds are a personal highlight for us as we found then extremely comfy.the location is fairly close to town and the free onsite parking is a bonus

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.5
    Good stay but expensive porridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor view from the window. See comment re breakfast above

    bath as well as a shower. Smart decor. Good breakfast but not happy in principle about having to pay an extra £2.50 for porridge. Its 75p per kilo in Morrisons

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    5.4
    Very unsatisfactory extremely disappointed. There were 2 male members of staff who were very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    restaurant service was very poor on all occasions with limited but expensive menu. thought we upgraded room and fridge drinks were included there was only one of each drink and only one pack of biscuits every day even thought there were two of us in the room. I am a wheelchair user and was given a room with no disabled facilities I could not get in the bath or shower it was physically impossible for me.

    Quietness and excellent parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Great staff, lovely breakfast, spotless extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was extremely quiet in the evenings, guests don't socialise here

    Great staff, lovely breakfast, spotless extremely comfortable room, excellent mattress, air conditioning was quiet and efficient. Only a £5 taxi ride from the centre of town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Good stay, a few tweaks needed to make a fully satisfied stay, but overall happy with my experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The iron leaked water so we had to empty it out and iron our clothes dry. I couldn’t find plug sockets! We found one under one of the bedside tables, but this is not sufficient for two people staying in a room! There needs to be one on each side of the bed. Also, we went down to breakfast, the freshly cooked food was good however items that had been sat out for a while I.e the scrambled eggs, beans and mushrooms weren’t warm or pleasant to eat. I ordered fried eggs so as to avoid this and they were lovely. Also the coffee wasn’t brilliant, it was very weak and watery, would prefer a choice of instant or caffetiere coffee. We had a problem with our key cards not working, had to get a maid to let us into our room before we left, at checkout the assistant asked if they had been kept near my phone, which they had and so explains why they deactivated, but this should have been mentioned at check in and therefore I would have kept them separate. Finally, there were no coffee or tea refreshments in the room! I like to wake up with a coffee in the room before going for breakfast and this wasn’t possible in the room, would have improved my overall rating if this had been included.

    Reception was good, swift check in and check out, we were offered breakfast and instructed on where lifts were, and hair dryer in the room. Staff were friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Good room design and excellent staff, genuine and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Football blaring out in the bar/restaurant but I guess it is next to a football stadium....and it’s quite a trek from the train station.

    Great room and lovely staff, hospitality was good and I really like that they were themselves. Best room working space design I have seen

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    4.2
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast eggs far to oily Had to wait 20 mins for fried eggs Staff far to busy run off her feed But was lovely Hotel not quiet People running around at 2am Shouting and screaming Banging doors etc

    Staff Bed Clean hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel, can’t recommend highly enough. Will be staying again next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main door closed after 23:30 and having to be let in and out ( which was easy enough), th price of drinks and food was a tad high

    Free parking, excellent staff, the warmth and greeting you receive and the staff couldn’t do more for you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    Room was fantastic, as were the facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Majority of staff were awful aside from check in desks. I asked what time bar was open until when I arrived and response was ‘quite late’, I pushed for a proper answer and was told 2am. When I arrived at hotel for a whiskey at half 1 am, was told bar was closed and room service only in a quite rude manner truth be told.

    Room was fantastic, as were the facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.8
    Pleasantly memirable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining chairs and floor was a little dirty Toilet seat needed repair

    Room was spcious, comfy and had all additional facilities you need (iron, safe, frisge, kettle)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Great stay, very satisfied. A perfect hotel for visiting the Crucible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thought the restaurant was a little soul less and uninspiring - needs a revamp?

    All staff were extremely friendly and approachable. Bedroom was spacious, comfortable, clean and well appointed. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent. Breakfast was also very enjoyable, with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    4.6
    Won’t be staying again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness wasn’t great, didn’t provide clean towels, didn’t change the blanket, just took it instead, didn’t clean room, just made bed, card would never work in the lift. Wasn’t too happy

    Was a nice hotel and nice staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    Staff very approachable and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. It was just what I needed for an overnight stay.

    Staff very approachable and friendly. Lovely welcome. Rooms good size. Beds very comfy. Nice fluffy towels.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: