Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Corner House Inn by Good Night Inns 3 stars

Heaton Road, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE6 5RP, United Kingdom

#49 of 76 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 406 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food... Steak didn't come rare ad I asked... When I mentioned this to the waitress she apologised but didn't offer any kind of compensation.

    Location was perfect and bus stop was right out side and only 10 mins away from centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms not very clean ..shower doors window sills windows etc needs serious attention!! Bed although sheets looked clean I dared not look deeper & certainly didn't smell what I call fresh ..All could do with lick of paint & re carpeting ..Shower very poor struggle to get any pressure at all wouldn't have been able to wash my long hair in there ..pub toilets really dirty too .problems with doors not locking or unlocking properly.poor breakfast set up toaster dirty & only half works ,warm juice and not much choice at all .

    Pub itself was okay cheap and cheerful..quite near center of Newcastle about £7.00 in a taxi ..very basic but super cheap rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were always friendly, happy to help and even let us check in earlier! An excellent location with buses right outside to take you to the city centre (10 minutes).There is also a lovely park just opposite which was great for walking of the freshly cooked breakfast and night before!! Free parking for the whole weekend. I would definitely go back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window wouldn’t open in the bathroom. It wasn’t a problem. However if we did want any fresh air we couldn’t.

    The staff were friendly and had a laugh. The room was good Enough for us. there wasn’t much rooms so it was quiet and there was plenty of security.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are travelling south the next day, traffic is very heavy through centre of Newcastle and Gateshead.

    This is a good pub/restaurant with rooms so its good if you want some atmosphere/talk whilst taking in live football or sport etc. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price a bit high for location - about 1 1/2 to 1 3/4 miles away from city centre and nothing really more than a fairly humdrum pub with some rooms above the bars.

    Every member of staff was so friendly - real ambassadors for Newcastle and the North East

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor was a little dated and paper was coming off the ceiling in the bathroom.

    My weekend was extremely busy, I was very comfortable and able to have a long relaxing bath on each day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a section of the carpark being for residents only to garauntee a parking spot during busy periods.

    Great value for the money, if you want an inch perfect hotel, go pay more. The staff are friendly and helpful, if theres a problem speak to staff and they will do the upmost to help you

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Internet was a bit bad. Some times really really slow...and signing up was not a straight forward process.

    Breakfast not included on the family room was a bit of a surprise for me...but appart from that everything was great!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double room was a single ,the decor and furniture were horrible an old brown rickety wardrobe and dressing table I think the bed was 3/4 an experience not to be repeated and charged£60 for the privilege,1 night room only

    The bed and bathroom were clean The man on reception early morning was very helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness wasn’t very good, there was some black marks on 1 of the pillow cover (presuming eye makeup). Bathroom was poor, stains in the sink, black bits coming off the rims of the shower tray when I was in the shower. I don’t think the floor had been wiped/mopped for a while, bathroom door slides open and when closed there is a trail of dust and dirt stuck to the floor. We also had 2 toilet paper holders that again we’re very dirty in the middle. Waitress seemed very unhappy when we arrived down for breakfast at 9.50am (served until 10am)

    Nice place to stay, bedrooms were very warm when we arrived, Keith was fantastic and nothing a bother for him. Meals are served until 10pm with plenty to choose from and not very pricey. Breakfast was served until 10am (bonus lie in) again plenty to be had.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very basic, albeit functional, and the walls were very thin so I could hear everyone coming in late and also the room was next door. The pub is on a very busy crossroads and they have done what they can to stop the noise (double glazed windows and a single glazed window as well!) but if you want to have the window open, it is exceptionally noisy and this did disturb me, however I knew the pub and it's position and didn't think about the noise when I booked, so it is my own fault as clearly they can't change where the pub is!

    The room was clean and had everything it needed, although it was basic. Despite being in a pub, I wasn't disturbed by any noise from the pub itself. The room was also very cheap for it being over New Year, so it was good value for what is there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hairdryer didn't work and the extractor fan was too loud, would have a headache after using.

    The heater was good, staff very welcoming and friendly .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower broken, kettle didn't work, no communication between staff, reception not manned, can't order food to take to room.

    Location - easy for buses, metro etc

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service in general.

    Staff not present at reception had to go through a crowded bar to find someone, check in was disorganized. Room okay but lots of noise from other rooms and street (on main road) Food at dinner not very nice and breakfast took ages so late to meeting.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above sorry in wrong box The location was very good for our purposes.

    Only one bad moment at breakfast on last day where the buffet was left to run down and person in charge not looking after things properly. Other than that no problems although overall the hotel/eating facilities are tired and could do with a freshening up

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no light at the entrance to our room, which was the only area with sufficient floor space to put our case. Just a mild inconvenience.

    Comfortable, clean room, well-stocked tea and coffee tray, decent shower. Very good pub food on offer.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the heating in our room was broken. The bathroom seemed a little like something you would find in a hospital. Although it was clean enough. The lighting in the room was very dim.

    clean towels and bedding. Food downstairs quite good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower wasn't very powerful, dining room smelt of the prior evenings urinals (a little off putting at breakfast)

    Comfortable beds, plenty of space in the family room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like that they had run out of calamari, but it was pretty late I was eating, forgiven. I didn't like that I lost my room key. Sorry!!!!!!

    Booking in easy, great bar staff with exc prices, large restaurant with plenty tables away from main bar and tv area. Good menu at good prices. My room was ok for the price. Great location for going into town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were brilliant, my daughter was moving into apartment as she's starting uni and staff gave us advice on facilities in the area! Food was excellent and well priced

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Depending on the entrance you take into the inn, the reception area is not immediately obvious and we were walking around the diners trying to work out where to go, before asking a waitress.

    Bus stop right outside the inn made getting into town (without a car) very easy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scruffy areas needed cleaning and painting. Bedroom windows sealed shut. Dreadful noise at night from other guests as late as 03.45!!!!

    Clean sheets, friendly staff, good breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Above a bar, but quiet. Just nine rooms. Room clean, bed good quality firm mattress, shower fine, Staff friendly and efficient. Breakfast fine. Room access is separate from the pub

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I couldn't have stayed longer.

    Food and customer service was brilliant. Was a large group of us for my hen weekend and not one sour face or groan.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room not very clean with hairs and a toe nail in the bed. Didn't feel particularly safe with direct access from the pub after a rowdy quiz night. Had to crawl under the table to plug toaster in at breakfast and the bread was stale.

    Location good for Tyne Coast College and staff friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken shower head so had to have a bath, broken hook on bathroom door, missing/dud light bulbs - perhaps deliberate? Toilet flush faulty.

    Comfortable bed, lots of pillows, big fluffy towels. Nice biscuits in the room!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Update required all over Rooms were very warm at night, ventilation poor Kitchen extractor fan discharged directly at our room which meant it was very noisy until after 10pm and the smell off cooked meat ect was overpowering when the window is open (Which it needed to be!!) Bathroom maintenance was poor

    Beds were comfy, staff were great - we arrived late for breakfast and they were happy to extend for us. Parking was good Location was good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy access to everywhere we needed , free phone for taxis downstairs, food available 24/7. Excellent for us to pop up and visit family, friends, town and quayside with ease.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a family room which was right beside the business air con fans...they where noisy and the smell from the kitchen came through which was horrendous. Also the dust in the room in bathroon and all lights was absolutely disgusting. The hotel is extremely run down, we didnt have an option of providing feedback ad Paul who checked us out just took the keys and said thanks.

    Location i would say was the only advantage.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints the road noise maybe

    The staff was very friendly the breakfast was very good value and I treated my daughter and family to supper the food was first class and very good value.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception staff, two young women, were not properly trained and did not know how to deal with the problems we encountered. The hallways from reception to the room had a very unpleasant smell which was worse in the room and bathroom. We had booked a family room for two adults and two children, ages 6 and 9, but when we arrived, at 9:30pm, there were only three beds in the room and we had to wait while the 'receptionists' dragged a bed from another part of the building. When I complained to the manager the next morning and asked for a reduction in the cost of the room, he denied all knowledge of the bad odour and claimed that I had booked a room for two adults only.

    Leaving.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely stay at corner house. Very helpful and friendly staff. Hotel very clean and comfortable. We were made very welcome. Stayed over night for a wedding.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good standard of food at a reasonable price. Rooms are clean and comfortable too.

    The location cause it's so handy to get to the Freeman hospital and very easy to get to other location so very central ......

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head was loose but still useable, didn't report it until we were leaving so hopefully will be fixed for next guest.

    Value for money. No problem with traffic noise, triple glazing very effective as long as window is closed. Breakfast was good, we took the continental option, those getting the full English were served promptly and it looked good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The shower didn't have has much power then i thought/hoped and the carpets need replacing or least washing. The bathroom ceiling needed repainting or wall paper taken off it and the shower seems to have a leak from the enclosure. The extractor was was pretty big and louder then i expected for a bathroom.

    It had what i needed. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather. Rained all the time we were there but still had good time.

    Food excellent brilliant breakfast good quick service. Bar staff great. Keith very friendly great customer service from everyone.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is dated and the downstairs area is tired and in need of a good clean. The bar felt sticky and the staff were in no rush to clean it. The hotel needs refurbishing and a thorough clean to make it more appealing. The room and bathroom was spacious but the window in the bedroom did not open. Breakfast was good although they do not serve ground coffee.

    Convenient location, good parking facilities, good menu selection for dinner

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had no ventilation other than a very weak desk fan, the weather was very hot, so quite an uncomfortable stay. No facilities to sit comfortably in the room also did not help.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the fact that the doors didn't automatically lock when u closed them like most places.food was OK but could be better.more fresh.we ate one night outside and come put next morning, 16 hours later to the dirty plates on the tables.hasnt been cleared

    Drink wasn't too expensive

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything bad because if you needed something they did their best for you top rating

    The rooms were a good size we had 4 single beds in ours but still have plenty of room great wardrobe space asked for extra milk and tea not a problem staff are very nice food downstairs was lovely we were late for breakfast as it had finished but that was no trouble they let us in a taxi from corner house to town center was only £5.50 for 4 of us so cheaper than bus there is a bus stop outside hotel we will use hotel again it is very good value .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    cant really think of anything

    food served was piping hot and extremely high qualiy....drinks a little pricey but overall i was impressed with the friendliness of staff who were always ready to help.rooms were very comfortable and had heaters as standard.tea and coffee facilities plus an iron and hair dryer.....so averall would recommend corner houst to anyone going up to newcastle

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.😍

    Bed was extra comfy with lovely pillows. Lots of storage space. Ironing board and iron was a extra surprise. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Bonus of a bus stop outside to Town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no bedside table/drawers so nowhere to put a glass or phone or anything. The shower head didn't stay in its holder so I had to wedge it behind the riser and stand under it. It was hot in the room and it was too noisy with traffic noise outside to have the window open but there was a fan in the room which was extremely useful.

    The bed was comfortable. The full English breakfast was the best we've had in years! An electric fan was provided in the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked a double room but given one with a 3/4 bed. Moved for second night and cost of first night refunded.

    Good location, plenty of parking available, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom walls very thin and could hear every sound from next door including guests speaking. Taps from other rooms very noisy.

    Very comfortable bed. Food was very good. Staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff are excellent - very friendly and helpful. Well priced. As a 'Flaming Grill' the food was well priced and portions excellent. Breakfast was good, standard fair: light, continental, full English. Only five minutes in taxi (about £5 - Black Cab return was about £8) to city centre plus bus stop outside front door, bus running every 5 to 10 minutes.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dusty and the cups in the room were dirty.

    Lovely place with great parking and near to the city centre. Food was lovely and breakfast was quick and nice. Room was great for a family and was quiet and comfy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we had dinner but was not pleased with the service as we got our main course ok but we had to wait 1 hour for our sweet terrible service .next day we all had lunch again main arrived in good time but again sweets took about 1/2 hour to arrive so would say service very bad . my husband & i stayed here last year and everything was lovely friendly staff .so we took friends with us this time i am afraid they said they would not come back the rooms were fine very clean and chambermaids very friendly the manager was very nice too did tell him about the our time wait for meals so lets hope he can sort out bar staff along with kitchen and waiting staff .It's a good job we were not in a hurry on both days

    the breakfast was lovely and plenty of it

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is looking a bit tired however the room rate was probably relative

    Good location, parking and value for money. Ideal for a one night stay. Staff were friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed kept moving on the floor as we sat down but was okay though

    There was loads of the desk area, we spent all of our time there as we got ready and was Plenty big enough for 2 girls to get all their makeup out and get ready

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    sausages thats it but don't let it put you off. I will be staying again.

    The staff and the location were perfect for me. food was good and well priced.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The condition of the building was poor, the rooms were tired and tatty. The sheets on one bed had a stain on. The side light was dusty and full of cobwebs. The carpet felt tacky. The bin smelt of cigarettes. The curtain was not fully attached to the rail. The free internet would not work. Not an enjoyable place to stay. You could hear every word the people were saying in the next door room!

    The staff were helpful and polite. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one on the reception most of the time seemed more interested on the pub side alarms went off one night manager sleeps on premises and slept through it for 15 minutes this I feel if there was a fire put the people who were in the bedrooms at risk from both security and fire

    It was near to the hospital

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bedroom door was left unlocked and open by the cleaners two days in a row, we were lucky not to have had things stolen as the rooms are accessible from outside.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very clean and fresh and even though we were on a main road we couldn't hear the traffic with the windows shut. Staff were all excellent, they were very friendly and polite. The food served in the pub was great value for money and the chef and kitchen staff are excellent cooks. Overall very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really maybe could do with a bit of updating other than that all good

    The room was huge as we had the last room available which was a family room .It was a bit dated but perfectly adequate for what we needed.The breakfasts were very nice and all the staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff & manager Paul on duty was great towards myself , I even forgot my iPhone charger & got alone of one the team had 😂👍🏻 too marks from me , will be back

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite dated accommodation. Inadequate lighting in wardrobe area.

    The bed was comfortable and the room was clean and tidy. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed very low on ground, no telephone in room, no shampoo or conditioner, only the soap in dispenser.

    Comfy Bed, Excellent friendly staff, food very good and great value.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed uncomfortable. Price too high when consider its described as an executive room and doesnt have any bathroom extras or tea tray biscuits. Little touches missing. Been using corner house for years and was very disappointed prob wont be returning. Breakfast was extra and really poor...worst ive had anywhere.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bed was extremely small however, when we enquired about another room they provided us with a change the following night.

    value for money, convenience to sleep, eat and drink in same area

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heater was off when we arrived, soon heated up when I switched on, but no heater in bathroom which was a little chilly.

    Cleanliness of room Soundproofing good, considering location Comfortable bed, but only a double size

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Situated at a very busy junction but traffic noise was well muted by extra layer of double glazing. Would have been nice to get a biscuit to accompany tea and coffee in bedroom.

    Nearby restaurants. Beirut palace restaurant for excellent value meal. Butterfly cabinet for breakfast. Corner house Inn bar was pleasant and usual pub food looked good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out times were not advertised and we didnt get told .

    We were booked in a double room and on arrival given a family room very spacious large bathroom .very clean. Ordered a main meal in the evening which was very nice .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought breakfast should be included in the price and also open a little later

    The fact it was a pub that served decent meals was an added bonus. Didn't have to go looking for somewhere to eat

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location family party but perfect place and room Pole in room created a fun talking point not sure this is a plus but was fun to discuss. Little of the wall

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a few more teabags in the room!

    Excellent value. Although situated on very busy road, you could not hear any noise at all in the room. Also meals were such good value and very good. Would recommend and will definitely use again

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating was broken in our room and so it was absolutely freezing. We had our small son with us and although an electric heater was efficiently brought up for us. We couldn't leave this switched on while we went out for the day. Consequently on our return, the room was freezing again. It took a good thirty minutes to warm up.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was suited more for a single traveller. The bed appeared to be a three quarter sized bed rather than a double. The bed was also pushed up to the wall, not ideal for a couple.

    The room was clean and the staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived before check in time as we were going to a family funeral and wanted to drop off our luggage which was no bother .on check in a nice friendly lad checked us in and gave us all info we needed and took us to our room and asked if we wanted look and make sure everything was ok with the room .the room we had was a double executive room quite a good size good size comfy bed and bright clean ensuite .we had a meal at the reastraunt a few months ago which we really enjoyed so we decided to eat there on Friday food was lovely .the restraunt and bar were busy as there was groups of people having Xmas night out and football match was also showing on TV so the staff were kept busy but they did brilliant seeing to all the customers .breakfast was lovely with continental buffet and also freshly cooked breakfast .the location of the corner house is good because if like myself you don't drive there's a bus stop outside and buses are frequent to town centre .we found our stay pleasant and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful and would stay again .

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food was excellent , Great location Lovely staff. Very clean. We have been coming here for the last 8 years Wouldnt go anywhere else when we come to Newcastle.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We all stayed here last year and had a great time that was why we came back. This time room was really cold as heating not working so was giving a electric heater which didn't do much plus right above the function room and it was really loud. Which was a shame as we wont be back next year now going to find somewhere else to stay.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was severely disappointed in our room. The bed was small, room was cold, the shower was not clean! For £67 for one night it was definitely not worth the money. I would not stay again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin room very small...need to be slim! Curtain hanging off the rail, Door Security Poor Continental breakfast. No light bulb in light over bed.

    WIFI Cooked breakfast reasonable, but bread was not very fresh.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: