Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Horizon

29-31 New Steine, Kemptown, Brighton & Hove, BN2 1PD, United Kingdom

#66 of 67 B&Bs and Inns in Brighton & Hove

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2243 B&B reviews

6.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.7

  • Comfort

    5.3

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    5.1

  • Staff

    6.9

  • Value for money

    5.8

  • Free WiFi

    5.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were old, tatty and dirty. The bathroom was tiny, dirty and the shower was full off mould. The bed was broken and squeaky and lots of dust under the bed. The breakfast hall was dirty and the breakfast wasn't worth eating. The bedroom was facing an old, unkept courtyard so wasn't a nice view. The corridors were unkept and there was a lot of make shift things, one corridor door had just been made out of a piece of wood.

    The location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn’t quite reach our room, the finish of the room was rather hurried and not thoroughly clean (hairs on the floor)

    Great price for the location. Bed was extremely comfy, check-in and check-out was friendly, lovely eggs at breakfast! The bedroom had no lamps by the bed but one was provided on request.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My reservation was changed before I got there. The bedroom was on the 3rd floor up steep staircases. When I booked in the TV although that was put right. They claim to serve breakfast from 8 to 9 but the breakfast room was opened late. I waited for 20 min for my breakfast then had to re-order. Bacon was cremated, beans were cold.

    Close to a bus stop, comfortable bed in the room I had to accept, en-suite facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    l would just like to mention that perhaps you could consider having a few twin rooms on the ground floor for people who have problems getting up and down stairs, as my daughter who has a back injury had a problem getting up and down from the first floor.

    We liked the staff + because the shower was not working in the first room that was give to us, was changed straight away, the breakfast ( full English) was cooked as and when people arrived in the dining room so the food was hot, good brand of tea bags to. We really would use this accommodation again, thankyou to all the staff from the ladies in number 21?/12. See you all next year.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The state of premises could be better. However, I believe they are improving it.

    Superb staff from top to bottom. Sea view. Delicious full English breakfast, nothing fancy but it'll keep you sorted for a while. No swimming pool but the sea is just 1 minute walk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower pressure wasn’t good in the bedroom. For size of room etc not great value.. but having said that is probably as cheap as you’ll find in Brighton

    Location brilliant and most comfortable bed I’ve slept in for years.. friendly staff can’t complain

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty Broken shower screen plus mouldy and grimy Rusty toilet roll holder Broken door hand in bathroom Rusty radiator Above bed reading lamps lose and hanging off the wall Bath blind dirty and mouldy Ripped carpets Decorating was awful

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water in shower was a little temperamental being either super hot or cold but you just had to play with the setting a little. Room 24

    Since the hotel has been renovated from the new cosmopolitan it has had a new lease of life breathed into it. Sam on reception was personable and very helpful, Lewis and team are also great. The beds are truly comfortable, rooms are great value for money, sea view en suite single including breakfast was a bargain! Why pay more for less value elsewhere? This hotel has vastly improved on the shabby budget hotel it once was. Pleasant surprise.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been so much nicer having a small ensuit. We didn’t like using a shared bathroom. But it was good to have our own toilet in the room.

    It was nice to have one room for a family of 5 to stay together. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast time could be earlier during the week, even by half an hour.

    very close to attractions. many choices for eats and drinks. Regular buses on seafront and nearby streets. very easy to get around. Remember Brighton is a hilly city so some areas will not be accessible.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sliding en suite door. Bathroom had mold on tiles. Needed air freshener!! Miss matched crockery, plates too big to fit on table. Toiletries in dispensers. For the price you would expect better.

    Comfy bed Clean Breakfast. Good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expected a guest house and twin bedded room, but it was more like a hostel and our small room had twin bunk beds which we didn't like. Sliding door to bathroom - when you try to shut it, it pushed outwards and wasn't sound proof. Room was on third floor so a lot of stairs.

    Close to sea front. Manager let us put our bikes in reception once it closed at 21.30pm.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Steep stairs. Noise outside. No lounge accessible. No staff on duty all day.

    Bed small. WiFi did not work on top floor where my room was situated. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to queue for ages for breakfast as lack of seats. Was very awkward stood watching people eat and waiting. The bathroom door would not close properly.

    The bed was super comfy and check in staff lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    thee was no mirror in bedroom not enough hanging space ,it was ok but décor was terrible .as it was supposed to be refurbished the finishing touches were botched

    breakfast and bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window is sealed and no chance of opening even a tiny amount. The weather was not hot and the room was stuffy. Would not like to stay there on a hot evening.

    The staff were very helpful and the room was clean and modern. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit outraged and extractor fan and Razer light not working. They windows could not open so no fresh air on a hot day. Parking was a bit difficult and expensive £11 per day, and hit and miss too find a space to park near.

    location and splendid view from the room. Great staff, friendly and efficient, felt like they were your own family. I would still recommend staying here despite parking difficulty and will come back if staying in Brighton. the breakfast is also very good and customizable with a smile,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    3pm check in a little late for me, but not the end of the world. It’s been a few years since my request for a veggie breakfast was met by simply leaving off the sausage and bacon. However given breakfast was included in a £35 room rate I can’t complain too much.

    Friendly and helpful staff, decent location, room basic but clean and incredible value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom walls dirty with snot! door difficult to lock, curtains don't close correctly, window difficult to close. Outside our room (31), door banging all night. Breakfast order took so long We had to ask to order, we were over looked so much I wanted to leave. Breakfast service 8am-9am is not long enough for a full B&B and it's a very early start for some. Didn't Bring our toast and had to ask again for it. We ordered 2 full English and it was served On 2 different sized plates my husband got a large dinner plate and I got a side plate size. No apology for slow service and forgetfulness of the server. £149.00 for a night stay here was definitely way over priced. We will not recommend this B&B nor will we stay there again.

    Bed was comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price of the rooms had been massively jacked up for the bank holiday and the condition of the property was terrible. It was 26 degrees outside but yet the heating for the whole building was on high so the place was ridiculously hot, reception refused to turn it off and the radiator controls in the room didn't work. There was no remote for the tv. Bed collapsed when I lay in it - as the slats where the right fit for the frame. The breakfast room was a building site and food terrible, inedible without even ketchup or sauce to mask the cheap food. Overall the stay was awful and horrifically overpriced.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No dedicated parking for guests at the hotel, there is a meter parking. Room very poor with broken bathroom handle, poor finishing, no furniture, not clean, old horrible carpet and dirty windows (one of which was cracked). Tricky to use toilet - sink in front of the toilet

    Beds were comfortable. Location next to the beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was tempermental from scolding hot to freezing cold. Took ages to get to a medium temp! My son went in and nearly scolded himself (age 13) as we were bot aware of the problem.

    For the price paid it was fair and clean. 2 min walk to sea front, t- 10 min walk to pier ao great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Floor wasn't vacumed and there were traces of paint and tape from - I can only assume - renovation work. Poor locking system for doors, not very reassuring.

    Bed was confortable. Amazing view from bedroom window. Location was good, very close to the Palace Pier.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Family room was very small and there is no dressing mirror in the room.

    Property is in very good location. Due to old building it was bit stincky. Overall worth for the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing for a women is she likes to look into a full length mirror when all dressed up to go out & that's the one thing was missing the mirror was a small bathroom one

    Bed was sooo comfortable & breakfast was very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was unmanned in the middle of the afternoon and had to wait some time for someone to appear. I thought the room was en suite but only a shower and had to share a toilet. No one told me where it was and had to wander around looking for it. It was filthy, no loo brush for people to clean after themselves and the basin was disgusting. Window was clear glass and toilet overlooked by several windows. Shower was so clogged with limescale that water only dripped out. No catch on inside of my door so could not feel secure.

    In a good position on the sea front and central to the town, Lanes etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't perfectly clean when I arrived. Also I had issues with the door.

    It's location. It is very close to the pier and opposite a lovely park. Also there are many restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows painted shut. Advertises parking, but all there is is paid street parking. Only one light bulb in chandelier. Towels were the size of hand towels. No hair dryer in room. Lots of dust around.

    Good location to main parts of brighton.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quirky building with masses of character. In the process of improving the hotel but rooms are adequate for purpose and beds are so comfortable you will struggle to get up in the morning. Fantastic view and staff are all wonderful. Very welcoming. Value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV remote did't work. Couldn't change channels and had to pull the plug to switch it off. Shower horrible - shower head super far up with no control, cold water, actually barely any water came out - decided not to shower. Shared Toilet on another floor - dirty. Blinds were making so much sound because of the wind from the sea - had to close my window and give fresh air float some miss to be able to sleep without the noise. Hotel was in a refurbishment / building progress - dust and dirt from the builders everywhere in the hallways.

    Easy check-in and check-out. Clean room. Comfy bed. Sea view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Seagull poo and feathers in radiator looked like it had never been cleaned, mould in bathroom, stains on carpet, no tv remote, broken window pane so anything could have flown in, kettle lead too short to reach shelf had to unplug television to use it on the floor. Only decaf coffee in room. Awful decorating job and was awoken by fire alarm in morning! Absolutely terrible experience. Gave breakfast a miss as just wanted to get out. Spent longer out as we didn’t want to return to the hotel.

    Not a lot to like. Disgusting place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needs a renovation. We didn’t take a shower because the fugues had black spots and in the corner was a rusty shower shelf. The toilet was clean but everything else seemed very sordid. The windows were dirty. The check in was questionable. we arrived after the check in time, but had email contact with the host about that, he told us to call a certain number when we arrive. We called it, but nobody answered. We stood outside in the cold night with our suitcases for 30 mins. we only could get inside because another guest opened the door. At this moment the check in person had fortunately also arrived.

    The location is great, directly at the seafront. The bed was comfortable, the sheets were clean. The carpet was also clean. In the room was a little “coffee corner” with a selection of coffee and tea, also a nice view on the Brighton pier. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel not fit for the purpose was booked for 9 May to 11 ..going through renovation building site looked like my shed in the garden..staff not very helpful in anyway..not returning calls can’t get through to the hotel ..also false advertising of the hotel photos different to the actual place ..avoid at all costs ..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room got a little too hot, but the weather was unusually warm. The shower/toilet is cramped but totally in line with other Brighton hotels/b&bs I've stayed in.

    Breakfast was delicious- not buffet, but a la carte. The staff were so smiley and nice. The beds were very comfortable and the location is on a cute green square. The window was overlooking the sea and there was coffee and tea available in the rooms. Nice hot water shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was undergoing a refurbishment. Scaffolding outside, tins of paint in the halls. Room itself was filthy, with a broken window and curtains actually nailed to the wall. The bathroom was tiny and bedside lights look like they came from Poundland. Didn't light the room at all. Also the nearest car park was a good 3-4 streets away. Otherwise there was limited parking in street which starts at £2 per hour. There is a small park opposite the hotel which was full of rough sleepers. To be honest this was probably the worst place I've ever stayed in 38 years. Stay here at your own risk!

    The location was good. That's all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There ought to have been a mirror in the bedroom and a bedside light. Had to use a small mirror in the bathroom to get ready to go out which was not really adequate. I wanted to read in bed so had to use the bathroom light with the door open as the overhead light was too intrusive. Was a bit disappointed as I had also booked a single room with a shower and a sea view, but when I arrived I was told this room did not have its own toilet. Although they had already decided to upgrade me to an ensuite double, the room was up several flights of stairs and had a view of the back yard and the bins! Not what I had wanted, when booking a room on the sea front!

    The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff are not friendly and don't care,No internet,No car park while showing a sign on their website that they have a car park,Parking on the street is too expensive,I stayed with my son for two days and they didn't clean our room,This what called hotel is totally different to what you see on their weebsite,Too much noise,Me and my son were very disappointed .

    There's nothing to like about this hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower didn’t work very well and was more of a low trickle, and didn’t heat up at all. Also, all of the soap dispensers were empty.

    Staff were really friendly and very helpful and smiley. The room was clean and well presented.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looks very much like a low rent hostel, smells of smoke, room appears to have been painted very quckly without much care.. Formica bathroom that was hard to sit down in as tiny. Newly laid flooring that was unfinished so shoes on at all times. NO LOCKS ON WINDOWS very insecure. Woken at 8 by workman on scaffolding right across our "sea view" When I asked about the windows and security the next day I was told "no one has broken in before" Only 1 bulb in the filthy pendant lamp out of several fittings. At night room looks dingy in its pathetic light. Turns out that the other side of the square had rooms at £1 more nightly with lovely rooms in something not resebling a doss house. The poor lad at the front desk told me he may have to find me a remote for the tv as there are far more tvs than remotes. Minimal barely adequate breakfast. Excellent eggs. Aparently he has been there two weeks poor sod. Finally the parking that it is stated as having is non-existent.

    Good size, near sea.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower wasn't the best! But we did have sea view from the shower. Hard to get parking.

    Location was fabulous we had great sea views, bed was very comfortable, good room size. Enjoyed sitting in the bay window with a cuppa, enjoying the sea view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a full English breakfast included, but we received only toast with beans and bacon. No egg and mushrooms. Probably due to the kitchen being renovated.

    Ideally located near the centre of Brighton, with some cosy pubs at walking distance

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The majority of it... Clearly under renovation... but during this time it shouldnt be open. Bathroom was pretty awful, so so loud from the road - no sleep, single glazing. The place was just generally poor. I won't be returning.

    The staff were fabulous, clearly there to improve english skills. You could tell they were as embarassed by the hotel as you! The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything except the beds, linen, hot water and staff! No sea view as payed for, but too tired to change it, and i use a wheelchair so the room given was the nearest. TV didn't work, no remotes. No bedside lights or cabinets, or plugs, just a shelf. Breakfast: people lovely, food good but not hot and much not working - clearly the building work is to blame. Heart goes out to them, and wish them luck!

    The bed was superb, comfortable with excellent pillows and linens. The towels and hot water were great. The guys, clearly up-grading as there guests are there, signs "Wet Paint" abound, unfinished surfaces, are fantastically helpful and lovely. Want to support them as when done, a lovely old building will be in a quieter yet convenient area across the road from the sea front. And I am very glad it's not my job to do the renovations - it is an enormous task.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So expensive... like how can you charge that much for what you offer? The shower wouldn’t work properly... the water didn’t drain away so I couldn’t shower properly... very basic for the price...

    Staff were friendly, hotel is in a good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clearly major renovations going on which I did not know about when I booked There was no shower rail or curtain hence water went everywhere when I showered. No mirror in the bedroom itself only one in the bathroom.. more electric sockets needed as only one with an extension cable running from it. Around the hotel and in the dining room was lots of decorating equipment just left from the day before

    Location perfect for the sea

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the hotel was undergoing refurbishment, which was a shame, because the view of the sea was excellent if it did not have the scaffolding.☹

    The staff were very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    booked twin room for myself and brother both in our 50s and we were given bunk beds with dirty sheets . shower did not work properly. room was filthy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The water was cold in the taps and shower most of the time.

    The location. It was near the pier and a short walk from shops. Pay and display parking outside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was under development, scaffolding up. Paid extra for a Seaview so that was money wasted. Nothing was on their web page saying that they were developing the hotel. Dimly lit dining area, due to the redecorating. Electricians working and paintwork still tacky to touch.

    Cheap cost for location of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room looked liked it had recently been refurbished but kettle had to be put on a chair or on the floor to reach the socket. Ceiling had a part of it coming away. They are refurbishing dining room so more of a self service for coffee, tea and toast. Only instant coffee available this time - a bit disappointing.

    Sea view from window was excellent. Good size room, bed comfortable. Cooked breakfast fine. I like staying here because it is near the seafront and can easily walk into town as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Family room 12. One window was broken and we couldn't close it completely. No blinds on the windows, only simple curtains fixed by nails that don't protect from the light. Dirty window glasses. Bulbs as chandeliers. No hair dryer.

    The English breakfast was good. The hotel is near the sea.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The warning signs were there the moment we saw the building covered in scaffolding. The property was in the process of being decorated/renovated and was quite dirty.. Work was not finished and poor quality. There was no dressing table or desk in room, no mirror in room only in bathroom so no where for my wife to sit and do her hair and make up. No wardrobe just a hanging rail over a shelf. The bathroom was small, with just a sliding door thst not was not fixed at the bottom so was difficult to slide shut. There was a new basin and toilet, but the decoration had not been finished old existing bath with mould around the edge. The dining room was also being decorated, people were sitting amongst boxes of tiles and sinks to eat there breakfast. This is s project in progress, I would not stay here until it is finished and facilities improved. However the bed was comfortable.

    The location was good just off the sea front with a garden area in front and close to the pier.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main check in room is pretty much a storage room with a card machine. The whole building looks run down once you walk in. The bedroom has a hole repair in progress, as it looked like it was just patched. At 2 in the morning people came in and were knocking & banging on doors and upon leaving the following morning, we saw a door lock on the ground that looked like it had been unscrewed from the door over the course of the night... Yea.... Not sure if the cost outweighed the experience.

    Pretty much only the location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay with cash, plug socket was all cracked seemed like u could be electrocuted, water cut out for hours, leak from our shower to downstairs so had the neighbour and maintenance guy in then also got woken up by builder outside our bedroom window on scaffolding banging and right at the window at 9am and no leeway on check out time without paying extra even though was woken up also by neighbours upstairs

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very dirty. The shower had clearly not even been rinsed out since the last person used it as the whole shower was covered in dark curly hairs 🤢 had to clean it myself before I could get in and the windows didn’t even shut so luckily it wasn’t too cold but the noise of the birds outside was so bad in the morning they need to fix the windows. No matter what you pay for a room it should at least be clean and functional. Would never stay again and didn’t dare go down for the breakfast in the morning judging by the state of the rest of the place ! Creaky too and doors slamming people walking around you can hear it all like the walls are Paper

    Staff were ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 35 was just re done so quite nice. But bathroom door appalling needs to be fixed.

    Very good location, pleasant room with a view. Think just been refurbed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasnt clean. Leaking sink, no draws to put clothes. Stained carpet. Dirty tiles in bathroom. Mould in bathroom. Very dusty. Tv remote didnt work. No hand soap in despensers. Bins dirty. Stained duvet cover and hairs in bed. Shower falling of wall. A bolt was found the toilet. Breakfast bad.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a shower so assumed a toilet, but no. Was advised to use the shower for a toilet. Shower was useless as it sprayed everywhere but down. Booked a sea view, impossible as the hotel doesn't actually face the sea. Can be seen from doorstep though, or right up against window. No double glazing so you hear all the street noise, over all the doors banging throughout building. Dining room looked like it was possibly in the middle of being decorated. Floors throughout are tilted. Kettle needed descaled. Breakfast was a bit shambolic as only one person on, so mine was a bit cold. Cups weren't the cleanest either.

    Staff when you saw them were friendly and polite. The location was ideal for my needs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is dark, smells of smoke and in poor repair. We had 5 single rooms all charged at the same rate but ranging from what can only be described as a cell with a bed and sink to a single room with on-suite and tea making facilities. All rooms were clean but decor was shabby and there was an absence of hot water. Very disappointed and can not understand the justification of charging the same rate for rooms with very different facilities. Shame on you New Cosmopolitan and Booking.com- feel very let down!

    The location was very central

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ceiling in room was coming down and there was around 6 inches of space between the ceiling covering (Anaglypta wallpaper ) and the ceiling. Looking back wish we’d asked for another room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just close the place down and refurbish/ disinfect it.

    I liked nothing there. The place is in shambles - dirty (had flies!), shower didn't work well, doors and windows wouldn't open/ close easily or they'd be broken, dining room and hallways were super dirty. I sympathise with the staff, as they have to deal with all that.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The time it took to cook the breakfast. I had to leave at 8.20 and breakfast wasnt ready so I had to leave without eatting. Breakfast was between 8am and 9am. I was there for 8am when it opened. This spoilt it as I had to be at an audition/interview before 9am so couldnt wait any longer. I wasnt keen on ths scaffolding but if things need doing its unavoidable but a warning could have been given. (This was my son who stayed hsre so it is his review. I have wrote what he has said. I booked it for him)

    The room and the view. Very comfortable. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking in evening hours free, yet hard to find. Windows and bathroom would rather have some makeover - but as the hotel facade is currently under renovation this is hopefully happening pretty soon.

    Friendly hotel staff, fabulous sea/pierview. Great breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled as if there was actually smoking in there with you. The skirting had been painted and the carpet therefore painted too. The rear door led to a rusty seat and thousands of cigarette butts. The fella on the desk appeared much the worse for wear, especially as the day wore on and the drum and bass reception music louder by increment. Finally, whatever was scratching about after the lights went out, I dread to think. No TV remote!

    The breakfast was edible.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was closed in a morning, wasn't give a chance to complane, high safe and healthy hazard, ''breakfest place''' out off any imagination, just a messy, fire exits blocked

    Property is dirty so dated, no sign off cleaning at all,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from workman

    Friendly helpful staff. Some work was being carried out on the property so was woken at 7am but apart from that great little hotel.dont expect the ritz but great value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only location.

    Nothing. Very uncomfortable toilet and bathroom. No breakfast offered how was written. No even plastic bag on the bean. All building is pending to one side like is ready to fall down. I've been on top floor. No lift available. Very old and not maintained building

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was very basic. The double bed didnt feel like a double as our feet were on the edge and we were lying nearly ontop of eachother.I think they were redoing the hotel.

    central. cheap, you get what you pay for.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start? I don’t usually complain. I have stayed in other guest houses in Brighten for the same price, which have been excellent. We only wanted a room for the night so didn’t expect luxury. However this property was appalling and represented poor value for money. Property unclean and untidy. We stayed here in two rooms. A single and a double. When we checked in I dropped off a bag in my mothers single room. The room obviously had not been cleaned. There was a half used miniature shower gel in the Bath with the lid off obviously left by the previous guest. Decor was terrible. The cistern has obviously been replaced by a smaller one in the bathroom and they had not bothered to paint or fill in the holes. My double room was equally bad. With paper peeling off the walls poor quality fittings. Dirty carpet with cigarette burns. Mould around the bath. Guest towels were provided and arranged on the floor. The kettle lead was too short so could only be used if put on the floor to boil. Breakfast was disgraceful. Sparse selection of cerial and preserves. Poor orange juice. Cheap quality sausages undercooked. Economy white bread. The ambience was no better. They had old mattresses stacked up in one corner or the dining room and piles of boxes in another. The view from the dirty window was obscured by the mattres leant again it. The tables were dirty and had not been wiped. There was insufficient cutlery. There are contractors working at the property. It should not be open while this work in taking place. They appear to have no order for the work. Every spare space is disrupted. With dust and plaster everywhere. And materially in all the public areas. With regard to health and safety - there is none. There are cable leads everywhere. Particularly a dangerous trip hazard when left training down the entrance steps. The property Is currently been refurbished to a poor standard with inferior quality materials. So sadly when completed will not be much better.

    Nothing to like about the accommodation whatsoever. The staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is good value for money. Very basic but clean. Very clean as recently renewed. Rooms are small and you hear the neighbours. No shampoo or anything, so bring your stuff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty. Room was appalling. No lights working in bathroom, shower screen missing, no where to hang clothes. Carpet filthy. Very noisy. Building was being decorated. There was a workman in room above me with some kind of motor going & banging until after midnight. Tried phoning reception, no one there during night. When I finally did get to sleep was awoken by some women banging on front door & shouting at 4am !!! Then woken again at 6.30am with workman on scaffolding outside my bedroom window. Did not bother with breakfast as I could not wait to get out of this place. Absolute nightmare. Worst place I have ever stayed.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor in bathroom was about to go through, wardrobe door fell off and hit my brother, checking in was hard and the guy wanted to charge me again as he was very confused

    Close to everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was awful barely fit in the shower! The hotel very dirty and the dining area was even worst..

    Thr location was amazing, The staff serving the breakfast as Well. Comfortable bed with probably clean sheets and towels

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We are there for the marathon weekend so the the room price was vastly over inflated, up to £180 I think (no other rooms available in town). Normally it is much cheaper. The room was okay, but the bathroom needed redecorating, and repairing. Also the window didn't quite shut properly. Good for a cheap stay but this wasn't a cheap weekend due to the marathon.

    The location was really good. The room was recently decorated so felt modern.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a single room with a sea view, got a double room with a view of rubbish. When i got there i found the place being painted, the interior half finished and a room right at the top of the building. The breakfast room was in the middle of being decorated. Poor lighting in room.

    Close to Brighton dome

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Horizon traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: