Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Highlands hotel reviews
  4. Kingsburgh hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Cosy Skye Cottage

Reviews of Cosy Skye Cottage

Taigh An t'Sithiche, Kingsburgh, IV51 9UX, United Kingdom

#3 of 3 hotels in Kingsburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 33 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 22

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2018

    10
    Cosy house. Perfect place for friends’ trip. Quiet and nice area with beautiful scenery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to do with the cottage. But most of the restaurants in Portree need to be booked in advance.

    We are a group of four: 2 couples. The set-up is perfect for a group like us. Both double-bedrooms are quite spacious. The beddings are very comfortable. The floor heating is super warm and comfortable. Facilities are good and sufficient. The TV has many channels. And the best part was the host prepared many board games in the living room. We had a great night playing games, watching TV and chatting. The cottage is based in a valley. The mountain view is quiet and nice. By driving, it is easy to commute to nearby villages. Around 15 mins drive to Portree.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    9.6
    Place is heaven for nature lovers. Couldnt be better. Facilities were best. 3br and 2 baths
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good. No complaints whatsoever

    Let me start by saying this place was heaven. Best stay in our 15 days in scotland. We are fond of natural beauty and this place gave us much more than we expected. Although 20 mts drive from nearest town but we already knew and had packed food accordingly. Very spacious and thoughtfully designed house. So many games for kids. Plenty of space for parking 3 cars.cant say enough

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.4
    The baths and kitchen degraded what would have made it a good stay. Neighbors and scenery great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The primary issue was cleanliness. The kitchen was so sticky (floors as well as the stove, the cupboards) we did not enjoy cooking and eating there. The baths had excessive amount of mold and mildew. We stayed the weekend at end of August, and assume this place can only be maintained if restricted to full week, mid week or weekend and then just clean more thoroughly. We can see that the owners did try to make the place a good stay, but underestimated a key aspect of relaxing and enjoying life.

    The neighborhood and location just super. Located right in a valley, where one could stay longer. Met the neighbors on each side and received much needed help to find the place as well as attend to a wounded sheep.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    A perfect cottage in perfect scenary
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little not to like but if at all WiFi was week The outside garbage can s were full But really a perfect place

    The cottage is beautiful, very convenient with 3 large bedrooms very comfortable beds and bedding , 2 bath and toilet, a large and fully equipped kitchen , a pleasant dining table, A comfy and cozy leaving room. All well heated (under the floor) Next time will stay for longer time Felt like home

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.0
    A bit disappointing. With a little work and a little thought. The cottage could have been perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cottage beautifully located, surrounded by hills. It was lovely and warm when we arrived - underfloor heating worked really well. The beds were very comfortable. Very disappointed with the lack of attention to detail; there were only 4 plates, one teaspoon, one tumbler, no dishwasher tablets. The frying pan had seen better days; there wasn't a sieve or collander. The coffee jar was empty. A dustpan and brush would have been helpful. There were no instructions as to how to dispose of the garbage and both the recycling and ordinary bins were full to the brim. There were several light bulbs that needed changing in the kitchen. The carpet upstairs had lots of stains and needed cleaning.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.7
    Cosy but needs more
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toiletries and soap advertised turned out to be half a roll of paper and guest leftovers of shampoo and soap dispenser for two bathrooms. Although a good kitchen, the handles were sticky, no tea towel or dishwasher tablets, no glasses for juice/water and if six guests were staying they'd have to share a knife. There needs to be a guest book with house basics, info on nearest shops and maybe guests comments on the local highlights. There's no tv reception so perhaps some dvds, books, board games, cards. The drive could do with more gravel. Great potential but needs a little more effort.

    A cosy new build with double glazing and heated flagstone floor looking out onto a beautiful glen. Very comfortable bed. Loads of space and light.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.9
    Great, Sky is breathtaking !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi, it was like a 9600 baud modem, the last day I had 4g on mobile so that was ok, the kitchen utility was very poor (lacking scissors, glasses, collander, baking pans (the one present was poor, Thea towels. Also the road towards the house had some holes that were not doable bij a normal sedan, please fill them up. However we had a splendid sky adventure, cosy sky is a good base to see all the highlights (old man's Storr, Kiltrock, fairy pools, nest point, coral beach, dunvegan castle). Also we booked a boat trip from Portree to spot white tailed eagles, we encountered 4 of them GREAT!) The house is nice and spacious but due to the lack of some stuff we found the value for money not optimal !

    The location was very nice, de spacious within the house was great, the wash machine was fine, we had wifi (see also below), beds were comfy, shower was ok, views from the house were great, scenery was tremendous. Easy to find with google maps.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.1
    Lovely cottage very warm with beautiful views from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alot of money for one night and lack of kitchen utilities ie glasses plates, dish cloth for drying dishes if your only staying one night a lot to take with you,

    Lovely cottage very warm with beautiful views from the window directions to property from owner very good. Bedrooms comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.7
    The cottage itself is cosy and nicely equipped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The road to the property had deep wholes such that we could not access it with our car. We had to carry all our luggage ourselves to the cottage. Instead of leaving the car at the gate we have - after a neighbor complained - to place the car quite far away. Some utensils in the kitchen were missing (normal glasses, dish-cleaning, tissues, ...)

    The cottage itself is cosy and nicely equipped. There was enough space for 5 persons.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    3.3
    No Comments, as i usually do not like to put up negative comments of any property on social media
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WiFi was totally non existent, there was very bad mobile connectivity & there was no phone on the property which i think was about 15 miles away from town ! It was very difficult to get in touch with the taxi operators (Please understand that NOT EVERYONE HAS A CAR, WE CAN BE USING PUBLIC TRANSPORTS, RIGHT ?) So i think a warning/disclaimer should be there mentioning that people who dont have their Car should think a lot before booking this property.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Highly recommended for self catering lovers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaness, tranquillity with sheep grazing on the farms surrounding it, spacious, completed with almost all essentials even cooking oil and salt. Convenient location to major POIs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Amazing. Exceeded my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no wifi or mobile service but the owner warned us about it before. Also the flyers the owner prepared are quite comprehensive. So this is not a problem for us at all.

    The cottage is so beautiful and comfortable. Much more my expectation. It seems newly refurbished with a lot of cute and romantic decorations. This is perfect for our honeymoon trip. It is surrounded by the mountains, farms of sheep and horses. Very peaceful area. The landscape is stunning. Not very far away from Uig and Portree. Easy to commute there. The instruction sent by the owner before our arrival is quite clear. Additionally, the owner prepared a lot of books and flyers about the area which are super helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Great stay, beautiful house and amazing nature
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No wi-fi or mobile service (although we were warned about that and it wasn't a very big issue)

    The house was clean, newly refurbished, surrounded by beautiful nature and sheep

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.3
    Urgent issues but if you can cope with the negatives - go for it!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The new owners are also new to holiday letting so some leeway is in order but there are issues to address immediately: The drive is pot-holed, deeper than Scotland’s B-roads, so take care with low saloon cars. There is at least one gate that has to be shut every time you enter or exit, due to a likeable herd of resident and inquisitive sheep munching the surrounding ‘garden’ grass. I would recommend the owners use the existing fencing and gates to permanently restrict the sheep from the back garden, thereby providing a sheep-free area for children and pregnant women that can miscarriage from contact with sheep. One of front door keys did not work and guests need to know that the lever must be pushed firmly upwards before turning the key. The total porcelain and glassware consisted of four soup bowls and four small side-plates to eat off, five mugs and four wine glasses. A couple of tea towels would assist those that can’t operate a dishwasher – one more thing to waste time learning. The thoughtful eco policy of one-per-person towel could do with being bigger. The main negative was NO WIFI (compounded with no mobile networks locally) that is now made clearer in the Booking.com details but this caused us logistical problems and stress. The TV does not work due to neither an Freeview aerial nor a satellite decoder. I am very happy to have no TV but tell me first so I don’t waste an hour trying to get it to work. A traditional radio would be a nice addition. A note placed on the heat exchanger would assist in learning how to turn up/down the under-ground-floor heating and provide hot water. The kitchen “extractor” (one of those strange things that doesn’t actually extract) over the hob was dripping old used cooking oil onto the hob and required urgent cleaning - gross! A general problem the holiday-let industry has is making it easy to find and use all the facilities so that half a day is not spent on logistics, this house was no exception.

    A spacious house in a remote location, minimalist décor and furnishing with hints of Ikea. Yes agreed – as another reviewer says, nice new comfortable bedding. The washing machine and fridge-freezer were also new, but no tumble dryer. Portree and Uig are not too far for necessity shops and fuel. The lounge wood burner burns excellently so make use of any logs and firelighters supplied (found in scullery, placed by the burner would be better) or buy at a petrol station. A little bit of loving care, attention to detail, and just a few extra pounds spent would take this place to 8/10 or better.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    clean and tidy, great stay definitely will return
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 1 night

    We are very lucky to seize this newly refurbished cottage at the last minute before we set off, the view from window is spectacular, its also very nice to have walk in surrounding, reasonable price for such spacious cottage.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    quiet, mountain view, surrounded by sheep, comfortable beds
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 1 night

    It seems like this property was newly prepared to be let out and there was no broadband when I was in. The host explained the situation saying broadband will be there in near future. Some might be okay to experience it but we did go through a primitive night.

    We booked pretty late and was surprised to be able to get property of this standard. The host replies quickly with clear guidance about how to get access into the property. With this quiet location while still close to Portree, with this great mountain view, I'd say it's already worth of money paid. One extra point I'd like to contribute is, the mattress I slept on was the best above all the bnb and holiday lets I've ever tried. Got a really good night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2019

    9.2
    WiFi slow
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi slow

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2018

    10
    A lovely remote cottage
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of the showers was broken

    Beautiful house Spacious rooms Floor Heating

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.6
    The house is suitable for a family or 5 or more friends to.
    • People with friends
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house is suitable for a family or 5 or more friends to. Very comfy environment and beautiful scenery.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    Great house in a very calm area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great house in a very calm area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.2
    Really good location to visit stay skye island!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very spacious and well decorated cottage, comfortable for a group of friends or families alike, with beautiful scenery of the country side.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    House is equipped with all the necessities. But only worry is it is far from portree
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no network. Finding house is very difficult

    House is nicely maintained

    Stayed in May 2018

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 – 22

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!