Stays Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Attractions Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Highlands hotel reviews
  4. Kingsburgh hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Cosy Skye Cottage

Reviews of Cosy Skye Cottage

Taigh An t'Sithiche, Kingsburgh, IV51 9UX, United Kingdom

#3 of 3 hotels in Kingsburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 43 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2020

    8.3
    Lovely home from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No welcome pack telling you what was what. E.g nearest shop, hospital, petrol station, WiFi code. Not a complaint as we managed but felt a little disoriented not having one as there is usually a folder in places I’ve stayed before.

    Large 3 bedroom. Nice furnishings. Large kitchen. Sky tv was a huge plus as we had quite bad weather. Would stay again.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2019

    8.8
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi signal is bad, but i guess the host can not really do much given being in Skye.

    Beds are comfortable. Rooms are spacious and fairly clean.

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2019

    7.1
    Could be so much better with little improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately, the kitchen and the downstairs bathroom were not well cleaned. The kitchen cabinets were stained, sticky and there was a lot of dust sticking to the doors. All handles of the cabinets were sticky. I informed the host but he didn't react to the issue. There were only 3 glasses, 4 large plates, 4 teaspoons, etc for all people. This is especially annoying as I asked the host well it advance if this has been sorted as I could read in other reviews that this was an issue and he reassured me it had been sorted. There were no dishwasher tablets, dish towels, washing up soap, kitchen roll or cloths in the property and the owner couldn't provide them for us after I contacted him. This is a no go in a property for 200 Pound a night. Also, some sort of place to sit outside (even a bench would do) to enjoy the view in the sun would make a huge difference.

    The location was very nice and perfect for day trips. Super quiet and sheep to the left and cows to the right, beautiful landscape and a lovely view. The beds were very comfy and and the house is very spacious and nicely decorated. It is a lovely cottage and the general layout is great. Its bright and friendly. The utility room with washing machine and clothes rack is very practical.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2019

    8.8
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missing some key bits in the kitchen - bottle opener (we bought one which the owners offered to reimburse us for), cleaning cloths and scrubber. No table & chairs outside to enjoy the view. Shower downstairs very weak. Not enough seating in the living room for 6 people.

    Very comfortable beds. Beautiful spot in a remote glen. Clean and modern interior. Helpful and responsive owners. A good price compared to many properties on Skye.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2019

    9.5
    Cosy stay in skye
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minor downside was the ground floor bathroom. The shower doesnt have much power and the wash basin also needs a check.

    Great location. 20 minutes drive from Portree, so close enough to co-op when needed but tucked away in a corner of nature. The apartment was clean, chic and very cosy. It has modern facilities e.g. under floor heating system, fridge, freezer, oven, dishwasher and washing machine. The upper floor bathroom is very nice.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2019

    9.6
    Quite and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beer bottle opener wood be nice :)

    Everything was clean and fine. A lot of space. Perfect heating. Internet works good (not an excellent speed).

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2019

    9.2
    It was a wonderful stay! Couldn’t have asked for more. Will be sure to recommend to friends!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi could have been faster

    The comfort of the bed and the many kitchen tools, papers, bin liners, cloths provided. It really exceeded our expectations!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2019

    9.2
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi slow

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    9.6
    Place is heaven for nature lovers. Couldnt be better. Facilities were best. 3br and 2 baths
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good. No complaints whatsoever

    Let me start by saying this place was heaven. Best stay in our 15 days in scotland. We are fond of natural beauty and this place gave us much more than we expected. Although 20 mts drive from nearest town but we already knew and had packed food accordingly. Very spacious and thoughtfully designed house. So many games for kids. Plenty of space for parking 3 cars.cant say enough

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • People with friends
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house is suitable for a family or 5 or more friends to. Very comfy environment and beautiful scenery.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.0
    A bit disappointing. With a little work and a little thought. The cottage could have been perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cottage beautifully located, surrounded by hills. It was lovely and warm when we arrived - underfloor heating worked really well. The beds were very comfortable. Very disappointed with the lack of attention to detail; there were only 4 plates, one teaspoon, one tumbler, no dishwasher tablets. The frying pan had seen better days; there wasn't a sieve or collander. The coffee jar was empty. A dustpan and brush would have been helpful. There were no instructions as to how to dispose of the garbage and both the recycling and ordinary bins were full to the brim. There were several light bulbs that needed changing in the kitchen. The carpet upstairs had lots of stains and needed cleaning.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.7
    Cosy but needs more
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toiletries and soap advertised turned out to be half a roll of paper and guest leftovers of shampoo and soap dispenser for two bathrooms. Although a good kitchen, the handles were sticky, no tea towel or dishwasher tablets, no glasses for juice/water and if six guests were staying they'd have to share a knife. There needs to be a guest book with house basics, info on nearest shops and maybe guests comments on the local highlights. There's no tv reception so perhaps some dvds, books, board games, cards. The drive could do with more gravel. Great potential but needs a little more effort.

    A cosy new build with double glazing and heated flagstone floor looking out onto a beautiful glen. Very comfortable bed. Loads of space and light.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.9
    Great, Sky is breathtaking !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi, it was like a 9600 baud modem, the last day I had 4g on mobile so that was ok, the kitchen utility was very poor (lacking scissors, glasses, collander, baking pans (the one present was poor, Thea towels. Also the road towards the house had some holes that were not doable bij a normal sedan, please fill them up. However we had a splendid sky adventure, cosy sky is a good base to see all the highlights (old man's Storr, Kiltrock, fairy pools, nest point, coral beach, dunvegan castle). Also we booked a boat trip from Portree to spot white tailed eagles, we encountered 4 of them GREAT!) The house is nice and spacious but due to the lack of some stuff we found the value for money not optimal !

    The location was very nice, de spacious within the house was great, the wash machine was fine, we had wifi (see also below), beds were comfy, shower was ok, views from the house were great, scenery was tremendous. Easy to find with google maps.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alot of money for one night and lack of kitchen utilities ie glasses plates, dish cloth for drying dishes if your only staying one night a lot to take with you,

    Lovely cottage very warm with beautiful views from the window directions to property from owner very good. Bedrooms comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The road to the property had deep wholes such that we could not access it with our car. We had to carry all our luggage ourselves to the cottage. Instead of leaving the car at the gate we have - after a neighbor complained - to place the car quite far away. Some utensils in the kitchen were missing (normal glasses, dish-cleaning, tissues, ...)

    The cottage itself is cosy and nicely equipped. There was enough space for 5 persons.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.2
    Really good location to visit stay skye island!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very spacious and well decorated cottage, comfortable for a group of friends or families alike, with beautiful scenery of the country side.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Great stay, beautiful house and amazing nature
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No wi-fi or mobile service (although we were warned about that and it wasn't a very big issue)

    The house was clean, newly refurbished, surrounded by beautiful nature and sheep

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2020

    10
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A fantastic cottage with stunning scenery. The area is peaceful and quiet. Perfect for a family visit. The rooms are spacious and tidy. The beds are so comfortable. Also, I appreciate that the host prepared some boarding games. We spent a lovely family night there. Will visit again.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2019

    10
    We loved it. Just the country experience we were looking for. Could have stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Driveway really needs some work. Our car bottomed out to the point where we had to have everyone out of the car so the car would go up the drive.

    Peace and quiet. Open and roomy. Well stocked kitchen except we were missing dishcloths and tea towels.

    Stayed in September 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2019

    3.3
    Poor
    • People with friends
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gate to the cottage was left open. There were sheep in various places eating and pooping on sidewalk, all around the house. NASTY. Also, the dishes were dirty from grease on handles of skillet to dishes and bowls. I put glasses, plates, silverware, coffee cups in dishwasher and ran it. Came out clean so we kept those in sink so we knew we had clean ones ready to use. The wi-fi W extremely BAD!- tried to watch a show and it kept buffering. Every day we had to watch to keep from stepping in sheep or cow poop. Discussing. Would no recommend to anyone.

    Had a washing machine.

    Stayed in September 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect house in wilderness. Spot clean, well equipped. Very comfortable beds. Big bedrooms. Fantabulous location. Would love to visit again!

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2019

    3.8
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no tea towels no dishwasher powder. Mirrors removed from walls. Filthy dripping fat from oven door onto floor. Greasy sticky floors. Stained sheets. Litter and dust under beds and on cupboard shelves. Wet wipes on driveway on our arrival Outside bins overflowing. Old food in kitchen cupboards. All the supplied games had bits missing so they could not be played.

    Beds comfortable

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2019

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was not clean, dishes linen and towels all dirty. WiFi very week. Way up to the house scratched the bottom of the car. Owner did not answer the phone. Basic things were missing, dishwashing soap, roilet paper... etc

    Very spacious house. Quiet

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2019

    10
    We had four wunderful days!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We did not know what food and kitchen utensils would be available on site. If you arrive in the evening (as we did), it would have been helpful to know, that there was no dishwashing detergent or liquid and no tea towels...

    A first class, very spacious self-catering accommodation. Perfect for a stay lasting several days on Skye Island.

    Stayed in June 2019

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!