Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Fish Hotel 4 stars

Farncombe Estate, Broadway, WR12 7LJ, United Kingdom

#4 of 6 hotels in Broadway

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 669 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Stable block rooms were finished to a high standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The traffic calming bumps!

    Stable block rooms were finished to a high standard. loved the self-service fresh milk available from the communal fridge. The hand written welcome note was a lovely touch. Staff were very welcoming. Quality of the food in the restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Sort out the reservation booking system and the stay would have been perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reservations booked at reception (twice, for both dinner and lunch) didn’t get sent to the restaurant resulting in embarrassing delays due to the restaurant being fully booked and staff having to find extra room for us.

    The rooms and the grounds were lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Lovely quiet rural location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi didnt work in our room..No internet [in far corner of "stables"] Though I could access internet from restaurant area..but it was Slow even there..and Inconvenient Reception staff were efficient but more Officious than friendly !

    Lovely quiet rural location Restaurant staff and food were very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    The views and location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A light over the mirror in the bathroom would have been useful.

    The views and location was excellent. The staff were very friendly and professional. The décor was very tasteful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel in beautiful surroundings!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We spent 2 nights at the fish hotel, it was very relaxing just a short drive from Broadway. The room was finished to a very high quality and was very comfortable. The fish have thought of everything very well run hotel!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    The grounds, bed and bathroom were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the staff was friendly, they could have been a bit more attentive and knowledgeable on walking paths and local amenities.

    The grounds, bed and bathroom were great. The fields were beautiful and there were a lot of great places to enjoy the sun. The location was fantastic, you could drive or walk into town which is nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Amazing !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If there was a swimming pool or jacquzi, steam, sauna, spa that would have been even better. Not sure whether guests from Fish Hotel can use these facilities at Dormy House.

    Loved the coffee machine for making nespressos, the radio playing lovely music when we entered the room, personal note from Kimberely and staff :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Incredibly relaxing 2 nights in an outstanding setting, delicious food and incredible staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    How could you dislike anything here! It was rained & it was still beautiful

    The food was outstanding, menu was simple but enough. The mussels were incredible! The presentation was stunning but not pretentious!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Relax in style in the Cotswolds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The estate is beautifully located and the hotel made sure it's kid and pet friendly. Some of the rooms are/will be absolutely unique (e.g. treehouses or huts) but even the basic rooms are very cosy and decorated to a high standard. The staff was great, the food in the restaurant as well (both regular lunch/dinner menu and the high tea). Highly recommended!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    6.3
    Such a shame as this place has so much potential
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff did not seem to know what they were doing the breakfast was cold it was all a bit chaotic we ended up walking out of the breakfast after waiting so long

    The location is stunning and the rooms are very nice except the layout made it a bit constrained when getting ready to go out and the blind did not fit the window so we were waken at sunrise

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking up and down 115 steps to dining area but considering the weather they were safe to walk on

    Cleanliness pleasant staff comfy bed excellent housekeeper

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    7.9
    Location is beautiful and staff are very friendly. They should pay more attention on small details.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating wasn’t on so it took a while to warm up, no extra toilet paper, no fridge in the room, the mould wine it’s a no no who made it definitely didn’t try it. This small touches make a big difference.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Lovely, peaceful hotel with excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We really enjoyed our stay and would be glad to return! Due to the hilly location and the nature of the rooms being split over multiple buildings I would advise anyone with mobility problems to mention this to the hotel as there may be a short walk between buildings for breakfast/dinner which includes steps.

    The staff were lovely and very helpful. Our room was modestly sized, but no smaller than other standard rooms we've stayed in at other hotels and we appreciated the style of the room and the facilities. We particularly enjoyed the food at the restaurant and the breakfast is good. The hotel consists of multiple buildings tucked away in larger grounds outside of Broadway and it felt nice to 'get away from it all' while still being relatively near to Stratford. The night sky is beautiful when the sky is clear due to limited amounts of light pollution in the area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.9
    Overall nice place but small room which could be situated in a better location for that price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very disappointed with the size of the room. It was very tiny and the French door to a mini patio which was separated from the car park just with the tiny wall make us feel like we had less privacy.

    I really like the area and quality of food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    7.1
    We enjoyed our stay we are not negative people. Staff were very friendly which is always a plus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being as we arrived in the dark was very difficult to find our room. The light above the door switched on would have helped or a member of staff greeted us there. Carpet was stained but did mention very apologetic. Overflow in sink could have done with a clean. It's always the little things to detail that give that extra comfy feeling.

    The bed was comfy. Most of the staff are excellent. Beautiful setting.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    Lovely countryside getaway, stylish yet rustic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No wardrobe (just hangers on a rail) I understand it saves space Main restaurant lighting was a bit bright and lacked some atmosphere, would choose to eat in the lounge, also our greeter wasn't the most friendly which left a sour taste at the start of the meal! Couldn't find a safe in the room No minibar Bit of a walk into Broadway especially in the winter.

    Despite some comments, we found this place easy to find. I just typed in Fish Hotel Broadway into google maps, and it took me to the Farncombe estate entrance, from there it's all signposted. Parking was easy, friendly welcome. Lovely sweeping views of the Costwolds from the stables rooms and the grounds are lovely to walk around. Lovely room and decor- vintage with a modern/rustic edge. Very clean, nice bathroom. Lots of drawer space. We were in a luxury cosy room which was a nice size (but not big) for the lower price we got. Bed was comfy but not a big size (more of a king). There's a big fridge down the corridor which has milk and space to put your own things, would prefer a fridge in the room though. Price was very good and impressed it included breakfast & dinner (£50 budget for dins exc alcohol). The main restaurant menu was lovely, really good food and impressed it was included in the price. The lounge food was also very nice and a much nicer atmosphere to sit in, lovely lighting and ambience. Great service in the bar and lovely drinks. So many lovely towns and beautiful pubs in driving distance

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.2
    Nice comfortable stay in lovely surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been nice to have been taken to the room instead of having to find it yourself, especially as it was in the grounds of the hotel. At breakfast more toasters would have been a good idea as you felt that you were holding other guests up whilst waiting for the bread to toast. Ended up taking it out before it was done. The activities are only available at weekends, didn't worry us but may have disappointed other guests, maybe should make this fact clear before booking is made.

    Comfy bed, quiet room. Lovely views from every window. Lovely estate to walk around without using the car.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Loved it, the frustration with the satnav/postcode issue got us off to a very bad start, which.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For Satnav the postcodes are useless as is directional signage, and the writing on Automatic Gate could well be used in a Specsavers commercial

    The staff particularly, very helpful, understanding and pleasant throughout every aspect of the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel, staff overly helpful in the best possible...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only small criticism if we had to give one, is to maybe offer a shuttle service to Broadway town as it is an easy 10 minute drive as taxi’s are very expensive and few and far between

    Beautiful hotel, staff overly helpful in the best possible way, they went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    Would highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The signage could have been better.

    This hotel is a little different because it consists of several buildings. The lighting at night is lovely but not conducive to helping find the restaurant and bar, as signage is very poor as well. However, it is a stunning place. It's beautifully designed and we stayed in a Cosy Luxe room which was lovely. The food is very good and particularly liked the choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Relaxing, comfortable stay with great food and drinks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough gluten free options on any of the menus.

    Excellent location for walks into Broadway. Fantastic staff, yummy food and super cocktails. Great for a girly night away, a romantic trip or a family break.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Had a fabulous time. Would highly recommend to anyone!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not ideal for those with mobility problems as estate buildings set on different levels which were stepped and quite steep

    Accommodation was top quality as was the food. Restaurant and reception staff friendly, helpful and welcoming. Everything was well maintained and very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel in beautiful rural Cotswold location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of soundproofing in bedrooms - we heard more than we wanted to from neighbours (who weren't particularly noisy). No warning about the distance and number of outdoor steps between bedroom accommodation and restaurant, bar, lounge, etc - not a problem for us during this stay, but could be for less able-bodied guests and in bad weather.

    Beautiful location on extensive rural estate. Plentiful supply of fresh milk for bedroom tea and coffee. Restaurant excellent. Friendly staff. Rooms with outdoor space to sit and relax.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.1
    We enjoyed our stay in the Cotswolds very much - central to several National Trust houses
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We booked many months before going and would have expected that our room and that of our friends would have been closer together. As it was we were situated a long way away from them. Breakfast fresh fruit had little variety being mainly melon;

    Location very good; spacious areas to relax away from noise

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Excellent accommodation in a beautiful location with a relaxed feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn’t like!

    We loved the bedrooms which were decorated to a high standard with nice touches. It was our wedding anniversary and we were given a complimentary glass of fizz each. The restaurant food was exemplary and the staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    The Location and staff made it a wonderful weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The new location of the reception is a little confusing, especially when arriving after dark. Whilst no one want to see too many signs, they could be clearer and better placed.

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful both prior to our arrival and during the stay. Our rooms were very comfortable and fresh.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    3.3
    Overpriced, waste of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was completely mis-sold. smaller than your average travel lodge or holiday inn, there wasn't even a wardrobe. You couldnt walk around the bed (advertised as a double, but much smaller in reality).The bathroom was as basic as a staff loo in a restaurant. Our view was terrible- we were at the bottom of an unkept hill facing upward. there was no service to speak of. Next time-better off staying at a holiday inn. We payed over the odds for something that was advertised as 'luxury' but we were in badly built rooms, we could hear our neighbour 4 doors down sneeze. We could hear absolutely everything in the property- dogs, children, fighting couples. Overall, a complete waste of money- best to go to a travel lodge.

    The breakfast was a la carte and there were plenty of walking roots, easy parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    Super stay for a birthday celebration
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All that was lacking in the room was wardrobe space.

    A wonderful stay in a stunning location. Lovely atmosphere in bar/lounge. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. Access to sporty activities on site were a bonus. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.2
    Hospitality and all arrangements touched us during our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is not that easy to get there by public transportation.

    Hospitality and all arrangements touched us during our stay. Variety of breakfast sets on menu can satisfy all kind of customers. Bed is soft and view is beautiful. Public hiking path is enjoyable as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    A perfect weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything at this hotel was done to perfection! Lovely rooms, idyllic setting, great food and fantastic staff! Fiona on reception was exceptionally helpful on numerous occasions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    I met my sister and her husband at the hotel ( I came from London and they came from Derbyshire to c
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An outdoor light near the entrance to farmhouse to see entrance clearer would have enhanced the dtay

    It was a very calm and serene place, ideal for walking and outdoor pastimes but ideal also to just stay in hotel and relax. The staff were always accommodating, polite and efficient. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Really liked this hotel and would happily stay again. Very charming, spacious and the view is amazin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the hotel's fault but keep in mind the address provided will send you on the wrong side of the hill if you're driving there.

    The room was spacious and clean, staff friendly and helpful, and the overall venue has a lot of character.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    every thing was just fantastic from start finish every...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was nothing to dis like a top hotel in every way

    every thing was just fantastic from start finish every member of staff was so special in every way i have no problem in recommending this place to every one

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.2
    Thoroughly enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room had just one wooden desk chair. Two easy chairs would have been appreciated. Road directions to the hotel were confusing.

    Comfortable, well-appointed room, beautiful view to the West. Cosy, relaxing bar with log fire burner, pleasant restaurant - enjoyed a tasty dinner - good breakfast. Hotel staff personable and efficient. Appreciated the fresh, bottled milk available for tea or coffee in our room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing week
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Ok, difficult to find something negative about this hotel. Maybe this: the food choice of room service is not very large. But as there's a lounge in the main building with much more choice, it's not a problem.

    Great location to visit Cotswolds, good parking facilities, suitable for families, dogs are welcome, very quiet location, confortable rooms, staff very helpful and friendly, cleanliness. I definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    Everyone enjoyed their stay, despite the window blind problem
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I paid for an upgrade for my son and his family who had travelled from Australia........ their room was great except for a broken blind at the window.... their 1yr old son found it hard to sleep with the sun streaming in...... after several attempts to get the blind fixed failed....... they were forced to put a blanket to the window...I was very disappointed by this

    We ate in the restaurant.... food was excellent Bed was big and very comfortable Large bathroom and quality towels Nespresso coffee machine was a great bonus

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    6.3
    Stylish hotel, good location, but service falls a little short and the site if challenging.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower did not work. Reported it to reception. We could not wait for maintenance to fix it as on our way out of the hotel. Rather marred the experience. Not asked at reception if we had had any problems and just presented the bill. Also the site is very hilly, and steep slippery steps between rooms and main facilities.

    Rather liked the quirky Scandinavian style. The location was good, but unfortunately weather not good and we weren't able to experience it. Amazing views, though.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.4
    We were booked in for two nights and left after just one. It was our wedding anniversary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was very small, too small even for a wardrobe and so that was very off putting considering the flashy marketing strategy and photographs. The bathroom did not have a window and was claustrophobic. There were droves of children, babies and dogs, either barking or screaming.

    The views over the Vale of Evesham were lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.1
    A good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a let down, the buffet was good but the cooked option was poor quality and very small not what you expect for the price!!

    Lovely location and room. The staff were extremely helpful and it was very clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant but a little disappointed on the cost and the bathroom in our room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very basic and it was quite expensive for what it is!

    The bed was extremely comfortable! The estate was great, fantastic views and so much space to walk around and explore.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Very comfortable and memorable stay in a good way. Would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little small for similar priced rooms in other hotels but the rest of the experience made up for this.

    Very clean and comfortable rooms with everything you need. Great staff and lovely buildings and surrounding countryside.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.1
    lovely location, yummy breakfast,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At the front of the cosy rooms there is a pathway that runs along the front for people to get into their rooms, this is very noisy in the evening and the morning when we were trying to sleep, it would be much better if each room had its own gate , as being the end room we had all the other people staying wandering past us.

    lovely location, yummy breakfast,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.8
    Very good - would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The initial room we were allocated.

    the room we were allocated-Brooke House was dire, dirty, awful, however after a phone call to reception we were upgraded to The Farmhouse which was very good. The staff were excellent and the food was very good. The view was stunning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    Modern but cosy clean relaxing and beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal menu quite limited do not think there was enough choice if staying for more than 3 evenings

    Lovely clean modern but cosy room loved that there was fresh milk in a fridge available instead of the normal awful long life stuff 😊

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Fabulous, cannot wait to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just the one small dislike was trying to find the place! The sat nav takes you to one place where you are told 'Nearly there, please use this postcode...' The sat nav didn't like it, and just took us round in circles! My advice is to head for The Dormy House Hotel signs as it is their sister hotel. It is also much easier to find if you access it from Fish Hill. Now we know, it won't be a problem in future.

    Absolutely loved our stay - I didn't want to leave! We were made very welcome, always a smile. Due to being allergic to dogs I requested a pet free room. Perfect! The hotel is ideal regardless of whether you like animals or not. Having two bar/lounge areas, dogs are only allowed in one area, so I didn't have to fear an asthma attack! We were celebrating a birthday and so had dinner in the restaurant. Perfectly cooked salmon and masses of green vegetables. Attentative waiter and lovely atmosphere with the storm candles. Can't wait to go back again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    Lush experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cob webs in room

    The overall experience was great and we stayed in the standard room, there were cob webs which I disliked and really warm during the night so some form of ventilation would be good but overall absolutely great. Thank you

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location definitely difficult if you had to negotiate in icy weather because of the steeply inclined site and having to move up and down the hillside setting.

    Contemporary with a homey feel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.5
    Nice stay, friendly staff, cosy rooms but uncomfortable sleep. A little over-priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was quite small, it was nice but a little cosier than we expected. The mattress was very uncomfortable, once we told the staff they arranged for a mattress protector to be put on however this didn't make much difference to the comfort which meant we didn't really get much sleep.

    The staff at The Fish Hotel were very friendly and knowledgeable. We were so pleased to see a Nespresso machine in the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    6.3
    Overpriced, NOT value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cosy double room (underwhelming for price), very small for £185 a night, nothing spectacular, standard double bed, standard bathroom & smallest tv I've ever seen, you can here everything within the block (thin walls), no air conditioning, so with Windows open, noise levels heightened (especially during outdoor boxercise session around 6pm). Isolated in middle of nowhere, nothing walkable nearby, very hilly vast estate, need your car. Asked prior to visit direct from hotel (reason for visit), wedding anniversary, not acknowledged at all, which is fine, but then don't ask!!!!! Have since emailed hotel upon return, no response received!!!!

    Main hub, bar restaurant area, very relaxing. Food quality excellent, although limited choice on menu.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    6.3
    Stiflingly hot! Take a fan & a sheet!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was far too hot. No fan available. The sun shone straight in to this room all day. Pity that the chambermaid shut the window!

    Breakfast was good, with plenty of choice, hot & cold

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    5.4
    Staff was friendly and attentive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in our place had a constant noise sounds like there 2 washing machines next door would of loved to have had a bath but it was not relaxing. The room was very average nothing special. Your photos on line give it a completely different look. Was dissapointed. I could get a room like that for a lot cheaper and not have to spend so much money on taxis getting to the location.

    Staff was friendly and attentive

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.8
    Well executed concept but some Food & Bev prices aren't justified
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    £6.50 for bruschetta; which is 1 slice of stale baguette and some ricotta & tomato.

    Great check in experience - only took a few minutes. Estate is peaceful. We were travelling for leisure, but the property is popular with corporate clients on team building/seminar events. Well equipped facilities

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    A perfect short vacation
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    Everything was perfect, the staf was so friendly and helpfull, the style of the propertie, the neighbourhood, the most friendly way they treath dogs, the feeling of freedom, just everything was so good. Breakfast with fresh pressed grape fruit, fresh cut fruit and delicious croissants, was the best ever. I booked for 3 nights and couldn't have choosen a better place to take a break. Friends who came for a visit, decided, after seeing the propertie, to book for november. My English is not that good, I normaly speek and write Flemish.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.6
    Cosy, beautiful and peaceful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was a little too hard and the blinds didn't come all the way down so it was very bright in the morning

    Wonderful food, loved the restaurant and the bar, room was super cosy!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.5
    Very comfortable rooms, dining disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No fitness suite, pool or wellness, distance to walk to Broadway (45-60 minutes), disappointing dinners - more pub than fine dining

    Bed comfort, public areas, staff attitude

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.6
    Quiet, secluded location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was being cleaned when we got back from breakfast so we had to wait until the cleaner had finished before we could get ready to go out for the day.

    The fridge in the foyer for fresh milk and which we could also use for a few or our own bits. Comfy bed. Radio in the room. Peaceful location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    A brilliant get away from it all place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar prices a bit steep.

    The location and is something else, in 400 acres of the Francombe Estate there are lovely walks especially to Broadway and the views are to die for.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The environment outside the area where we stayed, which was called 'The Farmhouse', was a little bleak (empty flower boxes and piled up leaves), but our bedrooms were very nice.

    The environment was great- lovely views and the grounds/woodland made you feel 'away from it all'. (This feeling was enhanced by the fact that I had no phone reception, but the hotel Wifi worked well. ) All the staff were very friendly and enthusiastic. The decoration inside the bars and restaurants was modern and relaxing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    5.0
    Very poor - do not go there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Newspapers were not delivered despite ordering 2. Food was mediocre 3. Room was very small - no wardrobe! 4. Shower unit did not work!

    Location on hillside

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.8
    Thoroughly enjoyable stay, will be pleased to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought the evening meal was ok but the menu was a bit limited and additional prawns did not come up when ordered. Our waitress was obviously a trainee although she was being supervised, by her superior (who was very good).

    Position, views, the ambience and the staff were friendly, the hotel was clean and pleasantly decorated, the bar was comfortable and bar snacks were good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    Pleasant stay in the Cotswolds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was disappointing. Steak very tough - partly inedible. The tap water - or more likely the glasses it was served in - smelt of fish. We had to order bottled water.

    Beautiful estate with the main building set among trees on a hillside overlooking the Vale of Evesham. Plenty of choice for Breakfast. Cold and Hot. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.9
    Interesting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The full English breakfast was very small for my husband and when my poached eggs arrived these were cold

    The room was beautiful , the bathroom excellent. Dinner at night was good although not a huge menu

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    One of the best hotel stays we've had. We'll be bank.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    They were so dog friendly. A luxurious stay that made you feel really comfortable having your pets with you. The grounds were stunning. So peaceful and 400 acres to walk in. Recently refurbed bar and decor v relaxing. Helpful staff. All fab.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only suggestion I would make, would be to have a few more choices on the dinner menu. Also the room wasn't that well sound proofed and could hear next door quite loudly as well as people walking passed.

    Staff were very freindly and accomodating, nothing was a problem. Food was very nice and whole hotel was clean and tidy. Really loved the lounge with its fire and calm, relaxing lighting.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.2
    A great getaway from London which is not far and yet provides countryside quaint village feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound proofing of rooms were not good and I had another guest complaining about noise from my TV.

    The location and the view around. The quality of construction and ambience.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.2
    Lots of greenery, homely feel and clean room and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None.

    The room, though a bit small, gave a homely feel and were very clean. While dinner menu was quite limited in choices, we found quality to be good and prices fairly reasonable. Quality and available of options for breakfast were good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.2
    Nice room lovely staff good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were walking and it was a good ways out of town. We did not realize this when we booked. We hiked up a step hill. If we were driving it would have been fine.

    Lovely spot with friendly staff and great food. We were walking and it was away from everything so that was our only problem, In the morning the staff gave us a ride to Morton-on0Marsh which was much appreciated,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    5.8
    Friends Reunion
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested a upper floor room but were given a ground floor disabled room with small windows and no view. Our friends although paying the same price had a far superior room with wonderful views. The food was cafeteria style not what we would expect from a hotel restaurant.

    Position and views

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.9
    Great location but eat your evening meal in town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like the food on offer in the bar or the restaurant in the evening. It was very disappointing.

    The hotel was lovely with great walks on the door step. The bedroom was very comfortable with lovely bathroom ensuite. Fresh coffee machine in each room great way to start the day.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.3
    Out of the way quiet with good food and excelllent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a nicer room and didn't really get a chance to upgrade which I would have happily paid for There were issues with the heating that could not be resolved but an electric fire kept us warm enough

    Food was excellent Log fire in the bar was cosy

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent all round .
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent all round . Staff very helpful . Lovely setting and room was ideal with a view of the countryside . Great bar and restaurant. Stayed 2 nights for my birthday and had a great time.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the restaurant was mediocre. Disappointing in quality and presentation.

    The room was beautifully furnished and extremely comfortable. Shower facilities were excellent. The reception staff were most friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are amazing. Comfortable rooms and squeaky clean. Love the Nespresso machines in every room. Beautiful grounds and surrounding area. The chef went the extra mile for us. Thanks!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Well worth the trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are slightly small, missed having a safe in the room. Breakfast area was slightly chaotic with children

    Loved the location and layout of the property. Friendly staff and very good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    5.5
    A disappointing stay, our bedroom was tiny room set in a 400 acre estate, it was an exceedingly long
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Most things, totally without any atmosphere, everywhere felt cold. Food only OK Bedroom hardly big enough for one person

    The surrounding area Products in bedroom, replaced each day.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Fish Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: