Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cotswold Gateway Hotel 3 stars

Cheltenham Road, Burford, OX18 4HX, United Kingdom

#9 of 17 hotels in Burford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 679 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Good location for exploring the Cotswolds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms hot due to weather but no fan of air conditioning offered. Hotel on busy road so very noisy with the windows open. Bathroom decor looked a bit tired. I think bathroom tiles had been painted over.

    Good location for exploring the Cotswolds. Large room. Staff very friendly. Good basic breakfast. Ample parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.0
    Bitterly disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I. We had a very long wait at reception when booking in on our day of arrival and we were abandoned at the entrance to the annex where our bedroom had been allocated - just given the key, told our room was upstairs, no offer of carrying the case upstairs or showing us to the room - day of arrival and time clashed with England's World cup football match - obviously the staff member felt it more important for them to get back to watching the match in the bar. The annex accommodation ( we hadn't been informed that we would be accommodated in an annex ) was like an oven when we opened the door - sun directly shining onto the windows which could not be opened fully, curtains and on-suite blinds not previously drawn to shield the sun out - hence evening / night oppressively hot. The room itself was very small and cramped, without adequate ventilation and very difficult to actually walk down one side of the bed without stubbing one's toe's on the bed base, TV to high on the wall to watch in comfort, on-suite shower had inadequate power. One important reason why we chose this hotel was that they advertised that they been accredited for a high standard of gluten free food by the celiacs disease society - menu's did not live up to that - at breakfast they did not have any gluten free breakfast cereal's out and when asked we were told that they don't have any, likewise no gluten free sausages etc - a very inadequate situation. Overall, our stay ( fortunately we had only booked for the one night ) was very poor value and we feel the description of the hotel and meals was was misleading and certainly not an accurate statement of the overall facilities on offer. From our experience, we could not really recommend this hotel.

    Partly liked the location as it was in Burford itself, but the negative side to that being that the hotel and annex are adjacent to the main Cirencester Oxford road making for a noisy situation - particularly in the evening and through out the night during summer months where you need to have the bedroom windows open for ventilation - very difficult to sleep

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Good value. Clean. Welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was lumpy and uncomfortable, we're not complainers so we flipped it and found it much better!

    Breakfast was lovely. Good choice. Staff work very hard. Location was good. The hotel is situated next to a roundabout but noise wasn't a problem at all. We ate an evening meal twice at the restaurant, the food was fantastic. Excellent Wi-Fi, better than what we have at home!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.7
    Good for a stop over an route.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Venue is on a busy junction so was busy with traffic until late but did quite quiten down around 11pm/12pm. The hot weather made our room on the top floor unbearably hot and a sleep elusive. I did suggest curtains were kept closed to keep the room cool but my remarks fell on deaf ears.

    Easy to find and excellent parking. Decor good (recently done?) Stairs steep to rooms so may not suit someone with mobility issues. Nice menu offering small/regular portions. Service from staff very good. A short walk to Burford high street with a number of pubs and some with live music) and individual shops. Good location for visiting Stow. Nice breakfast menu cooked to order.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.7
    Staff were good/nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked two single rooms but received one single room & one double room, rooms are pretty small but if you are only sleeping there then perhaps would be ok, the showers in both had minimal water coming out so were poor...also the hotel is on a busy junction/roundabout with lots of flow through traffic at all hours which is a shame!

    Staff were good/nice! & Rooms are clean.....it’s a nice building & not far from the lovely town of Burford. Breakfast was good!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointing . Seems to be a public house trying to be a hotel, and not very successfully.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An extremely small room. Very noisy traffic all through the night . Breakfast was served very late, even for a Sunday, and even then the staff were not ready . Continental breakfast was poor in choice ; no cornflakes and no fresh fruit ( a small amount of chopped fruit did eventually appear once I had asked --mainly apple. No staffing during the night, even though a door was left open for access.

    It was a reasonable location for the town centre. The cooked breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Really excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was like something from the late 80’s, shower wasn’t great. A spare loo roll would’ve been useful too.

    Really excellent breakfast. Waitress was lovely too. Good location & v comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    All in all a very good experience. Would return but request rear facing rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was facing the roundabout (if you know Burford, it's incredibly busy into the early hours.) and on the hot night that it was we had to have the windows open. Not a lot of sleep achieved. Perhaps an air conditioning unit could have been installed or free standing to plug in.

    First stay at the Cotswold Gateway Hotel. A very warm and welcoming hotel. The staff were efficient and very friendly. The room, a family room, was large, airy, beautifully furnished, clean and well stocked. The beds were extremely comfortable. Lots of bathroom toiletries and plenty of towels. Refreshments provided for the 3 of us which was nice as most only leave for the 2 adults. Breakfast was plentiful, good choices and very tasty (sausages in particular).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dust in room, Tea & coffee facilities poor & cups had not been cleaned. No hot water on the Sunday morning.

    Excellent location, Very nice staff & lovely breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Extremely helpful, accommodating and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Extremely helpful, accommodating and friendly staff. Location of the hotel is excellent for the local area with plenty of parking. Excellent food. Rooms were very comfortable and very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    They did not know that we booked a family room because there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They did not know that we booked a family room because there was a problem with their system. They gave us a complimentary bottle of wine as a way of apology.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.0
    IT WAS HORRIBLE,WE CARE FREQUENT TRAVELLERS & HIS WAS AS BAD AS IT COULD BE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ROOM 24 DEGREES NO FAN OR AIR CONDITIONING. WINDOW COULD ONLY OPEN 6 INCHES MENU FOR RESTURANT IN ROOM OUT DATED RESTRICTED MENU. BREAKFAST AFTER 40 MINUTE WAIT FOR BREAKFAST IT WAS COLD . WOULD NOT STAY THERE AGAIN EVEN FOR FREE.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    perfect location for a trip exploring the beautiful Cotswolds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were small and neat but had all the facilities needed with a lovely bathroom. The only thing that was a problem was that the matress was a little uncomfortable....should think of replacing soon. It was not impossible to avoid the springs but it was not the best nights sleep.

    This hotel is in a perfect location for visiting the Cotswolds. Positioned on a main route means that you have a choice of destinations and closer to the hotel beautiful Burford is a quick stroll down the hill. The hotel has retained the character of a lovely country manor house with a paneled dining room and bar. Lovely cooked breakfast and a good selection from the buffet. There is also ample parking..always a bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Overall a very positive experience. Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of morning newspapers to read.

    Booked for a TWIN Room but due to a system error we were provided with a DOUBLE. Immediate professional and caring action by management rectified the situation immediately. Also, we arrived after 8pm therefore the evening meal time had passed but the manager ensured we had access to a glass of wine and a small bite to eat which was very much appreciated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    Lovely break in the heart of the Cotswolds, this was a great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meal on first night was a little disappointing, we both had the roast lamb but it didn’t taste like it was cooked fresh, seemed like it had been re-heated plus plenty of salt in it.

    Really impressed with the way they provided us with room service on our second night as we needed dinner but had a cranky baby who needed to go to bed. Breakfast was really good both days too. All of the staff were excellent. Location was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    4.6
    Great location, great breakfast, hotel could do with some updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise from the road was really bad, even when the window was closed. The mattress was also very hard, and the sink in the bathroom had an odd smell at certain times of the day. The floor boards in room above were also very creaky adding to the noise disruption.

    Location within Cotswolds was very convenient and easy to get to different places to visit, and close enough to walk into Burford for evening meal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Had a lovely stay will stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a lovely four poster bed but unfortunately the pillar blocked the tv as we couldn’t move either it was a little bit of a nuisance.

    Friendly staff ,lovely room and delicious food 😀

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    Had an enjoyable stay at the hotel, very central to the high street, and neighbouring villages.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food menu could have had more choices, especially in the evening , the bedroom we had could have been better equipped with a bath mat in the shower room, glasses for drinking , has well as the cups, and the pillows could have been softer,

    Breakfast was nice, but wish you had kipper's on he menu.the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Outstanding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room near roadway

    Full English breakfast cooked perfectly as ordered, friendly staff, clean rooms, historic building, beautiful location as Gateway to the Cotswolds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    4.2
    VERY DISAPPOINTED and wish we had stopped at the Travelodge over the road for half the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no staff available on reception and did not answer phone calls at all TV did not work bar closed at 10pm bank holiday Sun/ Mon TERRIBLE noise as hotel is right on a roundabout!!! photos very deceptive as not situated in rural surroundings no food available in restaurant at 7pm for residents however non residents who had booked in advance were able to eat!

    breakfast and bathroom size

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    3.8
    Far too expensive for a dated hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very dated and the decoration of the rooms were poor; certainly not worth the £120 we paid. The matress was really uncomfortable and the duvet and pillows were poor quality. The whole hotel seemed like it needed an upgrade. The breakfast was pretty unpleasant (very overcooked eggs, however you had them!). I would not stay again.

    The hotel was easy to check in to and we were able to check in before check in time. We arrived back very late as we were at a wedding and this was no problem.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    The property was a lovely old building, breakfast was really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise travels at night from other guests. Maybe a sign asking guests to respect others on their return or placing couples and older guests on the 2nd floor.

    The property was a lovely old building, breakfast was really good value and the rooms were clean and comfy. Staff very polite and a lovely bar

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.8
    The room wasn’t very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn’t very clean. Also I found some glass in the salt grinder. I told a staff member and they simply took it off me and walked away. No apology or explanation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    5.0
    Nice and friendly, needs new mattresses
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed , springs poking through the mattress, cobwebs on the main light. Cannot get in t outch with the hotel to address my concerns . For £86 a night I expect a bed I can sleep in . Didn't see any staff to be able to complain to .

    Breakfast was speedy and hot

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.7
    Fit for purpose but not exactly magnetic.
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The family room was on the small side (not enough room for three cases). The bathroom was also rather cramped. The location wasn't favourable (traffic noise from the A40).

    A very tasty eggs benedict. A large and comfy bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    3.3
    Horrible. And unsafe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being physically threatened by a member of staff. He was complaining about having been brought back to the hotel after 11pm to find a key for a guest. He screamed outside the hotel, "who do these fuckers think they are?"

    Please note this hotel is unmonitored by staff after 10.15pm and the front doors are fully open 24/7. Read the other reviews and you will see reference to staff not being around at night. This hotel is not safe

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.8
    An ideal place to break a long journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Th hotel needs a receptionist on duty - always having to search for help on check in and out is not good. I have stayed at th hotel several times and this has always been my only criticism.

    Comfortable rooms, very clean, spacious bathroom. Well equipped in bathroom and tea/coffee making, and bottled water. Food for breakfast and in bar/dining room very good standard. Service in both good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    My stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    * Extremely creaky floor * Noisy - Slamming of doors reverberating throughout and a pianist with accompanied group singing kicked in at 11.30pm, presumably coming from the bar downstairs

    (I stayed in Rm 7, 4-poster room) * Lovely, spacious room * Comfortable bed * Clean * Good breakfast options - nice food * Great location for Cotswold Wildlife Park and only a 20-minute drive to Bourton on the Water

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Will return again due to terrific staff, great food and pleasant hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small but well equipped and pleasant to be in but the view was non existent. The bed needed a new mattress or at least topper!! These minor grumbles will not stop us from returning.

    Terrific friendly staff and great food. Beautiful old hotel in a prime location for exploring the Cotswolds. We were made to feel very welcome travelling with our dog and will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Location was good and building was full of character.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Guinness, bar shut at 10:50 and we were asked to leave immediately. Menu was not interesting so went down the hill and had a fantastic curry.

    Location was good and building was full of character. Nice breakfast choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.1
    Lovely location in a character building just needs a few items updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could have been cleaner (floor). The furniture is very worn - sofa is peeling, chest of drawers very scratched and handles missing and tv remote was taped up. The quality of the breakfast was lovely just portions are very small.

    The location is great to explore Burford just a short walk down. The character of the building. The size of the family bedroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.8
    Not as reviews, photos and price would suggest...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a shame, because it's a nice building and pub, staff seem nice etc, but it's not ok to charge £115 per night for what we got. A good carpet layer (you'll know what I mean if you go), some regroating and anti-mould bathroom sealant could make a big difference. A cup for a toothbrush would also help. And if they got rid of the additional doorway area from bathroom to bedroom, the rooms would be bigger. They did have biscuits in the rooms though. I think the staff who work there probably think the same but somehow message isn't getting across to owners/management. The place has so much potential. If you are getting a price of over £80, a booking.com rating of 8+ is misleading, as are the photos (at least for room 6). Would love to get £35 back

    Convenient location, nice old building

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small compared with a lot I’ve stayed in but was quite which counted more ...

    Food excellent and room quite . Location very good. Parking on site

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.5
    Apart from the forgoing comments and observations we enjoyed our stay and could see us revisiting th
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My wife and I felt that the bedroom floor would have benefitted from a good vacuum cleaning; she injured her foot on what we think was a small sliver of black plastic type material which drew blood.We did not report this at the time as there was no management around. However we do so now in the hope that incidents like this don't occur in the future. We will not make any further comment on this matter. Having in mind that the hotel has recently been refurbished we noticed staining on the first floor carpeting near the top of the staircase which surprised us. These comments aside , the ambience of the hotel was good.

    The bed was comfortable but I can't speak for the croissants !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.9
    Better than I expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have liked a chair in the room - don't like the bed and a stool to be the only sitting options. I've marked the breakfast as average because although the full English was fine, the orange juice and tea were poor and pastries selection was limited.

    The staff were excellent, especially the manager, who was very attentive and chatty. Hotel as a whole was, I would say, operating at one level above its star status. Easy parking is worth a lot in Burford, and makes up for its location at the very top of the High Street.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    5.8
    Not as good as last time.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No toiletries or soap supplied Room was very cold as radiators were turned off No one at reception on checkout, had to find a member of staff from the restaurant

    Location Cost Breakfast, although no longer buffet style.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    4.6
    Tired Hotel, in need of energy and love, relying on location to survive
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed mattress was very poor, felt every spring. Room looking tired and not as clean as I would expect. Door did not shut easily, felt unsafe overnight. Breakfast on remaining days was very poor, delayed on the Wednesday and poor quality on the Thursday. Not a £130 a night hotel!

    Breakfast on Tuesday was excellent high quality sausages and good coffee and some of the best mushrooms I've tasted.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.5
    The food in the hotel was of a very good standard.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the bottled drink of lemonade having mould floating around inside of it, and I’m talking ALOT. Disgusting and did somewhat ruin the overall experience. The bar staff did say sorry. Slight problem with booking which was dealt with once we phoned to check. If booking online and you have any queries I wouldn’t bother asking questions via the booking system as no one replies to it. Better to phone and the staff were then very helpful.

    The food in the hotel was of a very good standard. Gluten free menu was good, although not all of it was available.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Breakfast was good,friendly staff and good service,room...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a view all we could see was a roof☹️

    Breakfast was good,friendly staff and good service,room lovely and clean ,the hotel was tastefully decorated warm and inviting.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.3
    Situation is really good. Great value for money, Good restaurant, and free parking a bonus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double room we had was very small, and in need of some TLC. We would not want to have the same room (No 10) should we stay there again. The hotel is also very much in need of some repainting etc, as it's looking ' very tired'! We were also charged £1.00 for both booking, and cancellation!!

    A lot of choices available for breakfast, including scrambled eggs with smoked salmon which made a very pleasant change, as well as a surprise.! The staff in the restaurant also very pleasant. Good coffee completed everything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    5.8
    Location of hotel good, certainly our room had not been refurbished, let alone to a high standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, ordinary windows in bathroom, not good when curtains don’t work.

    Manager despite the room faults was extremely good, it seemed there were not enough staff for cleaning the rooms. Food was good in the bar.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    6.7
    Nice people, nice food,shame about the room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom we had in the annexe was very disappointing. The curtains hung off the rungs, the room was very compact and there were problems with the toilet. All -in -all the room was shabby.We ensured that we fed this back to the manager the next morning who took notes from our feedback.

    The Hotel is in ideal place for Burford town. The staff are really very nice and the food is excellent. The hotel bar is warm and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Had great time staying and dining here! Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large breakfast, clean and quite rooms and very friendly staff! Finding it was easy and has a nice parking space. Food was quite nice and the pub had a fireplace that was nice to dine next to. I would definitely recommend it for a trip to explore Cotswolds.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    Staff were very friendly and the food was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can be noisy with people hanging around the corridors.

    Staff were very friendly and the food was very good. Would definitely stay again .Excellent room with the four poster bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    3.8
    Poor for a 3 star place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast not available day eggs benedict 1 day. Day 2 breakfast not cooked ( muffin raw) & item missing (no bacon). bathroom mirror light missing hall light not working. chipped bath mold round taps cobwebs on ceiling in bedroom

    comfy bed warm room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    4.6
    Not planning a return visit ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our weekend stay would have been vastly improved by the windows having black-out blinds to stop the bright security lights that were installed for “health & safety” beaming directly into all three of our windows! Not conducive to the best nights sleep, I ended up using a pair of tights as a blindfold..The manager was helpful and turned them to face away from the windows the following night which was an improvement. But as the price per night was a little over the odds compared to other local establishments, it would be advisable for them to invest in proper blinds and curtains. Sadly our room overlooked a busy roundabout too, the combination did not lend itself to an idyllic countryside getaway stay! Breakfast was also extremely poor and overall the staff were pretty nonplussed about anything. Sad as it seems like it was lovely once.

    Nice clean linen and a beautiful old building

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.1
    Nice location. Friendly staff but I would prefer better spoken English as I struggled to understand.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    see above.

    A buffet English breakfast would be better - sausages served were not so good! The room was just too small and cables were hanging from the ceiling - not good. You should provide a choice of flatter pillows. Otherwise, it was a great base for our stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.6
    A great Christmas stay despite a few ups and downs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The time of our visit (Christmas) there was a rather large, loud party of people who woke us up at 2am until 4am.

    The staff were very attentive, we ate at the restaurant onsite- however the chicken was a little under cooked for my partners likely, however it was changed without a fuss. When we were shown our room, it was very well presented but the sink was filled with what looked like coffee. The manager upgraded our room immediately.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    We really enjoyed our stay here. The bedroom was very clean and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast (included in the price) was also of a very high standard. I would recommend staying here, particularly if you are interested in going to the Cotswold Wildlife Park as it is only a 3 minute drive from here. Also, we had a 3 course meal in the attached restaurant and every course was delicious - Particularly the lamb, gnocchi and chocolate fondant. Overall an excellent place to stay!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    fantastic location with very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    We chose the room for the four poster bed which was very comfortable, we thought all the staff were excellent, helpful, attentive and happy. A 5 minute stroll, you're right in the centre of Burford

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.1
    Excellent choice at breakfast
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small and the bed uncomfortable We are returning/regular customers with our dogs and have always had an excellent choice of rooms, but under the new management team the dogs are restricted to basic rooms which were inadequate size wise as we were tripping over bags and dogs Food courses came out very quickly, it would be nice to have a short break between courses

    Excellent choice at breakfast Very nice evening meal but many options on menu were unavailable Hotel and room very clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    5.8
    Burford is a lovely quaint village and will revisit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cleanliness in the room lacked!! In the 4 nights we stayed there, the room was NEVER vacuum cleaned for sure, we finished our shower gels and none was replaced (thank god I had some of my own!) For the price we paid (which was approximately EUR500.00) we expected to get better conditions of cleanliness in our room. Comfort was good and spacious enough and good storage for suitcases. I also think that it might need some refurb in the bathrooms.

    The place is very warm, breakfast was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    5.8
    We were booked in or Xmas day but returned home because the Hotel was closing at 4 pm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small and cramped. The floors creaked, It was too hot and if the window was opened it let in the noise from the busy road nearby. The curtains were thin and let in the light of floodlights which illuminate the front of the hotel. The bed was comfortable but small.

    The staff were very helpful and the breakfast very good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    A perfect stop off point on a long journey
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to search for someone in order to check in and out.

    Food is very good, with plenty of choice. Room very comfortable with plenty of space, including a well appoints bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.6
    Perfect in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beakfast could be a little later in the weekday.

    The whole place, welcome greeting, very comfortable room with an array of teas and coffee and free toiletries, tasty food, location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Have stayed here twice would stay again, ideal spot for sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was cosy with modern facilities, room decorated well, bathroom shower and bath fluffy towels. Kettle and numerous drinks available in room. Staff very friendly .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    6.7
    Good base to explore the Cotswolds
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The broken TV

    Crisp, Clean sheets and a comfy bed. Lovely breakfast and a really good location for exploring the Cotswolds. The only thing that spoilt the trip was our TV didn’t work and my friend and I really wanted to sit in bed and watch some TV when we got back to our room. We both find it hard to sleep well and the TV is a welcome distraction in the wee small hours. The manager tried to fix it and couldn’t and then offered us another room to watch TV in. We just wanted to relax in our PJs, in bed with a cup of tea and a biscuit. The other room offered to us was not a twin otherwise we would have swapped. We had £30 knocked off our bill though which kinda made up for it. Staff were all friendly and chatty especially the female manager who tried to fix the TV, thank you 😊

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.5
    Dtay in the hotel was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms in the annexe need to be upgraded or at least the one we were allocated. We were moved to another much better room onve the imadequacy wad pointed out

    Rooms in the main complex are of very good quality. Staff very pleasant. Food could be improbed upon.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.5
    Average.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disappointing. Full breakfast was not cooked fresh as the sausage was hard baked as if it had been sat under a heat lamp for a long time. Also take bacon was hard and dried out. Again probably left under a heat lamp after cooking. On the second morning ordered poached eggs on toast with some bacon. The kitchen forgot to send the bacon - had to wait for them to bring some.

    Room was warm.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    8.3
    See above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast good but poor choice of bread , only extremely thick ready sliced ! Room very small but comfortable, heating and hot water very efficient, we did not have much contact with the staff , reception not continually staffed , probably because of low capacity of visitors in winter. Overall good and value for money

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.1
    A piece of the Cotswolds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't as described. To get free wifi you had to sign up through social media. Signal not always very good.

    Location, atmosphere, friendliness of staff. Size of room was great, comfy large bed & quiet room away from road.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    4.2
    Surprised so grubby for posh location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stressed , uninterested East European staff, which shows large brewery chains, who hire abroad, care only about profit. Poor food .Book great family run hotels in future who hire local happy staff and serve home made British food. Ie : Greyhound in Aldbury

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    5.8
    There was more than adequate parking, easily accessed from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom was not located in the hotel. It was adequate for its purpose but certainly not comfortable or inviting. The water pressure in the shower was very poor and made showering difficult. The breakfasts were inconsistent. The first of the two breakfast was quite good, the second however which was meant to be the same quite poor. Items were missing and the cooked portions were barely cooked. The fireplace that was lit in the lounge bar was not drawing properly causing the room to become very smoky. It took some time for the bar staff to realize what was happening. While an exterior door was eventually opened to try and clear the room, it took some time for someone to tend to the fire.

    There was more than adequate parking, easily accessed from the roadway, and with easy access to the hotel. The public rooms were in good repair, with a traditional appearance and comfortable. The food from the a la carte dinner menu was well prepared, tasty and nicely proportioned.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    A very enjoyable stay and just what we needed to help us prepare for our son's wedding.
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very welcoming and helpful, and understanding when we made a slow start the last morning after our son's wedding the day before! The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    6.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very short staffed. No one on reception when we arrived. Lunch a tad expensive for a mediocre snack. Bed linen marked and beds not very comfy. No blinds at windows including bathroom! Thick curtains that we had to keep closed so a dark room. Bathroom needs up dating .

    Great location. Fabulous breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    6.7
    Good location and easy to find. Quite relaxing and peaceful considering it is right next to the A40
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bedroom on the ground floor, outside of the main hotel was adequate for a 1 night stopover, but for a 5 night booking I would have expected a double room in the main hotel that was more spacious

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.5
    Good location . Comfy beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you have a room at the front ,as we did, it can be noisy as the the Inn is on a busy roundabout. The outside spotlights are not switched off at night which makes that the room is not dark. Some shelves in the bathroom to put your toiletries on would be helpful. For someone that only wants a continental breakfast there is not much choice, no cheese or cold meats and when we were there there was no delivery of yoghurt either and the muesli was somewhat stale as kept in an open bowl. The restaurant closes very early at night and the staff is somewhat overstretched.

    The beds were very comfortabel. Good location if you want to visit Oxford or the Cotswolds or Stratford. Very nice English breakfast. Nice thick towels.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.7
    Good place for a weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too hot in the room even switching off the healing. Some of the staff were not too courteous (altough others were nice and kind).

    Excellent location, nice building, car park available, excellent full english breakfast included in the deal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.3
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food served in hotel after 2pm. We arrived later and had to go into village to eat.

    Pretty little Cotswold village. Hotel situated perfectly. Idyllic

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic location at the top of a gentle hill leading into a very beautiful village. Warm and cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Avoid the scrambled eggs! Otherwise the breakfast was excellent.

    We loved this hotel! The room was warm and very comfortable. The bathroom was separated from the bedroom by a hallway which made for quiet and privacy. The room was very quiet and we slept soundly. We loved the fireplace lounge for reading and the bar/restaurant was friendly and charming. The coffee at breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.8
    Great accommodation but avoid the restaurant !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed with evening meals and poor quality of service. Inexperienced staff. E.g. left to open bottle of wine and serve yourself, food returned as under done and still not properly cooked a second time round etc. No compensation offered.

    Bedroom accommodation was excellent and very good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.9
    excellent end to a great holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cant think of anything I did not like

    staff all friendly and efficient, very quick service. Dinner was splendid and breakfast good - would certainly stay there again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.8
    Lovely comfy stay with superb breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I have to complain, the basin taps in the en suite appeared to be the wrong way round, but it caused no problems.

    The room was attractive, clean and comfortable. It had everything we needed with a few extra touches. The breakfast was excellent and the location was very convenient for our purposes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Excellent we would recommend to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an upstairs room the stairs were tiring, we're in our seventies, but after speaking to your staff we would book a downstairs room next time so no complaints.excell

    Lovely large room very very clean, fresh towels daily. Breakfast was fantastic nothing too much trouble. Staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    As good as you could want from a break away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing ,

    We really enjoyed our stay in the hotel ,a good location and excellent food and a nice room , we would have no hesitation in staying there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: