Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cotswold House Hotel and Spa - "A Bespoke Hotel" 4 stars

The Square, Chipping Campden, GL55 6AN, United Kingdom

#6 of 13 hotels in Chipping Campden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 318 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    Third visit, never disappoints!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave! Can’t wait to return.

    Third visit, never disappoints! Restaurant outstsnding, room great, gardens beautiful , spa excellent and location could not be better. Looking forward to my next visit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    3.8
    Nice room very poor staff goodbye care less attitude
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attitude of the staff very poor

    All things to do with interaction to customers very very poor we got the impression we were getting on the way of them enjoying themselves

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Perfect Cotswolds retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing it was perfect

    It was the most comfortable, spacious room we had in the Cotswolds, amazing comfy bed. We have visited this hotel several times and are never disappointed, delicious breakfast, dinner and fabulous friendly staff, we will be back next year.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.1
    Overall it was disappointing, we left a day early, no refund for the early departure either.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We arrived and had booked a table for 8pm in the prestigious Fig restaurant, after settling into the room we thought we could go down early to enjoy a glass of wine in a lounge area before dinner, unfortunately because the hotel had booked a large wedding and some sort of rotary meeting it was full, no seating for guests, our only option was to go straight to dinner. The fig restaurant was disappointing, it did not live up to the hype. We both had the taster menu, the fish was over cooked as was the lamb and for me some dishes are over fussy. The asparagus dish was perfect. For £65.00 per head I would have expected a lot better. I have eaten in London better for less. Breakfast, the black pudding tasted like it had been cooked in a warm oil then kept warm under a lamp for a while, it was full of oil but crispy on the outside. The bacon was dried out probably for the same reason, even the tomato had a dry surface to it as if it had been under a lamp too long. The entire length of our stay the steam room was out of action that was 4 days. Basically don't bother with the restaurant unless you are not able to walk to another local. Indecently , no lift 3 floors and a winding staircase, never mind disabled impaired would find it difficult.

    The staff are great the rooms clean and the location is good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Total relaxation and every whim catered for - bliss
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For me the distance from the car park to the hotel was too much. I have MS so my walking isn't too good , but we were able to park on the road right outside which was great. For able-bodied people this is not a problem, the trouble is my legs are the problem!'

    We liked absolutely everything about the hotel ,from the moment we arrived to the moment we left everything and everyone was first class. The staff were exceedingly polite and helpful and operated in an unobtrusive way. We will definitely return and we thoroughly recommend it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 1 only had a bath and no shower. Unload your luggage in the small public car park at the front of the hotel. If you unload your luggage in the rear hotel car park, you have to walk through the gardens which is about 50 yards.

    Central location, comfortable rooms, excellent food. The beds were large and very comfortable. The decor is lovely. Beautiful garden

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    A nice relaxing 3 night break, certainly would recommend the hotel and Chiipping Campden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast on the last day, I ordered smoke salmon and eggs, the smoked salmon was ghastly. It had been on a hot plate so had turned, awful! It was replaced without hesitation but that's not the point, shouldn't have happened in the first place.

    The cottage we stayed in, the gardens were great enclosed with chairs to relax. The Bistro run by the hotel was excellent. The rooms were always tidied by the time we came back after breakfast with the TV on Magic radio playing softly, a nice touch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Pure magic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Food was excellent. Little added extras like the aperitif and pre desert sorbet was a lovely treat. The staff were very attentive but not intrusive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    I thought the location was superb : the hotel staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing ; it was all good

    I thought the location was superb : the hotel staff were friendly, polite and helpful: the car park was easy to get in and out off : the food and service were both very good : I would stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.8
    Not impressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for one night at the hotel and the price we paid was really not worth it. We had breakfast included in our stay however it was really dissapointing as it was off a menu and had to order which type of English breakfast we would like. There was very limited choice in the continental breakfast! There is nothing much to do/see around the hotel even though there is a list of places on the hotel website,it is not easily accessible. You will need a car to get to places. There are virtually no local restaurants walking distance to the hotel and you will likely have to dine at the other hotels restaurant which is very pricey.

    Hotel condition was okay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely introduction to the Cotswalds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of a thing.

    This was a very charming place to stay, in a very charming village. It was elegant, but not stuffy and the staff was very helpful. The cuisine was wonderful - we had one of the best dinners of our five-week long trip, and the breakfasts were superb - freshly prepared, delicious, and served in the lovely breakfast room overlooking the rear garden. Gardens were gorgeous, and we walked for miles through the hills covered with sheep and lambs. Overall a wonderful stay - we wanted an extra night but unfortunately the hotel was booked on the weekend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    The place was great and much more than we are used to paying, but well worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had so many lighting options and switches to control them that we found it confusing and frustrating until we figured it out. A quick guided orientation upon arrival of the essentials would have been most helpful.

    The location was perfect and the staff very friendly and helpful. We would like to especially thank Florian at the front desk who was able to read our minds and who went over and above what was expected to make our stay wonderful - an umbrella loan, printing maps of our daily hikes and helping us schedule our bus and train rides.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful all round experience. Wish I'd had longer there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water took an age to run to warm. Being from an area afflicted by drought for several years, it pained me to run water to waste for so long and then it wasn't very warm ultimately.

    Helpful staff, especially regarding changing my reservation. The gardens were beautiful and the room was tastefully decorated, spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Location was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough parking due to people using the spa.

    Location was amazing. The cleanliness of the rooms and all areas of the hotel. The staff made you feel special, friendly and always willing to help. We had the smaller of the rooms but this was still more than adequate. The garden/terrace is absolutely beautiful. I will come again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Just lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cottage Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurants for dinner.

    A really lovely clean hotel with wonderful grounds yet right in the town. Staff extremely good and breakfasts delicious. We did however prefer not to eat dinner in the hotel as found a better choice in the high street. We woujd definitely go back and stay in this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful hotel, great location - small things would make it amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better, also back stairs to the room looked a bit shabby - easily remedied.

    Location of the hotel was fantastic and the room was large with great facilities and mod cons. Fantastic outlook. |

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent luxury mini-break, worth the visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting parked initially was a bit confusing; don't drive round the front, you have to go all the way down the road and round to the back of the hotel by the spa - but you can drop bags off first.

    Lovely room, excellent service (took our bags up to our room for us while we parked). Food at (attached) Bistro restaurant was very good. (also the gin menu)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Fabulous !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hoteliers occasionally wondering onto our private patio/balcony area as access to hotel / toilet too obscure. Clear netting also needed for privacy as hoteliers could look into our suite when walking past.

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    Great location and facilities, thoroughly enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hot Tub Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could be more informative, not very skilled or knowledgable. Also the rump steak sandwich was probably the worst I’ve experienced

    The breakfast was great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Amazing! One of the best hotels we’ve stayed in. Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa treatment times! Wish there were more times available!!

    We stayed in the ‘Suite’ - The room was amazing; very spacious, the bath in the bathroom definitely topped off our stay! The staff were very friendly and easy to talk to, in the hotel, spa and restaurants. The location was lovely and we enjoyed looking around the little shops nearby, the shopkeepers were also very friendly and recommended places for us to see and go!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Lovely, lovely stay: we hadnt visited since 1997 and not disappointed at all ! Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn’t say we didn’t like it but decor could do with some attention in places, wall light hanging off wall, blind cord attachment to wall loose. Spa was lovely but again the shower head was furred up; I cleaned it as not a difficult job and no conditioner or shampoo but.....we were last in day and staff were lovely and experience was lovely and calm and we had room to go back to to shower anyway. Just needed a little bit of extra attention in shower area. However nothing that would stop us recommending it or coming again.

    Lovely staff, very attentive, exquisite meal in Fig Restaurant, room lovely and comfortable .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.3
    I absolutely love this hotel (I realise I have very high standards, that mostly this hotel hits)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lighting in the bathroom only has one setting (really bright or nothing) there are some additional feature lights however these no longer work and would have been ideal! The drink situation in the spa is odd- some were drinking prosecco but there were no menus advertised in general nor was this offered (had it been, I would have had a glass). No-one offered to take my bag to the room nor was there an elevator. Breakfast was lovely but the orange juice was forgotten and it arrived late.

    The bath is amazing, the spa is relaxing, breakfast was lovely and served in our room. The staff are always helpful and friendly and the atmosphere of the hotel is excellent. The room is very comfortable and a good level of cleanliness. Stay here regularly and love it!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Second time staying at the Cotswold House, and we received...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Second time staying at the Cotswold House, and we received fantastic service again. I am vegan and the kitchen easily accommodated my dietary needs with no fuss. Never fear for the meat-eaters out there my partner is a carnivore and enjoyed a proper full English! Thanks for having us.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Service was fantastic and the food was out of this world.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They failed to email us regarding the issue with the spa. They believed that the issue was with Booking.com and not them.

    The staff were really helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. There was a problem with the spa on arrival due to circumstances beyond their control, however they more than made up for our initial disappointment and made our stay memorable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    A brilliant walking break with high quality service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the spa wasn't open when we were there.

    We loved the Suite and very large bath! and the breakfast room was beautiful. The staff were very friendly. They remembered my partners birthday.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful location, lovely room, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was two singles set up together to form a king sized bed - fairly standard, but in this instance you could really feel the join and it fe,t like two beds rather than one which ruined the romance a bit. One of the towels had a hole/big tear in it. On reporting this to reception the member of staff seemed less than interested and despite me asking for it to be replaced, this did not happen. The staff in general were great, really friendly and professional (particularly the catering staff), but that particular receptionist definitely brought the staff score down. There were also several bulbs out on the room which wasn’t great. Treatments in the spa were wonderful, but the spa pool was very disappointing.

    Breakfast was great and the staff in the restaurant were lovely and friendly. The room was very nice, particularly the bathroom. Lovely deep bath! Loved the different lighting settings in the room Had a massage in the spa which was AMAZING - spa treatments were definitely worth it 😊

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Wonderful accommodation ( got an upgrade) location excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the ‘in house’ Bistro could of had a more varied menu.. Also found directions of the walks we were given a little ambiguous at times but made for an extra adventure!

    The layout & facilities in the cottage accommodation we stayed in were superb.. The area in which we were situated offered an excellent choice of food & drink alternatives.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.5
    Disappointed standard for a suite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When booking a suite you expect it to be that little bit special. I know its an old building and creaky floor boards are part of it, we like these places for that reason, but this was a bit much, the noise from above was not what i'd expect. The light fittings in lounge area were tired and some were loose in their holes, the voile curtains to lounge area were torn and the curtains could do with refreshing Shower needed some attention to sealant and the bath tap upstand was loose on its floor fixings

    Staff were faultless Location Terrace from room - would be even better in the summer Lovely bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.3
    Upon checkout, we raised an issue with the room where a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Spa is a little small, but we appreciate in a central village location it is difficult to provide huge facilities.

    Upon checkout, we raised an issue with the room where a repair was required. Without prompting the staff member applied a discount to our bill. A nice gesture that was not expected.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.5
    Very comfortable room and view over lovely garden area, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could do with a sitting room to relax after dinner, etc

    Very comfortable room and view over lovely garden area, but you have to climb stairs! Restaurant standard is high and well presented.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent time, highly recommend the Cotswolds House Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front lounge by the fire has limited lounge setting, this is clearly due to lack of space. This is therefore not a criticism, more an observation.

    Excellent staff service, comfortable room and a generous appetising breakfast. Enjoyed a deliciously cooked and presented evening meal in The Bistro On The Square.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    The breakfast included was exceptionally good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool in the spa had some grit/sand/dirt in the pool. It could do with some cleaning. But overall the spa was fantastic and staff extremely friendly and helpful

    The breakfast included was exceptionally good. Massage with Carol was fantastic and would highly recommend

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.1
    Central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would put this hotel as a good 3*. It was in need of an update in respect of Paintwork, our bathroom blind was dirty, tired. The room was comfortable until the occupants of rooms either side used their bathrooms we could hear the showers and the toilet flush plus noisy extractor fan so woke us up. Would not recommend it stay here again.

    Central

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.6
    Idyllic boutique hotel in the heart of the Cotswolds!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Water pressure was inconsistent and went hot/cold a lot, which is not unexpected for an old boutique hotel. Still worth it!

    This picturesque hotel is right in the middle of town, with spacious rooms and wonderful bathrooms. The breakfast was delicious, with choices from full English breakfast to eggs and toast. Restaurant for dinner was some of the best food I've had in the UK. I'd highly recommend the duck!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Would happily return and recommend to others. Been back many times in 32 years.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find fault, spa fills car park so not always able to find space. But was busy weekend in town main car park closed, not chh fault.

    Bed comfy, room warm great outlook, good service, food most excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    I visit Chipping Campden regularly and will definitely return to the Cotswold House Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a minor point, but although the reception team is very friendly, they don't acknowledge you as you pass in and out of the front door and hallway (this is partially due to the position of the desk) however a quick smile or hello would be marvellous!

    Bedroom was spacious, beautifully decorated and as a North American visitor, I much appreciated that everything worked (wifi, heating, shower!). The hotel is an architectural gem, from the incredible staircase to the attractive public rooms. The team are friendly, helpful and definitely add to making your stay relaxing and memorable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    A wonderful relaxing stay in a beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs to our room were a bit of a slog but not the end of the world!

    Fabulous room and huge bathroom. The Fig Restaurant was first class - expensive but worth it. Hotel position could not be better.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    6.3
    Great location but mixed service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Receptionists were generally poor and didn’t seem interested.

    One of the staff members, Stefan, was excellent. He was very friendly and extremely service-oriented.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant with good food, service and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very warm despite the outside temperature being cold and the air con on.

    The cottage room was well decorated and comfortable. The food in The Fig for both dinner and breakfast was excellent as was the service Gardens were well laid out (not used as too cold).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.9
    The hotel is pleasant. The location is good, The bistro is a good and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The light switch in the room was crazy. Just to turn on or turn off lights you needed to spend half an hour (exaggeration!) to figure it out. What is wrong with the old fashioned on off switches?

    Our first room had no overhead shower and an attic bathroom. where you couldn't stand up straight. When we said after the first night that we needed a better bathroom they changed us with no problem.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.2
    A wonderful place to stay, visit Cotswold villages and relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa closed too early - Also spa building situated behind building and a bit of a walk (not undercover) from the main building

    Breakfast was great with good choices Spa was lovely

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    Elegant, relaxed town house that offers a relaxed break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There wasn't anything we didn't like, however, it's probably worth noting that the spa is at the far end of the garden and while very modern and pleasant (and welcoming) it doesn't contain a gym. The car park, likewise, is next to the gym at the rear of the garden. You can of course park out front to unload in the congested street/car park. Our bathroom was fine, a little on the small side, with a shower over the bath.

    A beautiful townhouse with a sophisticated but relaxed air in the heart of one of the Cotswolds' ridiculously picturesque and most quiet villages, my wife was blown away by her first birthday surprise, and I was massively relieved. We had a standard double room onn the back with a wonderful view of the lush garden. I wish all standard hotel rooms were this generously proportioned and their beds this big and comfortable. Our room had a huge old wardrobe, bigger than many modern hotel rooms. Pricewise, this was a step down from the ultra costly rural retreats I also looked at and rightly so. I think it was priced about right for our midweek stay. We loved staying here. Breakfast was very good. The spiral staircase was made for instagram. It was the kind of place you want to win the lottery and just live in for six months.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Hot tub was a lovely temperature and ready for us to just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hot Tub Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot tub was a lovely temperature and ready for us to just jump in. The gardens and setting of the cottage within them were delightful, and we felt completely at home!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast was very disappointing, poor variety, not of great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Breakfast was very disappointing, poor variety, not of great quality and the toast arrived too early and was cold by the time the hot breakfast were bought to the table. Poached eggs were hard not soft, very dissappointing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the bedroom had no mirror. Where there was a mirror in the bathroom there was no plug and elsewhere where there was a plug.....no mirror.

    The bedroom and bathroom. The breakfast and the service by Steven.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.6
    A definite go back to :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slight wait for breakfast, normally wouldn't have bothered us but we had to hit the road to catch a boat

    Just felt special on entering the grounds, wished I had more time to spend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Great location in the Cotswold area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great location with very nice restaurants. The bathroom was phenomenal! This is a small boutique hotel with personal service. Easy walking to many local sites but we did use an area driver to transport us to location not within walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    this was a wedding celebration the surrounding town was lovely
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast it stated a full English which was not the matter consist of rasher of bacon 1 egg 1 sausage which was awful 1 mushroom and a piece of black pudding no beans no tomatoes no hash browns . no choice of lagers only peronie which was £5.00 a pint there sister hotel had more choices

    what croissants the bed was comfy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.9
    A lovely weekend spa break away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a gorgeous hotel with very friendly staff. I thought the rooms were quite basic and small but nonetheless, they had everything you needed. The spa facilities were excellent although, it would have been nice to have a gym. I would stay here again for my next Cotsworlds adventure.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    Great Cotswold location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault the hotel. Very comfortable rooms; excellent restaurant. Pleasant gardens to relax in. Didn't get chance to use the spa though, so no comment on that.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.8
    Superb stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be warned that pretty much everywhere stops serving food by about 9pm...

    Loved our room with its own terrace and breakfast outside in the morning. The most enormous bath I've ever seen, fantastic aircon (it was a very hot weekend) and a very comfy bed...! Had lunch at the chefs dozen. Fantastic food. Fantastic service. And just a few steps from the hotel 😊

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful town - splendid stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    40 stairs to the bedroom but kept us fit.

    Beautiful gardens at the back of the hotel leading down to the spa. Restaurant - good breakfast menu and service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel with kind staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Calm, quiet, absolute comfort, lovely lovely staff who were so kind to my mum when she was ill. Very high quality from food to furnishings, warm hydro pool and spa treatments. Great shopping nearby!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Lovely staff and hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no need for muzak in a fine dining restaurant!

    Hotel staff very kind to my mother, who was taken ill. Very relaxing place, two excellent rwataurants, lovely spa. Robes, slippers, complimentary handmade biscuits, mineral water, teas coffees.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.6
    The Cotswold House Hotel & Spa is a true gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you stay in an upper room with one of the marvelous views of the garden, be prepared to walk some steps. There's no lift.

    The view from our room was incredible! And we loved the spacious bedroom and bathroom. We had dinner one evening at the Fig Restaurant, and our meal - while pricey - was the best of our trip! We asked the wine steward to pair wines with our meal, and he did an excellent job. Down in the bar, we did some gin tasting, which was great fun. We also used a walking map provided by the hotel to roam the beautiful countryside. This destination was a definite highlight.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.1
    The cottage was really nice and the Jacuzzi a very nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hot Tub Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The choice of food could of been better not alot of choice and barely anything for children. Bed was comfy pillows were not.

    The cottage was really nice and the Jacuzzi a very nice touch.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    Very nice Accommodation in Chipping-Campden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff at reception was not very helpful and not meeting the other standard of the hotel.

    Room size, furnishing, decoration and amenities were very nice. Breakfast in the dining room was excellent, dinner at the Bistro also. Very nice food-menue-card, selection of by the glass vine was excellent. Staff in dining room and bistro were extremly friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Perfect for an anniversary!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Fig restaurant is closed on Sunday's but the other restaurant has excellent food.

    The room was large with a King size bed and AC which is unusual for the countryside. We had a nice view of the garden and were close to the main part of the hotel and restaurants. The hotel has it's own parking lot and the SPA is outstanding. The staff are friendly and provide excellent customer service. We look forward to our next visit.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    A beautiful hotel with tranquil gardens and spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in room 7 which overlooks the square: because of bright street lighting, the room has heavy floor-length curtains to block out the light, which has the undesired knock-on effect of making the room very hot in the summer. There is an air conditioning unit in the room but I much prefer sleeping with fresh air. We'd definitely stay again but would request a room to the side or rear of the hotel next time rather than overlooking the square.

    Stunning hotel with a beautiful feature spiral staircase in the main house. Very tranquil gardens, with a friendly cat. Small but luxurious spa with a lovely warm pool. We ate dinner in the bistro, where staff were incredibly helpful. Breakfast was also delicious and served by an extremely professional and courteous waiter.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    Very relaxing weekend getaway in a stunning location before baby's arrival
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only very minor comment was that the blinds were very light in colour so it was very light in the room early in the morning. Perhaps blackouts would be an idea?

    Would definitely recommend this hotel. Stunning location and the staff and facilities were excellent. We stayed in a 'feature room' and the bed was so comfy with the added bonus of a bath in the bedroom which we loved. The breakfast was particularly good and the meal we had at The Fig restaurant on the Saturday was truly one of the best we have eaten! I also had a 'Radiant Mum To Be' massage in the Spa which was super relaxing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.5
    I have stayed there three times and would probably stay again if I was in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would avoid room 18 as outside is either the heating/AC unit or kitchen extractor vents which hum continuously through the night, the sound is consistent so sleep was not disturbed. The bath plug leaked not as fast as the tap could fill but if you like a soak then you will be disappointed. I told reception and they seemed surprised and would fix, however that type of plug is not easy to get water tight so good luck with that one. The parking is at the rear of the hotel and tight if you are driving a large vehicle

    The bed was not a normal matrass it was made of beads - it was comfortable and not likely to get bed bugs! Good location for our leisure activities. Breakfast was good. Room 18 bath is in the bedroom (separate WC) which is a bit odd and looks like it was added to make another bedroom. But it was comfortable enough and well appointed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    10
    Lovely bespoke hotel with brilliant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet room and ideal location. We ate in the fig restaurant and it certainly lived up to expectations and more. Fine dining it was and beef was sublime. All staff couldn't do anymore for you, polite friendly and helpful. Spa treatments were amazing also. Quiet not too busy spa for relaxing. We were so pleased with everything that we are already looking at dates to come back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel and staff and amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The large double bed was terrible It was definitely two single beds joined together It left the bed with a bad dip which was very uncomfortable and made sleeping difficult

    Everything apart from the bed was amazing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    10
    Great way to spend a wedding anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything that warrants a comment.

    The food and wine in the Fig restaurant was excellent in the evening and at breakfast (no wine with breakfast, obviously!) The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend anyone to stay here and do take advantage of the spa.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    4.6
    Not a Value for Money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loft conversion single arch type room is too small and you will even hit your head with the wall. To much noise of boiler. Car park direction not available.

    Breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    10
    Short, luxury leisure break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bistro food (dined there in the evening) could have been a bit better quality. Perhaps some very relaxing background music in the breakfast room.

    Very comfortable accommodation Amazing big bath, remote control blinds and lighting. Lovely breakfast, with freshly made, warm croissants and pastries. Loved the spa facilities and the comfort of robes and slippers in your assigned locker.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous Cotswolds Hotel For Romantic Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to get the temperature in the bedroom right - either too cold or too hot.

    Beautiful hotel and location with a great room, especially the very large free standing bath tub!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    10
    The best place to stay in the Cotswolds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was professional and welcoming. The food was well prepared and tasty. The facility was comfortable. We will definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    6.7
    Noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy up until around 1am & then got woken by the chefs slamming doors & talking outside our room while smoking at 7am on a Sunday. Considering we had a room outside the hotel it was NOT peaceful at all. Not very happy as I had proposed to my girlfriend on the day of arrival hoping for a nice peaceful weekend.

    The pouched eggs are perfect. The location was great.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    6.7
    Average stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff not overly friendly. Food in Bistro average but prices high. Had problems with hot water in bathroom, reception put it down to guests in other rooms showering at the same time.

    Good breakfast. Young lady in Bistro very friendly. Location good. Spa good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    10
    Super hotel, great food and excellent service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect weekend

    Surprised our parents for their wedding anniversary. There were 8 of us including 2 children. The hotel was excellent. We had the cottage garden suites and they were spacious, clean and no well furnished and very warm! Meal in the fine dining restaurant was excellent and the service was spot on. Can't fault anything at the hotel. The hotel spa was also another jewel in the hotel's crown- fabulous massage Thank you Cotswold House and we will all return !

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    7.1
    A pleasant stay but possibly not the best value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A couple of niggles. There was only one armchair in the bedroom although the room was large enough to have accommodated two; it would have been nice not to have had to take turns in sitting in the comfy chair! Also, although there was a small seating area off the Bistro there was an absence of anywhere cosy to sit. The two front rooms which were beautifully proportioned and had fireplaces and views of the square were used as a reception and additional dining area. A shame, because either would have made an excellent lounge. I felt the main emphasis was on providing tables for the restaurant rather than the comfort of guests.

    The bedroom was large, freshly decorated and comfortable. Ground coffee and delicious fresh cookies were also provided.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    9.6
    Luxury stay in idyllic Cotswold village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no lounge, or bar area so nowhere to sit and relax in hotel. You have to go out or to your room!

    We booked a superior double room which was superb.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    8.8
    Nice hotel in a beautiful village
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The layout of our suite was impractical for families. Little privacy in the bathroom or toilet. Huge bath but tiny shower cubicle.

    Nice hotel in a beautiful village

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    9.6
    Lovely hotel for a romantic weekend in the Cotswolds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The massages were quite expensive and not the best I've experienced. Spa was small but clean.

    The staff were very helpful and the rooms were cosy and cute with lovely Xmas decorations in the main areas! This was my first visit to the Cotswolds and this was the perfect place to start. We loved strolling through the pretty town of Chipping Campden, and went on a longer walk to Broadway tower enjoying beautiful views along the way before a delicious Sunday roast dinner at the eight bells pub.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: