Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of De Vere Cotswold Water Park 4 stars

Lake, 6, 17 Spine Rd E, Cirencester, GL7 5FP, United Kingdom

#5 of 7 hotels in Cirencester

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2610 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Kind and attentive staff, confortable bed, spa included in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loads of mosquitos due to nearby lake, the water in the spa/pool was a bit too cold

    Kind and attentive staff, confortable bed, spa included in price at certain times (from 7.00-9.00 and 17.00-21.00)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    Nice view , good service at reception .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few marks in room on carpets and walls During my visit whilst walking through the hallways there was a strong smell of weed, this was around 6pm .

    Nice view , good service at reception .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.7
    Apart from the changes to the times you could use the swimming pool are stay was very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were very disappointed that there are now time restrictions on the swimming pool because this was the main thing we when there for and to be charged an extra £15 to use it in the daytime was appalling.

    The hotel is quiet and relaxing for such a large complex and helps you to have a break from everyday life.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    3.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was so uncomfortable that we had 2 nights of poor sleep. Did not feel refreshed after the weekend break. First night ate at hotel and waiting staff had no clue. No apologies for keeping us waiting. Paid silver service price for cafe service and food was mediocre.

    Views of the lake

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    Location, the walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The queues at breakfast times, had to wait nearly 10 mins. The room safe wasn't working as there were no batteries. Didn't ask for it to be sorted as we were there for a short time but nevertheless it should have been checked.

    Location, the walks....

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    The hotel was amazing the staff were very helpful we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was amazing the staff were very helpful we couldn't get a taxi so the young lad drove us in to town he was very happy friendly and helpful our room was amazing and the balcony over the lake was perfect breakfast was amazing loved our stay and will definitely be returning

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel with friendly serviceable staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not directly related to the hotel but the restaurant recommended by the hotel (the old boat house) is a disaster. It's expensive and the food is POOR. Best go a few miles away and find a local pub.

    Asked for a quiet room and the receptionist went the extra mile to find a quiet despite a busy weekend at the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Lovely accommodation and fabulous food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Deducted the reservation fee and payment at check in although stated this holding fee. Only able to use the spa facilities between 5-9pm or first thing, which isn’t possible when having to check out, so as nice as the weekend was I didn’t get the spa relaxation I was after.

    Lovely accommodation and fabulous food

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Location and lake views are so beautiful and peaceful!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet in our room was stained. Tiles in the spa were cracked and chipped.

    Location and lake views are so beautiful and peaceful! Cafes, water activities and walks close by!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.0
    Dissappointed
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff on reception rude ,was dealing with me & then went to another guest to help them. If that wasn’t bad enough then gave me someone else’s bill. If she was a little more professional and dealt with me first there would be no mix up with bills. I think the staff need re training as the barman also tried to sort out two peoples separate orders & the person who came to the bar second got served first.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Would definitely stay again. Relaxed, clean and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside was the room service pizzas, which were of poor quality - cheap, acidic tomato base with thin, tasteless cheddar cheese and very little pepperoni. However, the reception staff refunded with no quibbles.

    Lovely stay and great value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    DeVere Hotel, lovely atmosphere
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Apart from breakfast, which by the way was really nice. (although no mushrooms on menu, which we would have loved) We had our first night evening meal in the restaurant (after travelling didn't want to go out again), when we ordered the food came quickly, but just as our starters arrived our main course order was taken and came out almost immediately after we had finished our starter, which made us feel rushed and apart from our first drink, no one else came to ask if we'd like another. I think perhaps there may not have been enough staff on that evening.

    Nice spacious hotel, nice bar area and the bed room large and comfortable. extra tea/coffee etc., readily available from lovely reception/room staff. Our whole experience was made that bit more special as all the staff were more than helpful and really happy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price of breakfast which we paid £62 ...£15.50 each on line when we booked ( it turned out to be cheaper to pay on the day !! Very poor selection of fresh fruit ...2 star breakfast ☆☆

    The pool

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    The restaurant/eating facilities are not sufficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant/eating facilities are not sufficient. We arrived at 5p.m. on Saturday and the 2 restaurants (the brasserie and the pub) were fully booked for the evening. Around 9p.m. we still decided to try our luck in the pub and were told that the chef advised the staff not to take more guests, although there were free tables and the opening time is advertised until 11p.m. It wasn't very nice to hear that. The hotel is in a rural area and unless you opt to drive to another village, the only option for dinner were sandwiches at the lounge bar. On the next morning for breakfast, we needed to queue for a good 20-30min. One staff member was taking care about sitting the guests in the restaurant and taking their coffee/tea order. When sited, half of the restaurant was empty, yet there was a queue of another 50 people in front waiting to be seated. On check out we again needed to queue on the reception. Clearly staff organization is lacking a good planning.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    lovely hotel and great staff however staff need training on how to cook and basic culinery skills
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was terrible and over priced. Also room service only brought one cutlery set to our room and left the tray with dirty plates all day in the room

    I liked the hotel location and the hotel itself is beautiful with an attractive bar and restaurant with fabulous views.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Cotswolds water park we like it indeed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We like environment here include inside and outside. Swimming or Gym is very good to everyone. Breakfast is really good. Good view outside we can see at anytime. Lovely and give us a pleasant night .

    We enjoyed to stay in here last weekend and we will suggest to my friends visit it. We can completely relax here and really like environment. Eating and parking are very simple and easy. Also we hope come back again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.0
    Extended weekend stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Long waits and poor service at breakfast, missing cutlery/crockery, slow replenishment at the buffet. Generally over priced in too many areas - room rate, Brasserie (breakfast & dinner), Boathouse (dinner), Muddy Duck (coffee). Muddy Duck - shocking quality & way too expensive for rubbish coffee out of a machine.

    Good location. Nice views over the lake.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    2.9
    Horrible place to stay!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Reception is unfriendly. 2. I would have appreciated that the waiter doesn't take my breakfast away when I was not finished. Considering how expensive it is.. 3. Swimming area is not clean as people walk inside with their shoes. Also good to know that it's open for a limited time except if you pay for it (definitely not worth it). Btw, it's not nice to walk outside the swimming pool and be in the bar area. 4. The cherry on the cake: crazy neighbours who screamed and threw away stuff at each other. It took too long for the hotel to react considering how much damaged the room was & the guys hurt (blood on his face & on the floor). Would the hotel apologise to the customers? Ofc not. Not a word. 5. Considering the price of the room, I would have expected something else than that. The room was also basic (toilet not running properly, shower not great, holes in the curtains) and not worth the price. I wanted to make a nice surprise weekend to my partner, well he really was surprised. NEVER AGAIN 6. It is a big factory where nobody cares about the customer. I'm surprised about the whole evaluation because I can only say it was an awful place to stay. Unfortunately I cannot give 0 as it wouldn't be fair to the cleaning ladies.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    Good night away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue we had was the wait in the restaurant it took a while to order food and another couple entered the restaurant 15 minutes after us and got there order taken and food before we did , the food was amazing but service was a little too slow

    Clean comfortable and nice with great facilities! And In a great location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Tranquility in the Cotswolds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing could have been better. We are missing being there. Everyone there was having a good time.

    The location and layout. The friendly efficient staff. The surrounding scenery.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    Everything going for hotel just disappointed with the lack of detail .
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa not enough loungers Most taped off unable to use Afternoon tea sandwiches dried out Locked out of room Asked for breakfast in room didn't arrive Things planned rush to eat .

    Amazing treatment great staff Reception lady lovely Lovely room and views

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely receptionist on arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be a little more organised and relaxing- a pot of tea rather than a cup would have been better. Rather a lack of fruit at breakfast .

    Lovely receptionist on arrival. The hotel services staff were so polite and generally all staff were polite and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.0
    Expected email back from hotel of which havnt recieved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was badly cleaned, bottle tops, hair , spider webs and spiders , widows not cleaned a lot of dead mosquitoes squished on glass , not 4 star standards felt like 2 star expect better regarding room and cleaning ....... but potential to be what is advertised nothing was broken and all was there so wouldn’t take much too correct and provide what you advertise!!!

    Staff are perfect !!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Stunning location and a welcome surprise to find an upgraded...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming times were 7-9 and 5-9 to swim drifting 9-5 a £15 supplement is required.

    Stunning location and a welcome surprise to find an upgraded room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    General layout of the site and facilities;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Caramelised grease on grill should have been removed prior to cooking my late/end-of-service steak Corner room; balcony view slightly curtailed

    General layout of the site and facilities; generous spaces and airiness; the lakeside location; ample parking

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.9
    Nice place, nice staff, shame about the pool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact we couldn't use the pool - see above. I wouldn't have booked it if I'd known this.

    It was a really nice stay. It was our anniversary and they upgraded us to a lake view. Staff were very nice. They gave us a little chocolate cake and a nice note. The only downside was that we wanted to spend the afternoon relaxing in the pool area but we were told we could not use it until after 5pm which is far too late for us as we'd booked dinner for 7. I've never stayed anywhere that doesn't let you use the pool as soon as you arrive. At the very least, we should have been told beforehand.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable, relaxing and good quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Treatments were expensive for what we got. Plus we were left in the both no one greeted us on arrival in the treatment area and when we left there was no one around. It was nice to do something as a couple but a bit of an anti climax

    Everything accessible and good quality.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    3.8
    Condescending day reception staff, made us feel like second class citizens; will NEVER return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible superior attitude by staff who treated us as second class citizens on arrival, the lady manager who checked us in had terrible customer service skills; Made us feel as if we were staying for free when we queried an extra charge they included by mistake. On the following morning received same attitude from a lady at reception when l enquired about the room being cleaned as it hadnt been cleaned. In summary your day reception staff needs customer relations training. The evening managers were lovely. We will never return. Extremely Rude and abrupt restaurant manager - Peter. Terrible Attitude by day reception staff when requested room to be cleaned. Room wasn’t cleaned on first day had to repeatedly ask for cups and tea tray to be refilled ended up taking from spa area On second night, Daughters bed was not made only left a duvet with no duvet cover and no flat sheets on the bed which had loose springs that cut into my hand- paid an extra £10 a night for this for our daughter. Hairs in main bed upon arrival and on duvet cover. Dirty Towels not replaced in bathroom even though placed in shower as instructed on notice in bathroom. Room left with one towel. Evening staff extremely lovely complete opposite of horrible day reception staff on duty on first day of arrival and the next day (that team was very condescending, l cant stress this enough!!!!) Excellent customer service skills and help received from evening manager Zoltan who came to our room on two separate nights. On first night toilet water was running after flashing for a significant period, he came and politely fixed it around 12 midnight. He also apologised profusely forg daughters bed which hadnt been made and politely offered to make it after 1am when l realised her bed hadnt been made. Excellent customer service from evening Restaurant Manager, John, Together with Joanne the waitress amd Anele at Concierge who made our stay enjoyable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful and great location with amazing spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was pair of someone else’s underpants in our room on the floor behind the chair on arrival, otherwise it was really clean

    Beautiful and great location with amazing spa.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing break in Cotswolds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor view from bedroom. On a very busy road we found it dangerous walking anywhere from the hotel as so many cars were driving by at speed.

    Lovely room, spacious and clean. Good position for visiting Cirencester and surrounding Cotswolds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful grounds and location!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Beautiful grounds and location! Ignore the bad reviews I had such a memorable time there! A 10/15 min drive into Cirencester where you can find lovely bars and restaurants! Staff very friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    A great stay with total comfort and relaxation, i'll definitely go again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a really relaxing location, with great facilities, comfortable beds and most importantly a great fan to help me keep cool in the very hot weather, all round excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.7
    Used to be alot different
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was chaotic, no clean glassware or crockery. When asked for clean items they never appeared. In the end we walked out considering we'd already paid for this we felt like we'd been ripped off. We mentioned it on checkout but just got told they value our feedback. Room was very dusty and and bathroom needed a bit of a refresh.

    Location is fantastic, and the old boathouse restaurant is exceptional.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Relaxing and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon , but there was a fan . Little disappointed with The Brasserie . Food and staff great but it’s dull . Poor decor , tables tired . Even a candle on the table would make a difference ! A bit pricey for what we had .

    Huge bed !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    Staff extremely friendly polite and helpful, especially...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to use the spa when we liked.

    Staff extremely friendly polite and helpful, especially Kirsty (bar) and Shannon (reception) hotel close to all surrounding villages. Lovely food in both restaurants although the mucky duck was a disappointment as only had garage style coffee! Yuk!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.9
    The facilities, friendly helpful staff excellent breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lakeside view we had was through a very small window compared to other rooms could have been bigger.

    The facilities, friendly helpful staff excellent breakfast lovely lakes to walk round.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Clean, modern and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slightly disappointing that residents are restricted in when they use the Spa. Mattress a little soft for my liking but it would not put me off. It is a lovely hotel and location.

    Clean rooms & nice food. Helpful staff. Stayed 2 nights. Was there for a triathlon and really appreciated that I was allowed to come back for a shower after at the spa. Would def return.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.2
    Lovely location, great facilities and the children loved the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, highly professional staff run off their feet looking after huge numbers of guests -queues at reception, breakfast, dinner...

    Lovely location, great facilities and the children loved the brilliant pool.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.8
    Underwhelming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor bathroom especially when you’ve booked a deluxe room. Food and drink options not available in the restaurant. Uncomfortable pillows and 10.5 tog quilt in August in a room with no air conditioning. Breakfast buffet was poor and staff not trained to communicate with guests. Hotel staff were indifferent and guests appeared to be in the way. The whole place lacked any finishing touches that you expect of a 4 star hotel. Totally underwhelming and wouldn’t recommend it for the cost.

    Lovely location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.5
    Room was lovely and spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an issue with dirty sheets and hairs in the bed when we checked in but this was dealt this promptly Service in the brassiere was awful; chaos at breakfast not enough staff who knew what they were doing. Waited 20mins both morning to be brought coffee; glasses and bowls running out at breakfast. Evening meal in the brassiere we waited 25mins to be asked for our order after being seated. But once we ordered food cake v quickly and was lovely

    Room was lovely and spacious

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.3
    A lovely few days of peace and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I sent messages to the hotel requesting an earlier check in. I got responses telling me that it was not possible. I asked for hot chocolate with my breakfast, and I was told that there would be an extra charge of over £3. If tea and coffee were included, why not chocolate?

    The view from the room was amazing. It was wonderful to see the sun rise over the lakes. The staff were friendly and accommodating, as much as possible. We also had a lovely selection for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    2.9
    NOT a 4 star - should be downgraded to a 3! Online pics look deceiving!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A horrible experience overall! Cleanliness is not on the top of the priorities for this hotel! The rooms were dirty, toilet was stained, the curtains had stains on them too & appeared to have never been cleaned. Breakfast service at the Brasserie was appauling. The staff rush like headless chickens to serve tea/coffee when it would be a lot easier to leave a pot on the table when asked for. The cutlery was dirty & the plates were too. They were also kept wet near the food buffet than being dried up! We had to ask for basics things like cups, cutlery, milk etc. The Old Boathouse was no better & also had rubbish service. One waitress told us they had no spoons or cutlery so had to make do with a fork. Until a manager went & found some. The housekeeping had to be reminded to clean room. But then also had staff randomly letting themselves in on 3 occasions assuming the room was unoccupied. God knows what made them think that. We also had a note slipped in the room for a guest. Whilst returning it to the reception, Kirsty the lady was rather rude & more bothered about which room was ours that it was slipped in - why that was relevant is beyond us! On the day of check out, the receptionist was unable to explain why charges looked different & argued the toss, whilst we figured out ourselves how it had actually been calculated. Lastly, there’s definitely not much vegge choice in both restaurants so had to venture out.

    Gym & Spa although the steam room didn’t work

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.4
    They have Indian/Pakistani staff working who are full of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have Indian/Pakistani staff working who are full of attitude. They don’t want to serve you always have a frown on the face, we asked for tea it took them over 45 mins to bring it to us and a table who came in 20 mins after us they got theirs in 5 mins. Discrimination to their own type? Breakfast plates are extremely dirty. Though the manager got us new ones but the staff just laughed it off.... oh well my first and last time at the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One night stay wasn’t enough!

    Everything! Friendly welcome and quick check in. Good size room on ground floor with access to decking. Excellent location for nice walks. Choice of hotel restaurant, or pub next door to eat. Lovely little café, Muddy Duck for coffee. Will definitely return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.8
    Disappointment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very busy due to bank holiday staff was rude,the waitress at the bar rolled her eyes at us when we asked for a coffee.We have waited to be seated for dinner 15 min allthough we had a booked in advance.Payed 120 for a dated room,with cobwebs and clogged sink.Not clean at all!We went to the pool with the hope that we gonna relax but there where like 20 children around running and jumping in your head(horror).i know they can not control who goes in the spa area but at least tell people with children they need to behave in a SPA area..i mean that's why it's called spa so you relax.

    The only good thing about our stay there was the bed that was very comfortable but a bit to small and the nice view that we paid extra for over the lake.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay with great amenities and views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Overall nice resort. Rooms very extensive and light perfect adjoining rooms for us and our children. Breakfast and dinner at the hotel were excellent with a good selection.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.5
    The hotel and facilities met our needs. The staff were very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. It was quite humid during our visit. The room did not have air conditioning. 2.there was a banging or thumping sound as is someone was passing through a doorway. The sound seemed to come from either the adjacent room or above. It was quite distracting at times. I checked the hallway door and found it to be silent. 3. The bathroom ventilation was inadequate and would steam up while taking a shower.

    The location is perfect for my needs

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.0
    It was okay for what we needed. Nothing special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel corridors looked tired and dated, carpet coming up in places, room was on the whole good however bathroom lock was broken and damp walls with wallpaper bubbling. Cobweb around skirting boards. Steam room was barely warm, locker rooms looked tired. Overall lacking a good cosmetic makeover which let down an otherwise good hotel.

    Friendly and helpful receptionist

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cash machines on site and was told I had to either pay by credit card or cash despite reservation was done by debit card poor communication from hotel

    The view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.1
    Relaxing night away with spa facilities as a bonus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast included with a £90 room. Bar prices were a bit on the high side.

    Use of spa facilities. Pool, sauna etc were welcomed after a day out walking. The room size was also excellent. Balcony out onto the lake to was a nice feature.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Very clean and lovely spot on the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came here for our wedding night stay staff seemed very moody at 1 in the morning when we arrived but everyone else was brilliant

    Very clean and lovely spot on the lake

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.8
    disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was so hot we couldn't sleep. The decor was very bland and brown. It was touted as a spa hotel, but it's not!! There's no jacuzzi, you have to pay extra to use the pool area, the showers were dirty, there are no bathrobes provided and we had to walk 5 minutes outside to get back to our room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.0
    Hot hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms far too hot- no aircon and a shabby fan supplied At breakfast Time not enough staff on , struggled to replenish the buffet style food and jams , pastries etc Alarm went off 330 am waking most of the hotel Room service was rubbish , food cold and when asked for more chips as mine was stone cold , they never showed , only 2 tea bag supplied in the room

    Veggie sausage nice poached eggs good and spa good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    This hotel exceeded our expectations. Great sized room, modern, the best breakfast ever. Lake views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    This property was fantastic. The room was a good size. We had a view of the lake from large double windows. It was hot and humid and they provided a fan. Bathroom size was adequate and modern. Absolutely the best breakfast you could want anywhere. They had everything and it was included in our price. You couldn't beat this hotel and I think its one of the best we've stayed in anywhere and we wish we had done sightseeing of the Cotswolds from this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the Old Boat house pub was very slow.

    Excellent location.The staff were great and friendly.The view from the room facing the lake was fabulous.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.3
    The room overlooking the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    People walking on the decking outside our rooms on the ground floor and peering into our rooms which had transparent french doors overlooking the decking.I WAS IN A GOLD FISH BOWL. We would have had to draw the curtains for privacy and lost the great view of the lake.It was a paradox. This section should have been cordoned off.Otherwise you should not have any rooms in that section. When I complained to the manager he said he couldn't control the guests.I said he could control the privacy. In Srilanka, a 3rd world country they have balconies overlooking the lakes on ground floor bedrooms. This ensures total privacy for the guests at the same time affording great views and quiet enjoyment! They are under the misapprehension that Europeans fiercely guard their privacy.I was shocked that this happened in the UK! The fire alarm went off at 2am in the morning!Thought it was a one off but another review says the same!!!!

    The room overlooking the lake.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Lovely hotel nice modern decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa needs a Little TLC, paint and plaster coming off ceilings and walls. Confusion over ordering food from the spa lounge, having to go into the busy bar lounge in our robes whilst a wedding was taken place. Rooms are noisy, I could hear next door snoring, light from corridor shined under the door, I could hear doors from other rooms closing and people walking around upstairs. Lots of noise came from the corridors with residents returning to their rooms very late and then there was a fire alarm at 2:30 in the morning which lasted around 10 seconds.

    Lovely hotel nice modern decor.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice birthday treat: could do better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Let down by mediocre breakfast: chaotic service of tea and coffee: nothing to put on porridge( no syrup/ honey/ brown sugar. ) expect higher quality & better choices in a hotel of this standard.

    Beautiful situation: lovely comfy room overlooking lake: lovely reception & bar staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    It was comfortable for our three night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool no supervision regarding children running around jumping in anywhere didn’t care that someone might be there no consideration for others. Went down to breakfast and we had to ask for various items of food, no bread etc.

    Comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    6.7
    The hotel was beautiful, wonderful location and very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the hotel quite expensive. The breakfast was quite expensive and a bit disappointed at the lack of veggie sausages for the hot breakfast buffet.

    The hotel was beautiful, wonderful location and very relaxing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    6.3
    great location shame about the lack of customer focus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upgraded to a lake view room but this was more of a partial lake side view. Indoor pool facility was an extra £15 per person if you used this between 9:30 - 17:00, not mentioned prior to check in. breakfast was generally poor for a 4* hotel. Drinks expensive and poor choice of evening meals

    Bedroom was spacious and came with many extras such as free safe, tea and coffee

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    happy to stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    expensive, and the fact you have to pay to use the facilities. i get the complex is huge and they have to limit the usage but £15 for a swim!!!

    Loved this hotel, its modern and what a great idea the shop at reception is! love an ice lolly when i can get one :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.5
    Location, friendly staff, evening meal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very disorganised and cobwebs in room. Booking.com did not specify that half board had an allocation of £22.50 per person. This needs to be clearer. We expected to pay for drinks only but ended up with more of a bill than just drinks.

    Location, friendly staff, evening meal

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    6.7
    Mediocre!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the fact that I could only swim between 06:30 - 09:00 and then after 17:00! I was a paying guest and should have access to the pool, spa and sauna all through the day.

    The views were stunning. The surrounding area is awesome. The facilities are great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant and relaxed surroundings with very well presented facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't particularly have any issues as everything was as expected and explained in advance. We had to park a little farther away than we wanted as other guests had parked somewhat badly in order to prevent anyone parking near their own cars. The restaurant was pretty busy at breakfast - but that's to be expected in August.

    The room was very pleasant with a great view over one of the lakes and was well equipped. The Old Boathouse restaurant was a pleasant eating experience though maybe not the widest choice of meals - especially for vegetarians.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Employing European staff with their many endearing qualities helped to make our stay exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing that we didn't like

    Everything was just right but your restaurant staff were exceptional. Morning breakfast looking out to the lake was just what the doctor ordered to put you in the right frame of mind for a good day out. Parking no problem. The Barn Owl staff were just as helpful and friendly as the hotel staff and the food there was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.6
    A super place to relax and unwind, with excellent staff and very good beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a negative, but do note that some of the rooms are quite a long way from reception so be prepared for a bit of a walk. The reception staff offer you help with your luggage if you prefer.

    The staff were excellent: check in was very busy when I arrived, with a long queue, but the staff worked professionally and guests were checked in swiftly. The room was lovely, spacious without being huge, with french windows onto the decking, so I could watch the ducks right outside! The shower was great, the bed was amazingly comfy, and because it was a bit warm, an electric fan had been provided in the room, too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    A luxury hotel which I would stay at again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Smart, modern rooms which are kept in tip top condition. Friendly and efficient local staff. Beautiful location and free parking. Excellent breakfast and good choices of bar meals. We particularly liked their version of tapas/small plates.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Wonderful and will definitely be returning
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall ambience of the hotel was great A perfect escape Beautifully presented,very friendly and a pleasure to be part of the picturesque setting

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Birthday Weekend Delight
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downfall was the long wait in the restaurant on Friday evening we had a 8:15 booking and our main came at 9 29 Staff were apologetic but it was a shame

    Staff and rooms were great couldn't help us any more than they did . Smiling faces all round and very helpful .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Peaceful relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in the resteraunts steak was tough as old boots Breakfast was ok but fruit was basically a variety of melon with the odd grape would have liked to see mushrooms and black pudding with the breakfast

    It was peaceful not a lot of children running wild so was very tranquil peaceful with a lovely view over the lake and able to hear the sounds of the birds and ducks The wife used spa6 for a facial and manicure and was very pleased with the staff the attention and the products used

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.3
    Great one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a slow process, had queue to get a table for a while and then queue to get my food

    Clean and spacious room, hotel is very pretty and modern and friendly staff. Like that all staff you meet or pass say hello

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Myself and mum wanted to get away for some peace and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Myself and mum wanted to get away for some peace and relaxation and that's exactly what we got. It's a beautiful setting (highly recommend booking a room with lake view and balcony), every member of staff we came into contact with was lovely, helpful and friendly. Great bars and restaurants, wonderful food, and thoroughly enjoyed the spa and treatment there. Can't wait to visit again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows didn't open much and no access to the decking. Restaurant set up a bit confusing. Have to walk outside to get from room into hotel.

    Staff were very helpful. Room very clean, swimming pool great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    We would have loved to stay longer it really is a wonderful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have helped to have a small fridge in the rooms and air conditioning would have been a massive bonus during the hot weather but a fan was provided and we were able to fill our water bottles up in the bar and reception area

    The room and hotel well lovely and decorated well. Staff friendly and helpful. The Boathouse had just re opened after re furnishing and was nice . The hotel is in a beautiful setting by a lake and we would definitely recommend to others wanting a break in the Cotswolds it really is a stunning area. Breakfast in the Brasserie was excellent .

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: