Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Coul House Hotel 4 stars

Contin, Contin, IV14 9ES, United Kingdom

#2 of 5 hotels in Contin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 219 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved it all!

    What an amazing place to stay!From the moment we walked through the front door,we were met by very helpful and friendly staff.Chris checked us in and then showed us to our room offered to help with luggage and showed us also the main rooms of the hotel.All the staff for our entire stay were welcoming and friendly and went out of their way to make our stay of one night feel special. We ate in the hotel restaurant and it was SUPERB! We would definitely recommend the restaurant.Our room was comfortable and it was quiet enough for us to have the window open as it was warm weather. The Gilchrist and Soames toiletries in the bathroom were appreciated and little touches like the GLUTEN FREE lemon and poppy seed muffins in our room with the usual Scottish biscuits to have with tea and coffee was very welcome as we had stated at time of booking that one of us was gluten free (also in the restaurant that night they had baked fresh gluten free bread to have with our meal....which was truly ‘above and beyond’ our expectations).Breakfast was an amazing choice of fruits,yogurts,cereals,and an array of different tasty hot options made to order and all very good quality with very good coffee.Overall it was EXCELLENT, and we would absolutely recommend this hotel.We would even visit that area again,just to enable us to stay at this hotel again!!! We can’t rate it highly enough.....and if you are debating over the price ...then don’t! It’s certainly worth every penny.Thankyou Coul House....see you again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful country house with welcoming and relaxing environment created through quiet attention to every detail. Outstanding dining and service. Nothing too much trouble. Excellent!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    Lovely setting, although the road to the property is a bit bumpy (be careful in low cars). Very helpful and friendly staff and good facilities in rooms. The meal was lovely in the restaurant, which was very elegant. Good breakfast the next day. Nice walks around the hotel with lovely scenery.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of water in the bedroom, maybe more speciality coffee and tea in rooms too?

    What’s not to like? Lovely location with gardens and nearby walks. Staff were lovely, food good, bedroom extremely comfortable. Loved the sheet under the duvet so I could have a cooler night. Massive choice of spirits in the bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location and atmosphere at the hotel is an oasis of tranquillity. The owners and staff create an atmosphere of genuine friendliness and attentiveness. The food is of a superb quality and presentation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some reviews of this hotel are that the decor is dated, however it's a former Highland Estate house so there's a fine line here. The decor is exactly in keeping with it's surroundings and we thought the hotel was a fantastic place to stay, the food was superb, the staff very friendly & helpful which made for a very memorable wedding & hotel experience.

    We stayed at the hotel for a friend's wedding ceremony & dinner. The hotel gardens and surroundings were very nice - even the Sun was out! The standard of food served for 80 guests was superb - salmon starter, venison main & a fantastic dessert! The breakfast was also one of the best I've ever had in a hotel - we had the Gamekeeper's breakfast which had some of the best haggis & black pudding that I've tasted and all cooked to perfection - none of the dried out crap you'll find in other hotel chains! We stayed in Room No.1 which was a large well presented room & very clean. The bed was large & comfortable. The bathroom was also very spacious, modern and had a large walk-in rain shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access road is a bit rugged but the grounds compensated well for that.

    The room was perhaps a little dated but was still hugely comfortable. The bed was excellent and I slept like a log. Staff were lovely and breakfast was amazing good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not a lot really

    The staff were beyond helpful and friendly. A real cosy feeling. Clean and luxurious without being stuffy. Really well done, good curtain material love the scary grotto.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Happy with everything

    Refurbished room with very comfortable bed and great shower, relaxing country house hotel with old school service. Friendly helpful staff ,good food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful surroundings inside and out, outstanding hospitality, delightful. This hotel is luxurious and extremely well run. Very high standard throughout, without pretension. A treat to return to.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the ambience, the breakfast - I always look forward to the Poacher's breakfast! - the dinner, the bar, a game of chess, the bed! You name it, we loved it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were excellent, food was fantastic, the fairy woods was an unexpected wee surprise, beautiful view from our room, nice little dog manning reception and friendly Shetland ponies nearby!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we had to leave.

    Once you wind your way up the secluded driveway, it is a pleasant surprise when the house appears. The exterior and interior are well presented and the tranquility of the surroundings continue through to the inside of the hotel too. You can't help but feel relaxed in the quiet atmosphere created in every room of the common areas. Low level soft background music, lush furnishings and the quiet crackling warmth of open fireplaces lend themselves to such a tranquil, peaceful atmosphere throughout the house. All of the staff, from reception, to bar, to restaurant, as well as the owners offer impeccable service. Our ground floor room was very clean and extremely comfortable. There were no noises to disturb us through the night as you would experience at most hotels. The food served in the restaurant was superb, we tried dishes we would not normally eat and loved them. We loved this hotel so much, we didn't want to leave, so we stayed an extra night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Made to feel very welcome by the staff, looked after but not fussed over...just perfect The building itself is very peaceful and calm with lovely grounds to sit or walk in. The food is delicious, prepared by a very clever chef. I loved all the dog guests too, made the place feel very homely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside was the long drive to the property - there were a number of potholes to be avoided.

    This is a lovely old property with much history. The bedroom was well appointed and comfortable. The staff were very attentive and eager to please. The evening meal and breakfast were excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact we didn't see the northern lights, which is no fault of the hotels! We really couldn't fault this hotel at all.

    The staff were very attentive, the ground were lovely for walking in. The quality of food was of a very high standard. Also the comfiest bed and pillows ever!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A really short but perfect stay. The owners are clearly very personally involved in running the property which gives this elegant and beautiful manour house a very warm and charming feel. Dinner and breakfast were also both delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It definitely wasn't good value for money. It was a pricey hotel so I was expecting a lot more. The bathroom was extremely small, dated and very run down. The bed wasn't long enough for my 6'2" partner and I. If I hadn't paid as much I would've been very happy with the hotel, but I feel a bit shortchanged given the amount it cost and the room we received.

    Everything was fairly nice. Sitting outside on the terrace with a drink was lovely. Staff were very hospitable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only fault I would say was at the price and quality of the hotel a bottle of water in the room wouldn't go amiss.

    Friendly welcome attentive staff nothing to much bother arranged early breakfast for me as leaving before normal breakfast time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    leaving !

    The room was superb ; the food was absolutely excellent - we stayed 5 nights and every meal was superb. Staff really friendly - the service and their attitude faultless. Really understood how to make you feel welcome and anticipated needs .Would thoroughly recommend

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chef responsible for evening meals has not found his way yet and his dishes are a little confused. Everything is beautiful cooked and prepared, but the elements of the dishes are not coming together unfortunately

    Very friendly, very lovely hotel in beautiful setting

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very nice, boutique hotel, with beautiful gardens, a very peaceful setting. Really friendly, helpful staff, very much a family run hotel. You need a car to get anywhere from the hotel but it is a country hotel. Its not top end luxury but you don't pay top dollar, it is just a really good all round package, well worth a visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wish the staff would take a leaf out of the owner Sue's Book!

    The property is really nice if your going to spend time eating drinking and enjoying the facilities. Its far away from anything so great as a resort. A well stocked bar and Sue is a really nice and knowledgeable Lady. The food is good and a fine dining affair.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms and some furnishings are rather dated but perfectly comfortable and functional. I know that they are gradually being replaced.

    Extremely welcoming and attentive service. Very comfortable room and public areas. Delightful location. Excellent food at both dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a bit isolated, so a car is necessary.

    Owners were very friendly and helpful. The food was delicious, and since the house is not near a town center it was great being able to relax and have an excellent meal there. Would definitely recommend for anyone wanting a bit of country relaxation in the Highlands away from the tourist filled Inverness.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Owners are excellent, very hands on managers. Everything gives you the feeling of luxury. We could not take our little puppy into the dining room not to disturb other guests but we were served at such a lovely table in such a pleasant reading room that we thought this was much better and private. Service was great. We will love to go back. There is also a beautiful and long walking track.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ventilation in the bathroom could be modernised. It was noisy but could be easily stopped for the night.

    Very friendly staff Excellent meals (make sure to have dinner at the hotel!) Lovely historic house in a beautiful garden

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, this is a classy place with history and silver service all the way. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more responsive to our needs. The room was very comfortable and warm with a lovely bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing first class!

    Fantastic in every way by far and away our nicest accommodation in our 2 weeks in Scotland ! We are very experienced travelers who have been to over 60 countries worldwide on approximately 200 trips.This is one of the best !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    beautiful area with fabulous views, great walks around the property, great breakfast. Friendly staff and lovely building and rooms. Large room with very comfy bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like having to leave, one night wasn't enough!

    Our room was quiet and comfortable. The food was exceptional, best we had on our trip. The staff are extremely helpful and professional. Special mention to Chris who helped us expand our knowledge of Scottish gin! Cannot recommend highly enough.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only that I wasn't drinking so missed out on the delicious margarita another guest was having, and the bar full of interesting whiskeys.

    Superb service from front of house staff who couldn't do enough to help. As the hotel was quiet we were upgraded to a room with a view of the beautiful gardens. Although we had to leave early the following morning, a packed breakfast was waiting for us - including the cheesecake we had debated having for dinner the previous evening but were too full from the delicious meal to eat! A really lovely touch. Thank you. All we were looking for was a pleasant hotel within a short drive of Inverness airport as a nice end to our holiday. Now we need to find an excuse to return!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly, everything was top. Food and wines were very good. Good atmosphere in bar and restaurant en a perfect Scottish breakfast. Fine house and garden.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Fabulous, privately owned, and it shows in every aspect. Welcoming, warm and friendly. A beatuful country-house hotel in a beatiful setting. We will definitely be back. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can't think of anything negative - we really enjoyed our stay here and hope to visit again.

    A very special hotel. It has lots of areas to sit and relax, the restaurant has a large menu and you can either have food in the dining room or your own room. There's a charming bar. The staff are wonderful - nothing is too much trouble.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was excellent, the fresh fruit salad definitely justifies a mention. My husband enjoyed his evening meal of venison and a lovely cranachan desert, however l was disappointed with my bellypork, it was tough, tasteless and fatty with no crackling. My desert chocolate brûlée was heavy and the accompanying little pots uninteresting.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfy and spotless and the bedding was of a very high standard. The hotel was set in its own garden/grounds and very peaceful with far reaching mountain views. The fudge and wafer-thin homemade shortbread biscuits where delicious and came with afternoon tea or coffee in the beautifully light and airy sitting room. The man who served us in the bar on both evenings was such a nice person and very interesting to talk to. He was also very knowledgeable on all aspects of whiskey, much to my husbands delight! Our boarder Collie Islay was made very welcome and was welcome to accompany us in all areas except the dinning room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful building, excellent standards, cosy fireplace, modern/refurbished rooms, good internet, great setting, lovely and professional staff, great food and wine selection.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could have booked earlier to get a larger room. We have been before and were spoiled by having a large room.

    The gamekeepers breakfast is fantastic. Choice of malt whisky is great with really knowledgable barman. All staff really pleasant and cheerful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No milk with the complimentary tea and coffee. The kettle need replacing. More than one bath cream would be good. Nothing major however.

    Great spacous room. Impressive building. Gorgous setting. Good food. Polite staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks expensive but reasonable quality (Coul House promotes itself accurately as a Country House Hotel)

    Owners + staff very friendly Very pet friendly - but safe too Evening meal excellent + "Poacher's breakfast" superb

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to stay for longer.

    Exceptionally good so much so I stayed for an additional night. Great service, friendly professional staff, very good food, peaceful surroundings and with a good ambience.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only small downside I would say about the whole thing was the bathroom is ready to be renovated, the shower in our room was a bit poor.

    The whole stay was lovely. The room was beautiful, the staff were so friendly and helpful and the food was just fantastic.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If only we could live there all the time. We enjoyed meeting the owners the food was like made from a French chef. We would sit in the lounge by the fire sipping our drinks while our dinner was being made and then being called to the dining room when it was ready. The dining room is beautiful the vistas are beautiful and the room was lovely we have recommended it to many many of our friends already. The breakfast was included and you could have anything you want from a Scottish breakfast to just plain prunes it was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not like that we had to leave but there was no way to change our flights.

    The location the food the staff the accomodation and all the extra bids that come with staying in a hotel were so perfect that we are recommending it to our friends.The walks and the catarracts and the colours of the countryside were amazing and blended beautifully under the October sun.Welldone Coule House

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only there for one night

    The meal in restaurant was excellent, we all had something different but all agreed everything was super. The staff are very helpful and go the extra mile for customers only

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eggs benedict should not be grilled!

    Smallish but very comfortable rooms. Great views. Lovely grounds which with a bit of gardening could make this a great property. Very helpful staff and first class restaurant. Great start hotel for NC 500 if you do not want to stay in Inverness.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was a bit dated but the hotel is still undergoing refurbishment so they will get around to updating I am sure.

    Friendly helpful but unobtrusive staff. Lovely afternoon tea at a reasonable price. Beautiful decor in a property that is still undergoing a long term upgrade.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some sunshine, but you cannot control the weather!

    The location was perfect and away from busy roads. Food was excellent as was the service. Perfect place to spoil ourselves.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The warm welcome from when we stepped into the hotel and until we left was excellent, the staff were very attentive. The breakfast which was included could not be faulted and we had dinner there too. As for the bed I felt I as sleeping on a cloud :) I would highly recommend this stunning hotel and location and we will definitely be back and would take our dog next time as very pet friendly. Lots of forest walks around the area and a great location for sightseeing the highlands.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely location, charming owners who care about their hotel & their guests, likewise the lovely staff, friendly, helpful. All in all a warm welcome, a relaxing stay yet again..... and good memories which we will enjoy when we revisit later this year and next! It's my pleasure to commend all at Coul House for their effort to ensure a warm & memorable stay. 10 out of 10 for all! Thank You, Graeme

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Food was acceptable but not up to the standard one would expect for the price. My opinion is that this has less to do with the chef than the suppliers because it it is problem we have found in various parts of Scotland and England this last few years. There is not much a chef can do with food that has been badly handled in the supply chain. Salmon frozen till the flavour and texture have been spoiled for instance.

    The Staff were very friendly and good at their jobs. They were local people which added greatly to our enjoyment.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived very late after the kitchen had closed for dinner, however, they still went out of their way to give us a bowl of soup and delicious bread.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I only had 1 night to enjoy.

    Owner very personable, as well as rolling up his sleeves to assist his staff in all capacities. The secret pathways. The gorgeous gardens. Up a dirt road and hidden away splendidly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing could be improved upon - it was all great.

    Everything about Coul House is superb, from the luxurious bedroom (with a very comfortable bed) to the outstanding food. The service we received was impeccable with just the right level of attentiveness. I would wholeheartedly recommend Coul House to anyone.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a great hotel in the Highlands run by very conscientious and qualified hoteliers. Beautiful location, lovely, helpful staff, great food. Lovely all round.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You couldn't say it was cheap.

    I have stayed at Coul before, and at another similar Scottish country house hotel on this trip, but there's a calm friendly atmosphere at Coul which sets it apart. It feels like a bigger version of home, welcoming and comforting after the journey.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not long enough, we booked spontaneously for one night and really didn't want to leave.

    Fantastic welcome from everyone, dog was allowed in most public areas, including the bar. Relaxed atmosphere but impeccable service and attention to detail. Food was delicious at both dinner and breakfast. Beautiful grounds with fairies living in the rhododendrons.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only niggle was the bed could have been a bit bigger.

    The location was absolutely beautiful as was the hotel itself. Staff were very welcoming and the breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not really a dislike but on our second night the menu did not change the specials list and maybe this could be given more thought.

    The Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. The quality of the breakfast was tremendous. The dinner portions were excellent and quality maintained throughout.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we could fault.

    The friendliness of the staff and the food, the room was really lovely and we had a lovely view over the beautiful gardens too. We only stayed for one night but would certainly return, all in all it was a lovely experience. Thank you so much.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing- the whole experience was superb

    Very relaxing in a great summers evening

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was spot on.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything is exceptional love it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite small beds

    Beautiful garden with terrace

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    North toast long offer at breakfast

    The attitude of the staff. Friendly relaxed and definitely not in your face

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm and friendly feel throughout hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Location. Friendly staff. Lovely restaurant with good portions. Nice feel to the place and bathrooms were lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes a too formal atmosphere.

    Quiet & very peaceful. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel for a chilled weekend. Our second stay. Outstanding food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, nice restaurant. Beautiful estate. Would love to come back

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peaceful surroundings and attentive staff excellent service

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garden, the room, the food, the friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room slightly on the small size

    Food especially the brûlée and sorbet at dinner and breakfast. Selection of whiskies.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Excellent atmosphere , food , staff , cleanliness -as good as any in the Highlands .

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Coul House Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: