Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cove Bay Hotel 3 stars

15 Colsea Road, Cove Bay, Aberdeen, AB12 3NA, United Kingdom

#34 of 46 hotels in Aberdeen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 487 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the breakfast was good, a little more variety would have been nice.

    The hotel was lovely and the view was beautiful. Parking fantastic. The room was very comfy including bed. Bathroom was very big. Everywhere was spic and span. We also saw dolphins from the restaurant while having breakfast. I would definitely go again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was ok but tired. Bathroom needs a new floor in room one but don’t let it put you off still a nice place to stay

    Very friendly staff and very attentive. Evening meal haddock and chips was very good. However this could be improved by fresh cut chips and mushy pease 😜👍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old which is ok but it's tired inside, rooms were clean but a terrible sewer smell coming from the bathroom, we were considering extending our stay another night but changed our minds.

    Staff in dining room were extremely friendly and food was good and plenty of it. There was a heavy fog when we arrived so couldn't see the ocean but it all added to the atmosphere of a small seaside village. In the morning the fog had lifted which then offered fabulous views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need an update not just in the rooms but in general. Staff could be more welcoming.

    The owner been very nice but unfortunately we met him just at the end.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Matress was too soft.

    Best breakfast in Scotland. Restaurant excellent. High level of hospitality. Noise was coming from pub but was cut off in good time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed/ bed covers too short for my 1.8m - don't think I am especially tall.

    Great bathroom - exactly as per photo. Quiet at night, Movements in the morning around 0630 - ok for me though. Food generally good standard.(not as cheap as others though). People nice and friendly. Good coastal view when dining.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from city centre.

    Room very spacious and overlooking the North Sea. Full Scottish breakfast was delicious and amazing. Ideal for couples, family and business trips.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price of the room I would have expected some sort of breakfast ie continental but no the price does not include this it is the only complaint I have.

    Food was good,everyone friendly loved our stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Weather.

    Food was fantastic. Visit before the chef moves on. I don't think that they will be able to keep him. His food topped our stay, the hotel is old but comfortable. Staff were lovely and very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bedside lamp for reading - that was disappointing.

    Sea view room was great. Breakfast cooked to order was a real treat - everything so freshly cooked! Staff were, without exception, approachable and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get my chosen starter when I had my evening meal, but plenty of other choices.

    Scottish full breakfast was excellent. Evening meal was excellent, fish was chunky and well cooked. Restaurant and bar staff were very polite. Nice walk to small harbour. And the bar had my all time favourite 100/1 on their quiz machine, didn't win.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little confusing finding reception on arrival. The kettle in the room was not near a socket. Luckily I had my extension cable.

    The property was old and quirky with a beautiful view of the bay from the dining room. The property is on the outskirts of Aberdeen and we were central to everything we wanted to see. The city itself was just a 10 minute drive. Lots of history and coastal walks nearby. With the stunning Dunnottar castle about 20 minutes away.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above.

    Room was cold despite the radiator at full pelt, then to crown it the heating went off in the middle of the night making the room colder. Hot water in shower room took a very very long time to come through and the shower, despite having an optimistically large head, was poor with the flow pulsing instead of giving a decent force.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best speed wifi I never seen before. Absolutely familly consierge. Cleaning daily perfect. Room no 12 romantic and quiet. Sea view and ocean sounds. Any troubles and real comfort for each moments. 50 m to bus stop no 3 and 15 min do center At union sqare. Personel? Always smileing and clear respond for every question...very helpfull.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Location is superb! The shower is just stunning and the place itself is extremely welcoming. Comfy beds and pillows, overwhelming view, fabulous service! 10/10 in cleaning. A place to return to.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sound proofing between rooms needs some work. We could hear what the guests in the neighbouring room were thinking.

    View out to North Sea was nice. Great value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was cosy, well presented and comfortable. We were impressed with the spaciousness of the room and en-suite. Towels were large and fluffy (not always the case in many places we have stayed). Staff were very welcoming and friendly. Great location - we enjoyed an evening and then a morning run along the cliff tops. Lovely views. Oh and I was happy with the cleanliness - even the bathroom could not be faulted.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little small it did say it was a double but a very small double

    Was a lovely location deluxe room facing the sea good friendly atmosphere very clean for the price we paid was great value for money the breakfast was 1 of the best we have had for the price it did take a long time to arrive but was worth the wait

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one bath towel the first night, but a second one was provided for our second night before we had even asked.

    Very friendly staff, genuinely interested in customers and prepared to chat to us. There was an excellent breakfast provided. And there really were sea views, just as promised.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being spoken to like a child from the lady that was on breakfast. Telling me I had not paid for breakfast when I had and then telling me that was just the room price. Two issues there, the people that checked me in never annotated that I had paid for breakfast simple mistake and then the breakfast lady not knowing the cost of rooms etc . She was just very very rude.

    Good Location , plenty of parking and value for money

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms and toilets only accessible via stairs

    Very friendly staff, excellent and fresh food, good selection of drinks, sports bar next door to restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very small and would have been more helpful if the wardrobe in my single room hadn't partly obscured the TV from the bed!. Bedside lamp broken.

    The staff were a joy. Great piece of fresh battered haddock for dinner!!! Great shower room. Sea view facing east for the sunrise was a bit special.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We wish we had a room with view, must be a great sight of the North Sea.

    Warm welcoming, comfortable room. Very good food, both for dinner and breakfast, scottish restaurants have come a long way !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The outside appearance could be better, it does not do justice to the hotel itself. The impression from the Public Bar area is of general scruffiness, which is a shame as the hotel service offered is good.

    A very good option for an overnight pre flight from Aberdeen, but only if you have a car! Rooms were very comfortable, clean and bright. The restaurant was very good for the price asked with good, friendly service

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom wasn't en suite, and it was FREEZING in there! The heating wasn't working at all, so we skipped the shower until our next stop. Even went downstairs to use the toilets from the bar because it was so cold. The bedroom was cold as well, but at least we had a heater there that warmed it up in an hour or so.

    The accomodation was quite lovely, with a great view of the sea from the breakfast room. Staff was friendly, and the breakfast was good. It's also not a long drive to go to Aberdeen itself, which is always a plus. And the private parking made everything very easy. Come here in the summer time and you'll be quite happy I think.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom clean but looking tired, small mirror and not great lighting.

    Very comfy bed and pillows and loved the duvet too, a great nights sleep. Very good breakfast, freshly cooked to order with a fab view out to sea.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for some fruit at breakfast waitress unable to find any.

    Lovely quite room separated from hotel, very helpfull staff. Enjoyed dinner at the hotel. Breakfast was good. Parking very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting for our breakfast from when we sat down on both days it took 35 mins to get our breakfast. Dinner was just as long but it was busy one the food is v good. All bedrooms just have 1 seat and 1 bedside lamp,not good enough.

    Great breakfasts and dinner,if you go on a w/end book a table for Dinner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roast beef for supper was overcooked. There road signs to Cove Bay are hard to find and without a GPS we would never have found the place.

    The fish for supper was excellent and the breakfast was also excellent. The wifi connection was fast. The staff was very efficient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was ok. Neither myself or my husband found anything we wanted and both felt we had to settle. When I asked about a description of the chef's curry (it changes everyday) the waitress seemed rather annoyed I didn't know what it was and that she had to go into more detail. They do have a "gourmet hotdog" on the menu if that floats your boat more than curry.

    The room was nice and the bed was comfortable. We had one of the hotels "cabins" which is a bedroom, hallway, closet and good size bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing deluxe about the room was the walls being 6ft my legs hung right out the bed. For the size of the room the bed certainly wasn't acceptable. Can hear the boilers and toilets flushing both from upsta And room next door. Really strong smell from the restaurant.

    Great stay and great location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room as it was above the front door,a lot of banging of it during the evening as people were using it to exit it from bar, by going out for smoking so we couldn't open our window because of this ,

    Food was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was cosy for two people.

    The hotel has a restaurant and a public pub in the same building. Everything is very well managed and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was far to short,partners feet hung over end,decor was abit dated,cutlery and plates were not as clean as could be!!

    View was great,food was good..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A mirror above the dressing table would be beneficial to us ladies to put make up on, dry/style hair etc..especially if husband is in the shower room at the same time. There is only the 1 mirror in the bathroom so drying hair is hopeless as you cannot see around the door. Please note that this was in Room 9 so may be a different case in other rooms. A small rubbish bin in the bathroom is also needed for ladies requirements! Unfortunately we went into the public bar and were met with a foul mouthed disgusting rant from a local lad. The language was disgraceful and it turned out that he was extremely grieved that the barman had switched the juke box off after complaints from the diners in the dining room that it was too loud. Now, I appreciate that staff cannot be held accountable for events like this, but even an apology from the staff working would have gone a long way to appease the situation.

    Location was lovely, we were in the wee cottage next door in Room 9, small but perfect for what we needed on an overnight stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit too hot at night.Thick duvet.My wife would have preferred a long mirror in bedroom.

    Great breakfast, good parking and quiet cottage adjacent to the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - the water in the shower took ages to warm up (about 5-10 min) - no other restaurant or supermarket nearby

    - the pub was very nice (pool table, darts) - the restaurant was also very good - placed directly by the sea (for breakfast we had a table overlooking the sea which was great) - we could park outside in the car park for free

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fire alarm went off just after 9am on the Sunday morning, not the best start to the day. No explanation was given.

    The hotel is exactly as described, rooms above a pub/restaurant, with marvellous views over the North Sea. Although an older establishment with traditional decor, our en suite shower room was beautiful and modern with a fantastic walk in shower, plenty of hot water and nice fluffy towels. Toiletries were also provided. The breakfasts were terrific. The restaurant had a very comprehensive menu and all the meals we had there were lovely. The staff were attentive and very helpful. This restaurant is super busy on the weekend so it is a good idea to book ahead. From our window seat we saw dolphins near the water's edge! Amazing!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room had a shared bathroom which is a no no for us, would not book that room again :-(

    Nice breakfast lovely setting in resturant also had dinner at night Amazing food and choice top marks.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was the smell of smokers coming into our bedroom from below perhaps the hotel owners could look at repositioning the smoking area away from guests windows.

    Bed and breakfast's was very good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cozy area to sit and read in the public area

    The Cove under sell themselves. Lovely new renovated bathroom. Comfy bed. Excellent evening meal. Take a walk out and around and discover the fantastic cove only a few minuets walk away.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There could have served more during breakfast. For instance, you get only one cup of coffee without asking. Similarly, toast was served after request only.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to wait long time for dinner to be served. Rooms didn't have sea side view.

    Very nice in general. Nice view on the sea side for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After a long day out walking it would have been nice to have a pair of comfy chairs in the room. We like to read and propped up on the bed was not ideal. This is a suggestion not a critism. Also if out walking dont be put off by a "private property" sign by the harbour. Its worth the walk.

    It is an old world pub with beautiful rooms overhead. The staff were all very pleadent and helpful. Our evening meal on Wednesday was of any restaurant standard. I had cullen skink followed by the herb crusted Hake. Both courses were delicious. The housekeeper/cleaner deserves special mention we had clean towels every day. The bathroom was spotless and out tea/coffee supplies were fully replenished every day. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and Haggis was provided especially for my husband on request. The bed was comfortable and added bonus we had a sea view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we had was poor. It was in a basement area and the room was overlooked through both windows both by hotel guests, staff and the neighbours. The room with its low energy lighting was dark , exaggerated by the fact we had to close the curtains because of the lack of privacy.

    The restaurant was ok.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location was amazing, beautiful views over the bay from the restaurant. We ate in the restaurant every night because the food was so good. Lovely room with piping hot showers.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dining room/bar area very dated grubby and really needs a complete overhaul.

    Both dinner and breakfast were very good. Food fresh piping hot and really tasty.Good service by staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Would have liked a towel rail in the bathroom - towels were simply placed on a stool. Hot water pressure in the hand basin was very low and took several minutes running before hot water arrived.

    Excellent haddock & chips. Good food in general. Room had a good sea view.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was filthy! Hairdryer didn't work Walls were so thin could hear every movement of other guests, including toilet noises!

    Leaving in the morning!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife and I are tallish and we would have liked a larger bed. I am only 6feet and my wife is below that.

    Breakfast was cooked to order and was hot. Unlike most hotels nowadays where the food lies under a heat and gets tough and inedible. The room had recently been upgraded and was excellent. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It seems that most hotels don't have a lift/elevator in Scotland. The bed was a little too firm for us.

    The bathroom/en suite was completely remodeled/new.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one thing. Room that I was in loses heat very quickly after heating goes off at night and I woke up cold in bed at 0400 both nights. Perhaps consider a thicker duvet for that room or additional blankets available.

    Super location, very nice people and great food! The room had a really nice sunny feel to it and a great view of the sea and coast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a bit difficult to find, being at the end of the road in a complicated residential subdivision where many of the street names are variations on each other. A few signs would be helpful.

    This is an old building that is being upgraded. The rooms are freshly painted and the bathrooms pristine and new. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The food was excellent. The dining room has lovely views of the sea.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was on the small side for a 'Double' Only one chair which is not ideal and not enough room to fit another in anyway

    friendly & VERY staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roman blinds in bedroom didn't block out light very much, perhaps blackout curtains might be better

    Fantastic location and room really good. Bed was very comfortable, staff very helpful and friendly and food really good. Great view across the sea for breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot water tap in wash hand basin in shower room had very low flow

    The Cullen Skink is superb!!!! It should be the National dish of Scotland Bed and shower excellent

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival it wasn't a warm welcome, as the staff were busy with Valentine meals, that doesn't mean other guests should be ignored or not treated without customer care in mind. At breakfast the lady was quite abrubt about the payment, even though I'd requested a breakfast and had agreed to pay £9.95 upon arrival, this (not surprising due to the staffs attitude) hadn't been passed onto the abrupt lady in the morning, it wasn't my fault, but it spoilt the breakfast and the stay!

    Not a lot to mention, it was mediocre as a hotel, would have been better with improved staff attention to reasonable requests and attitude

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problem with hot water had to leave running for 5 mins before Luke warm water came through. Did mention to hotel staff but was told our room was at the end of the line.😥

    Amazingly comfortable bed best sleep in ages. Views from dining room overlooking bay was lovely. Sat eating breakfast watching a pod of dolphins, make my weekend extra special, could even forgive water problem.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    shower not very powerful, which was a shame as the shower room itself was beautiful.

    Very comfy bed and lovely sized shower room plus excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little more attention to detail to some of the decorative finishings throughout the hotel would raise the bar further

    Fantastic value for money Friendly staff and great food Ample parking Had a sea view which included an excellent en suite faciity which appears to have been recently updated

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Room great with bathroom and good shower. Comfy bed. Friendly staff always. Food good and adjoining pub if you fancy a drink. Lovely location and easy to park.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the water pipes thru out the whole night, seem to get louder as night went on.. Odd shape bathroom and shower area. Seaview from the room? Mainly a house and glasshouses Didnt like fact that check in was in the bar, so had all bags in with us to a busy bar / restaurant. Then once got keys got sent on a tour to find room ourselfs. Had our meal there on arrival, put next to a exit door which jammed open and was getting a very cold breeze till eventually a 2nd member of staff shut it. Carpark to main door poorly sign posted..

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Problems with the toilet. Problems with the window to open. Fresh paint smell.

    The view from the breakfast room was excellent.Friendly breakfast staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine, except I was charged a drink to my room that I did not have. Could have been an honest mistake!

    The pub was an enjoyable spot to watch football and listen to some local banter. Drinks were priced reasonably.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Excellent food. Very comfy bed, fluffy pillows and duvet. Spotless bathroom. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Would definitely stay there again. 👍🙂

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower rail needed a bit of DIY.

    The view was amazing, watched dolphins swimming and playing while having breakfast. Lovely large room not a sea view but ok, shower room quite large, shower temp a little tricky but once warm ok.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a small thing ,but had to go get own coffee ,then get up again for butter for toast ,suger etc .Just a small thing but ,sometimes they make a big difference .

    Friendly staff ,comfortable room ,nice food

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smell of smoke revolting and offensive nowadays.in hallway,nothing to do with smokers,as they are outside now, its old and IMPREGNATED into the walls and carpet, needs freshened up.Organisation of breakfast ,help yourself is fine,but I like my milk for my tea and my sugar and my butter and jams on my table,had to keep getting up from table.

    I do bed and breakfast myself. The bed was excellent, top quality duvet and feather pillows. Very comfortable. En-suite brand new ,large excellent shower.Music in bar below us but stopped dead at 12 midnight and never heard anyone leave. Very peaceful place .Definately to be recommended. Staff very pleasant. Little village very quaint.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fry not great-sausage past sell by. Poor selection of fruit/yogurt/cereal-no porridge . Bathroom fan stays on for 10 min after turning off plus very noisy shower next door. Could hear people in room above

    Home cooked scrambled/poached egg

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean and new room. Amazing bathroom. Quite location. Private parking area. Traditional restaurant and pub. Kindness of staff and management. Great scottish Breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most rubbish coffee at breakfast I've ever tasted! Rather slow service. We were based in ground floor room. Couldn't leave the window opened at night as there was no way of securing it from opening further if someone would fancy to do so.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More variety on breakfast menu. If you don’t like Scottish/English breakfast, there is no choice for you. The worst coffee on the trip.

    Great location when with car. It is a good value for money, close to AB. Nice short walk from hotel to the sea with superb view. Effective and friendly but very busy staff. Poor food (unless u like deep fried everything) in restaurant with great view.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedding used made you feel sweaty/damp - it was not Cotton the bed was comfortable but did not feel refreshed in the morning.

    Location, evening meal served in Restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great bar and restaurant, ocean views, comfy beds, modern and clean rooms and bathrooms, free parking and wifi. We loved it so much we extended our stay by a day!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff and you're able to get food quite late in the evening. The hotel has a "seaside feeling" in it, bit worn but comfortable. Room was nice and clean, bed was big enough for two people (which isn't the case always as we noticed during our three week road trip). Breakfast was very plenty and good, continental and Scottish both. Seaside view from the restaurant. Location a bit hard to find but with navigator no problem. Not far from the main road to Aberdeen centre. Big parking area behind the hotel although the streets are very narrow when you arrive. I think some of the quests could be bothered the music in the dining area which was a bit loud at times but I quite enjoyed the staff singing along while they worked. Looked like they were having fun.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Cove Bay Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: