Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel 4 stars

Betws-y-Coed, Betws-y-coed, LL24 0AS, United Kingdom

#2 of 10 hotels in Betws-y-coed

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 289 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Just a Fantastic place with a killer location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a Fantastic place with a killer location. Great staff and great cook in the kitchen. We had a lovley dinner and fantastic omelette for breakfast. Easy to park and a quit place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    A lovely hotel but if things aren’t right you should let them know. I didn’t but would another time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening menu looked wonderful but whether it was because it was a Sunday night none of the courses met the menu descriptions. I had spicy butternut squash soup to start at £7.45 supposedly with a homemade mini loaf, it arrived with a slice off a French stick! The soup was very tasty but not that warm. Perhaps it was because it was a hot day! I don’t know. I didn’t complain because we were there to relax and didn’t want to make a fuss. My next course was the mutton dish which was very tasty and the jus was delicious. However I found three pieces of sinewy skin that has not been cut off the meat. A very poor trainees mistake. Again Sunday night was it a trainee on duty? I enjoyed the meal but later I did think I should have made a fuss. Finally we both had the rhubarb trifle which sounded delicious. Again at £7.45 and we got a half inch in the bottom of the glass with bits of sponge and what appeared to be the liquer that rhubarb had been cooked in but little or no rhubarb! The. There was about half an inch of ‘artisan custard’ which was delicious however you had to dig through at least two inches of very thick double cream. I love cream but even I found this too much. For that price I really had expected real rhubarb and more than a taste of custard it was altogether ruined by the cream. My husbands dishes were tasty but not without fault. My husband is shortly going in to hospital for day surgery and we just wanted to relax so that’s my excuse for not complaining but thinking back I should have done

    The hotel is at the side of a bubbling river and absolutely ideal for sitting and staring at the beautiful hills and trees that surround it. The receptionist and the barman were really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    excellent hotel will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    the young lady on reception was very helpful and all the staff we came into contact with were very friendly and polite suprerb hotel good parking facilities fantastic breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel and fortunately we had the weather to enhance our stay all-around an excellent weeke
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t really offer any negatives

    The hotel is in gorgeous location the room we had was spacious with a balcony over looking the river. All the staff are Friendly & helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Made us want to come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed good. breakfast out of this world. I loved the quartered oranges good idea before the big one. Pastries excellent too. Staff so friendly and helpful. Sincere thanks to the man who lifted the bags. Husband had been ill and so it was really appreciated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location,friendly staff

    fantastic location,a warm welcome from the friendly staff,close to the town centre everything in walking distance a nice quiet hotel with plenty of parking,will stop there again,highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Perfect in every wat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like

    The service was wonderful, the food was amazing, the chef went that extra mile to accommodate my gluten free diet. The atmosphere was fabulous

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    my husband and i stayed there just for one night, and we loved it, we have plan to go back soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    just the bathroom sink.

    the location was excellent, the bed was comfortable, the food was so nice and the safes were very friendly, we enjoyed it so much.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Can't wait to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could just have done with some body lotion in the toiletries, otherwise everything was great.

    Excellent staff who made you feel very welcome. Food was fabulous at every meal (breakfast, evening meal and bar meal). Peaceful and good sound proofing in the bedroom. Lovely location - made even more beautiful by a sunny bank holiday weekend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Location is beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Payed extra for a room with a super king size bed found it was just two singles pushed together, feel it let the hotel down a little

    Location is beautiful!! Stayed in a super king size room with a balcony and it was fabulous also staff are so helpful and really friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, luxurious, scenic small country hotel with good restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Superb location on the banks of the river Conwy. Excellent choice of breakfasts which you can enjoy whilst looking at a panoramic view of the river and surrounding hills. Excellent restaurant and menu full of tasty dishes. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    The view from the room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The view from the room!!! Overlooking the river, so peaceful and quiet was beautiful, breakfast was fantastic-especially where you are seated for it right next to river in a summer house. Everything was spotlessly clean, the bed was so comfortable- would 100% stay again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    We would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only downside was on the one night the wi-fi was little patchy, but otherwise we couldn't fault the hotel.

    A beautiful room in a great location, just as you enter the village. All staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was huge and very tasty. The room was very comfortable. We are glad we asked if the four poster with hot tub was free.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    The setting was really lovely with access to the river bank...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The setting was really lovely with access to the river bank in the grounds of the hotel and great views from the restaurant. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    A very relaxing stay in a quality hotel, friendly staff, superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pastries at breakfast were disappointing as they were not flaky. The chips served served in the restaurant did not look appetising and tasted burnt instead of caramelised.

    Size and comfort of the room, the beautiful view, having a balcony to enjoy the view and the sunshine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.5
    The chef went out of his way to accomodate our dietary needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air was dusty and too hot. The temperature needed adjusting slightly in the main body of the hotel however the restaurant and bar were very comfortable temperatures. This could be an outstanding venue but the main issue for this place is lack of staff training. They are disorganised, lack attention to detail, and the bar needs a serious overhaul. The poor variety of beer is one example of inexperienced ordering. The tapas board should be done away with and perhaps just simple nibbles like nuts or chips made available, or even the option of an afternoon cheese platter to encourage guests to sit and enjoy the beautiful view..eg: They were out of plain crisps the entire length of our stay. I would also suggest making some fishing rods etc available to enjoy what is on the hotel property. Summing up this could be 5* with better management.

    The riverside view was the highlight. We would not have like a room on the other side

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    6.7
    Good
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a decoration update, more power in the shower and the good could be cheaper, bit expensive for what you get.

    It was pet friendly and the staff were great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic,dinner and breakfast.Superb tranquil location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have stayed for two nights.

    This hotel was a total surprise,what a little gem.The reservation was made on the same day as arrival.Fantastic rooms,bar and restaurant. Views over the river conwy were outstanding. We dined at the restaurant that evening and quite literally were blown away by the three course dinner. Treat yourself and try the riverside hotel,we will be. Angus and Paula Sutherland

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.1
    Efficient, helpful and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel smelt like dog. Breakfast was poor - like a cheap B&B. Music in the dining room at breakfast was DEPRESSING

    Efficient, helpful and very friendly staff Clean room Lovely view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    A lovely weekend spent in a lovely hotel.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our friends in the double standard room (6) found their double bed uncomfortable and the room noisy due to the bar noise below. The meals were expensive.

    We found our room (11) a great size and the superking size bed was very comfy. The breakfast was first class. The staff were lovely and friendly. I liked that it was a dog friendly hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Magnificently Beautiful ♡
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely breathe taking scenery right outside of our balcony door! Amazingly stunning! The staff were brilliant, helpful , smiley and very welcoming! The breakfast was absolutely delicious... The whole entire place was spotless with bags and bags of character. All in all a wonderful and delightful stay! Thank you to the Riverside! ♡

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    A perfect choice for your stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    It's a little independently run sanctuary that offers wonderful service, a unique riverside location and extremely comfortable quarters.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing atall really plestant stay

    All the staff where very friendly we where greeted with a warm welcome, we stayed in room 14 with a river view which was amazing the room it's self was really well presented and clean. We ate in the restaurant on Saturday night shock was in a world of its own the food was really fresh and tasted amazing all in all we will defiantly be returning to this establishment.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful location, first class staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had I known in advance that opposed to being a pet friendly hotel, it was in my opinion a dog hotel that was human freindly. Then I would not have stayed there. If you want to take your dog, it’s the place for you. If you do not want to share everything with dogs, then it may not be your best choice, wish I had been warned. Dogs on the floor, dogs on chairs, dogs with owners while having dinner in the bar area, dogs on owners knees, dogs barking when their owners returned to their rooms after midnight. Dogs are permitted to stay in any room, therefore quite possibly one or more sleeping on my bed the previous week. Literally almost as many dogs when we stayed there as there were paying guests. I am not opposed to dogs but the above is a fact, and would definitely have influenced my decision to check in to this beautifully situated hotel. Hopefully this review will be as equally helpful to those who wish to accompany their dogs on holiday.

    The overall service was excellent, the staff especially reception went the extra mile to ensure everything was spot on. Extremely freindly and efficient. The food and wine selection was first class. But in general I would say over priced for what it is.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Fabulous service, near Zip World, welcomes dogs!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our friends has a sandwich and didn't think it was all that so we chose to go elsewhere for dinner.

    Michelle on the front desk was fantastic. She showed us how to find Zip World Velocity as we didn't realise they were so spread out. Michelle was kind, had a great sense of humour and even sorted it so that all 4 of us could get a take away breakfast. This service was above and beyond. We all think Michelle should receive a free ride on Velocity paid for by the hotel (or Zip World). Thank you Michelle and thanks to the hotel for welcoming my friend's dog (and sending a lost item in the post) :-)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    Faultless hotel in a beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel! Setting was just wonderful, paid extra for riverside view with balcony. Large room with huge comfy bed. Everything spotless. Breakfast very filling. 10 min walk into village. Staff were lovely and friendly, we were worried we would be later then check in and she couldn’t have been more helpful. Shall definitely return!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    5.8
    Quaint stay in a small town, hotel was cosy but furniture a little dated in the bedrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not very comfortable, i could feel the springs in my side.

    The receptionist was brilliant, extremely welcoming, kind and humorous; we were very well looked after.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Great traditional hotel in a quiet stunning location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing we really enjoyed it and plan to come back in the summer (but may go for one of the rooms with a hot tub!

    Staff were really friendly and welcoming, letting us park there in the morning before we checked in. We went for one of the superking rooms, which was really spacious, with a lovely balcony overlooking the river. The bathroom was great with a bath and separate shower. Breakfast was good. The location was excellent with a great view but only a few minutes walk into Betws.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel accommodation in Snowdonia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet midweek wet November day for stay. Very friendly staff. Enjoyed the evening meal in restaurant and breakfast good too. Lovely location overlooking river...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    6.3
    Ok but could have been very good, breakfast was uncooked and drinks in the bar were expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of drinks in the bar, the breakfast - it took for ever and was mostly uncooked, the bed - it was very uncomfortable.

    Location, friendly reception staff, room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.2
    A welcome peaceful scenic haven.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Marvellous setting. Ambience of an Elegant Edwardian country home. Loved the link with composer Elgar who visited. Easy access to open fields to walk our dog and towels provided for afterwards. A comfortable relaxing stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.6
    The sound of the trees moving with the wind and the running water of the river are unforgettable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were non-smokers and the ashtray with cigarette ends had not been cleared from the balcony. This was quickly remedied though when brought to staff attention.

    The balcony had spectacular views over the river and our room was private on the far corner of the hotel on the top floor. Excellent! We had breakfast in the room during our stay. Good variety so we had different choices everyday. For the first time in all my years of travelling, they served the cereals first and waited until we finished to bring a warm, fully loaded welsh breakfast with all the trimmings as ordered over the phone.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable and will probably revisit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Given that it is an old property the floorboards creaked somewhat, probably to be expected.

    The room was large bright and airy with a good standard of furnishings and a very comfortable large bed. The evening meal choices were great and well cooked. The staff were friendly and approachable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in idyllic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpets need updating!

    Lovely hotel in idyllic location. Staff helpful and friendly. Only criticism would be the the big patterned 'seventies' carpets! Otherwise pretty much perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    What a lovely part of the world. Sad to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar and lounge area could have been more comfortable and posher.

    The location was ideal and beautiful. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The air is so clean and fresh.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.8
    Overall our stay was excellent, great location, very friendly staff, comfortable room and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance and staircase areas were dull with very old fashioned decor. The bar area was somewhat basic and with little ambience

    The room was spacious airy and bright. The restaurant set up and location was excellent with views over the river

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    4.6
    Disappointing and over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bed, cheap furniture, naff 80s decor. Given the price I had expectations of a country hotel with roaring fire, wood labelling and overstuffed furniture. This it was NOT.

    Attractive exterior, great breskfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.2
    We have stayed once before and liked it so much we came again (a birthday treat!).
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Duvet was too warm for mild Autumn nights but staff managed to source a seemingly brand new blanket for us, typical of their helpfulness generally.

    A great welcome at what feels like a grand home (which it was) in beautiful setting. View directly over the river from our balcony and opportunity to stroll in extensive garden and valley beyond. Friendly and efficient staff and excellent food made stay very enjoyable, and we were able to have our dog with us as a bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    3.3
    I believe that the hotel is overrated .....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi horrendous, no cellular telephone reception, kitchen smelling corridors , mattress far too soft, ageing and tired bathroom, poor lighting , poor tv reception, no Lift or help with the baggage, Seems as though hotel is run on a shoe string - almost a contemporary "fawlty towers"

    Lovely restaurant setting but food and service was disappointing. Good location and ample car park.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Relaxing, comfortable, friendly, couldn't ask for a nicer place to stay in this beautiful area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing, everything spot on

    Been promising myself a stay at this hotel for many years as I am a frequent visitor to Beddgelert......I was not disappointed. Top notch place that has all the little nice things to make your stay even more pleasant, good decor, good rooms and I was most surprised I was allowed to have my dog with me, she was made very welcome. Released, friendly atmosphere in a fantastic location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Amazing and food outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was amazing but the staff gave the extra special touch they were so friendly they couldn't do enough, stayed there last year and will be definitely returning next year.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel, staff and accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not sufficient Tetley tea bags and milk. Tea bags so small needed 2 tea bags per cup. Consequently only sufficient tea bags and milk to make 2 cups of tea per day!

    all OK

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.6
    Can't wait to come back again. Brilliant Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food quite pricey if you going for dinner, but in other hand its made not cheaply. What I notice saffron been used in some of dishes which not coming so cheap. Who like food experience they really would enjoy it. It depends on likings.

    Modern rooms with brilliant features such as balcony with stunning views in river and landscape. Rooms spotless. Amazing receptionist. Really polite and welcoming staff. Since arrival you can feel like you at home and more. BREAKFAST can blow everyone's socks off. Made from scratch after you place order. Hot on arrival. You don't need to spend a lot time waiting for them. Taste phenomenal. Breakfast menu really huge and I think pickiest person would be satisfied of wide choice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.8
    Food amazing in the restaurant, and reasonably priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a little oldywoldy, but this is its charm. Hard to criticise this place, we will be going back.

    Food amazing in the restaurant, and reasonably priced. The chef is really talented and quite frankly this is a fine dining restaurant without the fancy name and price. Location excellent for going into the walking area. Beautiful setting. River very pretty and just makes the most lovely noise which we could hear from our room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    5.0
    Not worth the money we paid. Staff welcome could hve been better..maybe with a smile
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service could have been better. Ran out of orange, toast cold 15 mins before breakfast on the fist day. Second day better still cold toast 10 mins after breakfast

    Nice Breakfast when it arrived .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    Lovely break . Not sure I would return bit pricey for average accommodation
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the bedding could do with an upgrade. Lovely view of the lake. Room on the small size

    Lovely location. Friendly staff.Thought bar prices a bit steep. Didn't eat in restaurant but it looked very nice. Breakfast very nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    Lots of potential but disappointing in some aspects.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was very good but dinner was overpriced and disappointing. Very small fish (plaice) and lamb servings with equally small vegetable servings - some root vegetables cut to finger nail size and not enough to fill a dessert spoon, less than 1 potato equivalent and small green servings. The lamb was not cooked to my request of well done, served very pink - I had to send the lamb cutlet back. The cheese plate was served with only Jacob's Cream Crackers and the peach in the, very hard, peach in the melba had to be taken out of the serving vessel, put on a plate and cut up with knife and fork. Although I stayed for 4 nights I ate elsewhere for the second two, given the disappointing performance of the first two nights. Cost for my 2 meals of main plus desert plus a bottle of Piesporter Michelsberg and a door stop of a sandwich with coffee on my arrival was ££82.55. Cost of the B&B for 4 nights was £648.00 so I feel this hotel is overpriced and does not rate, in my book, its 4 stars.

    The room was excellent BUT on the third floor and there was no lift. Access was via a fairly narrow stairs. I understand that planning rules make it difficult to install a lift but this should be pointed out in the hotel details. Although staff carried my cases up on arrival climbing these stairs several times a day was difficult.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.9
    Lovely location but a wee bit pricey for the standard of the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 7 really needs some TLC - the feature wallpaper and dark furniture and curtains make the room seem dingy. My OH left towels on the bath to be changed for fresh ones but they were just left there and not changed. The breakfasts were good although not too hot the first day.

    Location was excellent for the view and proximity to other places locally and a little further afield. We were in Room 7 which was quite spacious. Staff were lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only very small negative was wi-fi is inconsistent and you have to keep logging in! Very small inconvenience in otherwise faultless hotel.

    Lovely room, great breakfast, staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.8
    Ideal base for North West wales
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was ok but would be too small for anyone staying more than a couple of days.

    The situation and grounds in particular. Also good base from which to see many attractive parts ofnorth Wales.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    Thoroughly enjoyable time and would go back.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The accommodation was a bit on the warm side, but we had the summer sun during our stay.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was excellent and the acceptance for pets a huge factor in choosing the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.1
    Needs improvement
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were horrible, they were that hard that neither of us slept either night, and when we asked for a different bed we were told there was nothing they could do. Unless you are a hermit or like very hard beds please do not take room 12

    The staff were good, pleasant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    5.0
    Expensive and disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcome was very poor we were sent away for being too early not even given chance to buy a cup of tea after 5 hour journey . It was too expensive and NOT a 4 star hotel

    Breakfast staff were nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    Great hotel in perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Room was spacious and comfortable. Hospitality tray in room was excellent with coffee bags, biscuits and drinking chocolate. Bottle of water was provided. Restaurant was excellent. Good choice for dinner and well cooked food. Breakfast choice was also excellent and cooked to order. Staff were polite, friendly and efficient. I would happily return to this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    Tranquillity base
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whilst the Wi-Fi worked well enough the electronic reception in general at this site is very poor with little or no chance of making a mobile call or accessing more than a limited number of TV channels. However, this is not important if you value the amenities of the place including the river views.

    Good menu choices and imaginative offerings

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Totally relaxing stay in a magical setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't fault anything.

    The setting was magical. From the balcony we could see the river below and from the window woods and hills. We actually saw blue tits fledging on the last morning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Lovely building, staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfasts were below the standards expected, which was a surprise given how good dinners look!

    Set away from the main road, the last property tucked away at the end of a valley. Quick walk to the touristy areas of Betws-y-Coed, with superb walking opportunities in the surrounding forests. Wonderful staff caring for the delightfully rambling set of rooms and a lovely conservatory dining area which overlooks the river.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.9
    Dog owners beware!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being stung with extra charges on arrival for having dogs with us. We intimated this at the time of booking when no charges were indicated. Not acceptable and will make us very wary of using Booking.com again when we travel with dogs.

    Room balcony overlooking the river

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    10
    The dining room provided a wonderful view overlooking the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Neither my wife nor I have been able to identify any dislike.

    The dining room provided a wonderful view overlooking the River Conwy. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.6
    Hotel was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More choice at the bar. No popular bottles of cider. Only had strongbow on tap.

    Hotel was lovely. Nice quiet location. Staff were very polite, helpful and friendly. View from the bar area is very nice

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Fabulous weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasnt anything negative, its in a beautiful spot right next to the river and its set back enough for it to be quiet.

    The breakfast was lovely and the staff were really friendly xx

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.2
    Excellent place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi connection was intermittent but probably due to location and no mobile phone signal at all again due to location. Only wanted to check on things at home so no great disadvantage but might be a problem to a business person.

    Excellently situated hotel by the river within walking distance of village. Very comfy room with balcony overlooking the river. Generous breakfasts with plenty of choice. Excellent optional dinners in restaurant at extra costs. Extremely pleasant and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel,beautiful location, excellent facilities, superb staff, great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It really was a perfect few days away.

    The choice on the menu. The food was excellently prepared and all of the staff were very helpful. I needed to find the nearest optician and was given telephone number, full details and directions. Very helpful. The setting was beautiful. The bed was comfortable, the room was spacious and had all we needed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in room 3 with the balcony, the view of the river and surroundings were beautiful. Room was comfy and very clean. Plenty of parking on site. The staff on the front desk and the waiting on staff were fantastic. Breakfast was great, with plenty of options. Would definitely go back and if available, stay in the room next door which had a hot tub on the balcony.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    10
    Couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had to go back home!

    Lovely, comfy, tranquil, wonderful staff who went beyond helpful and cheerful. Food was outstanding and we will defiantly be going there again - Maybe next time we will book the room with hot tub!! :-)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    excellent location, fabulous welcome.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complimentary toiletries and tea coffee very basic, not in keeping with the four star standard of the hotel.

    Staff extremely helpful, made to feel very welcome. Food is fabulous.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    6.7
    Lovely hotel, noisy family above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Above our room was a bathroom, with a tiled floor and very noisy young family who came in very late midnight, we then heard everything of what they were doing and their conversations for the next hour, so having a quiet early evening was spoilt. Think some sound insulation is needed.

    Lovely quiet room with four poster bed. Lovely view from the breakfast room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    10
    fab stay would diffiently go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all not to like

    The staff were very helpful and plesent the food was excellent both the evening meal and the breakfast the room was very clean and just as it is on their we'd site good choice for anyone

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    5.4
    Not good value for money - the room had a chemical smell. We opened the doors and thought it would g
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast - not a great deal of choice - need more croissants, fruit and pots of marmalade. There was no black pudding and the menu said 'eggs' - there was only one egg!

    The location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    10
    Amazing food & fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was brilliant! Beautiful views from both our room and the conservatory restaurant. The food was incredible and the service was faultless! The staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Loved the log fire in the bar, perfect after a wintery walk!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    8.8
    Great last minute New Year's Eve break - staff, location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great last minute New Year's Eve break - staff, location and gala dinner were great. Rooms were lovely- don't be put off by slightly dated reception space

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    8.8
    Super short walking break with our labradoodle
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was large and very clean but the standard size double bed was a little cramped compared to home

    Location is excellent with lovely views of the river/valley from the restaurant. We had dinner in the hotel which was superb and good value

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    10
    A wonderful peaceful weekend for our anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A later end time for breakfast and a later checkout time would be nice

    The staff were wonderful and couldn't do more to make our stay comfortable. The room was fantastic with a balcony overlooking the river. It was so peaceful and the grounds were wonderful to wander around and the trees looked magnificent in their autumn colours. The hotel is dog friendly and it was great to see the towels in the basket ready for when they return from their walks. The food was fantastic with a good choice for vegetarians and very good portions

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful stay in Betws
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    How hot the plates were at breakfast! Seems random but people were served in order (understandable) but that sometimes meant that plates sat under heated lamps for a while, which seemed abit unnecessary at breakfast and food sometimes then came out volcanic!!!! Evening meal food was superb but the standard menu was actually quite limiting for gluten free as a lot of options were breaded, with pastry, with pasta - I'm now being really picky as our stay was superb and I would recommend this hotel and go back!

    Staff were fantastic - lovely and always appropriate. Rooms were good, bed comfy. Breakfast was fabulous, great choice (porridge; full welsh; fish; cereals; fruit) plus gluten free bread! Packed lunches also a bonus when we were doing a long day walking :-) Evening meal in the restaurant exception quality, very impressed. Location next to the river is just stunning, and only a 10 mins walk into the centre of Betws

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    9.6
    Very happy, will come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverview Superking
    • Stayed 1 night

    After a few drinks, very good food, the climb up to the 3rd floor was something else !!!! No lift installed.

    The food, both dinner and breakfast was superb, and the setting of the seating area near the river was breath taking.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: