Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Craigellachie Hotel of Speyside 4 stars

Victoria Street, Craigellachie, AB38 9SR, United Kingdom

#1 of 2 hotels in Craigellachie

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 365 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.0
    Food in the copper dog was fine, and the staff were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very smelly - the Copper Dog. Whole hotel needs an upgrade. Have to prop windows open with bits of wood

    Food in the copper dog was fine, and the staff were good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommend but request rooms on backside of the facility. Short drive to the Whiskey Trail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room located a couple floors above the kitchen which meant that the staff took their late night break (which they worked hard for) and their voices carried . This in addition to the road climbing up & across from our room meant that we had to close our windows to reduce the noise. A real issue since no air conditioning and Scotland was enjoying a heat wave.

    Furnishings & decor in room were very nice & in touch with that of the overall inn's historic past. The breakfasts were excellent & offered a good variety. Evening dining was excellent & their private bar upstairs had a superior selection of malt whiskeys.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    It’s a cool local place very authentic and very nicely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a cool local place very authentic and very nicely decorated, the restaurant is very nice and good and the staff is very attentive and kind. The rooms a bit too small and beds too soft but still highly recommended!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Very nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Very nice location. Short walk from nice brigde. Not too far away from seceral distilleries (glenfiddich, craigellachie), so ideal for a multi-day visit to the region. Large, nicely decorated room. Everything just feels right. Very nice diner in the copper dog. Also, marge choice of whiskey. Staff knows what they are doing. Breakfast is very good. Limited choice of biffet, but a la carte dishes give it an original and more personal touch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Convenient and charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the first floor right by the stairs. You can hear everything through the door. Would have appreciated being on the second floor.

    Food was excellent at both dinner and breakfast. Very nice property and loved the whole look and feel of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    Good generally but room overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The relaxed atmosphere of the staff

    The room was over expensive at £170 for two for b/bRecencly I stayed in Nancy France in a deluxe room for euros 101 for 2 in a 4 star hotel over looking the main square so I do not think 3170 is value for money for the standard of room we had looking onto a rear wall

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    A gem of a hotel in Speyside. Total luxury in the countryside!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better

    First class all the way. We felt like we were pampered from the moment we opened the door to the room. Quiet, country setting with a fantastic in-house pub and restaurant. Staff everywhere were friendly and professional. Close to Aberlour on a walking path, right in the heart of lovely Craigellachie, but so wonderful you are almost tempted never to leave the hotel!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.8
    A very nice hotel but not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of little things that showed poor attention to detail for the price. Whisky bar closed on Sunday and Monday which is a bit weird. Uncomfortable bed.

    Nice breakfast. Nice staff. Nice decor. Whisky bar is excellent. Location is beaufiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    The hotel has a very comfortable and welcoming british style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a very comfortable and welcoming british style. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast in the Copper Dog rooms is a great experience and was very delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly staff, excellent whisky selection and very dog friendly
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ONLY downside was that it’s quite near the main road. But I’d still stay again! :-)

    Super lovely staff and so easy to communicate with. Very accommodating for our individual needs: was my partners birthday and they were more than happy to help organise a cake and some whisky for the room as a surprise. Really dog friendly. Lovely food and whisky at the copper dog pub. Would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.3
    It's OK. Expect pub food not fine dining
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Standard rooms are by the road. Ours was too warm to keep window closed. Although it's not a particularly busy road we woke each time a vehicle passed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel. My favorite of our entire UK trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My partner is 6'5" and I'm 5'8". The provided full side bed made it tough to sleep. The shower is small, but it's a very old hotel (not dated, though!), so it's not an easy update.

    The included breakfast was wonderful. From a full Scottish breakfast to the continental breakfast, it was wonderful. Actual keys to the rooms were a nice touch! Copper Dog was delicious and the bartender made some great drinks! It was definitely the most happening place around.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    5.0
    Overpriced room with only food choice pub grub - not for a special occasion!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being shown the dining room and bar on arrival then arriving down for a pre dinner drink to be told the bar wasn’t open that night and that we wouldn’t be eating in the dining room we were shown but it the pub downstairs - it was a special occasion - that’s why we paid £215 for a nights accommodation and expected a lovely room and a meal to match - we got neither! The receptionist was patronising and unhelpful!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    Comfort and style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stairs and access from car park but not enough to put me off. It is an old lodge so has lots of little steps and an awkward staircase from car park so would not really be suitable if you had mobility isses.

    For Breakfast a very wide choice and freshly cooked to order. Good size portions and a selection of newspapers to wile away any rainy mornings. Literally on the Speyside way so excellent for walking. Dog friendly - even give you treats, a bowl and poop scoop bags. Upmarket without being posh. Good choice for a single female traveller.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.2
    Scottish country living with extras
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little..,

    Excellent whisky bar and copper dog bar. Comfort in the day lounge. Warm, cosy rooms with welcome radio on in room. Coda especially is an excellent waitress/ hostess 😁

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Good wee escape from work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really lovely hotel. Clean, relaxing and stylish - not the usual twee tartan Scottish hotels can suffer from. Staff are superbly friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Great location if doing the whisky trails.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Perfect place to be in the Speyside area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think it is simply the best hotel in the area. Everything was just right, the atmosphere, the surroundings, the room with very nice bathroom and comfy bed, with your own coffee machine en suite. The staff was very friendly and the Whisky Bar is just another level hospitality and expertise. Great dinner at their own Copper Dog restaurant and fantastic breakfast. And all of this just a few miles from all the most famous distilleries in the area. I wish we'd stay longer!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.2
    Our fourth visit to the hotel ove 25 years, and not our last
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Insufficient opportunity for quiet dinner dining

    The room was immaculate, with amenities commensurate with a top quality hotel Superb breakfast room and menu, with the range of individually prepared and cooked hot dishes. An interesting dinner menu with well presented and tasty dishes, in a disappointingly contemporary restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.6
    Very nice whisky bar and perfect pub within the hotel for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice whisky bar and perfect pub within the hotel for different atmospheres. Affordable Beauty Salon services on site as well. The staff is helpful and friendly but not overwhelming which is good!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.2
    Cosy and wonderful
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I stayed for a week and I feel a special rate for long stay could have been offered.

    Although the room didn't have a view, it was very cosy and comfortable. It was very clean and it was a lovely feeling coming back to my room to retire every day for the last week. The breakfast was absolutely amazing (so many options and all so delicious!) and not to mention the Copper Dog restaurant which I visit every time I'm up in Scotland. Would recommend and would stay again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.9
    Lovely weekend break but would advise anyone going to insist on getting table in dining room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Main comment on area for improvement - booked table for meal 2 weeks in advance but table was unavailable when we went to dine. Reataurant was very busy and obviously popular. We were then given a table which was squeezed into the bar area. Not a great environment for "fine dining". Food was nice and staff were pleasant and helpful.

    Staff were very pleasant on the whole. Food good. Beds comfortable and clean. Room well equipped with coffee maker, iron and board, hairdryer as would be expected from 4 star hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.3
    Staff were lovely and meal in Copper Dog was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I not great on my feet and there are a lot of steep stairs at the hotel which I found a challenge (no lift)

    Staff were lovely and meal in Copper Dog was excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    The room and breakfast were very high standard and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room and breakfast were very high standard and comfortable. The staff on reception were so helpful booking dinner/taxis to distilleries and treatments at the spa. The Copperdog pub downstairs does amazing food and Angus at the Quaich Bar is absolutely amazing! His Cocktails were delicious and his scotch knowledge and recommendations were the absolute best- it really made our stay at the hotel extra enjoyable! Already can't wait to visit again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to leave!!!!!!!

    Lovely welcome, beautiful room with excellent facilities, bar full of character, cocktail room had amazing range of whiskey, food fantastic, live music excellent and staff were just great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Stayed here years ago and it was good, now its better. The restaurant was excellent and the Bar warm and welcoming. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.6
    Loved the room which was upgraded on arrival.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't realise it was a dog friendly hotel. We have no problem with dogs but we're unhappy to have them come in to the breakfast room and it was unclear if this was acceptable.

    Loved the room which was upgraded on arrival. Very comfortable and cozy and beautifully furnished.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Our stay was to celebrate two birthdays. Wonderful way to celebrate getting older!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps better lighting in the rooms. Two bedside lamps were the only source of light. Had to keep the bathroom door open to provide extra light.

    Excellent treatment by the staff who catered for our needs admirably. Would thoroughly recommend the hotel to friends.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.2
    I love this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is old so a bit noisy, you can hear other guests upstairs. But that’s all!

    Cozy, lovely hotel! Reception staff extremely friendly and attentive. Everything looks better than in the pictures ! The Quaich and the Copper Dog are both great drinking/dining experiences. Breakfast was absolutely delicious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.2
    Feel Scotch whiskey
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A room temperature is so cold. The area beyond a fire door of the 1st floor is quite different, not comfortable. And I think a breakfast is given at gland floor bar & restaurant more comfortable.

    Location is very good, easy to access to lots of distilleries. Of course their bars are amazing to scotch whiskey lovers. Obviously one of the best bar.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything

    Excellent spacious, comfortable, well-equipped room with good views, furnished to a high standard. Good location for exploring Speyside and the whisky trail. Wonderful whisky lounge with very knowledgeable staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Perfect place to wind down a day of castle viewing and distillery touring.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great, but the property is old, so expect the slight mustiness you experience in a classic older inn. It simply added to the overall feel for us.

    The Copper Dog bar and grill was great, but best of all was the whisky bar. Angus is a true expert on the enormous whisky selection that they have. We started calling him Dr. Angus as he could pick the perfect pour based on your flavor and cost requests.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay if doing whiskey trail
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift but this was made clear on booking.

    Great hotel with a interesting bar if you are into whisky. ( don't worry there are other options). Very comfortable room with a very good restaurant especially important as there are not many choices in the village. Staff helpful especially "A" in the bar who took time with a novice to explain options. It was nice to have open fireplaces.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Great staff, great food, great accomdations, and a wonderful part of Scotland. We'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved the meals and evening music. The breakfast buffet and additional offerings were delicious. And the Copper Dog offered amazing daily specials, to include wonderful wild game and fowl, tasty seafood, and great desserts. We also enjoyed the Whisky bar and the two informative and friendly bartenders.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Best whisky bar in all of Scotland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best whisky bar in all of Scotland. The young bartender, Angus, was the most knowledgeable person I've ever met in regards to whisky and cocktails. The copper dog was the perfect match. Great food and staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Luxury stay with unique Charme
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Beautiful hotel with a very charming style, spacious rooms, great beds, delicious breakfast, restaurant and bar are outstanding. Welcome cocktail from the bar had very high quality, area is awesome! Highly recommended

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Very short but very sweet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ashley the receptionist/manager was one of the most charming and helpful people ever! Couldn't do enough for me. Also Angus in the Quaich bar was very expert in Single Malts, it was a pleasure talking with him for a couple of hours and to learn a bit there. The setting was beautiful too!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    I loved the hotel and would most definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could be a bit of a challenge for patrons who have difficulty with stairs as there is no elevator and the rooms are two or three floors above ground level. I was traveling alone and would like to have had access to a taxi to safely take in some of the local distillery tours and Scotch tastings but the one time I tried to arrange for a ride with the only local taxi (through the hotel), it didn't show up on time and I had to drive myself anyway, leaving me unable to safely participate in the Scotch tastings as a result. That was disappointing.

    The staff were great and the Scotch whiskey selection in their two bars is unparalleled in all of Scotland (920 different Scotches!).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice room and staff
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Short staffed at breakfst had to wait for tables to be cleared before we could sit down. No member of staff in breakfast room when on arrival. The room we were in had quite a bit of road noise.

    All staff were very friendly and attntive. Whiskey Bar nice atmosphere and complimentary cocktails a nice touch. The call prior to arriving asking if there was anything we needed was much appreciated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Family agrees this was a top place on the trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If they hadn't run out of the cask IPA.

    Staff was efficient and friendly. The Copper Dog food and drink was excellent. Breakfast was in a separate beautiful room and the servers were terrific. Definitely a place to stay a second time. Great walking trail just outside the door.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    An excellent hotel in a most beautiful area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very hard to say; we are (3 generations) perfectly happy and satisfied.

    This is a true find. A beautiful hotel, very well refurbished in high taste, with excellent staff eager to accommodate all requirements. The location is lovely, good for walking and for fishing, while the hotel is willing and able to organise any other activities in the area. The men loved going fishing with a ghillie and the youngsters tried whiskey tasting. The food is excellent in the Copper Dog. Breakfast is more than adequate, with hot choices at no extra charge. We had a special family occasion which we celebrated in the private dining room, perfectly organised and taken care of. Congratulations to the owner who took this up and made a very good job of it. p.s. the photos are of the river and bridge right next to the hotel, and the beach at Lossiemouth, 30 min by car.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.8
    Overall a pleasant stay in a nice clean hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is sometimes a bit restricted and it can be difficult to find a parking spot.

    breakfast was excellent and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.6
    The Craigellachie Hotel is a very elegant hotel, offering...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As the hotel shares its parking lots with the "Copper Dog" pub, which is located in the same building, space for parking might be sparse. We recommend reservations for dinner, as there are only few restaurants in town and we did not get a table.

    The Craigellachie Hotel is a very elegant hotel, offering most comfortable and well furnished guest rooms. The personnel is very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay in Speyside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a bit of a heads up! The exterior of the hotel has recently painted. It is now a gold/yellow colour, not white like it shows on Booking.com and the hotels own website. We drove around a bit looking for a big white hotel.

    This hotel is the perfect location to explore the Speyside area and it's many Distilleries. Staff were very friendly and Hotel looked like it has been refurbished recently. The highlight is the restaurant attached to the hotel called The Copper Dog and the whiskey lounge with over 800 Whiskeys.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant stay in Craigellachie.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only "complaint"was that the hotel is near the road and you could hear some traffic during the night. This was not a bad problem though as fortunately there wasn't that much traffic.

    The building was wonderful and full of character and the staff was very pleasant. The Copper Dog restaurant was excellent. They also have a wonderful bar (Angus was an awesome bar tender). Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    Almost awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not find the mattress very comfortable. On the second day all complimentary items (water, shower gel/shampoo, etc.) had not been replaced. I ordered the mussels at the restaurant and it was awful. I simply could not eat it and had to send it back. I must say that they didn't charge me. But they did add a pretty hefty service charge which was a little unexpected.

    Loved the location of the room. It did not have much of a view, but that was not important for our trip. It was quiet and far away from noisy spots like the kitchen or restaurant. The room was spacious and clean. Parking was available on the premises. The area is beautiful and the hotel is easily accessible from the main road. Great whisky bar. The restaurant has a cosy atmosphere and the seating outside is lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    6.3
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too warm, airless room facing a busy street undergoing construction plus the hotel was "getting ready for summer" - was noisy mid day on both days. I had to leave the window open because it was so stuffy but the paint/stain they used on the new front overhang structure was smelly so I had to close it. Restaurant waitresses could use some training in how to like their job & the tourists who bring in revenue. My partner bit on a small peice of shot in his fowl. While one can't get much fresher than freshly shot fowl (not raised in a pen on a farm), a broken tooth would have been most uncomfortable! Wi-Fi in our room was non existent. Bed was uncomfortable. Rainhead shower had no pressure at all. Would not stay again. Would absolutely visit the Quaich and pub if we are in the area again.

    Overall building & Public spaces are lovely (except some attention to detail, like sagging, poorly hung sheers in the breakfast room and finger prints on bathroom doors). Angus was enthusiastic in talking with us - very personable. The bartender in the Quaich made me the best whiskey cocktail I've ever had. Pleasant fellow. Reception staff extremely polite and accommodating. Personalised greeting from manager upon arrival into the room was a nice touch.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.6
    Superb Speyside hotel, friendly staff, great food and amazing whisky bar!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was that hotel exterior currently being painted so cherry pickers in car park and work on going when we arrived. Also painting going on inside too. This was unfortunate, but everything else was great.

    Took my mum and dad away for their birthday, I told the hotel this and a lovely cheese, fruit and oatcake platter with a couple of drams was waiting for them on arrival - very nice touch! Also Copper Dog Restaurant was fantastic, delicious food and a great atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.5
    Very nice breakfast and also the meal in the restaurant was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom floor hadn't been washed and there was still dust and fluff around the bedroom and on the tea making area. Also the back stairway to the building and the windowsill on it is dirty and covered in spiderweb and dirt. Everything else was nice but the lack of cleanliness spoiled my stay.

    Very nice breakfast and also the meal in the restaurant was great. The bar and lounge rooms are nice too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.5
    On this occasion could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was overheated on this occasion, (have stayed many times before without this problem). Opened window but noise from road was awful - first time we had a room at the back. There was a refurb going on and the cherry picker was on the go at 8 in the morning, passed our window. Not such a great stay on this occasion.

    Ambience, staff, location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.9
    Speyside central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very old and not very well maintained. There was a large hole where the paint or wallpaper had peeled off near one of the windows. There was also no closet to hang our clothes.

    Excellent breakfast. Great location for exploring Speyside distilleries. Copper dog restaurant and Quaich bar are great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.6
    Must stay hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking was horrible. hard to find. awkward to get to some of it

    this hotel was lovely. Excellent for venues. Pub on location was awesome! Staff was lovely. Breakfast was wonderful. It is pricey but was so worth the whole thing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    First Class
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was a bit warm, but I like the cold so to anyone else this would of been fine!

    Room was brilliant, as were the staff. Food was very very good. Would come back here in a heartbeat. We were staying the night before my wedding and there was a lovely letter, whisky and a cheese board which was a very nice and thoughtful touch.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    10
    Can't wait to visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect. The room was clean and bright, the staff were friendly and inviting and the location is set in a quiet part of the country. Oh and the food was amazing. And you have to stop and have a drink at the Quaich; such an impressive collection of whisky.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    4.2
    Disappointing visit, when a quiet holiday was needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Work on property going on till late at night. Noise outside bedroom window. Management conspicuous by their absence. Still no response despite repeated requests.

    Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    5.0
    Adequate but not great. Poor Value. Pleased I wasn't paying.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor water pressure so bath took a millenia to fill and the shower dripped onto you making the whole process a nonsense. Was offered an alternate room at time of raising the issue but couldn't guarantee there wouldn't be the same issue. Staff were pleasant but insincere in their apology. More platitude centered than genuine. Ordered poached eggs with firm yolks for breakfast - arrived extra runny. No offer of sauces. no check back. Service is very functional.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.2
    The service and luxury are effortless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar lady in the Quaich was rushed off her feet and hence service was a little slow.

    The service and luxury are effortless. The staff cannot do enough for you. The secure bicycle storage was a bonus.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    6.3
    The Copper Dog bar, excellent food, service and friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom for our room could have done with a refresh, particularly the shower area as it was very tired looking.

    The Copper Dog bar, excellent food, service and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    5.8
    The food was amazing and the copper dog bar is lovely and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we got was not the same as we booked on booking.com it was small dirty and the duvet was old and all broken up inside. But after we complained they gave us a better much nicer room. I have stayed in lots of hotels and don't feel it was value for money.

    The food was amazing and the copper dog bar is lovely and entertaining.the whisky bar is superb.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.1
    A lovely stay in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In my opinion the room rate was too high for the room size and quality. The bar had a very nice selection of whiskey, but the floor vibrated, which was very irritating.

    The Hotel is very nice and comfortable, especially the main lounging room. The breakfast was also very good and the dining room where it was served was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    8.3
    My son and fiancée have booked venue for his wedding.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets worn in Whisky bar, stained in hallway and our bedroom. Caffeiteire coffee only available in bedroom.

    Location beautiful. The restaurant and food was excellent. Breakfast delicious. Bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    9.2
    A great place to stay and unwind!!.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We thoroughly enjoyed this Hotel stay as we were able to have our pet Labrador with us in the bar and restaurant. The meal in the evening was excellent as was the service.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    10
    Stately comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a storage unit in the bathroom for wash bags as there is nowhere but the floor or corner of the bath otherwise.

    Very good atmosphere, extensive breakfast choice. The Copper Dog restaurant is lovely, the staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.6
    Old world charm in a beautiful highland location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com delaying payment to the hotel.

    Stunning location, helpful and friendly staff. Free upgrade to our room which had an enormous en suite. Complimentary whisky cocktails in the impressive Quaich bar.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    A Special Highland Retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish we could have stayed longer!

    The food was excellent. Ambience great. Breakfast was fabulous in a gorgeous room. Whisky bar needs to be seen to be believed. All staff were fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel made by the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I quite like spa, or pool facilities at the end of a day of walking. Not really a criticism that they didn't have it, as I knew this before booking. It would be my suggestion for improvement if anything was to be done long term.

    The staff were attentive but not overbearing, a fine balance, rarely achieved in my opinion. Little touches, like the cocktail hour in the Quaich bar were lovely. The blood and sand cocktail was particularly delicious. All the food was great; perfectly cooked and seasoned quality local produce.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.6
    Just perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like!

    Everything was perfect! Staff were lovely, cocktails amazing and the food was to die for! Can't wait to go back again, room was all we needed, really enjoyed the ambience of Saturday evening in Copper Dog.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    10
    A great base for exploring speyside on foot
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointing food on first night, awful presentation of beetroot starts and tough as boots lamb. Waiting staff are too lacking in skills and knowledge

    Real coffee in rooms, fabulous decor and fabrics Loved open fires

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    7.5
    Our room was lovely and the food was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the pub under the hotel, The Copper Dog, was undergoing refurbishment which we were not made aware of in advance. That was a shame in itself, but what was worse was the noise in the rest of the hotel which started at breakfast and continued all day.

    Our room was lovely and the food was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    10
    Higher price range - but worth every penny!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything! Amazing place, staff, food. Very nice whisky bar and lounge. Super dog friendly (get bowls, food) - dog is allowed everywhere but the breakfast room. Great location for nice walks in the woodlands/fields + whisky trail.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    9.6
    Cosy and comfortable in the heart of Speyside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was particularly cosy and festive given the time of year. Staff were very receptive and friendly, the food both in the restaurant and at breakfast was superb. Great location close to hikes, Distilleries, Mill shop and Shortbread factory. It ticked all the boxes for our short getaway.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    10
    Lovely location, great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy in the corridor outside our room.

    Friendliness and efficiency of staff, good food in the Copper Dog restaurant, fresh scones for tea in the library. Delightful visit.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    10
    Excellent food, excellent place, overall amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the coziest and most comfortable hotel i have been to, and i have been around quite a bit. It is a perfect place for a single night stay on your way north or south, and we intend to come and stay for a week, to explore the area and simply relax. And the Copper Dog restaurant is perfect.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    10
    Lovely winter Saturday stay at a fantastic hotel with wonderful staff and food
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, was a fantastic stay

    Fantastic stay, staff could not do enough for us, they were fantastic and took great care of us and our two dogs!! Food was terrific

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    10
    Luxurious little break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road outside the room was noisy.

    The staff were so welcoming and friendly and dinner in the copper dog was excellent. Great live music and complimentary cocktails. The room was luxuriously cosy and comfy.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    Countryside luxe, very dog friendly, great food and atmosphere in Copper Dog Pub
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaving, I wanted to extend the stay but there were no rooms. Will definitely return.

    Fantastic location, right on Speyside, great rooms and gardens with direct access to Spey River. Fabulous public rooms, with comfortable sofas and flower arrangements throughout the hotel with roaring wood fires and steady WI FI connection in every room. Downstairs pub very popular with the locals, serving a vast selection of whisky and top notch food. Dogs welcomed in all areas, overall a perfect cosy getaway with very friendly and attentive staff !

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: