Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Craiglynne Hotel 3 stars

Woodlands Terrace, Grantown on Spey, PH26 3JX, United Kingdom

#22 of 24 hotels in Grantown on Spey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 474 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.8
    Restaurant was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had not been cleaned properly, floor needed hoovering, room was dusty, rust around shower, dirty toilet(!) and dirty cups

    Restaurant was great!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Early closure of check in desk - late arrival not possible. Long walk to room from reception. Noted that a lot of maintenance work was needed outdoors.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    it is a very grand looking building with friendly helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing really

    it is a very grand looking building with friendly helpful staff, a clean comfortable room with lovely views with had a great breakfast and the price was very good as well

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.8
    A good night's sleep was all we needed and this hotel delivered on that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The public areas of the hotel were needing to be cleaned especially the stairs.

    The double bed was comfortable. The breakfast menu was extensive with a good choice of cooked dishes.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.8
    Adequate, decent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    En suite was only a little larger than a phone booth. Loose floorboards were disconcerting

    Staff very friendly and personable. Good experiences with them. Pub was cozy ... Nice little town - book reservations in advance at a restaurant called the Wee Puffin to avoid disappointment. Nice location in the heart of Whisky Country

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.8
    Dissapointing average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower / bath would not turn off we had to get help. This had happen before so why was it not fixed? Also we wanted an early breakfast on Sunday so did over 40 others ehy dont they start breakfast earlier if do many want it early? Also no bottles of real ale in the bar dissapointing as there are several local breweries.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.1
    Great location and the garden view room was wonderful with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is looking a bit worn with one of our curtains having a large slit down it. Lots off bus tours stay there.

    Great location and the garden view room was wonderful with windows that opened and plenty of room and natural light.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    6.3
    Location to centre of town and staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old Hotel and very tired. Photos of the hotel are deceiving. Needing an upgrade. Shower pressure was poor.

    Location to centre of town and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.9
    Good for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was adequate but needed a facelift. It was a bit gloomy and wifi was patchy. I thought breakfast was with the room but had to pay extra.

    The staff were great. The restaurant was very nice and the food was good. Comfy bar and lounge. Near a road but very quiet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    4.6
    One night was enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The teapot in my room still Had the previous occupants tea bags in it and cups were dirty. The taps in the shower didn’t work properly either.

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    3.3
    Well below expectation for the price of £129 per room only .Been better in a camp site
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room furniture falling apart . No towels in room , had to go and get . Shower no pressure and temperature unable to regulate . Bar staff no idea of what he was doing . Couldn't’ pour a pint . WiFi non existent

    Leaving in the morning . Location nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    5.0
    Location was good, actual building is lovely and staff nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First impression not good at all, used toilets in lounge area, filthy, no toilet paper at all in either toilet, sinks abs smothered in black flies ( dead) stench in toilet was so bad that i was actually nearly physically sick!!! I can take most things, never had this experience before ever. Told lady on duty who seemed to already know about it and was told cleaning hadn’t been done in there yet( 1.30 pm) next Day cleaner but smells same, you can actually smell it when passing door. Our room, twin-v cramped, couldn’t open some drawers as bed had to be put in front, bathroom made up in room went up a step, sliding door which was awful. Not what you’d expect for the money at all.

    Location was good, actual building is lovely and staff nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff, nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was ok. Expensive for what it was as very small and the sink was in the room not the bathroom. The bathroom needed updating.

    Friendly staff, nice location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    6.3
    If we could make sure it was clean we would definitely be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness was poor and the very tired bathroom was so bad we decided to forgo showering all together and wait 'til we stopped for the night. The fan was sooo loud and the staircase up stairs was a little rickety. Some would call this quirky but the lack of caring for the building and rooms just awful.

    The food was terrific and the staff were wonderful. Location was also a bonus for us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    Staff couldn’t have been more helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although staff were very nice the hotel was run very unorganised and we were overcharged on our billl which was corrected when it was pointed out to them

    Staff couldn’t have been more helpful and friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    4.2
    Business stop over
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need seriously updating, actually felt cold even though in the summer. Evening set meal of £22 wasn’t value for money. For the money being paid for a single room and food I assumed would be good reasonable quality, this wasn’t the case. Ceral and toast at breakfast along with the positive and politeness of staff was only good points to note. Disappointed and maybe should have looked closer in previous reviews.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    4.2
    Underwhelming and unhelpful, but acceptable level of cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For starters, the staff on reception were not very friendly or helpful. They told us our room was on the first floor and that we could use the lifts as we had heavy luggage. We spent over 15 minutes trying to find the actual rooms - turns out they were in a different section of the hotel, where the lift was not able to be used, a separate staircase required, and several fire doors to go through in order to locate it. Not a great start to our stay! Furthermore, the room had a sloping ceiling which, for my partner who is of average male height, was very low (meaning he bumped his head several times getting in and out of bed). The shower was also just a bath with a hose, which was not something disclosed to us prior to check in. The TV also did not work at all.

    The room was clean. The property has a good proximity to the center of town, and there was not much noise to disturb light sleepers.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.0
    The location good but bad for parking was very disappointed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could have more than one chair in room also tv that works.

    The location good but bad for parking was very disappointed in hotel have been coming to the area for over 40years and stayed in the Garth which I think have nicer rooms than you have.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.4
    Would not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath towels in room, tv not working, no hairdryer in the drawer, shower switch didn’t work in shower only on the main wall and the bathroom was dirty, bedside lamp didn’t work. On the upside breakfast was very very good. The pictures on website looked fantastic but we were very disappointed

    Receptionist was very nice and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.8
    The location was easy to find and convenient to shops,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was hard & lumpy. Areas outside windows needed cleaning & painting.

    The location was easy to find and convenient to shops, restaurants & attractions. Bathroom was very clean and modern. The atmosphere of the hotel was luxurious & appealing. Staff was super friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    stop gap whilst touring Scotland
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel could do with a revamp. Sorry to say that its looking a bit dated inside, although saying that the interior decor its in keeping with the character of the hotel. The cleanliness was not of a very high standard.

    the location was good, ideal for our needs. The breakfast was good, plenty to choose from. Plenty of seating areas. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    4.2
    Bad for business travelers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi terrible, no shower in room , no phone in room, no reception for personal phones so if you had an accident I don’t how you’d get in touch with reception , tv reception very bad, room to hot , no fan , window only opens and inch

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    Food great, but let down by some of the accommodation and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is big and in need of some refurbishment. Reception area was lovely but rooms and corridors were in need of updating. Housekeeping left a lot to be desired, the first room I was given still had wet towels on the floor.. I was given a second room but had to step over dirty sheets and towels in the corridors. If I'd have checked in early I would have understood, but I hadn't it was 5pm. Other staff seemed to be working hard but were let down by some of the facilities.

    Restaurant was very good, dinner and breakfast were excellent. Receptionists were attentive and tried their best to sort out various issues.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.4
    The location was great but there is nothing more to say...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a musty smell and window looked out onto a rusty stairwell and the kitchen flues. Had to keep the window open with a drawer as the sash was old and decayed. Staff were not friendly and glad to leave after one night.

    The location was great but there is nothing more to say about this faded hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    3.8
    Disappointed with room and some of the services.
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very basic for price. You can't just add mini soaps and shower gels and expect people to pay top prices when the main things in a room are more important. T.v had mind of its own with lots of rainbow coloured lines running through programs. No temp control with hot water, beware that young children don't run the hot taps on bath, its could be a nasty burn. Tea, coffees and milks not refilled every day or cleaners just didn't bother when they were finished. Cleaning in room left a lot to be desired, and no respect for peoples items, they had knocked over and just left lying on floor. I'm not one that likes to pick out faults with places but there were just too many of them not too point them out on this occasion.

    Staff were nice. Nice area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    A comfortable relaxing atmosphere with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Relaxing atmosphere with comfortable lounge areas and bar. Comfortable bed and the en suite facilities. Great breakfast choice with cold buffet and wide range of cooked meals. The food was fresh and of a good quality.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.1
    Room was lovely although I did actually book a twin but we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi didn’t reach the far side of the building

    Room was lovely although I did actually book a twin but we got a double, the lovely lady at reception did offer to change rooms but we just stayed in first room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    June 2018 Speyside Breakaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only grumble would be the room did not have a view, as it was at the end of the original building with the infill section restricting the view to the rear garden area. However they do need to consider carrying out some external refurbishment as first impressions do count, flaking decoration with timbers showing signs of age do catch the attention of this building surveyor.

    As covered by the survey the location was perfect for touring the surrounding areas, easy access to Forres and then onto the coast or for heading along the whisky trail or simply touring and taking in the sights, sounds and smells.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.8
    the hotel as it stands this moment is very tired, I wont be staying there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the whole of the upstairs was very noisy, every floorboard creaked, in the corridors the bedrooms. We had very little sleep the first night, the person above us was in and out of bed nearly every hour and woke us consistently.

    The food when it finally arrived was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    3.3
    Disappointing and unbelievably overpriced. Not sure how they can justify the room rates.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything - poor food and a waitress who could barely understand what we were saying. Cancelled breakfast as couldn't leave quickly enough in the morning.

    Nothing - terrible value for money. The outside of the hotel appeared shabby with rotting wood and dirty carpet and the inside reflected the outside. Needs complete refurbishment. Complete rip off.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    6.7
    Disapointment a bit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old hotel or manor, with pretension for "luxury", but those days are all gone, decades ago. They try to refurbish this or that, but room setting and half of equipment and facilities are antics, or half broken (or simple broken). Prices above average, location normal. But staff was friendly and it was not disaster, only disappointment.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    It’s not expensive & you get what you pay for.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Without a doubt the best croissants outside of Paris. Truly. Previous breakfast was at The Waldorf Astoria The Caledonian in Edinburgh & the buffet breakfast was inferior to this.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.0
    Wouldn't recommend - not worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price for what it was is extortionate. The room was very pokey and overlooked an inner series of roofs, a broken pipe dripped on the metal all night. As per previous reviews, the door didn't close fully so light from the hallway was visible all night. The lightbulb in the room was a bright flourecent which did nothing to help the general appearance. Bed small and hard, pillows flat. Bathroom small, tricky and outdated - our bathmat was in the shower so already wet when we came to use it. No spoons at the coffee station. Breakfast not included in the £80 we paid. All in all a pretty poor experience for the price - more expensive than any of the airbnbs we've stayed in on this trip (and supposed to be our night of a little 'luxury') and the worst of them all. Wish we'd looked a bit more closely at the reviews! Very surprised after all the reviews they're still charging what they are.

    The sweet release of death/leaving. The staff were lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    4.2
    Poor very tired hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was dirty, sheets all over the hallways when we arrived at 5.30pm. Waited to be seated for breakfast for 10 mins. All in all very tired hotel that needs a massive lift in both rooms and staff . will not be rushing back

    not a lot

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    Nicely located hotel with parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inside the hotel is a bit dated, needs painted & decorated. Wifi slow but it is the highlands! Reception phone not manned regularly; Tried to phone hotel to organise a bottle of champagne on arrival for my partners birthday but no one answered. Phoned 8 times on Wednesday & 5 times thursday at different times of the day and no answer every time.

    Good location, 2 minute walk to restaurants & shops, opposite Grant park with lovely 100km walk to the river spey, onsite parking, breakfast included, staff friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.1
    Good room ,insuffient staff to provide adequate service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 4coach loads who overwhelmed the hotel .in consequence we had to wait 30minutes to get a table and be served at breakfast,much of which they had run out of god

    The room the

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Short and sweetish
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Bathroom was a bit dated but clean and the shower head didn't stay up which was mildly annoying. Ate in bar food was good and service good but quite an early kitchen finish at 830pm Overall very happy with one night stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't know about our booking with booking.com so we were worried they wouldn't have a room for us!! They did find us one but it was very stressful

    Excellent staff and lovely place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.4
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were horrible. Door to room barely locked and you could see outside through crack. Not at all secure. Hotel looked unkept and dirty. Staff seemed clueless.

    Looked awesome from outside. Good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Individual travellers may find large parties take precedence...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Individual travellers may find large parties take precedence as we found. We found hotel understaffed - v nice front of house and bar staff need more support from management

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.7
    I enjoyed the shabby, quaint atmosphere. Will not be to everyone's liking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were hard with thin pillows. Breakfast was okay but not exceptional and the dining room service was slow.

    I really enjoyed this hotel, but it will not be to everyone's taste. It is older with creaky floors and oddly shaped bathrooms. If you can embrace quaint and have fun with it, stay here! If you are expecting an historic exterior with a Holiday Inn interior, you will be disappointed. My husband and I loved it, my mom did not. Desk staff is great! Walking distance to the village.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location and the staff was very nice and accommodating. When we realized we'd booked a double and not a twin they were able to change it no problem. Try the steaks in the restaurant, best steaks of my life.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    Lovely old building but basic room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was basic with a crude sliding door and a shower cubicle door that had to be wedged shut. Large single glazed windows rattled in the wind.

    The ground floor reception area,public rooms,bar and dining room were lovely but venture upstairs and things are not so lovely.The corridors and the bedroom we stayed in are all in need of TLC .The hotel was quite cold especially in the restaurant. Evening meal was good but breakfast a little lacking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Love Grantown and the Craiglynne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didnt think it was a fullsize double bed?

    We were pleasantly surprised with the very nice room with a lovely bay window view out to the front of the hotel, after paying only £68!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    The staff were very friendly and polite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arriving at the hotel we were almost ready to forfeit our stay. Dilapidated porch, dingy furnishings, flowerless planters and ancient artificial flowers. The room, thankfully, was clean and acceptable. Some care and attention to detail would improve things. Very drab

    The staff were very friendly and polite

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    A lovely 2 days in a historic hotel in a very scenic part of Scotland. Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was beautiful with lots of history. The photos on the lounge walls were fascinating as were the pamphlets on ski lessons from years ago. It must have been an exceptional experience staying here during ski season or hunting season years ago. We had a very good meal. I especially liked the mackerel pate.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.3
    The bed was comfy and the room were neat and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small and the view from our room were not to great. The place is quite old and the floors squeaky.

    The bed was comfy and the room were neat and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.3
    Underwhelming. Pictures misleading.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on our honeymoon and the pictures of the hotel made it look like the perfect retreat. However, as soon as we walked into our room we were completely underwhelmed. The room was small, worn, dated and dirty. There was toothpaste in the sink and the bathroom glasses weren't cleaned. The water from the kettle made our teas taste like chalk. The floors were sloped and there was constant creaking from within and from above (I guess that's just the age of the building though). I feel like the photos were misleading. The lens used makes the hotel and the rooms look a lot bigger and the rooms in the pictures look a lot less worn. Fortunately, the staff let us checkout the next day with no cancellation fee and with a discount. They were very polite and understanding.

    Staff were very polite and informative. Grantown has some beautiful scenery. The hotel also looks stunning from the outside.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    4.6
    Craiglynne used to enjoy a high reputation for its accommodation. It has sadly gone to seed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room dirty - could write my name in dust. Sink and bath unwashed. Debris in corridor untouched for 3 days. All 3 meals on first night were inedible even after waiting for an hour in an uncrowded restaurant. Ate elsewhere subsequently. Invisible management and inadequate supervision of staff.

    Comfortable bed. Breakfast OK.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was amazing. We ate dinner in the restaurant and was very enjoyable. We also had breakfast the next day. Staff was friendly and I would defiantly go back again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.5
    A bit disappointed as we were charged an extra £15 for our dog which made it a
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very basic for such a lovely location. I asked for decaf coffee at breakfast and was told they only had instant!!! I fetched my own cafetière and ground coffee from our room.

    The staff were exceptional, could not fault them at all. Liked the fact that the owners gave a percentage of profits to local charities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little old and the evening meal was not great with some of our groups meals being forgotten about and arriving after everyone else had finished. Breakfast was great thou.

    Good value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Good if you find deal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a bit difficult but quite normal. Shower didn't work. WiFi was weak. Bed was a little hard. Signs could be added to find room better.

    Pretty good value for a nice looking place despite flaws. Look for deals on this place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    My husband saw snow for the first time ever, the scenery around the hotel was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a black hair on my poached egg in the breakfast. Quietly told waitress when we’d finished. Didn’t want to make a scene. Not sure if she reported it to anyone - perhaps we should have had my breakfast refunded.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very nice, it is a little dated but the bed is really comfortable, it is in a great location and ideal for all travellers, We will be definately staying there again! Thankyou very much.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    We had a thoroughly enjoyable weekend at Craiglynne and came away feeling relaxed.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing that we did not like.

    The staff were friendly and went the extra mile to help. We thought the hotel was homely and very comfortable. Particularly liked the open fires and cosiness of the lounge. It is ideal for folk with dog as there are walks just across the road.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.5
    Location, Staff friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    " The beds & pillows" certainly require renewing. We have never experienced such a painful nights sleep. This is a lovely hotel in a great location with nice staff so please change the mattresses & pillows!

    Location, Staff friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Great weekend away, stayed for 2 nights, had breakfast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great weekend away, stayed for 2 nights, had breakfast and dinner at the hotel, excellent staff, brilliant food and nice atmosphere to have a drink before bed. Very easy to get to, park and move around the town. Definitely will go back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.9
    Second time visiting here...enjoyed it but some aspects were disappointing this time...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having visited here before, we decided to pay for a more expensive room with a view, however when we arrived in the room it smelt of dog and a bit stale - really needed aired out, which we opened the window right away. The top shelving area above the bed was covered in dust, looked like it only been wiped a little bit. Also, crumbs on the chairs by desk/window area and bathroom hadn’t been dusted, also shower was a bit difficult to use as had trouble getting it to produce hot water for a fair amount of time. Wouldn’t pay for this kind of room again, probably go for a cheaper room next time as they seem to be better value for money.

    Friendly and informative staff, the views were lovely and location of hotel was in a quiet area. Room we paid for was spacious, plenty room for two. Food here was lovely, a bit pricey but cooked very well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.1
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room cleaner is lazy and did not vacuum the floor carpets and the hall carpets outside where the same, the blinds are horrendous, all ragged on the bottom, the plumbing is in poor condition as turning taps or shower off needed a lot of force, something a weak person could not do. The hotel looks very tired in places. Some of the staff need to tidy up there staff uniforms, others looked as they should. I would say i would stay again if we could have the same room, so it cant be that bad.

    Location, Restaurant and a few of the staff. Liked room 205 as is on its own and quite. Although it wasn't perfect it is a grand building with character and we very much enjoyed our stay and the skiing down the road.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    2.5
    Awful in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived they had left the window open when it was -1 degrees outside so our room was freezing, the heater in the room was from the 60's and took 2 hours to heat up the room. The bed was uncomfortable, the tv only had 3 channels, the shower took an age to get hot and then we couldn't turn it off. When we told reception the next day about all the problems they didn't even apologise and judging by he's reaction he gets the same complaints all the time. One of the worst hotels I've stayed in I wouldn't recommend this place to my eniemies, don't be fooled by how beautiful it is in the outside.

    Can't think of anything I particularly liked

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    6.7
    The effort of the staff make the stay better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired interior. Bad smell of paint or something else lingering in rooms That staff blamed on paint that contractors were using(I did see a contractor to be fair). Every floor creaked loudly. TV had very little reception could only watch 4 channels. Breakfast overpriced.

    Nice location. Close to aviemore and nice town centre. Staff try their hardest with obviously little investment.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The thread bare and ripped chair fabric, the multitude of missing light bulbs, the old faded flower arrangements and the cheap duvet and pillows.

    The location was fantastic and the large communal area with the log fire, selection of board games and comfortable chairs was nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointing,would not stay here again and would not recommend it to anyone.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very used and terribly uncomfortable,pillows useless, prehistoric dust line around carpet edges, picture glass and mirror dirty,dust on light fittings, door lock was ill fitting , a radiator that you can not shut off, the bathroom was clean but grim.

    Has a lift to all floors.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.7
    Good for a short stay but needs updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The first room we were given had a bathroom that was not practical with a toilet that was wedged in between the bath and the wall - (no room to wipe) and also had a trip hazard (step into and out of bathroom) We moved to a superior room that was a good size but the heating was not adequate - large bathroom had no heating and the shower was out dated.

    Public areas comfortable with nice open fires. Staff friendly and helpful but spread a little thin. The hotel was pretty empty so that was OK but if it were full then it would have been difficult for the staff to cope

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.1
    We were upgraded to a much better room when we asked,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers are pretty bad. Very low water pressure which isn't a huge problem, just a little annoying

    We were upgraded to a much better room when we asked, without any trouble at all

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    6.7
    Adequate for discount booking.
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On our arrival at the hotel our greeting by the staff member before the check in desk, wasn't particularly helpful. When we asked to add on breakfast to our stay the guy didn't appear to want to speak to us about what this included or the price etc. We paid the price that he said and then when we checked out they tried charging us again as he hadn't placed it on the system. Our hotel room was standard, the television didn't work at all in the twin room and the wifi wasn't brilliant in the single room. The shower in the single room also felt like you were in a darkened out box as the light was at the other end of the room so didn't send much light into the shower. I booked through an offer which I think is the adequate price for a room at this hotel, definitely don't think it is worth the full price a night.

    We couldn't fault the breakfast. There was a wide range of choice from cereal, toast, cooked breakfasts, fruit etc. I had booked a single room and a twin room. They were spacious rooms, tidy and clean. Most of the staff were very accommodating although they did like to sit around looking 'bored' whenever there wasn't guests around. The reception was spacious and comfortable and was lovely sat by the open fires. The dining room was also spacious with one area used only for breakfasts.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    We got an amazing price for this very beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our window was a very old one and so it was a bit noisy in our room - but not cold because it had an amazing heater in there.

    We got an amazing price for this very beautiful hotel. It was very comfortable and everything was chosen very well. Our room wasn't really big but very cozy. They also got a very nice lobby with fire and nice furniture to sit on and read a nice book

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.6
    Amazing and comfortable stay along with a a group of excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is obviously ancient and it has the amazing collection of displayed pictures to go with it, yet there is no way you could find out about the history of the building. A little connection to the people who have owned/used it over the centuries would go a long way to enhancing an already awesome stay.

    The hotel had beautiful interiors and a magnificent facade outside, made us feel as if we were staying in an Victorian era Manor. The service was impeccable and the staff were friendly and hospitable, a special mention for the lady Sam who was an amazing host to us. The location was awesome because it was just accross the road from the woods which had great walking trails and yet it was only a few minutes walk to the town centre as well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.1
    Would defiantly use this hotel again, but would request a warmer part of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The part of the hotel we were in was very cold, although we did have heating in the room. The beds were very hard, and quite narrow. So not the best beds we’ve had in a hotel.

    The evening meals were outstanding. Presentation, quantity, and overall five star meals.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.3
    Overall a nice stay at a good price, would recommend to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast served till a little later on the sunday

    lovely accommodation at a good price, booked a small double with breakfast which was more than ample size of room for myself and my husband. Cosy room, nicely presented. Cooked breakfast was good in the morning, if not a little early for a Sunday (finished serving at 9.30am) bar staff were helpful and courteous on the Saturday night.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.3
    I really like the front desk, and dining/bar staff .
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing too bad but can be annoying to some guests who would like to rest and weak up not earlier than 9am There was someone playing loud rock music early in the morning and sometimes around evening.

    I really like the front desk, and dining/bar staff . They were so friendly and kind. They help us answering questions. Thanks to the Bar man he was just great 😉

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.1
    Booked late and very last minute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was clean but slightly dated. Our bed was a tad uncomfortable but the facilities were good for what we paid for. Great selection of Gin at the bar too!

    Booked late and very last minute. Had a great double room for a good price. Nice location on the edge of the Grantown-on-Spey and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.1
    We stayed here for two nights but would not recommend it. Although clean, the TV in the room dated b
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed here for two nights but would not recommend it. Although clean, the TV in the room dated back from the 1990's and the shower took several minutes to heat up. Windows were falling off their hinges and were in desperate need of attention. Good if you want a clean, cheap stay and are not too bothered about any niceties.

    Clean and cheap

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.5
    A god stopping off point with ample parking and comfortable accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast prices were a bit steep, hence the reason we didn't have it.

    We stayed on a room only basis but the room was very comfortable and spacious and the facilities were very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Craiglynne Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: