Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Canadale Guest House 4 stars

62 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh, EH6 5AS, United Kingdom

#97 of 185 B&Bs and Inns in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 415 B&B reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    we didn't know we wasn't going to get a un suite and that our shower room/toilet was across the hall. We had to call the number to get in to the house and unfortunately my phone ran out of battery and if it wasn't for people going into the house we wouldn't of got in, we didn't see anyone to give us our keys jut left with our name on a bit of paper, no one to ask for help if we needed anything.

    the bed was comfy, it was so clean, quiet, breakfast was lovely, not to far from city centre

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one at property to greet us. No one available to give us orientation to property... we had to fumble around and find everything our self. Not given a map or information on services available in neighbourhood. Property very run down & not really clean. Doorknob on bedroom door came off in our hand. Kettle in room not working. Informed owner, when she home late that evening, that we had to catch o852 train in morning but no offer to make any kind of breakfast for us because breakfast time was at 0900. Offered to put 2 croissants in breakfast room fridge the night before which we found left uncovered overnight & dry by morning. Not able to make even toast because no toaster or bread in breakfast room. We went to store and bought our own milk so we could at least have a bowl of cereal before we left. We have had excellent experiences in other B&B’s in Edinburgh for less money. This was our last night of an otherwise fabulous trip & we left feeling very sad & unsatisfied.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with En Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room although very nice was on the top floor, a lot of stairs for my 75 year old to walk up, glad we only stayed one night. Next time we would ask for a lower down room. We would stay again.

    Street parking,location near Playhouse and also bus stop just outside.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Catherine was so lovely, we loved the choice of breakfast. The locality was good having a bus stop outside the hotel and not far from the trams service

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very good location, very fast by bus in 8 min in city centre. Bus station in front of the door. Good breakfast for good start in the day. Very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En Suite Bathroom - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing on my mind.

    Canadale is a beautiful gueast house very close to the city centre. The bus stop is on your doorstep. Catharine is a very lovely lady, breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En Suite Bathroom - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was either too hot and cold, room was also cold but we wasn’t there to spend time at the b n b, it was just a place to sleep

    Location good, 5 min bus journey to princes street, Christmas markets

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with En Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The last run of stairs to the room we were in (room 2) was very narrow and twisting which would prove very challenging to anyone with even slightly impaired mobility. The lower floors were served by a broad staircase.

    For an overnight stay after an international rugby game it was ideal. The room was small but comfortable with everything we needed. The breakfast was good quality and sufficient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a 4 star accommodation the staircase is in need of a serious freshing up as was the room. The toilet and shower was across the corridor we had to use a key to get in then another key to get back into the room, had to slam both doors every time we used the loo. The room was really stuffy and basic.

    The bed was comfy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most minor and i really mean minor was the size of shower, if you're on the larger side you may find this slightly claustrophobic. However, water was readily available and kept hot throughout.

    Cleanliness is high and rooms well equipped for families. Catherine the owner is welcoming and genuinely interested in her guests as are her staff who we met the next morning. The house is a period property well furnished and tasteful to the period. Parking is available on the street and is free, public transport is available right outside however as the street is busy it does not impact upon the guest house as it is nice and quiet. Around 20-25 mins from the royal mile but well serviced for shops on the way. Breakfast is well proportioned and a good choice from full Scottish breakfast to salmon and scrambled eggs. Cereal and juice aplenty.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. separate private bathroom not too much of an inconvenience

    A warm welcome, nice period house well cared for. Value for money. A good breakfast with sensible portions. on main bus route.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is a very minor point, but the water pressure in the shower could have been better. But as I mentioned, this is a very minor detail, and is something I am more than willing to overlook. I'd repeat my stay here if I am ever back in Edinburgh.

    I liked the homely aspect of it. Our stay had a personalized feel to it: Catherine and the rest of the folks running this place definitely showed interest to us genuinely, and that is a much better experience than a sterile hotel stay. The warmth and friendliness would definitely be the best point for me.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny cramped room, tiny bed, super tiny shower; no desk, no room to move around. old grungy carpets; OK breakfast from 8-9. Overly expensive for value received; noisy in front of bus stop.

    The wifi worked well. Friendly host.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Get locating, bus stop 2 houses down. Edinburgh Castle and the Royal is a brisk walk away. The host was very nice. The breakfast was good. Wonderful old home!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to select breakfast the day before. Property needed a face lift. Interior paint & decor was very dull

    Yogurt with croissant & porridge with fruit for breakfast were excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En Suite Bathroom - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked a bigger breakfast - but maybe im just greedy

    The bed was lovely and comfy best night sleeps in a long time. In a good location a nice 15 minute walk into town. Met the owner who was lovely and very welcoming. A good two nights stay and would definitely recommend to others.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny shower but it was brand new. Worth it to have a private bathroom

    Owner was very helpful. One room on ground floor if you have limited mobility. Quiet street. Bus stop is right there. Eat at The Tail End nearby for the best fish and chips and more seafood options.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En Suite Bathroom - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were looking forward to a traditional Scottish breakfast and we were really pleased with it - great portion size and not greasy at all which was a real bonus. Staff couldn't do enough for us, helping us move to a slightly bigger table as soon as one was free, bringing more tea, etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very uncomfortable beds. Noise from street. Steep narrow stairs to top floor.

    Very pleasant communication with owner prior to arrival. Bedroom well furnished

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double booking and the attitude of the landlady - poor very poor customer service skills.

    I booked and paid for 3 nights. The landlady had doubled booked and I had to leave after 1 night. She didn't help trying to find alternative accommodation and her attitude and customer service were extremely poor. Avoid this guest house at all costs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be aware that a private bathroom is NOT ensuite we had to cross a landing to bathroom and use a Yale key to access the bathroom

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En Suite Bathroom - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked our stay during Edinburgh Fringe Festival. It was a short walk away from the City Centre, with shops bars and restaurants nearby. The guest house was comfortable and clean and everything we needed. Katherine our host was friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Private bathroom across the hall and needed keys everytime not good when you need the loo in the middle of the night or wrapped in small towels trying to unlock a door and bedroom door. Choice of breakfast night before and no option to change or have more or buy more.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with En Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't as close to the city as I thought it was. Also because of the time of year (August) it was a bit expensive

    Friendly atmosphere good size bedroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The family room doesn't have 4 real beds but more 2 beds + 1 couch + 1 mattress on the floor. The property owner never replied to our e-mails. Maybe a bit expensive for what it is.

    The staff was lovely except for the property owner who seemed a bit stint on money with breakfasts and barely show up to welcome the guests. Good location, not far from centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with En Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasn't that fast but this was not a problem for me

    Great little guest house, 10 minute walk into the city centre, comfortable beds, nice breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En Suite Bathroom - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit impersonal, was not asked how room was the following day. Breakfast was chaotic, we were not asked how things were, some guests were offered additional tea/coffee/toast which we were not, could have been served hotter. Feel cost was very overpriced for the experience.

    Location was good and room was comfortable and quiet

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was freezing in the morning after waitin 15 minutes we complained they took it away manager gave us fresh ones with no apologys or saying anything 2nd breakfast was warm but not hot

    Beds were really comfy rooms were nice and very up to date with decoration

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed at Canadale Guest House with two kids and found it perfect for us. Our room was very grand, with high ceilings and beautiful décor. It was clean and comfortable, you can tell that everything was done with care. The owner was very helpful and went an extra mile for us. Breakfast was delicious with lots of things to choose from for all of us. There is a bus stop across the street with a bus to the city centre running every 10 minutes. Alternatively, you can walk to the city centre, took us around 20-25 minutes with kids.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Public areas are jaded & need a good "lick of paint". We were in Room1 & access via stairs was steep & narrow, not good with luggage. If you have hip or knee problems Rooms 1,2 & 3 are not for you!

    Location is good for getting easily on the bus to City Centre & Leith. Owner & staff were very friendly & helpful. Decor in rooms was good. Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we checked in there were no one, we let ourselves in with the pincode we received before. I would prefer to have a better welcome. Beds were not comfy. Bathroom is outside of the room where you sleep, its not shared but still not very handy.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you have mobility problems you do not want to book the third floor...rooms 1, 2, and 3. It was good exercise for us.

    Yes, the eggs and smoked salmon were very good. The staff was very helpful and kind. I definitely recommend the Canadale Guest House. The location was excellent for seeing the sights of Edinburgh.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Will be better when the Tram line goes further down Leith Walk

    Great little guest house for a 2 night stay to watch the Rugby comfy bed hot shower nice full scottish breaky

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to say.

    Friendly staff. Comfy bed. Private spacious bathroom and complimentary dressing gowns to get you across the hall. Delicious cooked breakfast with plenty of coffee. Cereal, yoghurt, fruit and fruit juice also available. Brilliant location with plenty of free street parking outside.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with En Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff need to Hoover under the beds and wipe down skirting boards, seems as if they just Hoover around the beds, but apart from this the room was very clean and comfortable.

    The cooked breakfast was lovely and there was a good selection of options for breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When i booked i didnt click that private bathroom wasnt ensuite. Room 5 had its own bathroom across the hall, which wasnt ideal if you needed the bathroom in the middle of the night! However i didnt message to ask if it was ensuite.. so its my own fault. The bed was very hard for me but comfortable for my husband. Didnt speak to catherine other than her saying hello at breakfast on the first morning then we didnt see her again.. so didn't get any info on what bus to catch etc. So we walked everywhere (which ended up being rather nice even if it was freezing!)

    The place was nice, saw catherine at breakfast when she said hello. She seemed lovely. Good choice of breakfasts. I had a full scottish breakfast on the first morning that was ok but the second morning had fruit and yoghurt with a croissant and toast that was bery nice.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was cold then went hot all of a sudden . Maybe we needed a few days to figure out how to use shower safely.

    Room clean and very comfortable,service was first class beautiful breakfast. Lovely house decorated with great taste. Perfect.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower acted up one night but was fine otherwise.

    The room was very comfortable and cozy. The bathroom was very spacious. The beds were soft and a decent size for a twin room. The room was not cramped in any way. The owner was very nice and packed us a lunch when we had to leave for a flight at 6 AM. The bus stop is right across the street and goes directly into the city. There was a pharmacy and grocery store right around the corner. Would book again!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with En Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    The twin room on the top floor was lovely it was also very quiet even though the house was full, beds & pillows comfy, good breakfast menu, good location with bus stop just outside. Catherine & her staff were lovely, pleasant & approachable. My husband & I had a wonderful weekend. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No place to congregate and read outside of guest rooms.

    Five choices daily for breakfast. Deliciously prepared and served in style. Very engaging staff. Friendly and mannerly. Cozy Scottish home feel. Bus out the door.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with En Suite Bathroom - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was COLD and moist in the room, with no heating at all in the bathroom. it was especially cold in the night. The room was dark with very few sunlight. It was NOT CLEAN - dust on the shelves, rubbish beneath the bed and in the drawers. The staff would forget to take out the bin or change the shower mat. BREAKFAST LIMITED - served for 1 hour only, that was often very late especially when you come from a different time-zone. The Buffet was limited, poor choice and poor quality (not worth the room price!)

    The location was good, the connections for public transport are convenient. It was quiet in the neighbourhood.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have an en suite bathroom which was probably my fault for not checking when booking but it was private, clean and just across the landing from our room :)

    Had a lovely comfortable stay, quiet, nice breakfast and lovely staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the third floor so a few stairs to negotiate but must add we didn't request a ground floor room so no complaints

    Location quite good with good bus links. Quiet at night. Breakfast was quite good choice

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was advertised as private but was located across the passage. this was inconvenient.

    Breakfast was very nice and well presented-a large choice. Could catch the bus across the street to get to the city.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En Suite Bathroom - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast at 9:00 on the weekend.

    The location with a bus stop at the door was excellent. We had a comfortable room with a great shower. The yogurt and fruit breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no place to hang towels for the 4 of us sharing a family room. Could have used some hooks in the bedroom and different colored towels. Guess if we'd had someplace to hang out towel color wouldn't matter so much.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En Suite Bathroom - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not haveing a front view...room Hoovering the hallways when resting in room..

    Easy and convenient for traveling around to different locations.. Very clean,good food...and lovely people.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En Suite Bathroom - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First morning, my partner had the full English breakfast. Went to eat the bacon, long hair unfortunately... So that put him off.. He then only wanted toast on the second morning.

    Liked where the guest house was... Frequent buses... The lady who was running it for a month was very friendly... Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room with En Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not necessarily negative but to keep in mind; 1) guest house is remote from city centre. But we took a black cab for GBP 5.50 so that is still not very much. 2) admin fee of 3% applies for credit card payments; none for debit cards of cash. 3) breakfast is offered only at limited times. In the weekend from 09:00 - 10:00.

    Rooms are very comfortable and provide the facilities you need; comfy beds, water cooker and nice bathroom. Excellent freshly made breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom on the floor, small overall size of the room, partly outdated furniture, from 7 am very crowded street directly in front of the guesthouse, front garden, strange smell in the corridor

    Breakfast quality (excellent home-made yoghurt with fruits, eggs with salmon, special hot drinks (latte, fruit infusion)), nice breakfast room, friendly service, dogs welcome, located in Pilrig about 15-20 min away from Edinburgh center, clean room/bathroom, stable wifi, sufficient parking areas along the street

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfy beds and cosy well decorated room, heating available when needed despite being June.Very good sound isolation,we couldn't hear any of the other guests despite the B&B being full .Catherine had time to speak to all her guests and give advice and call taxis when needed

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with En Suite Bathroom - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    There was free on street parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Really comfortable bed, light airy room and a lovely vegetarian breakfast. The host Catherine was extremely helpful and really pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    I liked that the bible was kept in the room and the room was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    An excellent stay. Topped off with a super breakfast of scrambled egg with smoked salmon. All supported with lovely friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is very limited for vegetarians and not well cooked

    Staff are friendly,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En Suite Bathroom - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proximity to city centre, bus stop right outside, free parking in the road. Friendly and helpful staff, well appointed room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were very comfortable. Breakfast very substantial. Near all amenities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say

    5 stars all round Catherine owner lovely. Will definately stay again highly recommend

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bus stop out side premises, easy transport into city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with En Suite Bathroom - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean and comfortable rooms. Great breakfast, Great host, Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable beds, great amenities, lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too cold no double glazing. Had to wear jumpers for bed.

    Location. The breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom for our room was across the landing rather than en suite but that was OK

    Lovely breakfast and comfy beds

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast delicious and even made things that weren't on the menu for us!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast was excellent and the owner very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable guest house, with friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room with En Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower kept running scalding hot then freezing cold

    Comfy Bed, nice breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good breakfast very clean staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En Suite Bathroom - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy bed, great staff, amazing breakfast, loved the slippers, great location near city centre without being noisy, bus stop right outside property

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    opening the windows resulted quite difficult...peanuts!

    delicious breakfast and really kind people!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En Suite Bathroom - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking a minor concern

    Breakfast was first class and the bonus location to Edinburgh city centre

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to go home

    Loved the comfy bed , cleanliness , breakfast,locality, friendly manager

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with En Suite Bathroom - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great. On the public bus transportation line right to downtown.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Canadale Guest House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: