Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of De Vere Cranage Estate 4 stars

Byley Lane, Holmes Chapel, CW4 8EW, United Kingdom

#2 of 2 hotels in Holmes Chapel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 882 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Place looks great from the photos and when you arrive the main building is very grand. That's where all the good things end really. You stay in a block attached to the main building. Room was like something from the 80's. Beige and brown. Lovely view of the car park and nice that you can pretty much hear everything that's going on in the rooms beside yours with the paper thin walls. Upon check in they asked for the card I paid with, I paid via paypal through booking.com so that caused a bit of confusion. The person I was dealing with then got another member of staff who was incredibly rude and dismissive of his colleague who was just a bit unsure of what to do. Really not appropriate in front of a customer. I can only assume his tea break had been disrupted or it was his time of the month. Be aware if you stay at the weekend there may be functions on, I personally don't mind this but for those looking for peace and quiet then I would avoid. Drunken people wandering around a doors being slammed all through the night.

    Buffet breakfast decent, staff in breakfast room were nice. Bed was reasonably comfortable. Not much else.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    6.7
    looks lovely from the outside and the reception is amazing but the rooms let it down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the service in the restaurant and the quality of the food is not as expected, the main reception was as expected but the rooms where not. I had phoned in advance to request some flowers for my wife as it was our 25th wedding anniversary and was told that was not a problem on arrival there was no flowers, this would not have been a problem if I had been told it was not possible to arrange I would have arranged something else.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    2.9
    Stay somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stalag block extension with sub standard bedrooms. Room with no sound proofing, you can hear next door flushing toilets, running showers and talking, coughing etc. Room had peeling wallpaper, cracked bath and lights. Uneven floor with loose carpet. Teenage waiters lacking customer service and social skills.

    Nice surroundings

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful Hideaway Not To Far From Home
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That you had to walk through functions to access your rooms, not ideal after coming out of the sauna but that is my one and only complaint .

    Beautiful grounds, lovely facilities and lots of spaces to relax throughout... love the big beds

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.3
    very good stay overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    brilliant hotel attended a charity function, buffet breakfast was very good everything you needed was available, would definitely recommend this hotel, would like to return and use the facilities.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    6.3
    it was ok, Ive stayed in worse and Ive stayed in better. Expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar service very slow and expensive. waited 15 mins to be served the manager apologised and offered us a free drink next time we were back in the bar, when we returned the offer of a free drink was completely ignored by the same person. The party food was fairly terrible

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    5.4
    I was a little disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The large tear in the middle of the pillow case, the rather scruffy walls in the bedroom, including the dirty area under the desk. Very long walk from reception to our room 172?

    Range of breakfast items suited myself and my elderly mother.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    5.4
    All fur coat no knickers
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel sells because of the photos of the estate and refurbished parts of the building. The majority of the hotel rooms are in a corridor similar to halls of residence in a university. You can hear your neighbours toilet habits and makes an average travel lodge appear appealing.

    Great entrance, grounds, staff and breakfast facilities! Spa was enjoyable and clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.3
    I don't think we got value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we requested a quiet room and were allocated a room near the bar and function room amongst a lot of party guests, we were constantly woken by the sound of people knocking on doors, laughing and general noise from the corridor. We did ask to be upgraded and offered to pay the difference but were told there was nothing available.

    The bed was very comfortable and although the room was small, it was very clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.3
    Pool and spa area were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I expected the room to be nicer for this standard of hotel. The bed was small and decor was lacking.

    Pool and spa area were great. The food was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.5
    Would stay again but request a room in a quieter part of the building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The corridors are noisy. Breakfast was too busy for them to cater for everyone at once. Missing parts of a "full English" Maid trolleys with linen lined the corridors - unsightly.

    Lovely room, black out curtains were great touch. Pool facilities were lovely. Grounds were nice, and the building is fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    It was nice but a little cramped Room quite small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small. Bit tight with the biscuits

    It was nice but a little cramped Room quite small. Food was lovely. Would’ve been nice to have some proper biscuits in the room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Decaffeinated coffee offered with evening meal was instant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decaffeinated coffee offered with evening meal was instant but price charged was the same as filtered coffee. Items on the menu were of no higher standard than we could get in a restaurant chain. Service in the restaurant was too fast giving the impression that they wanted us out of the restaurant quickly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    3.5
    Poor quality room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the family Room, other rooms seemed quite nice, our was a mess, dirty carpets, springs poking through mattresses, room not ready on arrival, room smelled, no tea or coffee , or milk, did have kettle, very very disappointed, never again, breakfast poor, staff not very friendly, think we upset reception keep asking for things that we’re missing, then they try to charge us twice for breakfast , poor

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.0
    mediocre and wouldnt return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    almost everything from food menu with abit more choice £16 for a chicken breast n chips nandos do that for like 7 pound very dated decor in most of the hotel no places to sit and chill other than the bar which was run down n lifeless ps who puts a pool table rifht by a wall how are you supposed to play properly??

    shower was powerful shame hotel is ran by kids who dont no what customer service is.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service could have been better, there was no dark rum it took a long time for my wine to arrive they said they couldn't find it was overcharged at check out no apology given only some excuse that the Computer " sometimes does this" but i was the one to spot the mistake

    Room, building.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    4.2
    Poor wouldn't recommend and wouldn't stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Once you move from reception and out of the library area. It becomes very bland cold and dated Our room 251 was disgusting the carpet was shoddy rippled could feel all ripples underfoot. Massive dark stains on the carpet. I spoke to a lovely housekeeper Lesley and she suggested we go and speak to reception. We did and explained the room was awful like a prison cell basic dirty and the carpet looked like it had moles burrowing.reception moved us to another room better yes but not to the standard you come to expect at De Vere.I work away a lot and have stayed in many De Vere this place was poor. Bar needs a make over and the restaurant needs a complete refurb dated beyond belief. Staff are young but helpful.

    The front of the building lovely

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    4.6
    Corporate boarding school
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was huge with tiny double bed and no furniture, food was dreadful

    Nice location, Chinese in Holmes chapel is fab as hotel food is overpriced and rubbish

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.3
    fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the prices of the food and drink are extortionate they need to be lowered. The cancellation policy of having to pay the full price of your room if you need to cancel or don't attend is ridiculous. If i had an emergency i would of had to pay for the room in full again. this does put me off staying again.

    superior deluxe rooms are more comfy than the standard rooms especially if you have a bad back or back condition as the beds are not as hard and more comfy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.1
    Reception staff were excellent, general venue was very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness of the bar area was poor - tables sticky. Staff in the restaurant / bar were very variable, some just ignored us, then ave us dirty menus and the impression they really didn't want to be serving, others were attentive and happy.

    Reception staff were excellent, general venue was very good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    A brilliant facade of a building with corporate facilities for corporate people. Good spa.Poor bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar menu and food was really dreadful - hugely over priced - we paid £60 for two mains, and some wine and a pot of tea - wine was £11 a glass.We wanted a light supper not an 'a la carte' so chose the bar. The spaghetti bolognaise was poor, and the pizza (far too big for one person), under cooked and had thick undercooked tomato paste instead of sauce on the base.This was unnecessarily bad cooking.Including breakfast (at £11.95 per person) we ended up paying nearly £100 on top of the hotel bill. De Vere always had a wonderful reputation for food (e.g.Dunston Hall Carvery Norwich etc) and this wasn't it.

    The room was comfortable but essentially beige and grey. The breakfast was great and the staff friendly.The pool spa was wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.3
    Grounds nice, exceptional staff, bar food mediocre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bread used for sandwiches in the bar was dry and felt stale. When you are paying over 6 pounds for a sandwich fresh bread would be nice.

    The staff were exeptional

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.8
    Not as expected ... an expensive posh travelodge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to request to change rooms as bed very uncomfortable, tv didn’t work and nor did the iron .. but the staff were great about it and moved us with no hassle .. never one to complain but i couldn’t have put up with it for 2 nights !!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.8
    A dissapointing weekend,not much better than a premier inn.deffinately not value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could not be so dreary by putting larger Windows ,and better lighter curtains Restaurant was sub standard very plain menu,expecting a larger choice maybe a a la cart Not enough comfy chairs/sofas especially in bar area

    Cleanliness, Appearance from front of building,and grounds

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.0
    Pretty Unimpressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service was 40 minutes late and the breakfast was inedible. Shower temperature constantly fluctuated. Torn bedding. Peeling wallpaper and holes in the wall. Other guests chasing their pet chihuahua up and down the corridor at 10pm. 50% of TV channels unavailable. Malfunctioning key-cards.

    To be quite frank: nothing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We attended a family wedding reception at the hotel. Food served at the reception was decidedly average and drinks were priced according to the venue I.e. very expensive That said, the location and facilities were all excellent with roomy comfortable accommodation quite well priced considering. All staff were first rate, friendly and efficient Breakfast was a very extensive feast with good coffee. Restaurant seating was shall we say ‘cosy’ but there was a lot of us so this wasn’t typical I’m sure All in all very enjoyable experience

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Very comfortable, great food, exceptional staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all great

    The breakfast was outstanding. I travel extensively and usually find that either the variety or quality on offer is poor. On this occasion I was very pleasantly surprised. The fresh fruit and other continental selection was brilliant but so too was the hot offering. Great fried eggs, hash browns that were crisp, and the best mushrooms I`ve had for ages.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful stay for our anniversary
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t like walking through the weddings both on the Saturday evening and Sunday mornings. we got a few funny looks especially after coming back after a swim. But nothing major

    Great place to spend our anniversary. The staff put rose petals on the bed, gave us a card and some chocolates. We loved it. Especially the wild rabbits running around the gardens. The hammocks are great too!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable and convenient, able to relax and attend 2 day event without the stress of travel
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Natural light in room very poor, thick net curtain didn’t help

    Breakfast choice very good Liked being able to stay on site to attend an event at the hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    4.6
    Very disappointed - not what I expected for the price charged.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very tired. Worn carpet, dated furniture, marks on walls, poorly finished bathroom. Bedroom and bathroom need complete refurbishment. Food in bar and restaurant very poor quality and grossly over priced.

    Good bed linen and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    4.6
    The fitness facilities were good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, rooms were uncomfortable and staff were unhelpful. We did not end up sleeping in the hotel due to the noise and the staff member not solving the problem

    The fitness facilities were good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    A most excellent hotel 👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot think about anything negative to say.

    Very professional and knowledgeable staff, excellent facilities throughout the hotel; highly recommended

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.8
    Lovely child free night away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could make the outside area by the rooms slightly more visually appealing.

    They put out a brownie and little bottle of champagne for my birthday, such a lovely touch!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    Main building is lovely.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the standard rooms behind the back of the main building looked tired and could do with upgrading. Still comfortable rooms.

    Main building is lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    4.2
    The staff were lovely and couldn’t do enough for the wedding...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room itself was horrible. I paid 125.00 for a room that was boiling hot, bed was broken, cigarette burns in the curtains. Overall I didn’t think the hotel was worth that much money.

    The staff were lovely and couldn’t do enough for the wedding party!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    The staff, whilst a little inexperienced, were polite,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only a small issue and possibly I missed the pre advice but we booked dinner bed and breakfast and only on arrival did we discover it was limited to two courses which was a little dissappointing especially as we booked for 4 people (2 rooms) but one of our party was unable to make dinner so we were only 3. As previously mentioned breakfast was excellent but getting some toast was a chalanging and overly time consuming on the single conveyor belt style toaster.

    The staff, whilst a little inexperienced, were polite, friendly and keen to help which was refreshing. The evening meal exceeded expectations and arrived with just the right interval between courses. Breakfast was excellent, a buffet style but with everything you could wish for and a decent pot of tea. We also enjoyed the leisure facilities, nice pool with sauna, jacquzi and steam room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.9
    Lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some parts of the hotel are beautiful and some need a little attention,Our room was ok I was expecting it to be nicer for a 4 star hotel but it was a spacious room,we had 3 extra beds in the room for our children that fit in well, still enough room to get around

    Beautiful location and stunning grounds very friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.7
    I liked the staff at the night time reception who after many...
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that I’d walked half the distance of the hotel and then couldn’t get in my room. I didn’t like the black mould around the bath. I didn’t like that there was no where to smoke apart from a ridiculous shelter miles from anywhere. The price of the breakfast at £16 was not acceptable.

    I liked the staff at the night time reception who after many attempts to get my sister and brother in law a taxi actually took them home themselves because they didn’t want to see them stranded and they only lived 10 mins up the road. I liked the relaxed attitude of the bar staff when dealing with a lot of people that had obviously been drinking all day. My nieces used the spa, sauna and steam rooms and said they were brilliant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    Cranage
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the motorway could be heard in the background all night as we had to open the window in the heat. no air conditioning in our room. the towels in the bathroom were scratchy.

    The room was comfy and the food was good, though the breakfast was more expensive than others. The staff were all very professional and polite. There were plenty of facilities on the site including gym. Parking was easy and near to room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.3
    July stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room in need of upgrade. Mattress uncomfortable and needed replacing. Restaurant staff seemed disinterested

    Gym is great. Grounds are lovely and entrance is stunning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.5
    Everything else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a total of 5 rooms on the basis that the children could go swimming on the Friday afternoon we arrived. Checked this out with reception prior to booking. When arrived told that this was only at the weekend. Very very disappointed children.

    Everything else.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful grounds, good building very elegant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern extension not quite as sympathetic to original. Bar not a very comfortable area. Pool table area players very loud and bad language

    Beautiful grounds, good building very elegant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.3
    Overnight anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like a morgue! No atmosphere in restaurant or bar no background music more like a library. Outside bar area no lights on and tables left uncleared. As always big old house but u stay in what looks like a travellodge annexe. Everything overpriced eg prosecvo £35

    Remote clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel, great facilities, would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast staff who weren't that friendly, took ages to put us and others on a table and didn't bring my husband his tea so we had to ask again for it.

    Check in Staff were lovely, beautiful location, hammocks were fab and facilities great. The fact there was a high school prom on and we didn't hear a thing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.8
    Ok but cleaning of rooms could be better and maybe a room fan would be a nice touch
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot weather when I stayed and there was no room fans or air con so very uncomfortable - couldn't leave a window open because it was too noisy at the bar area. There was a used bar of soap on the bath side when I went into the room which tells me the room was not cleaned as well as it should have been.

    Location very good and Bar area pleasant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.8
    Not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Air Conditioning in 29 degree heat is very uncomfortable...I made a wrong assumption that for the price of the room, air conditioning would have been included...It would be nice if the information on the website was very explicit re no air conditioning. If that had been explicit I would have booked another hotel...

    Helpful staff, food good, and good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    4.6
    Don’t be fooled by photos, the rooms have all the charm of a hospital or dormitory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Photos look good but are very deceptive. Only reception area was a country estate, but rest had later been added to serve as a former mental hospital so very ‘institutional.’

    Merely adequate

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.8
    A little disappointing- the outside and the website promised more than was on offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we stayed in was, to be honest, not as good as a Travelodge. The mattress was very soft and uncomfortable and breakfast was incredibly expensive for what it was- it was £29, and we weren't even offered coffee. We had to make our own toast too, and there were no additional vegetarian options.

    The façade is beautiful- a gorgeous stately home in extensive grassland with plenty of parking spaces. The giant deckchairs were really fun to look at too. We didn't use the pool, because of time, but I heard it was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.1
    Very expensive for what it was, service was mediocre and not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for what it was, service was mediocre and not particularly warm, we saw the stately home type pics and felt slightly mislead by the fact that it a modern motel type establishment

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.3
    Nice clean property, breakfast was good but we paid extra...
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa facilities had times for adults only for the ‘members’. Even though I asked specifically if there were times we couldn’t go in with children I was told we could go in any time by the reception staff. That wasn’t the case and we were refused entry with a child. The only reason we booked this hotel was for the spa for our family as we were house moving from Scotland to Hampshire. The hotel refunded some of the tariff and we left very disappointed.

    Nice clean property, breakfast was good but we paid extra for it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.4
    Average
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant - breakfast below average, croissants stale. No toilet paper in public toilet. the two breakfasts charged on my bill were £23.80 and simply really bad value

    Location and building. Staff helpful. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.3
    Woke up at 8am to drilling in the ro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Woke up at 8am to drilling in the ro.next door, paid on arrival but when i turned up for my key they said i hadn't paid, 20 minute later im got my key amd was told to pay in the morning Pathetic

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    3.8
    Better hotels elsewhere, never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Claimed to be a superior room. Never knew why. Furnished and sized in the style of a 1980s motel room. Little wardrobe space - we were dressing for a wedding, Endless corridors, limited access to exterior so much use of fire escapes to get to and from cars in extensive car parks. Car parking spaces were sized for a cheap municipal car park not one full of SUVs and rangey rovers. Never will stay here again. Check in receptionist bored and unhelpful. Left to puzzle the corridor maze and struggle bags from car to room. No help offered. Noisy screaming and shouting guests outside room at three in the morning.

    Housekeeping very very helpful, found us a fan to cope with the non air conditioned hot room. Buffet breakfast very enjoyable, staffing good, food good, black pudding always dried out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    Location lovely , staff superb , breakfast good and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall a lovely hotel and very similar or others of its style I stay at. The room was very poor however . The carpet was covered in lumps and bumps suggesting it was old and in quite poor repair , the iron did not work (thanks for delivering a second). Just feet very tired and in need of work. Ironing board also was tiny and in this day and age pretty poor show. (Room 249)

    Location lovely , staff superb , breakfast good and very good value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed the stay overall, would recommend and stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It appeared to more geared up for conferences than a hotel and I did feel the conferences were the priority which would have been more of an issue for me if I was visiting as a private guest as opposed to me staying on this occasion for a business trip.

    Easy parking, clean rooms and comfy beds. Speedy check-in and check-out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a bit basic, could do with updating

    Breakfast was amazing, everything you could think of, pool and steam was lovely and very clean changing rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.0
    Grounds area was really nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though I rang and ask would it be possible to have our rooms ready for 1pm they weren’t- I booked 4 rooms and not one was ready! This was very annoying as we had a wedding to go to in colshaw Hall There was a lot of noise around 2am in the hotel people shouting and using absuice language! As I have stated the grounds and reception area of the hotel are outstanding but once you pass through this are you could be in a basic travelodge- for £80 for a night I did not expect this standard

    Grounds area was really nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.8
    Average hotel, excessive prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed to visit the spa facilities. After refusing to pay £30 for breakfast and enduring a very long wait to check out at reception, we went in search of food and decided to just visit another spa. Drinks also expensive.

    Super comfy beds

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in a delightful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was our wedding anniversary and I requested some flowers in our room. This wasn't done and was just ignored by the hotel. Luckily I bought some for my wife before we went!

    Lovely hotel in a delightful setting.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Good place to stop off for a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of hotel means quite a walk from room to facilities. Bar can get very noisy - but lounges are quieter.

    Beautiful grounds. Convenient to our needs. Helpful staff when, unexpectedly, we needed an accessible room. Very good accessible shower. Excellent breakfast. Good bar snacks.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    100% first class hotel - Excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything perfect...

    Excellent hotel, comfortable quiet room, fantastic surroundings. The breakfast was amazing catered for healthy eating, fruit, cereals, porridge as well as full English. Staff were brilliant very polite and helpful. Would recommend. Fresh clean towels each day!!! Topped up complimentary tea, coffee and toiletries each day. Will now look for De Vere hotels where ever we travel to. 100% rating only other hotel that so far has exceeded expectations was Dorchester Hotel, London.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    overall good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I felt the price was a bit high, but then I am a bit of a tight scroodge.

    I was on a training course. However, I booked the accomodation seperately as it worked out cheaper. The breakfasts (paid directly by me were excellent, nicely cooked and plenty of choice). Lunches were part of the training course "deal" and were equally good. The facilities were good and the rooms very comfortable. I felt the price was a little bit high but not tooooo high. overall i would recomend to anyone

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Location and space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wedding guests very noisy which drifted to bedrooms, didn't get too much sleep, I guess I was unlucky with my room apart from that all good.

    Location and space.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    All good until breakfast which was a disaster!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service was poor and very disorganised.

    All good until breakfast which was a disaster! No food ready and the toaster was broken. Took over 20 minutes just to start eating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.7
    Great location and despite a power cut one morning the staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Severely restricted times for children in the pool. No fridge in the room. This should be standard. Bed way too soft.

    Location, room service(warm milk for a baby) prompt and correct, breakfast good choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location at reasonable value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed is too soft. No eating facilities in spa. Shower needs upgrading. Kitchen cannot keep up with demand e.g. no croissants at 1000 Reception too close to entrance so gets very cramped Jacuzzi out of order but receptions said we could use the spa and jacuzzi Not enough staff in Tempus so wait is quite long to be served

    Location Grounds Size of room Safe in the room Michaela in reception was helpful as was James in general

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    relaxing and chilling out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not enough choice on menu

    breakfast was good had a power cut so breakfast was done on patio on bq that was brill on second day . food was good but choice a bit limited my husband and myself stayed 3 nights coffee very good staff lovley total chill out would stay again .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    wedding anniversary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    jacozi was not work I g when we arrived. got fixed but was then cold during the time we were in the spa. tissue paper and hair floating about in the pool.

    rooms lovely and clean. staff very helpful and friendly. breakfast was lovely. location is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice & quiet & served a purpose, but a bit like a posh travellodge
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The massive never-ending walk to the room, the uninspiring corridors (very different to the front entrance & overall feel of area), and slightly tired looking room, albeit was quiet & comfortable, although bed was a bit springy & non-feather pillows weren’t great. The downstairs bar could do with an update (very 1990s) and beer was absolutely terrible (the stout tasted like vinegar!)

    Front entrance/reception & surrounding area nice & quiet... a very nice location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasent stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were noisy, very thin walls. Told staff in the morning about noisy guests ( hen party in room above) It was dealt with by night porter from other guests notifying the staff. Staff very apologetic in the morning. Could not fault the staff.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was very good. It was a good stopover, we were traveling up to Southport as hotel is just off the M6. Rooms were clean and comfy bed. Hotel set in large grounds. Spa, gym and pool looked nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    The rooms were spotless
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My daughter was only allowed swim the day we were leaving as there are very limited times that children can use the pool which I was not made aware of prior to booking

    The rooms were spotless

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.7
    It was ok.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i could hear all my neighbours a little too much, the remote did not work for the TV and their was no instructions for the TV luckally i have the same one at home so i could use it. the pillows were not too comfy either. Over all the room was on the expensive side for what you got.

    the bed was comfy and the view was very nice from my room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.1
    This hotel has great potential however are improvements needed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1st room I was allocated had peeling wallpaper and damp in the corner, along with countless mosquitos. As they did not have any insect spray I was allocated another room. This room was much larger & reflected the price Breakfast was a buffet style one, however when I selected a Danish, countless fruit flies rose into the air of I which then reported this to the staff.......I did not eat the Danish & it put me off my breakfast coffee was cold as well

    parts of the building was historical, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.0
    Recommend as a stop off but not somewhere you can make a weekend of it. Rooms poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over priced travel lodge. Bathrooms basic and travel lodge style. Bathrooms dated and need attention.

    Location was great. Reception area great. Rooms cheap. Bathrooms dated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable, relaxing and welcoming.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We attended a friends wedding. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The grounds were beautiful for photographs and to enjoy a drink. The function room was kept lovely and cool. The food was delicious and my food intolerances were taken seriously. I was given lovely choices.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: