Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cressfield Country House Hotel 3 stars

Townfoot, Ecclefechan, DG11 3DR, United Kingdom

#3 of 5 hotels in Ecclefechan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 330 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Very nice stay with a friendly relaxed atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains could do with a more effective blockout to keep the light out in the early hours of the morning.

    Room size was excellent, comfy large bed and good bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    So good would love to come back soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A hook to hang towels in the shower room would have been helpful but that is me being picky. A lovely friendly place to stay.

    Comfortable, private room, better than expected

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful, would happily recommend to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't find the kettle, it was in the wardrobe and the kettle lead was too short so had to stand it on the floor.

    Beautifully decorated room and bathroom, lovely views, friendly helpful staff, good wifi connection 😀

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly welcome. We hadn't booked dinner or breakfast but the staff were so accommodating, even waiting up for us when we came home late from a wedding on Saturday. Lovely place. Clean comfortable rooms in a quiet country setting. Ideal if attending a wedding at Springkell.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    We rang to say we would be arriving late (travelling on a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We rang to say we would be arriving late (travelling on a Bank Holiday weekend) and the staff could not have been more friendly / reassuring. Cooked breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    A lovely old house in a charming location, fairly good beds, excellent cuisine and cheerful staff.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a mix-up over making the booking and paying the bill. The website I booked through thought the room was for single occupancy and so charged me £60. The hotel was surprised that I was accompanied by my wife but since I had booked a double room anyway it didn't matter, they just charged me £90 for double occupancy. What they didn't do was to take account of the £60 I had already paid so they overcharged me by £60. When I contacted the hotel they were very apologetic and repaid the overcharge swiftly. It would have been better if they cold have got it right first time but they made amends so I don't think it any great significance and would stay there again if the need arose.

    We had very little to complain of during our stay in the hotel. There was a friendly atmosphere in the bar and our evening meal was very tasty indeed. The menu was varied and innovative and everything was cooked to perfection and nicely served. Breakfast was cooked to order and it was equally good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Good stopover en route to Scotland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only downside was that the bed was harder than our liking.

    The service was great, we were welcomed immediately upon entering and the young man was very helpful. Would recommend. High quality shower and newly renovated rooms led to a comfortable stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    Good, management just need to decide do they want hotel guests or rowdy drinkers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lounge bar, open to the public, no residents lounge. Very, very rowdy drinkers plus TV and music at the same time. After a really lovely meal in the beautiful dining room we went to sit in the bar but it was so noisy that we had no option but to take our drinks up to our room for some peace and quiet

    Beautiful old house with interesting history. Superbly painted original ceiling coving in the downstairs rooms. Bedroom very tastefully decorated. Lovely evening meal and breakfast. Very convenient for the main roads.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    The staff,especially Ian, were so friendly. The menu in the restuarant had a good selection and the food was piping hot. Nothing was too much trouble. Definitely intend going back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    The owner and his staff made us feel very welcome, lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have nothing negative to say.

    The owner and his staff made us feel very welcome, lovely atmosphere. Hotel in a nice location, very convenient for the purpose of our visit. Ate at the hotel both nights and the food was delicious. Bedroom was clean and comfortable. We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Great location for a stop over, will use again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to report

    Room was very good and the staff, especially the young man and girl on the night we arrived, The food (evening meal and breakfast)was good and served hot, which most places cant manage now days, 10/10 for that.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Highly recommended. Don't even think about going anywhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome was warm and friendly after a long journey. The room was comfortable and roomy. I decided to have an evening meal after a drink in the bar. Home made mushroom soup followed some of the best lamb I have ever tasted. The breakfast was undyed smoked haddock with poached eggs. Ecellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    The staff were very accomerdating and could not do enough to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very accomerdating and could not do enough to make you feel welcome.It was a joy and a plesure to stay shame i did not have more time Thank You very much

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    The willingness to prepare breakfast very early on Sunday...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The willingness to prepare breakfast very early on Sunday morning following a superb evening meal on Saturday. All served with a refreshing level of service and courtesy, that would put many more expensive establishments in the shade!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Stayed here a couple of times and really enjoyed it. Our friends have a caravan on the campsite nearby so very handy. Food and drink is excellent and reasonably priced. Will be going back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    A very pleasant break in a journey north
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to get a bedside light changed, which was done promptly. Don't know if there was a lounge, we didn't find one so had to sit in bar area.

    Very friendly welcome. Good food both dinner and breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.7
    Nice enough hotel, shame about the very slow dinner service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we werent welcomed when we arrived, unsure where to go so we went into the bar to find someone. We needed the sofa bed made up, they gave us some bedding but it would have been nice if theyd offered to do it. The en-suite was tiny, including the sink and the extractor fan made a horrible noise (couldnt turn light on during the night because if it). The main problem was dinner. We’d driven 6.5 hours that day with 2 young children (3 weeks old and a 5yo). We sat down at 6pm with only one other table there. We ordered main courses but 2 hours later we still had had nothing bar one drink (nobody offered us more and I had to ask where our food was to be told 20 more minutes). We gave up and told them to bring it to our room which they did. Our 5yo was very hungry and tired by then, we felt we were ignored the entire evening sadly.

    The room was big enough and seemed clean. It was handy to access directly from a door to the outside rather than carry baggage down the flight of stairs. The male staff member the next day for breakfast was upbeat and helpful. I explained our dinner problem and he did apologise profously and gave us a discount which was appreciated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice for a 1 night stop - for us personally
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Stairs - 4 flights - not good for those of us that aren't as agile as we would like to be. Did ask when booking if we could have as fewer stairs as possible but - we were put on the top floor! Apart from this it was good.

    Nice location, friendly staff, good atmosphere, drink and food reasonably priced

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    I would recommend the Cressfield Country House Hotel and I will use it again. x
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed for three nights and did run short of coffee and biscuits in our room, I'm sure more would have been provided if I had asked. Otherwise I could not fault the hotel, the cleanliness or the staff.

    Very welcoming staff, good spacious rooms and good en suite facilities. The Hotel was warm with a log fire in the bar, excellent breakfast and dinner menu. Easy access from M74 with plenty of parking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.6
    Exceptional stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very comfortable. The staff were particularly friendly and the breakfast was exceptional, especially for the money. I would highly recommend!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.9
    Good location for my business trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed in my room wasn't comfortable for me. The bar and the restaurant could do with a little update to the decoration. (Nothing to put me off though)

    The staff are all extremely friendly, helpful and professional. My evening meal was good. The views from the breakfast room in the morning were gorgeous and the breakfast its self was very good. I got good Wi-Fi reception throughout the hotel. Only 5 minutes from the motorway and easy to get to if you are doing the long trip North or South.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly romantic venue with fantastic food and service in a convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could do with a new mattress and the bar area could do with a refresh.

    Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Lovely old Manor House but with clean modern rooms. Food in the restaurant was fantastic and great value for money. Lovely romantic feel to the dining room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Lovely clean hotel. Comfortable room and serves excellent food. Quiet location near A74.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the food on the menu seemed rather expensive but when it came it was fantastic quality - fine dining so I didn't mind spoiling myself and paying. I really enjoyed my stay there. It was quiet and I got a good nights sleep.

    I stayed overnight at the hotel en route to the Highlands. I was made very welcome by staff and enjoyed a lovely evening meal and breakfast the next day. The room was clean and tidy and the bed very comfortable. I would stay here again and recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel stay in Ecclefechan
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful property in quiet and private location, ideal for our stopover with easy access from motorway. Lovely room, spacious, clean and comfortable. First class food in the evening and for breakfast. Staff very friendly and personable. Would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    A wonderful hotel in a lovely spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't fault it.

    Wonderful spacious rooms, immaculately clean. Evening meals were excellent and the liquor coffees just perfect. Lovely staff, would definitely stay again if in the area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Great Place to Stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very warm welcome, beautiful 'House' quality furniture and fixings, lovely Table Linen, great food, good breakfast, no hassle staff, all very helpful, Highly Recommend!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Nice place for overnight stop to scotland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not realising breakfast not included till noticing on booking receipt when enquirer at hotel you can pay £7 each person

    Nice views out of window, comfortable bed and spacious room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Decor is absolutely stunning ,everywhere spotless,beds...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know it's a period property but the stair to top floor is a killer for old folk

    Decor is absolutely stunning ,everywhere spotless,beds really comfortable, food delicious .top marks

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    A lovely find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping staff had forgotten to leave towels but they rectified it very easily after a phone call to reception.

    New carpets in public areas & in bedroom. Nice contemporary bathroom floor tiles. All very modern & exceptionally clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    scottish country living at it's best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    great room, good view.....evening meal and breakfast exceptional.....staff and owner very helpful and friendly.......will stay there again...highly recommended

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Will defo be back watch this space.
    • Group
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave could have spent all day in the local area but had to go back for the kids.

    The enjoyment of calling and asking for early check in and getting told they would make it not a problem as we were going to a wedding at 2 o'clock.And getting a drink before we went with such a pleasant and most helpful staff that even arranged taxis . Will definitely be back for a evening with the good lady for a relaxing night..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.3
    Lovely building in peaceful surroundings, clean & well furnished room .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amount of stairs to the room, we were right at the top of the house. En suite quite small. Pillows like rocks. Didn't realise I'd booked without breakfast so £65 for bed only quite expensive I thought.

    Spacious room, beautifully decorated & furnished. lovely country view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Excellent value for money & close to the motorway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is traffic noise but this is not a complaint seeing as we wanted to be close to the motorway!

    Very close to M74, comfortable bed, hot water, friendly staff. Simple but tasty dinner menu, good breakfast. Nice views of open countryside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    Overall the hotel was very pleasant and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very little; unsure of sliding door on shower room but that's perhaps a little picky.

    Not much to dislike really-there's always one guest you could do without but overall liked it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.6
    there was no croissants at breakfast, food wad good, the bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing wrong with the hotel, but nothing to do in the village

    there was no croissants at breakfast, food wad good, the bed was very comfy, very friendly people

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel for an overnight stay on the way to Loch Lomond
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a very comfortable hotel, with everything you need for an overnight stay. The staff are very helpful & friendly. The food is excellent. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    4.6
    Welcome could of been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The way we weren't greeted, seemed too busy with meals to book us in, then took a while to get our key, we had travelled a long way and just wanted to relax.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.0
    Comfortable, friendly and reasonably priced hotel, convenient for journeys to north of Scotland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower cubicle was slightly cramped -wasn't a major problem though!

    Very convenient location for journeys to the Highlands. Comfortable and clean no-frills accommodation with friendly and helpful staff. Good range of well-cooked bar meals. Overall, good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.8
    Well worth a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. A sensibly priced hotel in a lovely rural setting which caters for a cross section of different types of tourists.

    Nice sized bedroom and although the shower room was on the small side the shower was excellent. Pleasant and welcoming environment and staff. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Don't trust your reservation number with booking.com! Make a telephone call to confirm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was let down by booking.com - 300 miles from home and forced to drive the distance, partially at night.

    On arrival at 5pm, the staff were most helpful to my plight. Although I had booked through booking.com and had a reservation number, the hotel had received no notification and were not expecting me - and the hotel was full. Apparently this was not the first time it had happened! A very kind young man spend some time on the phone calling all local hotels/B&B to help me out before I decided to get back on the road.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.6
    A Gem of a stop-over after a long drive up the motorway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was on the second floor and having no lift my wife did find the stairway a little daunting initially but was able to cope with the climb.

    The staff were polite and extremely helpful, especially accommodating the Dietary needs of one of our party. E.g. supplying vegetarian sausage for breakfast.The chef 's dinner menu adjusted to suit in the evening. The bar and the dining room were unique in decor set off by very large ornate mantle-pieces in this Victorian country house. Room was very comfortable and peaceful enjoying lovely summer sunsets. Very handy for M74 motorway and surrounding countryside. would use again

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Visit - you won't be disappointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit gloomy but only because old building & no window. Was spotlessly clean.

    Greeting and all round service, friendliness, comfy bed, lovely garden view.Spotlessly clean bathroom, crisp white bedlinen.Really tasty excellent evening meal. Friendly bar (Try the gins/whiskies!). Excellent value to stay or just to eat.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    We would stay at the Cressfield Hotel again .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The en suite was very small. A shelf to put things and a hook or similar to hang towels would have been useful.

    A very pleasant room with a comfortable bed. We stayed one night and had our evening meal at the hotel. The meal was very good and not over priced.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous place to stay, friendly and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didn't use the catering facilities so cannot comment on those. There wasn't anything else we found negative to comment about.

    Location was excellent, to reach Edinburgh or West Coast for day trips.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    Really good stopover on route to the Highlands with good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ensuite was very small but manageable - not a problem

    Convenient location for the motorway as an overnight stop. Good service - professional and friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    Overnight stay to attend a local wedding
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I honestly can't think of anything.

    The welcome by Ian and Peter was lovely, nothing was too much trouble. The bedroom at the front of the house was lovely. The soft furnishings and overall feel of the room was great. The view overlooking the hills and fields in the distance was relaxing. I had also rung ahead of our arrival to see if a room would be available for us to change and get ready for the wedding but both our rooms were ready when we arrived at 11.15 am. The breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel.Very clean.Breakfast excellent plenty of choice.Staff very friendly especially Ian.The owner Nigel made us very welcome.We will def stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    9.6
    A wee gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We love the Cressfield and we're lucky enough to be the first ones in the newly refurbished room down stairs from the dining room, absolutely gorgeous and comfortable! We are always well looked after and the food is delicious. A lovely hotel run by lovely people. Would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    9.6
    Eccellent Countryside stay over on the way to Annandale destillery
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Relaxed and service minded personel Excellent Rib Eye steak medium rare Strong Coffe, we Scandinavians love it Building itself is fantastic Parking excellent

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    10
    excellent location and outstanding service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything. Service was outstanding. Everyone was very friendly and helpful.

    Breakfast was excellent. Lots of choice. Cooked perfectly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    9.6
    would stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    not much headroom sitting up in bed; could do with a bedside reading light

    Friendly owner and staff; lovely building; good views from room; desk; modern and good shower; lots of plug sockets in room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.6
    Excellent for 1 night stop over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps the seating in the bar area could be more comfortable.

    The hotel was conveniently located for m/way and ideal for a 1 night stop over to Scotland. The staff were extremely friendly and our room was spotlessly clean and was in every way suitable for our needs. We would certainly use the hotel again

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    9.2
    A warm and comfortable good value stop-over very convenient for the motorway. Recommended.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To be fair this property does not have the ambience of a "country house hotel". It feels more like a pub with rooms - mainly because of the lively bar with a big TV showing sports programmes. But it is very comfortable and friendly, and very good value for money. And it is warm. Generally the hotel is extremely clean, but the tables in the bar were sticky. No lift or porter, so heavy bags could be an issue. Pack light! Could not find the light switch on the bathroom mirror - a small notice would have been helpful. These are minor quibbles, though; overall this hotel is definitely recommended.

    Located conveniently near to motorway exit. Room large, very comfortable and warm. Generous hospitality tray. Very friendly young manager. The breakfast was very good, but not exceptional. We ate in. Again the food was very good, but not cordon bleu. And it was good value. We were in a room at the front of the house, which was quiet despite being over the bar. The room was very large, well appointed and very comfortable. We stayed in four different hotels on this winter trip to Scotland, of which this property was the last. All of the others had ineffective heating and were at best cold, and sometimes downright freezing. The Cressfield Country House Hotel was a wonderfully warm exception with decent double glazing and powerful but controllable central heating, and a blazing fire in a stove in the bar. Highly recommended as a warm, comfortable and convenient stop-over when travelling north or south.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    10
    what a lovely end to 2016
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing. although whilst the site says no pets allowed, dogs were allowed in the bedrooms

    everything. especially the brilliant food. very helpful, friendly & attentive staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    10
    As usual everything perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As usual everything perfect. Nigel is an excellent host and keeps every one happy. We have been using this hotel for 10 years and will go on using it in the future.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    8.3
    A little basic but quite adequate for a overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic room up 3 steep flights of stairs, bathroom quite cramped and shower tiny.

    Very convenient for the motorway, quiet location, evening meal excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    9.6
    Impressive Country Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    High step to get into shower over bath, steps up to hotel entrance, rather dowdy bar.

    Large room, big bed, very comfortable. Warm welcome, exceptionally helpful staff, good dinner and breakfast. Beautifully maintained internal decorations on ceilings etc.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    9.6
    Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have been a wider non-meat breakfast selection for vegetarians. Also green/herbal teabags in the room would have been lovely as I don't take caffeine.

    Hospitality of the staff. Very friendly and helpful but professional.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    8.8
    Enjoyed the peace
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I'm asked to be picky, there was only one person serving in the bar and although super efficient, an extra person would have been advantageous.

    Peaceful surroundings, excellent wifi, comfortable rooms, good atmosphere in bar and plenty of on site parking.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    10
    Great value stopover on the border
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very pleasant staff. Excellent evening meal and breakfast. Warm comfortable room and excellent value, Booked as overnight break to journey up to the highlands.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    8.8
    Country comfort just of the motorway
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very welcoming and helpful staff. Dog friendly - could bring dog in to hotel areas except mealtimes. Dogwalking areas nearby. Great dinner and breakfast and cheerfully served. excellent location - just off the M74 - yet a village setting and surrounded by countryside.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a little soft for us but other than that everything was perfect Could do with full length murror

    Staff very welcoming Very clean rooms and public areas Fabulous breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    9.6
    Good service and value
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sticky bar tables.

    Cuisine excellent. Delicious evening meal. Excellent, friendly service. Would certainly stay again. Good location & convenient for breaking the M.Way journey.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    10
    Lovely family hotel, deserves its excellent reviews
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing other than having to leave a day early due to family illness.

    The staff are helpful, nothing is too much trouble. We stayed in the separate villa which was well equipped, clean and spacious. The hotel is located just off the motorway and is ideally located for Gretna and locations further afield - the coast is an easy drive away. This was our second visit and we will be back for a third!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    9.6
    Very comfortable country-house stay.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spacious bedroom - lights a little dim for reading - good bathroom with very hot water - elegant dining room with reasonably priced food of good variety. Secure location for parking - and perfect exercise zone for dogs.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel grounds looking out of the room towards the back, right hand side of the hotel, could do with a tidy-up.

    Very friendly staff. The room was excellent and the restaurant food was first class.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    This is a gem of a place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    May be the bell could be made more obvious. Hard to know what to do when you arrive as there is no reception.

    Very attentive and friendly staff. Manager/owner very welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. Food was very good. Extremely clean, in fact the hotel was immaculate.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    8.3
    On the whole a good expreience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only white toast at breakfast Asked for extra coffee which didn't arrive Very small shower room with nowhere to hang dressing gown, put the large towels or toilet bag, except the floor!

    friendly, helpful staff Near motorway

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    9.6
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative was that there was nowhere in bathroom to hang towels.

    Lovely big room, comfortable bed. Meals were lovely and a good price. Staff were very friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    8.3
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark bathroom with no light over the mirror.difficult to see for shaving/ make up etc and very small and dark. Hard pillows.

    Spacious comfortable rooms. Very friendly helpful staff. Nothing too much trouble . Good food

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    10
    Nice RnR, great space and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the GPS was not right so we went to anther place with the same name and waited without any response, but it was cleared up when I called.

    very spacious rooms and living quaters. Peacful place and quite. Staff was great and very accomadating. They even feed as after the kitchen was closed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    9.6
    A great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful hotel in a nice location. Recommend room 2, very classy room with a wonderful view overlooking the countryside. Bed was comfortable and a nice big room. Very friendly welcoming staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    8.8
    A convenient and comfortable stopover breaking the journey further north
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise. Town has little to offer outside the hotel.

    Large rooms and comfortable beds. Very clean. Excellent food. Friendly staff. A beautiful building full of character.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    10
    A splendid house in a peaceful location convenient for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A splendid house in a peaceful location convenient for the close proximity of the motorway. Very impressive dining room with an excellent menu to match it. Enjoyed the evening meal and the breakfast was very good too. We found the staff very helpful and friendly, the cheery locals at the bar made our stay welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    8.8
    Ideal stopover
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was small and basic - but it is an old hotel.

    The location is ideal for a stopover going to the far north of Scotland from the south of England. Great for the dogs in that excellent walks to hand. Staff were very efficient and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Cressfield Country House Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: