Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cringletie House 4 stars

Edinburgh Road, Peebles, EH45 8PL, United Kingdom

#5 of 14 hotels in Peebles

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 95 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little pricey but worth it.

    Breakfast was wonderful. Dinner was also great. We stayed in the Selkirk Suite. The suite was very large and very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful surroundings, nice park with many activities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was far too hot to sleep in. (30 degrees outside.) Even if it was an old house i’d like some ventilation for the pricetag.

    Wonderful surroundings, nice park with many activities. Stylish house and good dining.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cottage sleeps 6 but the dining table on seats 4 which is slightly disappointing if you plan to use self catering facilities with 6 guests

    The hotel staff were so accommodating and happy to help us with our requests. We had particular timings to follow and they kindly stored our food prior to check in and helped us load our things into the cottage. It was so kind of them and a step beyond what I would’ve expected customer service-wise. They were superb. I made a mess of the payment part (totally my fault) and I got such a pleasant and patient call about it and we resolved very quickly. Everything about the staff here made all the difference they were wonderful. The cottage was so perfect we wished we booked to stay for longer. Highly recommended it’s accurately presented and described on the website and the grounds are beautiful. Great for family stays, couples and groups (our stay was a small Hen Party group it was great).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    A comfortable stay in a beautiful venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu not varied enough expected more choice. Breakfast needs more chonce at buffet not kept replenished. Staff and service at breakfast very slow.

    The beautiful house. Friendly staff. Lovely room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    A most enjoyable visit to the Peebles area on the Scottish borders and a first class hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    Excellent choice of breakfasts. Reasonable dinner choices. Comfortable beds. However the main enjoyment was the grounds surrounding the hotel at a time of the year most shrubs were in bloom. Caring and efficient staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely venue for an anniversary celebration
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wider selection on the menu, I.e. there was very little fish, no game, pork or lamb. Portions were sometimes a bit small.

    Lovely comfy bed, stunning surroundings and we loved Peebles with its walks along the River Tweedwide

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.8
    A proper country house experience – very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very high-sided bath (with shower over) has access difficulty for the less nimble or those of less height.

    Staff were all very friendly and service was excellent. Dinner was good value with good menu selection. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    Stunning venue and wonderful, friendly staff, we will definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect, beautiful room and most comfortable bed I’ve ever slept in, food was delicious and great for vegetarians. The staff were so friendly and made us feel very welcome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.6
    A truly wonderful hotel with a great restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some room for improvement with certain staff members manner and attitude.

    A truly wonderful hotel with a great restaurant. The room was beautiful with one of the most comfy beds I've ever slept in. All in all a great stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Not to be missed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having not found this gem of a hotel before!

    Upon arrival Iain made me so welcome with cheery chat and typical genuine Scottish banter. Glen in bar was full on with recommendations for the drinks and Adam (of the fantastic hairdo) looked after me at dinner. Such a happy staff reflects well on the hotel and owners. WELL DONE

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Fabulous Scottish Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing.

    The staff were absolutely wonderful and went above and beyond to accommodate our requests. We had to leave at 4 AM one morning, and they set up a beautiful breakfast on a tray in our room the night before. The breakfast itself takes place in a gorgeous dining hall and the Scottish platter is absolutely delicious. Will definitely be back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.8
    We are a mature couple who would love to return but not until the choice and quality of food improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bar meals went from good to dreadful. The steak pie was a joke in bad taste while the beefburgers were overcooked and almost inedible. The dinner menu was badly thought out and totally unsuitable for staying more than one or two nights - no red meat except as a supplement to the £37.50 meal and the presentation and content left much to be desired - garden vegetables were lentils! Drinks were seriously expensive - double gin and tonic (5ccs) was £9.90 while small prosecco was £8. After complaining the kitchen produced a superb light lunch of smoked salmon salad but this sadly was not on the menu. Superb walled garden with roses, sweet peas, geraniums etc but left to rot while the entrance hall had tired artificial flowers!

    Friendly staff. Good breakfasts

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Incredible hotel with amazing rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The food was wonderful. The room was amazing and the stairs down to the bathroom were a delight! The facilities were excellent and there stay was memorable and incredibly comfortable. Just a shame we didn't have longer!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    A place in the country to really relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower in room a bit problematic not having a seperate control from the main taps A few more electric plugs but not located at floor level as they were in our room

    Beautiful house in a stunning location Comfortable spacious room friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.6
    Staff were courteous and very obliging.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Little to improve - challenge is to maintain standards.

    Staff were courteous and very obliging. The food choice excellent. Added bonus of petite fours with coffee, after dinner.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Revisit to a wonderful Hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is not the first time we have stayed here. Very relaxing to stay here. Staff are very pleasant and nothing is a problem. Food of a very high standard and excellent wine selection. Can only wait to revisit this establishment again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful surroundings, excellent accommodation and attention to detail fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One member of staff prioritising a table when in midst of taking our order. This was disappointing as the whole experience was excellent otherwise

    Attention to detail, Mark in the wines knew his menu , the chefs amazing presentation and quality of food and Ashley at reception warm and friendly. Personalised attention given and good professionalism by majority of staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.2
    A lovely, welcoming place to stay near the Border Abbeys
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although we very much enjoyed our dinner at Cringletie, we found it a bit pricier than comparable dinners. That being said, the food was creatively and deliciously prepared, as well as presented very nicely. Plus, the included breakfast was a good value, and all the wait staff were delightful.

    A lovely place in a beautiful country setting very close to all the Border Abbeys. Driving up to Cringletie House, we could feel a peacefulness settling in around us, and that was mirrored by the views of the gardens and hills from our well put together rooms. We enjoyed staying there and feeling warmly welcomed by the staff. The town of Peebles is also a sweet place to stroll around with charming shops and friendly townspeople. We would gladly stay there again and recommend it to others.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    9.6
    Our room was on the ground floor, we were really very happy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wee bit disappointed with the food! our first morning I asked for yogurt to accompany my fresh fruit only to find that there was none available! Also my husband tried the steak pie for dinner-the pastry lid was so hard he could not eat it!

    Our room was on the ground floor, we were really very happy with everything, beautiful view, fabulous bathroom and very comfortable bed!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    7.1
    The staff were friendly, the location was good and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we had to walk through part of the restaurant to get to our room.

    The staff were friendly, the location was good and the snowdrops were stunning.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful house and great staff but did not like being put in the servants quarters for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    being in the attic when we were in the middle of very strong winds and we could not sleep. opening the chest of drawers to put our clothes in and found the previous occupant had left his briefs and t shirt there

    bed was good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    9.6
    Staff extremely friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the spa was at the hotel but it was in Peebles.i booked a classic double room,but was an attic room it was still OK but smaller than I thought.

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly.The grounds were beautiful.The food was excellent and mark the barman was great at making cocktails.Hotel was great if you want to get away from it all.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    10
    Perfection!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike!

    Stayed at Ardean cottage! Cottage was gorgeous, clean and comfortable. Had everything you could possibly need. The hot tub was just bliss! Breakfast was by far the best we have had in any hotel! Beautiful building and grounds! Can't wait to return!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    9.2
    Cosy, comfortable country house hotel 45 min from Edinburgh.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wines are very expensive and only average in quality.

    Our dog was made very welcome and enjoyed walks in the extensive grounds. The restaurant food and service were excellent and not overpriced.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    9.6
    Elegant small hotel in converted mansion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food could have been a bit more interesting.

    beautiful old home converted to a hotel. Lovely grounds for walking. Wish we could have stayed longer Elegant dining room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    10
    A jewel off the Edinburgh Road outside Peebles
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately we were only there for one night, but we will return with our dog in the future.

    Excellent staff, great food, superb wine list and the bear in the room, who could not resist taking one home. Nothing was a problem and staff were knowledgable and could not be more helpful. Nice area around hotel with nice walks even if you do not have a dog.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    This was our second stay at Cringletie House and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Hope to be back again so
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Senior management a tad off hand.

    Our suite was extremely comfortable and roomy. Loved the bath with a view and the bed very, very comfy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing, overly expensive and poor value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cramped room for a 4star hotel

    Clean room comfortable bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.9
    Lovely location, doing cycle race but no early breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Lovely location, doing cycle race but no early breakfast options as other hotels in area stayed before

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    A super luxury hotel with stunning views and excellent location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar could have been open more

    The food and the very friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely attentive staff, comfortable bed, excellent food and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely attentive staff, comfortable bed, excellent food and wine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    A beautiful, luxurious property with gracious staff and great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn’t like

    Everything was wonderful!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.9
    Dinner was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, tiny TV

    Dinner was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    It may have been snowing outside but we had a very warm welcome inside. We enjoyed our visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent service in a wonderful location. We really enjoyed our stay in this historic house that has been lovingly maintained. Excellent food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Top drawer accommodation, very relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact we had to leave.

    Very friendly attentive staff, clean, well looked after property with excellent food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    all of the staff were faultless and very helpfull and...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    all of the staff were faultless and very helpfull and nothing was any trouble for them and the dogs were made very welcome

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Visited Cringletie House several times , always an enjoyable place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe a larger room.

    Great Ambiance, excellent staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.6
    November nuptles
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location and house. Lovely setting for a wedding.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.9
    A lovely place but food allergies should be taken more seriously.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food allergies were not noted after prior notification and being asked to fill in a form on arrival!

    Food and decor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Truly exceptional experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was perfect on all fronts.

    Everything, was such an excellent hotel and the staff were so helpful and kind.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.2
    Fab
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    hottub

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The food was delicious and the staff were very friendly and extremely polite and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.6
    Scottish perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Tranquil surroundings. Dog being welcome.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    7.1
    location, grounds, function room and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was on the expensive side

    location, grounds, function room and staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Spot on ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi no signal except in bar

    All of it....

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    10
    Superb Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Quality of food

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    10
    Nice winter break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    weather

    food

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    8.3
    Set in a lovely location this historic house has a relaxing atmosphere with first rate dining
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took 4 attempts to get sample menu sent

    Dinner was first rate

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    6.3
    A very pleasant place to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The evening meal could have been better

    Lovely rural location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    9.6
    Breakfast was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    9.6
    Particularly liked the interesting wine list
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Particularly liked the interesting wine list

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    10
    Awesome place and staff :) I didn't even realise that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome place and staff :) I didn't even realise that this kind of place existed never mind think I would ever get to experience a night there..

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    Great location for a weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked everything about this hotel

    Lovely location, great service and fantastic food

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    9.2
    Brilliant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location nice breakfast very beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    8.3
    Staff made us very welcome.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant menu limited and over priced

    Staff made us very welcome.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    9.6
    We were upgraded to a suite which was a real treat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    We were upgraded to a suite which was a real treat! All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Evening meal is excellent value for money and beautifully presented and tasty.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    10
    Every aspect of our stay was memorable - the House is in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Every aspect of our stay was memorable - the House is in a superb position in the Scottish Borders, the guest accommodation and the public rooms are all delightful, and the food and service could not be bettered.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    9.2
    The room and hotel were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The main bar was closed for repairs and therefore only small bar available. This wasn't a big issue just a minor point.

    The room and hotel were excellent. Staff were very polite and helpful arranging taxis etc. Breakfast service in the monring was brilliant.

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    10
    Beautiful location and building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful location and building. Junior suite was very comfortable and spacious while the Sutherland restaurant was really first class ! Really great for a special birthday or anniversary.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    10
    Absolutely fantastic--highly recommended!
    • Family with older children

    Absolutely fantastic--highly recommended! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful in all respects. The accommodations were superb, and the grounds were stunningly beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    10
    The services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant is great. Can make a little bit improvement in food especially the dessert.

    The services. Staff cares about every detail when they serve their customers. The view is fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.6
    Very Peaceful and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a bad experience but if we return would like to be on the ground floor not at the top of the house!!

    Very Peaceful and comfortable. Pleasant staff who did all they could to make our stay excellent.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    9.2
    The staff were very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When exiting right onto the main road there was a blind spot. We did find a turning point to use which was better.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The accommodation was comfortable and everything was of good quality.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.2
    Great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The main course at dinner wasn't as nice as the starters and deserts.

    Great place. Lovely room and really comfy bed and in a great location. Very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    6.7
    Nice location and decorated too a high standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room and in particular bathroom were cold. At another hotel might have asked for help with heating but didn't get nothing is too much trouble vibe from staff so just found another jumper. Dinner- mains course pretty average but starters and desserts were good. Breakfast no croissants left at 8.30 and still not refilled half an hour later . Nothing much wrong but for prices food and service not quite good enough. Bed seemed a bit uncomfortable.

    Nice location and decorated too a high standard. Some of the staff were lovely but nobody stood out and generally, nearly but not quite for service.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    10
    Comfort, luxurious fittings and decor, friendly staff, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would help if management could install a mirror for clients who exit from the hotel lane onto the main road, and/or cut back the bushes on the right side of the lane. Drivers cannot see cars coming from the South because there is both a curve and a blind summit as you look right. The cars on the main road are traveling up to 60 mph, so the danger is real. We had a close call.

    Comfort, luxurious fittings and decor, friendly staff, and fabulous food. We were particularly pleased that the food portions for each course were reasonable in size, which allowed us to enjoy all the courses without feeling overfaced.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    9.6
    After driving over 200 miles on a pretty hot day, a real...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    After driving over 200 miles on a pretty hot day, a real bath was very welcome. As were the friendly and attentive staff, the comfortable room and excellent food. Free wifi was also good, after a couple of weeks with no internet - but then of course we had to deal with hundreds of emails!

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    10
    The staff were very kind, and gave us a room on the ground...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were charged for more dinners than we had eaten! However when I complained about this I was assured it would be "looked into". No result as yet.

    The staff were very kind, and gave us a room on the ground floor (which we needed because of my sister's disability). The food was terrific too!

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    8.8
    The room and bed was very comfortable, the menu was good,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were very good once in the hotel, but the reception was unmanned and I had to struggle with luggage from the car as no one was looking out. I could have rang the bell at reception and asked for help, but would have been nice to have been greeted.

    The room and bed was very comfortable, the menu was good, with a chef that knew how to serve pretty dishes that were still satisfying. The grounds were lovely to walk in as a couple.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    10
    The Hotel's location and views from the grounds were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Hotel's location and views from the grounds were superb. The rooms were splendid and comfortable. The staff were friendly, helpful and attentive. The food was tasty, inventive and beautifully presented.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    10
    Staying here feels like you've come to stay on your own...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staying here feels like you've come to stay on your own country estate but with all the added luxury of a hotel including attentive, friendly, helpful staff and excellent food. The house and grounds are beautiful and and there are nice short walks around the folly and walled gardens.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    8.8
    All the staff were very friendly, nothing was too much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    All the staff were very friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The evening meal was excellent, even the wasabi sorbet. Very good selection of wine too.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    9.2
    everything really but for a couple of issues
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    slow service for the bar, staff didn't smile much,seemed stressed and over busy. Cleaner left hoover and all cable, hoses right in the middle of the stairs at 845am, how stupid is that? When i checked out there was no smile or thank you like being in a cheap city centre hotel which is a real shame. The staff work hard but they seemed stretched and stressed. No need for that.

    everything really but for a couple of issues

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    9.6
    we booked the 2 bedroom cottage with hot tub for bride and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We asked for champagne glasses for the cottage and borrowed a knife and chopping board and on checking out were charged for the use of these items. When we queried this we were informed this was a "service charge"

    we booked the 2 bedroom cottage with hot tub for bride and wedding party prior to wedding in Peebles. Excellent location, cottage immaculate

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    10
    Unfortunately I had a knee injury during my stay and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing bad - everything was great

    Unfortunately I had a knee injury during my stay and the staff were absolutely tremendous - nothing was too much trouble for them Wonderful setting, lovely food and extremely helpful staff

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: