Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Crofton House Hotel

17 Croft Road, Torquay, TQ2 5TZ, United Kingdom

#4 of 46 hotels in Torquay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 207 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel would highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm a Bacon lover so only 1 piece of Bacon on the cooked breakfast was disappointing lol but the Breakfast was delicious !

    Absolutely lovely clean hotel, owners went out of their way to help and were really friendly, the room was amazing!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Excellent would have liked to stay longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, I cannot find anything to dislike it was one of the best bed/breakfasts hotels we have stayed in

    Hotel immaculately clean, food excellent and the outdoor swimming pool was superb. Owners did everything to make our stay enjoyable. We would certainly return another time.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Very friendly owners, great breakfast, lovely terrace to sit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly owners, great breakfast, lovely terrace to sit on (especially with a glass of a wine in the evening!) great facilities, although only used the outside pool as we chose the hottest weekend so didn't use the indoor pool, sauna etc. :) Great location, so not a far walk to town or seafront. Thanks for making our weekend a lovely relaxed one :) Kirstie an Jer

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Awesome 5 star stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe some relaxing music and incense in the indoor pool / steam room area? To be honest there’s nothing we didn’t like other than we had to go home and couldn’t take the bed home with us

    Everything from start to finish. With greeting us on arrival, taking our bags to our clean room, super comfortable bed, really soft towels, lovely cooked to order breakfast, the hot tub, our time there and when we checked out. All the staff were welcoming, super helpful, informative, friendly and thoughtful. Everything was as is in the pictures and really happy with our room. We felt really comfortable, it was really quiet, relaxing and close to everything (beach, town, lovely park etc). Checked in on Mon for a weeks stay and they remembered my other half’s birthday on Thurs. He picked some wild flowers for me one day. The next day after a lovely day out we went up to our room to find the bed was made, bathroom cleaned with the flowers in a jar of water (thank you Sue). Just all the small things they do to make your stay extra special and enjoyable for you. They couldn’t do enough for you. I highly recommend and we’ll be back if we stay in Torquay again. Thank you all and hope to see you guys soon

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Monikers dream
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location was great nice pool steam room was great and the outside bubble bath was to die for thanks for a fab time . Derek mooker jenks

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    From start to finish the stay at crofton house was absolutely fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely everything, it exceeded expectations and made my time in Torquay even better, the suite was perfect, the pool and the hot tub was very relaxing, the breakfast was lovely and the staff members were exceptional, I will definitely be staying here during my visits to Torquay throughout the year!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Clean, good value, good facilities and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No showers or changing facilities near the sauna and pool

    Pool, sauna, hot tub, staff hospitality and good quality breakfast and well priced drinks for an evening tipple

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel, hosts, staff & location - will definitely visit again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving - we would've stayed on if it wasn't fully booked!

    Customer service, hosts & staff friendliness; they couldn't do enough for us! Very clean, tidy and well kept hotel, top notch breakfast and amenities, a gem in the Riviera!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Outstanding place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were excellent, couldn't do more for us. Very clean and excellent facilities Inc hot tub, steam rooms and indoor/outdoor pools. Very good breakfast cooked to perfection, beautiful place to stay. Highly recommended. Will be back for sure

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Great facilities, pool, hot tub etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had very small bathroom but as we were only there for 1 night it was no big deal

    Great facilities, pool, hot tub etc. Owners were very attentative and helpful. Excellent choice of freshly cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Clean. Warm & Hospitable hosts. Good value
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would probably go for a larger room, although saying that for the short time we were there it served the purpose well.

    Easy parking, warm welcome and quite relaxing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful, comfortable experience. We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only little thing was the coffee mugs had not been put in our room. A little thing but slightly inconvenient in the morning when we went to make a cup of tea.

    We made a last minute booking and they were able to check us in immediately. On arrival we had a very warm greeting. The staff were friendly and helpful, answering all our questions about the area and giving advice on things to do. As it was off season we had our room upgraded and after going out for a bit, came back to find chocolates on our bed! The bathroom was a good size with excellent shower pressure and no end of hot water. Sadly we did not get the chance to try out the spa and sauna as we had no idea that they had these facilities. Next time for sure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely relaxing stay thanks again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice. The owners of the hotel couldn't do enough for you. It is a very peaceful relaxing place to stay. There is still things to be finished but they are doing a brilliant job.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable bed and pillows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the corridors still need refurbishment. The swimming area has some planned work to be completed which would improve the leisure facilities. Hair dryers in the room would be nice to save having to go to reception.

    Very comfortable bed and pillows. Lounge and bar area nice and welcoming. Very friendly staff. Good facilities with sauna, steam room and swimming pool. Locally sourced meat for breakfast. Plenty of choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Our hosts were amazingly helpful, attentive and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing!

    Our hosts were amazingly helpful, attentive and friendly. My wife and I were impressed with the level of attention paid to making sure our stay was memorable, relaxing and well cared for.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Amazing Hotel and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing could have been better. All was excellent.

    Amazing Hotel with amazing staff. Excellent breakfast all cooked to order. spotless hotel. excellent facilities in the pool area. would highly recommend this hotel, the staff could not do enough to make your stay memorable. This is not a 2 star hotel it is more like a 4 star hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.3
    Midweek break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bathroom impossible to sit on toilet correctly and close door. However it was a basic room and corresponding price.

    Very clean room, staff exceedingly helpful, good breakfast, excellent facilities for size of hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent property, great value for money and a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being very nit picky, I would say the lighting in the bedroom needs reviewing. The bedside lights don't give enough illumination to read. Fortunately my husband sleeps on the side where the writing desk is, so he pulled the desk light close and used that but he had to get up to switch it off. I have a Kindle so I was ok. Apart from that, we liked everything!

    The very friendly welcome from Stuart and the way he and Geoff and the other staff looked after us. The room and bathroom were super-clean. The view was lovely, we could see the sea. The bed was large and super-comfy. Breakfast was excellent and the cooked items were freshly cooked for us. We especially liked the bacon. We had a problem with the shower and we were impressed that it was resolved straight away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    As stated very indivdual service - nothing was too much for the staff - enjoyable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No phone service to reception.

    Boutique style hotel - room & facilities good - very individual personal service from all staff involved - will certainly book again when next in location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    A perfect bank holiday weekend!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were polite and very knowledgeable of the area, which was very useful. The facilities (the out door hot tub, indoor and out door swimming pool) were amazing, especially to enjoy the last of the Summer sun. I highly recommend this hotel. Also the fact that it is a adult only hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    A lovely welcoming hotel with excellent facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The lovely indoor swimming pool with jacuzzi and also the outdoor hot tub - all kept beautifully clean. The owners and staff were so friendly and helped with anything we needed during our stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    First rate stay will be back again soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Staff and owners were excellent could not do enough for you. Cleanliness was first class, food was off a very good standard. Swimming pool and hot tub were excellent and well looked after. All in all a very good stay would not hesitate to return, we stayed in a suite which had everything.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    Very enjoyable visit, shame about the small room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had Room 9, this room should really be a single room, the bathroom/toilet was too small, especially the space in front of toilet you couldn't sit straight on toilet as the door was too close & we are small people, also there was bad condensation on windows in morning despite us sleeping with the one small window open.

    Staff were excellent, facilities/breakfast were very good, the Hotel is gradually being brought up to date & only some of the bedrooms are in use, swimming pool/steam room/sauna were very good, clean & working well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.8
    Spotless, great facilities, didnt like the cameras everywhere though, no privacy except in our tiny
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bedroom was very tiny for the price, no table to put anything like your cup of tea in the morning.

    Friendly owners & Geoff who was the help was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble for Geoff, the hotel would be lost without him, he is a credit to Stuart & Fadoon. Felt a bit uncomfortable with Fadoon to be honest, I myself think he treats the hotel more like his home than a hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.8
    We would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Did not like the walks up and down hills into town

    Hotel was lovely and clean. Staff were always there to help. room was very comfortable outside and inside pools and hot tube were the added bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.6
    Had a lovely stay here. Owners very helpful with directions and suggestions of places to visit nearb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel a little dated but is currently being done up with main reception lounge, and dining areas very nicely decorated.

    Lovely terrace area to sit and a joy a drink in the early evening sunshine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave

    The hosts welcomed us personally and gave us a tour of the property. We were looked after extremely well. They were very friendly and obliging. Nothing was too much trouble and we couldn't fault the facility or service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Friendly. Clean, fantastic location. A very enjoyable weekend we didn't want to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all it was fantastic! Xx

    Staff very friendly. Room clean, lovely comfy bed. Relaxed atmosphere. Breakfast amazing. Would definitely stay again. Highly recommend this hotel. It was everything we wished for including the weather. Thank you to everyone that made our weekend special.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was probably one of the best hotels we have stayed in not a fancy hotel but the staff could not do enough for you met us in the car park helped with bags not even the big hotels do that showed us around the hotel took us to our rooms will defentaly stay there again first class service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    6.3
    Ok! but needs improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast portions were at best limited, As was dinner. Bar shut at 22.00 hrs every night. Replenishing of room was hit and miss.

    owners were pleasant and helpful during our stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable and would thoroughly recommend a stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent and attentive staff. Owners very helpful and provided lots of information regarding restaurants and places of interest. Hotel facilities were good and it was nice to have a swim and steam/sauna at the end of a tiring day out. Also, great breakfast. We stayed in the Crofton suite 5-8th August 2017

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Brilliant and 5 minute walk to beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like.

    Me and my partner stopped Monday to Friday. We where welcomed and shown around the hotel and they offered to take our bags to our room. The whole property was clean and tidy. And breakfast was delicious. WiFi was excellent, great connection and bed was extremely comfy. Brilliant get away would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.0
    Average. Needs updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room extremely small and stuffy even with windows wide open. Bed uncomfortable. Tiny bathroom -couldnt move in the shower! Also had to ask for clean towels after 2 days. Disappointed not to use hot tub but it was always occupied when we would have liked to use it. Maybe booking time slots would help? Outdoor pool looked tired and scruffy though nobody used it. Whole hotel had a damp musty smell. Overall a little disappointed.

    Great location. Staff all very friendly and helpful with a great knowledge of the area. Nice breakfast (although portion size a little on the small side)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    2.9
    felt very disgusted and shocked at the bad customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad customer service from owner very abrupt felt very unwelcome no privacy no alcohol in bedroom no privacy door sign ketchup bottle filled with soapy water being constantly watched using facilities very disgusted with whole break shall not return

    Clean linen

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    My boyfriend and I stayed a couple of days in Torquay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My boyfriend and I stayed a couple of days in Torquay. The hotel is great and the staff really friendly and helpful. The location is perfect as you can walk to the marina.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay, especially loved the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Weather...

    Stayed in the crofton suite, lovely and comfortable room. The breakfast was great and all cooked to order. Host's could do enough for you, will definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    Very helpful n vegan friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Stuart, Furdoon, Sue & Geoff were very accommodating and on hand for anything you wanted. Nothing was too much trouble. Although not advertised on their site, they were VERY vegan friendly. Made a great vegan breakfast including home made bake beans, soya yoghurt & vegan sausages- just let them know a day or 2 before you arrive

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    Superb hotel loved it and see you tomorrow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault the hotel superb..

    The staff, were superb throughout our stay., we said we would be back and we are one week later, the facilities are excellent and the staff couldn't do enough for us throughout our stay, breakfast is superb and the best hotel we have stayed in, keep up the good work guys don't change a thing, the flat battery man and wife..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    3 night stay wish it was longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Service and friendliness of hosts and their staff. Nothing was to much trouble from greeting us in the car park as we arrived to thanking us for our custom and seeing us leave from the carpark.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    worth going too
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothink I didn't like apart from having to leave

    Friendly staff facilities excellent food value for money breakfast very good. .. rooms spacious crisp bedding airy lot of parking hot tub a must

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel...first class service. Deserves 10 stars **********
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 13 nights

    One teeny tiny thing that could be improved is a socket near the bed, The only ones were behind the headboard. I suffer from ME/Fibromyalgia and spend a long time on my laptop in bed, so need to recharge it constantly. But nothing to spoil the overall stay.

    The staff were highly attentive and super friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Stuart, Furdoon, Jeff and Sue work well as a team. The suite was amazing and huge facing both the pool and the sea, the bed was a superking and as comfy as the one at home. The ensuite had a lovely roll top bath and separate shower. Everything was spotless clean and all the rooms were tastefully decorated with gorgeous furniture which suited the period of the hotel. The terrace was a lovely south facing place to sit out with our meals and drinks, the pool is beautifully illuminated at night. Free wifi and parking. Can't wait to visit again next year.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.2
    Warm Welcome to Torquay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a little bit out of town, having said that, there is a little complex of shops and bars about 5 minutes walk from the hotel, which have excellent sea views. Breakfast service was a bit slow and my scrambled egg on toast a bit soggy.

    We received a warm welcome on our arrival and were given a tour of the hotel prior to being shown to our room. The hotel is quite rambling but there is excellent signage throughout the building. There are many facilities, including a sauna and a hot tub, along with an honesty bar. We stayed in a standard room, which was perfectly adequate for our one night stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    A great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Everything. Staff were so friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. Hotel was clean and well care for. Our room was large and airy and had a great view of the garden.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Excellent pace to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There we nothing I didn't like about the hotel

    My wife and myself stayed at the hotel for 1 night but I wished we had now booked more. The service is excellent from the time that you arrive to when you leave. The leisure facilities are great and the breakfast was freshly made and one of the best I have had for a long time. Will definitely return to this hotel when we visit Torquay again. Would thoroughly recommend staying here

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    great place book soon !!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing not to dislike, everything was great

    the hotel was in a very quiet location, yet not to far from the marina and shops, restaurants and numerous cafes and coffee shops. the staff at the hotel Fanoon Stuart Jeff and Sue were absolutely wonderful nothing to much trouble we could not fault the hotel in any way, we would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone, wishing you all the very best for your future plans . Margaret & jack

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.6
    Julia and family had a good stay at Crofton and would come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointed the indoor pool was not available. (valid reasons for being out of commission were given)

    Staff were very friendly on arrival and gave helpful information about the hotel facilities and the area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Stunning hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was fantastic, staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel was amazing and the room was stunning and comfortable, the food was very tasty too and there was lots of choice for breakfast, the only downside was we couldn't take the bed home

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    This is by far, the nicest hotel I have stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is by far, the nicest hotel I have stayed in. The owners were friendly, welcoming, passionate about the hotel. It was easy to have a conversation with them. The hotel and room surpassed my expectations. It is light and airy with the decorations complementing the building. The bed is more comfortable than my one at home and I had the best nights sleep in a hotel. I will happily rebook in the future.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    9.6
    Warm welcome from the owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm welcome from the owners. Tour of the hotel was a nice touch you dont get in the bigger chain hotels. Owners very friendly and informative of the local area & it's attractions. Suite was lovely & my wife & i enjoyed staying there.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    10
    Fantastic hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    I was traveling with a mentally disabled person and in every regard, the staff sensitively went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure our stay at the hotel was as successful as possible. I can't recommend Crofton House highly enough!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    10
    Perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent old fashioned values freindly always helpful spotlessly clean would be my first choice when we return to the area couldn't rate this high enough really made our holiday

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    9.6
    The staff were very friendly, helpful and made us feel very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly, helpful and made us feel very welcome. The bedroom was extremely well equipped and spotlessly clean. I would definitely go there again if I was visiting the area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    10
    Another couple were given our breakfast, so we had to wait a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Another couple were given our breakfast, so we had to wait a while for ours to be replaced. Staff were very apologetic and went out of their way to help. More annoyed at the couple who knew it obviously wasn't theirs because they had only just sat down and not even ordered accepting it without saying anything!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.6
    Worth every penny!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    Lovely atmosphere. You ordered your breakfast each morning and it was cooked to order - even the toast was freshly made. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    7.9
    Lovely old building and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was covered in dust and the bathroom was dirty, the shower needed a good scrubbing, the ceiling fan was so full it was blowing out onto the walls and it stunk of damp, not pleasant.

    The hosts and the staff were so helpful and friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    9.6
    We recommend staying at The Crofton Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to dislike about Crofton House Hotel.

    Lovely hotel, very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was very good, lots of choice. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff throughout our stay. We stayed in the Torbay room, it was very spacious with a lovely view through the very large bay window. Brilliant south facing terrace and garden, complete with pool and jacuzzi. Thanks for your wonderful service.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    6.3
    Bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep uphill walk from the harbour and train station. No elevator so had to lug heavy suitcase up and down lots of stairs. Could hear television from adjacent bedroom all night.

    Bed was very comfortable. Room was clean. Staff very nice

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    10
    Great hotel with the added bonus of swimming pool,hot tub...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel with the added bonus of swimming pool,hot tub and bar. Owners and staff were extremely welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Great choice for breakfast with locally sourced produced I would recommend booking a suite as these are beautiful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    10
    WILL DEFINATELY BE VISITING CROFTON HOUSE AGAIN !!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast is a little pricey.

    We could not find fault with anything with our stay. Everything was lovely from the comfort of our bed to the great location the hotel is in, close to all the amenities and the beach. I must say that the staff are absolutely lovely and they made our stay even more better. We will definitely tell our friends and family and anyone who wants a comfortable luxurious stay in Devon.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    10
    Super stay at Crofton House Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that my husband and I disliked.

    Owners and staff were extremely attentive and friendly. A very warm welcome and relaxed atmosphere throughout our stay. Superb breakfast options and good choice of meals available for lunch and evening at affordable prices. Enjoyed ourselves so much that we would definitely book again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    10
    Fantastic place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect

    Fantastic place. Highly recommend it. The staff could not do enough for us. It's the cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in. Wonderful. Had a perfect time. Want to go back. Please book

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    9.2
    Attentive and caring
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guys and staff who run the hotel could not have done more to make us welcome. They greeted us with a cheery good morning and suggested we visit certain places nearby. We ate in one night and enjoyed a delicious dinner. I had steak and my partner had a burger. They looked after us during the full 7 days we stayed with them and felt like part of the family by the time we left. Thank you for a lovely stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    7.5
    Clean and comfortable , quiet area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was rather far out from the town , road hotel is situated on is a bit run down and littered. Entrance to hotel could be improved as looks tatty from outside .

    Was clean and comfortable, nice area outside to sit and have drinks. Owners nice and friendly, welcoming and helpful , carried bags up to room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    9.6
    Personal service, prepared to accommodate any needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal service, prepared to accommodate any needs. Bags taken up at arrival and brought down when checking out. Little touches of thoughtfulness & extra mile....running upstairs with a bedroom key left at breakfast and arriving as the elderly ladies realised they had left it. Outdoor deck a fab addition. Superbly comfortable bed and lovely view. Admired the United team approach to upgrading facilities and look forward to experiencing these next visit.Fabulous vsriety of background music and lightbite menu. A most enjoyable break.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    10
    Owners were very friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owners were very friendly and welcoming. Bed was comfortable, breakfast was lovely.(to die for.) Very nice hotel. we were very happy with the service. The room was beautiful and clean. definitely going back.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    9.6
    crofton house hotel simply stunning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was lovely 😊

    The hotel has wonderful staff they couldn't do enough for you.Absolutely gorgeous garden/terrace area with outdoor pool.room 14 very comfortable.short walk to seafront

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    10
    The hotel is has got beautiful spacious rooms, nicely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is has got beautiful spacious rooms, nicely decorated. New furnishing, very comfortable bathrooms. Nice garden with a swimming pool. Delicious breakfast. A very good location with a nice view of the sea. The best thing about the hotel is the service – very pleasant and helpful. We will definitely come back! Michael and Peter

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    10
    The staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like

    The staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough for you, we really enjoyed our break and would go back again next year

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    10
    Gorgeous friendly, relaxing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything about the hotel we didn't like it was lovely and the owners have done a great job renovating the property.

    The staff were extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome. We stayed in the Devon suite for 7 nights which was large, lovely, clean and the bed was very comfortable. Would definitely stay there again and recommend the crofton hotel to family & friends

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    7.5
    Good hotel to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast included but not cooked breakfast,for that is extra £7.50 per person per day, yellow stain on the middle of the sheet.

    In general nice place to stay worth the money, the gents on reception and staff outstanding they make you feel comfortable at all times.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    10
    Excellent place to stay in Torquay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to add here

    Couldn't wish to meet 2 nicer guys who go out to make their guests comfortable and well looked after. Nothing was too much trouble. Gorgeous views outside on the patio while having a drink or snack. The hotel will be even better when the pools and jacuzzi are up and running shortly.We only stayed in a budget room but it was clean and great value for money. If I stayed for longer I would push the boat out and opt for a suite they were outstanding. Lots of choice for breakfast.Overall brilliant!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    The owners went out of their way to make our stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners went out of their way to make our stay exceptional.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Great place !great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything spot on

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.3
    Staff couldn't do enough for you .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff couldn't do enough for you . Treated us very well .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Lovely clean friendly calm hotel with great food , fab staff who go out of their way constantly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful staff, they cannot do enough for you. Brilliant price for what they offer

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: