Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cromlix 5 stars

near Dunblane, Kinbuck, FK15 9JT, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Kinbuck

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 254 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.8

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Great service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great service, friendly staff, great food. My husband and I follow a vegan diet and the chef created a special vegan menu for us with multiple options to choose from.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing and well fed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All great. However, we really hope that the impending expansion of the "resort" will not spoil the feeling of a small personal hotel. Its a perfect balance for us. We are afraid the hotel will change and become busy and overrun with more people who are there for different reasons. Fingers crossed but we are concerned

    Staff so friendly, we were pleased our Swiss friends ( first time at Cromlix for them) were well looked after

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect stay for a romantic weekend or a couple of lazy days. Fantastic breakfast, perfect service and nice people all around. The house is stunning, the property is amazingly big and we loved it!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Ablosulety amazing relaxing and beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tranquil

    Ablosulety amazing relaxing and beautiful surroundings. The staff excelled in making our stay very comfortable. The food was outstanding and I would highly recommend this hotel as a luxury stay .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Absolutely Fantastic..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We visited Cromlix as a surprise from me to my husband's birthday. We were met in the car park by a member of staff and directed into the hotel where we were greeted by another member of staff at the door. There were all very friendly and professional. We ate dinner in the Chef Roux restaurant and can absolutely recommend the food and wines - it was really good. Unfortunately, We stayed only one night and wouldn't hesitate to go back .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    excellent staff -cannot praise them enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    only minus was no tea facilities in room and no special touches for honeymoon which was bit disappointing

    excellent staff -cannot praise them enough.and grounds are spectacular

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Don't hesitate, just book a room as soon as you can!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything.

    Although I was ill when we arrived, we enjoyed my stay very much. Our room was so beautiful and spacious, the bed was very comfy with feather pillows, a spacious bathroom. Even some fresh strawberries were there, just a small detail. What else could we ask for? Unfortunately no dinner this time, because I didn't feel well, but breakfast was delicious! Cromlix Hotel is heaven in Scotland!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Loved the location, room and the staff were excellent, but very expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant let this place down. Not the food, that was excellent, but the actual room was more like a trendy cafeteria and terribly uncomfortable. Not at all in keeping with a building of this kind. Also it was very expensive generally.

    Beautiful room and terrace. Stunning building

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Good, not great for 5 Star
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was disappointing. Limited cereal choices and although a traditional Scottish breakfast isn’t meant to come with beans, I asked if they could add some and they didn’t have any. For a hotel that caters for all ages including children, I thought they would have beans as a side option. The waiter said he would check and didn’t come back to say there were none which resulted in me getting a plate of haggis (not meant to be in a traditional Scottish either) bacon and sausage nothing else. Just a plate of meat... not exactly what you want to eat first thing in the morning.

    Staff were all excellent, very friendly and attentive. Room was clean, comfy and spacious. Set in lovely grounds with plenty to do.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    A hidden Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    none

    From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, the whole experience was perfect. Took my wife for her 40th birthday and after looking picked the Cromlix. We arrived and from then on were treated perfect. Our luggage was taken to our room and we were shown around and then shown our room. It was perfect and every detail was looked at, even slippers at the side of your bed. If you want the perfect stay i could not say enough about the hotel and staff for us not to go back again and again. The perfect hotel in all ways

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel, staff, food and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV in room was difficult to use due to picture frame put around it blocking the remote signal. But this was the only issue and it is relatively trivial.

    Staff very well presented, friendly and attentive. This was genuine and not forced. This is down to excellent staff selection and training no doubt. Food excellent. Loved the snooker table. Size of the bathroom and the toiletries. The chapel. Colin the cockerel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Perfect venue for a getaway, no downsides, could not recommend highly enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Atmosphere of a country home, staff very attentive but not intrusive, all staff without exception charming and helpful, rooms pristine, very comfortable beds, fabulous bed linen and towels, everything you need is there. Perfect venue for relaxation and pampering. Perfect!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    A slice of Heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were amazing and made us feel very comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble. Beds extremely comfortable and the whole experience was just wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    The service was exceptional - extremely efficient and polite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service was exceptional - extremely efficient and polite but also very friendly and approachable (which is not always the case in hotels of this quality)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.8
    Rooms are large, spa bathroom was amazing, mix if modern bar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are large, spa bathroom was amazing, mix if modern bar & restaurant with the traditional build & decor of main hotel. Service was exceptional.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    Loved it, had a lovely relaxing weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really wasn’t much, although I did feel,the wine and drinks were pretty pricey.

    The staff were all extremely friendly and very keen to do anything to help. We were booked for two nights on a bed and breakfast rate and the breakfasts were lovely, everything freshly cooked and piping hot. The hotel feels as if you are staying in a friends country house, very cosy and comfy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    The breakfast poached eggs were the best i’ve had in my life...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast poached eggs were the best i’ve had in my life - don’t know how they did it We ordered room service too, which was great value for money and brilliant service. Brought our dog and he was welcomed and was even provided with his own bed and bowls.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.6
    Superb food, service and very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was expensive but the experience was worth it.

    The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food in the restaurant was fantastic. It was a very relaxing place to be. Reception staff were knowledgeable about the property and guests were encouraged to have a look around.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Fabulous Cromlix
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    We liked everything about our stay. The whole experience was right. We would certainly go back to Cromlix House. The staff were first class. We had two rooms which were first class and the food was exceptional.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.6
    The staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were excellent. Everyone we met made an excellent impression. We had arranged a surprise birthday and the staff went out of their way to help, "we love surprises". Couldn't have been any more helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Very pleasant. Well organised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were excellent. Bed and room very comfortable. We had both unfortunately been ill the week before our visit and knew we would lose our money so we stayed anyway. We couldn’t enjoy the food as we should have.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    First class
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked draught lager in the bar.

    We were given a room upgrade as it was my wife’s birthday. Room excellent, staff excellent and food excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    reasuringly exspensive ....... it's not cheap but it's near as perfect as you'll find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the only bits i could nit pick would be no usb charging points in the bedroom no Electric Charging points for my Electric car that's it !!

    food was divine and the service was excellent if you want to run a first class Hotel ..... stay a night here and see how it should be done bed linin and the drapes/curtains Etc are very tasteful afternoon tea is, judging by the numbers, very popular with people staying in the Stirling area

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.8
    Home from home relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More information on pricing of rooms

    Relaxing atmosphere, real fire, staff always friendly and helpful, turned down bed with chocs and slippers nice touch. Array of drinks to try and food excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.9
    The staff are excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had no space to do hair / makeup. Shower leaked and ran into bedroom carpet needs new seals around door. Heating can't be turned down so very stuffy at night. No tea or coffee facilities in room. Nice to make tea early Morning.

    The staff are excellent. Rooms are comfortable bit too hot at night had to open windows. Good was very fresh and tasty. Lovely presentation and choice. Breakfast service in room was fantastic . Excellent choice on menu all fresh and delicious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing and intimate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are few facilities and I know there are plans for more rooms and a Spa and Gym which would enhance the Hotel For us the weekend was to get away from it all and have a quite time together and for this it was perfect

    Very comfortable bed Excellent staff and service Lovely out of the way quite location We ate in the lounge one night which is casual and one night at Chez Roux which was a treat It is quite a small intimate hotel Cosy and comfortable with a traditional interior decor It felt like staying in a big country house for the weekend

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.6
    Ideal for that special occasion or just want to spoil yourself.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't find any fault.

    Very pleasant staff, nothing was too much trouble ( including storing some locally bought produce in their fridge overnight ). Totally relaxing break. Hidden delights such as the whisky room , snooker / games room and private chapel. Please do not expect a gym or spa. Just relax and enjoy the superb service and special ambience.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    A wonderful birthday treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful house spacious and well appointed bedroom and ensuite. Loved the ambience of the house. Attentive staff who were all extremely pleasant. We were asked if we were there for a particular reason,my wife's birthday. After dinner we ordered coffee which came with a piece of cake with a candle and Happy Birthday drawn in chocolate on the plate. Dinner was excellent and we enjoyed watching the chefs preparing the food. Good choice of breakfast dishes. All in all a lovely experience.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Fabulous, relaxing and special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a fridge or cooler in the room for the water ( but that’s a minor detail)

    Unbelievable service from the moment we arrived. Food was exceptional. Can’t rate this hotel high enough

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing country elegant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were all quite youthful and so we had a small issue when we were there, that was resolved, but the staff lack of experience showed.

    Superb, elegant and comfortable hotel that was instantly easy to relax into. The evening meal was fantastic and breakfast very good. Staff very energetic and enthusiastic

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Absolute total class and quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather - oh no, wait a moment - it's Scotland. The weather was perfect.

    As a lone traveler I was given a very personal welcome and really felt looked after as a guest. It happened to be my birthday on the day I arrived and the staff who knew about this took care of me exceptionally well but with subtlety and discretion. If you're ever on the road and you need to spend your birthday alone, this is the place to do it!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    A top choice for a stylish and friendly stay far from the madding crowd - 99.5%
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Chez Roux restaurant a tiny presentation fault as far as my own personal taste go. My main course was game and I can see the chefs thought the partridge legs and feet would be used to artistic effect; unfortunately that put me off the rest of the delicious partridge as I personally don't like seeing the birds feet.

    Cromlix is a really wonderful hotel in a beautiful location with great style and very unique rooms tastefully decorated throughout. The hotel and restaurant staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Their customer service is phenomenal. They know just how to pitch it so you feel very much at home and yet they have covered all bases. They say people make a place and the staff team at Cromlix are a great credit to their business.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Our stay was excellent and we will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all was above expectations !!

    The room was very comfy bed and the meals / breakfast were superb. Had Excellent breakfast in room with complentary newspaper. The whole hotel stay was very good and restful, staff were also superb and did all they could to make our stay unforgettable, and they all smiled.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Luxury accommodations in beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful luxurious place to stay. The restaurant was excellent. One of our best dinners and breakfasts of our trip. Our room was roomy and comfortable with an amazing bathroom. Will definitely come back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Stunning location, great hotel and restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were upgraded to a suite for my husbands birthday. The room was fab! The food in the restaurant was fantastic. The staff were very attentive and lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    We have been looking forward to our stay at Cromlix and it didn't disappoint
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were looked after by very efficient and friendly staff. Loved our upgrade to a suite and found it all very relaxing.Could not fault the restaurant in any way and we enjoyed delicious food both for dinner and breakfast .Already looking forward to visiting again soon.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Very pleasant & comfortable. Somewhere I have already recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gin menu was limited - it requires to be more extensive - particularly including more local gins. The positioning of a sofa directly in front of the fire in the wood panelled lounge meant that the fire was blocked for the majority of the room thus limiting the ambience & its effect.

    Excellent staff & customer service. Quality surroundings. Happy to pay the 10% food & drink service charge - was pleased it was pointed out to me on paying final bill that this was discretionary & could be revoked. Delicious food!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.8
    A very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dining room/conservatory was a modern addition to the Victorian house and was very brightly lit at dinner in the evening. It looked more like a fast food restaurant than an elegant dining room and did not have a romantic atmosphere. A pity for a Michael Roux branded restaurant. The final cooking area was open to the restaurant resulting in the smells of frying permeating the dining area - a fashion statement which did not really succeed. Similarly the main course was served in large bowls so that the knife and fork slid down into the food when put down. However, the food was very nicely prepared and delicious. The breakfast buffet was not as good as the one we had at the Tiroran House Hotel on Mull. We were not allowed to stay in the hotel after 12 noon on Saturday as the whole hotel had been booked for a private party. Having booked the hotel with a view to spending the day there before catching an evening flight from Glasgow this was disappointing.

    We were upgraded to a large double/suite. The staff were extremely helpful, professional and friendly. The main house had been very well decorated and furnished.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Can't wait to go back to Cromlix!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect stay--everything spot-on! Not a single tiny thing I might have disliked.

    Outstanding experience in any aspect! Warm welcome and tour of the house. Spacious room without tea facilities but fesh tea delivered to the room at any time. Lovely whisky tasting with the sommeliere 101 and on short notice. Hotel manager made suggestions for my onward journey through Scottland, booked hotel on my behalf and I left with booking confirmation and printed maps for the next days. My favorite amenity: No signature at the hotel bar, restaurant or anything else and received a correct invoice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    absolutely fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Treat for husbands birthday and was great from start to finish. All staff were very friendly and attentive. The evening meal and breakfast were fabulous. Would recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyed our visit in luxurious surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A courtesy tray with kettle etc in room, although it's possible to request one. I think a 5 star hotel should provide this but perhaps they're encouraging patrons to pay for tea etc in lounge? Eating meals in lounge is awkward as coffee tables are used.

    Warm welcome with free upgrade to a suite. Friendly staff eager to please. Food was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful surroundings, great old house, great food & incredibly friendly staff. Dogs very welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really have not one bad thing to say about the place. Perhaps only that it was expensive. We got a complimentary upgrade to a suite, but if we had gotten just a double, then it would have been a bit expensive for what it offers. But still would go again, as the people are just so friendly and went out of their way to make our stay a positive experience.

    What stands out most was the staff. They were incredibly friendly, very helpful with everything and always so nice to my doggie. The place is great for a dog. He is only allowed in the room and outside, but still it felt like home even for him. We were upgraded to a suite and had our own living room, so great for the dog and for us to spend time. They even have a room service menu for dogs! And it is freshly cooked food, not canned!! The place is beautiful, the park it sits in as well. The rooms were tasteful and big. The food great. We recommend the afternoon tea (don't eat beforehand). We took it in the gardens. Certainly a place to come back to!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel, great staff, but age the dining room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Touring the hotel on arrival, I thought it strange the receptionist would take us into the swimming pool; but as we entered the bright, airy glass extension, resplendent with modern, primary-coloured furniture, I was surprised to discover it was actually the dining room. My surprise was compounded at dinner, where the floor show was provided by the chef and staff. I found the dining room incongruous in a predominantly 19th Century building; and the presence of the kitchen staff as dinner companions palled as an experience after 5 minutes.

    Set in peaceful, secluded countryside with interesting grounds, Cromlix creates a great impression arriving along the long driveway towards the elegant, imposing old house. Staff spring to action, making you feel immediately welcome, informed and safe in the hands of professionals.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Phenomenal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could be bettered!

    Absolutely outstanding hotel, worth every penny, the facilities were superb, the food was outstanding and the service was second to none!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.2
    A Fitting 70th Birthday Weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the putting green could be improved, but there was not much we didn't like.

    Courtesy and attention of the Staff. The Towels and Robes were of the very best quality. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    A memorable and enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything - starting with greeting and guided tour. Facilities, comfort, surroundings and not least the cuisine are all first class. The staff are exceptional with a friendly manner, ensuring everything is done to perfection without being intrusive.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Everyone should experience Cromlix in their lifetime.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were outstanding, very helpful and nothing was too much bother. Our room was perfect, bathroom was fantastic with a free standing bath which I had specifically requested and the shower was great. We loved the contemporary restaurant and the food was out of this world, thanks to the two chefs. Graeme the manager and Victoria were just exceptional @ customer service.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    Staff were extremely helpful, very friendly and service was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Felt the menu could have been a bit more varied especially the lounge menu.

    Staff were extremely helpful, very friendly and service was excellent Scones were best Ive ever had. bedroom was fabulous

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    9.6
    A peaceful and relaxing break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked the facility of kettle etc in room on both nights - this arrived on the second night.

    All staff were excellent and attentive. Every aspect of food was carefully prepared and presented. We were made to feel at home.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    9.6
    A Gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    This is a lovely hotel, where staff are very well trained, enthusiastic and attentive. They seem very proud to be working at Cromlix. We had a very enjoyable break here, in a beautiful setting.The restaurant is top notch! I will definitely be back.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    8.8
    Scottish Hospitality at its best !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think pricing of rooms is high - that aside we thoroughly enjoyed our trip and are planning another one

    bed was amazing - imagine would be like sleeping on a cloud. Hospitality and friendliness excelled - evening meal was superb

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    10
    Loved it and would go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken shaving mirror and frayed blind. No full length mirror in room

    Beautiful hotel with lovely ambience. Tastefully restored. Very comfortable. Super billiard and games room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    10
    Cromlix staff pulled out the stops again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the only thing I didnt like was leaving as I could have stayed much longer

    Excellent and attentive staff who did everything to make this stay a brilliant experience. Beautiful hotel with amazing food.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    7.9
    A great weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I suppose the walking paths around the hotel were a bit undrained and very muddy.

    All the staff were really good , with just the right mixture of efficiency and friendliness. We were delighted that the hotel welcomed our two small dogs.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    10
    Retirement surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved this hotel the personal touch when we arrived ,we were shown around the hotel by a very friendly receptionist then she took us to our room which was amazing.worth treating yourself going to this hotel will definitely be back . Also loved the little chapel .

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    6.3
    Needs work to warrant the status it craves.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The emergency lighting in the Barrie bedroom is not conducive to a good nights sleep. Bed was not comfortable and both of us have muscular issues in the neck following our stay. For the money, not a patch on many other hotels. Over rated and over priced for the accommodation offered.

    Food was sensational. Restaurant,front of house and general staff are excellent

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    Truly luxurious relaxing getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I was being really picky the pillows were a wee bit hard for my liking. But I'm fairly sure if I'd asked they would have replaced them immediately.

    Fantastic place for relaxing get away. Staff could not be more helpful and there's lots of them. We booked what was described as small double - it was massive. It's not cheap - but you get what you pay for. Highly recommended

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    6.7
    Well worth a visit even if only for the excellent and well priced afternoon tea!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food,although generally excellent,could be improved by offering a change of menu daily.Both nights we ate in the restaurant the offering was identical. The grounds were in need of a bit more care including improvements to pathways. The introduction of a Spa and leisure centre is essential.

    Staff were really superb.Helpful, chatty,mainly local and friendly.They managed to get the balance right between 5 star service and appearing intrusive. The mix of the old world charm of the main hotel was complemented by the contemporary surroundings of the restaurant. The cost of food and drinks including room service and Bar snacks was realistic and generally offered good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    10
    Cromlix House - Aced it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tea and coffee in the room would be good, a coffee maker would be outstanding!

    Beds were very comfortable. We loved the history of the place, the grounds, the general level of comfort and quality of food. We liked the contrast in the more modern bar and restaurant. The chapel is special! The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    10
    Cromlix...The Cat's Pyjamas!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having tea/coffee facilities in our room. Though a hospitality tray can be requested, I think these facilities should be provided without patrons requesting. No provision of a hairdryer in room, which is usually pretty standard in most hotel rooms. Though I am sure I'm sure one would have been provided if requested! Oh and the lack of a dressing table mirror.....useful for us ladies!!! Only minor dislikes! Certainly would not detract from me staying at Cromlix in the future.

    Relaxed, comfortable ambience. All the special touches, nibbles prior to ordering drinks; dinner; with your coffee. Chocolates left when beds turned down! & the most comfortable beds ever with crispy white bed linen. Gorgeous grounds. The whole experience of staying at this hotel was wonderful, this should be on everybody's wish list, but the piece de resistance is the staff!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    10
    Stunning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing food, staff were attentive and lovely. The whole experience from check in to check out was fabulous. Couldn't fault anything. Stunning location and grounds. Will definitly return.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities at Cromlix are stunning. Stayed in the Hoy suite which has its own steam room. Extremely comfortable and spacious room/bathroom. Staff are very welcoming, food was also exceptional.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    9.2
    Memorable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Table at dinner seemed to be squeezed in between 2 other tables for 2 and therefore felt a bit awkward. Heating up high in bedroom and took long time to cool down. Swimming pool would have made it a marvellous stay.

    TV was unobtrusive as it was fronted by a mirror. No TVs in public areas was great! Food and service great.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    9.2
    Great place for a night away in the country
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been good if there had been a swimming pool. Other than that, nothing.

    Very warm welcome at check in. Excellent service and food at dinner time. Free upgrade of room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    9.2
    Excellent hotel, not cheap but the combination of good food and superb comfort guarantees a return v
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find fault, so reduced to mentioning that signage to the hotel was less than clear.

    All services (food, refreshments, advice) delivered with great decorum. Opulent hotel with no hint of stuffiness. Warm, welcoming hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    10
    Perfect for our 47 the wedding anniversary and hope to return for our 48th next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The bed and bathroom were superb. Best nights sleep ever the bed was so good and roomy. Staff were very friendly and welcoming throughout the whole time. Food was really good and breakfast to die for

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    A place that provides total relaxation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A few minor things, really to do with furnishings and layout, but no doubt the hotel will eventually sort these out themselves.

    The food and the staff were quite superb

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    5.0
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wardrobe positioned in bathroom next to toilet. Bizarre! Dark room, small window and consequently very hot. Could benefit greatly from air conditioning. No ventilation for the kitchen in the restaurant which meant velux windows were opened to release cooking smells and the restaurant became cold. Cromlix is certainly is not good value for money compared to other hotels in Scotland.

    Staff and service were good Good bathroom Food good but not outstanding.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    7.5
    Wonderful anniversary visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No draught beer. Bedroom too hot - even in September. Could not turn off bathroom radiator. Beautiful bedding, but too warm. TOG??

    Being met at car park. Thorough check in. The extra anniversary dessert. Super service

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    9.2
    The food was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The only thing I would say was it would be even better if they're was a spa.

    The food was delicious. It was my husbands 40th birthday & he got a lovely happy birthday pudding which I thought was a lovely gesture.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is not walking distance to anywhere, which I like but may be an issue for some people

    Restaurant is great, both for dinner and breakfast. Staff is very friendly and the hotel is full of beautiful rooms in which to relax.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    10
    Astay at Cromlix House will stay with you 4ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would really have to think hard!

    It is a top hotel with extraordinary service. Beautiful luxurious rooms, excellent restaurant and great outdoor activities. The staff is very efficient and extremely friendly!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a fabulous stay at Cromlix for my husband's 50th birthday. Beautiful hotel, attentive staff and amazing food. Will definitely return. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    9.6
    A touch of class
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation does not come cheap but it is a great special occasion experience.

    Luxury accommodation. Superb food. Very pleasant efficient attentive staff. Made you feel at home.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful, relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not staying longer!

    We were given a complimentary upgrade of room on arrival which was excellent. Staff were superb and so helpful. Beautiful food, presented so nicely without being over fussy.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Cromlix traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: