Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Crow How Country Guest House 4 stars

Rydal Road, Ambleside, LA22 9PN, United Kingdom

#15 of 50 B&Bs and Inns in Ambleside

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 354 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    A perfect stay in the Lake Disrict
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Delighted before we even got inside. It looked so pretty and inviting. Our room and bathroom were spacious and comfortable. Set back from the road there was no traffic noise just the sound of bleating sheep. Breakfast was included which included everything from fruit and cereals to full cooked with all the trimmings. Couldn't have asked for more-perfect :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    gorgeous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfast presentation? the fresh lilies were a bit too empowering - couldn't stop sneezing when passing by ;)

    location. the amazing garden and the views bathroom ! food and tea/coffee

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    We were delighted with the whole experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely comfy huge bed. Wonderful spa bath and soft towels. Fab mountain views from all windows. Very quiet. Exceptional delicious breakfast. Very helpful friendly staff. Convenient location with parking, close to Ambleside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like

    Everything. Lovely room with fab bathroom. Views out of room were fab. Fab breakfast and staff only too happy to help. Within 15 mins walk into Ambleside where plenty of nice pubs and places to eat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Great location and very quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy King Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and very quiet. Was our base for cycling. Friendly staff and clean rooms. Porridge was great, better than I normally make it... So good we have already booked again for next year.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Good enough but bare bones
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor quality mattress. No bar, soulless lounge, skeleton staff although friendly when you can find them.

    Country peace and quiet. Good sized room. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking distance from Ambleside. Surrounded by some stunning walks you can start from the hotel Great quality breakfast Beautiful gardens and property Super comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    A top notch b&b in a beautiful setting close to the lovely village of Ambleside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    How can perfection itself be improved upon??

    We had a bright airy room and comfy bed. The breakfast was the best we've ever had in the many 4 star hotels we've stayed in over the years. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    The location, a comfortable walk into ambleside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy King Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that we only had two days there, would have loved it to be longer!

    The location, a comfortable walk into ambleside.the room was lovely , the drawing room was great the gardens were wonderful and the eggs Benedict were excellent!!.I loved the smell of fresh flowers permeating the whole house lovely big Lillie's and sitting in the garden taking in the view with a nice glass of wine .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Good, but don't spill anything!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in was strange, I've stopped in many b and bs and hotels but this was the first one that made me read a side of A4 paper explaining my liability (and making me sign to confirm understanding) if I damaged or spilt anything in the room. We were told a story about how a previous guest left spilt milk in the fridge and did not inform anyone and it apparently began to smell. Why this was the guests responsibility is beyond me, those that check and restock the room should be wiping things down and even switching the fridge off between use, and not letting something get to the, 'it smelt' stage. To top this off, when you go into the room there is a notice, laminated and stuck to the desk which warns about spilages and damage and again liability. It looks like they have been 'burnt' in the past by a previous guest and have taken the strange step to assume all guests will cause some kind of damage. If anything it made me quite nervous in the room and I was constantly worried about having an accident with a cup of tea or something! This is all a shame because overall the property is absolutely lovely and the room we stopped in was very comfortable.

    Clean, comfortable, good breakfast. Location lovely, right in the countryside and a stones throw from Rydal lake.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful breakfast with several options, clean rooms,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No window screens, so when windows left open on a hot night, bugs come in. But this is a problem all over UK--don't know why no one uses window screens.

    Wonderful breakfast with several options, clean rooms, comfortable beds, very helpful staff. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    we have good sleep during our short stayed two night...very peaceful that is most important for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the exterior of the building looks very old, need refurbish...need more facility outdoor around the building.

    the inside of the property is very comfortable , feeling like at home and very clean. the service also very friendly..the breakfast very simple but healthy , having vegetarian option, great ! We will come back if we visit Ambleside next time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None, everything is well thought of.

    Great location, great services and very cozy atmosphere. I would definitely recommend to anyone who plan to travel in the lake districts, and would love to go back sometime.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Lovely stay and enjoyed being there.
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lounge a bit dated. My wife injured her toe slightly, lifting the heavy iron gate up. Perhaps a bit cleaner outside the gate-area between gate and cowshed.

    Comfortable bed, nice size room. Lovely bathroom. Beautiful view. Relaxed atmosphere. Delicious breakfast. Lovely gardens. Would definitely recommend it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.8
    A fabulous refreshing break in beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy King Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A heated towel rail in the bathroom would have been useful as there was no where to dry wet towels only a small towel rail that only accommodated one hand towel.

    The bed was excellent. The views spectacular. The building sublime.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    Very peaceful, get-away-from -it-all break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy King Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The entrance was via a large heavy gate which had to be physically lifted to disengage from it's latch and was a pain to do in the dark and rain. There were lillies everywhere inside the house which I thought were lovely but my husband is allergic to them so not good. The bed did not have a duvet but very large blankets that fell off the bed and cotton overlays which were too heavy so made sleeping difficult. Room was lovely and warm during the day but noticeably cold at night as heating went off and no duvet.

    Lovely location, so quiet and peaceful. Very clean everywhere. Breakfast was excellent cooked to personal requirements and so much choice. Served very well each morning. Loved the window seat in room and spent a lot of time looking at the beautiful view. Toiletries were good. Easy to walk into Ambleside and central for exploring the lake District.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.9
    We had a lovely stay with stunning countryside, fantastic weather and friendly people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked to know that the property was next to a working farm and always duvets over blankets. A blackout blind would have been beneficial to block out the security lights in the car park. We would definitely come again but would always ask for a room not over looking the car park and as far from the farm yard as possible.

    A large room with a super huge bed! Shower, bath and constant hot water. The views and breakfast were great too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    Friendly, enjoyable experience. Would go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Crow How Country House was perfect. The room was amazing. The place was super-clean and all the staff were friendly and welcoming. Location is great too, a fifteen minute walk to Ambleside village. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very cold in the middle of the night - due to the cold temp outside (snowing) heating should have been left on.

    The room was nice and big and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and the location very good for walking access into Ambleside

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    DVD to borrow- great idea
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not serviced after our first night. After reading the in room literature it said if you wanted your room serviced you had to put the card on the door ‘please make up my room ‘ Never in my life have I had to do that in a hotel?! Fine if that is the hotel policy, but tell us on arrival! Ruined by no clean towels the next day!!

    DVD to borrow- great idea

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff and great breakfast! Highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fault anything.

    One of the best hotels myself and my family have ever stayed in. The room was beautiful and had everything we needed - beautiful view from the Windows! The staff were all very friendly and the breakfast was beautiful! Easy access to Ambleside and we phoned a taxi which came within minutes in the evening. We had a wonderful holiday thank you!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Great location, easy walk into town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, easy walk into town. Plenty of parking. Spacious and clean rooms. Good mix of modern and old charm. Friendly atmosphere. Breakfast was excellent. Great base for walkers..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    A very relaxing and enjoyable week in quiet and beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy King Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing really but if I was being picky I would say that the dinning room was cold during breakfast and a coat hook in room 6 would be a great addition as there is nowhere to hang a damp coat apart from in the wardrobe. Drying room was OK but small and had there been more guests while we were there then this may have been an issue.

    The location is excellent with the centre of Ambleside just a 10/15 minute walk away, make sure you take a torch if returning in the dark as the street lights don't go all the way to Crow How. The breakfast was excellent and the staff were always very chatty and friendly. Excellent access to some good walking routes both low level and high level routes. The hotel in general was very clean and we had good views from our room, room 6.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.8
    Fab!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room could have been warmer! High ceilings and a big room so the 2 radiators didn't have a great impact! However it didn't spoil our stay and hotel owners were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is amazing!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.5
    Will go back but not in the winter. We were so cold it reached our bones. Staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating was freezing in our room. Apparently something wrong with the boiler but rest of the house was hot. Reminded us of our childhood when there was no central heating and bed was piled with blankets and coats. Not good for us mid 70 year olds. Hosts were apologetic but didn’t offer a reduction although they didn’t charge us for four teas and biscuits when we met two friends and brought them to Crow How.

    Room good size breakfast excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Wouldn’t change it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything!

    The rooms are a great size, the toiletries provided were local environmentally friendly and smelt gorgeous. Breakfast was lovely both days with great service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Relaxing weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing..absolutely amazing property.

    Great location and views. Fabulous breakfast. Very quiet location surrounded by fields. About 12 minute walk into Ambleside. Excellent hosts.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Fantastic farm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was having to open and close the gate into the driveway on a wet night when you are the only person in the car. Its only a minor thing and won't stop me using the property again.

    It was a really peaceful, quiet and extremely comfortable stay. A fantastic range of food offered for breakfast and very sensitively and expertly served. Stunning view from the bedroom. Beautiful furnishings and wonderful attention to detail.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Relaxing, peaceful, beautiful scenery all around you and a lovely walk into Ambleside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the beautiful views of the fells from the Windows. Lovely and peaceful place to stay away from it all. Loved the room and especially the gorgeous bathroom with beautiful views too and wonderful bath.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy King Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Working farm next door which was fine but on one occasion when walking past 2 dogs ran towards us barking and growling frightening my wife, we past by car every time after that.

    Beautiful house and the room was very nice but a little small. Beautiful scenery everywhere you looked. Breakfast was very good set you up for the day

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike. Problem with heating on our first night but staff ensured this was promptly fixed.

    Clean, comfortable rooms and quiet. Ideal location with fabulous grounds and views. Recently decorated and refurbished while maintaining its period charm. Breakfast great and staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.9
    Location location location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in one the attic rooms and they were quite cold. Having said that it was the night where the clocks changed so this might have had something to do with it.

    Very good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.9
    The lake district is eternally beautiful and Crow How is a good base to see it from
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy King Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only saw the host at check in and check out. Room was a little small. Sat nav couldn't find it.

    Beautiful location, excellent breakfast, nice warm room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    excellent 4 poster bed with superb views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I like big breakfast and cumbrian breakfast could have done with maybe two sausages and couple more mushrooms instead one of each which were very small, other than that it was a superb vacation and would definitely go back.

    excellent 4 poster bed with superb views.15 minute walk into ambleside.excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    A very relaxing stay within a beautiful part of England
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing to report that we disliked

    It was a really lovely experience for us to relax our soul, body & mind. Just what we both needed, 'Thank-You'.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant, clean and warm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we didn't like was the large metal gate which you had to open each time you wanted to drive out, then had to get out the car and close, sometimes we got soaked, then had to drive in wet clothes.

    The room was large and comfortable, I liked having a sofa so we could relax in comfort, the bed was king sized and very comfortable, the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Excellent and would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy King Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was really good and would recommend it to friends.

    Excellent location, value for money, pleasant and helpful staff, great breakfasts and comfy room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    A truly memorable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy King Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is set in a rural area on two acres off the beaten track . It is very beautiful. The staff are very friendly, helpful and down to earth . The beds are very comfortable and there are gorgeous views from both the rooms we stayed in . Breakfast is freshly cooked for you . The shower pressure is good and there is plenty of hot water . There is also a guest lounge - beautifully appointed and with fresh flowers .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    The staff and the hotel were great except for our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy King Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was rather small nowhere comfortable to sit and watch tv. As we stayed three nights this got us down by the end of our stay.

    The location of the property and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Perfect in every way. Loved the colored lights in the shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we couldn't have stayed longer.

    The breakfast was an excellent traditional English breakfast and prepared perfectly to each guest's taste. The atmosphere, service and charm were delightful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Lovely B&B Cottage, clean, high standard, very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely B&B Cottage, clean, high standard, very friendly and welcoming staff, good selection for breakfast. I highly recommend it for a couple break away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.3
    It was Ok, but that's all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure what there was not to like, but the place just lacked something. There are little notices everywhere telling you what you can't do. I also feel it's expensive for what you get. Did I like the place - yes; would I go there again - no.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    Relaxing comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast cereals out of date (I was only aware of this when my husband told me on our way home). Breakfast okay (7/10) Initially staff appeared not very welcoming but got better as our stay went on. Didn't like the aggressive farm dog next to the property which we couldn't avoid when leaving the property on foot. Not the fault of Crow How - and after bringing it to their attention, they said they would speak to the farmer.

    Bathroom lovely, bedroom very comfortable and spacious. Lovely location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Could not have chosen a better base from where to wander the Lake District.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather 😉

    Clean, cosy, comfortable lodging in a grand old property with the Lake District at your door but away from the crowds of Ambleside. Nice people, lovely breakfast. Groovy coloured shower.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    Not the cheapest, but overall excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiled wall over the bath a few black marks. Seal under bath panel not fitted properly, but I'm being really picky now.

    Location, room, view,food. Not the cheapest,but excellent overall.So handy for all the Lakes and 15min stroll into Ambleside just enough before evening meal, with lots of restaurants. Had amazing Thai meal

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Clean,comfortable and a location second to none..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low level lighting made reading difficult.

    Comfortable lounge to sit in.Lovely owner and staff.Nothing was too much trouble. Fresh flowers such a nice touch. Superb choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Really wonderful break made by the hosts and the fabulous accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Rabat is there to say excellent all round, great friendly staff and marvellous accommodation in the nicest of locations. PS check out the garden its fantastic

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.3
    Welcoming & Quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Local radio at breakfast time didn't match the quiet and pleasant surroundings.

    Just outside the business of Ambleside. On bus route and separate lounge facility.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Variety at breakfast except for no porridge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Barking dogs in property up the lane which could be intimidating. Could upset people who are scared of dogs because they approached walkers and weren't put off by cars either!

    Variety at breakfast except for no porridge. Good position in centre of amenities. Lovely gardens which we made use of when dry.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    We would recommend this accommodation to anyone travelling to the lakes district.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy King Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    THe breakfast was excellent, menu was extensive, thw rooms were very comfortable, the location was beautiful and there was nothing that could have been better

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Perfect stay in the center of Lake District
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to improve

    Perfectly located B&B. One of the best we stayed in during our trip. Large room and bathroom, with shower and bath. Very easy access - without need of using the car - to multiple beautiful walks. Very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely well cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Best place to stay in Ambleside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Cant fault anything everying just as it should be

    Excellent place to stay no problems with parking a bonus, as parking not so good in most places, a friendly place to stay, food excellent, for breakfast, and catered to my needs for breakfast, within easy walking distance to Ambleside and for walking Locally, not having to worry about parking which can be expensive in the car parks, and within driving distance for visit places nearby. Staff very friendly this is our second visit, and can recommend it. excellent place to stay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing 😊

    Everything was catered for we had a lovely comfortable room with fridge and plenty of tea and coffee nothing was to much trouble we highly recommend and will be going back xx

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    The BnB was in a beautiful setting, the staff were lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was that there were aggressive dogs that lived down the driveway. It was fine when we drove out, but when we wanted to walk they were quite scary.

    The BnB was in a beautiful setting, the staff were lovely and bed was really comfortable. It was also a bonus that there was a bathtub, we had a really comfortable and relaxing stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable, beautiful views of surrounding countryside and lovely gardens to sit in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In addition to teacups, mugs would have been nice for evening drinks.

    The property was an old farmhouse which had been tastefully modernised and made very comfortable for guests. There was a very good breakfast selection.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.9
    A beautiful area and equally lovely accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor internet access

    Lovely old farm house.Staff could not have been any more helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. Breakfast selections were awesome.Close proximity to main township.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.9
    "Be Ware of Dogs"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sign which says "Be Ware of Dogs" My husband and myself were in this property for 4 nights.We did not have our own transport. Outside the premises there is a farm and they have working dogs.On 2nd day during my stay when I stepped out of the premises after breakfast I was bitten by the farmer's dog and I was in complete shock.My husband and I had to rush to day care center in amble side they refused to attend to me as was not registered with them.we had to rush to kendal (half an our by taxi) and get treated.On our return when we complained to the host saying that either farmer or the host must reimburse the expenses,the host turned around and said it did not happen in our premises and farmer will not pay.We had spent around GBP 110 going back and forth from kendal and on antibiotics.For the rest of my stay I had to request the host to walk me out as was petrified of dogs thereafter. There was no way to reach the main road without passing the farm and dogs.The host and his family were at least kind enough to walk me out but it did spoil my stay if they had a sign on their premises one would have taken required precautions.This review is more from the point that others should not suffer as I did.

    Lovely walks near this place and 15 minutes walk to town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.2
    An excellent base for exploring the Lake District.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like; but in comparison to what is charged for B&B elsewhere, we felt it was quite expensive.

    The property was beautifully positioned on the edge of Ambleside, with wonderful views and a lovely garden. The room was recently refurbished, quiet and well equipped. The staff were always available, friendly and helpful. There was a wide selection for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Magic place in Lake district
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to say. A very nice place where I will come back for sure.

    Location is beautiful, in the middle of the country side but not far from Ambleside (approx 15 mins walk from Ambleside). Staff is very kind. Everything is clean and well organized. Comfy room with lot of space. Wonderful breakfast (home made with lot of choices). Hiking path are just behind the corner. The staff provided lot of help on what to do and where to go to. Internet was also working well in our room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    It surpased what we expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights

    For what we required the accommodation and food was excellent and it would do the place a disservice if we made any criticisms, See remarks above.

    The property is well located as a base for touring around the that area of the Lake District National Park. The accommodation was excellent as was the very friendly ambiance and hosts and staff. An excellent big breakfast which kept us going for much of the day

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    One of the best short breaks we have had
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing! This is about as good as it gets

    fabulous location, friendly staff, clean, comfortable room with a sofa and a full size television. Excellent breakfasts with a really good menu choice. No restriction to access the room so we were able to call back in to freshen up after a walk.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful short break great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff really friendly and helpful with advise for walks. Spotlessly clean. Comfy bed. Powerful shower. Fabulous breakfast. Fridge in room with Fresh milk available on request for tea/coffee. 10 min walk to Ambleside bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    Wow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything about this place, the location is just amazing, the view from the window was idyllic, we had an absolutely stunning bedroom and bathroom, and everything was spotlessly clean. Superb breakfasts , with that wonderful countryside view from the dining room. The owner also went the extra mile and phoned us, gave us directions, then waited up for us when we arrived late for check in.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Top class!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike at all

    Lovely Guest House in every aspect: breakfast really good, room lovely, bathroom .. I wish we had at home, really cared for and clean and ...a special touch on Easter Sunday ...from the proprietors.. a chocolate bunny!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    10
    This B&B ticked every box!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This B&B ticked every box. The owners have thought of everything you could need and deliver it in a beautiful house in a lovely quiet location. The superb breakfast will set you up for the day!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    10
    Amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's in a gorgeous location, close to Ambleside. The rooms are cosy and decorated to a high standard. The guest house has a dry room which is handy for post walking I would go back again

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.6
    A Beautiful Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was hearty and filling and lots to choose from. The room was big and comfortable also clean and tidy. Shower was refreshing and had enough clean towels. I would certainly stay at Crow How again and recommend it to friends. We watched 2 of the array of DVD's on offer. Very useful information in the bedroom, which resulted to us doing the 9 Lakes tour, which was really scenic. Thanks for making our stay memorable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    10
    Exceptional B&B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    Third time we have stayed here,it is just perfect. Rooms are great, breakfast choice is exceptional and quality of a 5 star restaurant. Can't praise this place high enough.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    10
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Breakfast was delicious, fresh fruit, yogurt and a lovely hot cooked Cumbrian breakfast. The bedroom was enormous with a nIce seating area overlooking the garden.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    8.3
    Nice country side.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner could be served in hotel. Room was quiet cold, bed not very comfortable.

    Nice country side. Cozy room. Quite place. They have too many DVD movies so could enjoy movies if is raining outside.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable, lovely views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed mattress could have been firmer. Skylight was noisy when it rained.

    The breakfast choice, taste and service excellent. Drying room for wet clothes/boots good with so much rain.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy King Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loud dog next door but not too much to worry about

    Great breakfast with lots of choices with nice veggie options, really comfy bed and a great shower! Just a few minutes walk away from village centre and in walking distance to lakes and hills etc

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    10
    Perfect home from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst it was great to have tea making facilities and free chilled water, there was a very noisy fridge!! Sounded like it was taking off! Probably a good idea to relocate it away from the bed!!

    Excellent breakfast. A comprehensive menu to choose from. Very friendly and informative host. Wonderful to watch all the different types of birds in the garden. Nice to have a separate seating area in our room. There was a drying room to dry off your walking boots and waterproofs. They also have DVD players in the rooms and a library of films you can watch.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    10
    Week's stay in Crow House, a fantastic place from which to explore the Lakes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy King Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Superb location ; set back from Ambleside which is a great little town , central to everything in the Lake District. Ambleside Inn is a great place to eat after a long walk. Lovely characterful and historic guest house in a peaceful setting just outside town with a working farm next door and great views of the fells and pastures. Beautiful gardens in which to walk and view wildlife; loved the birdsong in the mornings. Excellent room and facilities. Helpful and friendly staff. Great choice at breakfast which was well cooked.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    9.2
    Would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath/Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be good if dinner was served as it's a 15 min walk into town

    Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Great location especially If you like going for walks/treks and breakfast was very good

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: