Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Crown and Garter 4 stars

Inkpen Common, Hungerford, Inkpen, RG17 9QR, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Inkpen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 124 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was pricey. Manager, Jane, was really pushy and we were told she decided not to fully staff the restaurant on a Sunday bank holiday evening (she was also absent) and the restaurant was busy and understaffed, including the kitchen - we waited over an hour for mains, and another 45 minutes for puddings! Kitchen staff clearly also understaffed.

    Meals were lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant décor was a real contrast to the rooms (by comparison it seemed a little cheap and shabby) and whilst the restaurant waiting-staff were incredibly attentive and great, the reception I experienced on checking in was at best apathetic, and could be considered unhelpful.

    The room itself was lovely - beautifully decorated, clean and modern.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price, we would have expected breakfast to be included. It is January, the rooms were not full, neither was the restaurant on a Saturday evening and so it would make sense to include breakfast as a nice gesture. They could probably fill their rooms if they were more competitively priced and included some finer touches. The menu would benefit from more vegetarian and vegan options, but what we ate was tasty.

    Lovely country pub, nice rooms, very comfortable bed, delicious food!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    non-applicable

    We went with another 8 couples for a Birthday weekend and everyone loved it,it was perfect in every way the staff the rooms the breakfast and the location. cant wait to go back

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is extremely remote. We chose the Crown and Garter as it was on the route of a walk we had planned. Inkpen, if you are a tourist, does not offer a great deal, however the scenery is absolutely gorgeous so could be an ideal stop over between locations.

    The Crown and Garter was exactly as described. It was clean and comfortable and the food was delicious and reasonably priced. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and we felt very welcome.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was really comfortable, the little extras in the room were great too. The restaurant was great, lovely food. Would recommend and visit again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t personally like the dogs brought in by the green welly brigade.

    Very nice comfortable accommodation in chalets. Nice evening meal and breakfast. Friendly people. A very good overnight stay in a rural countryside location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was totally non-functional. Breakfast was limited and uninspiring with dusty muesli, no other cereals and poor porridge. Although the cooked breakfast was fine the rest was poor. The general decor and furnishings were pretty bizarre and it was hard to imagine how anyone could have chosen such a mishmash. I thought the place overpriced and not offering great value for money- presumably because it is frequented by high-spending shooting parties.

    A very comfortable modern room with excellent bed and bathroom facilities. The dinner was outstanding with a good choice of options in a very pleasant environment. The staff were all efficient and engaging.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi was a little bit patchy but we weren't too bothered and didn't ask for any help with it.

    The room was beautiful, the bathroom was lovely and all of the little added extras were so clever and appreciated e.g. fresh milk for your tea/coffee.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just two things: the bathroom radiator seemed to be stuck on full power, which made the room uncomfortably hot at night and was also a waste of energy, The other thing was that Radio 2 was playing quite loudly not only at breakfast, but dinner too (it may not have been Radio 2 at dinner but whatever it was, it was a bit too loud and intrusive). I felt this lowered the tone a bit; would rather have had nothing!

    Lovely place in a great location. Staff were very welcoming and friendly, and the room was very clean and quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was so uncomfortable- really hard pillows. The yoghurt and musili- not quite right combo, yoghurt and granola would’ve been a better hit. Was very dry.

    Room looked lovely. Shower was great as well as the toiletries. The bakery attached did lovely cakes and bread.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting was awful - particularly the bedside lights which were far too dim. Also, in a perfect world the tea and coffee making facilities were not well presented. Didn't like the big wooden box which took up too much room and was obviously not able to be pristine clean, being made of wood. Though it was attractive, it wasn't practical.

    The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom facilities were very good. The dinner was absolutely excellent, very high standard of cooking and service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would benefit from a wider range of beers/ales at the bar, but that's a very minor point

    Great place to stay; luxurious rooms and great food. Highly likely to stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only real problem was that 10.5 tog duvets are too hot in late August. I told them that last year but nothing has changed. I know that several of our group slept badly because of this.

    We are a group of friends who meet here every year. The location is perfect for us, with nice walks straight from the door. The accommodation and staff are excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful friendly welcome and directed to our room to find a very large and comfortable double bed , the bathroom very clean with a fabulous shower . The menus was one of those with such a choice it was difficult to make a decision . The good was amazing , as was breakfast .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The food was all home made and delicious .. the best ingredients were used and cooked beautifully . Staff were so helpful and friendly ... the service was fantastic

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little remote and difficult to find. The building is not an old English pub as I had hoped. But still a pleasant stay.

    A nice pub without being excellent. The staff are exceptional, friendly, welcoming and helpful. Very pretty area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is very clean, although I did notice quite a bit of dust and some remains of plastic wrapping under the nightstands. Slightly more care would be needed when hoovering. But this was only a minor detail in an other ways perfect room.

    Rooms and locations are brilliant, the entire setting is superb

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A biscuit in the room would have been a lovely treat. That's it.

    The not so ordinary decor. Friendliness of team working. The food ethic. Fresh milk in the room. Hearing the bird song. Going for a walk in the area. Sitting in the garden with a G&T. Countryside Location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly everything was spot on.

    We had eaten there before but had never stayed and it was just perfect,every aspect was well thought out with just lovely little touches to everything. My partner thought I had picked the room as the decor was very much my taste!! Loved the under floor heating and the huge bed!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike; perhaps the room could have been heated up a little more before we arrived, but it was one of the coldest days of the year!

    The bedroom was gorgeous, the food was amazing and the staff really helpful. We were staying here because of it's proximity to Stonehenge - it was a real find that we don't really want to share too much!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The trendy walk-in shower actually covered half the floor with water despite being very careful. If you sat up in bed leaning against the headboard the bed started to move away from the wall!! Just needs some little discs underneath the wheels to stop it moving. There was a canister of almost solid milk left in the pine box. There was another canister of good milk but the old one must have been there a long time for it to look like yoghurt! This sort of thing does make you worry.

    The room was clean, stylish and comfortable. The breakfast was great.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    leaving.....!

    warm and friendly welcome, plenty of free parking, good bar choice, excellent menu. Clean, warm , comfy bed, fluffy towels, fantastic full English breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small observations: a) SatNav placed the postcode some distance away. Using the street name "Rooksnest" was far better. b) We thought the timber box containing complimentary beverages was too large and rather bulky for the room. But, the cold fresh milk in a Thermos, rather than UHT, made the tea far nicer than most hotels manage.

    The staff are superb, and are great ambassadors for the Honesty brand. Honesty seem to be excellent employers and it instills loyalty and passion in their employees, who go that bit further to make your stay fantastic. Very comfortable bed, and towels were the best in ANY hotel we've used. The food and beverage in the restaurant and bar were excellent quality, fairly priced, and the associated bakery / coffee shop is absolutely lovely too.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to the design of the room, it was impossible to leave the window open at night for ventilation as it impeded the external walkway and lacked security. There was no other way to ventilate the room - it must be very hot in summer!. A sash window would have been far preferable. we felt it was a little "pricey" for what we got. the room was also not cleaned very well as evidenced by the previous occupiers empty packet of Paracetemol in the wardrobe!

    I'm afraid the croissant (one only!) was a little tough and for a place that prides itself on the "Honesty" of its food, this was a little dissappointing. However, the cooked breakfast was excellent as was the food we had for dinner the previous evening. The accommodation was very comfortable and very well appointed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The courtyard was beautiful. The breakfast was prepared to order and was exceptional. I recommend that you stay for dinner too as the menu is varied and food beautifully prepared. Everyone was kind and made us feel very welcome. The cafe and bakery on site gave me the opportunity to sample some freshly baked goodies and buy a few gifts to take home too. It is in a beautiful part of the country, rural and quiet but within a short drive of the motorway. An ideal place to stay while you explore the area, (Highclere Castle is a short drive away).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no vegetarian main courses available - very unusual and disappointing. They made the effort to make up for this but not what you'd expect from a hotel of this price / calibre

    Staff were friendly and helpful, the room was great

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room wasn't exactly spotless - there was (weirdly) hair all over the back of the toilet seat and dead flies on the bedroom floor. We also had cobwebs in the shower! Some staff members were really friendly and welcoming but one or two others didn't even bother to give us a smile.

    The rooms are nicely refurbished - bathroom was excellent with lovely big fluffy towels on hand. The food in the restaurant was really great - good value for money there. Comfortable beds and pillows.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we would recommend would be to have some pet friendly rooms, you're in a perfect location for people to have long walks with their dogs.

    Every single member of staff that we encountered were absolutely charming and very pleasant. The food was superb.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar area had just two tables. Breakfast tables way to close to each other. Wooden boards outside room were very noisy to walk on. The grazing box was to big with not much in it.

    Room was fine but a little dark

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Move the mirror in the room close to a plug to facilitate hair styling. I had to use my reflection on the TV screen (TV was off), which was not great. To my fellow American's who are asking themselves, "Why not use the plug near the bathroom mirror" There are no plugs in UK bathrooms with enough juice to run a hairdryer or curling iron. Our UK friends tell us its against building code and it's really not a problem if there is a mirror near an appropriate plug somewhere. Also this place is a bit hard to find and sat nav (GPS) can lead you astray, as was our experience.. Therefore, I would suggest that the Inn provide written directions on their reservation confirmations that employ the roads with best visibility, with the explanation that the Sat Nav cannot be counted on to get you there. In the end, we got there by being led by a kind local who we asked for directions when saw him pulling out of his driveway.

    Great staff! Special kudos to servers Craig and Rachel, who were so helpful in giving us directions.Let me explain: We had a hard time finding the place on the way in. Our sat nav (GPS) took us in circles down some really narrow and for us scary country lanes, with tall hedges, so you could not see what was coming around the corner. In the end, we had to stop and ask for directions to find the place and were led there by a nice local, who explained "Verbal directions are impossible here. I'll lead you". After we arrived, Rachel was serving us a beer and I told her we planned to go to Oxford one day and Highclere the next. Told her about our problem finding the place with sat nav and asked her if there was a more direct way out that did not involve a circuitous route down low-visibility country lanes. She sent Craig out, who kindly wrote down detailed directions to get us out to the main highway in just a few minutes on wider, easier to navigate country roads. So helpful! Rooms very clean, contemporary and spacious. Very comfy beds. Good food. Nice, bucolic country location, but still close to Highclere and Oxford

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking was permitted right outside the bedrooms, so that smoke from neighbouring guests came into our room both in the evening and very early in the morning. A designated smoking area should be provided far from the rooms.

    Lovely room and bathroom. Great food. Friendly and helpful staff. Good local walks.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meals were very meager with not much choice on the menu with no daily specials available the menu never changed over the weekend and over priced

    The breakfast was very good with a lot of choice but could be improved

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Excellent breakfast with plenty on offer

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi in the rooms is very poor

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beer was perhaps toward the end of the cask

    The friendliness of the staff and a peaceful night’s sleep

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The decor, food and friendliness of staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi in the rooms is poor

    Atmosphere was amazing and its a really nice spot

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Creaky floorboards outside the room but didn't impact on my stay.

    Huge bed that was really comfortable. View of a peaceful garden.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great Rural retreat, lovely setting and great food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An edge around shower to prevent water going over floor

    Excellent food, service and room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Great staff and lovely rooms a great stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The staff and the food were all excellent!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Refurbished pub in rural location, awesome breakfast, friendly host

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent food, great room. Very friendly staff. Will stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Marmite for breakfast

    Newly renovated. High spec room and bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was excellent

    Everything was excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More shelving in the bathroom would be appreciated

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather haphazard bedroom furniture. Odd tea making facility

    Good beds and en suite facilities

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi and phone signal non existsent in bedrooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic find. Room was lovely, underfloor heating a bonus. Staff brilliant. Will definitely be staying again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was okay (not amazing), but the staff attentive and the actual property charming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely pub in rural setting. Fantastic food and friendly staff.Great walks around area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room no 1 very noisy with deliveries from 6.30 am

    Nice Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very comfy bed, good breakfast, homemade butter and jam! evening meal was fab. friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A comfy chair in the room rather than a writing table, which took up too much space.

    The epitome of what a relaxing country pub should be like!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable bed in a cosy, contemporary room. Friendly staff and excellent food. Brilliant stay all round!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very comfy and lovely little touches with toiletries and décor

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have liked some fruit for breakfast

    A very quiet location, comfortable beds.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    Comfortable bed, lovely bathroom with walk in shower. Star really friendly and great tasty food.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit isolated, great for an escape though.

    Room is exceptional, facilities unmatched, restaurant and bar excellent, staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Middle of nowhere but we knew that and the rooms were perfect the staff really friendly and the food and wine not too bad either.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a pub atmosphere, more of a restaurant feel.

    Rooms are beautiful, lovely shower, peaceful location, good food, great breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent facilities, friendly and welcoming staff. Great place to stay.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was superb.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food for dinner too much batter not enough simple food on menu.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing service lovely staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Crown and Carter proved to be a perfect first overnight stay for our trip " down south". More than exceeded our expectations

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine.

    So quiet and peaceful at night. Nice garden. Very good food. Crown & Garter recommended by a friend.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shame about the woody Samfire on the trout dish at dinner and the flask of milk in the room that was well off.

    Everything was great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms too small

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic place to stay very freindly staff food and beer excellent I would highly recommend

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Restaurant was a little busy with a private party .. Service very friendly but a little hit and miss when under pressure

    Very friendly people, great homemade bread and cakes.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast menu seemed ungenerous. No shower gel provided, and towel rail not on, so seemed quite expensive for what it was.

    Nice room, comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The tea and coffee facilities needed thinking about as had to unplug lamp and boil kettle on floor. Tray would have been more user friendly than 'box'.

    The Boutique Hotel vibe!

There are also 45 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Crown and Garter traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: