Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Crown Hotel 3 stars

West St, Blandford Forum, DT117AJ, United Kingdom

#2 of 6 hotels in Blandford Forum

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1100 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Character property

    The staff was very helpful from the time I checked in very polite and very helpfull the atmosphere and ambience of the hotel bar was spot on will highly recommend for everyone who visits the town stay in the crown all the staff are always smiling and greeting customers

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing.

    From the moment we booked in to the time we booked out (and was allowed a late checkout) everyone was extremely nice, warm and professional. The food was fresh and cooked perfectly. I was with my partner and no one batted an eye lid at two women together. Trust me, some place do even in this day and age. This place is absolutely amazing. They should be proud.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent! We were visiting to attend a local wedding and needed to get changed beforehand (several hours before official check in time). The lovely receptionist gave us keys to another suite to allow us to get dressed and also arranged for storage of our two bikes in their garages. We returned to the hotel very late to check in and what an amazing room! I only wish we'd had a bit more time to enjoy it, the shower and bath were particularly excellent. Would love to stay again when we had more time to make the most of the hotel! Thank you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was warm evening and so very busy with people drinking and eating in the garden area below our room. Made it a bit noisy and not the quiet picturesque garden area we'd seen on the website.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our bedroom was at the top of the stairs so it was slightly noisy at times.

    Beautifully decorated room with a huge comfortable bed and the bonus of a bathtub which was well enjoyed after a long drive to get to the hotel. We ate in the restaurant and the staff were absolutely amazing! Very attentive and the food was delicious. It was a shame we only had one night here as a stopover on a long journey to Cornwall.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely Georgian hotel; 'retro' bedroom with modern facilities; great breakfast; friendly staff; free car parking; reliable free WiFi; excellent value for money. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    this is an old building so noise travels a bit but we did not find this a problem

    Excellent period hotel with friendly helpful staff. found place for our bikes overnight that was very secure Large twin room that was well equipped

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was quite warm at night, although we didn't ask if a fan was available and I believe air conditioning was available in some rooms.

    The hotel has very nicely decorated rooms. The staff are friendly and helpful. The bar area is large with a nice quiet area away from the bar. Also has a very large patio. Pet friendly. Good beer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing!

    The room was beautifully decorated in early 1900's style (but modern facilities) and extremely clean! The family suite was large and the bathroom renovated beautifully. The automatic nightlight in the bathroom was perfect for getting up to go to the bathroom in the dark - a very thoughtful touch! The heating / cooling was excellent. We loved the little fold up stories on each bedside (Eg: Sherlock Holmes stories)! The bed was extremely comfortable and it was King size! This is one of the best rooms we have stayed in ever - across Australia / Europe and the UK, in both hotels and motels! We were EXTREMELY IMPRESSED and wished we could have stayed longer! Thank you! We will be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The two grumpy charmless waitresses on breakfast the first morning were not a good start. We came down to breakfast at 8.45 and yet the fruit consisted of some grapefruit slices and some pineapple skin. A smile would not have gone amiss. We waited about ten minutes on the friday night for someone to come to reception simply to give us our key.

    The slim chap with the beard on breakfasts the second morning was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cooked breakfast (Shakshuka) was a bit slow in arriving.

    Very helpful staff who enabled us to check in early (even though the hotel had been full the night before) so we could go off to a wedding. They also ferried out tea and coffee from breakfast to the garden so we could sit in the sun. Lovely experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though the windows have two blinds a lot of light manages to come through. As a light sleeper this was quite disrupting so I did not have a great sleep.

    Lovely hotel with fantastic rooms. Breakfast is superb! Excellent value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were looking at properties in the area. Booked a 2 night stay based on the good recommendations supplied on their website, which were excellent!!! Would return anytime, soon I hope, would thoroughly recommend The Crown everytime!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great (Although on a hot day air conditioning might be handy, not all rooms have this)

    Tastiest cooked breakfast I’ve had in a long time! Plus our room (6) was lovely and big with a huge roll top bath in the bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant service was a little below par. The coffee machine was switched off before diners had finished eating so fresh coffee was not on offer at the end of the meal. We were offered instant coffee instead! This was the only negative point during our stay.

    The bed was very comfortable. We liked the fact that bottled water was supplied. The room was very clean and had good facilities. Cleaning staff, reception and bar staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have read other reviews of how wonderful the breakfast was, but mine was not so great. Everything was fresh, but the order was muddled, so I didn't get what I wanted, it was not worth raising at the time, so it was not a disaster.

    Room was great, unfortunately no bath, probably my mistake as I just booked the room without checking. Massive bed, good TV with loads of working channels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The morning staff service on the whole pretty unresponsive Had to wait for things and constantly having to ask more than once They were polite enough but seemed very inexperienced

    A hotel of real character and history Clean Well situated

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit too warm.

    The hotel and restaurant far exceeded our expectations. The room was very clean with a very comfortable bed and pillows. The staff were very friendly and helpful, even going as far as finding a phone charger as we had left it at home. We ate in the restaurant for the 3 nights we stayed and the food was always excellent. The breakfast menu was also excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room overlooked the beer garden so there was some noise from late night drinkers.

    The room was cosy and clean with a lovely shower. The restaurant evening meal was excellent as was the breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everything.

    We had an excellent evening meal in the restaurant, not too pricy. Breakfast was included and was outstanding, from the fresh pineapple and melon to the flaky croissants and the full cooked breakfast with grilled mushrooms (instead of the sloppy mush that usually passes for mushrooms). Very spacious room, modern decor, quiet. Sunny terrace in front of hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too hard for me have now got frozen shoulder . My husband was ok with the bed . Would have liked more vegetarian options as none on specials board .

    Excellent breakfast and excellent desserts !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only issue was wifi wasn't working and the evening meal service is really slow

    Excellent breakfast service really good decor ,really clean ,great rooms ,great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towel rail in the bathroom is the only form of heating in that room and unfortunately, was not working. It was a cool day/night last Wednesday and the bathroom has no secondary glazing , so subsequently, rather 'chilly' having a shower. The sash windows (by their very nature), in the bathroom, do not fit so well and as it was rather windy, they rattled!

    The bed was very comfortable and the web-cam on the roof, transmitting a lovely 'moving picture' onto the room's television, was a bonus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cold coffee at first breakfast

    Staff exceptionally helpful Lovely old building with a good atmosphere Good place to stay as in centre of blanford with loads of parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We find unloading our luggage and getting it into the hotel is difficult because there is no access for cars to the front door.

    Our room was a good size and cozy, the bathroom was spacious and the staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy when the kitchen was cleaning up last thing at night. Poor selection of fruit at breakfast time on the last two days, and no Greek yoghurt despite it being on the menu

    Good quality evening meals and very comfortable beds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The decor of the entire place is lovely, very clean throughout as well! Location was brilliant and as soon as we got there we went out for a little wander around blandford. Gorgeous pub garden and friendly staff. Room facilities were lovely as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was very hot and was above what I presume was the outside bin area so was very noisy until quite late.

    The location in Blandford is excellent, plenty of parking and the staff were helpful and very welcoming

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The full English was a little on the small side and the bar could have done with a few more staff! But that’s it.

    It was a good all round hotel with a lovely atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was slightly noisy at times but that was the guests in the hotel, not the fault of the hotel

    Every thing was very good, friendly staff and good accomodation

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints, a really excellent hotel in every way with interesting historical character. Easy parking, very pleasant receptionist and excellent quality breakfast, bed and room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great welcome - really friendly and efficient reception desk. Didn't immediately want my credit card and got me a table for dinner with an open ended arrival time. Very comfortable room overlooking the high street. Loved it and hope I'll get the chance to stay again soon

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not like the taste of the coffee which we were told had cocoa, black cherry and liquorice flavours. The tea had little actual flavour - we had been in the tea and coffee dealers in the City of London for 40 years so feel able to comment.

    The breakfast food was displayed appetisingly and staff were helpful though seemed overwhelmed at times. We liked having fresh fruit at breakfast. Room staff were obliging and the desk staff cheerful and keen to make us comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast staff didn't appear to be paying attention, too busy? A couple of times we had to ask for something already ordered, one lass missed a request, spoiled the weekend a tad, but not enough to stop us going back. The back room, (common room?) would be perfection if it wasn't so noisy, from the bar

    Loved the bar food, almost all staff were friendly and welcoming, knew their stuff, a couple were a little distracted and missed bits

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brusque and not very friendly staff at breakfast on the 2 mornings we were there. Would've liked a txt or email to advise car park closed when we arrived.

    Lovely friendly reception team. Always make us feel very welcome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Think there was a flagpole on the wall outside and it was a very breezy morning, so was awakened by the noise of the flagpole flexing in the wind!

    Nice comfortable room. Excellent lounge bar area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Found nothing we didn't like.

    Made very welcome from the moment we booked in. We had our dog with us. They let us have our evening meal with her in the bar area and without asking arranged our breakfast there as well. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Food very good and room was lovely - memories of a true hotel, not like the functional chains you see everywhere now. Loved our stay - will go back

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining menu was limited so weren’t able to eat dinner every night

    Rooms were clean and comfortable, staff in bar, restaurant, reception and rooms were all excellent so friendly and helpful. We have stayed here before a number of times and will always come back highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    We have stayed at the Crown on several occasions over a period of years. and each time have been well satisfied with everything. My one suggestion is that on this questionnaire, you give space for husband/wife option.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Flooring in bathroom isn't particularly pleasant - same type as in a travel lodge/premier inn

    Fantastically comfy bed. Have stayed a couple of times before and the stay is always very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was outstanding

    Superb hotel, amazing decor, homely and trendy, staff superb and food to die for. Great value, will definitely return. Highly recommend

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in the restaurant could have been more attentive. Had to ask to get service / items that should have been offered as a part of the meal.

    Beautiful old building with many quirky features. Lively bar with good seating. Good food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Towel rail in the bathroom did not work and on a cold wet afternoon a warm towel would have been nice but hey ho its not life or death.

    Warm, friendly greeting. All staff at all times were very helpful, chatty and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. Amazing comfy bed and pillows. Delicious food and service in the restaurant for our evening meal and at breakfast. Great location for country walks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Restrictive menu selection for breakfast with over cooked streaky bacon, no back bacon available. Restaurant was expensive for a evening meal, didn't use for this reason used local Restaurants which were cheaper and had a better selection. Poor storage facilities, only small drawers available. The large wardrobe could have been easily modified as the middle section is unused. The Night Light in the Bathroom operated via a ceiling mounted movement sensor is a good facility, however the operating "Dwell Time" i.e. the length of time that the Night Light is on is too short resulting in the light going off at inconvenient moments (reactivated by waving your arms around). No Hair Dyer provided, according to the Receptionist it should have been hanging in the wardrobe. Only one mirror light in the Bathroom should be one either side of the mirror, would have preferred an illuminated magnifying mirror light for shaving. Noise from the room above with people walking across the timber floor and dragging chairs. Its an old building but the acoustic attenuation should be improved. The timber floor is acting as a sounding board reflecting the sound downwards.

    The room was at the rear of the hotel and was quiet, couldn't hear the noise from the Pub below. The mattress was firm with a selection of two types of pillows resulting in a good nights sleep. The room was large and this time of the year nice and warm a nice plus point. Free Internet access. Good car parking, had no problem finding a parking space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We arrived late and left early on our way to the port at Poole. Will definitely be back loved the decor friendly staff great room and good price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wrote 3 separate email emphasising fgat I was traveling with a two year old and would need a cot and the heating turned on so the room was warm and also stated likely arrival 10 am to which we didn’t arrive til gone 12:30. To which I had a confirmation that all would be done prior to arrival. We arrived at 12:30 to which the receptionist eventually got to us to say that the room would be ready by 3 pm and it was two single beds I said is there a cot in there she said I said please ensure tree is one in the room Prior to our return she said fine. On our arrival back at 5pm there was no one on the desk and eventually someone come we got our key and off we traut to the 2nd floor. To a beautiful room however right out side the lift right by the stairwell with no bath tub only a disabled shower. And the there was no heating on the room was 17.5 degrees and it was 4 degrees outside. I was shocked to say the least so I went down stairs and rang the bell 2 - 3 times til eventually a lovely person came to help me she showed me one room which was around the very back of the hotel which was freezing cold and no view only a fire escape I could have stayed in London with a better view. We eventually settled for a room over the bar at least it had a bath and was semi warm however was right on the roadside. Therefore the person could do nothing more at this time for me how ever I didn’t sleep both nights til gone past 01:00 as the noise was terrible and the smoke from outside comes straight into your room. In future I suggest that who ever deals with special booking eg family request puts them in place with some thought the middle room above room 6 on second floor would have been more suitable for a child however for a mere £200 it was over priced for what we got in Blandford forum. Also the lady in the morning told me where I sat to eat breakfast wasn’t opened it was only available for lunch.

    The rooms are beautiful and the free parking is a bonus

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our only gripe was the very flaky Wi-Fi on the second floor, although a guest on the first floor said her reception was fine. The trouble is, we have all come to rely on iPads and laptops these days and have this constant need - or desire - to stay in touch; yes, even on one's way to a funeral! We had a room with shower only; next time we may well ask for a room with a bath, which my husband prefers, whereas I am happy with a shower. This shower unit was of generous dimensions which is always good!

    We broke our journey at The Crown en route, sadly, to a funeral. Located centrally in Blandford with plenty of parking for guests, we easily located the hotel which was in the style of a traditional coaching inn. We were met with a very friendly welcome and lots of local knowledge. Our afternoon snack was of large proportion which filled us up, such that we did not want an evening meal! We next dined at breakfast the following morning, opting for the full English which had very tasty sausages, although the coffee could have been hotter. For any future stay, we noted that The Crown was dog-friendly which pleased us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one case rack could have done with another as there wasn't much storage space.

    The room was comfortable and warm with lots of hot water. The food was excellent and every member of staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed wasn't as comfortable as we thought it would be. Room a bit noisy as it overlooked the front

    Food was excellent. Staff very friendly. Hotel in excellent position

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing!

    My husband and sisters were in Blandford for a family funeral, and staying for one night only. The rooms we were allocated were fabulous- so spacious and furnished beautifully in keeping with the style of the property. The beds and bed linens were lovely, and there were plenty of tea and coffee supplies in the rooms. The staff at reception and in the restaurant and bar were so pleasant and helpful. We had our evening meal in the hotel restaurant and the food was wonderful. We couldn't have chosen a better hotel, and wished we had been there under different circumstances.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room 11's vista. With hindsight, before booking again we would ask ' what is the view from the room's window ? ' Others might not mind a view of the fire escape. The live-time video was novel however.

    The unspoilt bygone age atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food and drink could have been hotter. More control over room temperature. No safety handle over bath.

    Decor, ambience, comfort, friendliness of staff, overall sense of efficiency.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Possibly breakfast to be served a bit later, but nothing else,

    Staff always friendly, receptionist always happy to see you. Ladies in the restaurant are very good, nothing too much trouble.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Next time I'd request a second floor room and on the first floor you hear the people above - no carpets, wooden floors. Stayed here multiple times, never had that issue before, so I'm guessing most of the time we've been on the second floor by default.

    Cooked breakfast that you can specify, even though that option isn't on the standard menu.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly, on this occasion my visit was a bit less than satisfactory. There was some sort of family function in the bar area, which resulted in children running around in the bar area. Not really for me, but apart from that my stay was good as usual .

    I stayed here a few times, and it will always be my first choice when working in the area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed sadly wasn’t that comfortable and the breakfast was more style over substance for a cooked breakfast. It tasted great but was lacking in size, and toast!

    Room was lovely and the bath was a real feature. Great sized room too - you could spend several nights here reasonably comfortably

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee not quite up to standard.Air conditioning difficult to adjust .

    Excellent breakfast witha good choice of dishes and extras, for example fruit and pastries

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly, I had an issue when I found something in my dinner that shouldn't have been there! The duty manager dealt with the issue quickly and professionally.

    I love this hotel because of the beautifully decorated rooms. The theme is consistent throughout the hotel. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was all good.

    The staff were very friendly. On arrival our welcome was wonderful. The room was spacious, stylish, warm. Huge comfortable bed. Excellent shower. Liked the tv home screen which was cctv feed across The stour valley. We arrived as a blizzard arrived. Even so next morning an excellent breakfast was served. Just can’t fault this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    having to take the dog out for a wee before having a morning cuppa but can't hold the hotel responsible for that!!

    Friendliness of the staff and the relaxed atmosphere, the wonderful way the property reflects the period when it was built and the wealth of places to see in town and around.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bitter, Sweet Experience at the Crown. Cons: Sound/insulation poor. Could hear every footstep from room above and could hear music from bar below. But it stopped approx. 23:30, so didn’t impact on sleep. Tips for future travellers: I had my hire car scratched with a key (on purpose) in their car park….not what you would expect in leafy Dorset. The hotel doesn’t have CCTV in the back car-park, only in the front section by the main door. I understand that anyone could scratch your car anywhere, but it does make you leave on a sour note. Try to park in the front section by the front door. Top floor room might be a quieter option. Overall, would stay again if we ever go back to Blandford.

    Bitter, Sweet Experience at the Crown. Pros: Good central location in Blandford. Lovely décor in the bedrooms/bathrooms. Comfy beds and good facilities. Very helpful staff at breakfast (sorry didn’t get his name) …very pleasant, thank you. Great Breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surfaces in rooms a bit cluttered Toilet roll holder in difficult position Shower facilities not well designed as the bathroom floor gets wet

    Interesting rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A residents lounge would be nice. It’s a very busy hotel/restaurant. So finding some where to sit and relax is hard to come across at busy times.

    The bed was very comfortable. The staff were great, so helpful nothing was too much trouble. We have stayed several times before whilst visiting family. Never disappoints.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had no second chair. 2nd person choice hard back chair or bed. Breakfast down at 9 am. No pasties or muffins fruit left. I requested from menu granola told they didn't serve it any more!!! Why on menus. No one had cleared other used table so sat amongst 4 tables uncleared. Crumbs food on chairs floor. Was enough staff to clear up. Depressing surroundings. Evening staff need customer and table waiting experience.

    Broken door lock was fixed by manager in 5 minutes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food is great and the staff are all really friendly. Rooms are well laid out and the beds are really comfy. I have used this hotel a handful of times and will certainly book again the next time I'm in the area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found that the staff serving breakfast were a little keen to rush you out of the restaurant. Personally I prefer to help myself to breakfast at my own pace, so maybe a little more self service could be considered in the future

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service was excellent, however dinner service was poor. The food was delicious though.

    Family room, exceptional. Two separate bedrooms. Decorated to high standard. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t really think of anything we didn’t like.

    We had only one night at this charming old inn, and wished we could have stayed longer. After a long journey, we and our cocker spaniel were given a warm friendly welcome. We stayed with our teenage daughter (and aforementioned dog) in a very comfortable family room, which were really 2 connected by a bathroom. It had everything we needed and more besides, with a smart tv in each room and a generous selection of teas and coffees and squashy towels. The inn is a delightful blend of graceful period features with stylish touches and thoughtful modern comfort. We’ll definitely be back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found blue room very dark for my eyes. No weetabix or muesli available for breakfast which is pretty standard other hotels.

    Service excellent. Could have done with some help with luggage.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointed in the state of the mens toilet adjacent to the bar. Very dirty with urine etc. Not what one would have expected

    Our meals and the service was fine

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The taps in the bathroom and the shower looked good but difficult to use. Very stiff and unresponsive. Tea at breakfast tasted odd and not hot enough - but we’re fussy about tea.

    The room was comfortable, parking available, good location with plenty of restaurants nearby. Pleasant staff and good choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only problem was the floor boards above squeaked when person walked around, and you could hear the dining room below. Hovered up at 1am in morning.

    The room was to an excellent standard, breakfast great and plenty of choose. All staff were great. well done.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no badger best beer. blunt careless attitude of one young member of the bar staff,

    large comfortable room after we had changed rooms to get a sit in bath

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was really very little to be negative about but if we were going to give 10 out of 10 we’d have to say that the breakfast tea didn’t taste very nice (mum in law should have asked for another variety but didn’t want to make a fuss). And our chicken pies at dinner were a bit disappointing. Not much chicken and maybe a tarragon sauce would have made them a bit more interesting flavour wise. Our triple cooked chips were however lovely.

    We loved the style of the building, the buzzy atmosphere as you walked in, that it was very dog friendly (We have stayed in places where our accommodation has been in a block away from the main building and had to eat in rooms that were infrequently used, cold and uninviting all because we have a dog with us). The Crown Hotel made us all feel welcome. Our rooms were charming and beautifully decorated with some really lovely touches. We couldn’t eat in the restaurant of course because of the dog but they had set up a table for us in the bar which was warm and friendly with a good buzzy atmosphere so that was good. We were also travelling with my mum in law who was delighted that there was a lift to take her up to her floor and that her room had a walk in ensure shower. Now we’ve found you we will definitely be back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy children running around, noisy cellar work til 10pm, noisy guests 1am.

    Beautiful decor, great location, delicious breakfast, good customer service at front desk

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Crown Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: