Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Crown Lodge 4 stars

83 Avenue Road, Torquay, TQ2 5LH, United Kingdom

#111 of 119 B&Bs and Inns in Torquay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 40 B&B reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean and comfortable with lovely little extras like biscuits and hot chocolate. The hosts were welcoming, friendly and helpful. The breakfast each morning was fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (4)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ok choice of cereal then TIN pineapple or TIN peaches for breakfast fruit?! No natural yogurt only strawberry or salted caramel. Orange juice in jug or apple drink in little cartons. And why if you have such a small bathroom put a side opening shower door that only just opens part way as toilet is in the way. Corner entry would have been more sensible! Internet connection is a joke. Very poor. They cannot blame the area as we stayed in a hotel just round the corner and internet was great there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot fault

    Excellent hosts, can't do enough for you, it's in a great location with free parking, and very clean. First class breakfast with great local ingredients

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (4)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure on the shower wasn’t too good ☹️But the water was hot 🙂

    The room and en suite was up to date and clean and the bed was very comfy. Also dvd selection offered which we thought was a nice touch and the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we were leaving, the owner insisted we hadn't paid. I, fortunately, had with me the booking.com email which clearly said we had. A lot of insistence that wasn't correct but in the end conceded that we had and printed me the receipt. I found that very stressful and embarrassing and despite being otherwise very satisfied I will not be staying there again.

    Very pleasant owners.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wash basin has a glass holder too close for comfort.

    This b&b is clean and comfortable and room 3 is a medium-sized double which has a bay window with a table and two chairs. The bathroom has a wet room shower and tiled throughout. Car parking is quite good with spaces for about 5 cars,although not a sea view property it's conveniently positioned. Breakfast was good and presented by the proprietors.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Our room was beautifully clean with comfortable beds and lots of little extras in the on-suite. Our hosts were really friendly and we were made to feel very welcome. Breakfast was fantastic with locally sourced ingredients, I highly recommend the sausages....we was just a short 15 minute walk from the beach and harbour. Will definitely be returning next time I'm down in Torquay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (4)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower wasn't great, but then electric showers never are, and the location was a good 30 minute walk into the main area which was mostly step climb when coming back so not good if your a little unfit.

    Really clean place, the little touches were well thought out, like iron and ironing board in the room, even nail clipper which I wouldn't use but it showed that they really did think about every little detail

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Personally I didn't have a problem, but my husband cut his head twice on the soap and toothbrush holder above the sink when washing his face, minor detail, but painful never the less.

    The room was clean and comfortable and the hosts were very welcoming. Parking was not a problem and the food was excellent and fresh. If you wanted more there was no problem.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (6)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet was unreliable (necessary for us) and owners not always available - had to ring a bell to contact them

    Very clean and comfortable, owners very welcoming

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor wifi internet. Had to struggle alot as we couldnt get wifi connection and poor mobile signal. An additional router on the floor would help

    Every basic need is taken care

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (4)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast ok - no orange juice asked for some and wife only put enough in jug for 2 small glasses! Nowhere as good as other places we have stayed at as no warmth or ambience emanating from owners.

    Nothing great to like!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great, especially for our elderly Parents. Rooms, parking and breakfast were great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything... the hosts are friendly and helpful and welcoming. Excellent breakfast aswell.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly , clean. Lovely people and great breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (6)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing every thing was better than expected

    Room comfortable breakfast was excellent owners very knowledgeable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything to dislike

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (4)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The Scrambled Egg I remember from the previous time we visited The Crown Lodge.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    lots of little extras we often comment are missing in other B&Bs

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (4)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very clean friendly hotel. great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (4)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything hotel in great place and just a genuinely lovely stay brilliant hotel and great people who manger there

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (4)
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good

    Very nice

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was light and very clean. Friendly staff. More to be desired for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (4)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine :)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (4)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main Rd noisy

    Very clean and excellent bkfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room very clean and provided all comforts that would be expected of this type of accommodation.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not sure the room was what we booked, breakfast on the last morning not very good, had to wait for toast when everyone around us got thiers, luke warm and the lady of the house was quite rude to us, friendly to others ; slammed the plates down and snatched the menus, until that happened we were thinkingof sstaying on but keft instead.

    Small place not over crowded, gentleman of the house was nice and polite.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed in room 3 for 3 nights. Lovely room with bay window which can be quite a suntrap (when it shines). Rooms spotlessly clean, excellent hosts with great touches ranging from dealing with our slightly earlier than planned arrival, through to the fantastic breakfast choices. Will stay again next time we are in the area.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would've liked a bigger room. but for one night it was adequate

    The owners were very helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable and spotless. The breakfast was excellent. We will go back.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    simple NOTHING AT ALL

    The owners and the attention to detail ,spotless room ,i can go on and on ,superb hotel ,!!!!!! I AM SURE THEY ARE PROUND OF IT AND SO THEY SHOULD BE .

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Breakfast hearty and good room was excellent and as my wife was disabledwas perfect for us grground floor access easily accessible

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff, nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing we didn't like about the place

    This was the second time we stayed at the Crown Lodge this year and we do like the hotel

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Loved everything about this b&b,it's spotless with good quality furnishings and enjoyed a hearty breakfast. Would stay again.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly, clean and a fantastic breakfast. Would stay again, highly recommended

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Being an older building the room and shower were too cramped

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very clean and comfortable. Owners very helpful. And friendly

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Made very welcome spotlessly clean great location

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sunny room, nice breakfast

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: