Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Crown Hotel 3 stars

High Street, Nantwich, CW5 5AS, United Kingdom

#3 of 4 hotels in Nantwich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 698 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    5.0
    It was quaint and the staff were very efficient and so...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was lumpy and room was noisy due to people outside in the mews at the pub listening to loud music

    It was quaint and the staff were very efficient and so helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.1
    Got what you paid for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stairs and floor felt a bit unstable. Bathroom very small, shower not great. Staff having disagreements in public.

    Location was good. Dinners were very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    A nice stay, we'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have had a shower curtain for the shower over the bath but plenty of hot water for the bath alternative.

    Friendly staff, restaurant food was delicious, rooms were clean and fairly comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Central location right in centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just hand held shower over bath & no shower screen would have been better if proper shower but managed well enough with bath.

    Central location right in centre of town. Good breakfast. Nice ‘olde worlde’ place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.7
    A good stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a warm day and our room was so hot with little air circulation. Beware of low door frames - my head was introduced to one in an unguarded moment and I can confirm they are made of solid wood. The bed was fairly comfortable but even the slightest of movements resulted in creaks and squeaks (which kept waking our dog). We stayed on a Monday night and Nantwich seemed like a ghost town

    It’s definitely a quirky, old building with the main areas nicely modernised and decorated whilst retaining their charm. The staff were friendly. The room was pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.9
    Central to where we needed to go.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central to where we needed to go. Staff excellent. We needed to get into our room early to change for a funeral and this had been arranged for us even though we were really early. Excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.3
    Location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were distracted. Only one coffee at breakfast, forgot to bring more. Although bath, sink and toilet themselves were spotless behind toilet and corners could have done with good clean.

    Location is excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely overnight stay, will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower cubicle in my bathroom (room 3?) was a little cramped as there was a shower curtain instead of a door, so it was a little difficult to manoeuvre without it sticking to you. However, there's space to hang toiletries so that made things easier

    it was very special to stay in this listed building, with its oak beams and slightly sloping floors The staff were all really helpful and friendly, felt very welcomed Location - a easy short walk to the Nantwich Show which was the reason for my visit Food in the restaurant and at breakfast - tasty and good value for money Comfortable and clean room Free wifi (though a bit patchy at times)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    2.5
    I can't rate as I didn't book in, as I accept it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Send a reminder - the hotel looked like it would have been great, but I guess I will never know now!

    I can't rate as I didn't book in, as I accept it was my fault for forgetting, but in todays IT world an email or text to remind me would have made all the difference, customer service therefore, in my opinion, poor.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.5
    The quirky staircase and floors a d the quality breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very nice but with no aircon we had to have the window open slightly which meant not much sleep with the late night revellers plus not enough parking space had to pay for local council parking overnight i

    The quirky staircase and floors a d the quality breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is in an excellent location right in the town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room only had a roof-light but realise that we were ' on a deal' and could not expect the best room. It was in any case very comfortable.

    The hotel is in an excellent location right in the town centre. We were able to park free of charge at the rear. A real old 'black and white' building with good atmosphere. The staff were all great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.4
    Rundown
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Feels old but not in a good way. Tired furniture and fittings. Could be so much better with some investment

    Lovely old building. Younger staff members were very helpful and friendly. Dog welcoming

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    Lovely staff and good facilities but an uncomfortable nights sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was stuffy and extremely hot. We had the worst nights sleep, then we were rudely woken up by possibly staff of the hotel emptying bottle bins outside our window. Which we had to keep open due to the stuffiness of our room, I felt that the size of the window for the room was too small possible some air conditioning in the room would help. Due to our lack of sleep and uncomfortable night we missed breakfast. However the staff were really lovely and the hotel had character.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Everything was excellent couldn't fault it, only issue...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent couldn't fault it, only issue we had was with the TV and the lovely male receptionist solved our problem, we came back late that night as we were out drinking and he was no bother letting us back in the property, over all a brilliant stay, just thought the TV was due for an upgrade

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noithging

    The hotel is very old so i am sure there is only so much they can do but this added to the charm the staff were great and very friendly dinner was nice and the pionist in the bar was lovely a great place to stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    Not a bad stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and the shower cubicle so small it was almost impossible (and I'm 5'4"). Breakfast finished at 9am?!

    Fabulous location, gorgeous bar, beautiful building

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.5
    An ancient black and white timber building with uneven floors and stairs but updated for comfort.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The valve of the mixer tap/shower unit was jammed making it impossible to have a shower. No bath mat was provided.

    The sizes of the room and bathroom were ample. The Cavalier breakfast had the choice of kippers as well as full English. A Gideon's Bible was provided.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    it was ok and the brine pool nearby was great
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the stairs were extra crooked - ie to the point of being dangerous the breakfast was poor - a choice of continental or cooked. both were quite limited and not value for money. no sense of real choice, not much variety, no fresh fruit!

    the staff were great they really helped us out with a late booking for a table for 12 in the bar and grill - food was really good there and service fantastic

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.9
    A relaxing stay in a welcoming, well-located hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As mentioned, we have stayed before so we knew that, although the facilities are very good, one has to be aware that in places the floors can be very uneven (it is over 500 years old after all) Those less mobile will have to take extra care; to be fair the hotel does pre-warn you and the staff are more than willing to help carry cases and offer assistance. We will definitely return.

    We’ve stayed before and it remains a welcoming, comfortable hotel. Staff extremely efficient and the restaurant offers a range of meals of high standard. If you want to stay in the Nantwich area this hotel could not be better located being in the centre of town with its own car parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location/restaurant. Rooms could do better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds not the best quality. Decor could do with an upgrade. Shower room fan noisy and door stiff to close. Window difficult to open due to blinds. Did not have breakfast due to previous experience of it in the past - didn't compare well with evening meals on offer.

    The restaurant staff and food make this hotel worth staying in. Also warm welcome at check-in from Sophie gave good impression. Bar is also quite cosy and full of history and character with interesting items on display to admire and read. Location could not be more central. Twin room 19 is on the best side of the hotel to avoid noise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    Staff really friendly and the hotel is so quirky with so...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls are a bit thin in the bedrooms so you do hear noises throughout the night but if you're looking for an easy, comfy place to stay for a night or two, I would recommend.

    Staff really friendly and the hotel is so quirky with so much history. The room was really cool with old black and white mud walls!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Very central to where we were attending a family wedding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very central to where we were attending a family wedding. A very atmospheric place with oodles of history. Loved the black and white facade of the building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel in the centre of the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower cubicle was very tight and quite a step up, as I currently have an injured leg this made access difficult.

    Nice hotel in the centre of the town. Due to its age the floors and walls are uneven which adds to the charm. breakfast was freshly cooked and large. Pleasant and helpful staff. We didn't eat here so I cannot comment on the food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Dog-friendly, staff friendly, friends came to visit and loved the place, food and service.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beautiful old stairs proved a bit daunting for the dog. Nothing else.

    The absolutely “can do” attitude of the staff, the totally dog-friendly policy of the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    Thoroughly enjoyed overall expetience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Enjoyed our stay in a place full of character. Dinner and Breakfast was lovely. Staff polite and friendly. Will return again when visiting the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Food very good, catered for gluten free, staff lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room a little dated but very clean

    Bed very comfy - floors uneven in the room, stairs very narrow and uneven but this was due to the age and structure of the building. Staff lovely, breakfast very good, restaurant very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.0
    Weekend stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired , expensive with poor quality room , poor bed and pillow, all the staff very polite and helpful , it’s not their fault the place needs a total refurb, I only stay as a last resort and central , always a room here and that’s probably why. They will do anything to help

    Central

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    5.8
    Poor quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cramped, barely hot water, short hose on mixer shower and no shower curtain or hook for shower head

    Good location, ok for one night stopover, wouldn’t want to be there any longer. Staff were friendly on reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    Good but could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Man on reception who checked me in was quite rude, didn’t look at me when he spoke to me, no welcoming smile and was very abrupt! Only about three sheets on the loo roll and no replacement!

    Food in the restaurant was excellent although service a little slow and there seemed to be an issue getting the right tonic water to go with my gin! Beautiful building and Nantwich as a place was stunning

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    3.3
    Avoid if you want a good nights sleep
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wow . . .where do I start. This is not a four star hotel, although rated so on this site and other sites. Rooms are very tired. Walls are thin, meaning you can hear what is going on next door. Colleagues who had rooms at the front had to put up with noise of people being sick outside during the night and being kept awake by other guests TV's. Room I had had a dormer window with no window covering which meant waking with the sun. Extractor fan in the bathroom did not work property, bed was bouncy like a trampoline and paint was peeling off the walls. Meals were mediocre at best, breakfast was a rip off and not value for money. Manager was arrogant when I discussed issues with him. I note that other guests were also complaining and got the same response.

    The building exterior is lovely and downstairs dining area was pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable stay and will definitely be back in future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the breakfast was satisfactory on visiting the cafes in Nantwich you can get more for your money so I'd be tempted to go room only next time.

    The convenience of the location as we had a soul music event in the ballroom which I may add is a great venue for any type if function.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Really enjoyed the atmosphere of an old coaching inn right in the town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a quirky old coaching inn with loads of character. It is perfectly situated right in the town centre. The bar is fun and although we didn't eat there it looked like good pub grub being served.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all good

    The building is 16th century it's beautiful. It's clean and welcoming and the staff cannot do enough for you. The food served us lovely and all homemade

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    Quaint and great restaurant- perfect for a leisure break
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to stay for leisure - quaint and quirky- a little more difficult for business as not so great for working in the room. Room 10 is lovely- mind your head - but hot with a small window opening out onto the pedestrian area that can get a little shouty at closing time. It’s on the top floor up some very historic and wonky stairs, you need to be nimble and have light luggage!

    Staff were excellent- welcoming, friendly and helpful. Location great and free parking a bonus. The restaurant had a great menu.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Fine to suit my needs and in a prime location
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    A more comfortable bed. The car park is tricky to find with limited parking for just 8 cars

    All the staff are very pleasant and friendly. The food in the restaurant is first class as well as the breakfast. The bed was not the most comfortable I have ever slept in but for just one night was acceptable. There was no view from the window since the only window was a dormer in the ceiling but then I never requested a room with a view. I would still return next time I'm in Nantwich.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.3
    Still enjoyed the character the bar and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Workmen were allowed to start work in the corridor at 7.30 in the morning.they made a fair amount of noise. Where as this did not bother me in particular it may bother other guests. I thought it was disrespectful of management to allow this to happen.

    The restaurant and location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.3
    A little to expensive for room, old and tired sanitary wear and bed uncomfortable, ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single beds were very soft and unbalanced, the sink in bathroom old and cracked, shower was either freezing or boiling hot.

    The hotel is in the ideal area for town centre, & staff were friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.5
    Central location characterful hotel - but a bit shabby
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its OK - I like it - Just ignore the 4* rating - a bit shabby in places - slowly upgrading. Front facing rooms extremely noisy from street revellers till early hours - especially weekends. Rooms vary wildly in size / appearance so request if you want a particular room.

    Very old, interesting historic timber framed hotel - Great position in middle of town - Ideal for nearby bars and restaurants then back to room for rest before going out again. Free parking at rear. Ideal for 1 or 2 nights. Staff very helpful. Not expensive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable stay with cosy real fire in the bar area and spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very bouncy.

    Lovely old, quirky hotel right in the middle of Nantwich shopping centre. Car parking was easy. All staff very friendly. We even had sandwiches made by the night manager after the kitchen had closed. You can't ask for more service than that.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    very relaxing had a lovely room everything was perfect the staff were very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing at all the staff were wonderfully pleasant.

    wonderful atmosphere nothing was too much trouble will definitely stay again thanks to Susan and Robbie for a wonderful stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.3
    Character of the building, location, quirkiness, food,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room not very clean, holes in walls and windows with strong, freezing wind blowing through

    Character of the building, location, quirkiness, food, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    The stay was exceptional thank you Crown hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing I did not like so really cannot say more The whole experience was first class

    The room was very nice and comfortable and the welcome from the staff was excellent The fish in batter and chips were so tasty and breakfast very good too The hotel is in a very old building and with lots of history - great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    Friendly, helpful staff at this characterful, pet friendly pub! Loved our stay, we will be back!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Saturday night is noisy outside so take ear plugs with you!

    Quirky, lots of character, nice bar and restaurant. The staff couldn't do enough to help. There was no parking spaces initially but they soon sorted this out. The breakfast room isn't for dogs so they set us up in another room, which I'm sure was a pain for them but they were perfectly pleasant about it! The restaurant was lovely and there was even a dog bowl waiting at our reserved table - so thoughtful!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    Atrractive and quirky hotel with a nice atmosphere but in need of an update!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have not purposefully written this review until I have had some time to reflect upon our stay at The Crown, so that it is a representative of how we both felt about our stay. I have to honestly say that we were both disappointed in the standard of the room given the price we paid for it. The weather was very cold (-1.5 degrees on our car trip computer) but there was no heating in the room when we arrived. The staff immediately attended to our concern and helpfully opened up the radiator valve in the room and switched on 2 hot air-blown heaters which, by the time we returned to the room after the party, had raised the room temperature. However, the windows were the original wooden sliding sash windows and were very draughty; it was a very cold night. By the next morning the radiator was only lukewarm by 8 a.m. so we decided to have our breakfast at a nearby coffee shop. In our humble opinion, and as a developer who specialises in listed and heritage properties, the room we stayed in would benefit from an update and refurbishment with some simple measures to improve warmth and comfort: a modern double panel radiator, with the correct size pipework (not 10mm microbore) and sensitively installed and fitted secondary glazing units on the windows, would be a good start.

    The hotel was in a great location in Nantwich and was the venue of my friend's birthday party so we decided to stay there instead of finding a local B&B or other local hotel. When we arrived the hotel had a friendly atmosphere with lots of guests/visitors to the bar downstairs and the staff were welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.5
    Well located in Town Centre with private parking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was OK,(room 5) but the bathroom needed work. A floppy showerhead above the bath, which works of of the taps is like something from the 1970s, and not satisfactory.

    Well located in Town Centre with private parking. Staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble. I asked for decaff tea and Porridge at Breakfast- they did not have it on the menu, but went out and purchased some so I could get the breakfast I wanted.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    I was whisked away to another time and place. Great location, amazing building.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs may be a challenge for some people as they are very steep and wonky!

    This place is like something from Harry Potter! From the wonky rooms and stairs, to the quirky beams, it really whisked me away to another time and place! It was nice to find a bath as well as shower facilities for a change! The location is great, and even though there is a thriving restaurant underneath, I couldn't hear a thing from my room, which was nice and clean with a good selection of teas and coffees.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    6.3
    Lovely building, friendly staff But!!!!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay room wise was not to good, bathroom fixtures all dated and well worn, big crack in the sink, shower that was either boiling hot or freezing cold no in-between, bathroom door that would not close, shades missing off wall lights and some sort of boiler behind door in our room very noisy and not the most comfortable of beds. I appreciate it’s an old building but there is no excuse for the items mentioned and general room maintenance

    The property was great and a lovely quirky old property. Excellent restaurant, lovely helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Quintessentially English
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of cooking traveled upstairs.

    Brilliant old property full of character and charm. Fantastic location with parking in town centre. Quintessentially Old World English just as you imagine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.8
    Delightful character filled hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located right in the centre of town, this hotel was comfortable, had lots of character and delightful staff with great food in the downstairs restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic time, wonderful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to fault!

    The staff were very helpful, the young man who even came out and showed me where to park in their little private spaces. We hadn't booked for dinner, and only wanted a couple of sandwiches and the staff grabbed us a table an happily accommodated us! We were told how to get back in through the main gates after closing hours, as we were out at a dance that night, and although I did not have to use this method as they were still open, they went out of their way to show!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Don't stay at the front of the hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly we didn't enjoy our stay at the Crown. Had we known how rowdy the Nantwich-locals are on a Saturday night/Sunday morning we would have asked for a room at the back of the hotel. As it was it was a dreadful night's sleep! Also, if you want to eat in the restaurant at the Crown make sure you book in advance as they don't hold back any tables for residents. So, although I am sure the food is fine we didn't get to enjoy that.

    Breakfast was really good, the staff are great and very efficient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    The staff were very friendly .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't not like anything

    The staff were very friendly . The location was perfect and the room was full of character and spotlessly clean . I cannot fault my stay at all .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    4.6
    Not likely to go back.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast - no fresh fruit, juices, spreads, bread, or pastries - just one poor waitress taking all the complaints from other guests Creakiest room I’ve ever stayed in and I was in the more modern part of the hotel. Not been maintained in years.

    Good beer

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.3
    Great people, good food, nice location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    extremely old hotel. Water pressure on top floor rooms do not allow you to take a hot shower. Floors are so slopped that you can feel like you are going to role out of bed.

    Great people, good food, nice location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    8.8
    The quirkiness and character of the old rooms and the stairs...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting woke up at 7am by deliveries on a Sunday morning when we had been up a a function at the hotel until 2am

    The quirkiness and character of the old rooms and the stairs etc. The restaurant was also excellent. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.1
    The bathroom was in a very poor condition,
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom.

    The bathroom was in a very poor condition, The door would not shut. The extractor fan was not working. The sink was cracked. The bath plug did not work, a wedge was used to empty out water. The shower was not a mixer unit, either very hot or cold.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.2
    Great central location in a very historic building
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a twin room which was OK but it only had a small window high up so we couldn't see out.

    Lovely old quirky building right in the centre of Nantwich

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay, enjoyed location and event, and hotel Facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have booked 'walk in' shower ,large comfortable bathroom but shower over bath not easy to manage for partner .

    Menu varied, gins excellent!...interesting building and location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.1
    Lots of character and good deal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was not that comfortable and room a little noisy but that is to be expected for an old hotel in the centre of town.

    Character and forgot to hand my key in at the end but manager was very friendly and just told me to post it back. Food is a bit expensive but very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    3.8
    Location very good but felt the staff had no interest in my stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not being made welcome,

    Caretaker giving me breakfast Location I had left my phone charger in my room which was found and will be collected at a latter date

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    4.2
    Like walking through a funhouse mirror into hell.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I expected a room with even floors and bed, and lots of hot water for a bath. This place is soold it is nearly falling down. I felt extremely unsafe and left a day early.

    The staff was lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel. Could do better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service is not great. Nobody at reception when checking in, and no bell or anything to call anybody to reception. Was left alone at breakfast for 10 minutes after being greeted and not even asked if wanted tea or coffee. I had to go looking for staff and in doing so found a dog sitting outside the kitchen, which I didn’t think was appropriate on the landing inside a hotel!

    Nice period hotel. Needs a bit of modernisation but comfortable. Staff were courteous enough but lacked basic customer service expected in this trade.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.5
    Nice, plenty of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Seems hypocritical to pick it up on this when I praised it for its character and age, but it is difficult to get around with heavy bags. It comes with the territory, with a hotel this age and there is no grounds for complaint but be advised of the fact and if it is a consideration then plan carefully. My friend managed to let off a smoke alarm just by using the shower. This may have been partly her fault as she is from Central Asia where in winter rooms are maintained at 28 degrees, and she probably just let the water run to warm up, but it was a bit disconcerting to be waking the whole hotel up for it.

    Very interesting to stay in a hotel close on 400 years old. Real character. If you want a more interesting experience than simply a lift and a room, then this is a decent option.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    8.3
    This was a memorable and unconventional experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no view, except of the backs of other parts of the building (I was in room 1).

    I was astonished by the architecture and the setting of the hotel; the bed was comfortable and the staff superb.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.6
    very enjoyable. I would stay again but ask for an inside room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    noise from the street elow kept waking us up during the night and there was a draught from the window

    The food is excellent. It is a lovely old building

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    5.0
    Cosy fire
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no one individual staff member on reception , when we arrived we were booked in by the Chef !! , another could not serve us because he wasn't in uniform , when we checked out the waitress that had just served us breakfast checked us out , (and she didn't have a smile on her then neither), bit of a mish mash really , they could do with somebody at reception , whenever we went out of the hotel and came back there was never anybody on reception ,we had to wait around until a member of staff would spot you , then they would go round to the desk , room was poky as it was the last one available so obviously always leave that one till last , shower slow and trickly. Would i stay there again ? probably if no rooms available elsewhere, a pity , lovely building , needs a bit of TLC and more smiling staff especially at reception.

    Cosy fire

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    one night stay, ideal for purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room and hotel was very authentic with so much character, they let us check in slightly early in a room that was ready. staff all very helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    5.8
    Certainly would not stay there again.
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room, room 5, was along a windy corridor and actually in a building the other side of an alleyway from the main building. There was appalling old pop music playing somewhere. The room was like an oven when we arrived, and despite the radiator being off, and us opening both widows on a very cold night before going out for a few hours, it was extremely hot all night. We therefore slept with just the duvet cases over us and the windows open (still far too hot) - above the quite noisy alleyway and with the 'music' (possibly a compilation of the worse from the 60's and 70's). Being listed it was single glazed anyway, so closing the window made little difference. The building is so old that the floors tilt in all sorts of odd and quite pronounced directions. This might have been charming, but everything was done on the cheap - really you'd have to go a long way to find such cheap tacky door handles, for instance. Disappointing. Do avoid rooms 1 to 5, maybe the others are better?

    I can't think of anything I particularly liked about this hotel. I might have said it's oldness had charm, but the crumby cheap fixtures and fittings rather out balanced that. It was in a good location, I suppose.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    4.2
    Not good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Pull switch over sink broke when I pulled it . Shower was aluminium frame with glass but no door only plastic cloth and cloth cobbled onto frame. Asked to borrow scissors told not allowed to borrow. More like more than my job worth.not a good experience

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel in a prime location for shops and bars
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is extremely quaint, exposed wooden beams etc. Excellent choice of beers in the bar including a few guest real ales. The hotel does have low ceilings at certain points so taller guests have to be careful. Cooked breakfast was excellent! Bedroom was spacious and the beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel but rooms need updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we stayed in was comfortable enough but was rather tired and needs up-dating.

    The hotel was lovely as it is very old and full of character. The staff were very efficient and pleasant. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant which could not be faulted. It is also in a great location right in Nantwich town centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful historical hotel in the center of town!
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only detail that could be improved a bit is the temperature in the rooms. We had a lovely bedroom with a large window on the street, though being a historical building it isn't insulated perfectly and it was a little cold at night. There was an electric heater in the wardrobe but it wasn't always enough. Besides this I loved my staying at Crown!!

    Everything was really nice, from the ancient structure of the hotel, to the staff, and the restaurant! Ps: if you're having dinner there do try the Camamber

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    5.0
    Very noisy on the high st side.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy on the high st side. No running hot water at hand. 3 out of the 4 nights I had to speak to reception and ask them to do whatever it was to allow room 3 to get hot water. Their reply was because it is an old building the water heater system is prone to air locks, they had to open a certain tap or valve to allow air to escape before hot water would appear. Forget having hot water to have a quick wash in the morning. Two radiators in room, bathroom one never worked, I'm guessing it was blocked up with trapped air, bedroom radiator was half working, again probably air locked.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    5.0
    A beautiful building nice place to stay prison the staff was it a little bit friendly it's nice to b
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Digital I didn't particularly they weren't English and if they spoke English they didn't do it very well they weren't particularly helpful An evening it was very busy and noisy I would have gone downstairs for something to eat but it was too far for me The Wi-Fi didn't work in the bedrooms which meant I couldn't do any work either

    The bed wasn't very comfortable this was a lot due to the fact that it wasn't level the whole room wasn't level if you put a tennis ball on the floor it will roll towards the window however in a way that is part of the charm of the place is 500 years old and I dare say things have moved in that time if not the stop over

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    5.8
    interesting
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    disturbed one night by occupants of next room in which a 15 year old girl with 'parents' was drunk and violently sick, mother shouting using vulgar language and two dogs with them in the room barking

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: