Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Crowne Plaza Birmingham City 4 stars

Central Square, Birmingham, B1 1HH, United Kingdom

#24 of 78 hotels in Birmingham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3568 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, rooms way too hot. We got no sleep. No parking.

    Location ....& they kindly sent back my mattresses topper for me when I left it behind. This was probably due to being too hot and having no sleep, couldn’t wait to get out of the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, the concierge staff, breakfast team

    The breakfast staff are very friendly and helpful. The house keeping team were excellent. Lovely and serene environment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had asked for a room on a high floor and were given a second floor room. After telling reception about noise from the floor above us that night, we were informed that there was a function on the floor above and the noise would continue until 1am. Why would they put someone in a room below a function and not mention this?At 9.45 we were offered a move, to a higher room - the bed was tiny. At 10.15 we were moved again to a room which had just been repainted and the air was in breathable. Finally we were given a top floor room, which was an upgrade, and included use of the club lounge, but the bed was uncomfortable with a very soft and lumpy mattress. The whole experience was a great disappointment and the eventual upgrade didn’t detract from a very disturbed evening. Be aware that the doors in this hotel have strong closing mechanisms, making for a lot of disturbance at all hours. Also, despite a good location, there is a lot of building work at the moment, with inconvenient diversions and attendant noise.

    Very clean, good breakfast and good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about

    All staff we met were friendly and helpful. Check in and check out were efficient. Room spacious, bed comfortable. Breakfast up to scratch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Different prices for same room. My colleque paid £140 for double room which included breakfast for 2. I paid £131 for double room with no breakfast so ended up have to pay an extra £10 for one breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpet in corridor outside room was very tired View from room wasn't the best

    Staff very attentive Joining the reward scheme was quick and easy and free drinks a real bonus

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair in shower cubicle plug hole. Advertise as a fridge being in room no fridge was available. Wrong car park was advertised and we did not receive the discount even though our chip has been validated The view was of a construction site. We didn't eat the breakfast as we thought it was overpriced. Not enough hot drinks sachets or milk & sugar. I was disappointed with the level of disruption late evenings. Even though we had booked a more expensive hotel to get away from this as my children were competing in a big competition the next day. I was disappointed in the lavatory paper quality felt very cheap. Was never ask when checking out if I stay had been ok. Did not feel it was worthy of the four stars.

    He added extras

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Club Queen Room With Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are awaiting a call or email from the management the say in Birmingham was our 10 year anniversary we had the club queen room top floor our view was buliding work work men looking in our room and a Crain,the club lounge was very different to the one in Solihull one hour for alcohol not all the time,all in all I would never stop at this one again

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy air conditioning unit, if hot would have been a problem, could not sleep with it on. Staff said all rooms have this!!

    Staff very helpful and friendly. Safe in room and bottled water.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for more milk in room twice but did not get it. Light bulb needed replace this was not done. Reception did not follow up on requests

    Extra large room, very comfy twin double beds. Excellent bathroom

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to stay over at this hotel for a late night stop over from a long drive. The hotel and staff were excellent and we will definitely return to the hotel when we spend a few nights in Birmingham. Although we didn’t stay for the breakfast the overall stay was excellent and enjoyed by the family.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of a pint but I suppose being in a hotel it's to be expected.

    The room was spacious and clean Good value for money will definitely stay there again .😁

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Queen Room With Lounge Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No parking, 30-45 min drive around to just find a crazy priced parking space if you're lucky. My air conditioning was loud AF. Could not use it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don’t have a car park but they do offer discount to a car park a few minutes away.

    Great hotel. Yes lots of building work going on but you couldn’t tell once inside. Also very close to broad street and mail box canal side but again couldn’t hear a thing. Breakfast was included and very nice. Fresh waffles, poached eggs made to order lots of fresh fruit etc. Beds were comfy with choice of pillows and a nice powerful shower. Would recommend!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was charged 4 more transactions on room rent. I had paid for the 2 rooms booked, upfront but when i checked my bank account it showed 4 more transactions for 4 more rooms! They insist i had booked 6 rooms for 2 couples! Still waiting to sort out the problem as they are dragging their feet! Not impressed!

    Fruits and vegetarian sausage

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like most hotels in Birmingham, there is a short walk from the nearest car park to the hotel... with children this can be a pain but it was the only thing I would say as a slight negative...

    Great for families- staff were friendly, giving children a colouring pack each and a complimentary drinks token for us adults too! Great service- would definitely visit again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Due to construction around the building, the pedestrian access was convoluted and maze-like. This essentially forced pedestrians to instead walk on the road to get into the hotel, which was unsafe. Service at the restaurant was slow.

    Buffet breakfast was delicious and good value. Location was very convenient. Reception staff were professional and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Payment process left a lot to be desired for. I was constantly chasing for payment to be taken to secure the booking.

    Room description and ease of booking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting was a little dull but that was only an issue in the evening as the window gave plenty of natural sun light

    The bed was extremely comfortable, a great night sleep and excellent room service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking and it was raining at the time of arrival, been told by the member of staff to park in the nearest car park and also given information sheet that clearly written will cost us £14 for 24hrs , but we end up paying more.

    Very clean , meet the expectations!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although we didn't use too many of the hotel's facilities, what we experienced was excellent. Friendly staff, two very comfortable double beds, amazing power shower and in a very handy location for a gig at the Town Hall.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Me and my friends in a separate room were woken about 9.30 by the cleaners knocking on our door. Surely the reception staff have contact with the cleaners and can inform them when guests have checked out?

    Clean, staff are friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Queen Room With Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con didn’t work and the building site next door caused excessive noise from 7 am so not at all the relaxation we needed

    Room was nicely decorated and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The iron didnt work and the bath was a little worn

    The room was lovely, bed very comfortable and slept very well - loved the free toiletries - very nice touch

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I arrived at the hotel I was asked to pay even though I had not seen the room. The shower was broken. I reported this problem to the member of staff who cleans the room, they completely ignored me.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really impressed with the whole experience, lovely staff, rooms were great! Within easy walking distance for r shopping ! Great location for mailbox and canal

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Queen Room With Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Reception staff went out of their way to help as we booked using Booking.com but whilst we booked 2 adults and an infant the selected room given by Booking.com didn't allow an infant . We had booked executive and had to be downgraded to allow the rooms to be sorted but they staff still arranged executive lounge access for us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Club Queen Room With Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A card was suppose to be in the room on arrival for my partners birthday. A little added surprise for him. There was a maid outside are room (before we had even entered) opening cards. As we were going in she asked his name and she just handed the card to him without any other explanation. Sort of ruined that little added extra surprise.

    Bed was amazing!! Partner loved having the pillow menu. Staff were all lovely and breakfast was beaut.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Literally the only current issues is walking all the way round to get to the front door if your walking there as alot of building work going on. I do understand that this is all for the guests safety. However this does not impact on your stay in any other way . There is no noise waking you up or dangerous areas you can all into. Also it's not forever. Will look great when complete.

    Fab hotel from the moment you walk in the door and greeted by the consierge. Very helpful and happy staff. Quick but thorough checking in. The rooms are spacious, spotless and very comfortable. A 5 minutes walk from the station, 12 minutes to the Arena Birmingham...along the lovely canal and passing some lovely places to eat. The city is only 5 to 8 mins walk. Have booked to go back next year. Love this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty windows, television was fuzzy, ironing board wouldn’t stand up and iron very poor. Tiles in bathroom need to be grouted as look dirty

    Central to everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Are room was directly across from a building site and the breakfast wasn’t the best.

    Location was good and the reception area was beautiful and so comfy to sit in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a sign saying there was water in the cooler but there wasn’t any, the lifts were dirty especially the hand rails.

    The professionalism of the staff,the quality of the room and the complementary free drink.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very helpful

    The parking was the downside however staff were helpful in allowing one to park in front for 20minutes and off load before going to find parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Queen Room With Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was all excellent

    Lovely room, worth paying extra for the executive room/club. Loved the breakfast - freshly cooked with lots of choice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot even with air con on full blast. We were booked as 3 people in the roombut had to ask for extra towel, cups and milk . Only 1 milk supplied per person which doesn’t even start to colour the tea or coffee!! They never did give us another glass ! Just not up to 4 star standard of service.

    Great central location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge amount of building work in city centre. Difficult to find how to get to hotel from station involving long walk which used to take 5 minutes. Usual amazing city view now blocked by skyscraper being built in very close proximity.

    Staff excellent as always. Room very comfortable and lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have offered two single beds for the children or an additional sofa bed

    Well maintained and clean. Staff were friendly. Good breakfast and a good quality hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Queen Room With Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel interior starting to look shabby, dirty and worn carpet in bedroom. Bathrooms been redesign, as very dark in the shower with only a, poor quality, strip lighting above the sink.

    Club Lounge assess, but Saturday It was Full of Loyalty card holders.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise around from building works around. The hotel needs renovation. Bathrooms were renovated but not the rooms. But Ok for 2 nights. Not going back though.

    At the moment the hotel is right in the middle of building site. So much noise! But in the night they do not build so we could sleep quite well. The breakfast was good and very close to shopping areas.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Queen Room With Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had booked through booking.com and changed from a double room to a club room for 2 adults and 2 children. This was for my daughters birthday and because of the facilities in the club room we were looking forward to this. On arrival however I was told that we were unable to have the club room as these were for adults only. We were very disappointed about this and my elder daughter who was also booked into another club room therefore had to be separated from the rest of us. The hotel were very apologetic and supported by given us free access to one of the bars (non alcoholic) however they raised that this should not have been authorised from yourselves. This was quite disappointing for our stay.

    Staff friendly and rooms clean. 12 discharge time was very helpful also

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we called the room service a lot of the time our calls were being rejected and sent to voicemail. So we had to call through to reception to get them to speak to room service.

    The bed was very nice and comfy, We liked how close the restaurants and bars were to the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Queen Room With Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location wasn't ideal not really near town centre that was walkable for mobility impaired.

    Loved how they set out their chill area no shortage of sockets. Room layout perfect at least for me. Sense of space but a intermate atmosphere. High standard of cleanliness. Staff attentive and nothing is to much trouble. Food hot and to a very good standard (Breakfast ) good choice of items to pick from. Always a member of staff on hand to ask a question or two and a brilliant attitude.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Queen Room With Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took us two hours to find parking as there is no oonger parking on the premises. And ended up soending a lot of money on parking as we had to use more than one.

    The rooms are a good size and paying extra for lounge access is definitely worth it!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from other guests banging doors at 2/3am but that can't be helped by the hotel itself

    Bed was really comfy, room was clean staff were amazing , food was brilliant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The surface of the base of the bath. it was ‘very’ non slip it and therefore was rough if having a bath.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was large and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to a lot of construction going on around the hotel we were unable to use the hotel car park. We then had to drive around the ring road again to then use the other car parks on offer. Very annoying not to have been made aware of this in the first instance.

    Location of hotel was spot on for our purposes for this visit to Birmingham.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a lot of building work going on immediately outside and we were woken early on Saturday morning.

    The hotel was great, staff were very helpful and the room was large, comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Queen Room With Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    could've been warned about the lift repair work going on involving lots of banging noises all morning.

    club lounge was excellent; breakfast service really thorough and extensive; staff knowledgeable and helpful;

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to park at the property is always a pain & £21 to park for 24 hrs isn’t cheap.also 3 out of the 5 draft beers were unavailable.

    The hotel was very smart and tidy,nice room and good breakfast,great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a small fridge in the room and slightly bigger room (took a room with a twin double bed for a family), but not a major issue

    very good central location very freindly and helpful staff good clean hotel with an upmarket feel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening menu had hidden charges, meal was £22 for 2 x course meal but then you had to add on £7 extra for a steak and £3 extra for duck, £2.59 for pepper sauce etc but worth it as the food was fab!

    Room was beautiful, very spacious, friendly staff and great cocktail menu 😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel hasn’t got any onsite parking but the car park wasn’t to far away and £12 for 24 hrs.

    Room was clean and comfortable also hotel has a good relationship with a taxi Company A2B and was just as good being picked up for the return Journey.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy and antiquated air con and TV picture poor - reminded me of the bad old days of having to wave an aerial round to get the least worst reception...

    Massive comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in staff could cheer up a little Noise during the day from the construction work going on adjacent to the building (not any fault of the hotel)

    Friendly staff @ concierge Clean and tidy premises Decor and overall look was good Location is great, very close to the shopping mall and restaurants

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish there had of been a swimming pool to help cure the hangover

    The concierge staff were very helpfull and accomodating to myself as a breastfeeding mother they kindly stored my expressed milk all weekend correctly and then filled my cooler bag with ice on leaving to keep it cold until i got to airport

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    On-site Parking!On-site Parking!On-site Parking! It was a nightmare trying to get a car park around town and this is something I didn't like about the hotel.

    The room was nice, clean and spacious. The breakfast was pretty decent as well and the kids really loved it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t keen on the location if the bar. It felt like sitting in reception. Not much privacy.

    Friendly staff. Everything clean & tidy. Good location. Walking distance to most places of interest. Everyone very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking on site and having to pay for carpark in mailbox

    The staff were so lovely they went out their way to greet you, make chit chat, help in anyway they could. This was all staff we came across in all departments. We loved the little extra of a free privilege lounge with complimentary drinks on the 9th floor too, such a lovely touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No car park couple very close but very expensive I'd advise get the train so close to new st station

    Lovely big bed good location close to broad st but not close enough to hear the noise

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing !!

    The hotel was in a good location for our visit , the room had everything we needed The bed was very comfy we had a great nights sleep . Good quality breakfast included with price a lot of choice !!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking

    My wife and I had one night stay and we could not fault this accommodation it was excellent service this is the first time we used crown plaza and it will not be the last we will look for this hotel wherever we visit first class service friendly staff who Went out of there way to make our stay more pleasant the only thing was no car parking but that do not reflect on the service of the hotel .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The recommended car park at The Mailbox is a trek with luggage and expensive at £20, I don’t know why you can’t use the one underneath the hotel.

    Great room, lovely breakfast and a free drink at the bar! Fab!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needs decorating, over used scratched surfaces in bedroom and bathroom. Not cleaned to a great standard (sweets and a biscuit found on floor). Main problem was we were not notified about the “huge building works “ next door. We were unable to rest an arrival!

    The bed was comfortable, shower was hot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside was the building work, but that’s not the hotels fault. The shower was a bit dark as well

    Beautiful hotel, lovely staff, lovely bar area with couches; modern facilities with lots of nice touches. We were upgraded to a club room on the top floor and enjoyed the use of the club lounge. Our room was huge and the bed very comfortable. We will definitely book a club room if we return it really was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is within a large buidling site at the moment and so access and noise are two issues I did not expect to contend with. I was given wrong directions to walk from New Street station and so it took 25 minutes walking with a suitcase! Staff put me right on arrival so I knew the quick way back. Access is walking up a long ramp which can be tiresome if pulling suitcases arriving on foot. Hotel corridors in particular felt shabby and overall needs a sprucing and brightening up if this hotel is to compete with the many other options close by.

    Staff welcome on reception is friendly. A light wasn't working in the room and they deal with it quickly and efficiently - not always the case in big hotels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was located on the 5th floor over looking a building site. Which we didn’t mind but the workmen started before 7am, digging and drilling and were very loud. We came away for a break..... and don’t feel we have had one. The hotel looked a little shabby including the state of the lifts.

    Staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything met our expectations.

    Very clean, relaxed atmosphere and friendly staff. Lee gave us directions when we got a little lost and stayed on phone until we got there. Excellent service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast, lovely restaurant staff at breakfast, so friendly and happy to help us. Clean, modern decor throughout hotel. Spacious family room. Our room overlooked a building site, may not be to everyone's taste but it kept my kids entertained!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Construction works all round the hotel - got woken up before 8am on the first morning due to constant banging of building works. Was told it'd be like that for my whole trip, had to move hotels in the end to get work done during day and a decent sleep at night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One member of staff was rude at the bar, seemed that his work was effort for him

    All different types of pillows, bed was comfortable, location was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor poor v run down feel loads of building work outside so noisy but looks like no investment in hotel at moment room phone not working was replaced promptly bedroom very stuffy even with air conditioning unit which was noisy

    Good breakfast choice and friendly staff members

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels in the room were dirty, carpets need a good clean. The hotel itself needs a good clean and sofas in reception by the bar were filthy.

    Location was convenient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looking a little dated. Building site next door.

    Clean. Comfortable bed. Convenient. Reasonable breakfast. Nice touch with free snacks and soft drinks in the 9th floor Sky bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On returning to the property in the evening the seating in the reception was busy with what appeared to be several refugee families.

    Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath in our room had stickers on the bottom of it where a none slip bath mat had been, the plug did not work in the bath and there where black marks on the towels, spoke to the lady at reception and she offered 2000 points to my IHG account....... nothing has been put in!!! Disappointed

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Crowne Plaza Birmingham City traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: