Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Hampshire hotel reviews
  4. Lyndhurst hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Crown Manor House Hotel

Reviews of The Crown Manor House Hotel 4 stars

High St, Lyndhurst, SO43 7NF, United Kingdom

#11 of 24 hotels in Lyndhurst

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1608 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2019

    9.6
    Cosy, snug, welcoming country hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows were fairly firm, so neck a bit annoyed, the bathroom was quite cool, as only the towel rail was heated, but had a life of its own. Once we got the hang of the air con we turned the heater on and the radiator was very hot, so the bedroom was toasty. Some more hangers are needed. None of these niggles were bad enough to be reported. All in all we were very happy. A big thank you to all the staff.

    As we have stayed here before, we knew what to expect and hoped that it would live up to its expectations again. On arrival, after parking the car in the attached car park, we were looked after promptly and with a smile, always a plus. We booked a classic room. which was a lovely size, with an area near the window with chairs and coffee table. Well decorated room, large bathroom with toiletries, full size and very fragrant. The wardrobe was a good size, with ironing facilities, hair dryer and spare pillows. The lift is quite challenging if you have a lot of luggage, or more than two people, not liking confined spaces, I shoved my husband in there with the luggage and I took the stairs, we were asked more than once if we'd require help with bags, we didn't nice to be asked though. After unpacking and a wander around, we took advantage of the 2 4 1 cocktails, you do have to order two of the same, so that was two espresso martinis for me (husband prefers lager). We booked the restaurant on the first night (a Sunday) and it was pretty full, we settled ourselves near the wood fire in the second of the reception rooms, and had a drink (yes, another), before ordering our food. The waitress collected us once food was ready, and we had a lovely seat by the window, I did request main dining room when I booked, as opposed to the two further adjoining quieter areas (we'd sat there before). The food was very good as was the wine we chose, and the service was excellent. We finished off in front of the fire, again, with a liqueur coffee. Lovely. The room overlooked the front of the hotel, and was quite quiet, we were on the second floor. The shower worked well and there was plenty of hot water. A good choice of coffees and teas and biscuits were offered in the room. Breakfast was buffet, so choose what you like and as much as you like, very good, especially the sausages, so full English or continental or healthy, plus toast and huge jars of local preserves.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2019

    10
    I cannot say enough good things about this hotel and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Literally nothing everything is perfect.

    I cannot say enough good things about this hotel and the staff. I am booking again in May for my wedding anniversary and will also visit summer and Christmas.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2019

    10
    The hotel is great, fab decor and friendly staff and this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is great, fab decor and friendly staff and this was our 2nd stay, unfortunately we were both ill so didn't make it down for breakfast or manage a trip to the bar but would highly recommend: )

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2019

    10
    There was nothing to dislike.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    There was nothing to dislike. The warm, friendliness of the reception to bar to waiting staff, everyone was so welcoming. Kate on reception in particular was brilliant. The hotel is in an excellent location in Lyndhurst making it easily accessible to surrounding places of interest and beauty. The decor throughout the hotel was beautiful. I’d certainly return and recommend to friends and family.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2019

    10
    The location was excellent for the new forest and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personally to us there was nothing that we didn't like.

    The location was excellent for the new forest and surrounding area. The hotel was excellent, the staff were polite and friendly and could not do enough for you. The food was lovely couldn't fault it at all.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2019

    10
    It was only overnight while on our way to a location nearby. Very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.it was only over

    The bedrooms were very comfortable & high standard of cleanliness. Staff were excellent, helpful & knowledgeable about the area. Fodder in the restaurant was excellent & not huge portions. Just right.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2019

    10
    Night in a lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wife and I have just enjoyed a night in this hotel,fantastic hotel,staff,food all excellent, room clean and tidy bed so comfortable We will be going back again location is brilliant for seeing the delights of the new forest

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2019

    9.6
    English hotel that is very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No criticisms. At all

    Very good English hotel which is very rare. Met two French staff members which probably explains why this place is so good! Room 107 has four poster bed. Fascinating late 19th century lift claimed to be oldest one in Europe still working....breakfast included a wide choice. Building is very beautiful inside and out. Turn left out of hotel and walk down high street. The Thai Forest 24 High Lyndhurst is really good. john

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2019

    10
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfy bed, Excellent staff all friendly and helpful. The food is really good, we enjoyed our evening meal. Breakfast was good with a varied selection

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2019

    7.9
    Overall enjoyed the stay & location. Shame about the heating issue in our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating wasn’t working in our room & we had to ask for a heater. The staff said they would speak to the manager but we got no feedback. The bathroom was rather small.

    The food in the restaurant and service was very good. Also the location was excellent for the New Forest.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2019

    9.6
    Amazing value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - size of bathroom very small

    - completely clean - staff lovely - beautiful hotel and room - bed very comfy and little added extras, e.g. hot chocolate packets aswell as tea and coffee -perfect location -breakfast amazing

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2019

    10
    Great family stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel and perfect for exploring the New Forest. We had two adjacent classic rooms, both very cosy and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and good quality. Lovely bar. We didn’t eat at the hotel but the menu looked very tempting. The staff were all very helpful and chatty. We will definitely come back again for a few days away.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2019

    7.9
    Great breakfast, comfy bed, kind staff, clean, lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small room for what we paid for and TINY bath. You could hear every time someone washed their hands or flushed the toilet from the rooms next to us and above us.

    Great breakfast, comfy bed, kind staff, clean, lovely location.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2019

    8.8
    An overnight stay prior to picking up a ship in Southampton
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was good but lacking in quantity.

    A long established hotel offering comfortable rooms with an excellent breakfast. there is also a restaurant offering evening meals etc. The ingredients are all locally sourced and prepared on site - main courses tend to be rather frugal.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2019

    7.1
    Great weekend in an ideal location, staff were friendly and food was great - walls very thin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could hear every single conversation that the room next door to us were having and when we finally thought that we were in luck when they fell asleep (about 12.30am) we then heard the snoring which woke us up around 3am. It didn't quite seem like a 4 star hotel but that's me comparing to other worldwide hotels - this is a typical English Country hotel.

    Staff were really helpful and friendly, easy check in and they managed to fit in a child's extra bed when we was initially told this wouldn't work. Gave us tips on where to visit locally which was good. We also loved the breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2019

    10
    One of the best hotels I’ve ever been to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location, lots of character (which, unlike many over-decorated places, feels solid and genuine). Unlike many “luxury” hotels, bedroom actually thought through for a good sleep: excellent bed, no all-night “security” lighting, accurate 19 degrees a/c. Friendly staff, lovely cocktail bar, real log fire. What’s not to like?

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2018

    7.5
    the bedroom was very quiet (at the back of the hotel,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the meal in the bar and grill on the Friday evening was average and quite expensive. Very small starter - more like a canape than a first course.

    the bedroom was very quiet (at the back of the hotel, overlooking the car park) breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2018

    10
    Superb establishment will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were fantastic nothing too much trouble. Breakfast superb, room gorgeous and bed was so comfortable all in all a fantastic break will be back

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant but not fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food in the Bar and Grill restaurant was disappointing. Aspects of the hotel seemed tired - dirty carpet in our room, ceiling in the drawing room and musty smelling hallways. Sadly we were just slightly underwhelmed and the hotel did not seem to quite live up to the reviews.

    Staff and welcome was great. The building is impressive and in a good central location. Great cocktails & large comfortable bed.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2018

    6.3
    Fantastically helpful staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small (classic double); hotel is on a busy road; we weren’t warned that we wouldn’t be able to eat at the hotel in the evening until we arrived (reserved for packages only).

    Fantastically helpful staff; good breakfast; nice library and lounge for relaxing with open fire.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2018

    10
    Relax, comfort and style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved our staying at the Crown Manor Hotel. I went with my 3 years old daughter as we enjoyed 2 days at Paulson's Park. Everything at the Hotel was excellent, starting with the manager down to every employee who couldn't do enough to help. The room was very nice and cosy, the bathroom was big and very clean. As soon as I asked for the room to be a little warmer, they immediately brought up an extra heater. The bed was very confortable and there were plenty of teas and cookies to choose from in the room. The hotel has a very good restaurant. I would recommend the hotel to anyone who wants to enjoy a relaxing holiday in the New Forest with style.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2018

    10
    Unforgettable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    From the moment we arrived the staff, the hotel and our four poster bed were exceptional. This hotel made our anniversary so special, we will definitely return

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2018

    10
    A relaxing weekend away, lovely setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather!! 😳

    The colleagues were very helpfully and took time to explain where the facilities were. The room was very clean and I liked the old feel. Bathroom and toiletries was excellent, I have purchased the joy wash online. Breakfast and dinner was awesome! Chef was excellent. Waiting staff were very knowledgable with the dishes and recommendations.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2018

    9.4
    Quality nights stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed was comfortable, but only a standard width.

    We liked "all" of our stay, our room was at the front of the hotel and directly above a busy road, however the secondary glazing worked a treat, breakfast was lovely too.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2018

    7.9
    Wonderful time with my family in a wonderful hotel and location. I’ve photos to treasure.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better vegan options for breakfast, no vegan sausages or similar, even when I asked a week before our stay. I booked for 6 adults, I infant and I dog. Five out of six of the adults were vegan and I think a small effort from the staff could easily have ensured being vegan we’d have felt equally welcome instead I felt it was expected that we should be satisfied with less than on offer to the meat eaters.

    Comfortable, Organised, professional and dog friendly and most of all fabulous location right in the high street.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic for couples and children great walks and pubs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wife had venison, cooked correctly but the cut wasn’t the best.

    All staff more than welcoming, great location, good selection for breakfast and great room overlooking the church.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2018

    7.1
    Bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor, VERY creaky floorboards. Paid extra for 4 poster hoping for the wow factor, but looked more like my great aunts bedroom.

    Bathroom. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2018

    9.6
    Our stay was really lovely. We will definitely be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was lovely and the monsoon shower brilliant. But what really made our stay special was the attentiveness of staff, particularly Andrew Moody in the restaurant and on reception, and Michelle, who was our waitress during our evening meal and again at breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2018

    7.5
    Lovely hotel in a great location (central) for New Forest,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little on small side but I did book the smaller room, but still very comfortable.

    Lovely hotel in a great location (central) for New Forest, Food great and staff were very nice, I would go again tomorrow!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2018

    10
    A memorable fIrst time visit to the New Forest, we will definitely return to stay at The Crown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We can’t fault the Crown...

    My husband and I both remarked that the photos don’t do the hotel justice...we both thought it was much smarter in real life! We loved the location, a mere walk down the high street to the New Forest. We had a great meal in the restaurant; our room was very comfy, not too hot which some hotel rooms can be...comfy bed, nicely decorated, very clean...

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2018

    8.3
    Well placed, friendly Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 116 is extremely small and the bathroom inadequate. Room 108 was extremely comfortable.

    Yes, actually the croissants were excellent as was the breakfast. A pity the Dinner menu could nat have been more in the style of a restaurant rather than bistro.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    9.6
    Nice relaxing weekend break,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was a bit hard for me but my partner liked it. The drinks were a little on the expensive side. The meal we had was good but the wine was very overpriced in my opinion. We had a £40 bottle which was very unremarkable and i really don't think it should be priced that high.

    Breakfast was great. Staff friendly polite and helpful. Nice old school feel and god location. Parking easy.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    5.8
    Great bar and lounge facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are tired, clearly uploaded images of recently refurbished rooms... not all have been refurbished!

    Great bar and lounge facilities. Breakfast was excellent and staff were very attentive.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2018

    10
    The staff were outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were outstanding. They provided an extremely high end level of customer service with the casual air of a friendly welcome. It was great to stay somewhere with a bit of luxury even though we had our baby with us who insisted on crawling around the entire lobby and downstairs area. The staff didn’t mind this at all and interacted with him and us in a very lovely way.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2018

    5.0
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Atrocious lift( we are elderly) Breakfast 'coffee' terrible: cold and almost undrinkable Poor choices and food cool,congealed messes( a cooked lunch,to order,on the other hand,was very satisfactory)

    Room size Parking

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2018

    9.6
    Cosy and easy weekend away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel exceeded our expectations in every way. The staff were friendly and the room was so cosy and comfortable. I cannot recommend enough. Will definitely be coming back!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2018

    9.2
    Loved the bathroom and cleanliness, rooms comfortable and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the bathroom and cleanliness, rooms comfortable and bed cosy. Hotel staff went above and beyond with great advice about local walks and going’s on. Thank you! Oh and the breakfast was very tasty.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel with friendly staff and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no extractor fan in the bathroom, the air conditioning was pretty hit and miss and the window did not open.

    The staff were extremely friendly, great location. Food and service was good. Breakfast is a buffet, but good quality.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, relaxed stay. The staff were very helpful and very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the evening meal was very disappointing, but the hotel reduced our bill

    The staff were excellent The position of the hotel was really convenient with plenty of parking space

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2018

    8.3
    So cosy and relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit awkward as we were on the top floor so we had an angular roof that Was difficult to move around!

    Breakfast was great! I loved the lounge room with the open fire! And the lift was brilliant

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2018

    9.6
    A comfortable place to stay, with friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food quality at breakfast was good, but I prefer to be served rather than buffet style. For the evening meal, I would have preferred to eat in the dining room to the rear of the hotel rather than the former bar area.

    Although the hotel was full, this did not lessen the service. All staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2018

    8.0
    good stop over would use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening meal was ok but not great could have been better for the price.

    Room was very clean as was bathroom service was good and all staff helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good with a good mix of cooked and buffet type food.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2018

    8.8
    Location , evening food was a delight how ever breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location next to a very busy road . One way system is awkward to follow especially when busy.

    Location , evening food was a delight how ever breakfast was a generic buffet. Quality period rooms and decor well maintained. Thanks to staff for making us welcome.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable with friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park. Very tight especially if you have a large car.

    The room was a good size for a family of 4. An added bonus was the air conditioning. The staff were friendly and helpful, suggesting places we could go with two young children.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2018

    10
    Awesome place, great staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly someone had smoked a cigarette in my bathroom. I don’t blame the hotel for this and I have a very sensitive nose. My suggestion would be to install smoke detectors in the bathrooms as well

    Breakfast was without doubt the best we’ve ever had.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2018

    9.6
    We wanted to stay in Lyndhurst. First time at this hotel so very happy to stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wine selection could have been greater. But no complaints with what was there.

    Buffet breakfast selection excellent. Dinner menu/selection first class. Staff interaction with guests warm, friendly, wanting to please. Well done.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2018

    9.2
    A pleasant stay in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A couple of hooks for wet coats would have been useful.

    The compact double room was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and the food well presented.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At breakfast we were not informed that vegetarian options were available.. it wasn't until we'd nearly finished that we saw a small sign explaining that they did vegetarian sausages. Otherwise I would have ordered some. (I am a vegi)

    Everything was perfect.. we will be returning soon.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2018

    10
    The property was within easy access to the town, where there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    With the warmth of the room, the duvet was a little heavy for me personally, but didn’t affect my sleep too much.

    The property was within easy access to the town, where there was an abundance of restaurants & bars. The room itself was small, but warm & cosy, and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was self service which is perfect if like me you are a little fussy with food. The room was very good value & I would definitely choose to visit again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2018

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a king size bed, the double we had seemed smaller than even a standard double

    Great staff, amazing location on the high street. Breakfast is excellent

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2018

    9.2
    Amazing breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite small, even though it was a classic double and not the snug/compact one.

    Location in the center of Lyndhurst, very friendly staff, very tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2018

    10
    Perfect short break away in the New Forest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, our stay was perfect

    Our room was perfect, comfy bed with a great atmosphere and feel, in keeping with the building and extra little touches which made it homely. The food in the Bar-Grill was great value with a wide choice for all tastes, tasty home cooked food presented in an appealing way. The staff are welcoming and helpful, nothing too much trouble. There’s a lovely real log fire in the lounge area, perfect for lunch and afternoon tea, or just relaxing in one of the comfy chairs.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2018

    7.5
    Great costumer service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom was far too small, I wouldn't of mine to pay a bit extra for a bigger room. Didn't expected it to be so tiny.

    The breakfast was spot on and the staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2018

    7.5
    Location was good ,hotel was lovely and breakfast plentiful ...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was noisy because room was at front of hotel and also you could hear people talking and walking in corridor and also people moving about in rooms above and next door

    Location was good ,hotel was lovely and breakfast plentiful ,plenty of parking spaces ,nice staff

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant location in the new forest, would recommend to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found it a little hot in the holtel at times but that’s really picking, everything was great.

    Beds were really comfortable, shower was lovely and the food was brilliant. Great hotel all round.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2018

    9.6
    We had a lovely time and will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lighting in the room for reading was not good. The lighting over the bathroom mirror was poor and made shaving difficult.

    Our stay was very comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially Andrew.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable and comfortable. We would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a fan of buffet breakfasts, but the choice was good with lovely fresh croissant.

    Good location and car parking. Nice old building with very friendly owners. Room was nice.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2018

    9.6
    Wish I could have stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little hot in the room

    Loved this historic hotel. Food is excellent and it has lovely lounges. Our room was small but comfortable ok for one night but would go for larger room if staying longer. Staff were so well trained and friendly. The location is very good as can walk to the New Forest

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2018

    8.8
    4* hotel but 5* food and service, perfect position for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom wasn’t clean when we arrived but it was dealt with very quickly

    4* hotel but 5* food and service, perfect position for walking on the forest, didn’t use the car at all

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2018

    10
    A beautiful 4 star hotel that is also great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A proper lift please - I'm a female travelling with my 10 year old daughter and my case was VERY heavy. I was put on the 2nd floor (in a very lovely room) but didn't even notice your tiny lift until I left (and it looked like I wouldn't fit in with my case!) - Your duty manager offered to help me with my case to the car as I was leaving but really help would have been much more appreciated on the way in and up all of those stairs!

    food at breakfast was of the highest quality but the best thing about it was your waiting staff, they were efficient and got the job done, clearing plates away as and when we'd finished with them. I travel for business and see a lot of hotel breakfasts but I think yours was the best experience I've had.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable great location very small room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We encountered a few glitches which were quickly sorted but we were not told very much at check in not even mentioned where or what time breakfast was etc

    The location and the building was an old building with a modern feel.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2018

    10
    Everything and more for a super weekend, will certainly visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Excellent dinner, but a little overpriced. Staff and service A1. They were exceptional. Breakfast was very good. Nothing was too much trouble. Would certainly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2018

    8.8
    Had a great stay - very comfortable with lovely staff - top breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows too soft for me until I found the firmer one in the draw. I think a previous guest had turned off the extractor fan, it was noisy but not on for too long. As there is no window in the bathroom, the fan is needed, in room 120 it is located above the bathroom door. Giant cob web on the left of the curtains to the wall, when you put the lamp on that is on the desk you can really see it.

    We got the 4 poster bed, which was very comfortable and I found a firmer pillow in the draw. We found the extractor fan switch high on the wall so managed to control the steam from the bathroom. We loved our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was extremely good. The atmosphere and location could not have been better. easy parking. The hotel and weather made our weekend, we will be back.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel in a great location and staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath was a bit small and would have been nice to have some bubble bath supplied.

    I loved the casual living room style seating areas with fire place. It was cosy comfortable and welcoming.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2018

    7.9
    Overall it was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service on Saturday morning in the breakfast . Had to wait 20 mins to sit then when in hardly any food left in the hit plates. Had to wait a further 10 mins for sausages to appear. Hotel was not staffed for guests that morning . Shane up till then ur was a pkesent stay

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2018

    10
    Fantastic experiance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything from check in to rooms and restraunt was over and beyond. Staff super friendly and helpfully to excellent breakfast could not find any fault

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    8.3
    The hotel was in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one toaster in the breakfast room. Seriously. Thats the only fault i could find!

    The hotel was in a great location. It was clean and the staff were fantastic. They couldn't do enough for you and made our stay a real pleasure.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    7.1
    Great for short term stays
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper thin walls, this isnt a hotel to use if you value privacy or a quiet night.

    Lovely atmosphere and good service in restaurant and bar. Nice decor and perfect for a New Forest getaway.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little lumpy.

    The staff were very helpful, especially Andrew and Bogdan, they couldn't do enough for us, the cleanliness was second to none, the breakfast and evening meal were amazing, the happy hour went on for three hours, the location was perfect, the local shops and pubs were great, in fact I can't fault this hotel, it was absolutely fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    10
    Old meets new and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were spacious clean, liked the fact it still had the old features, including the lift, which still had the gate to pull across when closing the door. The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning worked great.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    8.3
    Our 2 rooms were adjacent, were really clean and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was fairly expensive.

    Our 2 rooms were adjacent, were really clean and the superior double was very spacious. Well sited in the heart of Lyndhurst. Lift was useful too as my mother finds it difficult to walk up flights of stairs. Liked the character of the place, quite quirky.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.6
    The location is fabulous for exploring the area.
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the Bar and Grill Restaurant - seems like the Chef is trying too hard to be a bit different. Way too rich and some ingredients really didn't compliment eachother. Really disappointing and such a shame.

    The location is fabulous for exploring the area. Staff were really friendly and helpful and the Cocktails were fantastic 😊

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.6
    Good food and comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the room which was on to a roof. The main staircase creaks badly but fortunately the bedroom was no where close.

    Good food and comfortable bed. Nice and quiet. Room had no view only on to a roof which was a pity but did not matter for only one night.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    7.9
    Disappointing compared with previous visits which have been excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This time we had a four poster bed as it was the only room left. The mattress was soft and the quilt too heavy. The lighting in the room was very bad and impossible to read in sitting in bed or elsewhere. There were no early grey tea bags in the room . The breakfast are usually fab but this time was very average. No fruit yogurts, very poor range of fresh fruit and pastries. As items ran out they were not replaced. The breakfast room feels crowded when full and is it hard to find a way through to the food area. Not really what we expected for £140 night

    We love this hotel and have stayed there lots of times before.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.9
    Really enjoyed out stay at the Crown and would love to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t quite get the room temperature right! Seemed too hot or too cold!

    Great quality hotel in a fantastic location for exploring the forest with lovely restaurants, pubs and tea rooms within walking distance

    Stayed in October 2018

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: