Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Belle Cour Hotel Russell Square

42 Tavistock Place, Camden, London, WC1H 9RE, United Kingdom

#849 of 977 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 657 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    6.6

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.4
    The electricity turned off so my boyfriend had to go...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The electricity turned off so my boyfriend had to go downstairs in the cellar to put the lights back on and the water was making weird sound and no one in the hotel to help you

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    4.6
    Overpriced, uncomfortable but good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon early arrival, we asked to store our bags and quickly use a toilet before we headed out. The toilet was very dirty and there were full faeces on the floor in the bathroom. The room we had was absolutely tiny and was ridiculously hot. The shower was cold. The stairs leading up to the room were very narrow, hardly big enough to carry a suitcase through.

    The location of the hotel was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.0
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear everything going on in adjacent rooms The self service check in was poor. We arrived later in the evening and found the card key was not ready for us. A couple of calls and a while later and the house keeper arrived to let us in No hot water for our showers in the morning

    Good location Comfy bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    3.8
    I should have found somewhere else on arrival
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start! Firstly this is in dire need of a safety inspection. There is no fire exit just the main front door. The fire panel was faulty and thank heavens there was no fire as the only way out was a drop out the window that would have killed us anyway. I was to embarrased to use the toilet as our romantic night would have seen my husband viewing my motion through a see through sliding door. The room was so small I kept banging my shoulder and arm off the telly as I walked around the bed. The heat was also unbearable although I have to give it to them that they did supply a tiny fan which I had on all night. When we arrived there was a guy sat at a tiny desk who didn't greet us just shoved a peice of paper at me to sign. The housekeeper didn't even know if she was at the right property to clean! Will most definitely not stay here again. Who in their right mind gave then 4 stars? It was not what was advertised when I booked!

    Nothing at all!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    Great budget stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot during the evening. But you would expect this on the hottest day of the year!

    Very convenient Not plush but you would not expect this for the rate you pay. Very clean. All you want for a budget stay in London!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    4.2
    If you need room only, go for one of the chains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Self check in but no staff there when we arrived despite it being core hours. Room was tiny & right next to a restaurant extractor fan which turned off & on till midnight blowing food smells in our room. No aircon & boiling hot so no choice but to have window open, so pretty much a sleepless night.

    Close to St Pancras, clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.5
    Basic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi did not work and had an exam the next day so disappointed ... informed staff. No air conditioning. No staff available unless between 11-6pm. Strange smell from upstairs toilet as with other reviews. Room suffering from wear and tear but clean.

    Location good. Easy self check in. Bed comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.8
    Friendly staff
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs to small felt like I was gonna fall all the time Bed kept moving as on wheels Holes and cracks in wall Walls to thin could hear everything from next door

    Friendly staff Good area Not to far from shops etc

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    4.6
    I like how it's small and cosy
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that our room cost just us much as all the other guests and our room was literally on top of the front door so zero sleep what so ever.

    I like how it's small and cosy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.0
    location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    fire alarm going off - no evacuation- I take it there was some cooking going wrong in the staff quarters. Alarm (wake up or?) going off in the 3 am and no one responding to the emergency number for a long while

    location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Unexpected breakfast was fantastic, the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unexpected breakfast was fantastic, the staff were incredibly quick with any requests. The bed was very comfortable. Room 15 has a balcony with sea view... not bad for £75

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice, comfortable, clean hotel, a little tricky to locate due to road numbering, very convenient.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no member of staff at all. All of the entry and exit was dealt with through safety deposit boxes and key codes. This is not the hotels fault however be aware when looking for this property - the numbers on Tavistock Place do not run concurrently. Keep walking along the road to the crossroads with Marchmont Street and the hotel is only 3 properties further along Tavistock Place.

    The rooms were clean and contained all you would expect in a convenient, relatively cheap 2-3* hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.8
    Basic clean ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was noisy: street noise, adjoining rooms and staircase/front entrance. Towels were thin and frayed. Mattress sagged. Narrow steep staircase for carrying case. We didn’t feel that we got value for money.

    Good location, close to the underground, good wifi and windows opened for fresh air

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.0
    It was clean
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was in the basement where you could hear and feel the underground trains . The other clients were ridiculously rowdy on the first floor , yes we could hear two floors down and the minuscule space outside the basement window is used as an outdoor kitchen at 7:45am with a vile smell of cooking oil and incessant chopping and talking .

    It was clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    4.0
    Uncomfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise - from the busy road - poor windows. Noise from other rooms - thin walls. Curtains that didn't properly cover windows Poor wifi

    Local amenities Decor and standard of room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    3.8
    there was a terrible smell in the bathroom no television...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was a terrible smell in the bathroom no television reception and when we reported it they seemed to know about the tv aerial. They need to fix it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.4
    Only okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs were very dangerous.They were steep and slippy. The TV wouldnt work as it wasnt tuned in and we couldnt get in contact with anyone as the 24hr helpline wasn't working. No customer service, basically a hostel.

    The location was good but the description made it sound closer then what it was. About a 15 minute walk from kings cross station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.4
    It was a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The checkin process was difficult since we didn’t receive the checkin email. We had to call Booking.com for assistance. Also, I’m not even sure housekeeping came by as they were supposed to.

    The location and access to the train station was great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.8
    Great location, find for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean! Lots of dust about and toothpaste splatters that hadn’t been cleaned from the door in the bathroom. The shower went from very hot to very cold - wasn’t one temperature.

    Great location, find for one night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    4.6
    Worst hotel I've ever stayed in
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The online pictures are nothing like reality. I was extremely disappointed. The furnishings and room were very dated and nothing like the online pictures. This was more like a hostel. There was a loud generator right outside my window which meant I couldn't open the window for fresh air due to noise. Temperatures reached 27 degrees that day so room was very hot and stuffy but I couldn't open the window. No air conditioning either.

    Good location and decent price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    3.8
    Horrible. Worst hotel i have ever stayed in!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Narrow hotel - no lift to top floor. No sound proofing. Every toilet in the hotel made a massive vibration sound. Tiny bathroom. Dusty. Bed sheets didnt look clean. Single glazed old windows that banged with wind. Uncomfortable bed could feel every spring and horrible pillows. Wooden furniture smelling like moth balls. Marks all over the walls. Receptionist nice but only available 12-6pm. To put luggage in storage in lock up they ask you to leave them in reception (tiny area thats just the entrance ) for the housekeeper to later lock away. No way would i trust that so had to take them with me. Self check out. I would never stay here again and wish i didnt because i had no sleep and ruined my job interview. Also not like photos.

    Location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    Value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The windows sat very loosely in their frame in our room, meaning that they made a banging noise in the wind throughout the night, and we barely got a wink of sleep. The second night we managed to jam something in between the windom frame and that seemed to temporarily solve the problem. Would recommend that the hotel fixes this ASAP.

    Lovely, clean and charming hotel! About 10-15 minute walk from Tottenham Court Road, which worked out great for us. Also a super idea with the auto check-in service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.4
    Thankfully brief
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was at a loose end as I was spending just a few hours in central London between Madrid and heading north, it was the most reasonably priced bed for the night. The tv was broken, decor was offensive, the staff were pleasant enough though. That’s the nicest I can be about this hotel

    I liked it was close to kings cross

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location and wifi and fairly priced for a short stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The key wasn't in the mailbox when we arrived causing us delay when we were already very tired. The room was fine for an overnight stay but it was noisy and you could hear people using their bathrooms. We could also hear people walking, chatting at street level in our basement bedroom. I hope you find this constructive feedback useful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    3.8
    Disappointing, and very noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't anything like the pictures it was very poorly finished, very shoddy workmanship. Toilet was dirty, shower was dirty and smelled bad, the cleanliness wasn't great and the noise from staff and other guests particularly early in the morning when I was desperate to have a nice sleep was horrendous. Very very disappointed, definitely not rated correctly.

    The room was warm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Nice decor central to the city shopping
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower took a bit of time to heat up but I was on the top floor 3 flights up But that was not a problem

    The location was very central And close for shopping and the event I attended

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    3.3
    Only the location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was squeaking, the bathroom was separated from the room with a sliding non functional door as if you were in a closet, the photos of the room did not reflect the reality. It could be the smallest room that I have ever booked so far.

    Only the location was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.4
    Great location but definitely not worth price paid. Could be improved with very basic things.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a lot smaller than it seems in the photos. Had to run the shower for more than 5 minutes to get it warm every time used. The tv was stuck on Bbc1 and couldn’t alter this with remote or buttons on tv. Only 2 hangers. Noise was a big issue. Could hear every step on the stairs and every noise from the room above and next door. Very thin walls making it difficult to sleep. Bedding could have been cleaner.

    The member of staff was friendly and check in was fairly easy. Good location for what we had planned.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    4.6
    Cheap and convenient but space was not accurately advertised
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not what we thought it would be like. We did not receive proper house cleaning. There was also no circulation in the room.

    Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    4.2
    Below expected
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lack of staff available was alarming. There was lots of noise caused by old staircase. The whole design gave a bit of tacky feel. It's more of a hostel than hotel, so definitely felt cheated. Wouldn't choose another accommodation next time as it did not feel secure enough.

    The location for the accommodation was ok. Its a bit too far from major interchange hubs. The price was considerably cheap for location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.5
    Basic room in a great location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is quite small, with small/narrow stairs, and we never met any staff while there, and no breakfast option. But are these really a negative? For some they could be a positive!

    A basic room with all the facilities required in a great location - there are two breakfast options on the door step and many more in the area. Also a large car park that can take vans minutes away -which is great for me as I travel in a van.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.8
    Really great despite bad comments
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs are small and slippy.

    We loved the fact it was clean and the sweet sheets !! The location was great and there was 2 big windows, hopefully there was a great sun in London during our journey. We was in room 22, despite the fact that there are some bad comments in the hotel, we really liked our stay at the hotel and everything was fine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Excellent location. Generally good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in room G which is right by the entrance door and keysafes so was noisy at times. No hairdryer. Could only get two stations using TV control.

    Easy access to hotel. Room large, comfy. Good shower. Tea and coffee in room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    More of a guesthouse than a hotel. No communal areas. No staff after 6pm or before 11am.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wood/ tile flooring throughout the guesthouse meant that you could hear everything from the other rooms - suitcases being dragged along the floor, conversations etc, people coming and going.

    The room was clean and warm and well decorated. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    3.3
    tired no sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was at the front of the building , anyone talking outside sounded as if they were in the room with you as for no double glazing ,curtains hanging off the poles and not wide enough for the windows.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    5.4
    Hotel served its purpose but our highlight was the restaurant and the 100 Club
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very tied and really needed a coat of paint and many of the tiles were broken on the floor and in the bathroom. We stayed in room B in the basement and was greeted by a stale smell. The bed was awful it made a creaking noise every time you moved.

    The location was good as we were close to everything we needed. We booked the Pescatori restaurant in Charlotte Street and booked to see Kool as the Gang at the 100 Club all within walking distance. Shower was spacious and reasonably clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    6.7
    Good value for money had everything needed
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows are too thin you could hear everything going on outside also hear people walking up and down the stairs as there was wooden flooring everywhere

    Good value for money had everything needed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.5
    Off-piste option for solitary business travellers who want a roof above their heads
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked the room a bit warmer that it was. Noise insulation was suboptimal.

    This is not a conventional hotel, but a refurbished building in a trendy London neighbourhood where you can rent a decently appointed, clean, and acceptably comfortable room, for a fraction of the price you would pay for a hotel room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    5.8
    As I've stayed here quite a few times before it was very disappointing to have that awful smell
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As soon as we open the door to our room on the top floor there was a really bad smell coming from the bath room which kept coming back as it's to do with the pipes and drainage. Which needs fixing urgently

    Nice spacious room and very comfortable bed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.1
    No possibility of getting any food.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No possibility of getting any food. No help in getting luggage up three floors - I am 77 years of age, and it was exhausting to carry a heavy case myself, when there was no lift

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    5.4
    Not as great as I hope
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small. Bed was uncomfortable with squeaky sound. There was no space to leave or store luggage so not a good place for long stay.

    It is close to both Euston and Kings Cross so travel was great. Close to other amenities such as shops, restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    6.3
    Very average
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whilst the hotel was clean there were a few fundamental problems that were unacceptable For two people who were coming in at different times of the night, only one of the keys worked. the option provided was to call the manager who would then call the attendant to open the door. I still had to disturb my friend to let me into the room. The windows were thin enough for the entire night to be very noisy thus giving us very disturbed sleep. Pranay

    Small but decent and tidy room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    6.5
    6/10. . . ok for London
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The key card didnt work always , so you wood have to dind someone from the hotel staff, and they were nowhere to be find. It takes 15-20 minutes for hot water to come to the shower, and when it comes ypu need to be very carefull couse if you change the warmth even for a nanomilimetar the change in water goes from ready for pasta to ice cold water. The bed wasn't to confortable and was not fixed to the floor, so it moved. We were promised a sef in our room , but we didnt have one. And at the end, the rooms seem much bigger in pictures then they are in real life.

    The location is great, and its not too hard to find it. The self check in thing is great. Bathroom was clean as were the sheets on the bed. All in all 6 out of 10

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.2
    One of the better small hotels in the area and much quieter than some
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stairs steep, narrow,uneven and slippery - I appreciate an older building so no lift and only stairs but carpet on them would help and they could be evened out. Space for loo v narrow - gurgling pipes and sound of hoover/ hair dryer or something strangely constant

    Comfy bed - v convenient for stations museums etc no traffic noise for centrallondon

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.1
    The room was spacious, clean and confortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was spacious, clean and confortable. The bathroom also. The hotel was quiet apart from the noise of people coming up/down the stairs. Good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.3
    good clean budget hotel comparable to surrounding hotel rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ground floor room has an awkward layout but nothing that can't be overcome killer stairs to get o upstairs rooms so be careful

    Large walk in shower comfy clean bed room is basic but clean we have stayed at three of the surrounding hotels and the rooms are comparable but without the frills of lifts foyer etc

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    2.9
    Wouldn't Recommend
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It smelt awful, wasn't clean, bed was uncomfortable and every time you moved sounded like it was going to break. It was very noisy and staff or people who lived in the building were part of this issue. Room was a very odd layout and didn't feel very secure.

    The location was the only positive.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.2
    Comfy Bed and large seating area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Checking out and there was nobody around - wanted to confirm payment. Noise of the front door opening and closing as very loud.

    Comfy Bed and large seating area. The room was nice and warm for the time of year. The shower was lovely and hot.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.1
    The property was fine, but the luggage and check in/our scenario would put me off staying again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception desk is only manned between 12-6, it states that there is luggage storage, but what this actually means is that the guy on reception looks after your luggage in the tiny waiting area. We had hoped to have been able to leave our luggage at the hotel when we arrived (at 11am), but because the desk is only manned from 12 this was not possible. If you hope to be able to leave your stuff and check in later, this hotel isn’t the one. Consequently, on the day of check out, we had to collect our luggage before 6, a little inconvenient when our trains weren’t until 9. Would be helpful if this was stated on the booking website, as we would have chosen somewhere else that met our needs a little better.

    Great location, room was clean and tidy, mattress comfy although our bed was very creaky. Heated flooring through the bathroom was a nice surprise.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    4.6
    Very, very disapointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Where do I start! Firstly, when telephoning the accommodation I was met with "Yeah, Yeah, What". Most professional! On arrival the exterior was narrow and most dingy and necessary to use a code to enter. The 'reception was a locked room no bigger than a broom cupboard without anyone in attendance until 12:00. The room, while clean was rather cramped, having to dodge the tv on the wall when passing across the bottom of the bed. The stairs to the third floor room were by way of a narrow wooden staircase with no evident additional fire escape. How it passed fire safety I do not know! The lady called to reception after my telephone call on arrival hardly spoke any English. I have recently had poor experiences with booking.com at Buxton and Sicily. I have two more bookings with them in London and Norwich which I shall cancel once I obtain alternative accommodation. I think Booking.com have deteriorated and taking on all and sundry without any checks to their suitability. I don't think I shall use Booking.com again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    3.8
    I liked the central location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no staff on duty at about 10pm when I arrived - I had to use codes to enter the building and find my room key, then find the room myself (down a steep, spiral staircase while carrying luggage). When I got to the decor was tired & dated, and the bathroom wasn't confidence-inspiring so I didn't brave the shower. The bed was VERY creaky (every movement was noisy) so I didn't get either a good sleep OR a shower ahead of my meeting the next day. My room was below street level, and there was some noise from the street above. When I left the next morning there were still no staff on duty. The whole experience was a bit creepy & uncomfortable.

    I liked the central location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    3.8
    More like a Hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff, no customer service. Very strange way of checking in. I would never stay in such a property again, nor recommend it to anyone.

    The room was clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    4.6
    I have no idea how this can be 4 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basement room with very narrow stairs, the basement section looked dirty and needs paining at least. The room décor was very tired to say the least. the photographs had been skilfully take to make it look much better than it was. The wardrobe was falling to bits

    The person on reception was very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    4.2
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. Small rooms, no facilities, smallest wardrobe I have ever seen, hot water want hot, bathroom was more like a cupboard. No secure luggage storage. You have to leave by 11am but the receptionist doesn't arrive until noon so luggage is left in attended in an accessible corridor

    The guy on reception in was very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Good for a one night stay before an exam
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price :(

    Free wifi was fantastic, but it was rather expensive for what it was! The place was located at a very accessible place (which I suppose explains the price). I'd love for the place to be slightly more spacious though!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.8
    It served our purpose for the one night but felt a bit claustrophobic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room size.

    The room was clean and the bed too but the room was so small. When we opened the wardrobe door it hit the curtain pole. Bathroom really cramped.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    Very good value, great location, very clean and modern interior helpful desk person.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There seems to be a noisy extract system I was on the top floor which was a nuisance until people stop using their bathroom around midnight, this needs looking at.

    Very good value for money, rooms were very clean and had been refurbished to a high standard.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.1
    Cost effective, central London location ideal just to literally sleep in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a little tired and although the bedding itself was clean, there was a very unsightly stain on the actual duvet on my daughters bed. There was no view from the window but as I say it really was just a base for us and a place to sleep overnight. If you want a hotel with amenities then this isn't for you. However, if you want somewhere central London that doesn't cost you the earth then you will be fine here if it is literally just a bed to sleep in and a shower in the morning!

    It is a great location, about 7 mins walk from Euston station. It was easy to access with the door code and our room was ready early. We just wanted this as a central base and were not bothered about any hotel amenities. Reception was open and the chap was very friendly who we dealt with.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    3.8
    Very expensive for very small room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos really don't match the room we had. The room was incredibly small, we couldn't stand and have the suitcases open at the same time. It's not a hotel, barely a youth hostel or motel in which you have to check yourself in without talking to any staff. But the price is incredibly high, especially for the overall quality that wasn't good. There was a boiler or some kind of machinery making noise the whole night. You can also hear the neighbours pretty well. Go somewhere cheaper and better.

    Good location, central.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.1
    Pluses and minuses to this property. Willing to pay more for added comfort next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was tiny. Could barely walk past bottom of bed without running into wall-mounted TV (which I did at least once). No where for second occupant to put luggage. Window opened but would not close. Noisy machinery (compressor?) outside which cycled on and off day and night. Ugly view of backs of buildings. Steep, slippery, narrow stairs potentially hazardous. No hot water for morning shower unless you got up super early. (We were out of luck our first morning, but by showering at 4:30 a.m. or the night before, we got hot water the next day.) Shower was generously sized, but remainder of bathroom very tight. No staff on site. Key not in locked room box as stipulated; had to phone then wait for assistance.

    Excellent location: convenient walking distance to St. Pancras Station and Russell Square Underground; many restaurants and markets nearby. Room was immaculate except for some toothpaste splatters on wall panel near sink. Bed was comfortable, and linens were nice although the pillows were too heavy and stiff for my comfort.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.2
    Cheap, clean and great location - would book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much wardrobe room but only there 2 nights so fine for us.

    Very basic but then cheap so was ok, had tea and coffee making in room but no reception desk. We stayed on the top floor which was fine for us as a young couple but maybe a bit much if 4 flights of stairs too much.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.1
    Average to good place to stay but could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is on a main street so there is a lot of noise at night.. And you can hear noises from the room next to you.. Another problem is, The check in-check out desk, it was not working 24 hours it was only available from 12 pm to 6 pm.. I had a little problem with my check out as I went out in the morning of the check out day I came back a little later than 11:00 am (11:10am) my keycard did not work and there was no one inside I had to wait outside for a while and I had to call the off duty phone number and they called the cleaner to open the door for me.. And The guy on the phone was not very friendly..

    What I like about the hotel is that its easy to reach from the Kings cross station thats regarding the location but I took sometime before I found the place because it didn't have a clear sign with the hotel name.. There was a small sign.. You can barely see it. And regarding the room it was comfy and clean. Its a good place to stay in with a private bathroom and clean bed and towels.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    5.8
    Good location, budget hotel to sleep at (subject to noise) and little more
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Noisy street. Noisy hallway. Bad sound insulation. Very limited facuilitires: tiny cupboard. Very limited reception hours. No comfortable chair. Only bin in bathroom.

    Good location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.9
    Cheap and cheerful, clean and a great base for a stay in the capital
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street is a little noisy but it's central London so not a big issue for us at all.

    For the price we paid it was exactly what we wanted. It's a cheap hotel in a great location. After reading reviews we were concerned but I think people expect 5 star without paying for it! The stair case is narrow but not steep or dangerous, the staff member on site said very little but was pleasant. The room was spacious, clean and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. It's a great base to go explore London.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.5
    excellent room but the set up is not for me.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't realise it was self check in, it worked but a bit stressful arriving at 9pm,alone. Hard to like the complete lack of human contact. I wouldn't have chosen it if I knew it was unmanned. Facilities in room were excellent but I would worry about safety especially for a woman travelling alone.it's a pity, but I wouldn't stay there again

    Room a good size, spotlessly clean. Cleaning lady next morning very polite. Good to have tea and coffee. WiFi was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.5
    Clean and tidy ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    But I think difficulties for elderly people with there bags and going up the narrow stairs .. as there is no lift .. I was in the 1st floor lucky but there are 5 floors.

    Clean and tidy , good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    4.2
    It was like staying in a hostel. I didn't feel safe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dangerous stairs, slippy tiled floors with high sheen in bedroom, paper thin walls, large single glazed windows that offered no privacy (no net curtains), furniture like student furniture, lack of reception personnel for 18 hours a day, small double bed, no hand towels, intermittent hot water, staff appeared indifferent

    The location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.0
    Basic, but OK for a cheap overnight stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance/registration arrangements were intimidating, but worked. The light in the bathroom was flickering. The hotel details were appallingly badly written: they even got the address wrong.

    Convenience: clean room: good wi-fi. Basic, but OK for a cheap overnight stop.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.5
    Room was comfortable and good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the room was not nice. If there were blinds, I could have kept the curtains opened and closed the blinds as the window looked out onto a yard that had panels, boxes and other rubbish. Didn't affect my stay though.

    It was close to Euston, room was small but enough for 1 person for 1 night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    4.6
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room nothing like the photos, very dated. Toiletries in the bathroom half empty. Room next to entrance so extremely noisy during the night with people constantly in and out and stood in the hallway talking. Bad nights sleep.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    The bed is comfy, and everything is clean,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed is comfy, and everything is clean, also the person who helped me check in is really polite, and helped me a lot, which I am really greatful. The location is also really near to Russell square station, really convenient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.3
    Little gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs are quite steep.

    Excellent value for money. Clean and well presented. Bathroom was spotless and had a fantastic shower. Decor was nice and modern.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    3.8
    Not recommended at all!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I got was on 3rd floor with no lift! I had to drag my bags three floors. The room is very tiny and not the same as shown in the pictures. Also the shower and tap were not working properly. The walls are too thin you can hear other people using the toilet! A very bad experience. A student hostel would have been better. Not worth the money at all. I wouldn't recommend it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    Really nice if you're not looking for anything fancy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel was basically a tiny three storey-house, so it didn't have an elevator and the stairs were a bit narrow, so it was annoying to climb them if you had the room on the third floor. Sometimes the windows rattled loudly during the night.

    The location was good, it didn't take long to reach the underground station. There were also lots of nice little restaurants and cafes and shops near it. The room was nice, small and tidy, and the air inside the room was great - not too stuffy or humid or anything. The check-in and check-out were really simple and the wifi was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.3
    Cosy :)
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevator in the hotel and my room was on the third floor. At check in, the staff was kind enough to help me carry one of my two suitcases. On my way out however, he was not on duty (the reception staff is only there from 12 pm to 18 pm) and I had to carry my bags all the way down by going up and down the stairs 3 or 4 times. Otherwise, everything else was as predicted.

    The location is great!!

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Belle Cour Hotel Russell Square traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: