Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cuillin Hills Hotel 4 stars

Isle of Skye, Portree, IV51 9QU, United Kingdom

#2 of 8 hotels in Portree

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1339 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Cuillin Hills Hotel - best of both worlds, close to town, yet 'miles' away from the crowds
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No screens on the window to keep out the bugs, so was a bit reluctant to keep the windows open at night, but the cool breeze coming off of the water was refreshing. No A/C at this hotel, but hardly need that in Scotland.

    Cuillin Hills Hotel has an enviable location, just far enough out of the main city center area to escape the chaos of the mass of tourists that descend on Portree in the summer, but close enough that you can easily walk to town, or you can opt to sit on the lawn chairs in front of the hotel and take in the impressive panoramic view of the harbor, boats and the town. The view from the front of the hotel/lawn is that iconic Portree harbor view you see in so many shots of Portree. And the hotel is great too. Stately Scottish style, clean comfortable rooms and a very nice restaurant on site too. The best of both worlds - quick and easy access to the center of town, but away from all of the crowds at the same time. Easy parking too, which isn't always the case in Portree.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Excellence with a view to die for
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn’t turn on the sunshine 🤣

    The view and position in Portree is incredible, the room was clean, bed was very comfortable, food was lovely and staff were fabulous.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic experience, phenomenal seafood
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was amazing, they had a babycot ready in the room for my son when we arrived. They have a full service bar. Their restaurant is amazing with amazing views! The seafood was local and fresh! The waitstaff made our entrees into a room service delivery after my son became cranky during dinner. Cannot say enough good things about this hotel!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.5
    Portree
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant staff were extremely knowledgeable about both the menu and the wine list. The views from the restaurant were beautiful. Very pleasant stay. Would recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.9
    Location of the hotel was great, all public rooms were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had not realised that you need to request a room with a sea view at the time of booking so we were disappointed with our room which was rather dark and quite small.

    Location of the hotel was great, all public rooms were comfortable, the restaurant had great views too. All the staff were excellent, friendly and professional, but a particular mention must be made of the lady maitre d’ who was on duty both nights we were there. All our meals were perfect too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.9
    Well located in Skye
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel's location is not marked very well, there is no lift in the hotel and the staircase is very narrow and steep.

    Confortable parking, beautiful view to the lake, great breakfast and dinner, cool bar

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift which was a little awkward but the rest of the hotel facilities more than outweighed this 1 small inconvenience.

    Location is amazing and the views from the superior room made the holiday.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.8
    Hotel with a beautiful view of Portree harbour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we felt that our room was over priced.

    We had a beautiful room overlooking the Portree harbour. The room was very spacious and there was a fruit basket. The dinner and breakfast we excellent. The concierge was very informative and recommended to us a good walking/ hiking area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.2
    Everything was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Really good view! We could see the famous colorful building of Potree from the window. It’s very enjoyable. The restaurant was great! We had every meal at the hotel. The food was so delicious! Totally worth the money! If I go back, I will stay again!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    The best stay I’ve ever had
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, room size, facilities in the room, brilliant staff and special mention should be made of the staff. They were determined we would have the best possible stay, nothing was too much trouble and they went above and beyond!! Thank you so much

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    The rooms were very clean with amazing views and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant absolutely did not meet expectations (except the view), the hostess was not helpful, prices are way too high for a quality of food. Also each dish ordered during 2 nights stay had dried onions on top which were out of place in majority of the cases.

    The rooms were very clean with amazing views and very comfortable beds. Amazing view from the restaurant as well. Would totally stay there again!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.8
    A pleasant stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service at the restaurant was very slow!! We waited for a good hour for our dinner!

    Overall the room was very comfortable and it was spotless. The food was excellent and the views were outstanding. The property was well maintained and the plantings were beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Come away to the Cuillin
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything. The location was spectacular. The views were amazing and the walk into town was fairly short. The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful with spacious, immaculate rooms. The staff were wonderful, very helpful and accommodating. I would highly recommend this hotel and definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful and beautiful hotel, on-site parking, lawns, very spacious room, strong Wi-Fi, shower and bath, strong and beautiful lighting, varied and tasty breakfasts.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.5
    Comfy bed, good restaurant, amazing location by the bay on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In need of a renovation, specially in the room. We were very well treated by the staff but we saw them being rude with other guests.

    Comfy bed, good restaurant, amazing location by the bay on the top of a hill.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Very good hotel but pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Turret Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the money we paid we were expecting a room with sea view. The breakfast was good but could offer more options.

    The hotel is very good. Room was comfortable, clean and big. We had dinner at the hotel and the food was very well cooked.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.3
    I like the staff in the canteen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't like the unhelpful lady who help us to check in around 3pm. She made us wait for more than 20 mins, as she need to attend drinks counter. I told her I need a luggage trolley to our room 3 as my hand is very painful. She said "can ask a hand to help". Another 15 mins pass, no one help, we carry the luggage slowly, My hand become extremely painful that night.

    I like the staff in the canteen. They are very helpful and cheerful. Good food. The lady staff at night gave me medicine and help me to book a doctor appointment next morning if I still feel very painful in the morning

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.1
    Great view from the hotel restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a very basic room for the price we paid. Room did not look like the pictures at all.

    Great view from the hotel restaurant. Though the room did not have any views at all. Breakfast was great, one of the best.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited to non existing service as compared to the price you are paying to stay there.

    Beautiful hotel. Million dollars view!!! The best in Portree! Excellent location - easy to reach the port via short walk. Clean and spacious room with great view! Good restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel, wonderful location, rooms and bathrooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say!

    Beautiful hotel, wonderful location, rooms and bathrooms clean, well appointed and comfortable. Every interaction with the staff from the original booking and throughout our stay was warm, efficient and a delight! Loved it all!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Fab location, views and facilities... at a price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff a bit inexperienced but we managed ....

    Fabulous place - as you would expect for the price.... Restaurant very good food, fab views and reasonble price for the quality.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.1
    Amazing place but shame about the cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It cost 3 times what it was worth No extra perks whatsoever, would expect at this cost level something extra or some special service but it was not there

    Amazing location and view also decent food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Just fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to leave!

    This hotel is dedicated to the comfort and happiness of it's guests. The location is spectacular. The staff are wonderful, with special mention to Eva whose passion for food made our dining experience all the better. The restaurant is wonderful serving innovative dishes featuring fresh local produce

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Amazing view from very high class restaurant, every day...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NA

    Amazing view from very high class restaurant, every day complimentary mineral water different types, easy walk to town, spend memorable 3 nights there

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location for viewing harbor, wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    less rain.

    amazing and very caring staff. General manager wore many hats and was always willing to make guest feel welcomed. Very nice public spaces. Very traditional, but in a very warm and friendly manner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    Pearl of the island !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have refrigerator in the room !

    The hotel and bedroom view is so stunning, can’t deny that this is among the best view on Skye. Breakfast is excellent with various choices. Location is good, about ten minutes walk from Portree center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Brigadoon - a fairytale oasis!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing!

    Staff exceptionally helpful in all areas any issues dealt with immediately. Food 99% of the time to die for especially the specials - lobster and any alterations no trouble at all! The views are unbelivable - this week the sun has been out, the lochs like millponds. Nowhere better for scenery on this earth. The upgraded room was a good size, exceptionally comfortable and made up very clean each day!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel with picturesque gardens and views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no iron in the room but I could have asked hotel staff for one and I didn't. Otherwise everything was perfect.

    The view from our hotel window was amazing. The bed was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Incredible Venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was amazing. Nothing I didn't like about the place.

    Fantastic, helpful staff, especially Donella and Kerry who went above and beyond to assist me. Food was excellent and the views were just stunning. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Most spendy stay of our trip but would use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the spendy side.

    Extra touches like a small fruit basket in room on arrival. Came in one evening with a bag of takeaway food. Desk person asked if they could supply plates and cutlery for our use without being asked.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    I would definitely recommend it to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevators and we had heaveir luggage. No porter. Cannot be helped in older buildings; but just a head's up.

    View from breakfast and dinner area like postcard setting over town, lake and mountains. Décor of hotel lobby very good. Breakfast excellent and dinner that we ate there was wonderful. Staff very helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    A lovely experience after very disappointing hotel previous night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    view from tiny bedroom window was disappointing. over back door & bins. Room itself was very comfortable with huge bed. Would have liked a bath, but otherwise fine.

    Staff extremely helpful & location brilliant. Scene from Restaurant window is a picture.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    The location alone makes it worth the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had 3 rooms and the showers were broken in all 3 rooms. Staff didn’t seem to care too much that this was an issue.

    BeAutiful views, gorgeous setting, good restaurant and staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    This property is lovely, clean and comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the room layout, where the shower and sink are not in a separate “bathroom” space from the rest of the room.

    Excellent view from the room as well as a nice outdoor seating area to enjoy it. Very comfortable beds and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.3
    This was a tranquil and intimate hotel with beautiful views on the magical Isle of Skye.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Notwithstanding my payment for my stay (nearly $A1000) through Booking.com at the time of booking, I was charged again (in GBP of course) on check-out. Whilst this was promptly refunded within 24 hours, because my credit card is Australian, the currency conversion charges meant, at the end of the day, I was $30 out of pocket - this marred an otherwise perfect stay.

    The view from the dining room was beautiful. A very calm and quiet establishment.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    Great, but choose the right room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a Classic Road which was very small, view on the Car Park and honestly a little depressing.

    Hotel situation is perfect, great views and just a short pleasant walk from the Village The Dinner and Breakfast were excellent which lifted the morale.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    Perfect stay in a perfectly well run and equipped Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    MAYBE the furniture of the rooms and the bathroom could be a bit more modern, but this is a personal appreciation and neither an advice nor a claim...

    The restaurant is outstanding. Superb food with outstanding beautiful view on Portree Harbour and Bay. The personal is VERY friendly and devoted to the well-being of the guests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    The location and the views from the hotel and in paticular,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and the views from the hotel and in paticular, from the restaurant across Portree Bay, are superb. Everywhere in the hotel is spotlessly clean. The staff are polite, professional and efficient. We stayed in the annexe and our room was smartly decorated and spotless. The bar was very reasonably priced, with lager being less expensive than in town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    A stay that created
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was exceptional. Vivian at the reception desk was so helpful in making dinner plans for four of us. It was very busy on Skye and she placed many calls to book a lovely restaurant that could accommodate us. Carlo and Rachel waited on us for numerous meals and were so pleasant and couldn’t do enough to make our stay wonderful. They also made some suggestions on sights and places to tour.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Quality hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff appeared a bit disorganised on occasions, perhaps because it was the start of the season. Having said that everyone was so unfailingly pleasant and helpful it somehow didn't seem to matter.

    Great location, plentiful parking with magnificent views from the dining room across the Loch with Cullin Hills in the distance. Just a short walk into Portree. We had a standard room which was clean, well furnished and adequate for our needs. Quality of meals, breakfast and dinner in the evening, was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    A very good hotel with some serious ‘glitches’ in its bathroom facilities and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath/shower arrangement is inadequate. When will hotels learn by looking at the data, that less than 5% of people who patronise their establishment ever use a bath. A good shower is essential in an establishment that charges a high price. A curtain in a narrow bath tub ( high-sided) is NOT conducive to comfort...or I imagine safety for many 60+ age-group people....who by the way are the overwhelming majority of this type of establishments patrons. Breakfast not commensurate with the price either....quite good but many establishments in Scotland at half the price have noticeably better quality and wider choice. Some service was excellent but an equal number were aloof, slow or unresponsive.

    A spacious room with comfortable bedding and good water,coffee,tea-making facilities. Very good view. Excellent sitting room and dining room with very good views. Extremely quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel and location but don’t bother with the standard rooms. They are uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was less than ideal. The view was of the car park and you could hear everything going on around you, including people slamming the door headed to their car just outside our room. The bed was very thin and uncomfortable. Also the cot provided was dirty which made us not want to use it. A shame since the rest of the hotel and the staff were so lovely.

    The view from the lounge and dining room was stunning. Staff was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    A magical place in Skye
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slow and confused service at breakfast.

    One of the most enchanting hotels we have ever visited. Located in a quiet and magical area of Portree, with lake view and mountains with snow in the peaks. It was fun and very relaxing to sit on the lawn in front of the view at the end of a long day trip. Cute room, huge bed, spacious bathroom. Good breakfast in front of the same wonderful view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Luxury Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price is high and shower pressure is low - water does not seem to be a limitation around here :)

    Great location with an excellent view. Walking distance to town. Very classy hotel with very attentive and friendly staff. Good restaurant with panorama window. Make a reservation!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    Generously sized room and bathroom.lovely setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Turret Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fresh fruit at breakfast or pastries . Unable to see TV from bed in room

    Had turret room which was lovely and spacious. Beautiful views when having breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.3
    Wifi was terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was terrible. I stayed there 2 nights and I could not use wifi for work. I already asked for pw.and the owner still gave the one which bad even he has another one which was good but he did not give us. I wont go back to stay there.

    Near town center

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Love this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We order potato scone on breakfast but the food did not come and the breakfast time almost finish so we didnt ask the waitress again..I think she forgot but it's okay, we have a lovely stay in the hotel..

    Everything!! The best hotel we stayed in our roadtrip..The room is big, comfortable and had a stunning view..The breakfast was nice..We tried haggis for the first time and it's delicious..The staff was very nice and friendly..We tried the restaurant for dinner and was nice..I ate chicken supreme and it had unique taste, you must try it..and soup of the day was very delicious too..The outside view was very stunning..We love this hotel!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Probably the only hotel I have ever stayed that the advertisement pictures are worse than the reality! Fantastic views, excellent service and great location. I am definitely coming back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    We had a special price for a room in a building behind the...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smoke detector was beeping in the morning. But this was maybe just a maintenance issue and will not happen every day.

    We had a special price for a room in a building behind the main part of the hotel but it was still a very good clean and comfortable room. Breakfast and dinner was very good. I had one of the best steaks here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Warm and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very comfortable, clean and warm. Hotel is in a fantastic spot with amazing restaurants very close by. Great walks on the doorstep. Good breakfast choice and very helpful staff. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Portree is a great base to visit Skye and this hotel is a truly excellent choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot think of anything we didn’t like - even the weather was kind !

    The location, the views, the facilities and the Staff all truly excellent ! If you plan to visit Skye, this is the perfect choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic staff and magnificent views from our bedroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were upgraded at check-in by a very friendly lady, who kindly took us to our room. Very friendly and polite staff, housekeeping standards were excellent. We had a delicious dinner in the hotel our second night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    We enjoyed two nights here while hiking and exploring Skye. I would happily stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard room was large, exceptionally clean and comfortable. Common areas of hotel were comfortable. Great to relax by the fire after being outdoors all day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.5
    Overall good place not my favorite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was ok, had better in other parts of country, main dining room floor is loud so even though atmosphere is nice when wait staff is going in & out it is extremely loud, staircase to room is with very short treads so it is a little dangerous

    Room size great, fresh fruit when you enter great touch, bathroom good size, lighting excellent, bed sheets crisp, view amazing from upgraded room, walk to town very easy, staff very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Delightful stay overall. Will definitely return .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    TV signal poor. Couldn't really watch anything for more than a couple of minutes.

    Lovely room with sea view. Very large & comfortable bed. Excellent free Wi-fi. Nice selection of toileteries and fresh fruit supplied every day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    Perfect and would thoroughly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Whiskey prices were quite high and put off in trying too many.

    All in all a perfect stay. Fantastic staff, beautiful location and views, hotel very accommodating. Large comfortable bedrooms. Superb Whiskey collection.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel! Will return next time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t really fault anything but I didn’t have a good sleep due to the dripping noise from the shower room probably because I was too nervous about the car accident we had... other aspects are just perfect!

    The price of our hotel is not cheap but the view of the room is worth everything!!! We had a gorgeous ocean-view room on the ground floor and it’s so spacious!!!! Our car had a breakdown and we only made it to Portree at 9.30pm thanks to Avis’s poor service. Thanks God there were still staffs at the front desk to do check-in for us and the two ladies were super friendly. Love the bathroom and shower amenities as well! And breakfast experience was just perfect. If you get up early, you can get a table by the window and enjoy the beautiful sea view whilst dining.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Wonderful time, restful atmosphere, and great surroundings to get away from the big city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff always attentive, friendly, and helpful. Room was quiet with wonderful view to harbour. Dining is nice with good selection on menu. Staff remebered things as small as the brand of beer I ordered first night and bright what I wanted without asking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Awesome experience - highly recommend.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    My experience was dignified, friendly, not at all tartan-tacky, and had a quiet serenity that was a joy to have had the opportunity of. The very large comfortable bed was a bonus; the room and en suite well laid-out, spacious with a tremendous view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Fabulous stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Turret Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous stay! Staff were very friendly and helpful. Beautiful turret room with super comfy bed. Excellent food, compliments to both the chef and the restaurant staff, we felt very looked after! View across the bay was outstanding!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Weekend away in January
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful hotel, was quiet when we went which suited us perfectly. Lovely rooms and gorgeous breakfast all staff very friendly. Can't wait to go back

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing views and a comfy resting place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the road to get to the hotel was a bit bumpy given we did not have an SUV & arrived at night

    Everything was just right..starting from the beautiful view of the sea just in front of the hotel for breakfast/dinner, comfortable rooms, clean, good breakfast cooked on order. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Would definitely recommend it for a couple. Parking available around the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Felt like a second honeymoon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the view, facilities and food were all amazing, but the lovely and helpful staff (especially the lovely Anna in reception) really made our stat extra special :) they had the best disabled facilities we have seen across the whole of the UK!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    First class accommodation in beautiful location with first class service, we loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing..everything was perfect.

    We have nothing but praise for this hotel. The staff were a credit to the business..polite..friendly and knowlegeable.The service we received was second to none..hotel beautifully refurbished.. views fabulous..food amazing. A great little mini break for us. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    Great location for exploring Skye, impressive views from the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we had one of the premier deluxe rooms, lovely room, but I have to say, where are the coat hooks !

    It is an incredible location, however, I got the distinct impression, Portlee would get really busy in the Summer to the point that I wouldn't want to be there. We were there in February.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t fault it!!

    The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The hotel staff were very friendly. Food was lovely, and was delighted the breakfast is made to order rather than sitting in a hot plate.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    A wonderful relaxing weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was an excellent stay at an excellent hotel, Room was of a good size with good amenities and bathroom was very clean with a great shower. Restaurant was a of a very good standard and the food quality was good too. All staff were very pleasant hope to return soon

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service from the staff was excellent, we visited in January and received a free room upgrade and ended up with amazing views over the Cuillin Hills and Portree! Everyone really went above and beyond to help make our stay perfect. Breakfast was delicious and set us up perfectly for the day, the room was lovely and bed super comfy! Would highly recommend and will return.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    A really good quality hotel with amazing views, excellent...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't fault it.

    A really good quality hotel with amazing views, excellent staff and very comfortable beds! I'd also highly recommend dinner in the restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From our stay there was nothing to complain about or needed improvement.

    The staff were excellent and very friendly. Room was lovely and clean. Food was outstanding. Would recommend this hotel to anyone

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    5.0
    We booked the double bedroom and request an extra bed late...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked the double bedroom and request an extra bed late so it's reasonable that they couldn't get an extra bed in; the reception told us that she could get us extra blankets, which could be useful but never return with them. The next morning, only 2 of us went to the breakfast yet the reception tried to charge us 3 persons. The path towards the hotel were dark and there's no lightning.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.6
    Winter stopover to avoid gales and snow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The hotel is secluded although within walking distance to main town Portreee. The grounds have lots of little walks and is close to the shore. The vies of Portree harbour are spectacular with the hills as a backdrop, especially with snow. The hotel is a combination of old and new which marry well together. Lovely and warm too!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    A must if you visit Skye
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn't like was the bathroom, the toilet needed a few flushes to properly do so, and it was very wasteful. The hot and cold faucets were separate and you couldn't just get warm water, it was either cold or hot.

    The staff were simply the best! They went above and beyond to ensure that we had an enjoyable stay. The location was great with an unbelievable view. The beds were comfortable and the rooms spacious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    It was a cozy, romantic, warm, friendly, and beautiful place to spend our holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warming towel racks, extra large tub, fresh fruit in our room every day, cozy lounge with bar staff to relax in the evening, all staff very warm and friendly, delicious holiday menu offering complete with Christmas Crackers, beautiful views of Cuillin, perfect location to explore Portree on foot and northern Skye by car.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    Excellent and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially biscuits not available with a tea served in the afternoon but next day chef made some shortbread

    The overall experience was great, service, food and rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: