Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Culloden House Hotel 4 stars

Culloden, Inverness, IV27BZ, United Kingdom

#1 of 34 hotels in Inverness

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 236 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    Ambiance of hotel is great but room not fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room disappointing with no view of garden except outlook to brickwork/exterior walls. This was booked for overseas visitor to give her an experience of a lifetime with a night at the historic Culloden House hotel but the room itself was not exceptional, quite ordinary. Perhaps single travellers get these types of rooms?

    Beautiful entrance

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    A historical gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent

    The room was fantastic. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location and surroundings were stunning. An excellent place to stay, especially for people interested in history.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel does NOT have air conditioning and does not have an elevator, so be prepared to climb steps. However the staff carried the bags up to the rooms, so that wasn't too much of an issue. There was a step in the bathroom that was hard to see/remember it was there. I think that should be revisited as something to change as it was kind of dangerous, especially with a child.

    We loved the history and charm of this hotel. My mother and sister had rooms on the front of the hotel in the main part of the house. Their two windows opened up to the breeze. There rooms were very large with a full sitting area and two beds plus a large renovated bathroom. My bedroom was on the back side of the hotel and the windows didn't open fully so it was hard to get a breeze. The bathroom was renovated with a large jacuzzi tub. You had to stand in the tub for the shower and there was no shower curtain. The walled garden on the grounds of the hotel was beautiful and made you feel like you were in a secret garden. The hotel had a piper at night which was super cool. Also you can play croquet on the front lawn of the hotel. Breakfast was delicious with tons of options. The hotel has free parking with ample spaces.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.5
    Bagpipes, Scotch & The Drawing Room...Oh My
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had an issue during check-in and it was not handled in a discreet, professional manner. Initial impression because of this was very underwhelming.

    Other than our check-in, which was quite impersonal and unprofessional, the staff was outstanding! Bagpipes were played while we enjoyed our pre-dinner drinks. Really great! Enjoyed our after dinner drinks while playing chess in the Downton Abbey-esque drawing room. Breakfast was traditional and yummy. We stayed because of the historical nature of the place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Culloden House is a must do if you are planning a stay in this area of beautiful Scotland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful hotel - rooms, grounds and staff all excellent! Our room was beautiful, the grounds and walled garden are just lovely and the hospitality of the hotel was the best we experienced in Scotland. In particular - Harvey, Noel, Bethany and the lad who is a great rugby player, looked after us so well! The bagpipes before dinner are a very special touch. Dining in is a must as the food is excellent as is the service. Overall - if you can, stay here - the experience is 10/10!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    Delightful Staff & Delicious Food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is pretty pricey for what you get in comparison to the other places we stayed at on our trip like the Balmoral in Edinburgh, Gleneagles and Glencoe house - all 5 star properties which are much more luxurious with better decor, have a lot more facilities and only cost a little more.

    The food was delicious and the staff delightful. Bathrooms in our suite were newly renovated. Location is great to see Culloden Battlefield. Wi Fi was great. Easy parking on site. Perfect place for a stopover.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    We were delighted with the hotel and restaurant - Lovely stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel rooms are on 3 floors and there is no elevator. This was not a problem for us (and the staff helped with the bags), but suggest requesting rooms on the ground floor if stairs are an issue. Do not let that dissuade you from staying here for sure.

    We loved this hotel. We had done pretty extensive research on hotels in and around Inverness before choosing this one. The hotel itself and grounds are outstandingly beautiful. The staff was very helpful. We ate dinner at the hotel the first night and were so happy with the meal, the service and the beautiful dining room that we ate dinner at the hotel every night of our stay. Make sure to order the chocolate dessert - it's in contention for the best dessert we've ever had. There is a bagpipe player most evenings that we could hear from our room. We found the location to be ideal for sightseeing in all directions - to Loch Ness, north to Dunrobin Castle with its great falconry exhibition (don't miss!) and east to Cawdor Castle (also a must do) and Nairn. We did not have time to go west to Skye, but it is also a doable day trip.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    The history of the house, the friendliness of the staff, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was the worst on our month of holiday

    The history of the house, the friendliness of the staff, the welcome, the location to important historical attractions

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing hotel with excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a kettle in the room when we arrived rather than having to ask for tea to be sent up. This is not a negative comment just an observation.

    The staff are excellent so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The grounds are beautiful and very peaceful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Heritage hotel in the heart of the Highland with the "touch of history" and luxury facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to say on the improvements, just set your expectations right as this is still a very old building with a lot of heritage, so you can meet some split taps in your bathroom :-)

    heritage hotel in the iconic historical site give you the feeling that you are "touching the history"; staff is really great and breakfast is fantastic; in the evening you can sit in the living room where Bonny Prince had a meeting with his generals just before Culloden battle and drink whiskey overlooking amazing Highland landscape!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Our "battle of culloden anniversary trip"
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing to NOT like about it, if anything atall, the little post-office/shop could do with being a little bit closer but that's all.

    The hotel was outstanding, immaculate, comfortable and the staff were all fabulous... loved every minute of the stay...didn't want to leave and we're definitely going back..again and again😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    6.7
    Room was disappointing but staff was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tight hallways, tons of stairs and low ceiling room that a relatively tall person can barely navigate without hitting their head. The room was mediocre compared to other hotels we stayed at on our trip. The outside is beautiful! The saving grace was the staff. They were extraordinary in every way.

    We were in a room higher in the hotel even though I had talked with them before our departure and requested a lower level room. They were booked and not able to get us anything lower. Even in March the room was too hot and ceiling was so low my son hit his head several times. Very hard to manage baggage in small hallways. Sadly, I was disappointed as I was looking forward to this stop because of its connection to the Outlier series.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    Quality hotel in a beautiful period property with friendly local staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First impressions of room not wonderful, but grew to appreciate its period ambience.. Great size and huge bathroom. A blind at the bathroom window would have been good, rather than net curtain.

    A beautiful Robert Adam 17th century property with historic links to the nearby Battle of Culloden. Staff all very friendly, experienced and helpful - obviously proud of the history of the property. Room very comfortable and quality soaps etc in the bathroom. The dinner was excellent quality but not a stuffy atmosphere. The pastry chef particularly impressed with the sweets and petit fours with coffee. Good whisky selection in the bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.0
    Utter disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Joke offer of bar food, so use awful dining room (no jeans etc) with dire menu and ludicrous prices, or get a taxi. No wine under £30 odd. No evidence of bar snacks etc. No introduction to hotel facilities (they offer free tea and coffee if you read their blurb in the rooms). We were obviously put in cheapest room as we'd booked via Booking.com. Weirdly run, skeleton staff do their best, but why is it like this?

    Coffee poor, orange juice poor, porridge very good, kippers pre-coked, probably had been ok at some point. No buffet so slow service (with very few guests) and no choice beyond course one and two. Hurried closure before 10am cut-off.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Loved the charm and history associated with the hotel . Thoroughly enjoyed our stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the warmth and friendliness of all the staff . The bar in the front lounge had a great range of whiskies and gins , it had a good atmosphere and we enjoyed speaking to other residents there .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Our stay was a fabulous experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent experience. The accommodations and food were outstanding. The staff was extremely attentive, friendly and helpful. Steven and Noel were absolutely amazing!! We could not have asked for a better experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    very comfy beds and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very comfy beds and very clean. Staff were so helpful and friendly nothing was a bother, they couldn't do enough to make our stay a happy one. The evening meals were really nice good choices also the breakfasts everything you could want.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Everything the staff where really friendly,the rooms where...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we enjoyed everything

    Everything the staff where really friendly,the rooms where lovely and very clean our two nights stay was excellent and enjoyable would come back again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    A 5-star hotel with a unique character. the perfect Highlands experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor detail in the overall fantastic experience but the pressure of the shower in one the rooms we stayed was not good enough. We are sure the management will look into that and fix it.

    The location is fantastic. The history of the house is very Interesting and the landscape magnificent. Rooms were spacious, clean and with a very elegant Victorian touch. The staff is great, all kind, smiley and fun, especially Kyle! Both breakfast and dinner are of excellent quality. And of course with a great selection of malt whiskies. If the weather is good you can walk around the gardens which are very beautiful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.9
    A smashing little break in one of our favourite hotels in Scotland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress and pillows, mattress needs to be changed as it has to much roll in the middle and the pillows were flat.

    The hotel is an instant chill pill, you can sit back, relax get the right attention not to much not to little and eat some of the best food you will ever come across, the hotel is a wonder in the most beautiful grounds.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Scottish grandeur!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent food, very friendly and helpful staff. This 200-year-old Scottish mansion is a fine place to stay. Decorated and furnished to a very high standard.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Fit for a Prince.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A truly brilliant, historic luxury, located in a stunning location. Where the staff can simply do no more to make your stay fantastic, and relaxing. The food choices are of the highest quality, most definitely fit for a prince. I love Culloden House, and can not recommend highly enough.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Historical and beautiful both outside and out. Superb facilities with excellent staff!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING!

    Culloden House is a beautiful building and its approach driveway shows it at its best. Our room was perfect and tastefully decorated. Attention was paid to its history and everything complimented this. The food was excellent and all the staff were very welcoming. We had our Golden Retriever dog with us and she too was made very welcome. We had a super relaxing and enjoyable weekend. A wonderful place to stay!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful and historic house with spacious and attractive rooms, friendly and attentive staff.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very welcoming and friendly staff. Lovely grounds to walk the dog. The lovely night porter made us a great cup of tea at 05.30am (with shortbread!) when we got up to take our 4 month old labrador retriever puppy out. They all made a lovely fuss of her.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.5
    Thoroughly enjoyable and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dinner and more importantly the wine list were over-priced. This drove us to eat out when we may have otherwise enjoyed the hotel restaurant had it offered more value for money. I emphasise it's about value not price. There are a couple of very small things that could take this hotel from awesome to truly memorable. C'mon guys real log fires not gas fired would be a start.

    Amazing historic house filled with atmosphere, comfort and a sense that you are somewhere special. Breakfast was first class and gave everyone a brilliant start to the day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful weekend, lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had to ask for tea tray which was a bit strange. The hot water was a bit variable in its supply.

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, service excellent for everything. The towels were very large and fluffy and the toiletries were excellent. Dining was very good,Location superb

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.1
    Normal, but I will need to find an other alternative for Inverness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think the furniture, doors, windows, walls structure, upholstery and carpeting should be refreshed, some of them look tired, a lot of details can make the difference - in this case in bad, we had room 22B, under my expectations, from pictures I thought will more above, but in reality I was a little bit disappointed. Menu could have had more choice, not very Scottish.

    The staff was very lovely, especially Neville - the best, very kind and always ready to help you in anything. The location is very good if you will want to visit the sites and castles near Inverness. The place is full of history.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    A lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Culloden House Hotel was very elegant but they still made our children feel welcome. The staff were extremely friendly. The rooms were lovely, comfortable and well decorated in décor suited to the period of the building. There was plenty of parking. We ate in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast and both were delicious. We really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.6
    The hotel met our hopes for a very comfortable Scottish...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel met our hopes for a very comfortable Scottish Manor House with friendly staff , roaring fires , large, comfortable room and excellent food . Exceedingly good Scottish hospitality

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    If anyone wishes to visit the Highlands, this is a real find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I love coming to this hotel as I have stayed and dined here before. The staff are excellent and so attentive and informative. When we arrived Kyle was so helpful as he makes it feel like a home from home and nothing is too much trouble for all the staff. The fires were all lit and I had a lovely hotel suite with two bathrooms. My children also had a lovely room and my grandson thought it was magical. When we come here we love the tea/coffee being served to the room. This is one hotel that made me, my mother, my children and grandson feel so special that we can't wait to return again and again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    A relaxed home with someone else doing the housekeeping.
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lovely old house, grounds and gardens. However, the outstanding feature of Culloden House is the friendly attentiveness of the staff. I have stayed in grander and more luxurious places but their service did not match that of Stephen, Kyle and all the people who served me. I also had a very good choice of vegan items for breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.2
    Perfect base for sightseeing around Inverness and Culloden battlefield
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Step in bathroom

    Staff were a delight esp Kyle, although there are steps and stairs these guys helped all the way with a very pleasant manner. We only had a light supper in the bar so cannot comment on restaurant but breakfast was tasty.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    A great memory
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the home and surrounding grounds. Service was excellent. Kyle who was very helpful and his service was excellent. Close to Culloden Moor Would love to go back and stay again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    Overall a great experience worthy of a return visit without question. Have already recommended to .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a complimentary shuttle to/ from Inverness each hour for those without personal vehicles

    Staff proficiency and interactions. The location, beautiful garden and evening bag pipe. The picturesque view of the hotel upon arrival each day we returned from an outing. The meals were very good, especially breakfast to fuel the body for the scheduled activities daily, and the attentiveness/friendliness of all staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Gorgeous, historic estate - feels like one is inhabiting a historical novel for a time.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing - except I wish they had had vacancy for more than one night so that I could have stayed longer! That said, however, I made the most of the hours that I was there and fully enjoyed my stay.

    I loved the history of the house. In 1746, the "Young Pretender" Bonnie Prince Charlie commandeered the house and used it as his headquarters just before his final battle with the Government forces on Culloden Moor. The house was visible from the battlefield at that time (though not today) and can be seen in paintings and sketches of the battle. The Culloden House pays tribute to this history. (The staff were even willing to take me down to the wine cellars where wounded Jacobite soldiers awaited their executions by the Government soldiers after the battle was lost.) Combined with a trip to the Culloden Visitors' Centre and Battlefield, my stay at the Culloden House was absolutely perfect. As a hotel, the House and grounds are gorgeous. I felt like a queen in my impressive room, and I enjoyed wandering about the house, eating in the dining room, relaxing in the parlor, and walking the estate - including the walled gardens. The food served in the dining room was truly lovely; the dinner menu was top-notch, and the included breakfast was delicious. The staff are friendly and very professional; I enjoyed chatting with them about the history of the house and the area. I hope to go back again someday.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    A most memorable visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Terrific friendly staff...especially Kyle And Murray. We were made to feel at home which was really appreciated. Service was exceptional in all respects.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Elegance beyond our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old world elegance and perfect service. Our room was huge with every possible amenity. Breakfast and dinner were both delicious. We loved our stay. We would definitely use Culloden House again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    A wonderful place for a treat stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was so friendly and helpful from those busing the tables to the front desk. They were very attentive to our needs and it was a beautiful facility that was the perfect launching spot for our Speyside whisky tasting. The food at the restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable hotel with great food and service, in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Stayed at the start of our NC 500 trip. The three couples were offered the Suites in the House on site, which were very comfortable. We dined in the restaurant and followed up in the bar, and had a very enjoyable evening with very good service. Great ambiance which set the tone for our trip around NW Scotland.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    Why not stay where Bonnie Prince Charlie stayed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are quite a lot of stairs but it would be impossible to add lifts without destroying the originality of, what is, a truly historic house

    This is the house in which "Bonnie Prince Charlie" stayed the night before the Battle Of Culloden.( It is near the battlefield visitor centre which is also worth a visit ) It is set in beautiful grounds and has a wonderful atmosphere with incredibly attentive staff. the bedrooms,many of which have four poster beds are really comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    We will be back next year (If we are spared!)
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Prices perhaps on the high side but you pay for quality.

    Fabulous to be so dog friendly. The food was superb, the wines very satisfactory. The rooms and bed were extremely comfortable. The decor traditional and perhaps old fashioned but this did not detract from our enjoyment. The gardens and grounds are wonderful, and were greatly enjoyed by our dogs as well as ourselves.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Historical residence, quintessential Scottish pride of service, excellent facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can honestly say that there was nothing that we (my wife and I) did not like.

    Staying at Culloden House was an experience of travelling back into history while enjoying the best of the modern world. the gardens were immaculate as was our room. The staff were always helpful and clearly had a lot of pride in the history of the house itself. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.6
    A great start to our Scottish holiday in the highlands.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was one of our favourite properties. So can't answer here

    The staff were very friendly. The manor house was grand and the walled garden was beautiful. It was well positioned near Inverness but in its own world . One could imagine its past.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    Fantabulous!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was sad to go...I needed more time

    The bed was so confortable! I haven't slept through the night in years and I did here. The breakfast choice were good and the staff were extremely friendly! Booked us dinner at a restaurant in Inverness and it was fabulous!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    2.5
    Shocking / Disgusting
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is absolutely appalling. Think Fawlty Towers without the humour! And there is absolutely nothing funny about this hotel! The standards in every aspect are shocking from the state of the rooms, decor, fixtures and fittings, the bedding, the beds, lampshades are either falling apart or have fallen apart. The sash windows do not stay open and masked in filthy net curtains. The management, if that is what they call themselves are not focussed on customer service in the slightest. For example; when I asked why there was not a chest of drawers in my room (£280 per night), the manager said " I hang all my clothes!" I think that says it all in terms of the shocking attitude! No tea and coffee in the room, you have to ask for it and when it arrives...it is a dirty kettle, a couple of sachets of unbranded sugar, 2 Nescafe sachets (Decaf only) and 2 English Breakfast sachets with the milk portions in plastic pods on a plate! And not even a sniff of a digestive biscuit! Does this spell 4* for £280 a night!! This hotel is disgraceful, dirty and . The food is bland, uninteresting and totally overpriced with a menu that is dull and dates back to the 70's. They have no idea how to serve a gin & tonic, and certainly no chance of a crisp or peanut without asking and waiting until your are ready to sit down as "your starters are ready now"! And definitely nothing as stylish as an olive! Don't even bother the chef for a soft boiled egg for breakfast! Something even as simple as toast is a struggle! I have stayed in hotels all over the world and this is completely unbelievable! What also is unbelievable is ......how does this hotel have such good ratings!!!! We had booked 2 rooms for 2 nights - we stayed 1 (only because there was not another 4* room available without driving 40 miles) and escaped at dawn! The Rocpool Resort is superb and 100* definitely a 4* hotel which is just down the road and exceeded all our expectations and more!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    A must if you are in Inverness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Culloden House oozes history. The staff are so lovely and make you feel at home straight away. Loved the bagpipes before dinner. The walled garden is absolutely beautiful. A credit to the gardener. Spend some time there just enjoying the peace and quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.3
    stepping back to "old scotland"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the rooms didn't have a coffee machine in them, however the staff were quick to supply a kettle, I think they don't put them in as it isn't quite the atmosphere they want to create. but I do like my coffee in bed without having to get up and let a butler in , so I suggest coffee machines are a must. ok, important one, the cost - we paid just under £300.00 per night for a 2 night stay - that really is high end costs, especially as there is no spa/swimming pool - however......... its probably worth it if you are a tourist wanting to sample the atmospheric history of the property.

    the property was very much "old Scotland" and the atmosphere was distinctly "old Scotland" having learnt that bonnie prince Charlie stayed their before the battle of culloden, the hotel staff have done an excellent job in retaining the atmosphere. indeed you feel like you are sitting in his chair or sleeping in his bed, albeit in a more comfortable bed. the food in the dining room was exquisite and not overpriced for this quality of hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    9.6
    A highlight of our trip to Scotland!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No negatives! This property may not be walking distance to the city centre but I promise it's well worth the trade-off.

    Wow!!! My mother and I didn't know the area at all but we arrived by car and found the property very easily and the parking was no problem at all. The house itself is STUNNING and much larger than we were expecting! Upon arriving, we were upgraded to a suite that was very large with a lovely view of the property. This is not an modern property however the age is what gives it it's charm (old fashioned keys are still used to get into each room!). We very extremely comfortable during our stay here. It is in a very quite and residential area, which made for great walks surrounding the property. The bar was great, we were able to explore their many books and enjoy (quite a few) cocktails while doing so! The restaurant had a small menu, however, the chef prepared a few extra dishes for us that were not listed and everything was delicious. The service was absolutely incredible - I can't say enough about the amazing staff. We opted to leave the car at home and take a cab into Inverness for a night and it was around 12 pounds each way - well worth it to experience the food, music and pubs in Inverness :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.5
    Very good historical hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some insects (from garden). Curtain could not block the light. No fridge.

    Historic place. Very nice surroundings and garden. Spacious bedroom and bathroom. Interesting old furnitures.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.6
    Genuinely warm welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meal and wine were bit expensive but we did enjoy it all the same

    Beautiful grounds, friendly and helpful staff, superb food, comfortable and relaxed atmosphere, close to Inverness town and airport.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    An excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that caused me any concern.

    Pleasant, efficient and very friendly staff. Quiet and comfortable drawing room. Bedroom was spacious with comfortable beds and a great view. The dining room was spacious and the food was of a high quality. A beautiful well maintained walled garden.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    A wonderful break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea making facilities in room

    All staff went out of their way to be as friendly and helpful as possible. Large comfortable room. The food was amazing.I think one of the best meals I've ever had.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Amazing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this hotel is simply amazing. The staff is incredibly nice and helpful, the property and the rooms are beautiful, comfortable and we felt so very relaxed and at home. Everything was perfect, and the food and drinks were absolutely delicious! I'd come back here again and highly recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel for a special occasion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing we had a great stay!

    Staff, Room and Dinner/breakfast were amazing! We were there a few days after we got married for a Mini-Moon and the grandness of the venue was truly special. They do very little weddings here which I think is a good thing at making it feel exclusive as a guest

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    10
    Heritage and luxury in one
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heritage and luxury all in one. Friendly and helpful staff, great food; dinner and breakfast. The room was fantastic with the double spa. Would happily recommend and stay again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    7.5
    The staff make this place
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mould in the tomato juice. Worn mattresses on the bed. Dry fish for breakfast.

    Staff were lovely and very helpful indeed. The gardener deserves a special mention who put up with my bagpipe practice without complaint. Interesting man. The GM kindly delivered our forgotten electronic device to our hotel for the next week!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    10
    The grounds, the building itself and everything inside are...
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I never stayed longer

    The grounds, the building itself and everything inside are all stunning. Our room was a brilliant size, and the dinner was amazing. The large selection of whiskies was a real treat to

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    10
    Historical elegance with modern luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Everything was perfect!

    Everything! The property is magnificent, the staff are so attentive & friendly. The food was delicious, the bed was comfortable and nothing was too much trouble! We loved our stay here and wished we could've stayed longer.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    10
    We were made to feel very welcome, fabulous stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything! My sisters and I took our mother for a birthday celebration. We were upgraded to the suites in the main house which are superb. The staff could not have made my mum feel more special, fabulous afternoon tea, dinner and breakfast. Highly recommended in every aspect.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom looked very swish. Large Jacuzzi bath but couldn't reach the taps without climbing into the bath first or kneeling very dangerously on the side of the bath. Most people would fill the bath before getting in to the water almost impossible unless you have extremely long arms.

    Food excellent The strict dress code wasn't adhered to I think because the hotel was particularly quiet at the time. Overall shabby chic rather than 'posh'. but nevertheless enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    9.6
    Great location and lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi didnt work well in our room, but that was not so important for us.

    Great location and lovely hotel. The staff was extremly nice and we felt very welcome.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    10
    Higgins's in Inverness
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything to not like

    The whole package :the house , location and above all the staff My son & I were in Scotland on family business of a sensitive kind . The Staff from the night checking in to the excellent breakfast in the morning ..Thank you x

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    10
    A Perfect Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing could be better, it is perfect.

    There is nothing not to like in this property. The staff, food, comfortable bed, stunning surroundings - everything is perfect. Highly recommend the beef fillet.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    10
    How can you surpass absalutely the best?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish anniversaries don't just come once a year; do I have to wait another year to stay with again? Who knows?

    My wife claimed that the bed was so comfortable she even looked for the mattress maker's name. The dining room staff were a great compliment to the chef's crew.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    Fabulous Culloden house. The best hotel experience that will make you wish you lived there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house is fantastic. The staff are amazing and can't do enough for you. Absolutely love this house. This is our fourth visit to the house and will most definitely be back again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    9.2
    A short romantic Highland break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, it was all excellent

    From the warm welcome at arrival off Kyle to the big breakfast send off again from Kyle we had a superb time, the hotel is out of this world and the food is beyond unbelievable. They were a bit quiet due to the time off the year so we were upgraded without any fuss to a wonderful suite. This hotel is beyond doubt one of the best in the world.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable break and would recommend to stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    was not too busy when we stayed, (time of year I guess) therefore there was not too much atmosphere of an evening at dinner or in the bar area

    Very tasty evening meal/breakfast. Staff were fantastic and very friendly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    10
    A highland retreat with style and humour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only had two nights

    Loved the welcome- Kyle the butler and Stephen the manager were brilliant - Kyle was funny and helpful throughout - not so much service with a smile but service with a chuckle and a wink... Well done.. A great end to our honeymoon!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    8.8
    old fashioned charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is need of an interior upgrade ,but there is some charm in an old fashioned way.

    Lovely old style hotel, large room with fire ,cosy and just right for the time of year.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    10
    Abmiance, atmosphere and class brought to you by superb friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    This is a gorgeous property steeped in Scottish history. They have it all: atmosphere, ambiance and understated class. The staff is in a category all by themselves. Always ready to help and go above and beyond what was asked.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    9.2
    Don't miss it when you are in Inverness.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quiet, several miles away from the bars, restaurants.

    Quiet, several miles away from the train station. The staff are very nice and polite. The beds are extremely comfort.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    10
    Lovely stay at this historic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The historic background of the hotel. The scenery around the hotel. Awesome staff. 24/7 bar with lots of great whisky choices. Breakfast is included and a very good one at that.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    9.2
    Great place to stay near Inverness, lots of history!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location in Inverness, glad we stayed here rather than in the city. Lots of history, took my wife for her birthday and an "Outlander" trip to Scotland so it was a perfect place to stay for that. We were upgraded to a larger room and it was a great two nights. Breakfast was good, and the staff was beyond excellent. It is an older property, but well maintained. It was November so it was cold, but we still made the most of our time. Dinner was excellent as well in the dining room. Close to Culloden battle field and other historic places, so it was a great jumping off point for us.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    10
    Must stay if you are visiting Inverness
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The room is HUGE and warm, the bed sooo comfortable and the staff incredibly nice and attentive. The accommodation is such a nice change from the standard run of the mill hotel rooms I have experienced in the rest of the UK. Staying here is like staying with a wealthy branch of "old" family. The attention to detail is fabulous, down to the swan "origami" towels. (Today it was an elephant!) The hotel is close to the Battle of Culloden centre, and Inverness itself. The grounds are enormous, lush and beautiful. Toiletries are high quality, and the house itself is steeped in really interesting history. The shower is blissfully hot with great pressure-also a welcome change from other places that I have stayed in. My only regret is that I won't be here longer. Today I have the flu and the concierge brought the tastiest hot toddy to the room. Culloden House Hotel sets the standard others should aspire to. I think it constitutes very good value for money. I will be back with my husband!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    7.9
    Wonderful service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The upholstery and carpeting needs to refreshed.

    Loved the service and the food. Impeccable service from every single staff member. It was like living at Downtown Abbey. So neat!

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Culloden House Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: