Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Cumbria Grand Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Lindale Rd, Grange Over Sands, LA11 6EN, United Kingdom

#18 of 18 hotels in Grange Over Sands

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 818 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel with nice public areas and gardens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel with nice public areas and gardens. Friendly helpful staff nice and clean facilities. Lovely location with great views. The food is good and a wide selection of choice. I highly recommend this hotel for a good general all round well presented Place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    10
    Lake District and Yorkshire Dales Bike Tour
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, it was a perfect stay

    Everything, the entire hotel is old world with all the modern necessities we cant do witbout. Its clean and food was excellent. The staff were 100%. Location is perfect for the Lake District travel and you dont have to listen to the yobs in the evening.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    9.6
    A pleasant well located hotel with pleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms and corridors in need of some refurbishment but this did not distract from the stay

    A pleasant very large hotel which was a very relaxing and quite place to stay with attentive staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    9.6
    Superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    Just back from a 2 night stay, lovely hotel and grounds. Loved the olde world feel of the place and so comforable. We had a superior double room, huge comfortable bed, big room and bathroom. Tea and coffee in the room was very welcome after a hard day of walking! Couldn't have asked for more. Excellent customer service from all the staff, thank you. Breakfast was good, we're vegetarians and were well catered for. Superb location, access to the promenade just across the road. A very pleasant walk to the train station and the center of the village, so peaceful. Overall, loved Grange over Sands, very welcoming and would definitely go back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    5.0
    Okay ishh. Won't return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn't like being offered the al a' Carter menu when quite clearly the staff had instructions to promote the carvery (Which we did not wish to eat. ).our waitress went backwards and forwards relaying messages between us and the chefs (even went as far as to tell us of their staffing problems in the kitchen!!!!!! Really? (Do I need to even know about this when I am spending my money to relax)! Eventually (and reluctantly it was agreed that we could, after all, choose what we wanted to eat), they agreed to food from the al a' carte. HOWEVER, IT WOULD TAKE A FURTHER 45 minutes. In the end our food was brought to the table at 9.40! We had been seated since just before 8pm! IT WAS GOOD BUT ALL THE PALAVER PUT US OFF.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    8.8
    A pleasant weekend which was booked at short notice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was uncomfortable as it was 2 single beds put together which had a hard ridge in the middle where the edges of both mattresses met.

    The food was very good and the staff were polite and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    10
    Absolutely sublime hotel and grounds, will be returning very soon. Loved our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was immaculate, the bed was a huge queen size and very comfortable. The hotel itself is beautiful, I loved the architecture and the grounds, both my partner and I will be returning very soon. I cannot recommend the Cumbria Grand enough.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    5.0
    Will not be fooled by the word "Grand" again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    View to the right of my window was bins, old furniture and cats. Room was small and tired. Bathroom was very small although modern and clean. Double bed was a small double. Ceiling had paint peeling. Did not expect motel style buffet breakfast for room price.

    View to left of my window was stunning

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much to dislike

    The rooms are a nice size. They have fantastic beds. The grounds are very well kept and clean. The views with the sea view are fantastic overlooking Morecambe Bay. I would definately recommend this property.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    7.5
    Good value and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More power points in the room to enable connection of television and kettle whilst charging phone or using computer. Quite inconvenient really but not that bad, and didn't warrant a complaint,

    Everything was ok with the exception of there being only one power point in the room? I also left a brand new pair of shorts in the room but they 'Disappeared', All in all good value for money with good location and good staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    5.0
    Poor uncomfortable and overpriced feel like iv been robbed of £130
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was pokey and very hot no air con or even a fan! Bed was hard and uncomfortable menu in the restaurant was poor and un appetizing the place smelt of fish and staff on reception were not welcoming. Lady dj in the bar in the evening was as about as entertaining as a dead stick!

    The building and the grounds

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    3.8
    Basic needs catered for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very shabby. Needs better maintenance. They advertise free toiletries but only provide soap. Public area toilets dirty and badly maintained.

    The breakfast is good. The setting is lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful building, big room, useless reception staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's very dated and even though it is an old building, it could definitely do with a cosmetic revamp, especially in the bathroom. The lift looks like it came off the arm. Also, the staff behind reception were some of the most ignorant hotel staff I've ever met and were not very helpful at all. The staff in the restaurant at breakfast were lovely though.

    The bedroom was huge. It was for four people, had a king-size bed and two singles but it never felt cramped or like we were all on top of each other. The breakfast was lovely, with a selection of cereals, fruits etc and a full English. However it seems daft to me to keep the croissants under a heat lamp. They were rock hard! The restaurant is such a stunning room and the views out the window are delightful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    6.3
    Enjoyable all in all, but the rooms and floor boards could do with some TLC!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldn’t sleep after 6am because of how noisy the floor was in the corridors, we also had someone having a full blown loud conversation around 6:45 just outside our room, then the Peacock started. There was a clump of hair in one of the bath towels.

    Bed was comfy, character of the building was beautiful. Gardens were stunning. Breakfast and bar facilities were very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    5.0
    Ver, very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The building I in need of a horouh refurbish. Carpets were dirty, the bathroom was too small, one bed size light had no bulb and the engineers did not have a rplacemnent.

    The food wa good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    4.6
    Never again added photo of bath mat don’t know what the brown stuff is
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Evening dinner, I paid £17 for 1 small potato 1 carrot 1 small piece of broccoli 1 asparagus and a piece of salmon it wasn’t even Nuevo cuisine, then I realised they are not geared up for a single meal, most had the carvery cooked on mass like a school dinner

    Leaving, I have never seen carpet so poorly maintained in my life, it needs a complete makeover just to make it ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    4.2
    The view from the bedroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The tiredness and out of date decor tiny bathroom and stained walls and carpets and musty smell.Needs thousdands of pounds spending on it . The building itself is grand but nothing inside it is ! Staff at breakfast unhelpful and breakfast greasy and poor

    The view from the bedroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    8.3
    This hotel was perfect for us as we love the way they keep the Carter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nil

    We enjoyed are stay at this hotel, the bed was comfy, the hotel had lots of Carter, we walked to grave-over sand which is a lovely place, we had breakfast which was nice, we also had lunch that was lovely we will be staying in this hotel again 😊

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    9.2
    Good sized room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No ventillation in bathroom. Fan didn't work and window was a non-opener. Weather was hot at the time so more ventillation would have been useful.

    Good sized room. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    7.5
    Relaxing and we had great weather so sat out in lovely grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walls very thin so you can hear everything. Plus a domestic fallout on Saturday night from a couple further along our corridor. Doors being slammed, shouting and crying. Not good when it wakes you up!

    Location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    3.8
    Avoid, overpriced grubby hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The reception staff, one in particular, wasn't very welcoming. Special baskets and extras were grubby and not value for money. Grubby room and noisey hotel, Complained to manager won't be going back not what you would expect at all for the money. Find a premier inn or go to the netherwood up the road.

    Nice location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    10
    Amazing . Beautiful location and surroundings. Would highly recommend. Great place to take your pets
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was perfect. Room. Facilities , staff, breakfast and the location.

    The building itself was amazing. Our two Labradors loved it too. Staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    5.0
    Lovely building, lovely location but it requires a bit of updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff at Reception were particularly unfriendly. I had difficulty with my luggage, while my husband parked the car, and there were 4 of them at reception and I was totally ignored. I also witnessed one of the reception staff being very rude to a guest who was trying to check in. The breakfast was not very nice.

    The location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is a big hotel of faded grandeur. It caters for coach parties of mainly the elderly (of which I am one). So lift usage was very slow. And getting about was slow. Despite this we enjoyed our stay and would return.

    The situation. Great view of Morecambe bay. The staff really very friendly The grub was pretty good No parking problems

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    8.3
    A wonderful little escape. We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Like stepping back in time. An oldy worldy feel. spacious clean room, A comfortable bed, great views, plenty of space and an outstanding breakfast. Staff were lovely and helpful. Will definitely be back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.2
    Have stayed here several times and like it very much. Staff are excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was there last Friday and Saturday and paid £273. Checked how much it would cost for same room this coming Friday and Saturday and it would be £233. I know it was a Bank Holiday but services and facilities were exactly the same . Why charge £40 more?

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    8.8
    A striking hotel in a beautiful location; well worth a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was decent enough although rather short on choice, especially with fruits and pastries. A lovely, large and light dining room.

    What a beautiful Victorian hotel! Lovely, spacious hotel with wonderful gardens and views across the Estuary. Very pleasant staff and public arreas. Large grounds with plenty of walks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    9.2
    Faded grandeur
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cracked tiles on bathroom floor, decor could do with a refresh.

    Charming hotel with lovely grounds and views. Bar meals were good, and staff were friendly and helpful. The peacock was amazing. Eccentric lift. Great gift shop gifts.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant old world courtesy in an extremely old world hotel!
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The limited taxi service. I tried all the numbers on your little slip at the reception on Sunday morning, 20 May 2018. It was not Grange-over-Sands' proudest moment... The background music was so dated, I knew all the numbers!

    I liked the staff. I thought the food was well-prepared and plentiful. I loved the surrounding grounds. Someone has to make contact with the taxi drivers to encourage them to realise that in large part they feed off the town's hotel guests. (A courtesy shuttle into town would have been an enormous advantage to some of the elderly hotel guests - an particularly me.) The three Hungarians who served me were very agreeable and efficient. Very good!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    7.5
    Overall an enjoyable stay and impressed with location, does need some general maintenance in places
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our initial room was substandard unfortunately the décor was tired, the toilet flush wasn't working properly, the TV didn't work, nor did the room phone and there was no kettle in the room. However we were immediately offered a superior room so this didn't impact out stay greatly.

    The location and setting were very good and a great base to access the lake district. Staff for the most part were friendly and helpful. The peacock in the grounds was an added bonus :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel, fabulous grounds, good bar staff, excellent value for money stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Corridors could do with a lick of paint

    Grounds fabulous, the peacock at the entrance door was beautiful, comfy bed, huge bathroom, really lovely hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect hotel for relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not near any store (luckily I always bring some drinks with me)

    Surrounded by trees, some rooms with sea view, friendly and helpful staff, reasonable price, 15-minute walk from Grange-over-Sands train station, clean facilities, comfortable bed, breakfast included, bath tub :-) and yes peacocks roaming around in the morning at hotel yard

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    7.1
    Was a pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed was extremely firm and the bathroom layout was very poor ie. the basin was so close to the toilet you had to sit at an angle which baffled us as the bathroom was big enough to allow the toilet to be moved

    breakfasts were good and good value and the lounges were good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    7.9
    A fine place to stay apart from the very noisy peacock!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We won't be staying again unless we find out the peacock has gone! A fine creature, but it roamed around the grounds, its very loud call incessant near our windows from 5 am and we couldn't sleep.

    Lovely view, old-world "faded grandeur", comfortable beds, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyable plenty of walking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maybe separate resteraunt or bar away from the main dinning area.

    The location was very nice staff good.The hotel it's self rather tired but but rather Grand in a way.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The drain in the bath was slow to drain the water!!

    The location was perfect, the Victorian spleandour of the hotel remains; very impressive building and grounds. The staff were really helpful from the start to end of our stay, the fact that you welcome dogs was excellent. We only stayed one night and didn’t have an evening meal, but the breakfast was excellent, lots of choice and quality food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    7.5
    Mixed feelings...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy rooms due to creaky floors and tv’s on max volume! Loud voices and TVs kept my wife awake late at night and very early morning 5am! Staff could be more friendly Had to book 2 rooms for 5 people via booking.com when could have had 2 room booking direct!!

    Great old worldly property with fab views Great breakfast Good shower pressure Good bar food and quick service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful location and gardens and walks easy to get onto...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Inappropriate too loud music in bar and restaurant better with nothing at all as no-one listens

    Wonderful location and gardens and walks easy to get onto the promenade

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    5.0
    Fade but comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel felt very dated (old decor, faded/stained carpets etc). It is a marvellous building - with a refurbishment it could be very special.

    The breakfast was good and the staff were friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    9.2
    Plan to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have preferred real bread to the ready sliced toast.

    Helpful friendly staff and I appreciated the nature notes on the noticeboard in the grounds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    5.0
    Fine except for the dining experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy dining room and presence of noisy groups queueing at the self service buffet. The waiter staff didn't speak good English so it was difficult to communicate exact orders to them. For instance was Dover Sole served on the bone or off the bone.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed relaxing visit and hope to return for longer stay in the near future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Decor in bedroom could do with updating.

    Nice atmosphere in the hotel and very comfortable. Hotel setting in lovely woodland surroundings and well kept garden areas. Lovely venue for our event.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    6.3
    As above dissspointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food cold plates on our evening meal £40 were cold so your meal went cold very quickly it is little things like that make it very dissapointing

    The staff were very helpfull

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    7.9
    Excellent for a weekend break and affordable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had assumed we were in comfortable walking distance to the centre of Grange - it was further than l thought.

    The hotel was in a lovely setting and all the staff were very welcoming and polite.It could do with some repairs, but these did not affect our stay or enjoyment.Alacarte me no was reasonably priced, we'll cooked and presented.Would recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    7.5
    A nice quiet stay in a comfortable room and excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No gym or sports facilities and not making the best use of the lovely views

    A nice quiet stay in a comfortable room and excellent breakfast. A game of snooker, a walk through the forest, and a stroll along the promenade into town listening to the seabirds were the memorable extras.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed our stay and will go again ,I've recommended it on to out friends and family ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We could have done with a handle over the bath as we had to stand into the bath for out shower, and we would have felt a bit safer with a handle

    The meals were very good ,always hot, and plenty of it , the breakfast we enjoyed ,and plenty to chose from The room was very clean and the bed very very comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    9.6
    A great place , will come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Menu's a little limited and the Bar menu was not well displayed

    A great place in a good location. Staff very helpful. The service was great. A good place for a nice relaxing break. Will be returning. Thanks to all.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    9.5
    Grand hotel, comfortable and graceful with lovely staff and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Paying for wi-fi away from public areas - but do we rea

    Grand hotel, comfortable and graceful with lovely staff and breakfast with a view. Quiet reading rooms for when it rained, handy for the bar. Easy walk to the charms of Grange and the promenade. Peacocks frienly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    5.0
    Excellent location, friendly staff, good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel has once seen better days, now it needs a wealthy investor and a full refurbishment (whiffy corridors, creaky floor, crumbly ceiling, worn-out furniture). Rooms could have been cleaner (dust on the table, spider web on the walls).

    Excellent location, friendly staff, good food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    8.8
    Staff were amazing location is amazing,beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom and bedroom weren't the cleanest(hairs around the bath cobwebs around the pipe on the toilet and thick layer of dust on dado rail in bedroom,carpet hadn't Been vacuumed either) Pool table was out of order,it would be better if there was more pool tables aswel

    Staff were amazing location is amazing,beautiful surroundings, Really friendly atmosphere,brilliant experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    5.8
    I’m glad I’d only booked one night- no wonder they take payment as you arrive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel and staff were as lackluster as each other! To stay the hotel is tired is an understatement... our room was clean and that’s all that can be said- it was very expensive for what was an extremely disappointing experience. This was supposed to be a surprise treat for my partner. I hoped that perhaps the breakfast would be ok... but no, tepid cooked food that had been left under warming lights for far too long, cereals spilt all over table, dried and curled up pieces of ham... I think I’ve painted a picture 😩

    It was in a nice spot in Grange over sands.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    10
    A lovely place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Hotel lovely the staff were happy and friendly room was warm and comfy ,Breakfast was good and plentiful A really lovely grand hotel ,will return again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    7.5
    We had a lovely stay, friends last night spoilt by a 6hr domestic above them.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mattress a little hard good for people with back problems single duvet not quite big enough for single bed seemed smaller than most duvets. Doors banging at night due more to people being a little inconsiderate. No more than 3 star. Needs a little TLC in some areas

    Breakfast was good croissants a little over done. tea/coffee in room. And tv free WiFi with password in rooms. Free WiFi in lobby and rest rooms bar.Good choice offerings in bar. Quiet and peaceful in bar. Nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    8.3
    A good stay and we would likely go back again, if a good deal was available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    some parts of the hotel needed a lick of paint or new carpets . I wasn't very keen on the 'carvery' style service for dinner - though there were plenty of staff about, very good service, and the overall surroundings were lovely, the food was not great or great value.

    Great view from the room which we weren't expecting - we were put into a family room rather than a standard double and though we didn't need the extra bed we just had more space.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2018

    10
    Friendly atmosphere and would recomend to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had no real dislikes only that I did not agree with pets in the restaurant .

    Bedroom was spotless , breakfast was fantastic , staff very friendly and helpful, 10 mins away from the village . overall Fantastic Hotel , would definitely recommend .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2018

    10
    You get what you pay for and we got it and more..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This Grand Hotel has lost its Grand but still worth a visit..

    Breakfast great,Bed a little old and hard,staff service 9 out of 10, they have a hard job in a very large hotel that requires a make over but would return.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2018

    7.5
    The bar in the evening was lovely - great service and nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were very average and tired. Breakfast selection was average and service poor

    The bar in the evening was lovely - great service and nice bar food. Good selection of Gin

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    9.2
    A grand and homely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only issue for us was its location. It ended up being slightly far away from the walks we had planned being a 1.5hr drive from Keswick but that was our fault for not choosing closer locations. There are hundreds of great walks closer to the hote that can be reached in 15-20mins.

    The hotel was lovely, it has aged well and is clearly looked after with close attention to detail to ensure the look and feel remain authentic. It was like stepping in to the past but with all the comforts of the present. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the bathroom was huge, staff were lovely and always on hand to help. The hotel surroundings were also brilliant, a view out to the bay, woodland walks and a short walk to town and the train station. Such a gem.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    9.2
    Great anniversary weekend!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weather.

    Loved the views. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast, really great bed AND we got a floor to ceiling window and balcony. Shame the view was the woods out front but lovely room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    7.1
    Nice break away
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was only one double plug socket in the room with one plug taken up by the tv. This made it difficult with 3 people sharing needing to charge 2 phones and use other electrical goods eg hair drys and straightners

    The hotel was clean and staff were friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2018

    10
    A very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is an old building, full of history, so anyone wanting a modern hotel with all its sleek furnishings, will be disappointed. This is full of charming character. Our room was comfortable and like the bathroom, spotlessly clean. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the food was very good. I would definitely go back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2018

    10
    Excellent value in comfortable accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather.

    Good range of well prepared food at evening and breakfast. Entertainment provided on Friday night in the form of a 4 piece Dixie band an unexpected bonus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    7.0
    Because of above, it would be better to stay in a smaller B+B for around £65 per night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is far beyond needing a program of refurbishment. Appears as though very little is spent on maintenance. Very dated. No Bread buns/cobs with meat selection at breakfast. Appears as though hotel is economising on their offer.

    Politeness/helpfulness of staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2018

    5.5
    Dissapointing accommodation didnt live up to expectations of Superior Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room cleanliness, Mold on shower screen, no lock on bathroom door, didn't even stay closed, towels dirty grey colour, inadequate car parking space, no sea view and no opportunity to upgrade website misleading,

    Bed was comfy, staff pleasant, location good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable, warm, friendly accommodating
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room decor- both bathrooms and main rooms need upgrade- traditional old building so upkeep can not be inexpensive. Need to be aware of some of the less flattering pictures on Tripadvisor

    Comfortable, warm accommodating. Grand was an old building so ideally needs a few modern touches. Overall value for money clean warm and friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2017

    7.5
    as above
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hard to answer as everything was satisfactory!

    food, entertainment and service, plus............for a massive hotel on a freezing night, everwhere you went in the hotel was lovely and warm

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2017

    10
    Very pleasant and I would return there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The signage was not easy to spot from the road if driving and exit onto the road required extra caution.

    Staff very helpful and friendly. Easy to access train station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    6.7
    Hotel wasn't cheap but cheap for that area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel wasn't cheap but cheap for that area. Basic and scruffy in some ways but clean and serviceable too. Gorgeous views from the breakfast room and lovely breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel but beware charging for wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel gets one big black mark. If one books direct with hotel WiFi is free BUT if you book via booking.com or other secondary site the hotel wants to charge you £5. So they are more than happy to have your booking but then treat you as second class citizen for WiFi. This is becoming more and more common and booking.com should stamp it out. There are lots of offers direct with hotel that offer great value for all inclusive deals but never appear on booking.com.

    There is plenty of parking (if coming by train station is about 10 minute walk UPHILL to hotel) staff friendly and efficient. Rooms warm and plenty of hot water. Buffet breakfast good. Evening buffet good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2017

    9.2
    There were a few drawbacks but we enjoyed our stay and would stay again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    2 visits. First visit I contacted the hotel prior to arrival asking about lifts as we both have mobility issues. They took that on board and allocated a ground floor room - but they gave us one as far away from the reception are as they could. I was exhausted by the time we got to the room. This room was still in need of updating. Second visit - they gave us a room nearest to reception at our request after the first visit. Room had been done up but one of the bulbs in the light fitting was out. The bath panel was cracked and the hot tap on the sink had a cracked handle. The shower was over the bath but there was no grab handle so we could not use it. The fire alarm went off. We had a member of staff with rather bullying attitude trying to hurry us up (I was doing the best I could) then demanding that we meet at the top car park - I can't walk that far so my husband went leaving me standing by the door we came out of. I was in tears by the time he got back as I cannot stand comfortably. They need to have contingency plans in place for people who can't manage - they have a substantial number of people who manage with sticks/crutches - a handy wheel chair brought out immediately on hearing the alarm would help. One of the other patrons told us there was a notice on his bathroom door saying the shower steam could activate the alarm. Not having seen one such I went looking and it was there but it was on the bathroom side - I never shut the bathroom door as I cannot be certain that I will be ok - I need my husband to be able to get to me. Anyone with any sense would have put the notice on the bedroom side. We ate in the bar one night but were not impressed. Notwithstanding the above we would still stay again.

    Excellent breakfast Comfortable rooms There were a few drawbacks but we would certainly go again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    5.0
    Did not live up to our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom allocated on the first night was for disabled customers, which didn't apply to us. The en-suite smelt musty and looking at the window, you could see why, lots of mould and in poor condition. The single beds were very uncomfortable and the room wasn't all that clean. We asked to be moved the next morning and the second room had views, a nicer en-suite but the beds were still very uncomfortable and there was still evidence of mould on the wall by the window. On the second evening we ordered room-service and the two sandwiches on thick slices of bread, small amount of salad etc was not good value for money. We spoke with the manager who was most unhelpful, saying that no-one else had complained. We felt that although the public rooms were fine, the bedrooms were in need of major refurbishment. We would not stay at this hotel again.

    The public rooms were well decorated with plenty of chairs and sofas. Good views from the dining room. The food at breakfast was good and the service in the dining room was very good. Staff at reception were very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2017

    6.7
    We love our stay at the hotel but I would upgrade to superior rooms next time .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The double bed is not as comfy as I expected it to be .

    The room was clean , breakfast is good , lots of lounge area to relax to . Friendly staff . Beautiful hotel but just need refurbishments .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful place but don’t book B&B or meal included
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food options for people who eat halal or vegetarian were really limited. There was no verity or change in breakfast , same dives everyday and food was not fresh .

    Location , property and staff was good but food was my great and there were not many options , I also if you don’t have car you have to go to Kendal to get anywhere

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    8.8
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the hotel is old and was still old fashioned inside with wood pannelling on the walls which added to its charm Overall it was a really good place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    8.3
    Staff excellent. Shame about the rest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    See above.

    Room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was lukewarm - a disappointment as the range was good. There was a charge for WiFi in your room

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Cumbria Grand Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: