Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Cymyran 3 stars

Llanfair yn Neubwll, Holyhead, LL65 3LD, United Kingdom

#12 of 20 hotels in Holyhead

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 390 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    A bit out of the way but a nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The view from the dining area into wilderness. Outside seating would be lovely with a nice garden.

    The food is really good. Staff are friendly. Accommodation was clean and tidy. Menu choices are great, a good variety and good portions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    perfect will stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were not trained to use the coffee making machine, we do like to relax with a late' which was unavailable.

    everything, nothing was too much trouble, the honesty of staff as I left my handbag in the dining room and it was put into the safe for my collection, first class.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was clean, staff friendly and the owner was lovely to chat with. We had a lovely big sunny room... very impressed.. dog friendly too... Evening meal was lovely and the breakfast was fab. Will deffo come back and recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel, great service and good food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather was very hot during the week I stayed here and, although the windows opened fully and they had various windows and doors open throughout the hotel to try and give a breeze through,it would have been good to have had a fan in the room. The pillows were also quite uncomfortable.

    The staff at the Hotel Cymyran were extremely friendly and did everything possible to make the stay a pleasant one. Through no fault of the hotel, the booking and invoicing system crashed during my stay, but they did not allow this to affect their performance or level of service. The food in the restaurant was great and portion sizes were more than adequate. The road in to the hotel was closed, which resulted in a bit of a diversion around the back roads, the signage for this diversion was not great, but the hotel can't be held at fault for that.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    2.5
    Wouldn’t return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived from a 7 hour car journey from Cornwall. Our waitress at dinner was horrendous for loads of reasons - bad attitude, face like thunder, didn’t like to be asked questions or told food was under cooked. When she removed full plate of food from table when we were finished, she never once questioned why. We were too exhausted to challenge it to be honest. waiting staff and chef could do with a serious refresher course in customer service. Really really bad. At breakfast the next morning, porridge wasn’t cooked either. Breakfast Waitress didn’t seem to know how to deal with this. Just removed the bowl and muttered “ok”. Toilet flushed of its own accord every few minutes throughout our stay- needs repair. This interfered with shower and scalded my husband. For that reason I opted not to have a shower until I reached my next destination. Upon checkout, receptionist never once asked how our stay was - a basic in customer service.

    Room was clean tidy and comfortable. Reception staff were helpful and friendly. Good coffee at breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Great find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole concept is great, will be lovely, but not quite finished

    Loved the comfort, friendliness and welcome of everyone, food was good, decor pleasing, terrace from the bedroom and views were lovely. Go to Angelesey a lot for short breaks and will definitely stay again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing short break, will visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No significant dislikes.

    Comfortable bed. Very quiet location in the evening and overnight (close to RAF training base, so some noisy aircraft during the day). Nice view of Holyhead mountain from bedroom. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfy big beds, excellent breakfast with very generous...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room next to some big fan/extractor with constant noise till late at night, while the extractor in the bathroom wasn't working, the bathroom floor was soft and crumbling....

    Comfy big beds, excellent breakfast with very generous portions(may be a bit too much for some tummies) friendly staff, good pressure in hot shower.... Would not hesitate to book again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable break in comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The unfinished stable buildings could do with tidying up. The rest of the buildings, including the Lodge and the new accommodation block they are building are quite smart and the unfinished part looks messy.

    We had a large, light and airy room with a comfortable bed and windows on three sides. The bathroom was very modern and clean with a bath and separate shower. Breakfast was cooked to order and very nice with plenty of choice of cereals, juices etc. The food in the Restaurant was good and although they were very busy on the night we ate there, we were served quickly. Staff were friendly. We enjoyed our stay very much.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.3
    Very relaxing 3* environment with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air Force close to hotel & bit noisy with planes & clientele drinking in bar area

    Very friendly staff, outside the town in open environment, but easy to get into town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    Good location, good food, nice staff would stay again when in the area..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room I had could do with a little repair, just little things a light bulb needed changing hair dryer not working a few chips and scratches could do with attention that could make the room better..

    Nice Hotel staff very friendly and helpful, evening meal was excellent as was the cooked breakfast in the morning, nice walks along the beach nearby. good value for money..view from the room was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Great value hotel off the beaten track lose to a divine beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening menu disappointing and unimaginative. A bar meal selection.

    Lovely comfortable rooms friendly helpful staff. Very good cooked to order breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    excellent disabled facilities, and a
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the only thing we found not to our liking was the bed a bit to hard for us

    The staff were friendly and polite, the disabled room was a disabled room with excellent facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel tucked away in Western Wales with friendly staff and a nice restaurant/bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room door keys are fussy and need updating to passkeys.

    Nice hotel tucked away in Western Wales with friendly staff and a nice restaurant/bar. The beds are ok and the rooms clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Lovely long weeend and we would come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in restaurant and bar slow and bit “hit and miss” at times.

    Staff could not have been nicer, room lovely, clean, spacious and comfortable, peaceful setting.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    It’s very near Holyhead boat and easy to find, quiet...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely and very clean but there was a musty smell when we entered the room, we had to open all the windows, it was strange as the room was very nice otherwise

    It’s very near Holyhead boat and easy to find, quiet location, good parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.8
    Short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lacked choice of breakfast food: jams and lactose free milk

    Everything pretty much, been here once before; was placed downstairs. This time was on floor 1 room 7. Stayed with my mum. Very nice room and bathroom and spacious

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Great stay.
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the rooms could do with better blinds or maybe blackout curtains.

    Food at the hotel was very good,recommend the fish and chips also excellent breakfast freshly cooked.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.3
    Shower was hot and powerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waitress never put though our breakfast order so we ended up waiting for about an hour - very difficult with an 18 month old child.

    Shower was hot and powerful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    Apart from the afore mentioned we were pleased with our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was not up to standard the steak was tasteless and hard to digest and far to expensive the bedroom was cold also the bathroom.

    Great location personnel were great ambience was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    A lucky find- would love to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was gorgeous and I'm sad that I didn't get to spend longer there. The woman who ran the place was very accommodating despite our late arrival and the breakfast was amazing. Huge portions and really yummy!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Would definitely recommend
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decaf coffee (not instant) and more choice at breakfast, although the full English offered was tasty.

    Staff incredibly accommodating and we had an excellent supper too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    nice hotels with friendly staff. the room was clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    no breakfast before 8am

    We arrived at night and left first thing for our ferry so i cant comment on the area. The hotel was lovely and clean. We didn't have breakfast as it started at 8am after we had to leave

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Friendly , comfortable family friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was perfect for us .

    Owner stayed up until 00.30 to let us into the hotel with our three young children after travelling for 6 and half hours , we were very grateful.Room was spacious and had everything we needed . Breakfast was fresh and yummy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    6.3
    Food was ok, friendly staff, but too far out without driving anywhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a joke, water running everywhere due to it not being covered properly A butter knife had dry egg on it at breakfast.

    Nice and friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    5.0
    Chef walked out during dinner service and although we were...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chef walked out during dinner service and although we were told the meals would be delayed-they took two hours and we didn't eat until 10pm-perhaps they could have given us the option to eat elsewhere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.5
    We will,go back next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a serious hiccup with catering when we were there but hopefully all resolved now.

    Excellent shower. Very good sized bedroom. Very pleasant staff. Very wet clothes were dried for us and returned folded.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Would stay again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Scrap the charge for dog, don't know what it was for. Upgrade bathroom, large chunk out of front of sink and w.c needs attention. Change supplier of black pudding. These are only minor complaints and do not detract from the overall experience.

    Dinner & breakfast very good( black pudding not good at all) beds very comfy, room and view great, bathroom not brilliant,needs new ball tap as it was screeching when flushed. Staff went the extra mile with flowers, cake and bottle of wine in room for my wife's birthday. Overall good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.5
    Satisfied all our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bigger bed would have been good for such a huge room. Having said that it was comfortable and we slept well.

    Location, clean, friendly staff, good food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    4.2
    No t the best experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was small and not comfortable, the bathroom was horrid. A mouldy looking wooden plank had been glued to the floor across the shower opening assuming to stop the water flooding the room and a wooden pallet style flooring covered the shower floor, blocking the drain partly and encouraging mould to grow all around it. Restaurant staff were rather rude and seemed to have very little idea what service actually is.

    We chose this hotel because of the location, only a short drive to the ferry at Holyhead the next morning. We took a stroll looking for the b ach, which was quite a long walk, but lovely once we found it. The reception staff who greeted us were lovely and were happy to accomodate our request for extra pillows.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    One day, if we're lucky, all hotels will be like this.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room for Disabled
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect - thank you.

    The staff could not have been more friendly, kind and helpful. I ordered newspapers at check in. They said "Of course". Actually, they didn't do newspapers and one of the staff went out of her way to buy them on her way into work. I felt quite guilty - and very grateful! Full marks team - well done!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very good but the service was a little slow (although it was all freshly cooked)

    Lovely large clean and tidy room. Bar has a nice ambiance with pleasant staff. Close to Holyhead port

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    Will definitely stay again!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was a little slow in the room, struggled to load simple emails.

    Lovely facility, food was great, particularly the evening menu! Good parking on site, room was comfortable and well equipped.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.1
    Great location, excellent staff, rooms tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a little tired and need a fresh coat of paint. The bathroom left a lot to be desired. Missing sealant and dirty grout are inexcusable. Invest in your bathrooms please.

    Great breakfast, friendly staff. Really good location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.9
    Good stay.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lights in room were dim and bathroom was very small. Basic decor. I'd say it's a 3 star hotel.

    Big, firm bed, which I liked (but my husband and daughter found it too firm). Big room. Nice walk to the beach and a coastal walk from the door. Very friendly to dogs. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.1
    Convenient, comfortable, however hotel is work in progress!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't understand the build of the hotel, felt almost bunker like! Needs to develop area around hotel, particularly around the arena restaurant outlook. Very strange?

    Hotel in a quiet location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location for a weekend break on a great island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only improvement I could suggest is an outdoor area to sit in the evening when it's hot inside. Our rooms did have a shared balcony but somewhere downstairs and near the bar and kitchen would be great.

    Excellent accommodation, food was good but not outstanding - although the Welsh breakfast can't be faulted. The beaches near the hotel are fantastic - not busy and when the sun shines (although it is Wales) truly hot. Borth Wen is worth a visit anytime in the area. We've been to the hotel before and we will be going again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast was good all my favourites available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit noisey with other guests arriving in early morning Room was very warm but it had been warm day

    Breakfast was good all my favourites available. Plenty to eat with the evening meal. If interested in aircraft good views to airport. Beach nearby looked good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    6.7
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extractor fan for kitchen right outside bedroom (room 10) Was unable to sleep as it was turned on very early. Unhelpful response from morning reception staff. Have stayed here twice before so felt disappointed

    Location. Restaurant food excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    Good friendly warm and clean hotel but let down very badly by the state of the plot at the back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The yard area out the back is very untidy and overgrown with weeds and overgrown stuff. In fact, it was so bad that it overshadows lots of the good things. It feels like hotel is situated in a dump! Views from restaurant and bedroom look on to this. One man and a strimmer could work wonders in a day.

    The beds were excellent. The food was very good. The location was perfect for us. The rooms were very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    6.7
    One night stay ok. May return but only once building work complete and grounds (arena) tidied up
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Initial welcome a little cool. A cheerful smile and welcome would be appreciated Bathroom shower flooring could do with a spruce up- Grouting, beading and wooden mat Shower curtain not in good condition Towels - minimum supplied, not v good quality We can see that work is underway to tidy up the patio and the arena area , but at the moment it is very unattractive to look at. A valance on the bed would be a good idea and look neat

    Remote location in lovely countryside Easy access to sand dunes and beach Fantastic for plane spotting - could not be better Room clean, good size and airy Staff at breakfast very pleasant and friendly Breakfast fresh and nicely prepared Bar area and restaurant area very tidy and pleasant Great aircraft photos on walls The new self catering buildings look lovely

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    Decent hotel in Anglesey
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room didn't seem to be vacuumed each day, bedding changed etc but room not vacuumed. Parking did get quite busy and some days and was struggling for a spot. Delay on meals when restaurant was busy

    Centrally located for most things on Anglesey, varied menu which was reasonably priced for very large portions. Great if you like watching RAF planes.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.9
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the outside areas could do with a good tidy up. If your looking for somewhere with lots to do within walking distance this hotel isn't for you it's pretty remote. It's also pretty close to the nearby RAF base so plenty of jets buzzing about.

    Accommodation overall was very good clean and tidy inside with a good bar and restaurant and a good breakfast. There is a beautiful nice quiet beach close by and plenty of walks. It's nice and quiet and the staff were very helpful. It is pretty close to the main road for access to get around.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    Excellent over night stay for the Holyhead ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well located for the ferry, the family room was spacious for a family of four. Enjoyed an evening meal at the restaurant, which had a children's menu.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Will stay here again 😃
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We stayed with our baby and dog and the hotel was very friendly for both. We could have the dog in the bar and have food or room service. Room was also perfect for the dog as there was an outside door.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.3
    Happy with my choice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bright light airy spacious room overlooking the RAF base. Quite enjoyed watching the jets take off in the morning- noise is not a problem RAF keep civilised hours, Good pillows and bed comfortable too. Bathroom a bit tired, very clean and good towels. Breakfast good value Nice ambience throughout .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    6.3
    Dodgy shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the room was disgraceful, the fittings were rusty, you were stood on a duck board and the shower leaked into the room, leaving a musty smell in the holed carpet. I complained to the desk on checking out and they didnt care an ounce, and were more interested in taking payment. We wount stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.1
    The hotel is in a lovely spot that has been left like a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room for Disabled
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in a lovely spot that has been left like a disused building site. The beautiful view has been purposefully obscured by a bank type structure and there is no use of the back of the hotel which could be a stunning garden, seating and viewing area. Our room was a purpose built special needs room on the ground floor which was fine for us as we have small children although no one with special needs. But it faces a wall and the outdoor smoking area with a few plastic tables. The staff were so nice and stopped people going out to smoke while we were there. I can't praise the staff enough. altogether this hotel is reasonably priced and fine for a stop over. The potential is amazing though!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Terrific hotel
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ground floor room was a little bit noisy during certain hours but i understand why.

    Excellent wheelchair friendly room & ensuite for access. Friendly staff & service. Nice atmosphere. Good food served speedily. Could get around everywhere easily whilst using wheelchair. Generous breakfasts too. Very happy to stay here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    6.7
    Good for access to port
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired decor in some areas and not tidy in communal areas. Restaurant service was not great for dinner and many small issues, electricity problems meaning loss of lights and inability to provide mash potatoes for children's meals but available for adults.

    Location was great for port, flexible on a slightly delayed check out time. Food was very tasty.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.5
    Lovely hotel, just need to sharpen the restaurant service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waitresses need more training - and shouldn't leave guests waiting for over half an hour to order the pudding! Some of the specials ran out before we went into the restaurant and yet they were still on offer the following day! Tables were left uncleared for a long time. Pepper is an overpowering flavour on most savoury dishes.

    The location is good especially for an aeroplane fan - great to see the planes. The local beach is spectacular and there are lovely walks in the area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Friendly knowledgeable staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of the remote location it could use some signs. GPS can't be trusted always.

    Friendly knowledgeable staff. All that you need in the one place. The beach walk is just down the road.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.7
    Nice place- Hope there isn't a fire!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The biggest issue is that the fire alarm went off during our stay. We asked the cleaning staff if that was the fire alarm and got a shrug of the shoulders, reception wasn't much better saying it was "probably a false alarm" but couldn't advise us what to do. Meanwhile other staff continued to serve breakfast and no one was at all concerned about the sounding alarm either staff or other residents. Also the outside patio was little more than an ashtray with seats!

    Spacious room & nice bar area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.3
    Some landscaping would have improved the whole outlook.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside approach as above

    Some landscaping would have improved the whole outlook. First access very uninteresting luckily the interior made up for this disappointment

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.9
    The baths were large with plenty of hot, high pressure water.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The baths were large with plenty of hot, high pressure water. The shower was also really nice. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the location was amazing - just a short walk to the beach!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    5.8
    The Food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a building site and surrounded by unfinished projects. The rooms are basic- more contractor working away than weekend away with the Mrs.

    The Food

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Sunny weekend in Anglesey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable room. Varied choice of meals on the menu and excellent presentation and taste. Large portions and value for money. Excellent location for beaches and sightseeing and easy access to A55. Comfortable bar. Very pleasant and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.5
    Good position for what we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Appeared somewhat "tired" and would benefit from a little more attention to detail.

    Good position for what we needed. Although noisy during the day ( as it overlooked RAF Valley) we enjoyed seeing the planes.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    6.3
    A nice looking hotel but not up to standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    On entering the hotel it appears very well appointed and attractive. However, what a let-down when we were shown to Room 35 on arrival. The room was spacious with a rather shabby carpet. The bathroom was not clean as the toilet pan was black and the shower tray was dirty. One of those plastic ribbons was across the toilet seat which one imagines should indicate that it had been cleaned! The toilet brush was sitting in a bowl of water with black bits in it. The shower water did not drain away - the tray just filled with water. The area on the floor up against the shower was mouldy. The patchwork bedspread was torn. The hanging rail collapsed and a new one was provided. We asked to see the manager and the receptionist said she had spoken to the manager who would see us later. In the middle of dinner the receptionist asked to borrow our room key which meant that she went to the room to do the cleaning and replaced the bedspread. No manager came to see us that evening, so asked at reception the next morning. The Receptionist offered us a different room (No.9) which we inspected and accepted, so moved from the basement to the 1st floor. As I was just about to go out about mid-day, a woman approached me but did not introduce herself. I assumed this must be the manager as she started to talk about Room 35. She said that, although she was not making excuses, some Irish people had been in and had kept moving from room to room and she said she would have to make another rule about checking rooms after people had left. I said that surely the rooms should be checked to make sure they had been prepared for new guests as obviously Room 35 had not been checked. She then apologised for the state of the room. Room 9 was nicely furnished and comfortable.

    The restaurant was very good and all the staff were courteous and pleasant. Attractive bar area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    tranquil hotel with everything you could want close at hand
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely the only thing I could fault was some mould in the bathroom! The bathroom itself was very clean.

    The room was very nicely decorated. It was a very peaceful hotel, very attentive staff. Delicious breakfast. Fantastic beach just 15 minutes walk away! 😊

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV reception in the room kept breaking up which with two young children wasn't great. We were downstairs at the end of the corridor near the laundry room with no views which wasn't ideal but the size of the room compensated for this. The aircraft noise from the nearby RAF base may bother some people but didn't affect our stay at all.

    We had a very large family room with 2 separate beds for the kids & a king size, the beds were comfortable. I had asked for Prosecco & chocolates in the room as a birthday treat for my daughter & the hotel also gave her some flowers which was a lovely touch.The staff were friendly & went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable, special mention to Amy on the cleaning team. Good food & reasonably priced.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.9
    Would return here in a heartbeat! Excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    All staff are very helpful and friendly. We had the pleasure of meeting the owner who was an absolute delight and we would return for her hospitality alone. Very convenient for Anglsea Race Circuit. Approx 10/15 minutes away. A good hotel with great potential.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.9
    Convenient for visiting family
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seemed like a long wait between courses at evening meal. Might be nice to tidy the view from the dining area.

    Two comfy small armchairs in the room! Food generally very good, liked that you could have fresh orange juice from the sqweezy machine. Interesting to watch activity on the airfield from our room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    9.2
    Some good some less
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, they could have cleaned my room! I have never heard of a hotel running out of wine glasses. We weren't that many. Frankly, it was better a few years ago when the riding school was there.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    7.5
    Friendly hotel, but why such a low food hygiene rating!?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 1 star food hygiene rating!!! Did not eat there because of that!!! Also sticky tables in the bar area.

    Awesome shower in our room. Bartender made me a White Russian!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    5.5
    Won't be going again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard bed, joint balcony with everyone being able to see in the room. Balcony being refurbished with asthfelt so bad smell and workmen using obscene language

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.9
    Wonderful short break with family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location wise this place is a bit far from all main attractions of Wales. Had to travel 50 mins to an hour to various places. Having said that, on a sunny day, driving among the hills with kids in the back counting the newborn lambs in faraway fields was not that bad.

    Spent long weekend with family. Hotel is very good with friendly staff. Good value for money. Breakfast was really nice with once again good service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    4.6
    Do not stay here!!!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff were not accommodating and the management were poor in dealing with a complaint we had...they refused to deal with it and refused us a copy of the complaints procedure. They left it up to the receptionist to deal with, who had no delegated power to deal with the issue. We had taken our pets but the week before management rang us to say we couldn't stay because of the number of dogs we had. When it was pointed out to them that we'd stayed before and there had been no problems they allowed us to stay but tone used made us feel completely uneasy and anxious in staying. We couldn't change our booking at last minute and felt uneasy. When we arrived the room had stains on the carpet and a ripped bedspread...we made them aware of this as we felt we'd be blamed for this. The outside door to use for the dogs to access our room didnt work properly and this meant numerous trips back n forth as we'd been told by management we had to use that door to prevent them being in the hotel. Cleanliness in the bathroom was not great and plumbing was faulty. The window didn't lock which was concerning as we were on the ground floor. Due to how the management had made us feel we asked for someone to check our room before we left it. Again we did this as we felt we would be blamed for something once we'd gone from previous phonecall. The hotel only had a 1/5 star for food hygiene and we witnessed staff having cigarette breaks in the doorway of a container that kept food. The hotel seems to be expanding...it is a shame they are pumping money into new ventures instead of sorting out the current issues in accommodation. The hotel's prices would be fair if the accommodation was better quality but It is over priced for what the cleanliness of the rooms are. It is also a shame management are so negative as this rubs off onto a few employees. Shame as the hotel has huge potential.

    Location for being on the island is great.Great that they allow pets. Bar/restaurant staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.2
    Our favourite place to stay for Trac Mon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some things are not available on menu.

    Lovely hotel. Plenty of parking for our car & trailer. Staff really helpful. We missed breakfast our first morning as we had to be at circuit early. They gave us a goodie bag instead. It was full of all sorts and such a nice touch. All the staff here are lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    9.2
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff friendly and professional. Rooms clean and comfortable. Food excellent. Lovely area and jets gave me goosebumps. An added bonus for me! Have been before and will come again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    8.3
    N/a
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking was mucked up I booked a room with twin use as I was traveling with my 19 year old son got there & was offered room with 1 bed & then told there were no room of that type left so ended up with 2 rooms for £170 instead of 1 room for £99 not acceptable will know think twice about using booking .com or Hotel again

    Friendly staff & good food

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    7.1
    Perfect location for family and dog.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food hygiene rating for the restaurant was only 1 out of 5! Excuse was because of building work happening at the same time as the inspection, umm. However, when we stayed the basic buffet breakfast was perfectly fine, as was the cooked to order items.

    Basement room with separate outside stairs which was perfect for the dog.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast and dinner was really good, room satisfactory...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found we were overlooked by a building site! Told the beach was minutes away , we drove down to another building site, which took us approx 10 minutes. The beach was over sand dunes bit of a climb (but I am senior ) views really nice worth climb.

    Breakfast and dinner was really good, room satisfactory staff attentive and helpful. Stayed in the lodge with our dog. Would really rate the place once the building s and spa completed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    10
    Seniors
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personally I would like to see complimentary water left in the room

    Room was lovely, bed was very comfortable, nice touch with 2 comfortable armchairs, staff were lovely, food was wonderful,

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    9.6
    So relaxing, we will be back soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing at all.

    Excellent room, excellent staff, the hotel was immaculate, breakfast hot and plentiful. Our evening meal was superb, the menu was varied. A joy to return to after a day out.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: