Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dale Head Hall Lakeside Hotel 3 stars

Thirlmere, Thirlmere, CA12 4TN, United Kingdom

#4 of 6 hotels in Thirlmere

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 413 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very firm, and I found it a little uncomfortable. Breakfast, although lovely didn't seem value for money.

    Fantastic tranquil location, set at the foot of Helvellyn, overlooking Thirlmere. The hotel has lots of character with some very old sections, low ceilings, wide walls, creaky floor boards etc. The staff where very welcoming and helpful. It was very quiet. We had a room with a newly refurbished bathroom which was beautiful and felt very luxurious. As others have commented, the coffee at breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are looking for lots of pubs/bars/shops within walking distance then this is not the place for you. However, if you are happy to drive then Keswick is only 5 miles away, and there is 1 lovely pub across the road.

    Beautiful setting, very quiet, welcoming staff, comfortable rooms, good breakfast, hotel bar, on a bus route, a pub across the road, 10 mins from Keswick by car

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The serenity, great setting on the shores of Lake Thirlmere, close to Lake Windermere. Nice Pub for a meal and drink, just 5 mins walk along the road. Full English breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival to our family room after a long hike during the day, we asked if we could book into the restaurant that night but were advised that it was fine dining only and they didn’t allow children. This is obviously the hotels choice and I understand that not everywhere wants to cater for families. However bearing in mind that they offer family rooms and this is an isolated location with only one other location within close walking distance it seems crazy not to have an option for children to eat in the hotel. I also don’t remember this being clearly noted on the hotel information when I booked, this might be my mistake in not noting small print but I think it should be explicitly made clear. We weren’t then offered any alternative locations nearby so we had to ask whether the pub over the road did food, they did and it was great but it just felt off that we had to ask for ourselves rather than a quick “sorry we don’t accept kids, however there’s a great pub over the road you could try?” Overall I was not blown away by the staff or service and it definitely ranked bottom of the 6 hotels we stayed in during our lakes expedition.

    The location and the old building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in one of self catering appartments - this looked very shabby & could do with a lick of paint - there were stains on the walls in the bedroom & generally needed updating. Definitely overpriced for the condition it was in.

    It was in a very quiet location and the pub at the end of the road was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The location was beautiful and peaceful, staff welcoming,breakfast good. Fantastic view of the lake and garden from our room. We have stayed at many hotels in the Lakes but this is the one that we will return to on our next visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Lakeside Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fine dining experience wasn't very fine! Tough lamb

    Lake view room so stunning scenery. Mattress was so soft , it was like a cocoon. Lovely quiet hotel, would definitely stay there again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast room was quiet - could do with background music or similar - and I would have liked a few more tea-bags, etc., in the room.

    Location & view were excellent. Breakfast was very nice. Comfortable bed. Superior rooms looked amazing (will book one next time!).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom in need of modernisation and a good clean. Broken slat at the bottom of the bed. Beverage tray a little sparce with only one hot chocolate and biscuit sachet ...milk sachets out of date.

    Spacious room with small seating area. The bed was large and very comfy with an excellent quality quilt and pillows. Superb location and very peaceful. Delicious coffee and English breakfast. Ample parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Matress needed replacing in Family room, no 6. Also heated towel rail in bathroom was not working.

    Superb location overlooking lake. Beautiful historic building. Friendly staff. Very peaceful. Cosy oak_beamed bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for family room for me my wife and our son But when I. Room we only had a double bed for three people I had to sleep on the floor So not a family room as stated

    View

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great location (wonderful view over the Lake) for nature lovers looking for peace. But still short drive to places like ambleside, keswick or hiking Helvellyn or other peaks!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been great if more amenities were provided like shampoo and conditioner - I had run out by the time we got there! But just a small issue.

    Beautiful location, wonderful views over the lake, historical and well preserved building and most of all, very friendly, welcoming and attentive staff. Will definitely be back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is showing its age and could do with some TLC. The food at breakfast was nice, but with no music the room became oppressively quiet with 3 couples in there. The "award winning restaurant" is only open if you pre book, and when we arrived we were told that as we hadn't done so no food was available.

    Staff were helpful, and the bar set in the oldest part of the building was pleasant with a reasonable stock of drinks. Breakfast was good and the room was comfortable and in good order. As it was the first night of our honeymoon we received a complimentary upgrade to the four poster room which was a lovely touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the restaurant was not available, it was fine dining which needed to be booked. I did try to do this the day before but no one answered the phone.

    We loved the friendly welcome and the facilities at the hotel. The quirky ness of the hotel is fantastic, love the little cupboards. The location is the best.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Signage and entrance to the actual hotel is abysmal - trying to find the place in the dark was almost impossible, and the owner when questioned about it thought it was fine, so there won't be any improvement on this any time soon! Trying to find 'reception' from the front door was like entering someone's home and calling out for attention - NOT at all welcoming. Finding the front door itself was a challenge - not obvious and not easy in the dark from the carpark which we were not sure was the right place!

    Location was good, room was OK but overpriced, particularly for the time of year.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Lakeside Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Directions to the hall could be a little better signposted, possibly showing an image of the entrance to the drive as it is surrounded by small trees/shrubs which makes the entrance herder to see. At night time the hotel sign is well illuminated, making identification a little easier.

    We were expecting a very pleasant, comfortable and well appointed hotel and this is exactly what we got. We look forward to coming to say here again at some point.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it is an older building but inside it is warm and comfy and well maintained you get a warm welcome on arrival and are very well looked after throughout your stay. we had a lovely room with a beautiful lake view very comfortable bed and a great breakfast in a very peaceful setting.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Lakeside Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had just been freshly painted which meant quite a strong smell

    The owner was lovely, Phillip very welcoming. The bedroom we had was just immaculate and the views were to die for!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location as it seems that would be very nice during summertime. Right now during winter it was very dark and there was no outside activity for guests like bonfire etc. It was Christmas time but there were no lights or decorations. The biggest drawback was that there were no phone signals and you can’t have anything to eat if you decide after 4 PM. It was not our type of hotel. Not lively.

    The owners were very nice and considerate. During first night when it was very cold and we were not satisfied with the heating system. They gave us electric heater for our room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant or at least you are encouraged to use the pub 10 min walk away. So in effect it is a B&B. Bar area could do with updating. Only bottled beer. Most guests used the pub

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The chef had been taken ill the day before we arrived which meant there was no restaurant for evening meals. We had to find a place fairly near as we didn't know the area. The bar was a bit disappointing. Bottled beer only.

    The room was very good with a lake view & breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant wasn't in use as not many guests in the hotel.But we didn't know this as it was advertised on your site that it was in use.Just aswell there was a pub/restaurant near by or we would have had to drive for some food

    The hotel was in a great location with stunning views very helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hard to find in the sat nav. I dove past it couple of times before I could find it. You need to have a car if you are going to stay here.

    It's charming quaint place offering beautiful views of the lake if your room faces the lake.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lacked atmosphere during breakfast as the waiters didn't attempt to make conversation. Breakfast was on the small side and the bacon/toast was burnt. Dated shower in bathroom and poor water pressure.

    Beautiful location overlooking lake Thirlmere, in large property with good grounds. It was lovely to look out at the lake from our very good sized bedroom. Very comfortable bed and good tea making facilities. Quiet and enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The child's bed we were given that was swiftly changed when we mentioned that it was uncomfortable. Perfect reaction from a good hotel.

    Hearty breakfast. Fantastic views from the dining room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pictures on the website give the impression there is a restaurant with full blown facilities (picture of food and happy people) - what you find out when you arrive - is yes the restaurant can feed you after your journey but only with a 4 course fixed menu (which you may not care for or want) One is directed to the pub down the road which gives one the impression the chef can't be bothered, unless you cross his palm with silver (in this case £40 a head (ouch) and therefore this establishment in my view, is just an upmarket B&B

    Stunning view, yummy breakfast, pleasant helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Lakeside Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were dour and showed little interest. There was no welcome at all. On arrival we thought the whole place was closed. Very little comfort in the room. Lighting was so dim we could'nt even read. No fruit in the room very little tea and coffee and biscuits. We had to ask for the heating to be turned on when we arrived.

    The location was good with a nice view of the lake. Breakfast ok.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed far to low room very small no option for evening meal unless booked in advance the option for this I could not find on line.Got the feeling that they didn't really want to do an evening meal

    Position beautiful with lovely views of the reservoir Proprietor was helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival there was nobody to greet us, no reception desk and we were wandering around a little. No real interaction about the property from the person who guided us to our room. The hotel is in a beautiful spot and we felt that it needed selling better. Breakfast was ok but once again no interaction.

    The views from the hotel down across the lake to the hills are great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor reception upon arrival and the hotel lacked atmosphere .

    Hotel location was fantastic with fantastic view across the lake . Breakfast was excellent and the bed was comfy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unclear if they were able to provide evening meals. We telephoned to be told only 'Fine Dining@ at £40 per head, but on arrival dining room decor and furnishing appeared tired and would not meet, in our opinion, a 'Fine Dining' experience, if we had accepted the offer. We were also disappointed that they were unable to provide an ice bucket for a bottle of champagne we had brought with us.

    The Four poster luxury suite at the reduced rate, with booking at short notice, was splendid.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not able to eat at the hotel,but there is a good pub nearby in walking distance that provides good meals at a reasonable price.

    Fantastic view from the room of the lake and the hills.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was little on the small size which made it tricky with cases.

    Views over the lake and garden from our room were very picturesque. The breakfast menu was extensive and the food we ordered was delivered by very attentive staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Lakeside Double
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The water pressure was not much more than a dribble, so a shower took a while!

    Bathroom for room 2 probably new this year - very modern and clean. Bedroom a good size, furnishing a little odd, but all very comfortable. Very well cleaned every day. Staff very polite and attentive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast menu was fixed with no chance to choose a mix of items e.g it was either smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, or full English- nothing in between

    Breakfast was done well and served well. View and location was amazing Grounds were beautiful Rooms were comfortable They upgraded one of our rooms to a family room with lake view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They do not do lunch or dinner, so this is a B and B, not a “hotel”.

    Classic / old building Close to the lake but cannot walk to the water. Quiet, super quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Lakeside Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a very limited amount of milk sachets in the room and a shortage of compliment extras in the bathroom. There was no choice of bacon for breakfast. It was smoked or nothing.

    Large comfortable room with plenty of storage and facilities. Outside seating area conected to our room with a lovely view of the lake.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room facilities tired and in need of updating. The evening meals, which needed to be booked a day in advance, were nice but rather pricey for the quality offered. It did not appear that guests generally eat at the hotel in the evenings.

    Wonderful location. Beautiful property and grounds. Lovely views of lake and mountains. Good value wine list.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was closed because of redecoration. We had to travel half a mile to the nearest inn on the main road for evening meal.

    Staff who provided everything we needed in a friendly way. A hotel with a traditional appearance combined with modern efficiency.Excellent breakfast, with great choices. Spacious rooms and spacious beds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overrated. Photos on Booking not necessarily correspond to reality. Old facilities. I felt ripped off by the description and photos on Booking and the reality!

    Location was good and view from the room was gorgeous.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a family room, expecting two single beds for our ten and twelve year old children but instead had a very old squeaky camp bed which was extremely uncomfortable, and every time she rolled over to get comfy the noise woke everyone else, on checking out I mentioned this, asking if staff had ever tried the bed themselves! I was told that it wasn't suitable for an adult, implying that children don't need to be as comfortable. Our double bed was very uncomfortable resulting in stiff limbs for all the next day. We were told breakfast would be served between 8:30 and 9:30 am, as we wanted to spend the day on lake Windermere we wanted to leave early, we arrived in the breakfast room at 8:25 and many guests had already eaten.

    The location and the view from the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Lakeside Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the first day, breakfast service was a bit slow but I think this was a one off as there were more staff and it was much better the next day.

    Fabulous location with fantastic views overlooking Thirlmere. Very comfortable room. I needed somewhere that offered peace and quiet- this certainly met those requirements.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bar did not have any hand pulled beers, everything was bottled and a limited choice. The bar area itself lacked atmosphere and was not used by residents much during our stay. Dinner option was a la carte only with no bar meal options and as a result few people seemed to eat in during our stay. As a result we ate out each night for half the price of the a la carte price.

    Excellent breakfast and staff. The room was clean and a good size, the bed very comfortable and the bathroom which had recently been refurbished a real bonus. The Hotel location was remote, but stunning so you should bear this in mind if booking. There is a pub 10 minutes walk away but other than that just the fells around (which are stunning). It is a traditionally styled hotel, quite quirky with a lot of period features, beams, uneven floors, creaky floor boards etc

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast portions were small. No fruit on offer at breakfast. Had the last CRT TV on premises, everyone else had LCD TV's. Remote would not fire up TV on start up - had to actually get up & press a button on the TV. Free view only.

    Character of the place was excellent, parking ok, décor of the room was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was there to explore but wanted to just stay at the accommodation as much as running in the mountains. Too comfortable 😀

    Fantastic location and so peaceful and comfortable. Lakes are lovely and close to Keswick so all amenities close by. Recommend this place highly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The brown water from the taps. The very old mattress. We didn't opt for the dinner - as quite expensive for children. Cosy pub across the road

    Lovely setting

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too soft for me. Overall the place looked a little tired compared to when we last visited in 2000.

    Great setting overlooking Thurlmere, comfortable room, good breakfasts, helpful staff, plenty of parking spaces.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No food available. the property is away from town and so ateast a basic restaurant should be made available. a microwave facility should be available.

    beautiful location, warm place, very peaceful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only grumble as that I couldn't get warm water to come out of the shower - controls a bit unusual.

    Really friendly and helpful staff. Very comfortable rooms and sitting rooms, and beautiful views and setting. Breakfast was really good - not too heavy, and good quality ingredients. Beautifully quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed twice. and the rooms couldn't be more different one was small, tired and not very clean. The second was much larger, well appointed and spotless. we couldn't understand why they were so different.

    The locations both accessible and quiet. The views of the lake are great, you can walk down the garden to the shore, really nice. It is an authentic old lakes property with an old world feel. Staff were attentive, breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is tired and although it advertises a Restaurant you couldn't eat in there unless you had booked in advance. Water was yellow . Limited access to lake through a jungle and muddy path.

    Location was excellent for Helvellyn, staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately on the Sunday morning a couple of staff were off sick so as a party of 10 we got served breakfast almost one at a time, with the last (an 82 year old) served 50 minutes after the first. Also, the bar only has bottled beer and even these are very limited in choice and they qucikly ran out of a couple of brands and the guy serving us did not seem to know what he was doing

    The location as regards scenery is stunning

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is good. Bed is comfortable. The lake view is great. Staff is friendly. I think it is a quiet place that not suitable for baby to come. My 10 year girl however enjoy the family room we booked and the lake view very much.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bathroom needed a net curtain or blind and it was overlooked from the yard. you have to draw the curtains when you use the toilet. (room 7)

    the room was simple but large with a large walk in wardrobe that held all our clothes cases coats and shoe and very clean. the shower was very goods and hot. breakfast was very good We had the evening meal which was excellent top end restaurant standard.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the whole place it had no atmosphere

    Not a lot apart from the view. It smelt musty, the furniture was shabby if they extended breakfast another half hour everyone might not come down at the same time and the staff would be able to cope

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff weren't very welcoming, the room was no where near worth the money paid. The bed was terribly uncomfortable and the whole room was uneven.

    The view from the hotel was amazing and parking wasn't an issue. The breakfast was good although quite small

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water in shower didn't work. We had to ask to shower in another room. Owner very apologetic and accomodating. Would definitely stay there again though

    Stunning location, very clean and comfortable rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Even in July the heating was on in the morning and the evening up to 11.00pm. The hotel information pack requested that windows not to be opened but to adjust the room thermostat. I turned down the thermostat to zero but the heating still came on. Tea bags,coffee etc were available for one occasion, and not restocked during our stay. There was a wedding on the Saturday with a marquee on the lawn. The celebration went on until well after midnight with loud music that we could hear in the apartment, even with the windows closed. The manager did apologise on Sunday morning as we left, but I think more should have been done to get the volume reduced. There was no shaver socket in the bathroom. The mirror in the bedroom was low on the wall so that you had to carry a chair from the sitting area to be able to see your hair.

    The hotel is in its own grounds and very quiet and peaceful, you could see rabbits on the lawn. We had an apartment which was self catering, so we had just one meal in the hotel on the night we arrived. The apartment was for 2 people and separate from the main building, it was quite roomy,the kitchen area was well appointed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a great lover of old carpets, rugs, furniture and dust in bedroom but bathroom spotless and facilities great.

    Lovely welcoming hotel. Breakfast excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Score is low overall because of room interior- felt dusty and old. But showers were hot with good water pressure.

    If you are going to "lake" district, this doesn't come better, being greeted with a lake view each day (but you can't go anywhere near water edge, a shame).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was pretty ordinary for this price range. Cheap processed sausages in an area that has some of the best in the UK, same for the bread. No decaf coffee in the room and only one chocolate sachet.

    Good location by the lake, helpful staff and generally a very comfortable country house hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We assumed a hotel, on arrival found it self catering so was reluctantly given the remains of a 2litre bottle of milk with an inch in the bottom. The television was an ancient old one, and considering the cheapness of flat screens now thought it extraordinary. Difficult to see and watch the news. We were charged a lot of money for a rather dowdy room with car boot sale type ornaments.

    The view

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The self catering accommodation was tired and dirty. Don't think the furniture or doors had been cleaned behind for weeks. Full of thick dusty cobwebs.

    The location was stunning and a decent local pub nearby

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dale Head Hall is a real hidden gem. Located on the beautiful lake Thirlmere, you have a wonderful view of the lake and mountain from the garden. It's also just a short walk down to the lake where it's totally quiet and peaceful. The hotel itself has a real country cottage feel, and the full english breakfast is delicious, and the rooms are very comfortable. I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking to escape the hustle and bustle of the lakeside towns, and who want to enjoy relaxation in a truly tranquil setting.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit tricky to find the place since the road to property is nicely tucked away between farms and postcode on satnav lands you in middle of nowhere with zero signal coverage. Thanks to a lovely local chap who put us back on track.

    Lovely staff and beautiful accommodation. Truly made us feel at home.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A tad tired and the shower has to be the weakest in any hotel. The hot and cold water are brown??? No advice as to why was given.

    Lovely house in a fabulous location on Thirlmere shoreline.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The selection of beers in the bar was a little restricted - so many hotels now do craft ales, but it does depend on your client base I suppose.

    Food was excellent - not cheap but worth the money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Struggled to reach out to reception as they was no answer to several calls from room. Also the vacuum cleaner in the apartment emitted an unbearable vomit smell when used.

    Very convenient location at easy driving distance to key attractions. Good views from hotel front yard. Stayed in one bed room apartment with all standard facilities.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To find the hotel is not easy... Need some extra and big signboards as WiFi not working once you enter in mountain areas

    Excellent service and location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small considering it was a double....the lake view was through a narrow gap in trees Clothes storage was poor with bijou drawers and a rickety wardrobe Toilet/bathroom better suited a shower tray rather than a bath/shower....toilet was shoehorned in

    Nice gardens....room was warm and cosy.....dining facilities were well presented....breakfast was satisfying and well cooked

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only disappointing thing was not being able to have our dinner at the hotel. They do offer a four course meal for £40, which is probably delicious however my mother and I only wanted a single main course. To be fair we didn't ask if it was possible to just have one course so not sure if we could've done or not. It would have been nice to have been able to stay at the hotel instead of going back out to eat.

    It's an old building with all the little quirks that you'd expect with uneven floors/wallls and beamed ceilings. Our room had a walk in wardrobe which was quite convenient. The breakfast/dining room overlooked the lake which was quite pleasant. It's one of the quietest hotels we have stayed in, we weren't aware of people in others rooms moving about or their televisions on, probably due to thick solid walls. So peaceful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairdryer point not near to the mirror, lucky that we bought our own which had a very long flex. When sitting on the dressing table stool the mirror was too high, had to put a cushion to raise us up. If using a sat nav postcode does not take you to the hotel but half a mile further along the road. Hotel is not visible from the road,look out for the sign next to a narrow driveway.

    View of the Lake from our bedroom. Large room. Large bathroom. Tea and coffee making facilities refilled every day...large tv with 200 available channels, although we only watched the news and weather. Peaceful,quiet hotel..good breakfast. Good value for money. Would not hesitate to recommend

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Perfect location. Wonderful antidote to the stresses of urban life. If you are looking for peace and quiet, with great outdoor exercise opportunities from the doorstep, this is a wonderful place to be based. We had lake view family room. Fabulous views. Spacious, clean, bright and warm. Evening meal was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Honestly there was nothing me or my fiancee could fault.

    Fantastic location and the views are out of this world, We came to celebrate our engagement and we where advised on arrival we have been upgraded to the four poster bed room which was beautiful. Staff where more than hospitable and the breakfast was really tasty. We will defiantly be back!!

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: