Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tweedies Bar and Lodge 3 stars

Red Bank Road, Grasmere, LA22 9SW, United Kingdom

#10 of 22 hotels in Grasmere

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 531 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.8
    Location of hotel good and extremely clean .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tweedies Classic Restricted View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room nicely presented shame it was looking on to the unsightly roof . Room extremely dark . It lacked friendliness . Didn't have that welcome feeling no staff around and reception area not manned enough. Restaurant menu neeeds more variation and is quite pricey too.

    Location of hotel good and extremely clean . Room decor was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.8
    Nice location, too noisy and some staff in Tweedies bar unhelpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Mews Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dog friendly hotel and a dog was left alone in the room next to ours. We complained but had to put up with a howling dog for over 3 hours until the owners were traced.

    Central location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Amazing relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Mews Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we couldn't stay longer

    The suites outside with the hot tub are really amazing. We have stayed in the hotel previous but the suites were great. The range of drinks in the bar is very good. All staff are friendly professional and chatty(great). Breakfast was excellent and a good choice. All in all a great place to stay the location speaks for itself.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Very relaxing stay in Grasmere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tweedies Classic
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Superb breakfasts. Very quiet location. Excellent parking. Excellent selection of beers in Tweedies bar together with fast and friendly service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    We enjoyed our stay very much, we have already booked again for July 2019
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps for us as early risers the breakfast times could have been a little earlier.

    Our stay in the mews was excellent with a little puppy, very handy grass area

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.7
    Location of the hotel, staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Nests & Nooks, Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room was very disappointing, size of a postage stamp. My bathroom in my 1 bedroom flat is bigger. Was not a beautiful bedroom as stated. Shower door was also not properly attached I had to fix it before showering also had conditioner and shower gel but no shampoo. Room smelt of dogs also. Was not worth the £164 I paid.

    Location of the hotel, staff were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Possibly one of the best hotel experiences to date
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Nests & Nooks, Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can not pick any fault with the hotel, it's staff or the facilities

    The excellent attention to detail, the helpfulness of al the members of staff we encountered and the accommodation was both very comfortable and tastefully designed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Our Silver Wedding stay at Tweedies Bar and Lodge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Nests & Nooks, Double
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we didn't like. Fabulous place and staff.

    From arriving the staff and hotel was fabulous. Location was ideal with parking. The room was warm, clean and everything we needed. The food served was to a very high standard and generous portions. On the last night I had the 10 oz Bowland steak and has got to be the best steak I have ever had. Absolutely fantastic establishment.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tweed Suites
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the rooms in the hotel had been refurbished as we found out from our friends who were staying there at the same time they paid £30 less than we did for a room that had been refurbished which I found rather annoying and also we didn't have a hairdryer in our room but they did. Our room and furniture was old and warn and there was signs of a leak in the roof the room the carpet was dirty with stays everywhere.

    The hotel and staff overall was nice and the breakfast was amazing just our room that wasn't what we expected for the price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    good location and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Nests & Nooks, Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds in our room, room 5, are immediately against the wall of the adjoining men's loo, so the hand towel, which is noisy when used, was right by our head. Noises at 1.15 a.m. weren't appreciated.

    the food (breakfast and evening meal) was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.5
    Almost a great hotel but our room was unimpressive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Nests & Nooks, Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room! For the price we paid (£150 a night) I was disappointed. It was small but this could have been overlooked if it was well decorated. The room was dark and bare. Some of the furniture looked cheap and was beaten up. The bathroom was due an upgrade.

    Gorgeous location and the hotel itself was generally beautifully done. Breakfast was fab.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.1
    Its ok but there are better places in Grasmere and we wouldn't stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tweed Suites
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The check in at reception was very unfriendly and inaccurate. The lounge was uninviting and as a result very few people used it - surely providing a coffee in there would have been a good idea. The attached pub was ok although again the first time we used it the barman was brusque and unfriendly. We had a better reception the second time we used it when a different barman was on duty. Generally the hotel is not very well organised and seems markedly understaffed.

    Breakfast was good. Our room was good although the seating and lighting could have been better. The room was very clean - the housekeeping staff did a really good job. The location was great as is everywhere in Grasmere.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable and quiet location yet well placed for Grasmere and the lakes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so freshly decorated there were no numbers on the doors which confused a fellow guest who opened our door by mistake a minute or so after we got in one afternoon. Hand wash and lotion is of good quality but topped up between guests rather than replaced.

    Room was very nicely presented , the bed very comfortable . Good choice of breakfast and excellent quality local produce was used. The location was central yet surrounded by gardens and quiet at night Parking was easy making it an ideal location for staying in Grasmere or touring the lakes .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.1
    We enjoyed our stay although drinks etc were pricey compared to other parts of the lakes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tweed Suites
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought it was a bit pricey but it was a very nice hotel we had damp patches in our room and a few cobwebs.

    Breakfast was cooked fresh not layed out on hotplates like many hotels so not been stood out under lights.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    The perfect getaway in one of the most serene settings you are likely to ever come across
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tweedies Classic Restricted View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing. keep up the good work. We are already sorting out some dates to book again for July 2019

    the location is to die for, the staff were so friendly and helpful. My wife forgot her hairdryer but Sam lent us his Girlfriend's for our whole stay. The hotel is perfect and the choice and quality of the food second to none

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Great time in Lake District
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Staff are very kind and helpful; we arrived before check-in time and then set off to Buttermere, the staff kindly helped to bring our luggage into the room when the room was ready. We were surprised to have received an upgraded room. I love the graceful breakfast room with beautiful garden, it was so enjoyable to dine there. The coffee and tea were both great and the cooked meal was very delicious. The bus stop connecting to Windermere or Keswick is just 5 min walk from hotel. Grasmere is so much quieter and peaceful than Windermere, not as full with tourists. This hotel was a great base for us to explore around in Lake District.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location in the heart of Grasmere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV didn’t work and, despite mentioning it a number of times, it wasn’t sorted. The WiFi was terrible and kept dropping out. Some of the staff could have been much more customer-focused.

    Great location in the heart of Grasmere. Nice finish to the rooms. Good breakfast and meals in the bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Easy on the soul.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything.

    This is a beautiful place, ample free parking, large grounds, super, friendly staff, lovely breakfast, good bar, good food, we will stay there again, and for longer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Amazing! Our home from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Angelica and all the staff we encountered both in the Lodge and Tweedies bar seem genuinely dedicated to making the whole experience for their guests an exceptional one. Hope they are rewarded well!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable room, good service - nice touch with free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unusual not to have toiletries automatically replenished each day. Bathroom was a bit on the small side.

    Comfortable room, good service - nice touch with free chocolate cake each afternoon. Excellent breakfast. Location is first class in the center of Grasmere with delightful gardens. Very happy to recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Nests & Nooks, Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff could be better trained. In particular at breakfast, they need to replenish and re set tables to avoid residents waiting.

    Nice hotel but the casual attitude of the staff lets Dale Lodge down badly. I ordered smoked salmon for breakfast from the menu. When it arrived it had been kept under a hot plate so it was partly cooked. Returned in the afternoon of our stay for a shower after competing in the Grasmere Gallop and the room had not be cleaned, no new towels, tea and milk not replenished. This was at 3pm, still not cleaned at 8pm. I mentioned this to the receptionist before we went to dinner at the hotel, she then brought fresh towels, tea and a jug of milk to our table!!! Rather than taking them to our room. The hotel staff lack an attention to detail

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Very good in everything with the exception of the few things I have mentiond
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you wanted a drink in the lounge in the evening there could have been a small bar in the main hotel instead of using the one out side.

    The rooms are warm well presented everything you needed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Great breakfast.
    • Couple
    • Tweed Suites
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very dated. We were staying in the bridal suite, and although the room was fantastic, the bathroom really didn’t scream out ‘luxury’. Some of the other rooms had recently been renovated with brand new modern bathrooms, which I found odd when we were paying almost double for our room.

    Great breakfast. Large room. Comfortable bed. Beautiful location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel,modern and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tweedies Classic Restricted View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress on our bed was too firm.

    Lovely hotel,modern and welcoming. Friendly accommodating staff, great breakfast. Good location in the centre of Grasmere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Mews Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luxury mews looked like row of garden sheds or kennels! Had to stoop over to get into bed on both sides due to sloping ceiling. Could not stand upright. Not " luxury" by any stretch of the imagination! Disappointed. The hotel itself looked lovely inside. Mews are not value for money. Disappointing end to a birthday trip.

    Friendly staff. Excellent food. Nice tea tray in room. Good quality toiletries.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Quality Hotel with Helpful Staff in a lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gave up queuing for a drink in the bar was really slow service so went to a pub in the village Breakfast was a disappointment, despite checking if Soya milk was available the night before and given assurances it was we were then told in the morning there wasn't any. Also due to a staff rota mix up the staff working ran their legs off but the service was still very slow despite their best efforts to juggle reception and breakfast

    Fantastic welcome upon arrival really friendly staff, executive double room was amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    2.9
    The location and setting were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the standard room and it was not nice! (No.16) The whole corridor stank of paint. The room was tiny. The wardrobe door was all cracked and bits had fell off it. The shower room was basically the size of a cupboard. It has no window and the air vent/extractor didn’t really work. The pressure in the shower was terrible. There was mould on the walls and water marks/damp patches all over the ceiling. But the worst was that the room was full of flies, this occurred after we came back at about half 11/12 at night. Despite phoning the out of hours service several times we got no response from them (there is no night porter) On check out we complained and were refunded £50 but that didn’t really make up for the unpleasant stay.

    The location and setting were lovely. The downstairs area of the hotel, the reception rooms, lounge, restaurant and grounds were really nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    If you're visiting the Lake District, I would definitely recommend Dale Loge as a place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were so glad that we chose this hotel. It is in a beautiful location- ideal for walkers and is also well-served by buses, if you wish to make use of public transport. The staff were lovely and always ready to help. They also dish up an excellent breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    Love this place, a lot !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Nests & Nooks, Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uneven unfortunately but was told by reception and I saw that the hotel is going through refurbishment.

    Everything, the staff were amazing, the food was great, the location was unbelievable. If I'm honest if you are looking to have a relaxed stay and you're not picky about little things that a small hotel suffers from then this is definitely the place to go, I personally couldn't fault this hotel and me and my partner (25 year old couple) are already planning to come back when the refurbishment is finished (which by the way from your room you can not hear the people working, not even a single sound). My partner was 6 months pregnant and the staff looked after her so well and made the whole experience far greater. It was truly an enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful area within easy access of east and hard walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Nests & Nooks, Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing other than the lack of wifi.

    The Full English was great - especially after a day's trekking. No-one in my group could gain access to the wifi though.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Very pleasant and made to feel most welcome.
    • Couple
    • Tweed Suite - Accessible
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we did not like.

    The staff were very friendly could not do enough for you and the complementary tea and cake on our arrival was very welcome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable. We visited Wray Castle and Allan Bank both of which are
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tweedies Classic Restricted View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints! We hope to come back again next year.

    The breakfast was delicious, with plenty of choice. The location was perfect, and as the weather was also perfect we were able to sit outside in the beautiful gardens. The staff were lovely, and service excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Loved the garden space of the hotel, peaceful and relaxing stay. Would happily stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small but it was a last minute booking and we were lucky to get a room.

    Very nice hotel, great situation in the heart of Grasmere, such a lovely village.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing and hassle free.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tweedies Classic Restricted View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was restricted view,but didn't realize that meant no view,just looked out onto a brick wall,and couldn't open the window.

    Love the location and the staff were lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small bedroom for 2 people, very hard to open your luggage, room too warm, couldn't turn down the heat. Very old bathroom and shower hard to use, bed very low and uncomfortable, breakfast doesn't start till a late 8.30am and is very slow, 20 minutes for a bowl of porridge,

    Nice setting and great location, staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    A very good, characterful hotel with excellent staff, nice room, parking and very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tweed Suites
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only slight negative was that the room's decor was a bit tired - Could do with a little TLC - but didn't affect our enjoyment of the hotel. Would definitely book again.

    Great location. Nice, characterful hotel. Excellent staff. Free parking - quite an important issue in Grasmere. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely location. Clean comfortable hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tweedies Classic Restricted View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    would have liked to have been informed of the building work that was being carried out. Woken to the sound of workmen banging and drilling on last day of our stay. Shame.

    Breakfast amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    served the purpose over for overnight stay with elderly parents
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was a bit tired.....furniture /decor......shower small room 16 Breakfast was not served until 8.30 too late if you have things to do

    location and restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Relaxing weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Nests & Nooks, Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Made to feel very welcome. Comfortable, ideal for what we wanted for a weekend away. Breakfast was lovely. Tweedies Bar ideal for the evening and food was good. Lovely friendly atmosphere in bar and relaxing atmosphere in hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable for all that, weather better than forecast and excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tweed Suite - Accessible
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst it was a roomy wetroom shame the handbasin was so small and there was no shelf near it for toothbrushes etc. My husband in a wheelchair found it difficult to reach the windowsills. Some grab rails in the shower area and near the toilet would have helped. Builders were in above us and fine grains of dust and sand were like sandpaper on our bedcover.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Amazing! Our home from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Mews Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Angelica is a star. A real credit to the Hotel. Our room was perfect thanks to her. Bed very comfy, room very clean and tidy and views I wanted to take home with me. Will be back again soon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    The setting was indeed magical.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The setting was indeed magical. Staff were welcoming and breakfasts were excellent. Although the hotel was full, everywhere was peaceful and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic hotel in a beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was great but some area's could do with a bit of renovation.

    Lovely location with plenty of on-site parking. Fantastic breakfast with good choice of hot and cold food. 'Tweedies' bar is excellent with a great selection of local beers. This was our 3rd stay and I will hopefully be returning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    In the centre of Grasmere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was quite small with only one chair so not able to watch TV without sitting on bed.

    Central location with plenty of parking. Interesting old building with nice grounds. On site restaurant and bar. Free newspapers. Our room was a bit small but plenty of storage so no real problem. En suite had both bath and shower with fluffy white towels. Breakfast was very good with a lot of choice for cooked breakfast plus a buffet for cereals etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    5.8
    Great location , lovely food but no sleep due to noise above our room .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were kept awake in the early hours by the staff moving around in the flat above our room. We felt shattered the next day. It’s a shame really because of this we wouldn’t come back.

    Lovely location , breakfast & evening meal very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.0
    Nice hotel - shame about the owner/management.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Nests & Nooks, Twin
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The management - rude, supercilious and contemptuous. Showed not a jot of concern as to my comfort. Other staff were very pleasant - I pity them having to work for such unpleasant management. Beware if travelling as a single: they’ll shove you in the worst room (5), which is ground floor and directly on the front car park, noisy, draughty (ridiculous blinds but no curtains to keep out light and draughts), has a spotlight shining onto it all night, is smelly (they let dogs in there), and pokey. It was a busy weekend so I had no option. It was rudely insinuated that it was all my fault anyway because I’d booked through a third-party website and had thus managed to pay less than they wanted to charge! So again, beware. What finally really shows their colours is that not once throughout my 5-night stay did they ask if I was ok or if there was anything they could do to make me more comfortable. I was basically written-off because I wasn’t paying as much as other guests. There are loads of other lovely hotels in Grasmere and nearby. There’s nothing special about this one and one very good reason to avoid it. I’ll be giving my money and custom elsewhere on my next visit to the Lakes. I strongly advise others to do the same.

    The lounge area, real fire, comfortable. The dining room. Pleasant junior members of staff (reception, waiting, cleaning). Good wine list.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    Really helpful and friendly staff which created a very nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wet room looked lovely but once wet a little impractical ! a shower curtain would solve the rest of the bathroom getting wet. However only a minor inconvenience.

    Really helpful and friendly staff which created a very nice atmosphere. Some nice touches with candles, wood burning stove in the lounge and free newspapers everyday The room was also excellent for our small dog being on the ground floor with access to the gardens

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.3
    A lovely village and a very comfortable place to stay. I will book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Nests & Nooks, Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bed in my room was very close to the window. Extra blankets would have been a help. This was sorted second night. Leave some in the wardrobe? I understand that the local planning office does not allow modern windows but thick curtains or availability of extra blankets would solve this.

    Super breakfast freshly made. Some might complain because slow service. Well worth the wait.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Super place, super comfortable, super breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would’ve preferred wholesome pub food in Tweedies Bar instead of similar choices to restaurant. But this seemed to be a theme through the village.

    Breakfast was one of the best we’ve had anywhere. Tasty and obviously fresh local Produce. We stayed in mews room upgraded from standard double as some Renovation work was being carried out. This was a bonus as this room had small sitting area and bathroom downstairs and small mezzanine bedroom upstairs. Very inventive in maximising space. We didn’t use hot tub as we hadn’t brought swimwear. Staff very friendly and courteous.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location and staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tweedies Classic Restricted View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Athough I was aware that we had a restricted view I felt the room expensive for what is cost in terms of this. Also we only had a shower not a bath but we didn’t specifically request one.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    Great location, delicious home made food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor in the rooms are dated but very clean. The bed wasn’t very comfy. The shower products didn’t get replaced after the room was cleaned.

    The breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    4.6
    Pricey and apart from the breakfast, very basic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was extremely basic. Paid for a standard room as this was apparently the only one available at the time of booking and it was terrible- see photos. Just not worth the money at all- tea and coffee kept in the wardrobe, along with a kettle as nowhere to put them otherwise. Very disappointed with the room. Seems a refurb to other rooms was also being done during our stay, which room 16 definitely requires I'm afraid.

    The location is lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.9
    Great location and a reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could do with a bit of a spruce up, although perfectly adequate. I believe the hotel is being modernised at the moment though, so maybe our room just hadn’t been done yet,

    Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Relaxing. Quiet. Chilled
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff friendliness. Location was excellent Safe on site parking Morning newspapers Delicious biscuits with the tea and coffee oh and hot chocolate in room Shampoo shower gel conditioner etc

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.7
    Great location - room a little dated and cold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating in the room - the radiator went off. On contacting reception they said something about the timer, and it eventually came back on. However, woke up to a cold room - radiator off again. Bed quite low down, but comfortable.

    Breakfast was great - lovely buffet choice and cooked breakfast choice. Check in was welcoming and informative. I had requested a bath, but there was a shower. The receptionist found another room (apparently a little more but they waived that fee) and we changed rooms. Lovely room - larger but cool. Lounge area downstairs was nice to sit and read the paper.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    Peaceful and beautiful location, cosy rooms, very clean,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Nests & Nooks, Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    check-in area wasn't manned all the time, and I arrived late-ish and had to wait a while, other than that a great place to stay

    Peaceful and beautiful location, cosy rooms, very clean, plenty of parking, handy having Tweedies bar adjoined (great beers and excellent food), also breakfast in main hotel restaurant excellent. Have stayed here before in one of the "suites" outside the main hotel which are excellent, spacious and well equipped (and the bonus of a hot tub - shared with the other couple of suites, but I got it all alone on a clear night sky about 11pm.... happy star gazing)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    A very ememorable stay. Suited our needs perfectly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 6 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the decor/showers were a little tired and in need of some maintenance. Overall a minor point but one for the hotel management to be aware of.

    We chose the Dale Lodge for a family reunion. Delightful location and ideal for the walks we had planned The staff were lovely and made us feel very welcome. The two dinners we had were excellent I am going to use again for a school reunion in 2018

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Most enjoyable in a fantasic setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff all went the extra mile to ensure our visit was a success. Our room was very comfortable and the bed was large enough to accommodate my 6' 4" frame!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower took a long time to warm up and didn't drain well

    Right in the centre of Grasmere, received room upgrade on arrival, real ale and food very good in Tweedies bar next door

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    5.8
    Very nice location and building interior in general, but the room itself was very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small and extremely cold. Owners camper van was parked under window charging and beeped loudly and constantly all night. Reception were unable to be contacted on any of the phone numbers provided.

    Very nice guest lounge, good parking

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.5
    Satisfactory but could have been more relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small shower room with no heating....cracks on wall, appeared shabby....spoiled the appearance of what was a small but nice room. Payment taken on arrival before putting my bag down! Dining bill put on room but taken out before review by myself and no separate itemised bill before payment to check it was correct! Staff seemed busy and stressed.

    Lovely lounge area with log fire. Plenty of parking. Comfy bed. Very quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.1
    Not good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too cold for comfort. Tried to phone reception on room phone which did not work so had to use mobile phone. Someone brought a fan heater to warm up the room. Toilet cistern overflowed all the time and became annoying during the night so I had to alter it myself.

    Friendly staff and great location. Because we had an early start in the morning and had to leave before breakfast was served, the hotel kindly left out a continental style breakfast for us.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.1
    We checked in, stayed an hour then went home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was not available until 8:30 am. This would have prevented us doing what we had intended to do each day. A premier Inn would have served breakfast at 6:30 giving us an extra 2 hours of daylight in which to be out and about.

    Didn't stay long enough to make a comment.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.3
    Very convenient location, nice hotel but we were unlucky to get such a small room..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Nests & Nooks, Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our twin room was extremely small and pokey. The shower was showing signs of deterioration. Not a good idea to have only shutters at the window when the outside lights were left on all night. Had to buy an eye mask.

    Lovely comfy beds, great welcome, public rooms very nice and tasteful. Fantastic breakfast. Great bar attached.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    6.7
    Nice breakfast, friendly staff, good location for walks,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whilst i appreciate it was a standard room it was very small. Bathroom the smallest we have probably experienced and not the cleanest with hair all over the shower cubicle indicating it hadn't been cleaned properly.

    Nice breakfast, friendly staff, good location for walks, hotel was well heated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.2
    Sunday night get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Mews Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The remote for the upstairs tv didnt work properly.... had to get out of bed to change channel.... apart from that nothing.

    Very comfortable in the Mews. The hot tub was fantastic. Slept really well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in was very slow as there were no staff on the reception. Needed numerous phone calls to get someone to assist at check-in. Once staff were there though it was a very smooth and pleasant process.

    Very good size room, breakfast excellent, food at Tweedies superb, lovely grounds, easy to park, right in the centre of Grasmere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    3.3
    Not worth the money
    • Couple
    • Tweedies Classic Restricted View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very over priced for condition of the room. Very small bed and cold shower. The bathroom was very tatty and old, needs refurbishing. Couldn't get hold of anyone at reception when we needed it. Walkers breakfast was a bit of a joke, consisted of a dry Weetabix (not a bar, just a Weetabix), yoghurt and orange. Got baked camembert in Tweedies and both time it was hard and cold in the middle. The bread was as hard a rocks and fish pie was overtaken with smoked fish. Would not stay again for the price we paid.

    The location and the cider in Tweedies bar. Ideal for walkers.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel with a hint of luxury. View could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the booking form I mentioned that we were there for a special occasion so a room with a view would be lovely if possible. I don’t ever expect these things automatically especially as we’d booked a standard room but we ended up with an inside room overlooking a small atrium, we couldn’t even see the sky.

    The parking was excellent which is a bonus in Grasmere. A one minute walk into the village. The decor in the hotel was beautiful and tasteful including our room. Comfortable bed too. Molten Brown soaps/shampoos- my favourite. Breakfast was delicious with a good choice. There was a fabulous lounge with comfy chairs and an open fire.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Excellent Hotel in Grasmere village
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was full of traditional character. The lounge was very comfortable with wood burner fire. The hotel is ideally situated in the heart of Grasmere village with on site parking which is a bonus as the village does get very busy. Tweedies bar which is part of the hotel is a short walk round the outside of the main hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.6
    The double room we had was a good size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tweedies Classic Restricted View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower and sink were a bit slow to drain but didn’t impact our use of either.

    The double room we had was a good size. The bed seemed a bit bigger then double beds we had at other hotels in the region. It was clean and modern without losing its old-building charm. I really liked the decor in the hotel. We also liked that there were two places to eat - a quiet and bit fancier dining room or a bar next door where more of the locals go (both with the same great menu and decent prices). The little crescents served with breakfast were amazing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing & Peaceful
    • Couple
    • Tweedies Classic Restricted View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a lovely hotel, relaxing atmosphere & very quiet. Staff were very helpful & pleasant. We would stay here again & recommend this hotel to friends & family.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    5.0
    Mediocre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 16 more like a broom cupboard. Absolutely appalling accommodation considering they advertise their 16 rooms as sumptuously designed! Not sure if the know the meaning of sumptuous. Some staff very rude. When we complained about the room it was a case of well you booked through booking.com what do you expect. They did offer to change our rooms at an additional cost of £20 per night. We declined their generous offer. Room so small there wasn't a proper door on small cold shower room.

    Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    A lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food at breakfast is lovely - but wish they started serving at 7.30 am. 8.30 is far too late when you want to spend a long day in the hills. Overheard others voicing the same complaint.

    Always enjoy staying here - friendly staff and convenient location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Nests & Nooks, Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dreadful smell of damp in the corridor of the bedrooms and in the bedroom. Condensation on the bedroom window, which also didn't actually shut properly. V small room with hardly any room to move about in and a very dated bathroom

    Breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: