Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Tweedies Bar and Lodge This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Red Bank Road, Grasmere, LA22 9SW, United Kingdom

#10 of 22 hotels in Grasmere

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 530 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    10
    Great time in Lake District
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Staff are very kind and helpful; we arrived before check-in time and then set off to Buttermere, the staff kindly helped to bring our luggage into the room when the room was ready. We were surprised to have received an upgraded room. I love the graceful breakfast room with beautiful garden, it was so enjoyable to dine there. The coffee and tea were both great and the cooked meal was very delicious. The bus stop connecting to Windermere or Keswick is just 5 min walk from hotel. Grasmere is so much quieter and peaceful than Windermere, not as full with tourists. This hotel was a great base for us to explore around in Lake District.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    7.9
    Great location in the heart of Grasmere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The TV didn’t work and, despite mentioning it a number of times, it wasn’t sorted. The WiFi was terrible and kept dropping out. Some of the staff could have been much more customer-focused.

    Great location in the heart of Grasmere. Nice finish to the rooms. Good breakfast and meals in the bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    10
    Easy on the soul.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything.

    This is a beautiful place, ample free parking, large grounds, super, friendly staff, lovely breakfast, good bar, good food, we will stay there again, and for longer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    10
    Amazing! Our home from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Angelica and all the staff we encountered both in the Lodge and Tweedies bar seem genuinely dedicated to making the whole experience for their guests an exceptional one. Hope they are rewarded well!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable room, good service - nice touch with free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unusual not to have toiletries automatically replenished each day. Bathroom was a bit on the small side.

    Comfortable room, good service - nice touch with free chocolate cake each afternoon. Excellent breakfast. Location is first class in the center of Grasmere with delightful gardens. Very happy to recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tweedies Classic Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff could be better trained. In particular at breakfast, they need to replenish and re set tables to avoid residents waiting.

    Nice hotel but the casual attitude of the staff lets Dale Lodge down badly. I ordered smoked salmon for breakfast from the menu. When it arrived it had been kept under a hot plate so it was partly cooked. Returned in the afternoon of our stay for a shower after competing in the Grasmere Gallop and the room had not be cleaned, no new towels, tea and milk not replenished. This was at 3pm, still not cleaned at 8pm. I mentioned this to the receptionist before we went to dinner at the hotel, she then brought fresh towels, tea and a jug of milk to our table!!! Rather than taking them to our room. The hotel staff lack an attention to detail

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    10
    Very good in everything with the exception of the few things I have mentiond
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If you wanted a drink in the lounge in the evening there could have been a small bar in the main hotel instead of using the one out side.

    The rooms are warm well presented everything you needed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    8.8
    Great breakfast.
    • Couple
    • Tweed Suites
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was very dated. We were staying in the bridal suite, and although the room was fantastic, the bathroom really didn’t scream out ‘luxury’. Some of the other rooms had recently been renovated with brand new modern bathrooms, which I found odd when we were paying almost double for our room.

    Great breakfast. Large room. Comfortable bed. Beautiful location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel,modern and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tweedies Classic Double Room (restricted view)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress on our bed was too firm.

    Lovely hotel,modern and welcoming. Friendly accommodating staff, great breakfast. Good location in the centre of Grasmere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Mews Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Luxury mews looked like row of garden sheds or kennels! Had to stoop over to get into bed on both sides due to sloping ceiling. Could not stand upright. Not " luxury" by any stretch of the imagination! Disappointed. The hotel itself looked lovely inside. Mews are not value for money. Disappointing end to a birthday trip.

    Friendly staff. Excellent food. Nice tea tray in room. Good quality toiletries.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.2
    Quality Hotel with Helpful Staff in a lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gave up queuing for a drink in the bar was really slow service so went to a pub in the village Breakfast was a disappointment, despite checking if Soya milk was available the night before and given assurances it was we were then told in the morning there wasn't any. Also due to a staff rota mix up the staff working ran their legs off but the service was still very slow despite their best efforts to juggle reception and breakfast

    Fantastic welcome upon arrival really friendly staff, executive double room was amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    2.9
    The location and setting were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed in the standard room and it was not nice! (No.16) The whole corridor stank of paint. The room was tiny. The wardrobe door was all cracked and bits had fell off it. The shower room was basically the size of a cupboard. It has no window and the air vent/extractor didn’t really work. The pressure in the shower was terrible. There was mould on the walls and water marks/damp patches all over the ceiling. But the worst was that the room was full of flies, this occurred after we came back at about half 11/12 at night. Despite phoning the out of hours service several times we got no response from them (there is no night porter) On check out we complained and were refunded £50 but that didn’t really make up for the unpleasant stay.

    The location and setting were lovely. The downstairs area of the hotel, the reception rooms, lounge, restaurant and grounds were really nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    10
    If you're visiting the Lake District, I would definitely recommend Dale Loge as a place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were so glad that we chose this hotel. It is in a beautiful location- ideal for walkers and is also well-served by buses, if you wish to make use of public transport. The staff were lovely and always ready to help. They also dish up an excellent breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    9.6
    Love this place, a lot !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tweedies Classic Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was uneven unfortunately but was told by reception and I saw that the hotel is going through refurbishment.

    Everything, the staff were amazing, the food was great, the location was unbelievable. If I'm honest if you are looking to have a relaxed stay and you're not picky about little things that a small hotel suffers from then this is definitely the place to go, I personally couldn't fault this hotel and me and my partner (25 year old couple) are already planning to come back when the refurbishment is finished (which by the way from your room you can not hear the people working, not even a single sound). My partner was 6 months pregnant and the staff looked after her so well and made the whole experience far greater. It was truly an enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful area within easy access of east and hard walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tweedies Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing other than the lack of wifi.

    The Full English was great - especially after a day's trekking. No-one in my group could gain access to the wifi though.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    10
    Very pleasant and made to feel most welcome.
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing we did not like.

    The staff were very friendly could not do enough for you and the complementary tea and cake on our arrival was very welcome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable. We visited Wray Castle and Allan Bank both of which are
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tweedies Classic Double Room (restricted view)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints! We hope to come back again next year.

    The breakfast was delicious, with plenty of choice. The location was perfect, and as the weather was also perfect we were able to sit outside in the beautiful gardens. The staff were lovely, and service excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    10
    Loved the garden space of the hotel, peaceful and relaxing stay. Would happily stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was small but it was a last minute booking and we were lucky to get a room.

    Very nice hotel, great situation in the heart of Grasmere, such a lovely village.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing and hassle free.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tweedies Classic Double Room (restricted view)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room we had was restricted view,but didn't realize that meant no view,just looked out onto a brick wall,and couldn't open the window.

    Love the location and the staff were lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small bedroom for 2 people, very hard to open your luggage, room too warm, couldn't turn down the heat. Very old bathroom and shower hard to use, bed very low and uncomfortable, breakfast doesn't start till a late 8.30am and is very slow, 20 minutes for a bowl of porridge,

    Nice setting and great location, staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    10
    A very good, characterful hotel with excellent staff, nice room, parking and very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tweed Suites
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only slight negative was that the room's decor was a bit tired - Could do with a little TLC - but didn't affect our enjoyment of the hotel. Would definitely book again.

    Great location. Nice, characterful hotel. Excellent staff. Free parking - quite an important issue in Grasmere. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely location. Clean comfortable hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tweedies Classic Double Room (restricted view)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    would have liked to have been informed of the building work that was being carried out. Woken to the sound of workmen banging and drilling on last day of our stay. Shame.

    Breakfast amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    7.9
    served the purpose over for overnight stay with elderly parents
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was a bit tired.....furniture /decor......shower small room 16 Breakfast was not served until 8.30 too late if you have things to do

    location and restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    10
    Relaxing weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tweedies Classic Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Made to feel very welcome. Comfortable, ideal for what we wanted for a weekend away. Breakfast was lovely. Tweedies Bar ideal for the evening and food was good. Lovely friendly atmosphere in bar and relaxing atmosphere in hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable for all that, weather better than forecast and excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Whilst it was a roomy wetroom shame the handbasin was so small and there was no shelf near it for toothbrushes etc. My husband in a wheelchair found it difficult to reach the windowsills. Some grab rails in the shower area and near the toilet would have helped. Builders were in above us and fine grains of dust and sand were like sandpaper on our bedcover.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    10
    Amazing! Our home from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Mews Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Angelica is a star. A real credit to the Hotel. Our room was perfect thanks to her. Bed very comfy, room very clean and tidy and views I wanted to take home with me. Will be back again soon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    8.8
    The setting was indeed magical.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The setting was indeed magical. Staff were welcoming and breakfasts were excellent. Although the hotel was full, everywhere was peaceful and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic hotel in a beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was great but some area's could do with a bit of renovation.

    Lovely location with plenty of on-site parking. Fantastic breakfast with good choice of hot and cold food. 'Tweedies' bar is excellent with a great selection of local beers. This was our 3rd stay and I will hopefully be returning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    8.3
    In the centre of Grasmere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was quite small with only one chair so not able to watch TV without sitting on bed.

    Central location with plenty of parking. Interesting old building with nice grounds. On site restaurant and bar. Free newspapers. Our room was a bit small but plenty of storage so no real problem. En suite had both bath and shower with fluffy white towels. Breakfast was very good with a lot of choice for cooked breakfast plus a buffet for cereals etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    5.8
    Great location , lovely food but no sleep due to noise above our room .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were kept awake in the early hours by the staff moving around in the flat above our room. We felt shattered the next day. It’s a shame really because of this we wouldn’t come back.

    Lovely location , breakfast & evening meal very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    5.0
    Nice hotel - shame about the owner/management.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Tweedies Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The management - rude, supercilious and contemptuous. Showed not a jot of concern as to my comfort. Other staff were very pleasant - I pity them having to work for such unpleasant management. Beware if travelling as a single: they’ll shove you in the worst room (5), which is ground floor and directly on the front car park, noisy, draughty (ridiculous blinds but no curtains to keep out light and draughts), has a spotlight shining onto it all night, is smelly (they let dogs in there), and pokey. It was a busy weekend so I had no option. It was rudely insinuated that it was all my fault anyway because I’d booked through a third-party website and had thus managed to pay less than they wanted to charge! So again, beware. What finally really shows their colours is that not once throughout my 5-night stay did they ask if I was ok or if there was anything they could do to make me more comfortable. I was basically written-off because I wasn’t paying as much as other guests. There are loads of other lovely hotels in Grasmere and nearby. There’s nothing special about this one and one very good reason to avoid it. I’ll be giving my money and custom elsewhere on my next visit to the Lakes. I strongly advise others to do the same.

    The lounge area, real fire, comfortable. The dining room. Pleasant junior members of staff (reception, waiting, cleaning). Good wine list.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    9.6
    Really helpful and friendly staff which created a very nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wet room looked lovely but once wet a little impractical ! a shower curtain would solve the rest of the bathroom getting wet. However only a minor inconvenience.

    Really helpful and friendly staff which created a very nice atmosphere. Some nice touches with candles, wood burning stove in the lounge and free newspapers everyday The room was also excellent for our small dog being on the ground floor with access to the gardens

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    8.3
    A lovely village and a very comfortable place to stay. I will book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tweedies Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bed in my room was very close to the window. Extra blankets would have been a help. This was sorted second night. Leave some in the wardrobe? I understand that the local planning office does not allow modern windows but thick curtains or availability of extra blankets would solve this.

    Super breakfast freshly made. Some might complain because slow service. Well worth the wait.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    10
    Super place, super comfortable, super breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would’ve preferred wholesome pub food in Tweedies Bar instead of similar choices to restaurant. But this seemed to be a theme through the village.

    Breakfast was one of the best we’ve had anywhere. Tasty and obviously fresh local Produce. We stayed in mews room upgraded from standard double as some Renovation work was being carried out. This was a bonus as this room had small sitting area and bathroom downstairs and small mezzanine bedroom upstairs. Very inventive in maximising space. We didn’t use hot tub as we hadn’t brought swimwear. Staff very friendly and courteous.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location and staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tweedies Classic Double Room (restricted view)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Athough I was aware that we had a restricted view I felt the room expensive for what is cost in terms of this. Also we only had a shower not a bath but we didn’t specifically request one.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    7.5
    Great location, delicious home made food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The decor in the rooms are dated but very clean. The bed wasn’t very comfy. The shower products didn’t get replaced after the room was cleaned.

    The breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    4.6
    Pricey and apart from the breakfast, very basic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was extremely basic. Paid for a standard room as this was apparently the only one available at the time of booking and it was terrible- see photos. Just not worth the money at all- tea and coffee kept in the wardrobe, along with a kettle as nowhere to put them otherwise. Very disappointed with the room. Seems a refurb to other rooms was also being done during our stay, which room 16 definitely requires I'm afraid.

    The location is lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    7.9
    Great location and a reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms could do with a bit of a spruce up, although perfectly adequate. I believe the hotel is being modernised at the moment though, so maybe our room just hadn’t been done yet,

    Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    10
    Relaxing. Quiet. Chilled
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff friendliness. Location was excellent Safe on site parking Morning newspapers Delicious biscuits with the tea and coffee oh and hot chocolate in room Shampoo shower gel conditioner etc

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2018

    6.7
    Great location - room a little dated and cold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The heating in the room - the radiator went off. On contacting reception they said something about the timer, and it eventually came back on. However, woke up to a cold room - radiator off again. Bed quite low down, but comfortable.

    Breakfast was great - lovely buffet choice and cooked breakfast choice. Check in was welcoming and informative. I had requested a bath, but there was a shower. The receptionist found another room (apparently a little more but they waived that fee) and we changed rooms. Lovely room - larger but cool. Lounge area downstairs was nice to sit and read the paper.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2017

    9.6
    Peaceful and beautiful location, cosy rooms, very clean,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Tweedies Classic Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    check-in area wasn't manned all the time, and I arrived late-ish and had to wait a while, other than that a great place to stay

    Peaceful and beautiful location, cosy rooms, very clean, plenty of parking, handy having Tweedies bar adjoined (great beers and excellent food), also breakfast in main hotel restaurant excellent. Have stayed here before in one of the "suites" outside the main hotel which are excellent, spacious and well equipped (and the bonus of a hot tub - shared with the other couple of suites, but I got it all alone on a clear night sky about 11pm.... happy star gazing)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2017

    10
    A very ememorable stay. Suited our needs perfectly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 6 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the decor/showers were a little tired and in need of some maintenance. Overall a minor point but one for the hotel management to be aware of.

    We chose the Dale Lodge for a family reunion. Delightful location and ideal for the walks we had planned The staff were lovely and made us feel very welcome. The two dinners we had were excellent I am going to use again for a school reunion in 2018

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    10
    Most enjoyable in a fantasic setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff all went the extra mile to ensure our visit was a success. Our room was very comfortable and the bed was large enough to accommodate my 6' 4" frame!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower took a long time to warm up and didn't drain well

    Right in the centre of Grasmere, received room upgrade on arrival, real ale and food very good in Tweedies bar next door

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2017

    5.8
    Very nice location and building interior in general, but the room itself was very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was very small and extremely cold. Owners camper van was parked under window charging and beeped loudly and constantly all night. Reception were unable to be contacted on any of the phone numbers provided.

    Very nice guest lounge, good parking

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2017

    7.5
    Satisfactory but could have been more relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small shower room with no heating....cracks on wall, appeared shabby....spoiled the appearance of what was a small but nice room. Payment taken on arrival before putting my bag down! Dining bill put on room but taken out before review by myself and no separate itemised bill before payment to check it was correct! Staff seemed busy and stressed.

    Lovely lounge area with log fire. Plenty of parking. Comfy bed. Very quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    7.1
    Not good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was too cold for comfort. Tried to phone reception on room phone which did not work so had to use mobile phone. Someone brought a fan heater to warm up the room. Toilet cistern overflowed all the time and became annoying during the night so I had to alter it myself.

    Friendly staff and great location. Because we had an early start in the morning and had to leave before breakfast was served, the hotel kindly left out a continental style breakfast for us.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2017

    7.1
    We checked in, stayed an hour then went home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was not available until 8:30 am. This would have prevented us doing what we had intended to do each day. A premier Inn would have served breakfast at 6:30 giving us an extra 2 hours of daylight in which to be out and about.

    Didn't stay long enough to make a comment.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2017

    8.3
    Very convenient location, nice hotel but we were unlucky to get such a small room..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tweedies Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our twin room was extremely small and pokey. The shower was showing signs of deterioration. Not a good idea to have only shutters at the window when the outside lights were left on all night. Had to buy an eye mask.

    Lovely comfy beds, great welcome, public rooms very nice and tasteful. Fantastic breakfast. Great bar attached.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    6.7
    Nice breakfast, friendly staff, good location for walks,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whilst i appreciate it was a standard room it was very small. Bathroom the smallest we have probably experienced and not the cleanest with hair all over the shower cubicle indicating it hadn't been cleaned properly.

    Nice breakfast, friendly staff, good location for walks, hotel was well heated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    9.2
    Sunday night get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Mews Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The remote for the upstairs tv didnt work properly.... had to get out of bed to change channel.... apart from that nothing.

    Very comfortable in the Mews. The hot tub was fantastic. Slept really well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    9.2
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in was very slow as there were no staff on the reception. Needed numerous phone calls to get someone to assist at check-in. Once staff were there though it was a very smooth and pleasant process.

    Very good size room, breakfast excellent, food at Tweedies superb, lovely grounds, easy to park, right in the centre of Grasmere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2017

    3.3
    Not worth the money
    • Couple
    • Tweedies Classic Double Room (restricted view)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very over priced for condition of the room. Very small bed and cold shower. The bathroom was very tatty and old, needs refurbishing. Couldn't get hold of anyone at reception when we needed it. Walkers breakfast was a bit of a joke, consisted of a dry Weetabix (not a bar, just a Weetabix), yoghurt and orange. Got baked camembert in Tweedies and both time it was hard and cold in the middle. The bread was as hard a rocks and fish pie was overtaken with smoked fish. Would not stay again for the price we paid.

    The location and the cider in Tweedies bar. Ideal for walkers.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel with a hint of luxury. View could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    On the booking form I mentioned that we were there for a special occasion so a room with a view would be lovely if possible. I don’t ever expect these things automatically especially as we’d booked a standard room but we ended up with an inside room overlooking a small atrium, we couldn’t even see the sky.

    The parking was excellent which is a bonus in Grasmere. A one minute walk into the village. The decor in the hotel was beautiful and tasteful including our room. Comfortable bed too. Molten Brown soaps/shampoos- my favourite. Breakfast was delicious with a good choice. There was a fabulous lounge with comfy chairs and an open fire.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent Hotel in Grasmere village
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was full of traditional character. The lounge was very comfortable with wood burner fire. The hotel is ideally situated in the heart of Grasmere village with on site parking which is a bonus as the village does get very busy. Tweedies bar which is part of the hotel is a short walk round the outside of the main hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    9.6
    The double room we had was a good size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tweedies Classic Double Room (restricted view)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower and sink were a bit slow to drain but didn’t impact our use of either.

    The double room we had was a good size. The bed seemed a bit bigger then double beds we had at other hotels in the region. It was clean and modern without losing its old-building charm. I really liked the decor in the hotel. We also liked that there were two places to eat - a quiet and bit fancier dining room or a bar next door where more of the locals go (both with the same great menu and decent prices). The little crescents served with breakfast were amazing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing & Peaceful
    • Couple
    • Tweedies Classic Double Room (restricted view)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a lovely hotel, relaxing atmosphere & very quiet. Staff were very helpful & pleasant. We would stay here again & recommend this hotel to friends & family.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    5.0
    Mediocre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room 16 more like a broom cupboard. Absolutely appalling accommodation considering they advertise their 16 rooms as sumptuously designed! Not sure if the know the meaning of sumptuous. Some staff very rude. When we complained about the room it was a case of well you booked through booking.com what do you expect. They did offer to change our rooms at an additional cost of £20 per night. We declined their generous offer. Room so small there wasn't a proper door on small cold shower room.

    Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2017

    9.6
    A lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food at breakfast is lovely - but wish they started serving at 7.30 am. 8.30 is far too late when you want to spend a long day in the hills. Overheard others voicing the same complaint.

    Always enjoy staying here - friendly staff and convenient location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tweedies Classic Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dreadful smell of damp in the corridor of the bedrooms and in the bedroom. Condensation on the bedroom window, which also didn't actually shut properly. V small room with hardly any room to move about in and a very dated bathroom

    Breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2017

    7.5
    Perfect location but a little more attention to detail needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not the best bed in the world and shower room tiny with an incredibly difficult shower to switch on

    Perfect location in Grasmere with good parking . Very polite hardworking girl on reception she popped up again in the morning to serve breakfast . Nice comunal areas

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    9.2
    Great location, great food, great staff !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tweedies Classic Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a little small and lighting was a little dim, but these were minor points on a great weekend.

    Super location, extremely friendly and helpful staff. The food and atmosphere in both the hotel and Tweedies Bar was excellent Look forward to the opportunity to stay again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2017

    9.2
    A luxurious relaxing stay. Thank you 😊😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tweed Suites
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mattress was uncomfortable so sleep was disturbed. A stool at the dressing table would have been useful.

    Breakfast was excellent especially the bacon. The building was fantastic....I wanted to know the history of the building but the waitress did not know. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Tweedies bar had a nice relaxed atmosphere. I enjoyed reading morning papers in the fantastic comfy lounge/ sitting room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    7.5
    Short and relaxing with staff who were always willing to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small things - Wifi impossible to access; toilet flush didn't always work; some cosmetic repairs needed to wardrobe.

    Friendly and amenable staff. Comfortable room and bed. Easy access to the 'great outdoors' and local shops. On site parking a plus and no extraneous noises to interfere with the peace we needed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Customer service and our room There was a power cut whilst we were there so we had no tea/coffee making facilities, no shower in the morning and No tv or bedside lamps to use in the evening. Although this was not the hotels faulty they should have offered some money back. I have phoned 3 times about this and been told every time that a manager will ring me back. A month later I am still waiting !

    The lady on reception that also served breakfast was very pleasant. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    10
    Gorgeous, comfortable , ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Feather pillows and duvet in the mews bedroom would have been wonderful.

    The mews we stayed in was very well designed for ease of use and comfort. I had to alter my original booking and the hotel were very flexible and I ended up in a lovely mews room at the same price as the standard room. There is lots of lovely space to hang out in at the hotel both inside and out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    5.0
    Largely we have been staying in bunk houses and bed and breafasts as we have been doing the Coast ro
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tweedies Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were offered drying facilities for our wet clothes. 24 hours later the clothes were not dry and they admitted that there was not much heat in the space. By now things were smelling mouldy. Told to collect wet clothes at 10pm ready to use next day. No staff around. Found drying room and it was a disgusting basement with no drying facilities and clothes still damp/wet and strewn around. Secondly they had no coffee for breakfast and only tea as they had run out. No heating in our room. Room very small and unpleasant. Shower had mouldy grouting. Could not offer breakfast before 9am as staff did not come on duty till 8.15 - not even cereal and milk or toast. Offered take away breakfast that consisted of a kiwi fruit with no knife, a yoghurt with no spoon, a banana, broken biscuits and boxed orange juice. I have photographed all of this.

    Lovely grounds and location in Grasmere. Very central and nice public areas.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2017

    10
    Lovely two day break in fantastic surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tweed Suites
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing in our experience here gave any cause for complaint.

    Lovely room with excellent facilities.Easy car parking.Great breakfast.We ate in the hotel on both evenings thoroughly enjoyed both.Great bar which is seperate from the hotel thus no noise in the evening.All the staff were great.This is a lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings.An ideal base to explore the lakes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2017

    10
    Excellent, shame about breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Mews Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was poor. Poached eggs not cooked well. Smoked salmon poor quality. Very limited breakfast buffet. Coffee wasn't nice flavour.

    Great mews houses.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2017

    9.2
    great start to our holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lady who checked us in very friendly and efficient,the room clean and bright ,walk in shower.the breakfast lovely I had smoked salmon and scrambled egg very generous portion hotel set in lovely garden with great pub attached.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2017

    7.9
    Location of the hotel was perfect and having a dog it was nice to be able to walk her in the gardens
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The reception was hardly ever manned. Our first breakfast was spoilt by the waitress bringing our cooked breakfast when we had only just started eating our cereal, she just plonked the food down, said enjoy and left. We had the double room on 1st floor which allowed dogs but the room was very small & the bathroom felt like you were in a cupboard!

    The location, perfect for walking around Grasmere. Being able to park your car safely. Hotel was very clean and lovely fresh flowers and candles which gave it a nice homely touch.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    8.8
    Great place for a stay in the Lakes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom and bed a touch too small, however we did get informed at time of booking due to limited number of rooms being available

    Location is excellent, ample car parking, very clean, good facilitates, food marvellous, staff very helpful and courteous

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast selection was fab.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tweedies Classic Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn't think Tweedies had much atmosphere once dining had finished. Didn't find it to have the cosiness of a usual hotel bar perhaps because it's separate from the hotel

    Breakfast selection was fab. Staff were really lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2017

    7.0
    Lovely atmosphere . Well positioned . Lovely views and walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It needed a little bit of TLC. Our room was the Executive Suite but it was a bit of a mix match. Some parts where quite outdated.

    Good and friendly atmosphere. Excellent food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2017

    7.9
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was very small but we did book late at a busy time so I would expect others are much roomier.

    Central location. Lovely staff. Really good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: