Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dalston Hall Hotel 4 stars

Dalston, Carlisle, CA5 7JX, United Kingdom

#19 of 28 hotels in Carlisle

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 107 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Quality rooms with friendly staff at a good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can honestly say for the night I stayed it was brilliant

    The rooms were of a very high standard, the food was very good quality although not an extensive menu and the grounds were lovely to walk around. Remember this is a wedding hotel and can be very busy with guests from the weddings. Book the right night and it is perfect

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    3.3
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for a better than std room but it had no bath. The shower was in a fixed position with no movable head , it had no soap holder, the light was on a movement sensor which meant we had to keep stepping out of the shower for light,the bathroom light flickered on and off in thenight. Breakfast was mediocre. Would have given feedback on checkout but noone adked if we enjoyed our stay. V overpriced for a room without good washing facilities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We both got a little frustrated when our order for our evening meal was taken at 7.30 we got to sit down at the table at 8.10. However we soon forgot this because the food was absolutely gorgeous. The service then was as expected , very good.

    The food was fantastic thoroughly enjoyed the evening meal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.3
    Massive room with 4 poster bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did have to wait a while to get checked out as the bell didn't work so I had to go on the hunt for someone.

    Massive room with 4 poster bed. Nice linen and large TV. Food was of a very high quality. I loved the old hall, would much rather stay in somewhere with a bit of character. I didn't get a chance to walk the grounds, but they also looked superb. Good wiFi in the room also, although did have to get the router rebooted initially.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly with great cooking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very comfortable. The heating was great which was important because it was very cold outside. The evening meal of scallops with black pudding was delicious, the filet steak was cooked very well and the sticky toffing pudding was to die for. The full English breakfast was just right. The local ber went down a treat. However, the staff were helpful, courteous and very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.9
    Very good food in the Restaurant, service excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were the only people in the Restaurant ! We expected it to be quiet in January, but I don't think there were any other guests in the hotel.

    Very good food in the Restaurant, service excellent. We were upgraded to a suite, which was very nice and unexpected.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.2
    Perfect place to relax and unwind, old historical feel but with modern facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place , very unique, kept the Hall very much how it was with original features but is very modern and up to date facilities. Would highly recommend

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    6.3
    Great sleep in a good bed and a lovely breakfast with friendly staff, but ambiance didn't suit ourso
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ambiance was strange considering such a historic place. There was such a mix of styles and no real warmth in the decor. The hirstmas decorations were cold and a bit of reds and textures rather than plastic seats and chrome would make all the difference. I didn't think the build knew what it was meant to be with the sort of tacky in my view decor.

    The food was great and good value. A really comfortable bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Fantastic way to enjoy our honeymoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole experience was fantastic!! The staff were more than helpful, even making my desert from scratch to be dairy free and staying open for dinner when we were late and the only ones there was above and beyond what we expected! Would definitely stay again if we were ever in the UK again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    6.7
    would stay again but would bring a kettle and tea things for the room and also a hamper.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tea making facilities in room. Served tea in a mug not a tea pot.. no proper evening meal available only bar meals.

    the location was good, parking was excellent. Cooked Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Everything was just perfect and staff went out their way to...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was just perfect and staff went out their way to help whenever needed. Will definitely be back. This is a great place for a romantic stay for couples.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    Stunning building with very friendly staff creating a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road to the property has no pavement, so to walk there is impossible or very dangerous

    Stunning building with very friendly staff creating a relaxing atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Nice stay away in carlisle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't get too see any ghosts 🙄

    Thoroughly enjoyed my stay, Comfy bed, So comfortable my girlfiend said the ghosts of the building must of been singing her lullabys as its the best sleep shes had in weeks, nice bath spa tub in room as well, Would stay here again no problem at all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Awesome!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My Fave place in Carlisle - love everything about it! Oh and the food and bar selection is on point. perfect for business trips, couples and more. Highly recommended 10/10

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Great spot, looks like it's used primarily for weddings...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great spot, looks like it's used primarily for weddings on weekends. Mostly business travelers during the week, but if you are looking for a spot to stop on the way from scotland to england and have a few kids, you could do a lot worse.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful period building,,the grounds are stunning and so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful period building,,the grounds are stunning and so peaceful,,great place to escape and relax,,,lovely village of Dalston down the road and 5 mins from Carlisle ,,,would definately recommend to friends and visit again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.3
    Nice room, good views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very bright in the morning as only had blinds and sun was up early, also could here a generator early in the morning.

    Nice room, good views

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    A beautiful place to eat and drink and relax in comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was just perfect.

    Dalston Hall is a well appointed, very friendly, family-run hotel with excellent accommodation, beautiful gardens, set in a quiet location. The building itself is historic and the setting is memorable. The bar and restaurant exude baronial charm, the staff are very knowledgeable and efficient, the bar is well stocked, the wines are at just the right temperature, the menu is interesting and varied. The food is cooked and presented to perfection.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    6.3
    One lonely place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that there seemed to be only one member of staff on duty. The same person in reception then appeared at the bar, when summoned, and later they seemed to cover the restaurant as well, which all in all meant that no one was around when required. This absence of staff made the place feel like a ghost town. Access to Room 6 was dangerous, especially when carrying luggage as well. I'm sure a H&S risk assessment would close this access. Sunken bath made it difficult to pull oneself up after lying in bath. Lack of mobile telephone reception.

    The fillet steak was excellent, one of the best I have ever eaten (medium rare)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Excellent stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Menu although limited was excellently executed and covered most aspects on a fine dining platform. Starters ranged from Scallops @£11 to pate, goats cheese/beetroot salad,soup, mains beautifully cooked Duck breast, lamb rump, Turbot, Steaks to die for all around £18-24. Breakfast equally sumptuous.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.3
    LOVELY PLACE AND WE HAD IT VIRTUALLY TO OURSELVES AS VERY QUIET FOR EASTER !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    BED WAS A LITTLE HARD BUT VERY GRAND AND IN KEEPING WITH THE CASTLE . THE COLD WATER TAP HOWEVER HAD HOT WATER COMING OUT OF IT DESPITE RUNNING IT !! BUILDING OLD I GUESS. I FELT THE FOOD MENU WAS LIMITED AND VERY EXPENSIVE AT £13 FOR JUST AN OMELETTE ( I AM VEGIE) AND AT £15 FOR CHICKEN PIE. WE OPTED TO GO TO THE TOBY CARVERY ALTHOUGH A LITTLE DRIVE AWAY.

    HOT COOKED BREAKFAST INSTEAD OF BUFFET BEAUTIFUL CASTLE BUILDING AND STAFF VERY HELPFUL

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    5.8
    Ok if your out all day and night visiting and only using hotel as a bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food took nearly 2 hours from ordering to finishing with dessert no atmosphere in the hotel. I felt staff were scarce only 2 members in a hotel that said they were fully booked and wouldn't change our room they were serving drinks. Checking people in taking food orders running back and forward with food had to wait for anything and everything we wanted and not just a usual minute or two wait minimum half hour each time , decided against room service because of short staff I asked for a sandwich with no Mustard I was giving a sandwich with stale bread and full of mustard my partner enjoyed his lamb, breakfast was bland. No bread at buffet table for toast although there was a toaster nice features but as far as personality it was really bland and over priced,. There was a free warm bottled water in room a small mini fridge would be ideal. Grounds were lovely at least another member of staff should be on especially if it was meant to full although we only saw 1 other couple and 1 family of 4 the whole time at breakfast and dinner .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    3.8
    Apart from the nice reception, everything was below level.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apart from the nice reception, everything was below level. I paid 119 £. It was sunday evening, only small bar menu, you either sat in a sofa for dinner or at the bar on very uncomfortable barstools... as there were only two guests in the hotel, breakfast was very poor. I ordered scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, paid 6 £ pounds extra, the eggs were dry, overcooked and cold. What a disaster... this stay wasn't worth more then 75 £. What a rip...

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    10
    Very pleasant place to take a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu is limited, as is the bar. Quality outweighs quantity though, so this is not really a complaining issue

    The whole place is a history lesson. It has a lovely feel about the place, that comes with the quality, high standards, and experience of staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    5.4
    Poor customer service from lazy, thoughtless staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff watched me struggle with my baggage (2 bags and a case) up flights of stairs and to and from my car. Not one staff member offered to help.

    food was good, bedroom was comfortable

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    10
    Fantastic hotel with lots of history!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps the bar prices were a tad expensive.

    Everything about Dalston Hall Hotel is amazing.. Comfy fourposter beds, delicious food, cleanliness, helpful staff. Didn't know the history of this hotel before our visit but because it is such a fascinating place, I decided to look into it ........ I wasn't disappointed! I won't spoil it for future visitors ..... go see for yourself!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    5.4
    Generally poor quality and lack of attention to detail
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very smalll room - was called a superior double but there was barely room for us to move around normally! Agree with other reviewers who say that is inadequately staffed ( and by poorly trained staff). 0ne person doing everything front of house. We were told we couldn't eat at our chosen time and had to eat later, but when we did go into restaurant there were only 2 other couples in there and no sign other people had been and gone. Think solitary waitress/ bar person was spacing everybody so she could cope. Unacceptable at these prices. Found hotel chilly, Tried to go to guest lounge after dinner as bar was freezing, but it was deserted, cold and gloomy with sign on fire saying could not be used. Are huge feature fireplaces in public rooms - why no real fires? Breakfast poor - e.g. cheapest sliced supermarket bread only, when is nice bakery doing selection of interesting breads down the road! Waitresses badly trained - e.g. removing my husband's plate before I had finished, actually scraping uneaten food from one plate to another at the table before clearing (yuk!). Lack of attention to detail generally, and poor quality and value for money. I don't usually write this much, but we were very disappointed.

    Large comfortable bed. Bathroom nice. Staff helpful as individuals. Food in restaurant well cooked and presented

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.8
    Did not see any ghosts!! :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was uncomfortable and so noisy that if either of us moved it would wake the other up. Did not have a good nights sleep sadly.

    Food was outstanding. Beautiful presentation and cooked to perfection. The young man whose name escapes me was a credit to the hotel. He was receptionist, barman, maitre 'd and full of information. Even gave us a free glass of bubbles for our anniversary. Superb customer service!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    9.2
    Sleep like a king !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A refurbishement of the bathroom would be appreciated (remove the carpet)

    The impressive room in the castle tower - large and "middle-age" like, with modern comfort of course

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Sett8ng & atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was under the impression the bath was seperate to shiwer & a bit too small, would have prefered a walk in shower

    Sett8ng & atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature of the rooms were much too hot and radiators were on all the time.

    Beautiful setting and lovely rooms. Beds were really comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Excellent well worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The quietness

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Property and setting is out of this world great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was excellent

    Top quality produce cooked well

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Dalston Hall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not professional welcome at reception

    Grand place peaceful and very historic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Great spot, lovely staff, awesome castle, really enjoyed our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great spot, lovely staff, awesome castle, really enjoyed our stay. A perfect spot to break up our journey from south England to Scotland. Thanks

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and excellent food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    6.7
    Overall it was OK. Not great and not terrible. The food was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath was in the bedroom and there was a separate toilet and shower which was a bit odd

    It was clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    Beautiful location, stunning building and friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location, stunning building and friendly staff. All needs were accommodated without question. Would certainly re-visit if in the area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet facilities

    Bed was comfy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great room, very friendly staff. Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful hotel, our bed very comfortable, our friends we were with said theirs was not so good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal could have been better

    Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Excellent will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom very hot opened windows. No croissants at breakfaSt.

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comment

    Beautiful property. Very historical. Lovely lovely staff and beautiful food. Great location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    4.6
    Not confortable, not posible to rest at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No blinds, imposible to sleep with exterior lamps on the whole night

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    5.4
    Funny experience but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was so small and up very steep stone stairs which we were not advised of

    Location and style

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Fab stay, gorgeous food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfy bed and lovely staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    Luxury start to the holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lovely view was spoilt by a factory in the nearby village.

    Wonderfully large room. Very comfortable bed. Fantastic food. Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Beautifull hotel with a very friendly staf.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautifull hotel with a very friendly staf.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Very pleasant
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi

    WiFi was very intermittent. Lovely place

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Very relaxing night away in a beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very remote.

    A little bit of luxury!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.4
    Faded grandeur!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mould in bathroom Warning notices in bedroom and bathroom - a bit unprofessional

    Good food

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    Awesome venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent venue

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.8
    Lovely place romantic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Beautiful old hotel stash lucky and friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.5
    Lovely place but rooms need to be in keeping with the entrance hall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too modern for the type of property and not what I was expecting

    The entrance hall and the decor downstairs

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.8
    A quiet retreat
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much choice at breakfast, and coffee was very average.

    Peaceful location, cleanliness and a very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    6.7
    Nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too remote

    Staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.1
    Dalston Hall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mould on the ceiling in bathroom

    Beautiful food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    8.8
    The bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were the only people there, it was odd.

    The bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. The shower was awesome too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    5.8
    wont be returning or recommending
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom tired and battered. Breakfast dreadful. No soya milk and everything was cold.

    The bed

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.2
    A real sense of heritage and calm
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A real sense of heritage and calm

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    10
    lovely place and super staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    everything

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    10
    Absolute class
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic food and wonderful stsff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Fantastic food and wonderful stsff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    10
    A taste of real luxury
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A taste of real luxury

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    6.7
    quite and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to constantly look for staff,there were no facilities to get coffee or tea.

    The rooms were lovely and clean.and the beds were so comfy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    9.6
    Well worth the trip from Birmingham
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar service

    The main thing that stud out were how comfy the beds were

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    7.1
    Room not divided as requested
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not divided as requested No food available until 20hrs due to function

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    8.8
    Spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Spacious

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    10
    Location, the building was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When having breakfast the the buffet table was cleared away when we were still eating. Would off had something else off the table but didn't get the chance. Other than this, fantastic stay.

    Location, the building was beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    8.3
    We stayed in Room 4 which is allegedly the most haunted room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was not very comfortable and having a wooden frame was liable to creaking and kept me awake most of the night.

    We stayed in Room 4 which is allegedly the most haunted room in the hotel. (No ghosts made an appearance)! The bathroom is of a good size and features a roll top bath. Breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    8.8
    The bed was amazing.
    • Couple

    The bed was amazing. Best nights sleep I had in ages. The staff were ever so helpful without being overly intrusive. The food was divine. I had the best fillet steak I have ever had. The breakfast was good but lacked choice.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    9.6
    Friendly, approachable staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had no negative experience at all during our stay. The only things we marked down were the cleanliness as we had a large cobweb running across the ceiling (in fairness only visible with the lights on) and the breakfast, which could have been a little better (maybe optional extras of porridge, poached eggs, and kippers for example. Even as a paid extra)

    Friendly, approachable staff. Well presented and maintained facilities. Character but not caricature. Relaxed environment.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    7.5
    Once we get inside our room was amazing & immaculate .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We thought we're in the wrong place when we arrived. First glance of the building seems like I don't want to get in coz looks scary & Haunted house .

    Once we get inside our room was amazing & immaculate ... The steak we ordered was superb ... Massive ....So yummy

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    10
    The splendour,the room size the staff, the dinner.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom.

    The splendour,the room size the staff, the dinner.the only small dimple was the bathroom, which was not in keeping, scored more a 6/10 as apposed to the rest which was 10/10.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    7.9
    Food was excellent and above expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bedroom too warm. Taxi to local village rather expensive. Would be great if the hotel offered courtesy lift.

    Food was excellent and above expectations. Jo, member of staff, was exceptional.

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: