Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dark Barn Lodge 4 stars

Barbers Bridge, Rudford, Gloucester, GL2 8DX, United Kingdom

#3 of 9 B&Bs and Inns in Gloucester

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 449 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mobile phone signal sometimes difficult to access.

    Lovely big clean bedroom, with a large ensuite shower. Large Tv, wifi easily accessible. Curtesy tray with biscuits, very quiet , convenient location, and very well signposted.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room itself was lovely but the facilities for breakfast have changed. I have stayed before and it really was excellent. but there appears to have been some property development there losing the previous dining area. There is somewhere to have breakfast but it is very basic and the breakfast I felt was quite expensive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, parking, cleanliness and so peaceful for my daughter who was revising for an exam at Hartpury college the next day. Staff were very helpful with providing directions and recommending local places to visit and eat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was £6 for continental and £8 for cooked, while there was a good selection I do feel that continental breakfast at least should be included in the price, as some guests may just want a piece of toast for example, and £6 seems a lot to pay for that. I also would have preferred a separate toaster for gluten free and I couldn't work out how to get the shower as hot as I would have liked but I do like very hot showers!

    The room was very clean and comfortable, nice fluffy white towels and plenty of pillows. My friends who also stayed there were travelling with young children and I thought it was good that it was all on a single floor with no stairs, so easily accessible. The staff were friendly and accommodating and kept me well supplied with tea! There was a good choice at breakfast and they supplied gluten free bread for me. Location was great for the wedding I was attending and not very far from the town of Gloucester. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please keep cigarette bins clear of contents, they encourage smoking in breathing reach!

    Perfect location for Carducci Music festival at Highnam. Quiet and comfortable, excellent sized room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are way to thin. I could hear every toilet break, every conversation, in fact everything both my neighbours got up to!

    Breakfast was brilliant. Whatever you want and very accommodating, even for veggies.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi did not work in my room even though each room had its own router so couldn’t do as much work as I had hoped

    Breakfast was really good freshly cooked! Had a great nights sleep too

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is building work going on, it felt a bit like a building site but I guess that's a temporary issue and we weren't disturbed by building, there just appeared to be building materials laying around

    The place was cheap and cheerful, not the ritz but clean and functional. It did what we wanted it to do

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV was a little small for the size of room, making it a little difficult to see and hear when sitting in bed.

    The room was lovely and very large, warm and comfortable. Huge car park for parking horsebox (as we were attending a show locally). Lovely friendly staff. Great price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor quality cooked breakfast - not £9 for what was given.

    Location- 23 acres of land to explore (had it not been flooded - but that's nobody's fault!) Nice impromptu visit - rooms available at short notice for a reasonable price. Comfortable room with good facilities. Helpful staff pointing in direction of local restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find something negative about property. Maybe breakfast could have been a few pounds cheaper. But very nice.

    Room was very nice. Lovely decor.clean and warm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    Cleanliness, comfort, peace and quiet, free wifi, telly with lots of channels, tea and coffee making in room, nice hot shower that didn't just dribble, easy to find.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet location not far from Gloucester lovely warm comfortable rooms hot power shower which was great lovely staff too defiantly a great place to stay .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed one night only with two dogs. Easy to find. Nice and comfortable room, clean and warm too. Nice dog walks. Pleanty of parking space. Good wi fi connection. Staff kind and professional. We did not have breakfast so cannot comment on food. Would definitely recommend it. Thank you

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls between the rooms were too thin and we could hear the entire conversation next door ! It got worse when they put music on and started singing! I wouldn’t have minded if it had been in tune!

    We were leaving earlier than breakfast was served usually but the owner got up earlier to cook for us

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accomodation was without fault, but the real hero was the staff. They made our late check in as easy as could be (and our room had the thermostat set to warm for our arrival) and were so lovely at breakfast. The gentleman who served our breakfast gave us directions to our next stop and was so cheerful and lovely it started our day off right.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress needs replacing, I could feel the springs so it wasn’t comfortable at all. The £9.00 breakfast was awful. Coffee wasn’t good. I could hear the microwave pinging in the kitchen then I was presented with 2 rashes of dry leather bacon,one rock hard dry sausage, steamed anemic mushrooms that hadn’t seen the frying pan and a worse than average hash brown. The egg was ok to be honest but I paid £9 for this.

    Great room for what it cost. Very clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like to say a big thank you to the Dark Barn. I came for my grandma’s funeral. I accidentally booked a month later then I needed. The Dark Barn was actually closed and the owners in Canada on date I actually wanted. But once discovering my mistake and contacting them, they arranged for a room to be opened up for me. I stayed in peace and comfort and am so, so grateful to them fir making such an effort to accommodate me. Thank you so much

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Beautiful rooms. Fab bathroom. Country views. Ed was easy to sleep in. Didn’t try cook ed breakfast but it looked really good. Looking forward to staying again and for longer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't fault it..excellent rating.

    The new refurbishment are very good.l love the bathroom and room is very spacious. I am giving this place ten out of ten.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The team were really friendly and the accommodation was excellent. Despite arriving in the dark it was really easy to find. Breakfast was excellent and although we went out to eat in the evening there was a huge choice of pubs/restaurants to choose from.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of a drive to anywhere to eat.

    Location, parking, room size & comfort, type of accommodation, all excellent. I would recommend this place to anybody.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a great stay at Dark Barn Lodge, Rooms very clean warm and inviting, Beds very comfy, would not hesitate to arrange another stay if in the area again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A plastic glass in the bathroom and beans with the full breas fast would have been nice. Also the recommended taxi service A2B was a rip off. We were charged £40 for a 15 minute taxi ride.

    The room was very comfy and modern.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was expensive for what you get. Breakfast over priced, beds were uncomfortable

    Shower was brilliant, rooms are very clean and private. Staff very friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to write here

    perfect accommodation, best value for money so far. lots of room in all aspects. would travel further to work just to stay at this property for what I paid. I love this type of layout and I don't think they could make it any better.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The intercom on the reception wasn't very effective upon our late arrival.

    Immaculate bedroom and bathroom, excellent breakfasts and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra charge for the dog although it was only £5 per night per dog it would be a lot for a four or five day stay

    The bed was really comfortable and the room very clean. Good WiFi dog walking areas excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accommodation was spacious and the shower a good size too. My only slight criticism would be that the bed size was only a double and the mattress and pillow quality could have been slightly better. Blackout curtains were very effective, TV. Wi-fi & Tea/Coffee Facilities were good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to do with the venue, but taxi to nearby restaurants/pubs costs £25 one way. Too far to walk.

    Linda, Julian and Diane were so lovely and very helpful. Lovely room, very clean and quiet. Breakfast was delicious. Great value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely room, it was very clean and the bed was super comfy. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and breakfast was yummy! The location was perfect as I'm studying for a master's degree at Hartpury College so this was close by and the value for money is great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, large room, excellent bathroom. Owner very warm and welcoming. Great location just outside of Gloucester to explore local area. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Spacious, comfortable room. Helpful owners and good cooked breakfast. Excellent welcome for my large dog and lots of space to walk him in. Good access for Gloucester and Hartpury College.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing dramatic. Perhaps a little more information in the rooms informing of places to eat and visit

    A lovely place to stay in great location. Very relaxed, clean and comfortable room in wonderful surroundings. Very welcoming to the family dog too. A beautiful full english breakfast, cooked "as you like it", First class

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Why was the possibility of breakfast not mentioned as part of the booking? The breakfast I paid for as an extra, upon arrival was excellent.

    Beautifully appointed room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent place to stay if in the Cotswolds area, dog friendly with a nice walk in the grounds to stroll around and relax. Staff very helpful and will definitely stay again. Didnt have breakfast but smell was lovely. The Royal Exchange pub less than 5 mins away also good for food and animals.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the purpose of my stay there was nothing wrong. It fulfilled all that I needed.

    The bed was good. Not too hard or too soft. The full English Breakfast was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, all was to our satisfaction.

    Very accommodating, nothing is too much trouble... Excellent breakfast, superb choices. The room was very cosy with a beautiful view. I would recommend to all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside is there's nothing around the area like a pub or shop. At least 2 mile drive away. Nearest takeaway is 5 miles away and they wouldn't deliver.

    Lovely comfy bed, smart tv, loads of cupboard space and coat hangers. Really quiet place, so peaceful sleep. Excellent place to stay with a dog, loads of surrounding countryside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed/ headboard very creaky, road noise with Windows open. Small tv screen couldn't find TV guide. No official restaurant limited breakfast facilities for those eating.

    Clean and tidy, tea and coffee provided. Good free wifi, nice bright room with good lighting.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have yet to see the lake let alone get a glimpse of the promised view that came with the room. The view from the room was of a pile of paving stones. Staying alone, I would have liked to be able to double lock door once inside but this not possible. I would have appreciated that extra feeling of safety. The bed was soft and problem if you sleep on your tummy.

    Room and bathroom was clean. The host/owner was informative about places to eat and honest about what to expect from visiting Gloucester town centre. Also informative of places to visit in Wales. Location was central enough as a base for visiting Cardiff and Brecon Beacons though too far from Snowdonia.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not immediate access to reception on arrival but someone came promptly after telephone call No good food outlets nearby - local store had closed at 5.00 p.m. on the Saturday and limited choice of food at local garage Breakfast quite expensive as an "add on" Did not know extra charge for dog when booking but not unreasonable charge Reception poor for mobile phone and TV Information held in room looked "tired and dog-eared"

    Location was fine, with access to easy and pleasant walking for the dog Easy access into the accommodation with luggage and dog After initial greeting, left to own devices which suited me personally

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    i would have like a curtain over the bath room window, like what was in the bedroom. i could not get internet in my room 10 i would have lied scrambled eggs, done in frying pen, not in the microwave.

    We traveled with three dogs, which was no problem for the owners. we were made very welcome. we was offered the grounds around the venue to walk our dogs, which was very nice and look like very good walking, just a shame we had bathed the dogs for a show. Room was very clean, toilet and shower very clean. bed was lovely clean lining and one of the best sleeps i had away from home. Breakfast was ok, but it was served by a very welcoming member of staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only critisism was that the breakfast (which is paid in addition to the room) was not good value for money for what we had (beans on toast and scrambled egg on toast were £9 each, and you had to do your own toast too). Being ultra critical, could've done with a bit more milk at the tea/coffee station, and could've done with a glass for some water. Aside from that, superb!

    Excellent find for us. Rooms were very spacious, showers were brilliant - hot and powerful, comfy bed and large TV. I had a my dog with me and the outside space to cater for this was superb, with plenty of land to take them for a walk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was soft and springy.

    The breakfast was cooked fresh to order and was delicious. The 28 acres of land around the property was ideal for walking our dogs!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely place to stay, great hosts and an amazing breakfast, even made sure it was gluten and dairy free. We enjoyed our stay and our dog enjoyed the lakes and fields behind the lodge too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed a little on the lumpy side but not a bad nights sleep. Too far to walk to the local pub and Toby Carvery so if you fancy a drink take some with you.

    Friendliness of staff and a good breakfast (£9 per person extra) that was cooked to order.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The woman who banged and cleared plates around us, we tried hard to ask questions etc to one word answers. We did find the bed in room 7 very creaky, and when we mentioned it so they cd check as a superb place was told in no uncertain terms, well it's new and it must be the memory foam mattress! She then had a go at the chef within our earshot and another client.

    Excellent property, lovely lady at check in, so helpful despite being late. Chef very considerate and meal beautifully presented.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you need to get a cab to/from due to having a drink that can be a bit of pain as the cabbies charge you to come out of Gloucester City.

    If your attending an event at Hartpury College this is perfect. Clean, tidy, easy access and the owners are very polite/welcoming. Breakfast was also excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather !! but that did not really spoil things too much

    This was our first visit to Cornwall, but not the last. We will hope to stay at the Dark Barn Lodge again next year.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were there 3 nights - one day they forgot to clean. Guess that is extremely unusual and wouldn't want to suggest it would happen to anyone else but that is why I've reduced the cleanliness mark

    Specially built (a motel like stop) with better size than many b&b or hotels and a shower that even a big person could get in

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed springs kept pinging, and pillows hard.

    The view from the window was lovely as were the grounds. The room was clean and tidy, and the shower was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no bar or restaurant to sit in during the evening which was expected, but the chairs in the room could have been more comfortable with this in mind. Breakfast was not cheap and they did not mention when we booked and paid for it that the dog could not come in the eating area. I have no problem with no pets being allowed in eating areas but it should have been pointed out when we booked so that we could have made other arrangements.

    It was simple to find from the motorway and in a beautiful location with good walks for the dog from on site. The room was clean and well equipped. The car park was off road and spacious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Directions to get there. Jam would bebetter in little pots - the big ones looked a bit ....... and proper grapefruit juice.

    2 double beds! Just what we needed in the heat and the windows opened onto a lovely view. Seating area outside with shade. Service in breakfast room. (Room needs to be a bit bigger.)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hate complaining but would be nice to have more tea bags and de-caf coffee in the room. Also 2 bath towels instead of one. Otherwise,all good.

    The location was ideal for us as we wanted to meet up with our grandson who is attending Hartpury College. Very convenient. So much so that our grand daughter will be attending soon so will need to see her ( on our way to Wales) as well so will be back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing this is a great place to stay

    Our room was large, clean and had lovely views over the fields. Dogs most welcome and can walk over the fields. The owners are most helpful in providing advise of best places to visit in the area. Would definitely return here.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast at £9 we thought was too expensive as we would have had to eat separately due to the dog, but we knew that before we booked.

    We booked this as we were on route to Cornwall. It was a great place to stop with a pet, a lovely walk around the lakes and was quiet and peaceful. Exactly what we wanted........will stay there again definitely.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No personal touch what so ever. The place reminded me of a motel! Apart from when we arrived, rang a buzzer and someone came to book us in and take our payment. That was it, as we had booked for room only, that was the last we spoke or saw anyone until we gave the key in when we left.

    The room was bigger than average, 'space to move'.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great accommodation, large car park ideal as we use a large van. wifi location in every room so no problem with picking up signal owners were helpful and friendly, lovely breakfast, will be using again when working in the area

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It isn't a criticism but the shower was large and there was a small head so it could have been better to wash my hair.

    The room was large and the bathroom was nice and clean. There was a proper hair dryer which was great as usually there are only travel size ones.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    reception not manned all the time breakfast £6 for continental £9 for English

    Fantastic wIfI individual rooms plenty of power points Nice big fluffy towels. spacious rooms plenty of pillows

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Surprisingly, there is no single fridge in the room, this is the only negative of the Dark Barn Lodge. The need to provide at least small single fridge for customer's needs. Provided with a single towel with no extra one, no staff is available over night to ask for anything. The mobile network in the area is very poor, but depends on individual network providers.

    Environment is good and the location is perfect, the room are spacious. It's a nice place to stay with little improvement of the services to the customer .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little bit short in length for my partner.

    Staff were extremely friendly & helpful. Suggested dog walking routes and nice eateries. Dogs loved the walk at the Dark Barn Lodge.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attitude of staff on checkin ! The walls are paper thin and we were kept up all night by inconsiderate guests next door. Complained to management the next morning but there wasn't any interest from them! It's more like a motel and the name is deceptive- sounds nicer than it is!

    The room size was excellent and the jacuzzi style bath !

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing was to dislike.

    I was impressed with my stay at the Lodge, the owners were very helpful from booking and they even waited for my arrival because I turned up after the arrival time. Bed linen, towels etc were fresh and clean. My room was as I would call it warm and comfortable. The breakfast was also excellent it is freshly cooked for the time you book it. I will definitely use it again and also recommend to family and friends.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were supposed to get a complimentary drink booking through genius this did not happen and no staff around to ask

    I liked the setting and it was more private than a hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress in the room wasn't comfortable unfortunately but managed to get a few hours sleep which was really needed due to work commitments

    Lovely breakfast & friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower gel in the bathroom- container was empty. As we'd brought our own it didn't really matter but could have been inconvenient for someone.

    Great breakfast! Friendly staff.room very comfortable and nice field to walk dogs in.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are so thin you can hear a light switch being turned on, room next to reception/breakfast room so hear all the banging and clanking first thing in morning , bathroom smelt damp and had mildew round the Window, view is only in room 10and 11 I think, room 8 overlooked a dumped old caravan and water tanks , couldn't connect to wifi in room 8 either so were moved to room 11 . No heating between 9am and 4.30 pm which is fine if your up and out early all day , but freezing when it's been snowing and not out early ! Shower ran hot and cold ! Beds not very comfy and pillows are hard ! Would not go back

    Room was spacious, location good , staff very helpful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mattress was awful - very poor quality - you could feel 'springs' - I improved my sleep by doubling the duvet and sleeping on top of that with my dressing gown as a cover - my colleague in the next room experienced the same.

    the space to walk my dog, staff were friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Dark Barn is close to Gloucester, and has plenty of easy accessible parking near to the room. All rooms are on ground level and have external access, which is great with a dog. The room was spacious, clean and nicely appointed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No were to but smart pass on early morning departure (little deposit box would be helpful)

    On arrival greeted with a smile and by name which was nice,as a late arrive given details of local facilities,then shown to my room. A big plus was how to use there smart key to gain access to room. (Been other places that has took 5 mins before you could get in room using a smart pass):-)Really like this place very comfy would definitely use again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I asked about my free welcome drink I was told that this was the complimentary tea and coffee in the room disptite Booking.com showing an icon graphic of a cocktail glass in my confirmation. This is very misleading and left me with a feeling of being conned. Also did not like having to wait outside in the rain for reception to open after ringing door bell for this to happen

    Warm, clean and quiet room with good parking

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For us we had all we needed so no dislikes.

    Great room size. We had our blind dog with us. Staff friendly and helpful. Excellent out door space for dog walking. Super clean and comfy beds. Safe and easy to access car park when travelling with a dog.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi virtually non existent. Impossible to do any work for me as need to be online. Bed ridiculously uncomfortable - 2 huge dips in it. Mattress must be so old - it felt like I always going to roll out of it. Shower would go from very hot to freezing with no warning. This happened 2-3 times. I lasted one night of my 3 and left! Never again sadly. A shambles! Haven't checked out of a hotel early for years!!!! I stay in about 20 a year.

    Staff were nice - complimentary custard creams v nice too! That's as good as it gets tho!

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: