Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Celtic International Hotel Cardiff Airport 3 stars

Port Road, Barry, Barry, CF62 3BT, United Kingdom

#8 of 10 hotels in Barry

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 777 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    4.6
    Disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was dirty,eg stains on walls, rug,carpet etc. Room was cold, nothing matched ,chair leg was broken and I sat down to dry my hair and it gave way. It looked as though someone had went out to a charity shop and just bought what was available.

    The foyer was clean and modern looking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The television wasn’t working although the staff tried to fix the problem and the shower fixing was broken so unable to have a proper shower

    Clean and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    Being close to the airport, and in a quiet area
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure if there was an elevator around, especially for guests with large luggage going to upper levels is a bit difficult. Also the only way to reach the hotel is taxi from airport, but it’s pretty cheap and it is ok.

    Being close to the airport, and in a quiet area

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    6.7
    I expected this hotel to be in better condition now that it...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I expected this hotel to be in better condition now that it was under new ownership. Overall the stay was average and convenient for the airport. I would have expected the hotel to put on transport rather than opting for taxi service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    Convenient, quiet and accessible for our visits to family in Barry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was roomy and very clean but needed an extra shelf alongside the washbasin to put washgear on.

    Spacious room, with comfortable 'proper' settee and two desk chairs. All the little extras - biscuits, shower gel, etc. which is rare nowadays!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.9
    Very conveniently located and on an upward trajectory in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of its furniture and fittings were a little tired but beds were comfortable and breakfasts were good - served by attentive staff

    Very conveniently located and on an upward trajectory in terms of its decor and comfort

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    4.2
    Not a great experience
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic room, poor basic showroom with grimy walls, shoddy paintwork, very small greying white towels, mattress which had sunk in the middle, dark room with poor lighting.

    Pleasant staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.8
    Very good accommadation and very cost effective
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view was not the best, but we only used it as an overnight sleep from our holiday

    The room was extremely spacious and beds very comfortable. The room was clean and the facilities very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.0
    For the price we paid this hotel is what we expected it to be...a cheap no frills accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the public rooms have been refurbished our bedroom was in need of some TLC the bed was extremely uncomfortable. The bathroom was grim. The staff need to be more professional, we witnessed a derogatory remark aimed at us on leaving the hotel one morning. Staff were taking smoking breaks outside the front of building including the chef.

    The location was ideal for us being central to where we wanted to visit.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.1
    Good would stay again if room was more moden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room we stayed in needed serious makeover.. it's nice for a couple set for retirement. Very old fashioned.

    The staff was friendly and the hotel room was clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    john Scotland
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was clean and tidy the staff were welcoming and helpful. The restaurant and bar were great as this saved me having to travel for dinner and I could happily have a drink with my meal with no need to drive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Great value hotel for airport and Barry
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very comfortable but in comparison to the sparkling reception area, the room could do with a bit of an update...looked a bit tired

    Great staff, great value for money and great welcome!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.9
    Close to airport, good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very close the the airport, ample parking. Rooms clean and comfortable. Evening meal let down in ourr case fo bloody steaks despite asking for one to be well done and the other very well done - cremated! Shame because the meat was of good quality. The "full Welsh breakfast" complete with dragon sausages (never what dragons tasted like) was very good. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.7
    Everything great apart from Boiling Bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our family room was above the kitchen, it was so hot during the night none of us could sleep, the window was broken an wouldn't stay open so had to use my flip flop to keep it open, the fan was on in a rediculus place of the room due the only being two sockets in the whole room, so couldn't bring the fan closer to us all, it was that hot we had to soak our towels an place them over us to try to sleep with to try to keep cool, my daughter spent majority of the night hanging out of the window feeling sick as it was that hot. Awful nights sleep! In the morning the bathroom had a very strong smell of bacon an eggs lol. None of us had any battery in mobiles due to there only being two sockets.

    The size of family room was fantastic. The food was great, menu choices great. Drinks wernt expensive. Everywhere was clean. Garden was lovely, had sun in till late. Staff were lovely. Parking was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant hotel that served it's purpose for an overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no air conditioning in the room - take a fan with you if you have one, especially in warmer weather. The bathroom was clean; however, patches of mould were visible on the ceiling. There were only two plug sockets, we would have found another one or two very useful.

    The hotel is in an ideal location to Barry for an event we were taking part in. The check in and check out experience was quick and hassle free. The hotel has a bar and restaurant - we used the bar but can't comment on the food as we didn't eat in the restaurant. The size of the room was ample and it was fairly well equipped.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.0
    Right next to airport 😩
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 double plug socket in the whole room. Noise from aeroplanes really bad. No local shops about. Shower red hot on the lowest setting. Nothing with in walking distance. £106 for room only was a little expensive there is an option for breakfast at £6.90 pp. that’s was really nice though.

    Staff very nice. Early check in bonus. Fan in room great idea as when windows were open the noise from the aeroplanes was terrible.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.7
    Pretty good but rooms need a bit of renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms pretty basic and need renovation. Door on our bathroom didn't lock. Poor ventilation as no outside window on bathroom. But luckily bedroom window could be opened wide.

    Clean and ideal location for airport and long stay car park 4. Easy access to Barry too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    Hotel was perfect for what we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a ground floor room overlooking carpark. No net curtain or similar meant to maintain privacy we had to keep blackout curtains pulled. It was a lovely sunny day and keeping these shut made room rather hot and uncomfortable. No other complaints!

    The hotel is basic but clean and tidy and provides all you need. Staff were friendly and helpful. There is a free bus service with a stop outside which takes you to Cardiff city centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    Easy to access Cardiff centre and comfortable stay with good food at reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were ok perhaps a little tired.

    Food was very good and the staff were excellent. We stayed prior to the speedway grand prix at the principality stadium and found it a very easy trip in to the venue. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    3.8
    The manager who try’s to attack you for your complaint bear it in mind I am 7 months pregnant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They way me and my partner got spoken to by the apparent manager of this place was disgusting customer service was not at all satisfactory also someone walked into our room at half past 8 in the morning for no apparent reason unfortunately I would not recommend to stay at this hotel

    Clean and presentable just needs to brush up on hospitality and customer service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed my stay and will visit again in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could find no fault with this accommodation.

    The friendly greeting from very helpful staff the room and dining areas were clean comfortable and welcoming Sorry to have to cut visit short.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    A nice place to stay, good value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are a little bit dated, but very clean and comfortable. Air con would have been nice in the heat!!

    Good food, good value for money and excellent staff who are always helpful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel for those flying from Cardiff airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lift is an absolute necessity as the hotel is usually used by tourists who are flying, and carrying heavy luggage upstairs is a problem

    The location was great-just 2 minutes drive to Cardiff airport. The room was spacious, comfortable, and had all amenities, including ironing facility and a good TV for us to watch world cup foot ball! Though so close to the airport there was no excessive noise. Long term parking was available. Hotel arranged a taxi for us, which was there on the dot.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Cardiff Velo Wales stop over. 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second visit... came back for more..👍 nothing amiss.

    Location far enough out to be quiet but local. Good size rooms. Staff friendly and polite. Free parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Friendly, clean and I would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very friendly staff. Very clean room. It was very homely, a little dated decor but I prefer that to an impersonal box. Didn't here any aircraft noise even though so close to the airport. Very quiet. The extra cost of breakfast I thought to be fair as a good selection freshly cooked during the week and buffet on weekends. Have already rebooked.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Absolutely great value for money, good breakfast and lovely staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only slight downside was it smelt like the kitchen filter needed a boost, as the smell of the (lovely!) cooked breakfast was a bit intrusive.

    The staff were exemplary - very friendly and helpful. We were staying as we were attending a wedding nearby and it was absolutely excellent value for money. Good breakfast too!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel and staff,, but disturbed sleep spoiled our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of sleep due to the drunk guests make a terrible noise arguing and shouting , this went on for ages until after several warnings the hotel staff finally asked them to leave.

    The hotel was what we expected

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Great stopover
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a bit slow....but it's no major issue....

    The staff are really friendly. The breakfast was absolutely superb. Great restaurant. The Celtic International is a great place for stopping over. We were working locally and stopped here for 4 nights. Evening meals were really good value. It's the 2nd time we have stayed and will be doing so again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.0
    Overpriced, substandard hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel dated, cheap broken fixture and fittings. Completely overpriced, disappointed that Bookings.com have endorsed this hotel as we've not been let down until our stay there.

    Staff were pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.7
    Decent place
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not walking distance to airport due to no pavements. The restaurant and bar wasn’t open due to being a Sunday. Nothing to do with hotel but had a blackout in the middle of the night so nothing worked when I woke up for my early flight.

    Staff we’re so friendly, room was good. Decent bathroom, ironing board and iron in the room and a hair dryer. Receptionist booked me a taxi no problem and nothing was too much trouble for her.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Really lovely hotel, Staff exceptional. Food very good. We certainly were not disappointed, considering my partner believe we were stay st the Celtic Manor In Cardiff . Better choice for our occasion.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic value for money and conveniently close to the airport - however needed more plugpoints!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Plug points!! there were only two and these had the TV plugged into one and there were none by the bed - kettle lamps and hairdryer are wired into the wall so you cannot exchange these for chargers - maybe bring a multipoint adapter!

    For £44 this property was fantastic value for money. The breakfast add-on was also a good deal as the options at breakfast were of good quality and very varied - was not just the basics and tasty Glamorgan sausages were an appreciated add-on for veggies! The room was large and spacious and we were around the back of the property so it was very private and road noise was of no issues. There was a pool table too and vending machines for guest.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.8
    Restaurant meal was quite good but that's about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in poor condition. Shower was broken and was unable to be used without holding it in your hand. Temporary repair with cable ties was ineffective. Bathroom doorframe looked like it had been kicked open, but had not been repaired.

    We like the proximity to the airport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    4.2
    Not again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom low wash bash. The room smelt, cleanliness in the room. Dirty pillow on bed. Window broken tapes shut with tape. May have been a disabled room hence the low sink.

    Front desk staff. Young lady very helpful showed us 2 rooms to move to. But 1st had dead and a live spider on the bed. 2nd room too small. Stayed in booked room. She gave good level of service.smiled and trued her best

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    Brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this hotel a few weeks before my last visit as an anniversary present for my partner, as we assumed we would be unable to spend our anniversary together as he works a lot. However we managed to be off work the same time so decided to book again for our actual anniversary staff were excellent and added little touches to make it special. I would stay again love the atmosphere and brilliant breakfast!! X

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    The low key approach of staff, no oversell on bar or...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    separate bar from restaurant, made restaurant feel impersonal.

    The low key approach of staff, no oversell on bar or restaurant products but staff very helpful when asked.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Lovely place to stay after a nice weekend away to chill out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was great

    Lovely place to stay after a nice weekend away to chill out before you go back home! Perfect location and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    Convenient for the airport and parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's really close to the airport parking, which means that you can hear the generator running the lights all night....

    It's really close to the airport parking, which is convenient

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    The room was much bigger than expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was much bigger than expected. The bed was very comfortable and the staff were lovely. There was no air con but there was a very powerful fan and lots of windows in the room which was a bonus as it was a very hot night. Will definitely book again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Alright
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price turned out to be a bit too much

    We only came for a one night stay before travelling to Swansea. Didn't have much time to explore, but everything seemed fine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    fabulous, would definitely recommend and stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was really soft but that was just personal choice.

    Breakfast had plenty of choice, had eggs Benedict it was very tasty. Room was clean and spacious. Staff really friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    The staff that were on duty when we arrived were lovely.
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there was only one member of staff on when we got back at about 11.30pm and they were run off their feet, which meant that guests were waiting to be be served in the bar, for quite a while. Not their fault, just didn't seem to be enough staff on duty.

    The staff that were on duty when we arrived were lovely. Our room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff, excellent food, good shower and comfortable beds, what more do you need?
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were clean but definitely in need of some redecoration and I would have liked a shelf in the shower for toiletries. They don't do lunchtime meals which was disappointing as we'd arrived at lunchtime quite hungry.

    The food, both breakfast and evening meals were all excellent and all the staff were friendly and helpful. My room was basic but functional with a nice view to the West. Great sunsets. Yes, the sun shone in Wales:-)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Overall really great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn't like really

    Comfy, clean, good value.. lovely staff, especially they guy working the night shift. He couldn't be more helpful when I checked out an left my phone behind. A**

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Great getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have bottled water in the room

    Most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was large with lots of Windows. Breakfast was perfect with lots of selection. Location was perfect for our needs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Clean and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was hard to change temperature. Think it’s been broken at some point and I don’t like the fact the bed moves.

    Clean and quiet, bed was comfortable. Really loved the fact you had a iron and ironing board. Loads of little freebies

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.3
    Morning shift staff very friendly and helpful, excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central heating turned off and room windows wide open when we checked in at 22:45. Cold!!

    Morning shift staff very friendly and helpful, excellent cooked breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    Very coveinent for my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom required refurbishment. There was no cold water pressure in the bathroom. The chairs in the restaurant/bar require updating.

    Very coveinent for my stay. A large bedroom. Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.3
    Needed a night away so booked hotel everything was good apart from our room felt dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture was out dated Brown and old looking such a nice entrance you think wow then you get to the room and feel Abit deflated

    Bed comfy really great breakfast lots to choose from

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.9
    We didn't want to stay in the town, aso stayed here and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't want to stay in the town, aso stayed here and were very impressed with the room and restaurant. We sat in the beer garden and enjoyed the sun.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    Convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Few staff under pressure to cover Reception, bar and serving food on night we stayed. Price of half pints of beer excessive. Portion of fish for evening meal very small. People smoking immediately outside our room which was right next to entrance (101)

    Location from airport. Friendly, polite staff even though working under pressure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    I was travelling on a business trip with colleagues who booked into another hotel when I went to book it was full. I found your hotel on the internet and I am glad I did comfortable rooms with really helpful staff, on booking into your hotel I told them I was running late for the restaurant that my colleagues had booked, the girl on reception called a cab for me and contacted the restaurant to advise I was going to be late now that's what I call service impeccable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is probably not ideal during the summer months as there was no air con. The two windows were located at the back didn't fully extend. Therefore, the too. Was very hot during mornings and evenings.

    Excellent facilities, staff are very welcoming and helpful. Nice outdoor area is was very quiet and relaxing. Amazing breakfast. Excellent value for money. Would recommend this hotel for long weekend stays.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Pleasantly surprised with the quality of the room for the price. Credit to the hotel cleaning team t
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were like 4 bags of cement in pillow cases and I couldn't sleep very well as a result. Only 1 usable mains socket in the room nowhere near the bed. I was getting up at 5.45am so needed my phone nearby to ensure I'd hear the alarm and not sleep in so I couldn't charge my phone. With all the wiring behind the headboard facade a socket could easily be installed either side of the bed.

    Nice big room (213); very clean. You can adjust the radiator thermostat so that it's not too warm. Friendly night manager organised taxi when I arrived at Cardiff airport. Bar/restaurant area looked really nice too. Tea, biscuits and washing liquids in room. 4 pillows. I immediately noticed how clean the hotel was in general. Credit to the cleaning staff as first impressions are important. Very good in general.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    It was very quiet when I stayed there.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine and at a very good price, so no negative comments.

    It was very quiet when I stayed there. The room was comfortable although a little cold at night, but no real issues for me. Excellent and good value dinner. But as I was the only person in the restaurant at 7:30pm probably helped.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Comfy and good value for money. Good location for Barry Island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked 2 double rooms but was givern 1 twin and 1 double - the hotel blamed booking.com. They could not move us - no doubles available.

    The bed was really comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel, facilites reasonable, most staff friendly, not great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was only one plug point available in the room, meaning a had to charge things in turn. Rather awkward as I needed to use both phone and laptop for various things. The other downside was the hotel isn't near anywhere within walking distance.

    I stayed here en route to the Llanelli half marathon, and they went out of their way when it came to breakfast, allowing me to eat half an hour before the official time. The room was on the big side and the tv was also.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    celtic would always be my first choice to visit this area .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing i didnt like

    friendly helpful staff , excellent decor and yes , comfy bed due to spring edge divan base ,very rare . location great for barry besides airport .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    Convienient, very helpful staff, excellent breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had one soiled tower on arrival, we just put to one-side, bed nowhere near as good as Premier in or new Travelodge.

    Location to work at St Athan. Good food, good sized room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    We were made to feel very welcome, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The chairs in the restaurant were a little worn, lighting could have been softer, and the bathroom would benefit from decorating. It was however, mainly for Air Travellers, so more than adequate for a sleepover, and very reasonable.

    Friendly Staff, a lot of effort made (Folded napkins, towels, the way the bed was made) Excellent breakfast. Lovely Reception area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is good.The hotel staff especially manager is very nice she make you comfortable. Location is not so good...Those are travelling to Cardiff airport for them its OK.Its nearest to Cardiff airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    Convenient location, and excellent value, given the whole...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Convenient location, and excellent value, given the whole cardiff area is ridiculously expensive for hotels, many of a mediocre standard for the price, compared to other cities/regions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value for money , would recommend to others and definetly use you hotel again , thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed was a little to soft and we found we rolled towards each other

    Staff were very friendly , room was very clean and close to Airport was easy for us to get to the following morning

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    A good place to stay, at a good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV menu could be better. Staff very helpful and polite

    Staff in the restaurant were very helpful, whilst not being over the top and in your face. Ideal. The room , overlooking the main road/front car park, was a little noisy, but not a problem as low traffic. Room a little dated, but fine and everything worked. The tv menu was a bit confusing and seemed not to have main channels accessible(BBC1 ITV etc) perhaps me and the menu?

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    Wonderful location for an early morning flight
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great Location, Great Hotel, Fabulous staff, fabulous dinner, fabulous breakfast In fact 10out of 10 allround, no hesitation in using this hotel again,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.9
    Great location and friendly staff
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was great as we arrived by air for a wedding nearby. The staff were very helpful and friendly at all times. Breakfast was cooked to order and really good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    5.8
    Would like to have got some sleep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was above the 24 hour bar and I kept being woken up by people talking and laughing loudly until 3 in the morning and then someone started chucking bottles in a bottle bin. Annoying as I had to wake up at 4.30 to catch a flight.

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    Couldn't ask for more from the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Stayed one night before an early flight from Cardiff Airport.It was snowing when we arrived and still snowing the next morning, the lady at reception went out of her way to make sure everyone was taken care of, and helped us push our car out of a large snow drift.couldnt thank her enough it was a nightmare, but we made it to the airport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Just what we required.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst the room was clean and tidy it was an odd shape with the small bed tucked into a windowless part of and l shaped room space. Whilst this did not deter our stay it was bit bizarre. I don’t think all the rooms were like this.

    Nice evening meal and welcoming and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    6.7
    I stayed in this hotel only one night because of a late...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The structure is very old style, it was difficult to like it. Due to the weird shape of the room, it would take forever to warm up with the radiator so far away from the bed!!! Breakfast not included.

    I stayed in this hotel only one night because of a late flight, so I was able to go by foot from the airport as it's less than 1 km away (NOTE: if you're going by foot, you'll have to walk on the grass after the second roundabout as there's no footpath). My room was sparkling clean, the bed extra comfy (I hadn't slept that good in a while during my trip). The room was weird though, like "L"-shaped, at the end of the long side the bed, at the other end... the radiator and the bathroom. The hotel provides you with toiletries and towels, a kettle, and some cookies (which I have appreciated so much!).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.3
    1st trip to Cardiff/Barry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was ok .. but only 1 double plug socket in room which tv was plugged into leaving 1 left to charge up 4 devices.. "extension lead bought".( kettle hairdyer lamp wired in ) Bath towels could have been bigger.. had problem with key card. Parking was ok but guess in could get busier in high season.. Over all ok ...but not a wow hotel.

    Stayed 4 nights at this hotel . Staff friendly. Location good .. bed comfy .. Room warm. Bathroom spacious and worked well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Reception & bar staff exceptionally helpful, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception & bar staff exceptionally helpful, friendly & polite at all times. This wasn't our first stay at this hotel & it definitely won't be our last. Our room was comfortable, clean & quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    An excellent experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath towels were a little 'mean'

    Everything was good or excellent. Particularly, the curry for dinner was amazing, and the breakfast was excellent. Best value hotel stay for a long time

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.5
    It was comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms were dated new carpets or flooring needed continue with the new refurb of reception hall etc..for price it was worth a stay.

    Staff were friendly and helpful the reception and hall was newly refurbished it was clean and staff Were approachable if you needed towells coffee in rooms the facility of pool table vending machines and comfortable restaurant .good value

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.5
    Better than facing the traffic on the M4 pre flying from Cardiff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls appear thin, you can hear lots of doors opening and closing, having said that I slept well.

    Near airport, good value, does what it says on the tin and no more.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75