Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel de France 4 stars

St Saviours Road, Saint Helier Jersey, JE1 7XP, United Kingdom

#6 of 42 hotels in Saint Helier Jersey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 873 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hot breakfast was NOT HOT but luke warm every morning and they don't make a great cup of tea. Be warned, if you want an omelette it is an additional £3 as are other options not on the hotplates!! Lots of options on the Continental breakfast though. Saffrons Restaurant is VERY expensive for whats on offer. There are plenty of reasonably priced Restaurants/Pubs within walking distance. Drinks at the Hotel are, as usual, expensive. There was only one lift working throughout our stay and caused some delay at peek times.

    Staff were very friendly and efficient. Both booking in and out was quick and easy with the added bonus that our room was ready on our early arrival at the Hotel. The bedroom was lovely with crisp white linen/towels/bathrobes and up market toiletries. The Hotel courtesy car to and from town was an added bonus and helped greatly after a days walking seeing the many Tourist attractions that Jersey has to offer. The pool, spa and sun terrace area are fab.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the evening staff from the garden restaurant looking very annoyed and roll her eyes when my sister request that payment be made were we are sitting at the time something that we did before. We were told that it was her first day.Hope she will drop the attitude in future.

    The room was clean with comfy bed .One of the best sleeps I had in a hotel.Great choice on breakfast and thank you to Alex for a good service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel was very spacious with excellent facilities throughout including a Ayush wellness spa which was well received during our stay. The restaurants were found to be excellent with fantastic quality and well presented food coupled with wine lists to meet that occasion. Strongly recommended

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa was the best area of the hotel. The food choices were very poor,apart from breakfast which was first class.there were no comfortable places to enjoy an evening drink,without it being overpriced.the spa area makes this hotel 4 star.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small hot room with no air con & dated bathroom. Window blinds did not completely close Basic breakfast in tired old restaurant (orangery) It was over-priced. I have stayed at radisson and club for a lot less, and these are superior hotels by far

    Lovely spa and beautiful terrace for early evening drinks

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    HDF was very nice and quiet, staff excellent our room had a balcony and was very clean and tidy. We walked 20mins to the town, HDF also have a shuttle bus runnning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very hot, fan supplied but still unpleasant and difficult to sleep in. Room very basic and bathroom dated with mediocre shower. Condensation on the window throughout the stay which meant you couldn't see the view unless looking out of open window.

    Staff very helpful and friendly Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place just seemed dated in terms of decor and furnishings etc Bar area was bland .. lacked atmosphere and was more like a cheap cafe Staff however were so fantastic

    Staff were incredibly helpful and so lovely ...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Now this place advertises on booking.com and other sites as - "Adult only" & "children cannot be accommodated at the hotel"..... and was one of our reasons for booking... Unfortunately 4-5 times in 3 days I was woken by the same 3 kids staying on level 4 who used the hall way to run up and down and cry in whilst waiting for the lift.... Not ideal. Then at dinner there they were doing laps of the garden and dining area (at one stage with mum in toe playing tag). Went to the pool one day - yep you guessed it, running around pool to pool... The first night we had to move tables as I got bored of the toddler playing drums with a fork and knife on the table.... Now I may sound like a grump... I'm not, I like kids, but when you advertise its kid free, the above is a pain... and considering the price of a room on a bank holiday its frankly annoying. I kept quiet to not embarrass the family but when I asked reception about the policy they avoided a direct answer with vague replies as they knew where I was coming from. Upon their confirmation that "sometimes we do have kids staying" (after I kept at it) I was pretty stumped I didn't get any sort of apology or acknowledgement of the issue. Perhaps I should of just been rude and stomped and kicked around like the 4 yr old was doing most mornings eh... Shame as the rest of the experience was fine and welcoming. Only other warning is - we got to see Jersey in all its warm sunny glory... The south facing room was baking hot... and with no aircon, the tiny pedestal fan wasn't really adequate for a £150 a night room in 2018... bah humbug!

    Nice hotel and grand building, great outdoor space and the general vibe was very positive & welcoming. Staff were very attentive and helpful (until the end). Nice pool facilities, good food in the Garden view restaurant for Dinner and Lunches. Partner had a session in the wellness spa and really rated it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room too hot

    Lovely hotel about 10 minute walk from Town Centre. We were on the 4th floor of the original hotel and with no air conditioning the room was boiling which made it difficult to sleep. The hotel and staff were lovely so that would be my only comment...room too hot! To be fair the weather was exceptionally warm outside also.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taxis are expensive and hotel is 15 min walk from town and no close bars or restaurants apart from the hotel ones. Buses are good if you get the time right.

    Health Suite is fantastic. Treatment was given by very skilled person, felt in capable hands.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one lift working and the meal from the restaurant in your bedroom if you sleep at the back of the hotel

    Good night sleep and good choice of breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the lifts were out of order

    Apart from the general excellence of the hotel facilities, dining at Saffrons and Garden Room was a great experience

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lift broke down during our stay but no signs were put out to inform guest. Breakfast - No bread for toast, Food on the hot plate was dry out and not fresh, coffee was terrible. Room was cleans but our bins were not emptied.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    With an imposing facade, this is a very good hotel. The staff were always attentive, and we stayed in the Spa rooms, which were modern, spacious, clean and comfortable. We ate in the Garden Restaurant in the evening, and enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere, and found the service, food and range of menu choices very good. The hotel facilities were particularly good, and the spa and health club were excellent - one of the best I have visited. We also enjoyed the garden area, which was peaceful and well kept. The location was good, with ample parking, and 5m drive from the centre of St Helier or a 15-20m walk. Overall, had the feel of a Grand Hotel and the facilities are ample, and enable you to spend the whole day at the hotel if you want to. Very good 4 day stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I choose to upgrade my room and I’m glad I did, as the older parts of the hotel really are dated and cold.

    The spa is sensational! All staff I came into contact with were extremely polite and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For me - nothing.

    Location was excellent and there was plenty of parking. The staff were the nicest and most helpful one could ever hope to meet. The service in all areas was brilliant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Though clean, comfortable and welcoming the hotel could do with a refurb to give it a more modern air... too many patterned carpets for example and we found the VAST breakfast area in the Orangery dated and characterless...blue patterned carpet, cheapish tables and chairs... which clashed somewhat with its 4 star grading. But the food was plentiful with lots of choice served by friendly, helpful staff who deserve rather more inspiring surroundings.

    Your question refers to service ie. how we were treated etc. and the answer is that the personal service was excellent. The food was good and nicely presented and good weather made on terrace dining a delight. Surely the daily table d'hote menu could be changed a little each day? Variety in dining is important and it wouldn't be hard to shuffle the culinary cards a tad/

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There good have been some sort of entertainment on an evening - perhaps music or even a billiard room.

    A Luxury hotel - Excellant Spa and Restaurants - Bed very Comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had Room 251 with a view of the boiler room. The room was large and uninspiring with nowhere to sit comfortably and relax. It was however very clean and was kept clean throughout our stay. However very disappointing for £150 per night. Food in the main restaurant smelt interesting but was very pricey. Food in the Garden restaurant was hit and miss. First night I had a burger that was very dry, second night I had pork skewers that were very tasty.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. The Spa was excellent - the jewel of the hotel. Garden surround were very nice to sit in and have a drink. Parking on site was under cover and easily accessible.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is about 20 minutes walk from the town centre; they do have a shuttle but at fixed times in the day, they are looking at improving this and also changing the times, at present one just misses the important buses in town.

    As in previous reviews the breakfasts are excellent; the wellness centre is also top quality and really adds to the value of the hotel. Very good indoor swimming pool, spa pool and saunas, all organised very well. This is an older style hotel, ie corridors are wide and carpeted, and entrance is very impressive. The gardens are excellent and the staff are also tops in helpfulness and very friendly. Certainly a comfortable place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I couldn't really fault my stay.

    I have stayed a number of times and cannot fault the polite and helpful staff. the comfortable rooms and atmosphere, had a very relaxing break.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is choice at breakfast but it never varies and the bacon is always dry. It would not take much imagination to vary it a little. They charge extra for an omelette, smoked haddock and one other item which is unnecessary for a hotel of this calibre.

    The room we had, in the a new wing, was large and had a balcony with two chairs and table on it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Liked everything but the bathroom could have done with a redecorate.

    It is a very grand hotel but could do with a bit of a update especially in the orangery breakfast room. The food was adequate and a fair choice. The swimming pool was busy but enough room for all. The evening dining meal was great and delivered on time as we had to leave by a certain time. Plenty of parking and undercover which was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ordered room service breakfast in the morning. was good quality and tasted great but could have been hotter.

    Great spa facilities and very large bedroom. Bathroom at a very high standard also.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It has changed I think for the worst, it's more for business people and to have to pay an extra £500 just for a balcony is diabolical, you don't even get a garden view which I asked for

    Good service by some staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bed was not comfortable, far too soft. The room and bedding was very warm even with the fan and window open overnight. The room was on 4th floor but air con should be considered especially for the summer months.

    Staff were really pleasant and helpful. They tried to improve my bed but see below. The room and other facilities were lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't a problem for us but if you're accessing the hotel on foot it's steep or stepped access which might prove tricky with luggage

    The welcoming and friendly staff who went out of their way to ensure you were having a great time. The gym, pool and spa were great. The lovely sunny terrace was a great place to enjoy a drink and Saffron restaurant in the hotel was superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little hard for our liking. Thought that whilst waiting for room to be ready having been offered a tea it would not have been charged, a very minor point

    The bedroom bathroom and hotel were lovely, breakfasts were excellent. The staff very helpful and always had a smile.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Bathroom was very dated - Spa is very pricey - Breakfast is over by 10am. Too early. - Location is quite a way out from the town center. Free bus is only 5 times a day so lots of walking or taxis!

    - Fantastic Spa - Comfy beds - Excellent Breakfast - modern Bedroom - Good Wifi

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    We were really impressed with everything. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was spotlessly clean and very spacious. Breakfast was great as well, with lots of choice for even the fussiest traveller. We couldn't fault anything and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel didn't seem to have an eco policy; there was certainly nothing mentioned in the welcome pack. I think my towels were changed every day though I would happily have used them for my whole stay. I did hang them up every time I used them expecting they would have been left. Also all the very nicely printed napkins and plate holders are single use but are they recyclable? Such a large establishment should surely have a policy and advertise it far and wide.

    Room very nicely appointed, gorgeous bathroom. Had everything I needed. Staff I met all very polite, friendly and helpful. Breakfast provision excellent to suit all tastes. Had dinner one night in the Garden Restaurant which was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I am a plain eater - I could not go to saffron’s - and although the staff in the garden view accommodated my requests the menu become rather repetitive. Coffee was best I ever tasted. Also the building in front of the hotel spoils the entire ambiance - a architectural disaster in the so wrong location.

    The lovely large room. The spa first class - the breakfast. The grandeur.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    only the room size was to small last time i stayed i had a bigger room with some outside space but that was on the ground floor

    i would of been more happy not to stay up in the roof of the hotel makes the room small

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a refurb, small and noisy room, uncomfortable bed, staff were ‘ok’ not really a 4* service, spa was ‘ok’ massage wasn’t very good and didn’t get the full 55 mins treatment, I travel a lot and stay in may better cheaper hotels, definitely won’t stay at HDF again and won’t recommend it, on the other hand Saffrons was good but expensive. All in all not the best hotel stay we’ve had

    Saffrons does good food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I find this question difficult to answer my stay was superb

    The staff were amazing very friendly very polite and most accommodating . Wonderful facilities in sauna cold pool etc

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't realise the hotel was on an incline. Should have booked the shuttle on return from town.

    Staff were all helpful and pleasant. Food very good and pool area excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good - Cooked breakfast a little undercooked for my liking Overall the breakfast area looks dated and the Hotel in general although very comfortable seems dated A more modern interior would appeal to a wider variety of customers.

    Spa facilities were really good General hotel could do with more of a modern makeover The Hotel and building is very impressive and an easy 10/15 min walk to the town centre

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reason I chose the hotel was because it had a gym which I intended to use on Saturday evening, but it closed at 5pm!! This is ridiculously early for a hotel gym on a Saturday.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good No bottled water in room Breakfast room seems a little dated in decor as were the bedrooms A little modernisation with the interiors would go a long way. A very good all round hotel. Would definitely recommend

    Loved the facilities in the spa Nice bar and lounge and restaurant Very relaxing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At times in the restaurant, the piped music was a bit oppressive.

    There was tomato juice for breakfast - rarely seen these days. Staff in the Garden View restaurant were very friendly and attentive. Our spa room was excellent, well located near the restaurant and spa with a grand view of St Helier.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff extremely friendly from reception check in. We found the hotel staff also very pleasant and friendly especially the bar and restaurants staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed at the hotel for 12 nights. The breakfast was served at the Garden View restaurant, with very few choices of foods if you do not like cereals, breads and pattiserie products. As I have stayed at the hotel before (and I intend returning in the future for my business trips), I was quite disappointed and I had to skip few breakfasts as I could not have same English breakfast and yoghurts for 12 days in a row.

    As always, amazing food at Saffron’s restaurant. Lovely view from room 226 over the town and sea. Staff, particularly concierge and reception Romanian guys, were extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the local attractions. Excellent spa services. Very, very happy with the haircut (thank you Julien!!!)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been a bigger T V for the size of the room and a mini bar would have been lovely

    Very comfortable, very clean , food excellent and staff very helpful overall a lovely place to stay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv was very small for a big room The breckfast toast came cold - only this time my first time it was fine ! and we didn’t really like the sausages :( The resultant downstairs was okay maybe they should have a more casual food options as well as the posh food!

    The room was Perfect , it had everything we needed felt so comfortable I really loved the room ! Oh and the bathroom! the spa and swimming pool was great ! Starff very polite and professional Spa girls where amazing loved every min!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dining room chairs in the Garden Restaurant of the hotel were not the most comfortable but now I'm being over critical. It is difficult to find anything we didn't like. The hotel was not right in the centre but only a ten minute walk away.

    The food was very well presented, the chef superb .The service was excellent,Changes to the menu to suit the individual requirements were happily met. The staff throughout the hotel were a credit in every department.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa lady needs to smile more. She is always hard faced.

    Marco & Andrea were amazing. Changed our room without a hassle and Marco was generally lovely and so helpful!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small, toiletries sparse etc it felt more like a premier inn than a £100 a night hotel.

    Everything was okay but the hotel was expensive for what it was

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of restaurants, not open in low season.

    The hotel is in a really good location, facilities are great however we were dissapointd to find that there were no restaurants open during our weekend visit, we were told the garden restaurant was open but when we turned up for an evening meal no staff were in sight and no other guests were in there either. We had expected it to be quiet given it was January but this really dissapointed us. Overall the hotel is very nce and the breakfast staff are very professional and attentive, we would like to return in the summer months and take full advantage of the three adertised restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was canteen like!

    The facilities the pool was great! The restaurant for a hotel of that size is a little more than a canteen environment- the staff are great and attentive and make up for the room it self - it was a little disappointing to note that the Indian restaurant that everyone raves about was closed and does not open until middle of February 😍

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is always difficult and not easy to get space close to hotel

    The staff were very efficient and the room was clean and tidy The leisure facilities were superb and the young man on the counter was helpful as usual

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in the restaurants were not friendly at all, especially at breakfast. None of them could be bothered to serve us, we weren’t offered any drinks or toast and not even a greeting. Worst service I have ever been given. No value for the money that I paid. Also, the classic double room we were initially allocate in was very small and very dated. I had to pay a supplement to be upgraded to one of new balcony rooms which was what I expected, however there was lot of noise coming from the function underneath us. I have asked to speak to a duty manager at checkout who thank me for the feedback!! And was sorry for the disastrous stay I had! And offered me a 10% discount on a future stat with the hotel and a complementary upgrade in the future! This after I clearly stated I will never stay at that hotel again!! Absolutely disappointing. I left the hotel in tears.

    The spa facilities & staff and reception staff have been extremely helpful, professional and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was situated a little out of town - a good 30min walk up hill for 50% of it. I have arthritic knees and it was a struggle, but for the fitter person it wouldnt be a problem. The hotel shuttle didnt run on a sunday.

    The hotel was clean tidy and decorated to a high standard. The staff were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wasn't clear from the guide in the room where to go for breakfast - we went to the wrong place for breakfast on two days before we found out - and nobody told us we were in the wrong place.

    Beautiful big room, great swimming pool, plenty of parking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Treatments are very expensive.

    Love this hotel. It has single rooms which is perfect as I don't have to pay a supplement, which drives me crazy. Lovely staff and amazing pool area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa was a little cold. Room was a little dirty sticky hand prints on the walls but all small things so didn’t put us off as everything else was spot on

    Good staff, good food, comfortable bed, nice terrace out the front. Breakfast selection was really nice and there was so much on offer

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit far from centre but that's my only issue however free bus provided. Spa treatment didn't live up to expectations.. very expensive and fell far short ! cold room horrid music and uninteresting therapist. Informed the manager who only defended and tried to pick holes in my comments which I found very unprofessional. Discounted 20% off a £105 massage which only lasted just over a hour as a gesture. However still felt disgruntled as the whole thing did not relax de stress me or my sore muscles at all. Felt all the more stressed for the experience.

    Wonderful large rooms comfortable clean bed and towels lots of choice for breakfast. Bar staff wonderful and saffron staff friendly chatty and make a fantastic gin cocktail. :) I will most certainly return as the hotel and staff are wonderful, but will getting my spa treatments else where.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The scrabbled egg was not very good on the buffet for breakfast . The hill climb to reach the hotel was a struggle at times but that was me being unfit.

    The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and anticipate your needs before you even think of it yourself! The breakfast was very good with a great hot and cold buffet and freshly made items to order, like porridge and poach eggs. The location of the hotel is up a steep hill but the path has good lighting and was kept clear of leaves and slip hazards.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The indoor pool and spa facilities were the best we have expeienced in a hotel. Extra lage bed in a large room was most welcome, the hotel was spotlessly clean and we will be definitely be returning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could have been a bit more friendly. One member of staff got involved with a conversation I was having with my partner and back chatted me. Not on.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard restaurant food and menu was a bit meh. Not horrible but only went there once despite the walk in and out of town. Staff need to know more about the local bus routes and near by bus stops.

    Spa was amazing as was the Indian fusion restaurant. Good that there was a shuttle bus to town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room - grubby small no view and above a kitchen so noisy and smelly Staff - not able to help Restaurant- over priced, poor choice and humourless staff

    Not a great deal to be honest as they couldn't/wouldn't address concerns satisfactorily

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have been used to having a small fridge in 4 star hotel rooms so we're a bit surprised not to find one. This would have been more of a disadvantage had the weather been hot, which it was not! The Orangery where breakfast is served is a spacious eating area but it did feel distinctly chilly.

    Reception staff are welcoming and informative. Our Room on the top floor had a good view over St Helier to the sea. It was very clean, comfortable and spacious. Plenty of toiletries and nice thick towels. The soundproofing is very effective and we were never disturbed by extraneous noise, even though our room was directly opposite the lift. The key cards to the room worked every time! The wi fi connection was very good indeed. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room. There is a well equipped gym available to guests and an indoor pool. There is also a complimentary mini bus shuttle service to and from the centre of town. Although the walk into the centre of St Helier takes only about 20 minutes the shuttle bus was a useful service. Breakfast was plentiful with a good choice of cereals, fresh fruit, lovely Jersey yoghurt, good bread and plenty of choice if you prefer a cooked breakfast. There is also a choice of restaurants. We ate in the more informal and less expensive of the two. Our meal was tasty and represented good value for money in comparison with evening meals we have eaten in other 4 star hotels. Waiting staff were friendly, efficient and welcoming.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were a little hot due to unseasonably sunny afternoons, but hotel did provide a decent cooling fan. Hotel has a steep slope or stairs to get back on foot from main road - not so fun after a night out in heels!

    Very clean,well maintained hotel. Pool/spa excellent. Nice view from room (4th floor). Good shower and hairdryer in room. Excellent hot and cold breakfast buffet selection. Very helpful staff - they booked taxis for us to explore island. Hardly any noise (fri-sun in early October). 10min walk to shops and a further 10 to the harbour, but you are aware from the noise of centre of town so we preferred it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The spa area is incredible, it was really nice to be able to go for a swim after a day at work. The staff were all incredibly helpful and friendly. My room was really nice and the towel warmer was a hidden bonus!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was nothing I didn't like. If I wanted to be picky there was no music in the Spa and if that had been provided it would give it such a nice atmosphere as it was a lovely place to go to at the end of the day.

    Liked everything about this hotel. Very spacious. The food was excellent, bed comfortable, staff very friendly. To have the Spa at the end of the day was so relaxing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Warm friendly welcome, spacious and luxurious. Lifts easy to locate and efficient. Excellent spa facilities which we used every day. Breakfast plentiful and to a high standard.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a steep walk back from town, not for the fain hearted!

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts very good. Prices very reasonable in both for food and beverages. Free facilities in the spa excellent and very relaxing after an action packed day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was a fair walk into town and a lot of steps to climb to get back to the hotel, having said that there was a free shuttle bus

    Very friendly staff, the swimming pool and spa facilities were great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we had a really large room overlooking the main entrance , it was a modern room and was extremely clean. The swimming pool and Spa area are beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cramped (in the attic) and hot at night - windows difficult to open and no air conditioning.

    good breakfast, facilities and walking distance to town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Saffrons restaurant catered for a particular taste - thought it should be more generic

    Staff efficient and friendly. Good quality breakfast. Rooms spotless and serviced quickly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very good breakfast (albeit the scrambled egg could improve) and breakfast staff very attentive along with reception desk staff. Spacious spa area with lots of beds both inside and outside if the sun is shining. Short walk to town centre downhill so obviously uphill on the return but shuttle bus available

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location a tad out but okay for us as we don't have mobility issues but the bank outside is quite steep. They do provide a shuttle bus though so don't be put off by this

    The staff were excellent and attentive. The spa and leisure facilities are the best we have ever seen. The breakfast was wonderful with something to suit everyone. Attention to detail has obviously be given thought to by management.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel looked a little out of date and tired.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Centre of St Heller just a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Spa looked good but had no time to try it.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel de France traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: