Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dean Park Hotel 3 stars

Chapel Level, Kirkcaldy, KY2 6QW, United Kingdom

#6 of 12 hotels in Kirkcaldy

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 437 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    The location, the parking facilities, the food, room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room that we stayed in although comfortable needed redecorating, information pack with breakfast times and information about the area would also have been useful.

    The location, the parking facilities, the food, room although needing some updating and tlc was comfortable, very good ensuit facilities despite needing some minor repairs.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.7
    Continental breakfast was poor - there was a choice of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Continental breakfast was poor - there was a choice of yoghurt , a few cereals, option of fruit from bowl - fruit juice but no croissants, no meats or cheeses, no breads, no fruit salad etc. not presented well. Looked really unappetising.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    Weekend stay Sat-Sun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Down fall is that we paid £95 X3 for ONE NIGHT which I thought was way over priced considering we had to be checked out by 11 & yet the hotel is beautiful it wasn’t worth £95 per room for one night :(

    The hotel is absolutely stunning, fabulous location, facilities and bed rooms were great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.6
    Arrived to find no heating in our so called executive room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived to find no heating in our so called executive room no iron and just general 70s decore which was pretty disapointing to be honest . Asked at reception for heating to be turned on in the room and told its on a timer...i replied have we to wait till sunup before we get a heat to be fair it was resolved along with the iron ....would i return ....no would prepare to travel further for a better hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    6.3
    bed was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room 5 was a bit tired looking but clean enough but the bathroom room and bin area and around the edges of the floor wasn't not at all clean with hair and dust layers. didn't look at though it had been cleaned for a long time.

    bed was comfy. staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Fabulous family fun!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Booked the family suite. Was expecting a four bed room, but it was actually a suite, with two separate rooms and a bathroom. Rooms had fab views over the Forth estuary

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed with quality of hotel as it was rated a 3 star and it does not meet this standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor cleanliness in hotel,stairs and halls not hoovered during stays during floors dirty, toilet in room filthy, rim disgusting, hotel in tatty looking condition that needs a redecoration and repair. In breakfast room out of date yogurts, slow to clear breakfast room and quality poor as hot sat on hot plates for too long.

    Staff courteous and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.3
    Good venue for stopover for reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took a while before someone appeared at reception. Mentioned there was an abandoned glass and rubbish in lift and manager said she would tell housekeeping even though she was quite close to lift when I mentioned it!

    The size of room 2 was huge and had a double and two single beds in. However, the TV was so far across the room I struggled to see it! Stayed close to wedding function room but barely heard music and noise thankfully. Proper sauce bottles at breakfast which pleased my husband. Good variety to choose from at breakfast. Free parking and plenty of it. Easy to find even though it seemed to be in a housing estate.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.1
    Once staff notified they helped us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room we were offered as a family had broken drawer handles, had just been cleaned yet there were corks and bottle lids on floor as well as stains on carpet.

    Once we notified reception they changed our room. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    3.3
    Do not go here
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were tired from a long drive to the hotel We wanted to go to bed around 21:00, this was impossible because of the noise of the wedding, in our bed we shake because of the bass and the other sound (loud music). Around 22:00 my wife went to the reception The young lady could not do anything about the sound, it stopped around midnight, there was no other room available. All in all, we could not sleep. The next day we had have a long day to go to Holland. My wife asked the reception, after we paid the bill, again to pay attention to the problem. We would like to know why you have rented a room to us, knowing that there is a huge noise nuisance caused by a wedding. If we had known this in advance, we would have looked for another hotel You should at least have reported that there would be a wedding! Then we could have made a choice ourselves.

    None

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.8
    Brilliant stay with even better staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were absolutely brilliant especially Mark & Darius. They made us feel so welcome and for that reason we will definitely only be staying at the Dean Park when in Kirkcaldy now. The room was also so modern, nothing like the one we had the last time, at Christmas. I LOVED the bathroom! The breakfast was also excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.1
    Rooms a good size, really nice hotel with bar and great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom, and corridors could do with abit of a freshen up & a good hoover.

    Rooms a good size, really nice hotel with bar and great breakfast. Overall really good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    Staff lovely and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of attention to broken and missing items. Broken toilet seat in first room should have been picked up by house keeping. Missing screw covers in the bath and mould around the shower head in the second room need attention. Small but obvious and important to guests and appearance of the hotel. Broken and dirty air con grills in public areas very obvious and could be easily solved too. These things let down the great service and friendly staff.

    Staff lovely and friendly. Nice touches to make the hotel modern and comfortable. When concerns were raised about the first room we were moved the next day and refunded 1 night stay which was a nice gesture. Would stay again as the staff make the hotel a good place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and planning return next year for military tattoo festival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast set up, rather bland we felt but we had been spoilt by the evening meal tho. Attention to detail room we stayed in curtains came off when opened, botch fix on clips. But minor detail.

    Restaurant meal was superb, presentation and taste exquisite, son and wife chefs and there comment.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.8
    Nice location,lovely building/grounds, but a bit shabby inside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast Having a tea/coffee machine rather than a pot. Too much of an inconvenience going back and forward. Took cup of hot water to top up tea! Wedding on - bar full and language of some guests appalling.

    The receptionists were excellent and very helpful. We had to move room due to a faulty window and were given a choice of rooms by the evening receptionist. Breakfast was really good. Bed very comfy, room very spacious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    It was okay.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel, as a whole, looked very tired and run down. Our room had a lovely looking hole in the wall from its previous occupants and housekeeping missed their rubbish so was a bit annoyed at paying full rate for a damaged room. Shower wasn't too great either, it missed some vital oomph! Black out curtains would've been great too.

    The hotel staff were lovely and friendly, couldn't fault them in any way. Our room was spacious and the bed was one of the best beds I've slept in! Super comfy and it was a proper bed (not 2 singles zipped together). As we were above the main entrance and overlooked the car park I was worried about noise but there wasn't any, the room was really quiet. Breakfast was yummy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.3
    Not great value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting Woking up early by housekeeping next door could here them at the back of nine cleaning and then knocking on our door at 9.45 ish. It’s definitely not a £99 room or hotel😡

    Nice entrance looks and nice place however the room wasn’t great for £99. Small beds with tacky covers and old fashioned room with damp marks on the wall and sealing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.1
    Quiet but convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Restaurant looked to be expensive and we weren't able to see if there was a separate/cheaper option in the bar. However, the nearby Marston's Inn was a good value alternative.

    Quiet but convenient location. Room was comfortable, breakfast very good and varied (but would have liked Lorne /square sausage more often).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    3.0
    The Dean Park used to be one of the better Hotels in Kirkcaldy, but i think standards are slipping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room No.16 that they put us in first without checking it, the roof had a leak with the rain that was on at the time and was coming in and the bathroom floor was soaking, plus there was a bit hole in one of the walls like someone had put their foot through it. My wife ordered room service for dinner and when she spoke to the girl on the phone the choice of food was out of three things which are a bit boring. When the girl brought the food she wasn`t very enthusiastic when she handed the plate to my wife, she just came to the door and left.

    Location!, near the motorway

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.3
    Easy room for improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is sore in need of deep clean or even an upgrade. Wasn’t provided WiFi information, found out this is due to it being non existent. On check out, wasn’t asked how stay was, staff in bistro had us sit for lengthy amount of time before we asked again if we could have a table. Wondered if lack of staff attention was due to wedding being held but can not guarantee.

    Comfortable bed, excellent meal in bistro.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    In here somewhere there's a great hotel trying to get out!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In hot weather the first floor rooms do get very hot. So much so that even with the single window open as far as possible the room is too hot until the early hours of the morning. Not conducive to a good nights sleep. Still showing signs of wear and tear and still needs a good clean in some of the public areas.

    The best feature of this hotel is the staff. Helpful, friendly and professional, they make up for the negative aspects. My single room was clean with a comfortable bed and a reasonable though not spacious layout. The food in the restaurant was good and the breakfast okay. This was my second visit and I will continue to use this hotel but it can be a frustrating experience!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    4.2
    Could not handle the number of guests at breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had a wedding in and could not handle the extra guests. Did not get a breakfast as they ran out of food 30 minutes before the end. They promised a replenishment that never fully materialised. Did try to speak to them on checkout, however, halfway through talking the receptionist took a telephone booking and said sorry, they are very busy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.3
    Staff were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested Ground floor room got 1st floor. Bath plug didn't fit bath. Shower was so loud it rattled the room. Floor was very creaky.

    Staff were lovely. Venue was clean. Had a lovely time

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.1
    Visit Kirkcaldy to be with various members of our family.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel very dated needing a lot of refurbishment. Had to ask to change room on second night as bedroom windows would not open. Housekeeper tried to help but couldn't find the window keys. Next room a little better as new shower room had been installed. Have stayed at the Dean Park before and had a lovely large room on the first floor. Had booked direct with hotel last time and wondering if that makes any difference to the room allocations.

    Staff very pleasant, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant Surprise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fellow that took my room number at breakfast had no idea what I asked for when I said I would like a mug for my coffee instead of a cup & saucer. He brought me a pot of tea! When I asked for sauce he pointed to the bottles of ketchup. When I took the HP, he said to me "Oh, THAT one" The shower in the room was not a hand shower so did not fit the accessible label! I was told, however, that the bathroom was going to be completely renovated.

    I was not happy with the room I got at first but Chris, the Manager changed it to the accessible room for me and was so helpful and kind. The property has a lift too so no stairs! Beds are comfortable and the included cooked breakfast was ok but it was help yourself buffet style under lights and a bit dried out. There was a wedding going on but I didn't hear a thing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    3.3
    A low quality uncomfortable and tacky experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor very tired and cheap. Staff dressed poorly and were not very professional. The room I stayed in was far too hot even with the window wide open - it was like a sauna. I complained but receptioned shrugged my complained off stating it was just a problem with th building - breakfast was over cooked

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Good location easy to find
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most unappealing breakfast I've ever had. Food was cold and dripping in fat. Why would a woman alone only get 2 slices of toast when a man gets 4?

    Good location easy to find

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were all very helpfull and went out there way to accomadate our needs,nothing was to much bother for them., would recommend to all our friends and family,great place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.9
    Could be so much nicer with a few £££ spent on it
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in room 23, can only hope they haven't got round to refurbishing this one yet, Not unfair to say that i've stayed in better student accommodation back in the 90's. Wallpaper was hanging off the wall, lampshades were broken and hanging on for dear life to the light, decor was tired, and that's being polite, paint on the windowframes was flaking. Can only hope the other rooms are better

    Staff were very good, service equally so, food was excellent. Room was clean and bed was very comfortable but rest of room was lacking. A lot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast's a little disappointing e.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dining room chairs in need of replacement and disappointed to discover the distance from the town.

    Breakfast's a little disappointing e.g. link sausages once in three days and scrambled eggs a little dry. Strange to be asked if we'd like an egg fried or poached also would prefer a pot of tea at breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.9
    All very good with one big exception
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in the morning, had to have an unpleasant cold shower. Reported this but no deduction offered which was not good

    All very good with one big exception

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.3
    Godd location, friendly but with a few exceptions, poorly trained staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was large and the bed comfortable. However, the toilet seat was very loose and must have been obvious to the cleaner and despite reading the instructions beside the shower I could not get the water to be hot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    4.6
    All in all, pretty poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not to standard of de luxe. The reception staff could have been more understanding and helpful. Breakfast was short on food when we arrived and did not improve for some time

    Not very much

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    4.2
    I'm glad I was away for business somewhere to put my head,would have been disappointed if it was for
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walked in and there was no carpet in the reception but no explanation of reason why.The hotel looked tierd.

    Mm sorry to say there wasn't anything apart from it had sky sports.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    The staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very helpful. Our shower kept tripping the electricity so got upgraded to the family suite, we did not expect that. The beds were very comfortable. Dinner and breakfast were both very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.0
    Rundown and tired
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms, very tired and need of redecorating. Hotel needs a revamp. Worn out stair carpet. Bedroom walls stained. Bath panel burst and cracked. Toilet was difficult to flush due to location of the handle. Shower needs updating. Radiator dirty with splash marks. Lampshades loose and stained. Paint peeling off door and window frames. Windows dirty.

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.9
    A slightly quirky/odd place, with lovely staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture was scruffy and marked. Holes in upholstery. Holes in carpet on main stairs and the front steps at the main entrance were falling apart.

    The staff were lovely and very helpful when my window just wouldn’t shut. Food was good! Peaceful location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    2.9
    Not clean disapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not clean white marks Every were. Wallpaper falling of walls. Bath panel all broken. Damp in rooms. Dust Every were especially on towel rack in bathroom thick with dust. Smelt like a caravan

    Good car park was only good thing about this hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable stay no complaints everything with fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Biscuits supplies to have with a cuppa and perhaps bottled water.

    Lovely big room. Bed quite comfortable. Nice tolietories supplied. Breakfast was fine selection was quite good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    I will be back the next time I'm in the area
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good Scotish breakfast. Frendly bar and Hotel staff. Plenty of free parking with easy access to major roads and the town of Kirkcaldy Hotel is and old property but quaint, as it should be Good value

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel has no faults in my mind

    Very clean room. Never dealt with such a helpful team of staff. Nothing was too much trouble to any member of staff. Will definitely return soon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Overall the room, food and service was first class and we wouldn't hesitate to book again.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lift wasn't working on arrival. Although the restaurant was open for Sunday Carvery it was not open for evening meals on Monday and we had to eat in the Bar area. This we were told was due to staff shortages. We ate out the third night.

    Refurbished room was clean, modern and cosy. Breakfasts plentiful and staff very helpful. Sunday evening Carvery very good value for money. We arrived near the end of serving but the staff went the extra mile to serve us. The food was plentiful and delicious (Fish and Chips and Sticky toffee pudding).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.5
    Adequate for a couple of nights .Would have happily paid more with suggested upgrades
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the accomodation was adequate it was very hot, however the windows were easily opened and the radiator easily adjusted. Some of the furnishings were "tired" and required attention. The ensuite shower and bath sealant required replacing and the shower was very difficult to turn on and off requiring two hands.

    It was in a good location for all we required including a good bus service into the town. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Nice hotel with friendly staff, excellent food and a great atmosphere.
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The address on Booking.com and the hotel paperwork says Chapel Level. If you put that into your Sat Nav along with post code it takes you to Chapel Level and not the hotel. This should be checked. However the hotel is signed from the Sainsbury roundabout.

    A cheerful welcome and quick check in. The staff are helpful and friendly and flexible. Great facilities and a good location. Enjoyed eating in the bar as the hotel was quiet that night. The food was excellent and well presented.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    2.5
    Nightmare !!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was rude and told me I hadn’t paid for the room even when I showed her the emails from PayPal and booking.com she continuously embarrassed me and my family by saying ‘ well I could look at the so called proof but it could be anything or anyone’ how rude

    The blonde receptionist was rude made out I hadn’t paid for the hotel wouldn’t let me use phone to ring PayPal and when I did manage to use my phone to call PayPal she treated me like a common criminal. I had to file with resolution centre as she said my bank cards would be charged no matter what. She was really nasty

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    4.2
    As above
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As aboe

    As you entered hotel there was a bad smell. Room was dark and grubby. Bed mattress was thin and uncomfortable. Light switches were out of reach. Overall a very ‘tired’ room needing referb. Went down for breakfast at 9.15 am to find they had cleared away. Dirty tables with dead flowers in vase. No staff. Reception unmanned and had to call for assistance. Was charged two nights instead of one until I pointed out their mistake. Left my phone charger in my room but when I phoned back at at 3 pm they said it was not there! I was there for s bereavement and was travelling back to Northampton so needed my charger in case of emergencies. I KNOW I left it plugged in the room. It cost me about £35 to purchase another one at Edinburgh ! I was initially booked for 2 nights but rang down the first night to cancel as the hotel was so grubby. The hotel sign is even peeling off the reception screen!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.8
    Ideal for short stay with helpful friendly staff.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After excellent evening meal breakfast the following morning was very disappointing. Black pudding, haggis dried out and over cooked. Circulation areas are tired and in need of refurbishment

    Room very comfortable, staff pleasant and helpful, evening meal excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.5
    Despite the outdated old furnishing, staff make your stay enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a little dated

    Bed very comfortable. Spacious bedroom.Bath nice and big and water very hot . Food excellent . Staff very welcoming and extremely friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.3
    The head chef Brian went out of his way to make our stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The head chef Brian went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable. We were there because of a death in the family; he didn't know this and we were so comforted by his kindness. Thank you Brian.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.9
    Nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could've done with a safe as we had our passports with us. It's a bit old and could do with a bit of a repair in the bathroom

    Nice breakfast. Nice staff nice shower comfy bed and pillows and duvet

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    6.3
    It was warm and comfortable and met our requirements for 2 nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor looking a bit ‘tired’. Floor in room very ‘squeaky’. Hotel needs some TLC and could be a really nice place to stay.

    Cooked breakfast was delicious. Staff very pleasant and approachable. Really good location - nice and quite with no traffic noise. A large retail park just a few minutes drive away.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    Really good stay & we will definitley be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were extremely friendly and kind. The hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas. Large bar area which was comfortable. The room was a good size and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom could do with an update but it was clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    We enjoyed our stay at the hotel which was good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps being a bit picky but some parts could do with a little upgrading

    The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the food was was of good quality and well presented. Overall it is a nice place to stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    We had a diabetic in our group after a 24 hour journey from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a diabetic in our group after a 24 hour journey from norway to manchester then on to kirkcaldy the hotel couldnt provide us with food or room service everything was closed as it was new year and the staff was no help at all we had to pay 30 pounds at bar for crisps to help the diabetic in which i think is absolutly appaulling

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.5
    We did enjoy our stay on the whole because of the friendliness of the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The reception area was in need of re-decoration and the chairs we sat in in the bar were a bit grubby. The food at breakfast - particularly the bacon and scrambled egg - wasn't very appetising; the tea-making machine kept running out of water and the staff didn't clear the dirty dishes at breakfast until people had left the table. There were no handrails or anti-slip mat in the bath.

    The staff were extremely friendly. The food at the evening meals was very good. The bedroom and bathroom were very clean and the service from the chamber maid was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.1
    Good value hotel with excellent staff.
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m afraid the hotel is looking a little tired and the beds and pillows were so hard it was difficult to sleep.

    Staff were helpful and dinner was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    5.4
    There was no plug for the bath.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no plug for the bath. The bath panel / side of the bath was hanging off and all cracked. My family member opened a drawer and the front of the drawer fell off in his hand. Breakfast was pants!!!! The bacon is oven-cooked with all the rashers laying on top of each other, so parts of the bacon were overcooked and other parts of the same rasher were under cooked. I decided to opt for cereal, however no bowls or milk had been put out, I had to go and find staff to ask for this. The original lock on the balcony door was broken so it had a 'toilet style' sliding lock fitted to it, however when you slid this across the door pushed itself open slightly, so it was a bit chilly with the door open in November!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.1
    . Location was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 3 has a noisy floor problem between door and Bathroom. The Eggs were only of the scrambled kind. Unhappy. Satnav struggled to find. (No Problem really). Lipstick on Glass poor.

    . Location was fine. Staff very helpfull. Food was OK.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    6.3
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very cold no heating on room was run down stay in room 4 marks all over the walls no headboard seats had rips in them dust on skirting and squashed spiders on walls very basic and cold for the price it wasn't worth it

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    5.4
    Reasonable but in a dated environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and hotel are very 80s and need sprucing up. Some wallpaper is peeling. The bathroom fittings need replacing. Furniture in the rooms is very dark and dated. There are signs of wear and tear. When windows are opened there is a lot of debris that really should be cleared.

    Very polite and helpful staff. Eggs cooked fresh. Towels and toiletries are fine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Staff were extremely friendly polite and couldn't do...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only comment would be hotel needed a make over. It was a little tired and there was damage in the bathroom

    Staff were extremely friendly polite and couldn't do enough for you

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.0
    Room rather too warm and couldn’t find a temp control.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal was top quality. House wine VG.

    Room rather too warm and couldn’t find a temp control. Tea an coffee only (ie no choice of hot chocolate) not even a biscuit to go with tea/coffee. Breakfast staff very helpful. Black pudding was just OK. Tomatoes undercooked

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.5
    Most enjoyable for most things
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light above the bed was in the wrong place. Tried to sit up in bed and read. Banged my head on the light. Sat under it got hot. In totally the wrong place.

    Very comfy room. Had lunch - excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    no grapefruit or orange segments for breakfast(I like that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no grapefruit or orange segments for breakfast(I like that sort of fruit). Not a great selection of breakfast food coffee and tea out of machine ( don't like that)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.5
    Food excellent, room plain but practical. Shame about the nouse outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in room 25. Unfortunately there was an industrial extractor fan outside my room and kept me awake.The staff did state as I checked out that they would have moved me had I told them on the 1st night which was nice.

    Evening meal was lovely as was the Fiona.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    A warm welcome and a very relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room lighting was subdued - no problem for iPhone or iPad but maybe could include a bright reading lamp if guests wanted to read a book, for example.

    Comfortable bed. Warm room including bathroom. Nice hot shower. There was a bath as well as a shower cubicle. Good breakfast menu. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.1
    Good but would not rush back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel generally a bit tired and in need of some upgrading. Breakfast a bit limited in choice albeit food good. Local rumour has it that owner would like to offload hotel because of other business interests and this is reflected in general internal appearance.

    Excellent large bedroom with spacious bathroom. Food good and afternoon tea was delicious. Good menu choice and quick,efficient service. Rooms maintained to very high standard of cleanliness.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.9
    The Hotel was nice but a bit tired, great bed, heating,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really.

    The Hotel was nice but a bit tired, great bed, heating, Shower is Brilliant. Breakfast ok. We ate in the restaurant 1 night and it was excellent. Prices was good for drink and meal. No noise from other guests. Reception staff was excellent, quick check in and everything was explained.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.3
    0ver all we enjoyed our stay and the staff was excelent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff made you feel welcomed,the food very good. We were told they were in process of updating the rooms they need new mattress on beds in #9.we would stay there when we come back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Nice place, great staff and really helped me practically, but sadly let down at the end.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly, the television didn't work, nor the study lamp. I got the chap to come up and look. He did figure the lamp, went and got what he needed and fixed it, but the TV he couldn't fix. He told me someone would sort that on the bill, but in the morning IO still got charged full whack. As everything else was so good I didn't kick off, but it did leave a bit of sadness.

    The girl at reception is a real tonic after a long wearing journey, bit of a live wire who has the perfect balance between doing her job professionally and giving a personal welcome too. I have a van and trailer, which is always a problem to park while out on a funeral, but the staff let me leave it there until finished. This really helped me no end.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    Decent hotel relatively close to St Andrews.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little awkward to find using postcode, at least on our Sat Nav. Use hotel name.

    Large room with decent comfortable bed. Staff were friendly. Good restaurant attached to the hotel along with a decent bar. It was extremely good value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    o excellent Hotel food lets it down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very poor went for breakfast about 8am all dried up also no choise with egs scrambled was all they had

    Hotel wa s excellent good location staff excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.4
    On the whole a little better than a Travelodge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in the room very poor

    It was easy access to Rdinburgh and Fife. The room lacked any refinement. Breakfast was buffet with a fair choice.thee tea/coffee was self service and would not work or was cold. Most of the rooms were off the dining room which made it awkward. Very good quality toiletries. Our room faced the back and although quiet, the view was not good. Lolled onto bins

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.2
    good i would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the shower could have been a little cleaner.a drop of bleach on the mould helps to get rid of it.

    exellent shower....marvellous breakfast...staff very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    6.3
    Value for money but needs a little updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The decor is slightly dated and needs refreshing. Some more modern furniture and a coat of paint would bring it more up to date.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: