Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Embleton Spa Hotel & Apartments 4 stars

Embleton, Embleton, CA13 9XU, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Embleton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 402 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Great stay in a lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really we liked the whole place

    We liked the room having two separate bedrooms . We liked the way the staff were with the children. We loved the mixed toast- lovely thick bread

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    The blend of the older buildings and modern extension was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not applicable

    The blend of the older buildings and modern extension was attractive and well done. Staff were friendly and helpful - helped us celebrate our 55th wedding anniversary which we were not really bothering to mark!! Husband enjoyed the pool every morning. The menu allowed us to have different courses every night during the week we satayed. We would recommend this hotel without reservation

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Everything was fantastic, all staff members were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing we didn't like.

    Everything was fantastic, all staff members were very friendly and informative of places to visit etc and the food was amazing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    The location was perfect for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could hear the people above us walking about and the people next door to us.

    The location was perfect for us. Just off the A66. Easy access to the lakes and the coast. Staff were amazing. We had a lovely room with mountain views. The food and the facilities were great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Well worth a visit. Good value for money as a late deal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside area by hot tub in need of attention. Shame pool and hot tub have restricted times. Too much chlorine in hot tub bleached my sisters costume. Hotel manager informed

    Apartments clean and tastefully decorated. Food lovely. Staff very helpful. Had a lovely relaxing night

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.2
    Nice little place, not sure i'd pay full price to stay there though.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Evening meal (fish and chips) was a bit poor, found the bed a bit too soft and uncomfortable, sadly the room I was in had the worst view in then hotel I think!

    Stunning views around most of the hotel, nice little pool which was really clean and well kept.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Excellent would highly recommend for anyone travelling in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Everyone was very friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome including our golden retriever. The food was excellent and we were grateful that gluten free options were available.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful location,friendly staff,comfy room with good ensuite and very tasty breakfasts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was a little dissapointed at the hot tub being outside,it didnt state this in the blurb. The spa part, ie. The steam room, outdoor hot tub and pool are a little dated.

    The staff were very friendly and the breakfasts were very tasty!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.3
    I have stayed in better for less but it is still a nice hotel and would go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The swimming pool is run by an external company. There are blocked out times for non-guests - don't assume you can use it whenever you want to which is a bit of a pain when you have kids. Really nice hotel but my mattress was a bit 'springy ' on one side. Carpet was quite marked

    Hotel staff are great. very friendly and helpful - can't do enough for you. Nice extras in room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable,peaceful great food , welcoming staff.Will certainly visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot tub area could have would have benefited from some hooks for towel and some Astro turf on the concrete

    Staff were excellent and very friendly. Food was fantastic..pool area was good. Handy to be able to leave bikes in a secure area. Lovely toiletries.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no restaurants nearby.

    We liked the view from our room. The hotel staff were very helpful and welcoming. There is also a Petrol station and a Starbucks cafe which is only less than 5mins drive from the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.7
    Picturesque but isolated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Family Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was not available to guests at prime times. There is no infrastructure around the hotel.

    We were allocated an apartment so had more space than we needed but it was very comfortable. Friendly staff and good food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.5
    Lovely family hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family room is fantastic as it's split into two rooms. Use of swimming pool great for rainy days. Amazing views and very welcoming staff. Really lovely food!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.9
    The food in their restaurant is simply amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jacuzzi was filthy. The kitchen only had a microwave and fridge so you’re only able to prepare snacks etc The waiting times at the restaurants on an evening was sometimes an hour after your booked time. With small children getting hungry, that was quite difficult to manage for my family. The homemade jam was delicious but very overpriced.

    The food in their restaurant is simply amazing. The Location is beautiful. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The staff maintained the room and always checked up on you.Staff are amazing, very helpful and flexible. They really made you feel at home

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.7
    Lovely setting great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nobody cleaned or hoovered our apartment at all during our stay. Never had to make our own beds in a hotel before

    Staff were helpful and friendly with a professional manager. Apartment whinlatter was more than adequate for our needs very comfortable and spacious. Lovely clean bedding and white fluffy towels

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.8
    Location and Staff are amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a little creaky, and the room upstairs was noisey

    Staff were amazing. Went above and beyond what you'd expect from a hotel. We had trouble with taxis in the area (couldn't get one on a Sunday night) but the hotel helped us out massively. The location is amazing. Stunning area of the Lakes. Breakfast is excellent too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    6.3
    Okay but wouldn’t go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot tub area needed cleaning and updating very dirty the entrance hall needed updating and cleaned I didn’t like the wood bed surround, room was very small and kept walking into the sharp wooden edges The family above us were very very noisy kept us awake till gone 2am very inconsiderate although the manager did speak to them and was ok then

    Staff were lovely and food excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    It was an excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanness of the apartment. Housekeeping was not done properly. Location was slightly away from most of attractions. But with car it made it better.

    Food was delicious and freshly prepared.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Great holiday great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool was great food was very good

    Nice friendly hotel, excellent food, great swimming pool and sauna, rooms were very clean and I would love to stay there again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    I loved the history and charm of the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Family Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too hot and as a result the kids couldn’t sleep in the loft and ended up on the floor in the lounge area. We asked for some fans which helped slightly but it was still overall too warm for the weather at the time.

    I loved the history and charm of the property. The outlook was beautiful and the views were stunning. The family room was quirky and the kids loved the loft. The pool was also great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    So good we stayed an extra night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff made our stay extra special, always pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. Stunning views from the room and a very relaxed atmosphere in general.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    4.6
    Unpleasant and over expensive stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over expensive. No AC despite the hot weather in June. Poor cleaning service. Very limited kitchen amenities. No curtains that prevent the sun accesses the room in such very hot climate. The door of one rooms was not functioning well. Very low value of its high cost. Very small bed. Very small bathroom.

    View over landscape

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Amazing location, fantastic staff! Just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame we can’t afford to come back more often!!

    Amazing location, fantastic and super helpful staff, great breakfast, parking is good and WiFi was decent too

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    3.8
    Two star hotel but no more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the uncomfortable bed on the first night woke up with a really sore back, not what you want when your going walking for the day. They changed the mattess the next day. The apartment was unclean there were pet hairs on the bed the bathroom floor was filthy with dust and grime and dead flies on the window sill.

    Breakfast was superb really nice black pudding and a great cup if tea. The location is great staff were friendly but someone was in serious need of dental hygeine when your serving food with very bad breath it's a stomach churner. The swimming pool was relaxing and warm but the outside terrace needs some TLC. This place was okay I rated a two star it's definitely not the 4 and half it says it is.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Rememberable weekend!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fantastic 😀

    Owners and all the staff were super helpful and accomadating. Room was lovely , bathroom large and luxiouous. Location fantastic and food amazing xx 10 out of 10

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel in a great location and very dog friendly
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    From checking through to the end of our stay the staff could not do enough for us, the apartment was beautiful and the fact that our Dog was welcome was fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Great apartment for a comfortable family stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great apartment for our family of 6. Children enjoyed the indoor pool. The breakfast was very good as was the quality of the evening meal available in the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice place, good location great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just the smell of cooking as you walk in to the hotel itself. I have pointed this out and they are looking at their extraction.

    The apartments are great. 4 adults and 1 child stayed in the 3 bed apartment, everything was clean and worked. the staff were extremely helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.1
    Good location for Northern Lakes area, hotel staff friendly even if the rooms are a little tired
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not many places to sit comfortably in the restaurant/bar area. Our room wasn't fully cleaned everyday , bathroom etc. Only really noticed on the last evening and advised the manager but it wasn't cleaned before we left the next morning.

    The hotel is located in the countryside so it was quite peaceful ( although the A66 is at the bottom of the drive!) We had stunning weather during our stay and there is a nice decked area to sit out on. The hotel is nice if in need of a bit of refurbishment. I would say the rooms are a little "tired" Breakfast was good with a comprehensive choice, evening meal also good with the choice to go half board for a fee giving better value. The swimming pool was an attracted but we never actually made it in there!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    4.2
    Noisy room...no sleep!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Note if you are given the room called "Coniston" you are above the Bar....literally the bed is above the Bar! The noise is hugely intrusive and if you fancy an early night you can forget it! I know this is an old building but there is no sound insulation whatsoever and you may as well be in the Bar! Then to cap it all off there was a Brewery delivery at 0745am which is also directly below this room. I'm sure the rooms adjacent to this one are also affected so you can be sure I'd never stay in this place again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Great professional staff, lovely food, great views, relaxing place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to pick something to improve on the only thing I would change is the colour of the carpets in the room. They were a very light oatmeal biscuit colour and show every mark, it cannot be easy to keep a carpet of that colour clean in an area that is renowned for walking the fells.

    Friendly staff, pool, hot tub and steam room. Waterfall shower, view from window, easy access, despite it being half term the area was not as crowded as the southern lakes. I was also surprised at how little road noise there was given it’s proximity in relation to the A66. Nice place to relax and chill out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and friendly hotel and a very smooth stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Family Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a family room, which was actually an apartment with double bed and 2 singles on a mezzanine. It was very smart and comfortable and good in room facilities (Netflix, Microwave fridge and kitchen sink). Breakfast was good and the service is friendly and efficient at all times and from all the hotel staff. Jam is home made, which explained why it was so fruity. The location is scenic with a nice terrace and just off A66 to get out into the lakes. Pool is warm (note it's shared as a separate business but guests get adequate use of it according to timetable).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Very relaxing and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cut fresh fruit salad or fresh strawberries or blueberries on offer for breakfast and a lack of plain unsweetened yoghurt everyday (being a diabetic I am constantly looking for low sugar food). Small glasses for water the same as for fruit juices at breakfast. I had to ask for a large glass. The hall light in the apartment didn’t work, no hand tablet of soap (due to environmental concerns and wastage) sofa in sitting room hadn’t been hoovered between the cushions and one day out of four the complimentary tea bags werent replaced. I would have liked to have had an early swim at 6am before breakfast but due to a strict timetable I couldn’t swim until 8am. The sprinkler on real ale in the bar(apparently this is the way they like their beer up North). A body weighing scales in the apartment or gym would have been good to check my weight. Crowded tables tightly packed at breakfast and children running around with a dog in and out while I was dining inside the restaurant. The literature said that dogs were welcome in the restaurant and a place would be shown where people could sit with their dog. I have no objection to well behaved dogs sitting quietly with their owner/s. Its just not relaxing having to move away from a dog sniffing around your table while you are eating and having to move your bag away from it when the dog is being unmanaged on a lead by a small child.

    The Staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly and the food was of a good standard in the restaurant. The Sunday roast beef was excellent and loved the Yorkshire pudding. The views were spectacular from our apartment and it was perfect for two with a well equipped kitchen. The Fleurie wine of the month was very palatable. They had Hendricks gin and Fevertree tonic water. Good Free Wifi. Plenty of sockets to charge up my devises. Good Cumbrian breakfast not greasy and with lean bacon. The kipper was good too. Gorgeous jacuzzi bath in the apartment and soft fluffy towels. Lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    It was only a brief stay but enough for us to put it on the list as a "go back to"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Normally hotel doors self lock and they didn't and I forgot to lock the door when we went out - a little thing maybe but it is the only thing that could be considered a dislike

    The location is excellent and easy to access, friendly people, excellent food and service. The rooms were very clean and comfortable (everything worked). We are planning to go back to the North Lakes and will stay here again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Despite the concerns, good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our towels where not changed during our stay. Sauna was out of service Hot tub was a bit dirty, should be reviewed by staff every few hours. Kitchen equipment was dirty, and glass even had lipstick mark.

    Staff where very nice and helpful. Had fully functioning cooker, and the apartment was very spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent venue highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't really say that we didn't like anything. Just a couple of pointers though. The breakfast was superb, very clean looking and very well presented. My only criticism would be that the eggs my fried and my wife's poached needed a short while longer just to ensure the egg white was cooked through. The evening meal was again presented superbly demonstrating that the chef really takes pride in his food. The only other critics would be oil / lard use to cook my chips in could probably be needing a change or a separate frier maybe for the chips. I had the fish in beer batter with chips and muss peas. My wife couldn't fault the tuna steak and said it was also superbly presented

    On arrival we were given a free.upgrade to an apartment. Which we thought was a very nice touch indeed and I have to say was absolutely superb (many thanks to the owners) the staff were excellent, very welcoming, polite, friendly and helpful. The facilities were fantastic we both had a superb stay and will definitely be returning. The venue is a real credit to its owners and staff.alike thank you all from us

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Great position, great facilities, great call!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very close to an A road which slightly spoiled the view but it was amazingly quiet considering.

    The views are great, I had an upgrade to one of the apartments which was exactly what I was after so able to cook for myself and not tied to restaurant times. In spitting distance from some lovely walks and a great pub.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in a beautiful spot with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They mixed up our dinner order one evening in the restaurant. The staff were really good about it,rushed out a replacement and didn't charge us for that meal. We just had to keep the kids entertained for a little while longer.

    Loved the verandah to enjoy a drink at the end of the day with stunning views and space for the kids to play.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.3
    comfortable and friendly family stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Family Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved swimming pool and jagjee, but the only access from swimming pool to Jagjee is not really tidy and looks a bit old(the mat is mossed). But swimming pool and Jagjee are included, at the end we are really happy to stay at hotel.

    For family, parents, 10 and 12 years old. it was really nice deal. Breakfast was included and quality is the best. fresh scramble eggs, fried eggs, as you want. We also had dinner at hotel. Ingredients are fresh and tasty. Chef have got really good sense! not much people at dinner site(yes of corse it's off season). but they should have had dinner if you stay at hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Stayed in same apartment as our first visit, food was lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No oven, slight draft in apartment from one window but only noticeable due to excessive high winds and cold temperatures outside.

    Stayed in same apartment as our first visit, food was lovely and staff fantastic. Views are stunning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Lovely little hotel in North Lakes, amazing views and walking and warm welcome and food on return.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in dog friendly room so decor was in need of an update.

    Super friendly and helpful staff, lovely pool for the children, excellent food. Allows dogs rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    6.7
    Very good and I well come back
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only that No one Let me know i should leave at 10:30 So basically u pay for 20h no 24h stay Rest was good !!! Thanks

    Like the rooms Hotel is nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.7
    Dissapointing and overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed in hotels all over the world, and despite the best efforts of the excelllent staff, this was just not good value for money, nor reflected our expectations from the website images. The rooms were both tiny, stuffy and I had to turn off the radiators as it was far too hot and dry for our 3 year old to sleep. The room showed areas of disrepair, damp creeping in to the ceiling in the bathroom and the tap on the tiny sink was enormous and unworkable without splashing all over the floor.

    Customer service excellent throughout and food was good, both breakfast and evening meal. The venue and setting is glorious from the outside. The hotel has the potential for brilliance.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel with everything you could wish for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    didn't find anything to dislike

    The apartment was clean and spacious with a good shower and comfy bed,the facilities were fabulous in an excellent location,all the staff were friendly and attentive, the chefs were outstanding with expertly crafted dishes.All in all one of the better hotels in the lakes,definitely one that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel, close to all walk trails, fantastic swiming pool and spacious apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Filter coffee only, no barista available for breakfast but staff were kind enough to make proper coffee on our request. Much appreciated.

    Great family hotel, with a fab swimming pool which is really quite big for a family hotel and well heated. Steamroom too was nice. We stayed in a 2bed apartment, and it was ever so spacious and cosy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    Family get togeter for Mothers/Grandmothers birthday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Arrived late because of snow/bad weather, service could not have been better, evening meal sorted on route. Hotel made a cake for my mothers birthday. Pool was bonus. Hotel easy to find. Always enjoy the Lakes.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant 6 night stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was reasonably comfortable but small with a very pokey shower room and no real room to work. Also the water pressure on the shower was low and the hot water took an age to come on. I think my room was near a heating or hot water system as it came on occasionally at night quite loudly. I think the rooms (or at least the one I stayed in) could do with a bit of an upgrade

    Stayed here for 6 nights while on a business trip to Cockermouth. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Dined in the hotel every night and the food was more than acceptable- reasonably priced, generous portions and changing specials menu each day. It’s not a ‘spa’ (why is this term now seemingly applied to any premises with a bath) but the gym was quite good and there is a small pool with a steam room. Quite a nice bar area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.8
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. No lunch if you haven't booked already. Lunch is offered only in one sitting so if you didn't book, stay hungry with kids or live on drinks, biscuits etc or travel 10 miles to Keswick. Even Keswick town was all closed coz it was Christmas day. 2. Evening Buffet, we were in impression that it is going have proper food i.e hot food etc but instead it had stuff like salads cakes yogurt etc.

    1.Very clean well organised rooms. 2.Well use of space. 3.Very nice clean toilets. 4.Kids loved the pool, didn't have chance to use hot tub due to lack of time. 5.Breakfast was excellent. 6. Friendly and co operating staff 7. Beautiful location views from Windows.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.2
    Good views and quiete place
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    some of blinds curtains are missing but has a double one. Swimming pool are not open daily, rented by private used

    Staff are friendly, accommodation are good, but master bedroom bit small

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    Well worth a visit - we loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Timetabled sessions for use of the pool.

    Upgraded to a beautiful 1 bed apartment on arrival. Beautifully decorated for Christmas - even had a fully trimmed up Christmas tree in our lounge.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Relaxing, wonderful stay...an absolute gem of a find.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were excellent and couldn't be more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Fabulous room with stunning view and our dogs were made more than welcome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The two bed apartment was amazing very big and spacious,lovely balcony with views over the countryside and breakfast was brilliant. The pool was an added bonus as my kids loved that. And the Christmas tree in the room was a lovely touch

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    short walking break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were friendly and welcoming, the apartment was warm, comfortable and spacious and the food in restaurant was excellent. I also enjoyed the gym and pool.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.2
    Loved our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t get as much chance to use pool as would have liked to due to it being used by swimming club etc

    Roomy apartment, lovely breakfast, excellent customer service

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable relaxed atmosphere. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent food. Complimentary upgrade to apartment. Great value and a great location with stunning views.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay....but!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dogs in the restaurant! Most of us don't own dogs so have some consideration!

    We were upgraded to a suite which was lovely. Pleasant staff, good beer and excellent food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent Hotel, wonderful food, lovely staff and very good value for money.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, the hotel was very good and suited all our needs.

    This is a lovely, friendly and very well run little hotel, well placed for Cockermouth and Keswick and the Western Lakes. The staff are excellent and the food is absolutely first class. Our room was modern and very clean and the bar and dining areas are informal and comfortable. We didn't use the pool or gym but both were popular with other guests. Overall very good value for money and we will definitely go there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyable stay, lovely surroundings, friendly staff, beautiful scenery.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our apartment was situated on the second floor of the hotel therefore we had some steps up to it. Not such a problem if you're young and fit.

    Booked 3 bed apartment. Travelled with wife, 2 children, mum (belated 80th birthday treat) and 3 dogs. Perfect for our requirements. Enjoyed 2 evening meals at the hotel and the other night went to the local pub just a minute's walk away - enjoyable meal had there too. Enjoyed using the swimming pool, sauna and hot tub - went in on our last morning at 8 am what better way to start your day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Brilliant! Food was 10/10, extremely comfortable and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived their were lots of kids running around as part of the swimming club. This was ok, but we were not expecting it and it made us think it was going to be a different kind of hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.5
    ge=reat stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The double bedroom in our apartment was a little cool at night.

    lovely e bed apartment. Chef very flexable with making a vegan meal for my daughter. Great pool, hot tub & gym

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    Very nice stay but only found out about pool times after I’d booked !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool opening time, 8am too late for me , I swim 6.30 everyday in a Best Western where I am a member, was hanging around and by time I’d had breakfast it was 9.30 before getting out on my bike. The only thing that would stop me staying again.

    The food was excellent in very nice setting, great chef, spacious room and spotless with nice no expense fittings throughout, staff friendly and couldn’t do enough to help

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Fantastic, brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would only say softer pillows, a very small dislike

    The staff were really friendly & helpful . The breakfast was fab & we had an evening meal which was first class , the chef came out afterwards to chat with us which was a lovely touch . We will differently stay again next year , Thank you to all the staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Amazing pool, outdoor hot tub and steam room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing pool, outdoor hot tub and steam room. Wonderful rooms - really spacious, comfy and great shower. Really accommodating staff - great bar area and restaurant, and great location near to Keswick.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.2
    Staff were lovely and hotel was more modern than expected .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really Limited access to swimming pool ( which was reason for choosing hotel ) due to timetable of swimming classes.

    Staff were lovely and hotel was more modern than expected .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    4 star hotel with a 6 star service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Was a four star hotel with a six star service. Staff were amazing and super helpful and friendly. The hotel is very dog friendly our dog had breakfast with us :) the food was delicious. The family room was great and had cracking views and the pool and gym were superb. Very nice area. Would definitely go back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Enjoyable and luxurious stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because it is an old house originally, the sound carries through the floors a bit more than normal. There was some noise from the floor below which was the bar (this stopped about 10pm), and from above in the middle of the night when people were walking about.

    The staff were lovely and chatty, and so helpful! The gym was one reason I chose this hotel. The room was lovely and cosy. Great shower!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    Great rooms lovely views nice pool facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service hit and miss Gluten free options were poor Spa bath in room didn't work

    Pool and hot tub some of the food was lovely and some of the service was great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Excellent, would recommend to anyone!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very welcoming and friendly hotel. Staff were excellent, service first class, food excellent. Enjoyed the pool, steam room and hot tub before breakfast - brill way to start the day!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    The rooms were excellent, very clean with a view to die for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The rooms were excellent, very clean with a view to die for. The full Cumbria Breakfast was perfectly cooked. All the staff were very nice and accommodating. I made use of the pool which was excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Fantastic- will definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything! Room was gorgeous, very clean, staff all lovely and very helpful, chef came out to check meals - nice touch! Food was excellent, very reasonably priced too!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    The staff continually went out of their way to help, they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff continually went out of their way to help, they really couldn't do enough. The food was gorgeous, we had breakfast, lunch and dinner and all were delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    3.3
    Windereme or Keswick would have been a better choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First day breakfast we were only served one pot of tea for 2 people. After serving my friend my mug was half full. My friend and I have asked to replace black pudding with an egg which we did not get. Room was ok maybe a bit small and the bathroom was a bit cramped. If you want to use the pool, you need to plan well in advanced as there is a ridiculus time table. It put us so off we did not go to the pool at all! Also, somebody should tell the hotel about solar lighting because after 10:30, in front of the hotel is pitch black, no lighting at all. If you take your dog outside for toilet or if you want to smoke outside or something you are in the middle of darkness. First day in the evening when we get to the room there were tea facilities but we were not sure if the water from the tab drinkable. 2 small bottle of water would have been appreciated. No need to mention that there is no body in the hotel in the evening to serve anything, no wending machine and there is no shop in sight. Restaurant menu was a bit steep. Nicky on the other hand she was helpful and polite. She checked us well and when she served the breakfast we did not have any problem. And the biggest problem of the hotel is the sound proofing a screaming child in the morning, next rooms shower in the night made me wake up.

    Dog friendly ok room ok location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    We would definitely stay at this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I cant think of anything I did not like.

    We had an upgrade to a flat with double aspect mountain views on arrival! The staff were courteous and attentive and the meals were excellent. Very clean, this hotel is highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Superb
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The hotel was very accommodating when after discussion allowed us to bring our 3 dogs. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Cannot recommend highly enough!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.3
    We always look forward to staying at Embleton. the restaurant food just seems to get better each vis
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in our room was broken and there wasn't an alternative bath! We had a two night stay and the shower was fixed after two people came to see it in our appartment, part way through our stay. The beds upstairs were crammed in and a little difficult to work around.

    The food in the restautant is exceptional!

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: