Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Didsbury House Hotel 4 stars

Didsbury Park, Didsbury, Manchester, M20 5LJ, United Kingdom

#19 of 93 hotels in Manchester

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 303 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Exceptional service with beautiful boutique interiors – luxurious experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eclectic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing – would definitely recommend it far and wide

    We were checked in by a lovely man, who was kind enough to upgrade our suite for free once finding out we were celebrating our anniversary (booked the Eclectic Double Room, upgraded to Boudoir Suite). From the very moment we walked in, you could see the amazing attention to detail. Didsbury House Hotel is phenomenal and worth every penny – the bed was very big and comfortable, had beautiful interiors and bespoke furniture, the bathroom was breathtaking (monsoon shower and freestanding roll-top bath were very roomy, clean, hot and powerful). As we were only staying for one night as a treat to ourselves, it was great value for money but wouldn't have been feasible if we were staying more than a few days – so would be great for special celebrations or one off stays. As we were only staying one night, we didn't need to dine at the hotel for any meals so can't comment on the food service, but our suite had a fully stocked mini bar (which you pay for at the end of your trip) but make sure to check the prices for some of the wines in the booklet provided in your room before opening anything or you might get quite a shock at the end of your stay (although the person who checked us in also gave us a heads up beforehand!) We went out for dinner at a lovely Indian restaurant approx 10 minute walk away called Sangam, which we would also recommend for those looking to dine in the Didsbury area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    A comfortable short stay in Didsbury, Manchester.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No rubber mat in the bath/shower. Had to ask for one. On last evening, towel rail in bathroom was suddenly cold. No real explanation. Will stay there again but select bigger room. No lift.

    Beautiful house, very attractive and welcoming. Comfortable beds. Good breakfast choices. Very pleasant and helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and pitched just right
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing I can think of to complain about.

    The hotel is very attractive, nice comfortable hotel. A bit wedding centric feel, but really nice. Fortunately no wedding on when we visited. Good laid back feel and perfect for a short stay after a hectic day.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Lovely ambiance & decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very hot at night. Duvet was too thick for my personal preference, I like a sheet/blanket option and then I can adapt to suit. Not a deal breaker!

    Lovely ambiance & decor. Great room & facilities. Location for dropping son off for Fallowfield campus excellent. Really good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointing. We have stayed at the hotels and were very happy there👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Frosty welcome as they had a wedding and were obviously stressed and preoccupied for other paying guests. Very unprofessional and rude

    Food was excellent. We stayed for lunch and was more than happy with our choices 👍😄

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.1
    Rooms quirky and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Given an 'upgrade' which clearly wasn't. On arrival we were upgraded from a 'snug' to a 'cosy' room (could have been the other way round, neither term meant much to me). The ground floor room had an internal window which looked directly onto a conservatory occupied by a wedding party. This meant no privacy if curtains open and a steady buzz of conversation. I asked to be downgraded to a quieter room. It was clear that, due to refurbishment, there was a limited number of rooms available. Eventually we were given a significantly upgraded room - all good but would have been better without the pretence that the first inappropriate room was in any way an upgrade.

    Rooms quirky and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Perfect place to escape the world
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Eclectic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful little boutique hotel, perfect for a quiet night in or a couple of drinks in didsbury. Staff, rooms and bar area are inviting and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    A really nice boutique hotel and with friendly staff. We really enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Eclectic Villa Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't like would be unfair, but some suggestions for improvements based on first impressions: 1. There is any empty room on the right (2nd room on the right) as you enter the building - not sure if this is temporary, but does not give a good first impresssion as carpet old/worn and room just empty. Close it off if not in use or under renovation. 2. Reception area is a bit pokey, dark and difficult to find as signs are almost illegible. We walked round 4 rooms before finding the bar where someone told us where it was. You need to make more of a feature/prominence of the reception/concierge area as this is the first thing people see/visit. 3. Reception not always manned although someone always turns up eventually.

    We liked the boutique style of the hotel and the rooms in a quiet upmarket suburb of Manchester. Polite, friendly and helpful staff. Large rooms, comfortable generous beds and funky lay-out with baths in the main room. Light and airy rooms, novel and well-thought-out given the existing structure.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.8
    Ok but would probably try somewhere else next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small -with only a Velux window. The bathroom was also small -difficult to get about if you weren't slim and fit. Room was in the attic and very very hot.

    The location was nice and the car parking was good. Décor was stylish. Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Friendly welcome, comfortable and spacious room, ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing of note, I only used for one evening.

    Excellent location for my needs. A spacious and cool room particularly during our heat wave. Well firnished room and provided mini bar with fresh milk and home made biscuits, nice touches.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, both on the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only (minor) downside was squeaky floorboards in the room above

    the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, both on the phone and in person. Amazing shower!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    It was comfortable but I think for £108 it could have been slightly better.
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    However, I was disappointed in a couple of things. There was no proper coffee in the room, which I think is essential for a luxury hotel. I had to call reception for a shower cap and the bed was badly made. We were so tired we had no energy to fix it, but the quilt was not properly in the cover, leaving the corners empty. And the sheet wasn’t tucked in properly. And I think breakfast should have been included.

    The room and bathroom were nice and clean and the staff were helpful and friendly. The bed was comfortable and the shower brilliant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    nice hotel, a bit pricey
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was pricey, there are lots of local alternative on the door-step, if you have the time.

    very comfortable room, fantastic shower, good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Tram trip to Old Trafford
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here and took the tram which is ten minutes away to a football match at Old Trafford. Ideal for avoiding the crowds. Lovely big comfy beds, complimentary cookies, powerful shower and Temple Spa toiletries. It was a short stay and only used the bedroom. I will 100% return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Top class hotel. Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have a single sheet under the duvet as it was a particularly hot night when we stayed there. Otherwise nothing.

    The pillows were to die for. Loved the eclectic atmosphere. Lovely location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    3.8
    Nice view if you sit in the garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eclectic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is very dated. Looks like an old people’s home inside. Noticed they have tried to modernise it in our bedroom with lightgrey colours however looks half done as furniture I.e draws and light fittings still really old and dated. Only done half a job. Bathroom has shower curtain in which again, if trying to renovate, surely you would change? Just an opinion.. shower tap that neither I or my partner could work out how to use and ended up burning ourselves trying to get it right, which we were never able to do so ended up with a weak shower as if you turned it on fully, it would be way to hot and temperature control wasn’t obvious to work out. It was however, clean. The Food tasted bland and is completely overpriced. £23 was the cheapest main course on the provided menu and would go as far as saying the meals seemed pre prepared by he chef and microwaved when ordered? Sorry. Restaurant had no atmosphere, no music in the background, just silence. Felt like everyone had to whisper. Awkward. We had a room that had absolutely no view, looked out to the roof and as we booked for the location, it felt like a waste of money. Bed was quite comfy though and slept well. If you wanted room service you have to pay £10 per tray bought up to your room on top of the food price which I thought was weird and ridiculous, never heard of before. Breakfast came out at different times, my partner finished theirs before mine arrived. Evening staff were miserable and it showed in the service, breakfast staff a lot friendlier as well as reception. Wasn’t clear at all that you had to pay extra for the spa. Have read reviews where this point has been previously made by other guests and argued by the manager but I feel this should be taken as constructive criticism and not to be argued but accepted as constructive criticism. This was a selling point for us too however we opted out once we found this out and was disappointing. Over all I wouldn’t recommend staying here.

    Nice view if you sit in the garden

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.9
    I will return but not to room 23. Avoid it like the plague.
    • Solo traveller
    • Eclectic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con or fan in room. Was next to the patio area outside the bar so can get a bit noisy when the sun is out. Tv kept losing signal. The wires were loose so I had to keep jumping out of bed to wiggle them back in. The worst thing was being woken up by staff after midnight emptying glass bottles into the recycling bin. Ruined my nights sleep.

    The bed was super comfy. Nice shower head

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable stay, and would visit again if in Didsbury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On the second morning only a buffet was available and was of a poor standard.

    First morning of our stay, breakfast was from the menu which had some great choices.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy at the front especially when at 7 the recycling bottles were taken away and bed was too soft as were pillows.

    Loved the roll top bath in the room, th fab shower and the decor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Eclectic Villa Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food ordered through room service was cold . The room had been recently refurbished but visisble signs of poor workmanship/cut corners. Bit shabby round the edges. But still nice , should be prefect though and it’s not.

    Great hotel in a great spot , would recommend highly. Very intimate setting/feel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    A relexing and luxurious stay in a wonderful hotel with even more wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eclectic Villa Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was perfect

    Room was amazing spacious and luxurious decorated with a warm and comfy feel. The bed was huge and the bath tub in the middle of the room was amazing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eclectic Villa Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got married at the hotel 4 years ago and were very eager to return and we weren’t disappointed. The hotel was how we remembered it, absolutely magnificent. The staff were very accommodating and we were upgraded on our arrival. Thank you Didsbury House!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Perfect place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely lovely! gorgeous building and room. Very easy access to Manchester city centre - only £14 in a taxi and the train station is near by too. Perfect stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Gorgeous hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eclectic Villa Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a beautiful, clean stylish hotel with lovely touches like bathrobes, lovely bath products and attentive staff. It was a surprise trip to Manchester due to bad weather we ended up there and the hotel was a wonderful experience after a long day of travel. The bath in the room was a particular highlight! Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    We had a lovely, relaxing stay. The staff couldn’t have been nicer or more accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eclectic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn’t like

    The room had a beautiful freestanding bath near the window & the bed was so comfortable! We ate in the evening and the food was excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.3
    Happy and sad at same time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eclectic Villa Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no bathrobes in our room what we did pay for we asked and staff said they were none left so we had to go without i was cold as i didnt take my own. When i was using the hairdryer and kettle at same time the smole alarm went off we took them to memeber of staff who did not have replacement so i couldnt have a hot drink all night or morning we payed alot for our room and it was our 10 yr anniversary them little things spoilt it

    Clean friendly staff beautiful buildjng and room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    5.8
    Won’t be coming here again. Very disappointing for what was meant to be a relaxing getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was stiflingly hot in the attic and the window wouldn’t open. There was no adjustment possible to the heating, resulting in a sleepless night of horror. Staff seemed aware of the problem, which made their unwillingness to fix the issue, or to immediately offer significant compensation, baffling.

    The decor was lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Convenint for a romantic weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eclectic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Floors were very creaky and you could hear people in the nearby rooms walking around all night!

    Bed was very comfortable, decor was lovely, temple spa toiletries were wonderful, cookies in the room and complimentary water a nice touch. Breakfast was lovely. Location was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Eclectic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower room in the next door room literally exploded into action at 5.30am. Without any soundproofing this was an annoyance.

    Bed was extra comfy, the bath in the bedroom was an interesting use of space.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.8
    lovely comfortable warm, clean room, thanks very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    was a little bit of noise from the car park and the room above us - also the shower started to drip heavily in the middle of the night

    lovely huge bed, nice big bath, very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    A home away from home - albeit it a very fancy one!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Eclectic Villa Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite hot, the bathroom especially, we had to keep the window open - in December.

    Beautiful hotel, we loved staying here while visiting family over Christmas. So festive and welcoming but very discreet. I liked how the reception desk is away from the front door so you don't feel observed when you are coming and going. As far from a corporate chain as you can get but very subtle, you are hardly aware of the staff at all unless you need something then nothing is too much trouble. Gorgeously decorated. Easy parking. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.3
    Very pleasant overnight stay before hitting Manchester for Christmas shopping...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited parking

    The staff were extremely pleasant - couldn't do enough... Room was a decent size, clean and comfortable. Very nice bar/lounge area and private courtyard. Bar menu looked good and noted a few gluten free options (bonus!)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel a short walk from the cafes and shops
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eclectic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t have any complaints!

    Staff were excellent and helpful, we were in the wrong room to start with, but they moved us and our luggage etc while we had a cup of tea and the subsequent room was lovely, particularly as it had a bath in the room!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    initial room was at far end of building and we could clearly...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    initial room was at far end of building and we could clearly hear guests in room above walking around and opening cupboards. I had interview next day so didn't want any disturbance. Staff very helpful and offered 2 alternatives and a free drink for the inconvenience....

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Brilliant staff. Lovely hotel. Pictures do not do it justice. And the food is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eclectic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That we did not stay longer.

    The staff were absolutely brilliant. They were always welcoming and trading smiles. All the staff were available if required and would make us feel like a valued customer.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Lovely classy hotel, great location, would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental breakfast a bit sparse at £12!! No protein available. Cooked breakfast had great choices but food wasn’t great. Coffee terrible. Only had breakfast one day of three as a result.

    Lovely hotel, gorgeous decor , we had a great room 52 , with a sitting room , really great as we were there for 4 nights. Bar and food at hotel and pubs and restaurants within walking distance. Tram close to get to city. Staff very helpful and professional

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eclectic Villa Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from other guests in the early hours of the morning-called Reception and issue rectified immediately.

    Extra comfy bed, loved the bath in the bedroom, walk in shower, decor and space in the room. Breakfast was lovely too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Stylish, friendly and relaxed - a great place to stay
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room got very hot in the night and we had to get up to turn the heating down!

    Very comfortable beds and all the facilities we could have wanted were available, handmade biscuits in the room was a nice touch.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.9
    Lovely place but beware of practice of taking £50 from credit card account for extras on check in.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Eclectic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They take £50 off credit card in case of extras (which we did not have) and then the client has to wait up to 3 days for that amount to be refunded to their credit card account. This was discovered when checking out and it had not been explained at check in - unacceptable. Other hotels we use take an imprint and reserve that amount at check in but do not actually take it at that time.

    Comfy bed, beautifully furnished room and public rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful romantic getaway
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Eclectic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I got double charged when I booked, which takes 5-10 days to refund, then I was asked for a £50 deposit when I arrived... The break was perfect but It took a bit of a shine off the arrival.

    The beds are large and amazingly comfortable, the interior is beautiful! the staff are outstandingly professional and accommodating. The bath's are incredibly deep and right next to the bed... perfectly styled for a romantic break. Parking is right outside.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.8
    Large spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eclectic Villa Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room noisy from a nearby boiler or extractor fan. Deep rumblings noise could be heard all night which spoilt things.

    Large spacious room. Nice biscuits each day. Beautiful building and location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Exquisite little hotel - highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - perfect stay.

    Room was fantastic! Hotel was beautiful inside and out. Bar was lovely. Breakfast was delicious. Very quiet around the room area. Very close to bars/pubs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    5.8
    Noisy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a house building site next door which started work at 7.30am. We were not warned and left the vellum window open as it was a cool evening and we had booked a 'Quiet Room' which was anything but in the end! Staff were indifferent and unhelpful on check-out.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent place to stay within easy commute to the city centre/ the motorway network.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't find my room again - signs on the various landings and corridors could be improved! Some of the furnishings in my room have had a hard time. I couldn't get the telly to work, even though I followed the guidance in the room guide (at 10pm I couldn't be bothered to contact reception/ have someone come up to fix it). Minor niggles.

    Clean and very comfortable room and bathroom. The room service continental breakfast was a triumph! The staff were helpful and polite. The building has some beautiful original features, and the public areas have huge bay windows.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    BRILLIANT
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When parking is shut off at the front not many spaces round the back and road full. Not a major issue but maybe a heads up before hand if they are going to close it

    Bed comfortable, lovely rooms, excellent size bath!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Extremely comfortable stay in a lovely hotel with fabulous staff and lovely food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Plug in the basin didn't work so couldn't fill the basin with water.

    Lovely big, comfortable bed and super quiet so I slept really well, The food was good, breakfast was lovely, and the staff very friendly and helpful. A lovely hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    5.8
    If I had not paid in advance I would not have checked in.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was booked for a wedding. I arrived early and was not even allowed to wait in public areas. Will think twice about booking again. Very disappointed.

    Location. Didsbury is a nice village.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.9
    leafy didsbury
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    obviously not the fault of the hotel but it was a very warm night and the rooms dont have air-conditioning. with the window open the room was cool but the building site opposite started work at 7am so no lie in possible.

    Beautiful building and with all of the hotels in the group a superb decor. lovely friendly feel with a great outdoor area to relax in.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.2
    One night airport stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was on the ground floor looking straight on to parking so felt no privacy when the curtains were opened. If we had stayed longer then I would have requested a different room.

    Very comfy beds. Great ambience in the lobby and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.6
    You must stay here!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit pricey

    Position of the hotel Luxurious rooms with massive comfy beds Fresh milk for the tea and coffee you could make in your room Lovely outside terrace attached to the bar Beautiful lounges etc.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel in good quiet location. At £150 a night exc. breakfast I would expect a little more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eclectic Villa Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet in bedroom was dirty. Tiny drop of milk in small jug for coffee, other jug was empty so only one of us could have coffee.

    Bath in bedroom and nice bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.6
    Simon and Jenny's awesome stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Beautiful hotel, the most wonderful comfy bed, and the shower was amazing, little things like the quality of the complimentary soaps and shampoo stand out, towels were excellent too. The staff were great, the bar was superb and all in all we had a wonderful stay, highly recommended, I challenge anyone to find fault.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.2
    Grumpy old man
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Eclectic Villa Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out was a disaster as was the young man on reception in the morning. I had earlier called reception on room phone and got no answer. When I used my mobile It was answered but he sounded as if I had woken him up or he was pissed. When I went to check out he was nowhere to be found and again I had to phone the hotel and he eventually appeared "rather dishevelled" would be a kind description. Absolutely pathetic attempt to check me out and now suspect I may have been charged twice. That was all after being transferred from Didsbury House the day before. Really disappointing for a good hotel that we have used quite a few times.

    Check in and room service were excellent as was the food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    4.2
    Location wAs good , room was relatively comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very overpriced and didn't include breakfast which was £15 each extra. I live in central London and would not expect to pay £15 for breakfast . Room was ok , and q noisy from corridor

    Location wAs good , room was relatively comfortable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.6
    Quick weekend away to visit family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booking I made the mistake of booking double bed. We are used to sleeping in a superking at home. If I was alone it would have been super comfy.

    Breakfast was very tasty served in a lovely room. Atmospheric bar area. Decor very nicely done. Lovely pillows on bed. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. Simon on reception was very charming!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.3
    A pleasant overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eclectic Villa Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good and very pleasant but overpriced at £167 a night (we were quoted £298 when we first rang the hotel before we found a cheaper online price!) and that didn't include breakfast. We have stayed in equally beautiful hotels for a lot less and did include breakfast but it was our wedding night and this was recommended by a friend

    The bed was comfortable. Room and bathroom were spotless. The roll top bath in the bedroom is a nice touch. The chap on the desk on arrival gave us a big bag of crisps as we were hungry from our wedding day

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.8
    A great little hotel! Very clubby atmosphere!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not the best view from the room (ground floor looking onto car park).

    Very good breakfast, excellent location for me, since it was walking distance both from the office I was visiting as well as Didsbury. The hotel staff were very friendly and the decor of the place was to my liking, very clubby! Altogether a great place! Car parking was free. On checkout they let me keep the car in the car park until my departure from Didsbury in the afternoon. I also liked the terrace at the side of the building which had heaters and covering since I smoke...

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    7.9
    Cramped luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of breakfast !!!! We did not brother, went down the road for an Organic breakfast , half the price !! Our room was really only big enough for one and very hot, could not control temperature, which was 24 degrees. had to leave window open.

    Parking, decor, level of finish.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    10
    Lovely stay at the beautiful Didsbury House Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main radiator was off but the room was still very very warm making it a bit uncomfortable at times. Heat possibly radiating from bathroom radiator which was extremely hot to the touch.

    Staff were exceptionally warm & welcoming and couldn't do enough to a accommodate our needs. Room was immaculate, well maintained & had all amenities one would expect. Large double bed was very comfortable, so much so that we skipped breakfast in favour of a lie in. Lovely ambience throughout the entire hotel. A relaxing massage topped our stay off perfectly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    10
    Gorgeous hotel. Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is quite expensive but there is a wide range to select from and it's all quality food. We are glad we are within the hotel

    Stunning hotel. Everything was well presented and gorgeous decor. Lots of little extras / comforts. Thoroughly enjoyed it here and will be back. Friendly reception staff and Waiter. Fabulous facilities Free parking onsite Very quiet !! Lovely area

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    9.2
    Great boutique Hotel with friendly staff, late checkout too upon request :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eclectic Villa Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They forgot my toast with the breakfast but that's a really tiny thing!

    Really nice period property, late checkout, good breakfast, Sky Sports in the room! another good stay in this groups Hotels. I'll be checking out the rest for sure.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    10
    Perfect place to stay close to the city but had the luxury of a out of city cosy hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Eclectic Villa Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel, very friendly and attentive staff, amazing decor and the Eclectic Villa Room was beautiful! The whole place was spotless, had great service and I would highly recommend. Also only a short walk to transport into the city.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    4.2
    Expensive and disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We've stayed several times before, but this time things seemed to have deteriorated - no longer premium class: not even biscuits provided with the complimentary drinks tray, and everything looking a bit shabbier.

    The location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    Beautiful hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked everything. Cannot fault.

    Room was beautiful. Exact to my taste and was absolutely spotless. Breakfast was really nice and staff where helpful aswell to attend to my needs.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.6
    excellent, intimate and cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eclectic Villa Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms have a roll top bath but no foam bath provided and only one robe which wouldn't fit anyone above a size 12. Would have been nice to have one each and bath foam to utilise the bath.

    Beautiful hotel very intimate and cosy

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    9.2
    Amazing rooms and bathtubs in rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eclectic Villa Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little far from Manchester town centre so taxis were quite expensive but we could have used the tram which would have been much cheaper!

    Amazing room, really clean, amazing bath and shower. Quiet hotel. Would definitely recommend

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    10
    Most enjoyable. Lovely rooms and polite, caring staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a little warm. Would have liked a warm croissant at breakfast and creamy scrambled egg, as latter was slightly overcooked and rubbery.

    Beautifully furnished. Comfortable bed and well stocked, quiet room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    10
    Victorian luxory in Manchester
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed only one night and without my wife

    Victorian luxory, close to airport, close to restaurant and bars, close to park area, close to business park

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    10
    A hidden gem
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ONLY thing I could suggest is that the pillows could be more firm but this definitely wouldn't deter me from staying again.

    Miriam was wonderful and very friendly and I had the steak meal which was a delight too. I will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    6.7
    Very nice food... room terribly noisy
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room above number 26 ... the floor constantly creaked every time anyone walked across the floor/moved around the bedroom to the point where every morning from 6.30am till around 9.30am you would be awake. We reported this to the reception and management and were informed "it was an old house" and "here's discount off the food bill" . The noise was so loud I was able to clearly recorded it on my phone. Left the hotel feeling more tired than when we went.

    Excellent food... the flat iron steak was amazing!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel with superb staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcoming staff, loved the warm cookies brought to the room .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel in lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the television wasn’t working in our room but we had a complimentary drink served in our room and discount off the bill.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No body lotion

    Fantastic breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Would have liked a gym
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Eclectic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have liked a gym

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.7
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy courtyard disturbing sleep. Expensive breakfast

    Excellent location

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: