Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dinham Hall 3 stars

By The Castle, Ludlow, SY8 1EJ, United Kingdom

#11 of 17 hotels in Ludlow

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 473 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Our recent stay at Dinham Hall Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Delayed en route and so could not arrive as intended. (Arrived 11:20pm) I was contacted by owner prior to arrival to be advised that arriving late was a problem after 11:00 and so we had to rush our journey which was not ideal. This time constraint did not appear to be communicated to us at time of booking. 2. We went for a walk in Town and thought it might be nice to have a drink at the bar afterwards in the hotel. However despite returning at only 10:10pm we found the Hotel front door locked and effectively closed. We had to walk back into Town to purchase a bottle of wine from a Spa supermarket! I have never experienced this in 40 years of travel!

    Lovely property, well located and well presented

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Unhurried. Relaxing. Wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderfully furnished with great style and flair. Staff were absolutely lovely, found a table for dinner when they were busy. Dinner was one of the best we have had in ages and such good value. Rooms were super, with all you could need, and a super comfortable bed and a fab breakfast in the morning. Would totally recommend and would love to stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior En Suite Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot, admittedly during a heat wave. The fan on the fan heater was insufficient to provide any meaningful cooling via the one window that could be opened. A little more attention to detail could have given the impression of luxury rather than adequacy eg, bottled water in the room, biscuits with the tea making equipment (instead of on request) and conditioner in addition to shampoo.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Intimately all we might have expected- thank you.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The quality of everything is in all well up to the hotel's lovely location and cultural tradition. The staff are all personable and proactively considerate, yet without being intrusive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    An excellent, charming, good value country house hotel beautifully located in a lovely market town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked it all, nothing to dislike

    A beautiful, comfortable hotel,clean, quiet, charming, offering great location, breakfast and parking, in a nicely converted elegant old house right by Ludlow Castle and steps to the Market, shops, restaurants, and the Assembly Rooms. LIke a country house hotel in a beautiful market town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    We will return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was above our expectations, easy of check-in, room, dinner, breakfast. Lovely dinner menu, we could have easily picked three or four choices of starters and main courses each without any problem. It was a glorious summer evening and finishing off dinner with coffee and a glass of wine in the garden was delightful. The same after the freshly prepared traditional breakfast, what a better way to slowly start the day than with a second pot of coffee in the garden.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    It is a beautiful hotel in a splendid location in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all to complain about.

    It is a beautiful hotel in a splendid location in a wonderful town. The staff are pleasant and efficient without overpowering you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay, thanks to location. Found most staff to be happy and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant a little expensive and (when we were there) virtually empty. Manager very efficient but not a happy person at times. We had an annexe room, lovely, but a little difficult for my wife who uses a stick. If you have any mobility issues, however slight, best to contact them first.

    Excellent position, good room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    Quirky hotel with a great location and an old style ambience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No repair to the curtain hook was actioned when highlighted to receptionist The bathroom's original sink did have a crack in it (Palmers room)

    Comfort of the bed linen Location Food at Elliotts

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.0
    Wonderful Anniversary weekend ruined!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Blood on the sheet. Breakfast taking 35mins to arrive on Saturday - it was poached eggs! Drinking glasses in room not being washed. Condescending attitude of duty manager. Attempt to appease by giving a bottle of wine

    The ambiance of the hotel was lovely, cosy rooms with beautiful furnishings. The lady on reception who greeted us on arrival was lovely and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful short break to recharge batteries, back home for more gardening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.wonderful short

    Arrived earlier that expected had chat with David on reception our room would be available at 2.00pm and fine for us to park up and explore the town, had a wander around loads of shops and outdoor market but we missed the vintage car festival they were packing up. Had lunch then sat by the castle people watching. Hotel is opposite the castle, wonderful location. Breakfast excellent, couldn’t fault anything. Would definitely come here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing surroundings. Excellent choice for a visit to Ludlow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lounge wallpaper, decor too busy.

    Excellent location. Breakfast very good. Dinner excellent. Would recommend the pear ice cream . More vegetarian choices would have been beneficial.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    A Restful night in a characterful hotel with lovely views of the castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I appreciate that the location was excellent however I feel the rates were a bit steep. Bedrooms a little dated and could not view our tele from the bed easily.

    The location, the view from our window, the hotel was warm and very comfortable, I fell asleep in the lounge. The character of the building.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.8
    Leisurely and comfortable with a great breakfast serving the best prunes I've ever eaten .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior En Suite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice if restaurant was open on Sunday..however staff recommended The Charlton Arms which was excellent.

    Beds and pillows extra comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    We shall most definitely return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is a little dated, with silverfish in the bath, a sign of damp. There was only shampoo, bath foam ? for one, and no shower caps. How are the rooms allocated? We booked way in advance, and yet we were on the top floor.

    The Lithuanian receptionist was splendidly helpful. The car park was a bonus. The room was small, but very comfortable. The breakfast was perfect, especially the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, and the eggs benedict. The setting is ideal. There was no noise, and we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.7
    It was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only stayed for one night with wife but room was small, original room smelt like dogs so we were relocated, facilities (in room etc) aren't great, breakfast was alright, staff were lovely and really helpful. Location is absolutely superb and parking at hotel is really useful - right in the middle of town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    6.7
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior En Suite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    raditors not working in room . We had Electrica noise blow heater . Was not good enough for the prices we paid for the room .

    View . Character of the building

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.5
    I wish we’d had longer to enjoy the hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initial phone call regarding dinner booking -we were urged to eat elsewhere as they didn’t have children in the dinning room after 7.30 -something I was not aware of at time of booking -I booked this hotel mainly because of its restaurant . We were told that we could eat in our room but would have to pay a premium for the privelage -obviously I was very disappointed approaching the hotel as it was too late In the evening to make other suitable plans. However on arrival the management had had a change of heart and let us dine in the restaurant & were very courteous & accomodating considering that we arrived quite late & the food was indeed lovely so all was forgiven!

    Excellent breakfast & dinner ,lovely comfy atmosphere & accomodating staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was poor. We split our few days in Ludlow between yourselves and the Charlton Arms. The CA proved to be much better value, with far more choice at breakfast and plenty of it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant snowy stay in Ludlow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom in classic bedroom needed a bit of tlc and was a bit cold despite the heated towel rail.

    Brilliant breakfast. Relaxing Lounge with log fire. Very helpful staff. Hotel provided extra heating in room as we stayed during a very cold spell. Will definitely be back!

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    Delightful hotel would stay again food good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Milk in room in longlife in capsules

    The place is beautiful and set in lovely surrounds ...in good weather you can sit outside in the delightful garden

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in a perfect location. I would thoroughly recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personally I hate lilies and they make me sneeze so I don’t like walking into a room with them in

    View of the castle from our window was fabulous. We were right in the middle of the town but it was very peaceful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.8
    Great for a quaint little weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a number of stains on the coffee tables in the room and the bathroom smelt a bit musty

    Perfect location, lovely view of the castle from the room, comfortable bed and a delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior En Suite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The decor in the hotel was very tasteful. Our room was comfortable and we had a lovely view overlooking woodland. Breakfast was delicious, fresh fruit & yoghurt to start followed by Eggs Benedict. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Would recommend to friends and family and would stay again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent hotel ,food and staff.Will recommend to friends and family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room in main building or being advised of room allocation before arrival.

    Expected to be located in the main building but given room in the annex which required a walk to restaurant in very cold conditions.Room however excellent as was dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Brilliant it was a lovely experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is quaintly antique. The room was warm, comfortable and well equipped. The food was delicious and the staff were efficient, friendly and very helpful. We will definitely be going back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    5.8
    You might want to stay here in the summer but avoid the cold months.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior En Suite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom was cold as the heating was barely on, which was not good in January. The bedrooms are a little jaded and ripe for updating and general refurbishment.

    The staff were friendly and the public areas have a country house hotel feel. The breakfasts were good. Good location near the centre of town and good parking [which is important in Ludlow].

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    5.8
    Good location nice hotel but not very warm as old building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Mouldy bread which I spotted and mentioned and new toast brought. weak coffee which was changed. No jam pots you had to take your plate to put jam on from central serving area from the main jam pot.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    A wonderful weekend away in a superb hotel, made me feel special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really friendly helpful staff, one young lady even scraped the snow out of the car park so we could all get out. Spent lovely evenings playing chess around the fire. Superb breakfasts, plenty of tea and coffee in rooms, a little fan heater in room just incase but even on a snowy January weekend the room was warm enough. Big comfy bed and a bonus bath tub in bathroom. Excellent location and views from bedrooms. First Class

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    5.8
    Nice location but overpriced for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was put in as separate room away from the main hotel, which meant walking though the garden area and negotiating steps down to the room. Glad it wasn't raining the following morning as would have got very wet walking up to the hotel for breakfast. The decor in the room was old and tired and the bed squeaked every time you moved. The breakfast was pleasant, but a couple were served mouldy toast!!!

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    5.4
    Food and views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior En Suite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms 6 and 7 have little sound proofing between them, the hotel staff were aware of this yet still put us in room 6 and another couple in room 7.

    Food and views

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    5.4
    Disapointed with the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior En Suite Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The JJ Superior room which is advertised as a superior room, requires investment. The carpet is very old and stained, the shower curtain mouldy and the floor tiles cracked. The room was also very cold as the single radiator below the bay window is inadequate to heat the large room. I understand the view from the room overlooking the Shropshire country side is very nice, but sadly the room is not. The pictures on Books.com does show a picture of the JJ room but only the bed. More pictures should be added showing the rest of the room and the bath room so customers can make an informed choice when booking. The hotel did provided a partial refund of £25 off the £175 single night stay, and a further £25 was provided by Bookings.com. My feed back is not based on my personnel expectation, but what I saw and experienced.

    The location within the centre of Ludlow opposite the Castle is great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Lovely place to stay would return for sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy from the room above ours. Breakfast selection on buffet - very basic. Breakfast selection ok, quality was again ok, nothing amazing.

    Nice room (small TV), Staff were wonderful on the desk and the bar in the evening. Good value drinks at the bar. Decor and hotel are lovely, very in keeping. Excellent location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.6
    The fact the hotel is charming and there was a very helpful...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact the hotel is charming and there was a very helpful and pleasant staff. The breakfast room was very attractive, with beautiful views of the river and woodland. Also, a great breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Lovely Ludlow and delightful Dinham Hall. Both are worth a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. ALL was perfect

    Excellent location for our visit to the lovely welcoming Ludlow. The hotel was really first class and the welcome was more than we could have expected. We will return. Very close to Dinham Hall is the very grand show house for CLEAR VIEW Stoves. A MUST visit.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    5.0
    OK, but we won't be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior En Suite Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to move from our initial room, due to the poor sound insulation. My wife was convinced another man had joined us in bed, so loud were his persistent snores. The teas, toiletries, etc were minimal and not what we were expecting for the price.

    The building was pleasant and old, staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.2
    Lovely situated hotel right in the village,comfy and easy to love,super staff,very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fire in sitting room wasn't lit,would have loved a cosy night sipping port in front of it!!! Our room heating went off around 6pm,little bit too chilly for us mum and I feel the cold!

    Lovely rooms and comfy beds,loads of fresh towels,nice breakfast room overlooking gardens and our own room had all round views ideal for catching village life.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    8.3
    Thoroughly enjoyed it - would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was a bit cramped with a weak shower, and we could hear the conversation in the next room. Floorboards were a bit creaky.

    The hotel is in a lovely position in the town. We tried the fine dining restaurant which was very good. Decor in keeping with the building, nice relaxing atmosphere. Would stay there again definitely. Very good breakfast! Service very good - I left a bag in our room when we left but the staff rang me and arranged to post it back - impressed!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.1
    reasonable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    AS I've got Parkinson's Disease I found difficulty in accessing my room which was an annex in the grounds and the staff weren't helpful at breakfast

    Food and room were both very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior En Suite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Floor boards, being an older building the boards are in need of some attention. Next time we'll try for the top floor.

    Location, views and the staff are excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.1
    On the whole very pleasant stay with good service from staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's quite acceptable that Georgian buildings have sloping floors, but the bed needed to be levelled off with chocks so that one did not feel as if lying on a slope.

    Ambience of old Georgian building

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.2
    A very well situated hotel with car park in beautiful Ludlow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior En Suite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were let down was to wake to a cold room,radiator not on,it was a cold late Oct morning and to make matters much worse only tepid shower water which is unforgivable.A general uplift' on bedrooms is needed to bring them worthy of the prices charged as ours had what can only be described as a tired feel in some aspects that would certainly benefit from some love and care

    Dinham Halls position in the middle of Ludlow is second to none with lovely views from our large ensuite bedroom(Superior room)on the first floor over to the pretty garden and beyond aswell as welcome free parking in the hotels private car park.The room was clean and comfortable as was the bathroom with white towels and heated towel rail,large double bed with fresh white linen.We dined in the hotels restaurant which was excellent and served by 2 attentive staff members.Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice for piping hot full Stafforshire breakfast or Continental again served beautifully by the waitress/waiter.The hotel is a lovely Georgian building,very spacious throughout with a very attractive and welcoming entrance hallway,lounge,dining room etc

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.1
    Overall very pleasant, but we wish the beds had been bigger. See above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior En Suite Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dreadful beds. Old and rather small by today's hotel standards. Need to be 6 foot zip linked, so that you can split the beds into 3' single beds. A 5' bed split into 2 2'6" ones is too narrow! Sadly, the restaurent was only open for one night of our three night stay.

    Breakfasts excellent. Dinner for the one night we could go there was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    6.3
    Necessary but probably the last until hotel is brought into 21 century
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior En Suite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NO WIFI in bedroom which is outdated/tired in all respects with broken tiles in bathroom floor and minuscule TV

    Good variety and presentation including GF bread

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.2
    great location, quiet country town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A rather old-school atmosphere - lots of chintz and wallpaper - a really beautiful property. Staff was friendly and helpful. Right around the corner from the street market and several restaurants - especially liked the Blue Boar pub. The center of Ludlow is very historic with narrow cobbled streets and centuries old buildings. There are very nice shops and a very scenic castle. The restaurant attached to the hotel was also excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    6.7
    One night stay that failed to meet expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant closed on Mondays --didn't know this until after I had booked for a night away for my husband's birthday. It was not cancelable like many others. I had good reviews of restaurant and was disappointed. Luckily managed to prebook a lovely French Bistro but glad I did so as town was dead and everywhere closed even on a Bank Holiday Monday. We were allocated a garden room that was adequate, but disappointing as this hotel was not cheap.This wouldn't be good in inclement weather-rain or snow.

    Large very comfy bed --clean room and bathroom Breakfast was well prepared, served and enjoyable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    Lovely location and hotel. Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we were located in a cottage in the grounds. The other guests upstairs were so NOISY! so not as relaxing as hoped. Could here them flushing toilet and walking around all night.

    Great location. Nice staff. Parking!! Which is a premium in luflow

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.3
    Ludlow is a great location, this particular hotel felt a little overpriced for the standard of room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior En Suite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was in need of a revamp especially considering the price of the room. Additionally no chance of eating in the restaurant, unless you've booked well in advance; despite there being empty tables. A little disappointing as that was one of the criteria for booking the hotel.

    Great location & gorgeous building. Ludlow is a perfect weekend break.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    lazy and relaxing with beautiful sourounding gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior En Suite Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have to really think hard to even think of one thing, the lampshades were a little dusty but really that's it!!

    I couldn't really fault this hotel, yes maybe the carpets are a little tired but this gave it its overall quirkiness, I personally loved this hotel especially the food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    3.8
    The location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not clean enough. So much so decided to leave. The Hotel management were not interested at all. And have kept our deposit as well as threatened to charge us the full price of the room. See the pictures, is this room worthy of £199??

    The location is great

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    breakfast was fantastic lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior En Suite Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    toilet was very loud filling up and tv was far to small should be high on the wall so we could actually see it .also the extractor outside our window was very loud when it was switched on at 8 in the morning waking us up

    breakfast was fantastic lovely

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    4.2
    Over priced - expected biscuits with the refreshments and better quality toiletries
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service very slow at breakfast and staff only seemed to manage one thing at a time. Our bathroom had one tiny bath gel and shampoo and the smallest bar of soap that I have ever seen. No replenishment in three nights stay. Our room must have had the thinnest of walls as the person in the next room kept us awake with snoring for two nights. We were glad to get home!

    The hotel was very near Ludlow Castle so ideal for getting around. Food was good and the breakfast buffet was replenished at the right time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    3.8
    If you expect to stay in a 4* hotel- don't stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is not a 4* Hotel. It was rated 2mths ago by the AA as restaurant with rooms. They have not changed their website,stationery,notices in reception. Does not explain, cold bedroom/bathroom,dead flies,duvet too small for bed. I complained and was told it is not an hotel-great!

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.9
    Charming building in a fabulous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom very small, outdated, drab and in need of a mould-removing spray. Long wait for dinner to be served (although there were lots of apologies) and some dishes stronger on oil and butter than to our taste (although the bill was reduced without asking).

    Super location, very attractive building and rooms, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyed our stay very much except for one thing mentioned above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing that let this place down was that the shower curtain was very mouldy and dirty. I wouldn't have a shower because of this.

    The bed was very comfy and all the staff were lovely. Breakfast very good and room was big and very clean. Ideal location in middle of town by the castle but very quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    Perfect for a short visit to Ludlow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely quiet, neighbourhood but close to the market square. Elegantly furnished, historic building. Nice garden. Dual aspect room overlooking the castle.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.9
    Fab location in lovely town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel in great location near castle. Ludlow is a gorgeous town. Hotel is old so plumbing is not fabulous. Food-wise, we would have liked to see more vegetarian options.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Our room was very comfortable and it would have been...
    • Couple
    • Superior En Suite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sadly the 'eggs Benedict' ordered by my wife for breakfast were awful. One egg was solid and the other almost raw. This should have been noticed when the cook added the Hollandaise sauce but not so. After complaining the dish was served again with perfect eggs but then she found that the muffin was too hard to eat even with a requested steak knife !

    Our room was very comfortable and it would have been excellent too for a longer visit. The restaurant was excellent serving delicious evening meals in good surroundings by pleasant and attentive staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing! The building is lovely and in an excellent location but facilities let it down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior En Suite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The four star rating was for the restaurant 'with rooms', but didn't reflect the quality of the accommodation, and is misleading when booking! When we tried to report the shower problem at 8am, the reception office was closed and no staff to speak to, so we were unable to shower before leaving!

    The room was comfortable and clean! Bed comfy; lovely fluffy white towels! However our shower was not working at all and the toilet flush was low water pressure! On reporting it to the manager, his attitude was defensive and unhelpful. He handled the situation badly and grudgingly offered us a £20 reduction off our bill. He insisted the room had been checked, but there was a dirty teaspoon and stale water left in the kettle! He became quite unpleasant and obviously didn't like the fact we had complained! We weren't sure how the room could be classed as a superior room, and we felt it should really be marketed as a double. Breakfast was excellent in spite of my broken fried egg, and the girl in the dining room was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing and peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had eggs Benedict for breakfast and it was very vinegary but overall ok.

    We had the flowers room it was lovely. Very comfy bed and lovely large bathroom. Although no view it didn't really matter. Staff friendly and would return again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    One place not to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior En Suite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    What a great choice! Astonishing... it's right in the centre of town, the biggest attraction, Ludlow Castle, is a one-minute walk to the entrance (yes, that was ONE minute) and yet the view from our second-floor room, No.8, called Mortimer, was vast. The staff were super-friendly and welcoming, the restaurant is an excellent mix of good food but not over-the-top. And if I remember right the building dates back to the 1670s, history plus 21st Century facilities. Ludlow, according to John Betjeman I'm told, is the loveliest town in England. The hotel certainly plays it's part! We loved it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.2
    Much going for this well located hotel. A little bit of investment would improve its rating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower over the bath did not work. No WiFi in the bedrooms. The lack of WiFi in the bedrooms could deter businessmen from booking. A small cash outlay on an upgraded WiFi system would be of benefit.

    The location of the hotel - the comfortable beds - the view from our bedroom - the variety at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing experience for a 45th wedding anniversary celebration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The small room and the very hard bed. Not good enough for the price. Generally the place was a bit tired.

    The convenient town centre position. The breakfast choice and quality was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel, with loads of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a lot

    Excellent hotel, with loads of character. The staff were very helpful and efficient. Our room was beautiful with views over the valley and the castle. Unfortunately we ate out at a function in the evening but before we left the hotel we checked the menu which was very good and the smell coming from the kitchen was excellent. Breakfast the following morning was also excellent, good choice, very well cooked and excellent service. I highly recommend

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    A Country House Hotel in the Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    A walk in shower would have been much better.

    Very comfortable room and soft bed. Close proximity to town VerExcellent food - both for dinner and breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    The hotel is in an excellent location near the center of town and facing the castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was a cottage in the gardens which was very pleasant and quiet. The room was a good size. We had dinner in the restaurant attached to the hotel which is a bistro. The food was very good and I would recommend it to others

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    A bit "tired" but still good. Excellent location for Ludlow town centre and there is a carpark.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Scrambled egg at breakfast looked & tasted like it was microwaved. Not good. Otherwise all OK

    We stayed in the Garden Room. Very nice. Only problem was a storage heater with a sign on it saying "do not switch this off" It came on in the night & the room turned into a sauna.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    5.4
    Needs bit of TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower didn't work, toilet was blocked. These things happen but it's the response of the establishment that is important. In this case the response was mediocre to say the least. The person on reception couldn't even bring himself to an apology for the inconvenience. Basic facilities need attention.

    Comfortable bed, good location, good breakfast with pleasant waiting staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Lovely place to stay, location excellent, staff good and willing to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior En Suite Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Unfortunately the suite we had was on the top floor. 33 steps up and 33 down. Terrific view but not really suitable for disabled visitors, there is no lifts available or possible because of the age of the building. There is also the same "Bistro Menu" every evening which encouraged us to go out to other venues for our meals.

    The accommodation was fantastic and in date with the age of the building.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upgrade of bathroom, shower curtain in bathroom needs replacing, regrouting of tiles and a bit of general maintenance. A choice of 'gins' and tonics in the bar, rather than just the one.

    Lovely setting, helpful, friendly staff and pleasant and relaxed atmosphere. Easy access to town centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    It was lovely and peacful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door was locked at 8am so we coildn't get in for breakfast we had to hang around outside till it was opened and it was drizzling with rain they did apolgiseIt

    The flower room was great and it was in a wonderful location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.8
    Central location with parking for a restaurant with rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointed by the portion size at breakfast, which was the smallest of our holiday.

    We had an excellent view of the castle, and up and down the street. The parking on site was much appreciated. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The room was quaint, with old pieces of furniture which fitted the house. The best feature was its central location and it was surprisingly quiet at night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Understated elegant hotel in attractive market town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delivery of the shower water wasn't very strong. Could have been a view more toiletries.

    Beautiful garden view from our bedroom. Wonderful food from an accomplished French chef. This is hotel with a very nice atmosphere in an excellent location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    4.6
    Not given what we booked and payed for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior En Suite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a double bed but was provided with 2 singles stuck together. On mentioning this to the reception staff we art told they'd look into it but twin rooms were what most people asked for so that is why they mostly had them. Again we reiterated we had booked a double so we're expecting to be provided with a double or we would have booked elsewhere as it was our anniversary

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.5
    Interesting
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was in an annexe in the garden which was not mentioned until after the hotel had accepted the booking. Breakfast was not served until 08:00 hrs which was half an hour to late for me so I missed out.

    Nice location

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: