Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Discovery Accommodation 4 stars

11 Silver Street, Whitby, YO21 3BX , United Kingdom

#70 of 82 B&Bs and Inns in Whitby

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3211 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms provided to us were not the rooms advertised on the website.be aware of what your booking and the location isn't where it said it was on the website. More detailed information needed as was a disappointment on arrival. And the room wasn't the cleanest either. Dirty tea cup stains on bedside tables and bleached stained bedding . The location on the website says 0.3 miles to town centre. But on arrival our apartments are 0.8 miles away this more than double the distance. And was told by the receptionist in so many words. This is because you paid for the cheapest rooms!!! WONT be staying here again n wouldn't recommend to others.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We would have appreciated a non slip mat in the shower.

    The apartment was clean, attractively decorated and very comfortable. We had a door code rather than a key which meant we could come and go separately, and no key to lose! Nice roomy shower, and plenty of storage in the bedroom. Breakfast was very good also, and the staff really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luke warm shower Thin walls - easy to hear neighbours, but not an issue during our stay

    Great location Easy check in/out Comfortable bed Good facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have too be honest wasn’t keen on the codes on the doors cos on a good night out I think ide be locked out lol

    The location was close too everything Nice and clean. Very beautiful bath. Comfy bed staff very polite. Excellent value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small niggle, they provide plates and cups but nothing to clean them with.

    Fabulous location, room was very clean and bigger than expected. The bathroom was a good size.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nice room ,albeit in the attic so stairs to climb ,supposed to be self catering ,only microwave and toaster and you had to wash plates and mugs in bathroom basin which was no dish style so you struggled to wash them properly.The kettle you had to fill from the bath at arms stretch because that would not fit under basin.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was not where we booked in. It was a good 5-10 minute walk away and all up hill. The 2 minutes suggested was a drive. The room only had 1 cup in it and due to the walk was not worth going back to reception. The room was 4 flights up with narrow stairs. The bed was not big enough for 2 people. Checking out at 10:00am is ridiculous.

    The view was exceptional, though not expected.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Electronic beeping through night. No apology from staff when I reported this. Accommodation remote from reception, no instructions as to what to do if there was a problem. Fire notice not filled in. No WiFi password. Did not know where accommodation was located until check-in time.

    Good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Told there would be a lift, not told you had to get a key from the office which closed at 5pm, as a person that had problems walking and doing stairs not very good. Bed sheets were stained. No cleaner to make beds, empty bins or clean bathroom

    Large accommodation in a prime location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.The big bathroom had plenty of room for a bath so perhaps that could be considered.

    Big, comfortable room with all we needed. Very useful kitchenette for making breakfast and snacks.Don't be put off by parking as there are 3 hourly disc parking zones along West Cliff and plenty of free places after 7p.m.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only downside was I am a single parent and had a toddler in a pushchair with me, and struggled with the stairs, luggage and baby in pushchair to the accommodation itself and then to the room. Ideally requires a lift or pram storage area on ground level. Wouldn't be suitable for disabled guests.

    Excellent accommodation, ideal for families. Lovely clean rooms, I will go again! The only downside was I am a single parent and had a toddler in a pushchair with me, and struggled with the stairs, luggage and baby in pushchair to the accommodation itself and then to the room. Ideally requires a lift or pram storage area on ground level. Wouldn't be suitable for disabled guests.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Confusing locations. Kitchen area without sink.

    Recently stayed in Discovery Accommodation for 2 nights. The most confusing is that this accommodation has few buildings in different places. You might get a room in completely different location than the main reception which has pool and sauna (open only 10am-4pm unfortunelty). We got room 5min walk from it. On top of the hill near Whale Bones. So excellent place. Room was very clean with nice bathroom and small kitchen area. Bed was comfy. Access to building and room with special pin code you receive by text. Price was reasonable with some discount from booking.com It's a good place to stay especially when you don't want to spend lots of money but you like neat and clean accommodation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The code to get into the inner door, given at the start of our trip was wrong.

    Me and my partner went for a couple of nights to the coast! The apartment was a couple of minutes walk to the beach and in walking distance from everywhere. Room was very cosy and clean. Staff were very helpful and we had a fantastic stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelt damp and of cigarettes and the bathroom had no window or fan and smelt of poo. The reception and facilities were 5 minutes walk in another building which I didnt like

    The room was clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 flights of stairs with a buggy 1 being fire stairs The stag do that we’re allowed to stay above a family room banging tables and singing until 3am Needs an update looking tired, grubby carpets, thin stained curtains, mattress very uncomfortable Wouldn’t recommend for more than 1 night

    Location and staff friendly facilities okish for price as rooms spacious

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only slight annoyance was that I couldn't arrange / allocate rooms until arrival which was very messy as I'd booked 8 rooms and all arriving at different times. 2 people arriving for 2nd night only never got their proper rooms and had to bunk in with others!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On next to top floor which is loads of stairs, should be mentioned, I have arithris in both knees it was difficult.

    Room was nice and clean and bathroom very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in was outdated. Bathroom was moldy and was smelling like drain. Because of the drain smell there was a really strong freshener in the bathroom and the smell of it was all over the tiny en-suite.

    The location was nice and quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt expect the walk to room from main reception gave a map to find it, would of liked it nearer reception as this was closer to centre of whitby, it didnt explain this well when booking.

    Room was very modern all to highest standard, bed was very comfy. Went to main reception for breakfast £7.00 it was nice but only one person cooking all food which meant a bit of a wait for it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When other rooms used their shower, our shower drain made a funny noise.

    Very good value for money, easy booking in system(If you have your phone). Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasnt clean no fire escape and wouldnt be safe on top floor if a fire broke out couldnt work key lock on front door and was told we would have to wait pouring down at time

    Central location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the parking facilities were not available. For the 2 nights stay. There was spaces at the hotel which was annoying but told they were not available. Had to park in Pay & Display which each morning we had to go put ticket on car, not happy that we had to get up at 7.30am to do this.

    Room clean, comfy bed. Drinks available in room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in the basement and damp. There was a few stains on the sheets.

    The location was great, the hotel looked to have been recently renovated. Easy check in and out, no need to go to reception at all. Codes sent via email and text to access the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only downside I felt was it was in the basement and no instructions re getting out if there was a fire in place on the sign also a bit claustrophobic in the basement too only because I am a bit panicky of spaces . only thing which we didnt like was the UHT milk which was a bit yucch by the time we used it so no coffee at all .

    The room was very tidy clean and very modern with all amenities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Usual hard bed and lumpy pillows.Crumbs on table dust above bed.Pricy for standard offered.TV too small .Not suitable if staying in for a night

    Good location with limited sea view and quiet.Shower great.Moden room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought I'd booked an apartment within a 4* hotel. Was a little disappointed but it didn't spoil our stay.

    Great apartment, great view, had everything we wanted

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was charged double for car parking when booking. Rang up and staff unhelpful. Emailed and no reply. On day of arrival a staff member excellent and sorted it. Money back in my account.

    Great value for money, clean, wifi, fairly central.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parts of the property could use some renovation but overall was great value for money

    Location was good, size of room was better than expected and equipment was adequate

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having booked two separate rooms for both my son's I expected the same property but unfortunately this didn't happen one accommodation was good the other very poor and on one wanted to take responsibility for the issues

    It was OK

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking but this was not the fault of the hotel and any guest houses hotels in that area have the same issues

    Easy check in was good didn't need to go to the main reception. The accomadation seems to have been recently decorated and carpeted and the room and on suite was very clean and had everting we needed for our overnight stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was tiny and at the top of a long flight of increasingly narrow stairs. Off site manager complicates checkin, especially as parking was scarce. Car parking proved to be the worst I have ever experienced, despite the fact our accommodation came with a parking voucher. No breakfast provided at the premises.

    Fairly central location. The tiny room was well appointed and clean. Checkin staff were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds could of been more comfy and less squeaky. There was a lot of condensation in a morning not sure if our cottage would be warm enough in winter

    Private use of the swimming pool. The size of the accommodation was good especially in star fish cottage. The staff were lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was advertised as an ensuite!! Was like a hostel/bedsit with no sink/oven or half the things advertised,it looked nothing like the pictures and the bedding smelt and was unironed i would like to make a proper complaint,was meant to be our honeymoon,the view and facilities were dismall got a long list written down as well

    The way it looked on booking.com!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was a little bit disjointed.

    You have to check into a different building than where the rooms are and there are lots of different buildings but they give you a map to find your building, you then get sent a text message with lots of different codes for the building your going to as they are not manned by staff so as long as you have a phone this is okay. Rooms are spacious and clean and all seem to be in a good location. Never saw the pool or sauna but there is a added £3pp for each of these. Good price for an overnight stay in Whitby:) also check out is easy as there are no keys to hand back in so you can literally just leave :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Just more storage and hanging space. Otherwise,bed comfy and very clean.

    Didn't eat your food. Met family for meals. Bathroom needed hooks or space for clothes. Everything had to go on floor!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room wasn't cleaned at all during our 2 night stay. It wasn't a problem as we were hardly there however we thought that usually the beds are made and bathroom cleaned during your stay.

    Everything was fine. We didn't have breakfast so cannot comment on that - although if we had, wouldn't have been keen on the 5 minute walk to get to it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and it's situation.

    Room cramped and noisy. Very dark with pine cladding on walls and ceiling. Could hear everything from all adjoining rooms. The room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a unit on the wall that throughout the night kept beeping. It woke us each time. After the first night we spoke to the reception and were told that it would be reported to IT. It continued through the second night. Very poor nights sleep. Very disappointing we won’t be stay with discovery accommodation again.

    We stayed at the Sea Breeze, Zephar room. Good location, clean, easy to find

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was beautiful. However the temperature control was on a hair trigger. It would be way too cold so you adjusted and it was then scolding hot, turn it back a fraction and it would cool down and then go icy cold.

    The room was a very nice size and central to everything we wanted.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell! Smelled like dirty nappies despite leaving the window open and the extractor fan on.

    Brilliant location and full kitchen facilities in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower .... not at all female friendly. Shower cap definitely required. Shower tray overflowed as it did not drain quickly enough. Massive bathroom but shower and toilet both squashed into very small space... very odd layout. TV so far up on wall and placed at wrong angle... ended up with severe neck ache!

    Lovely view. Great location.....right opposite the Whitby Pavillion and sea. Great view of harbour pier. Very quiet area. Comfortable bed. All tastefully decorated and clean. Plenty of storage space.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was at the top of very steep hill.

    I asked for a room lower floor as there was no lift and got one.It looked newly renovated and had a great shower.The room was small but adequate for two people on a short stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dusty. Shower door didn’t close right. No onsite staff. Felt strange like I was in a house share. Only s very thin quilt on the bed, wasn’t warm enough for a summer quilt needed a thicker one.

    Location was quite, Bed comfy. Everything I needed was there, kettle, iron etc. Not bad at all for the money so cannot grumble too much.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was not enough milk for the coffee to cover two nights stay with no room service. A mini fridge would be useful.

    General ambiance of the property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some sort of fridge would have been nice to keep milk etc. Also filling the kettle from the bathroom sink wasnt ideal. Shower was quite difficult to get the temperature right and there almost wasn't enough loo roll!

    Everything else was lovely and will definitely be coming back. Bed was fab

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole experience was delightful and made us fall in love with Whitby. We are definitely coming back and will recommend you heartily. It was a great treat to be upgraded to a larger apartment. We all have quite stressful jobs in confined locations so we found the spaciousness and light in the top floor rooms very relaxing. There were many lovely additional touches, the furnishings, lighting and room design was extremely pleasant. We left feeling much refreshed and grateful to you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we first arrived we where sent to a cottage which we didn’t book, as soon as we went in to the living room/kitchen it smelt old and damp, and the bedroom was cramped and old, i explained we had booked a apartment and the male receptionist quickly changed us to the available apartment across from reception. The apartment was very spacious and better than the cottage but did not look like the photos on the website. The kitchen cupboards and oven door would not shut, we had to hoover as there was crumbs all over the floor, the cutely was mucky, the shower door handle was hanging off. The poster on the wall said all windows needed to be shut for the heating to come on but this wasn’t possible as the window in the living room was broken and the gap at the top was making the room very cold. This apartment was unclean and not worth the money, i felt that we could not relax as I had to hoover as soon as we arrived, it was very cold both through the day and the night and the cutely/facilities made is feel like we could not eat in the apartment as they where mucky. My family come to whitby quite often as it is good for the dogs and i will not be recommending this accommodation the anyone and will not be visiting again.

    The young man at reception was helpful and the location was good but we did not enjoy our stay at your hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to find the place and directions not clear. Had to buy toilet roll(only 2 part rolls left) Crockery was not clean. TV remote not working. Having the bins emptied and coffee refilled would have been good

    Excellent location once we were settled. Bed was the comfiest I've been in ages

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole set up and how it was managed ,although we got upgraded which was good but still disappointed , on Hind sight I should have looked on trip adviser first !!

    The location was really good, on the sea front

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No self catering...apart from no self catering facilities, the room was clean and tidy. Getting into the apartment was not easy, the second entry door had to be done on your knees. Parking is a big problem at the accomodation, we were allocated a space a fair distance away..

    Room was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    fabulous location n one of the town houses, it was clean comfy and warm with clean towels etc, really like the keyless entry system which worked really well

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and room were poor tried to explain about refund for pets got no joy never use them again.

    Nothing about room very basic they took 40 pounds off me as they thought I was taking 2 dogs I didn't take any pets as room wouldnt have been adequate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We will stop here again because we know what to expect but the first stay was a bit confusing as we did not get there until 10pm and did not get a text until I rang you

    Sea view and close to amenities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially the room we were given was not up to the standard advertised on the website. We were very disappointed and there was a birds nest right outside our window which kept us up from 5am. Also the breakfast was very expensive and not great quality.

    We complained about the initial room we were in and were moved to a lovely one. Very spacious, airy and light. The private pool was great too, and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was unusable (either too hot or too cold). Shower floor was grimy. The swimming pool was dirty and the sauna we paid for was not turned on in time so we couldn't use it. Was not offered a refund.

    Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Getting a parking ticket because i had never used the scratchcard system before, i feel your receptionist should point out how to use them ( reg number )

    Could cook our own b/fast, the view, comfy bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The loft was really small. I had paid extra for better facilities & the kitchette was tiny just a fridge with a microwave on top a kettle & toaster which had to be plugged in separately. No sink or worktop & the bathroom sink wasn’t big enough to get the kettle under the tap let alone wash up! Only one glass & no bottle opener or tin opener!!

    The location decor & cleanliness were good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basement accommodation. Late booking in time of 3pm.

    Room immaculate. Everything seemed brand new. No key, just code. Kettle and hairdryer with tea coffee sugar and milk, which was a nice touch on arrival. We'll book again though Booking.com.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a fabulous stay the room the breakfast was great the only issue was the glass shelf in bathroom above the sink us too low you knock your head on it when brushing your teeth. But hey we had a great time will stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing even when said small room there was enough to be comfy

    Great location ease of entry plenty of parking nearby very clean free WiFi (be aware you use tv as hotspot and code in curtesy book did not work)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small, one of us had to get on the bed for the other to walk round the room. Room would also benefit with having a full length mirror in it. We.were there for the goth weekend and would have been good to check our outfits before going out.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Spacious apartment (was upgraded at no cost!), well furnished, beautiful bathroom,comfortable bed. Very friendly and efficient service at front desk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Discovery has several accomodations in the centre of Whitby. Our room (The Loft) was pretty small, but good for the price. Very central location in the centre of Whitby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Seaview Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was Ok. Customer services experience was ver poor.

    I like Whitby. Have stayed at a cottage or B&B on previous visits. Not interested in using Discovery again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Online messages unhelpful- I received 3 PIN numbers before arrival so didn't know which to use, plus 3 combination lock numbers to access the room, and had no idea where my room was until arriving at Silver Street HQ- nowhere to park. The room was modern and good, but the ensuite bathroom was unheated and cold. Consumables ran out during our stay. The wifi wasn't obtainable on the password given, I had to call for an engineer to visit to sort it out.

    Handy West cliff location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Living area was clean, but access for a disabled ♿ person was difficult being on the 2nd floor, they said that they didn't receive any info from booking. Com thought I had booked breakfast.. But at 07:15 they still where closed.. So I left..

    It was quite. Bit small as it was loft conversion, stairs where very narrow and getting in access codes are used but all doors are coded for access.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very random ,fridge with microwave on top next to bed ?,tv on wall were you couldn’t see it from the bed unless you lay upside down ,very random deco pictures sheets and quilt cover ,carpet colours etc and the toilet and kettle area was like a make shift Cabin in the room just didn’t look right Defo not what I seen on Booking.com photos we stayed at the royal

    Whitby

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The accommodation wasn't allocated till 3pm on the day of arrival so not knowing where the apartment would be made it slightly difficult to plan how to get about with an elderly gentleman who can't walk long distances. Having said that, we were made aware in advance that this would be the case. There are plenty of taxis about, so had no issues at all.

    I was a little worried prior to my arrival as I read the bad reviews. I was travelling with some friends, one of them being an elderly gentleman who's comfort was my first priority. Didn't need to check in as I received a door code via a text message and email, so before we even parked up I darted for the apartment to make sure all was ok. I didn't need to worry, the apartment was lovely, in a great location and with a beautiful sea view. The kitchen had everything we needed for a short stay and the apartment was big enough and comfortable. Had a great time in Whitby, would recommend the apartments. We stayed in Royal 2, at 5 Royal Crescent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower! Such a shame as it looked like the shower was newly fitted. A lovely double cubicle but the water flow was very poor. Getting the shower to the correct temperature was difficult too. The temperature fluctuated drastically whilst you were showering and the pressure was very low. The rest of the room was as expected, basic and functional but I think I decent shower is a must.

    Excellent location very close to the harbour. We chose automated check in which was really easy with an SMS sent at 3pm with full address and instructions on how to access the room. The room was very spacious with plenty of storage space and a good size bathroom. Wifi was very reliable too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sink in kitchenette, bed not very comfy, view overlooks back yards.

    Stayed with Discovery several times and never disappointed however, Seabreeze 8 although a nice room, supposedly has a kitchenette. Table top cooker, fridge etc but no sink! Only a tiny sink in bathroom so problems filling the kettle and washing up! Prime location, very clean as is always.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Seaview Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    How small the bedroom was, you had to walk sideways to get from one side to the other. Also we couldn't open the windows and it was very warm in the rooms, the top window which looked like it might open was too high for us to reach. The kitchen let the room down as it looked tired and dated and not very clean. The car parking was a pain, we purchased the scratch card,; please be aware that you must only scratch off the day you arrive, we scratched of both days on a 2 day ticket to find it made the scratch card void! No help when we complained and asked for this to be mentioned on purchasing; we were not the only ones who did this!! Thanks to a kind neighbour who helped us out, Terry and his friend, this could have cost us another £5.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish there was an option online to see your room before you book. First time I stayed with discovery the room was beautiful on John street. I then stayed in an annex called the rock pool. Room very small for two and a dog. Bathroom just needed a good bleach.

    Close to all amenities. And room very secure with keypad entry. The bedroom was very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in the highest floor which was hard work getting up the stairs.

    Nice apartment with everything you’d need for a short stay. Lots of space and nice en suite. Loads of dog friendly pubs and beaches in Whitby as it was April.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst thing was parking( got a parking ticket) while trying to find reception, paid £8 for 4 days parking ( some b& b's give for free) another bit of a pain was getting into the room there's 3 different key pads which sometimes didn't work straight away ( a bit dodgy at 2am! when you've been out on the beer.

    The room was quite centra to surrounding areas,all in all decent location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed. Awful. Lumpy and squeaking all the time when you moved.

    The place was clean but absolutely tiny. The bed was appalling as it was very lumpy and uncomfortable. The mattress is the cheapest you can get. I tossed and turned all night. Other the bed and the size of the room it was ok. We only stayed one night. It’s too small to stay any longer than that. The room was called Sandcastle.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: