Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. North Yorkshire B&B and inn reviews
  4. Whitby B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of Discovery Accommodation

Reviews of Discovery Accommodation This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

11 Silver Street, Whitby, YO21 3BX , United Kingdom

#86 of 93 B&Bs and inns in Whitby

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 3051 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    10
    Very relaxing and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing really

    The fact we were upgraded on arrival. I read some of the reviews and some said the rooms were very small, but the room we had was fabulous.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    10
    Location was brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a bad smell of drains the day we were leaving. We reported it to the office where the girl was very apologetic. This wouldn't put me off staying here again. Would definitely stay again

    Location was brilliant. The bed was very comfortable. Altogether we had a great time. Was great to have complimentary tea coffee and sugar.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2019

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay with relaxing place to rest up after a long day out sight seeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed in the apartment was amazing and the black out blinds really helped. It was very quite and will recommend this to other people. The private pool was an extra touch and very enjoyable.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2019

    7.5
    Good location, very quite away from traffic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed very uncomfortable, could feel the springs in the mattress, needs replacing. 3-4 blinds missing from window. Milk for tea/coffee was going off.

    Great Location

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    10
    Comfy cosy and homely and so dog friendly
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing all brilliant

    The room was clean the facilities near by would definitely recommend have stayed here before an that's why we've come back and close to all local amenties

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    5.4
    Meh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The showers are all on the same system so if you don’t get up early then you don’t get a hot shower till the tank has filled up again, later in the afternoon) the drainage in the showers is slow and you can only be in the shower for a minute before the floor of the shower is full and nearly overflowing, so you have to get out and wait for it to drain. Very impractical! We did eventually get upgraded, and managed To get a hot shower at 8pm!!!! In the mini apartment that I booked, yes their was a microwave, induction hob, and basic kitchen stuff, no sink though, and the bathroom sink was too small to get any thing in to wash up. This apartment is not in the bit with the pool, which through this website was not told to me!!! Book on the actual website for more perks and better info!!! The internet(Hotspot) only works when the tv is turned on....????? I had to cover the tv to watch a film on my tablet. The heating is on a thermostat on your account that you have to log on to control it.....again not informed and no instructions given of how!!! The receptionist on the Saturday, was not helpful, and very clearly stated it was my fault for using booking.com and not booking direct with them that I was miss informed in a very rude manner. Sunday receptionist, spot on and really helpful much appreciated.

    On the west cliff, sea breeze apartments. Plug sockets by bed. Mattress good and firm. No keys. Not bad places but pay extra for the sea view rooms are a lot bigger and comfy.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    7.5
    Easy check in and out.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very uncomfortable sofa, iron marks on living room carpet, very poor shower, tv signal intermittent and unreliable.

    Easy check in and out. Great advice re parking from the receptionist. Excellent WiFi.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    7.5
    Ideal location for what we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sofa was very uncomfortable, and the kitchen wasn't very clean. Spills down the wall where the table is. Sides were sticky. Bathroom floor was not clean. Fridge made a very odd noise.

    Size of the accommodation was brilliant.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    9.6
    Discovery rooms in Whitby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower was too hot couldn't adjust it was either red hot or freezing cold shame as it was a lovely large shower. Their was 2 spot lights above the bed one was smashed the other didn't work

    Heating in room was lovely location was ideal room was very inviting great price too

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    5.8
    Really enjoyed Whitby, there is better places to stay for around the same price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property was not in the main building. We were given a map and sent on our way, it took a while to find it as we were not familiar with the area. There were 5 empty parking bays at the property but you had to pay extra to park there.

    Comfy bed and cosy warm property.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2019

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Generally clean except the toilet - had marks on the seat that I easily managed to wipe off with a tissue - so unsure if cleaned or not. Also some mess in the toilet bowl. There were also a few marks on the plates in the kitchen that looked like they hadn’t been washed properly

    Great location. Handy facilities - kitchen area, fridge. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    6.7
    Overall disappointed, the outbuilding rooms need a little extra TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As this was our anniversary I chose what I thought was the best hotel from the pictures but was sadly disappointed We stayed across from discovery, on entry noticed the inch gap under door which at this time of year let the harsh cold in, I had to lay my coat on the floor against it to stop the draught, the room floor was very noisy when walking on, the heating was inadequate (tiny wall heater) due to the main door gap, quilt on the bed was too small, I had to purchase pyjarma's to keep warm overnight

    Shower was good

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2019

    3.8
    Decor was ok bigger area but we paid extra
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were really rude girl refused point blank to deal with any complaint said it was booking.coms issue not theirs, but when we arrived seemed the manager or owner was being really rude and abusive to someone down the phone he was complaining to that’s all we could hear as the lady was saying they had moved us to a different location , the door codes were a pain wasn’t where we booked bathroom window wouldn’t shut so it was freezing and as we had been moved out of the main place to say it means we had a 10mon walk if we wanted breakfast or use the facilities so we didn’t benefit from the breakfast and lounge area or the pool that was supposed to be in the place we booked we were a longer walk away from town. I would say the main place has been rated which is deceptive as the other places they are putting people won’t be the same star rating much less. So you are not getting what you pay for

    Decor was ok bigger area but we paid extra

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2019

    5.8
    Shed like room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Thought I'd booked a hotel,instead it was a very small shed like room,in a back street of Whitby.Parking was £10 per night,which in my opinion is outrageous.

    It was very clean.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2019

    9.6
    Perfect in every way. Highly recommended and will be visiting again in the future x
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing 😊

    The bed was fabulously comfortable, the swimming pool was a nice option to enjoy an hour on a raining day, the room was clean and perfectly fulfilled all of our needs. I wanted to be able to park my car on arrival and spend a few relaxing days with my daughter and that is exactly what I did. Thank you x

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2019

    10
    Seabreeze
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to dislike it was lovely.

    The room was lovely with self catering space it was very spacious aswell. Plus opened curtains in the morning to a lovely sea view.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2019

    8.3
    Big apartment, good location and value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Interior needs a massive update, the bathroom is very good but the rest is old fashioned and dated. especially the vile pine furniture that went out of fashion in the 90s. This beautiful building and rooms could be made to look amazing without spending much money, it just needs bringing up to date. Bathroom and kitchen really clean but let down slightly in other areas.

    There’s an awful lot of space for your money. This self contained apartment in an older building with high ceilings will suit some people far more than a small hotel room, there’s a lovely feeling of space.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2019

    6.3
    Could be the perfect apartment, but let down by many small things and a lack of attention to detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fridge froze all of our food. The kitchen had inadequate utensils. No teapot and cafetiere. No heating in the bathroom. Large bedroom but with small double bed. Dishwasher but no dishwasher tablets supplied.

    Perfectly sized little apartment. Good kitchen and 2 fair sized bedroom. Nice view from front windows.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    6.3
    Clean but disappointing accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very basic and tiny room, no heating, smoke alarm located over the kettle, the steam set smoke alarm off on Sunday morning which in turn activated the fire alarm system in the whole building. As its unstaffed this created a problem as we had to contact head quarters to switch it off. I'm sure this will have disturbed all the guests, not great on a Sunday morning if they were enjoying a lie in.

    Bed was comfy and room was clean.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2019

    10
    The property was in an ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property was in an ideal location. Very spacious. Was January when we went yet the heating made the property very warm. No complaints what so ever!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2019

    8.8
    Very satisfied overall and would use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staying in January and heaters struggled a little to keep rooms as warm as we would have liked.

    Really nice apartment, very roomy, clean and well appointed.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2019

    6.7
    good space
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy facilities e.g, heater, fridge/freezer Old fashioned Strange/scary location at night Window in bedroom feels unsafe (easily broken into as access from the floor Booking process was confusing, when booking it stated we could pay at the property and then after booking they took my money straight away. This was not expressed at the time of booking and was highly inconvenient, especially if i hadn’t had the money in my bank!

    good space

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2019

    5.8
    Whitby was great, the accommodation wasn't so great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small, wooden clad with dim lamps which made the room look dingy. The bed was lumpy and the bedding was dated and stained. The curtains were hanging off the pole and were very dirty. The accommodation is ready for updating.

    Room was warm and there was always hot water.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2019

    5.0
    We could not wait to come home!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a 2 bedroomed small apartment, we got a 4 bedroomed apartment that was really unclean and uncomfortable. The water was not hot enough for a bath and the place had a dirty smell about it. Everything was outdated. We would not recommend.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    5.8
    Bed was comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    ,cause went to reception then we had to walk about half mile to our room room was nothing like pictures we also just got codes 4 doors think we were the only 1s in buildingfelt like hostel

    Bed was comfy

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    10
    Lovely time definitely book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Coffee was bit 💪 strong 😊

    Staff very helpfull car broke down friendly staff gave me coffeee and water for dog while waited for break down truck. Would sort accommodation if needed another night very helpfull thanks

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2019

    7.1
    good position and spacious apartment, but don't visit thinking that you'll be cooking up a storm!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Seaview Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was described as a mini suite with catering facilities however the only cooking option (other than microwave and toaster) was a plug in hot plate. Didn't try it but had some toast on a couple of occasions. Main oddity was there is no sink to wash up dishes and cups, I presumed that the bathroom basin was to be used but its built in plug would not close to allow any depth of water

    comfortable room with sea views, well positioned for the local bars and restaurants, entry using key code pads so no keys to lose. lovely cafes and pubs / restaurants in a short walk so we made the most of our situation

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    9.6
    Free upgrade!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were no hooks in the bathroom to hang towels, nor a shower curtain so showers were a bit messy. Having to leave the TV on to serve as a WiFi hotspot is not really a solution.

    Free upgrade, had whole loft apartment to myself! Bed was very comfy, and had a nice kitchen to make all my meals.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2019

    10
    It was a comfortable, clean place to stay and being able to use the pool and sauna made it special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have liked more milk to go with the tea and coffee. The bedside lamps weren't working but we reported that the following day.

    Loved the pool and sauna. Loved the shower. Comfortable bed. Great location.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2019

    9.6
    The shower and bathroom in general was fantastic and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only problem was the size of the duvet, it could have been slightly bigger, but that’s just being nit picky and did not cause us to have any problems with sleeping

    The shower and bathroom in general was fantastic and the bedroom was brilliant

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2019

    6.7
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The carpets throughout the apartment were absolutely filthy. The chair and couch were the tub type that you would find in a lobby/waiting area, not comfy at all so impossible to chill on an evening, miss matched and also filthy. The apartment needs a few quid spending on it to bring it up to a decent standard. New carpets, matching furniture and a clean comfy sofa and maybe a tv in the bedroom would make all the difference. Hotel was up a very steep hill which could be a struggle.

    Reception lady was lovely. Breakfast was nice and set us up for the day. The location was ideal and close to everything. The view of the abbey from the living room was beautiful. Bed was comfy. Pool was nice.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    10
    Visited 11th-13th January, will definitely be returning one day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing i didn't like, we came in winter and expected it to be cold and windy... and it was

    Had a lovely 3 day break in Whitby for my partners birthday surprise, accommodation was lovely clean, easy parking, close to everything we wanted to do.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    7.9
    Worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One needs to check out the car parking facilities well in advance. I had to pay £8 which I feel is excessive.

    Great location. I got a free upgrade. Helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    8.3
    Great spot. Great place. Road access is tricky. Double check parking availability
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking. We thought that parking was included. It wasn't. Had to park across the road and pay parking meter for overnight parking; 8 pounds. No hooks in bathroom. Just a tiny towel rack. First world problem I know, but hooks in the bathroom make a big difference. Access road is very very narrow.

    The apartment was really roomy. It even had a Christmas tree. Really good view across to the Whitby Abbey.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    7.1
    The electric fire was inop in the living/kitchen area...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The electric fire was inop in the living/kitchen area the radiator was inop in the bedroom but they had left us a portable electric heater which we had to move from room to room .. the bed mattress was totally worn out and had lost it's shape .. the sides had collapsed.. not an impressive stay .. and they obviously knew about both items as house keeping could not have possibly not known ..

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    10
    Lovely and relaxing at a very reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only slight problem was the radiators didn’t heat the living room up that great but everything else was fantastic

    We both loved the modern shower it didn’t fluctuate in temperature once and the free wi fi was really good

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    5.0
    Not good would never book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WiFi, toilet and shower not blocked, window that opens. If there was a Fire in this building no means of escape also no lower ground exit. Very poor.

    Blocked toilet and shower , no free WiFi, no service fir phone at all. No washing up facilities yet stated to wash cups. Fire safety rubbish. In a lower ground apart clostrophbic. Window did not open. Fire display on wall not filled in

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    10
    Great location, very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Barking dogs next door for one of the nights was annoying. Luckily they didn’t stay long! Would have been good of the hotel to tell us parking in the certain local car parks is free in Whitby from October to March, rather than only mentioning their £10 a day option.

    Great location, very clean and comfortable. We were upgraded to an apartment and the space was excellent. Comfy beds, great shower.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    10
    Cosy and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking charges were unfair

    Lovely little apartment. Self sufficient, was like a home from home. Didn't see any staff but had all info we needed. Would recommend/ come again.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    10
    We loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No good for disabled ! Too hot in room

    Room in the loft initially too warm made an uncomfortable night but all in all we enjoyed our 1 night stay and will use again

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    6.7
    It was in Whitby and it was cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too hot when we first arrived. It was like a sauna! Window didn’t open very far, might need looking at Walls are paper thin so don’t expect a good nights sleep. Had tv noise and other noises keeping us awake until early hours

    It was in Whitby and it was cheap It was clean and perfect for a short stay

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    9.2
    Great value few days stay in Whitby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Key pad entry system may cause problems for some - worked well for us though.

    Great value for money. Exceeded expectations! Used the pool twice. Bed very comfy.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    2.5
    There were many reasons that this was an incredibly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were many reasons that this was an incredibly unpleasant experience during our stay at the Discovery hotel. Here are a few things: No hot water No WiFi, no telephone signal and only ITV on tv On the first morning someone walked into our room from the back door that leads to the street while my partner was getting changed. Obviously we were both startled and conferenced as to who this was and why it had happened. So we immediately flagged it to reception as we anticipated them to share the same level of concern, they didn’t. Turns out that this person was an employee of theirs and (directly quote) “your room is the quickest way for him to get into the hotel”. So he couldn’t have knocked before opening the door on us getting changed?! Naturally as a resulting this he embarrassed my partner and it simply ruined the rest of our stay. When I approached the customer service to highlighting all of these points and hoping for a sincere apology with some sort of compensation; I was basically told it’s my own that these things hadn’t happened and it was all out fault- basically they couldn’t be less helpful. Stay at the Bagdale, much better value for money!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    8.3
    A nice overnight stay in Whitby which worked well for us having only decided last minute to do it,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The website is clunky, particularly when viewing on a mobile. I would have preferred to know in advance where the property was and access etc as the text was late arriving and we didn’t know quite where we were meant to be so ended up having to go to the discovery reception. It would be more useful to have known a few hours in advance to be able to plan travel/ what part of Whitby to at least be in . Think people should also be made aware of free parking until March on West Cliff ( actually the difficultly of navigating your website stopped me paying for parking- maybe in hindsight you saved me cash!) Minor niggles though and as a last minute overnight break it worked well for us

    Location and bigger than I expected

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    6.3
    Okish
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not practical you have to walk miles from your car since no parking nearby with suitcases,child,dog. Didn't like having to disable car alarm since I wasn't even within 10 minutes walk of it should it go off. Also didn't like for the price not having a proper mattress on the bed,proper mattresses are cheap enough to buy leaves you achy. And two of the nights got woken in the night by people trying to get in with wrong code and the stupid voice of the code box constantly telling them wrong code and still they kept bleeping it trying to get into the wrong yard. Pluses are pool easy to book,clean and nice, cottage has a super cleaner well up to my standard,heating the best ever could just do with leaving bin bags and some basic essentials like scissors and fixing the lamps in every room not hard to buy spacers to stop them all wobbling.

    Clean cottage and great pool and private yard

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    6.7
    Location, warmth, facilities although old food and tissues...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    General grubiness around light sockets, remotes, Windows. Noisy fireplace and leaking shower head.

    Location, warmth, facilities although old food and tissues in cupboards..

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    4.6
    This was definitely not a deluxe apartment, very disappointed and would not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Microwave didn't work properly, living room window wouldn't close so heating on full all the time, mattress so old it was sunken in middle so 2 adults couldn't sleep in it comfortably, pillows stank, highchair broken, cot was so cheap it had a wooden slatted base with barely any padding so baby had to sleep in his pushchair instead (I paid to hire the cot & highchair), shower drain had no cover, toilet brush was brown and stinky, bedroom curtains falling off and couldn't close them, bedroom door wouldn't shut. I have looked back at the room pictures on booking.com and our apartment doesn't feature in any pictures, it looked nothing like the lovely apartments on there.

    Large clean living room, good location, nice entrance/hallway, quiet, well equipt kitchen, powerful shower

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    8.8
    Really enjoyed our stay- would stay again maybe in a larger room with a view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom could have been cleaner, the toilet wasn’t clean or the shower area- with shampoo bottles opened from previous guests.

    The convenience of the room and location. The facilities in the room, kettle, iron, dressing table and mirror. The room was nice and quiet- not disturbed by anyone. The heater in the room was also useful.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    8.8
    A comfortable place for a family getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some milk in the fridge on arrival so we could make a cup of tea without having to head out straight away.

    Nice to have a larger apartment than we were expecting. Comfortable beds and quiet even though close to town centre.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    8.3
    Would stay in Discovery acomodation again
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was inadequate. Shower was nice and roomy but only trickle from the showerhead. No water pressure. Not enough room around the toilet and sink.

    Very good location. Near to bars and seafront. Spotlessly clean. Can't comment on the breakfast because we didn't try it. Can't comment on the communication because I didn't make any enquiries, just looked at the photos.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    7.5
    Overall a really nice place to stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The heating didn’t turn off automatically for sleeping making the room a little hot. We didn’t get a sea view but instead the refuse area at the rear, which created a problem due to refuse collection at just after 6am....being very noisy and woke us up!

    It was good to be able to take our pet.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    4.6
    Disappointing,no prior information 're accomodation in different locations, no help from staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Accommodations all over Whitby and when booking for 4 couples an expectation of being together wasn't a lot to ask especially when it had been booked and paid for 12 months in advance.

    Nothing left a sour taste.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    3.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was dirty, cobwebs , toilet and the brush was filthy , kitchen worktops all sticky the bin stunk , light switches dirty ... very very poor The furnishing were uncomfortable and generally dated.. needs a refurbishment to make it worth £270 it cost

    The location

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    8.3
    This is our third stay and we will most definitely be back! Thanks for a brilliant few days!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Family Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    On our arrival we found several cigarette ends left on a wall right outside our front door by the previous occupant. This was mentioned to staff at reception who quickly had the mess cleaned up.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    9.6
    Lovely apartment "Pier" large, light and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have been better with a king size bed rather than a double. We've got used to a King size so found it a bit small. Also my husband found it wasn't long enough. He's 6' tall so not exceptional, and there was a footboard which stopped him lying out straight so he didn't sleep well.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    4.6
    Love Whitby but a proper b and b next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed under slopping roof. Very small. Unsafe stairway. No spindles just wobbly banister. No way out if there's a fire. Was told no parking available but saw at least 3 empty spaces all through our stay every time we went in and out.

    Location good

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing and very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hob took a very long time to warm up. Hairdryer didn’t work very well, would do with replacing.

    Polite staff. Accommodation had Kitchen, living room, bathroom and bedroom. Clean accommodation with good space. Comfortable bed and okay sofa. Very secure.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    8.0
    Fairly good room in good location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fairly good for the money the only problem was the bed was very uncomfortable and creaky, every time you moved it creaked and so did the one next door as we could hear that as well.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    6.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First of all this room was not what we paid for ,there was lard still left on the cutlery and the plates were filthy so I went out to buy washing up liquid so I could clean them,the tea towel stunk to high heaven and the bedding smelt filthy the pillows and mattress want changing I was really disappointed

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    7.5
    It was a lovely apartment, however it was not the property...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We received a message stating we had received a 'free upgrade', but the images we were provided when booking our stay showed a much larger and better looking apartment.

    It was a lovely apartment, however it was not the property which was advertised. Great location and easy check in/out.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    8.0
    Apart from the above it was really nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed wasn’t comfortable I asked for a lower floor room as my husband is disabled but we had 4 flights of stairs to climb I complained to the receptionist she said it was a computer error

    Plenty of cupboard and wardrobe space lovely bathroom

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    7.5
    Perfecto mundo
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Communication not good .could have lost 750 pounds on the press of a button,should not be allowed to happen.

    Spacious relaxing apartment with pool next door.brill

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    6.3
    Discover Whitby just not like this.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was not staying were we thought. Rang about parking told one thing paid for it then discovered directly outside it was free parking! And only a small thing but why no toilet roll? Also more codes and doors to get in than a bank!

    Location.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2018

    5.8
    tv , bed was ok wouldn't say it was a double.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walking 10 floors The cold shower (wouldn't get hot enough) The view Our room wasn't one in any of pictures so they use the best picture/rooms We never saw a member of staff We never saw a pool This room was overpriced tbh Great if you are alone avoid room 10! I wasnt walking down them steps every time i needed a cigarette !! No wonder people smoke in rooms!! The room was freezing when we arrived In all honesty i feel iv spent more than what it is worth do not let the pictures fool you :) oh we ended up with 2 towels as compo only good to dry the dogs with !!! So if i have learned anything from this its don't for a second think its whats advertised but i must say Whitby is a beautiful place and its what you make it thankyou

    tv , bed was ok wouldn't say it was a double. Bathroom was nice and shower if it worked The room was modern and clean

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2018

    4.2
    Nothing in the end.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds were uncomfortable and not made when we got there I had to get a manager out with bedding, it was noisy, dirty, uncomfortable and very basic. Poor value for money !

    Nothing in the end.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2018

    9.6
    It was very clean and modern and it was very warm and all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If anything we were down in the cellar and couldn’t see anything through windows but it wouldn’t put me off going again

    It was very clean and modern and it was very warm and all the staff were pleasant and helpful and in a very good location

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2018

    7.1
    Excellent place/ location/apartment. Extremely poor customer service re what was an essential item!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We intended spending the days out exploring and evenings in the accommodation chilling. Upon realising that the freesat box wasn’t working the first evening (no alternative viewing options!!) we addressed it with reception and they promised some attention. Upon returning to apartment second evening it had not been addressed or replaced. Hence both nights with no media available! Simply not good enough. Staff left at 1700hrs and it wasn’t deemed an emergency but totally spoilt what was a long awaited break away from the madness of every day life. Very disappointed. Highlighted our concerns upon departure and was met with a shrug! Poor!

    Great location and access.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2018

    10
    lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    bit confusing directions on map given by reception.

    lovely, clean, perfect location. very near local pubs restaurants. dog friendly. toaster kettle tea coffee etc all in room. very comfy bed.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2018

    10
    A super November break with no disappointments
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The manager / owner was able to sort out administration glitch with minimum fuss and to a high satisfaction. Brilliant location and Wi-fi. The weather was exceptional for the time of year.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2018

    10
    This was a much needed two night stay after a difficult month...we relaxed and enjoyed it so much...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The electric fire seemed to be under performing...but we snuggled up on the sofa so it didn't matter!!!

    The property was roomy.. Bed so comfy....Location was fabulous and the beaches great for dog walks. Lots to do locally and some great bars,restaurants. Was an excellent stay and the staff were so kind and helpful. We were only staying for 2 nights but relaxed and enjoyed every minute..Kitchen facilities were excellent.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    10
    Fabulous stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hard to get radiators on when wanted as was online but page did not load.

    We were upgraded which was a lovely surprise, great location and clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    7.5
    Location fantastic, facilities great but sleep was a seriously lacking commodity
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our two night stay had to be the worse nights sleep We have had in any hotel/ self catering accommodation. The mattress was far too springy, probably due to age, meaning that if myself or my husband moved in the night we both ended up waking up as we felt we were on board a ship. Everything moved. The duvet was far too small for the bed, it only just reached the sides of bed. Generally an uncomfortable two nights sleep. It was a relief that we are both fit and able because having to go down two flights of stairs to the loo in the night is not ideal. The particular apartment we stayed in was so creaky, it had a lot of wooden cladding whilst it looked and felt very homely, everything just creaked , again waking you up in the night of either one of us had to get up.

    The apartment was very clean, and spacious and had everything you could possibly need during your stay. It’s location was just a five minute walk, perfect for being in the centre of Whitby. The swimming pool was a wonderful bonus too. Having exclusive use was fantastic for just a small fee.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    5.4
    Ok but not fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stairs too many you should put this in the description would benefit from a lift or a small lift for luggage. Shower tray fills up when showering yes there is a note but being on the top floor I think the water would drain out very rapid! Although small cooking facility not so good washing pots on bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    5.8
    I was in Whitby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room could have done with a comfortable chair and a fridge. Also when booking I was lead to believe I was stopping on Silver street. Lastly trying to book the sauna was difficult.

    I was in Whitby. Room was warm and clean.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    5.4
    Accommodation adequate, just a little attention to detail would make it good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room very cold on arrival, heater turned off. Remote for TV required new batteries and only worked intermittently early in the stay and not at all at end of stay. Booking requested car parking space but this was ignored.

    TV and wi-fi were good as were instructions for key codes.

    Stayed in December 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: