Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Discovery Accommodation This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

11 Silver Street, Whitby, YO21 3BX , United Kingdom

#70 of 82 B&Bs and inns in Whitby

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 3174 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    5.4
    Not Worth The Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very Small Flat. £40 extra for 2 dogs when asked why so much advised Cos room needs a deeper clean next day. Our room however wasn’t clean chocolate on room floor and cork bottles on windowsill in bathroom. Filled bath up and no chain to let water out.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    6.7
    Enjoyed Whitby very much and a few minor improvements to the accommodation would have made it a wond
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    curtains were not hanging properly and looked shabby. The bathroom was very large but had nowhere to place your bathroom accessories. The shower had blocked drainage and you had to be very quick to avoid an overflow - this had obviously been pointed out before as there was a warning notice on the shower. Why couldn’t the drainage be unblocked? There was no sink in the living area and the kettle had to be filled in the bathroom sink. .

    Location excellent, room size excellent, parking good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    7.9
    Our two night stay at Discovery Accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not knowing where the accommodation was untill it was time to check in. Not having a choice of room ie sea view and floor level.

    Security coded doors. Nice and clean. Very roomy apartment.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    7.5
    Excellent had the best time in Whitby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little small for us but suited our purpose and by the end of our stay I loved our little cottage

    Very compact with everything you need. Bed was comfortable and access to the harbour only 5 mins away. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Easy check in no messing with keys. Need to book parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    9.6
    Super clean - location was perfect- loved the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WiFi sucks- is almost nonexistent- If you need WiFi don’t stay here. If you don’t need WiFi- it’s the best!!!

    Super clean - location was perfect- loved the stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    2.9
    Discovering a disaster!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What can I say, cheap furniture, dirty sheets and duvet cover had not been changed, slept on towels they were clean at least very down market would never ever stay here again thank goodness for good weather so we spent as little time as possible in our room, did not want an argument while we were there as it was my birthday so we made the best of a poor situation the rooms need new furniture, painting and cleaning properly the chair cushion was covered in dog hairs terrible visit!!!

    We did not like anything at all only good thing was location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    8.3
    needed some improvements, otherwise, a pleasant holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The kitchen was tired, needed new work tops, duvet cover wouldn't fasten properly, lots of stairs to climb, windows could do with a good clean, as covered in seagull poop.

    Bed was comfy, lovely views from the windows, plenty of space for clothes

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    4.2
    Close to whitby centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were tiny, barely bigger than the double bed and were completely clad in wood. Like sleeping in a sauna. Parking was horriffic

    Close to whitby centre

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    10
    Excellent all round
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to dislike

    The property is kept in good clean condition. Fairly close to the beach about 1.5 miles. Parking nearby at £7.50 for 24 hours or over night 18.00 to 8 in the morning £4. Staff are all very pleasant and helpful. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    8.3
    Worth a go
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too much IT for my liking. When enquiring about booking the pool, the lady on reception gave us the option of using their computer or or own equipment in spite of the fact that she was able from her PC to see which slots were available! We were sent a txt message with PIN numbers to gain access to our accommodation - do they not want 60 plus customers? Fortunately, we were up to the job but this level of IT must be causing them hassle.

    Great location and quirky split level mini-suite

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    3.8
    Careful where you stay in Whitby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I left after one day .it wasn't what I was led to expect. The main hallway smelt really bad .the toilet rocked from side to side .the hand basin leaked .my view was on bins .facilities very poor .couldn't stop another night .when I booked out early .Receptionist didn't ask why .horrible experience

    Loved whitby. Will go again. Just refuse to stop in a place like that .I ruined the whole experience of a beautiful place. Not happy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    7.5
    Love whitby, might try other properties though next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room felt damp there did not seem to be any ventilation. When we had a shower the steam appeared to go into the room. even our clothes felt damp. We opened the window but could not leave it on the latch to let the steam out of the room due to it being on a busy street. The room did not feel like the cleaner had taken care when cleaning certain parts or the room. For instance the tea and coffee tray. Under the bed.

    I liked that we were near the venue where we were going.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    8.8
    Loved Whitby,beautiful scenery, great seafood !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I looked on the website , the rooms looked spacious and had nice views. When we got to our accommodation we were a little disappointed that it was very tiny and a basement room with no view which we were not aware of when booking. It was not terribly cheap but we may have paid a bit more for a better view and more room. Having said that, that may have been all that was available.

    We found it quite handy to the beach and a lovely walk into town. Parking was available near by. It was clean and fresh with nice furnishings.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    6.7
    Had a great holiday. We will be going back to Whitby, but I would not book discovery accommodation.a
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Swimming pool disappointing as only 1 metre in depth . Carpets were dirty and stained. The apartment was overpriced in my view.

    we had a good holiday as the location, weather and Whitby was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    6.3
    Location and cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We are 67 years of age and i understand they were not aware of this however tell the client they are in an attic with three steps of very steep stairs. We are doing a very long trip so have a large suitcase that we could not take up the stairs. There was a tiny window and itvwss extremely hot with no air flow. Very disappointing. Alse should tell people about the parking situation.

    Location and cleanliness

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    10
    affordable bliss
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    small error on tap position, the kettle does not go under so you need a small bowl to bail water in, also cannot get hands under tap to rinse.

    no fuss modern set up, all on code locks with "smart" access and heating control. lovely location, with sea breeze and view of harbor. Unexpected luxury of a fridge and microwave made it feel like a European apartment. Double ended bath allowed us to try out a locally made bath bomb with open windows and seaside sounds, bliss! The beach, accessible even at high water, has flat sand and rolling surf.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    2.9
    If we could have got in somewhere else we would have done. Smell was very unpleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom smelt terrible, smell from drains maybe but there was no fan or window. Someone came in to spray room with air fresh so must be aware of the smell. Parking wasn't arranged as requested and staff didn't attempt to get us any even though parks on property weren't used. Discovery offices hard to find. Room was very small . Reminded us of student digs. Did not enjoy our stay.

    The towels were the only redeeming thing that was positive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    7.9
    Location of the room was great and Nial fr9m the laundry was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The door codes are a good idea it saves the hassle of keys. However 3 different codes some with more than 4 numbers can’t be memorised easily so you either have to write them down or keep having to read the txt on your phone, less numbers on the inner doors would make it easier.

    Location of the room was great and Nial fr9m the laundry was most helpful in taking us from the car parking area to the hotel, it was much appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    10
    Absolutely brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing !!!!

    We didn't have breakfast we wanted to be up and out. likewise we never used the swimming pool as we were only there 2 nights and the weather was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    5.8
    Whitby and position of property handy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needless stress in the months prior to staying after we inadvertently booked 2 rooms and tried to cancel one. Hoped commonsense would prevail, it didn't and T&C were quoted. In May they agreed to my request to try and re-sell one but right up to staying in July communication was lacking. In the end we advised that we'd keep both and just treat my parents. On the morning we left both bookings were on the booking.com site however we arrived to discover one of the rooms had been re-sold (though we'd not been informed or indeed credited). Fortunately the reception was still open and the lady there couldn't have been more helpful, saved the day by providing an alternative. It all turned out alright in the end but it was an awful experience. I can only surmise that Whitby's a place where you don't have to rely on repeat business, what a shame.

    Whitby and position of property handy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Two things. The double beds mattress protector was disgusting dirty. Only noticed on last morning. Needs throwing away, too dirty to clean! Seagulls make a lot of noise at 4am each morning!

    Location. Ease of coming and going with number pads on doors. Like the room and facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    9.0
    We had a very relaxing time discovering the small shops, and the excellent restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no shelves in the shower unit, one had to put soap /shower gel/ shampoo on the floor.

    The situation was perfect for discovering the town, the staff in the hotel were very helpful and polite. Finding the hotel rooms was quite difficult, not signed well at all!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    7.5
    Little things spoilt it - but overall it was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were woken up 6 times in the night due to an alarm going off - my husband thought it had something to do with the keyless entry, batteries due to run out .... etc. Also seagulls extremely annoying!!!! Shutter on the window took a great deal of persuasion to work & couldn't operate the tv.

    The overall impression was really good, shower was excellent, very compact and bijou! Good value for money, the view wasn't impressive - rather like a tenement block - but hey we were only there to sleep!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    6.3
    Provided you want late nights and early mornings fine. Otherwise ask for alternative accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walls bed and staircase etc outside and inside room all wood faced so very squeaky and noisy. Could hear every word neighbours said.

    Close to town centre. We had good view of abbey although not all did

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    10
    dont look at the outside of the property inside was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    dont look at the outside of the property inside was excellent was very clean the bed was very comfortable and the shower was brill right near the sea would stop there again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    4.6
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Seaview Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cuttlery dirty, big crack in one plate, poor for self catering, not even 2 wine glasses, tap wobbly at sink Bathroom very cramped Would not stay again

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    7.1
    A true taste of Whitby
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Real shame the kitchen was badly equipped. Flat is for four people but it had only three wine glasses and two tumblers. Cooker was old and oven had no racks in it. It would not take much or cost much to put right. WiFi is really weak and not worth using as it kept going in and out.

    Flat was right in the heart of town. Loved the views from the apartment’s Belize Windows. Was small but cute.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    10
    Amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only fault would be the room we stayed in was in the basement which was a little off putting, but as we were only sleeping there we saw past this.

    We stayed at Sea Breeze which is located on the sea front. Short walk to town with some amazing views on the way down. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    7.1
    Not bad but not exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room resembles a sauna as the walls, ceiling and doors are clad in pine. You can hear the neighbours and the stairs and floors creak when people move about. They provided a few packets of tea and coffee so they should also provide a little milk.

    Although the bedroom is small, the bathroom is of an adequate size and clean and the view was pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    10
    We had a great few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice spacious apartment with all mod cons. TV didn't work when we arrived but they were around in no time to fix it. My partner who walks with a stick was particularly grateful for the single person lift to the top floor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too small was told it was a sea view and it was not it was a tiny back window The small area between the two doors was very smelly No sink in kitchen area only a tiny sink in the bathroom with a toilet in to wash dishes and get drinking water

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    6.3
    Good location, clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s just houses with rooms rented out. We had to climb to the third floor to get to our room. We didn’t mind the stairs until we got to the last bit which curved and narrowed. This made it difficult to get our bags up and felt a bit precarious getting up and down the stairs even when we did not have our bags. The shower was also not draining during our stay. The bed was a bit uncomfortable (could feel the springs).

    Good location, clean room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    5.4
    Great location, disappointing room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accommodation we were given looked like student lodgings, not the bright, modern rooms they have pictured on Booking.com. There was no bathroom light, which we didn't discover until we came back late. No staff are available after 5pm and nobody answers the 'emergency' phone line after 8pm, so we weren't impressed. General cleanliness leaves a bit to be desired - the sofa coverings had stains all over them.

    Couldn't fault the location, we were right in the centre of Whitby with everything we wanted on our doorstep. Very easy to find.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable clean room ok view cheap accommodation really nice for the price will definitely book a
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There could have been a chair and more coat hangers the pillows were hard but ok it said there were CD players in the rooms but we had 6 rooms and none of them did. The seagull loft - aptly named!! And the rockpool were small rooms.

    My room COOK was spacious and comfortable. the kettle and tv were new the bed was lovely. The bathroom was huge as was the shower. Didn't use the WiFi or reception so can't comment on those. There was an iron and hairdryer. The beach house had a shower and Jacuzzi bath the seabreeze had patio doors a wall view and an amazing shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    3.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Seaview Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small bedroom, tiny entrance to shower and extremely noisy. Had to check out early and find alternative accommodation. I’ve repeatedly contacted the accommodation provider and logged two complaints via booking app. Discovery denied receiving these and completely dismissed the complaint. Never again!

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    7.5
    Town House No1 (painted blue)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very slow drainage from the shower and basins, when this is addressed there wouldn’t be a minus review of the apartment. No good for anyone with poor mobility as it has quite a few stairs to climb.

    Lovely and airy, a big plus is the ability to have your own food in the apartment ie:- Fridge, kettle, microwave, crockery and cutlery. Also an iron and small board and a hair drier, towels and toiletries. Tv and WiFi. Modern, well planned out and loads of built in storage space.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    3.3
    Didn't stay in the room long at all as very disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms provided to us were not the rooms advertised on the website.be aware of what your booking and the location isn't where it said it was on the website. More detailed information needed as was a disappointment on arrival. And the room wasn't the cleanest either. Dirty tea cup stains on bedside tables and bleached stained bedding . The location on the website says 0.3 miles to town centre. But on arrival our apartments are 0.8 miles away this more than double the distance. And was told by the receptionist in so many words. This is because you paid for the cheapest rooms!!! WONT be staying here again n wouldn't recommend to others.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    10
    Comfortable apartment which made our stay very enjoyable, would definitely book here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We would have appreciated a non slip mat in the shower.

    The apartment was clean, attractively decorated and very comfortable. We had a door code rather than a key which meant we could come and go separately, and no key to lose! Nice roomy shower, and plenty of storage in the bedroom. Breakfast was very good also, and the staff really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Luke warm shower Thin walls - easy to hear neighbours, but not an issue during our stay

    Great location Easy check in/out Comfortable bed Good facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    10
    Location nice and quiet. But close enough too everything within a short walk value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Have too be honest wasn’t keen on the codes on the doors cos on a good night out I think ide be locked out lol

    The location was close too everything Nice and clean. Very beautiful bath. Comfy bed staff very polite. Excellent value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous location, room was very clean and bigger than...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very small niggle, they provide plates and cups but nothing to clean them with.

    Fabulous location, room was very clean and bigger than expected. The bathroom was a good size.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    5.8
    Nice room and bathroom ,just the self catering facilities were not really acceptable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nice room ,albeit in the attic so stairs to climb ,supposed to be self catering ,only microwave and toaster and you had to wash plates and mugs in bathroom basin which was no dish style so you struggled to wash them properly.The kettle you had to fill from the bath at arms stretch because that would not fit under basin.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    5.4
    Whitby great. Discovery managed to spoil it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was not where we booked in. It was a good 5-10 minute walk away and all up hill. The 2 minutes suggested was a drive. The room only had 1 cup in it and due to the walk was not worth going back to reception. The room was 4 flights up with narrow stairs. The bed was not big enough for 2 people. Checking out at 10:00am is ridiculous.

    The view was exceptional, though not expected.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    5.0
    Will not be booking again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Electronic beeping through night. No apology from staff when I reported this. Accommodation remote from reception, no instructions as to what to do if there was a problem. Fire notice not filled in. No WiFi password. Did not know where accommodation was located until check-in time.

    Good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    9.0
    Mixed feelings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Told there would be a lift, not told you had to get a key from the office which closed at 5pm, as a person that had problems walking and doing stairs not very good. Bed sheets were stained. No cleaner to make beds, empty bins or clean bathroom

    Large accommodation in a prime location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    7.1
    Both pros and cons but for the price we paid not bad at all just a few things could have been avoide
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mess up with a double booking and not getting money back for second booking, once second booking was cancelled, the wrong booking was cancelled.

    The central location was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    9.6
    Great price and facilities for Whitby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to dislike.The big bathroom had plenty of room for a bath so perhaps that could be considered.

    Big, comfortable room with all we needed. Very useful kitchenette for making breakfast and snacks.Don't be put off by parking as there are 3 hourly disc parking zones along West Cliff and plenty of free places after 7p.m.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money and quality. Great for families!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only downside was I am a single parent and had a toddler in a pushchair with me, and struggled with the stairs, luggage and baby in pushchair to the accommodation itself and then to the room. Ideally requires a lift or pram storage area on ground level. Wouldn't be suitable for disabled guests.

    Excellent accommodation, ideal for families. Lovely clean rooms, I will go again! The only downside was I am a single parent and had a toddler in a pushchair with me, and struggled with the stairs, luggage and baby in pushchair to the accommodation itself and then to the room. Ideally requires a lift or pram storage area on ground level. Wouldn't be suitable for disabled guests.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    4.2
    groups dont get accomadated together
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i booked 6 rooms and was told i was in the discovery accomadation, nothing was said about discovery is the company name and they own lots of properties around whitby so my party were split up into 2 compleat different areas of whitby when there is many properties closer to each other, myself was in the seabreeze room 3 looking out onto a wall as the room was in the basement, i couldnt contact the rest of the party unless i went outside the hotel as i had no phone reception on the lower floor, there also is not 1 single photo on booking.com or on discovery website of the seabreeze rooms on the lower floor, every bed was a small double, not good when theres 2 males sleeping in 1 room, this was a weekend away for my 50th birthday and i was in a room away from my party, i wish id have paid more money and booked elsewere

    the propertys were clean and modern

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    8.3
    Nice place, resonably priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Confusing locations. Kitchen area without sink.

    Recently stayed in Discovery Accommodation for 2 nights. The most confusing is that this accommodation has few buildings in different places. You might get a room in completely different location than the main reception which has pool and sauna (open only 10am-4pm unfortunelty). We got room 5min walk from it. On top of the hill near Whale Bones. So excellent place. Room was very clean with nice bathroom and small kitchen area. Bed was comfy. Access to building and room with special pin code you receive by text. Price was reasonable with some discount from booking.com It's a good place to stay especially when you don't want to spend lots of money but you like neat and clean accommodation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The code to get into the inner door, given at the start of our trip was wrong.

    Me and my partner went for a couple of nights to the coast! The apartment was a couple of minutes walk to the beach and in walking distance from everywhere. Room was very cosy and clean. Staff were very helpful and we had a fantastic stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    5.8
    Room smelt of cigarettes and damp and bathroom smelt of poo, no extractor or window
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelt damp and of cigarettes and the bathroom had no window or fan and smelt of poo. The reception and facilities were 5 minutes walk in another building which I didnt like

    The room was clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    5.8
    Meh
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    2 flights of stairs with a buggy 1 being fire stairs The stag do that we’re allowed to stay above a family room banging tables and singing until 3am Needs an update looking tired, grubby carpets, thin stained curtains, mattress very uncomfortable Wouldn’t recommend for more than 1 night

    Location and staff friendly facilities okish for price as rooms spacious

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    7.5
    Only slight annoyance was that I couldn't arrange /...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only slight annoyance was that I couldn't arrange / allocate rooms until arrival which was very messy as I'd booked 8 rooms and all arriving at different times. 2 people arriving for 2nd night only never got their proper rooms and had to bunk in with others!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    7.5
    Was a nice break. Lovely we could take our dog. Would book again but on a lower floor.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    On next to top floor which is loads of stairs, should be mentioned, I have arithris in both knees it was difficult.

    Room was nice and clean and bathroom very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    6.0
    Not recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room we stayed in was outdated. Bathroom was moldy and was smelling like drain. Because of the drain smell there was a really strong freshener in the bathroom and the smell of it was all over the tiny en-suite.

    The location was nice and quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    9.6
    A lovely room an ace power shower and a comfy bed so ad a great sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didnt expect the walk to room from main reception gave a map to find it, would of liked it nearer reception as this was closer to centre of whitby, it didnt explain this well when booking.

    Room was very modern all to highest standard, bed was very comfy. Went to main reception for breakfast £7.00 it was nice but only one person cooking all food which meant a bit of a wait for it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    8.8
    Great Value for the Money, some rooms have issues with sound from outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When other rooms used their shower, our shower drain made a funny noise.

    Very good value for money, easy booking in system(If you have your phone). Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    6.3
    Sister break to whitby
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wasnt clean no fire escape and wouldnt be safe on top floor if a fire broke out couldnt work key lock on front door and was told we would have to wait pouring down at time

    Central location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    6.7
    Room clean, comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That the parking facilities were not available. For the 2 nights stay. There was spaces at the hotel which was annoying but told they were not available. Had to park in Pay & Display which each morning we had to go put ticket on car, not happy that we had to get up at 7.30am to do this.

    Room clean, comfy bed. Drinks available in room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    6.5
    The location was great, the hotel looked to have been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was in the basement and damp. There was a few stains on the sheets.

    The location was great, the hotel looked to have been recently renovated. Easy check in and out, no need to go to reception at all. Codes sent via email and text to access the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    10
    The room was very tidy clean and very modern with all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only downside I felt was it was in the basement and no instructions re getting out if there was a fire in place on the sign also a bit claustrophobic in the basement too only because I am a bit panicky of spaces . only thing which we didnt like was the UHT milk which was a bit yucch by the time we used it so no coffee at all .

    The room was very tidy clean and very modern with all amenities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    5.8
    Nearly there but not quite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Usual hard bed and lumpy pillows.Crumbs on table dust above bed.Pricy for standard offered.TV too small .Not suitable if staying in for a night

    Good location with limited sea view and quiet.Shower great.Moden room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    6.7
    These are apartments across the town, not a htel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I thought I'd booked an apartment within a 4* hotel. Was a little disappointed but it didn't spoil our stay.

    Great apartment, great view, had everything we wanted

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    10
    Will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was charged double for car parking when booking. Rang up and staff unhelpful. Emailed and no reply. On day of arrival a staff member excellent and sorted it. Money back in my account.

    Great value for money, clean, wifi, fairly central.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    7.9
    Great for a short stay in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parts of the property could use some renovation but overall was great value for money

    Location was good, size of room was better than expected and equipment was adequate

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    7.5
    In this accommodation good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having booked two separate rooms for both my son's I expected the same property but unfortunately this didn't happen one accommodation was good the other very poor and on one wanted to take responsibility for the issues

    It was OK

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    10
    Very good, relaxing time accomodation was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking but this was not the fault of the hotel and any guest houses hotels in that area have the same issues

    Easy check in was good didn't need to go to the main reception. The accomadation seems to have been recently decorated and carpeted and the room and on suite was very clean and had everting we needed for our overnight stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    7.1
    Whitby disappoints.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was tiny and at the top of a long flight of increasingly narrow stairs. Off site manager complicates checkin, especially as parking was scarce. Car parking proved to be the worst I have ever experienced, despite the fact our accommodation came with a parking voucher. No breakfast provided at the premises.

    Fairly central location. The tiny room was well appointed and clean. Checkin staff were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds could of been more comfy and less squeaky. There was a lot of condensation in a morning not sure if our cottage would be warm enough in winter

    Private use of the swimming pool. The size of the accommodation was good especially in star fish cottage. The staff were lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    2.9
    Awful,dissapointing,love whitby,hate discovery
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was advertised as an ensuite!! Was like a hostel/bedsit with no sink/oven or half the things advertised,it looked nothing like the pictures and the bedding smelt and was unironed i would like to make a proper complaint,was meant to be our honeymoon,the view and facilities were dismall got a long list written down as well

    The way it looked on booking.com!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    8.3
    Would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in was a little bit disjointed.

    You have to check into a different building than where the rooms are and there are lots of different buildings but they give you a map to find your building, you then get sent a text message with lots of different codes for the building your going to as they are not manned by staff so as long as you have a phone this is okay. Rooms are spacious and clean and all seem to be in a good location. Never saw the pool or sauna but there is a added £3pp for each of these. Good price for an overnight stay in Whitby:) also check out is easy as there are no keys to hand back in so you can literally just leave :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    8.0
    Enjoyable. Whitby is one of our favourite resorts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really. Just more storage and hanging space. Otherwise,bed comfy and very clean.

    Didn't eat your food. Met family for meals. Bathroom needed hooks or space for clothes. Everything had to go on floor!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    7.5
    Everything was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room wasn't cleaned at all during our 2 night stay. It wasn't a problem as we were hardly there however we thought that usually the beds are made and bathroom cleaned during your stay.

    Everything was fine. We didn't have breakfast so cannot comment on that - although if we had, wouldn't have been keen on the 5 minute walk to get to it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    4.2
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room and it's situation.

    Room cramped and noisy. Very dark with pine cladding on walls and ceiling. Could hear everything from all adjoining rooms. The room

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: