Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Distant Hills Guest House 4 stars

Roy Bridge Road, Spean Bridge, PH34 4EU, United Kingdom

Review score

Based on 71 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Luxurious stay while walking East Highland Way
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower a bit small and powerless.

    Modern, bright, clean room. Drying facilities. Awesome breakfast - lots of choice for cooked and continental - all homemade. Nice location, plenty of places to eat nearby. Plenty parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    We liked everything about it, the breakfasts were amazing,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    We liked everything about it, the breakfasts were amazing, especially liked the porridge with cream, the home made bread and the home made muffins. The bedroom was very comfortable with nice touches. It was an amazing place to stay and we were sorry to leave.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    We had a wonderful time and Distant Hills added to our memories during a tour of Scotland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distant Hills is a fantastic place to say. The hospitality was amazing and the breakfasts were to die for. I have no hesitations in highly recommending it for anyone wanting accommodation in the area. Excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.6
    We arrived late due to a road accident which closed the A82...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We felt that an additional charge of £12.50pp for breakfast was not good value for money, so we did not take up the offer. Our hosts were very relaxed about it I hasten to add.

    We arrived late due to a road accident which closed the A82 for a few hours. Our hosts were accommodating and understanding and did their best to arrange for us to have dinner at a local restaurant. Very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Amazing host and charming guesthouse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The room was very clean and it was very nice to have a private bathroom. The host waited up for us when we checked in late and the breakfast was AMAZING. There were lots of little goodies in the room for us to use and the beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    Excellent place to stay would thoroughly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The friendliness of the staff was exceptional and they were very attentive and interested in why we were there. The breakfast options were great and we were offered additional choices following discussion.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.5
    Gorgeous surroundings!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls are thin so you do hear people talking, walking around.

    Wonderful hosts, fantastic surroundings. If you like hikes / nature walks, there is loads for you to do around.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    10
    Distant Hills great place to stay, unwind and see the highlands.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    stay was too short, as it was early November a lot of places to eat had closed for the winter. But in saying that the owners had texted us informing us of this situation a few weeks in advance. Giving us a chance to change our plans. which we were very glad we didn't.

    very comfortable, clean with welcoming thoughtful owners. good location, with great views close by.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    10
    Outside wet and windy - Inside warm, clean and cosy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all perfect. No complaints at all.

    It was not a problem with the owner that we arrived later than expected. He gave us a very warm welcome. The property was very cosy on a damp, windy day. The rooms were furnished and decorated to a very high standard and exceeded our expectations for the price. The owner helped us with weather reports for the region, for our climb of Ben Nevis the following day. We would recommend Distant Hills Guest House to anyone wanting a comfy, immaculate base to explore Fort William and the surrounding areas.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    10
    Fantastic wished we could have stayed a bit longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Keep up the good work you are doing a great job.

    Beds comfy room and décor excellent breakfast fantastic Ron loved the porridge especially. Good for parking the car off road.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    10
    Stay here! It is wonderful and charming. The hosts are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved this place.

    Peter and Lesley were amazing. They made us feel welcome right off the bat. They are very attentive. The room was great. Peter and Lesley made up a binder of things to do and will print out anything you want. The breakfast was outstanding. They provide a menu and you get to choose what you want. The food was fabulous.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    7.5
    Not worth the price-tag.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and had an (septic-like?) odour wafting through. The wifi required constant re-connection (through a Facebook link) and wasn't very fast. The town is busy, the roads are busy and walking around is loud and somewhat unsettling (as lorries roar past just metres from the footpath). We were stuck in traffic in Fort William for 7.5 hours - this has nothing to do with the Hotel - but it may be worth considering as there is only one road in and out of town and according to locals, traffic issues are becoming more common.

    Peter and Lesley were lovely hosts, providing a lovely check-in and easy check-out. The room was very clean and the housekeeping service, excellent. The compendium is very well-thought with useful local information. The stay was remarkably quiet given the roadside location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    9.6
    Friendly welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The friendliness and helpfulness of the owners. The cleanliness and comfort of the rooms and the lovely guest sitting room. The breakfast too was delicious and although a little expensive, it was generous and filled us up for the day.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Lovely guest house, home-made breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fresh breakfast with home-made ingredients

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Super comfortable room decorated with much detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Super comfortable room decorated with much detail. Very cozy house. Very tasty breakfast prepared with fresh products every morning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.6
    Good enough to recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot!

    Local ingredients for breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.5
    Left before breakfast was served
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Left before breakfast was served

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    Peaceful retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Quietness, unhurried pace. Leslie and Peter were wonderful hosts. Breakfast was great and generous .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.9
    beautiful location, friendly bed and breakfast, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no complaints

    beautiful location, friendly bed and breakfast, very relaxing and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    The presentation and food was impeccable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Nice, very expensive

    The presentation and food was impeccable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Spean Bridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This place is totally fabulous. Amazing attention to detail. Wonderful breakfast. Peter and Lesley were lovely

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    Great breakfast;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great breakfast; awesome host!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Great place to get away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcoming and friendly owners, great location and lovely rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful breakfasts and friendliness of owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderful breakfasts and friendliness of owners. Lovely to look out on the garden from our room window.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.5
    Tried to drop luggage off but wasn't allowed to do so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tried to drop luggage off but wasn't allowed to do so until 4pm. Also had to check out by 1030. Zero flexibility.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent breakfast! Very cosy place

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    9.2
    You won't find friendlier!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly and welcoming and made our trip feel extra special

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    10
    Lovely guest house & fantastic breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely guest house & fantastic breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    10
    Great hosts did many things to be of assistance nothing was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hosts did many things to be of assistance nothing was too much trouble .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    10
    Nothing to complain about
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Friendly hosts, excellent breakfast, clean rooms, everything there we could wish for.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    9.2
    Every aspect of this booking screamed Quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    with breakfast the cost of £104 seems a little over the top. Every opportunity to make a little extra seems to have been taken. e.g. £7 for a packed lunch of a sandwich, a soft drink a packet of crisps and a biscuit, and an additional £5 per head should you want to use the dining room to eat your "takeaway" seems a shade on the greedy side. I missed out a piece of fruit from the packed lunch.

    Every aspect of this booking screamed Quality. The welcome, the décor and furnishings, shower, the beds, the information on local eating places, the Wi-Fi the breakfast, and the tableware, all first class.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    10
    This Guesthouse is a gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This Guesthouse is a gem. Everything was perfect. The hosts were very helpful and considerate. The garden and mountain views provided a pleasant place to sit and relax. Breakfast was excellent. The guest lounge was also comfortable and spacious. We would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    10
    A clean and welcoming atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although the breakfast was excellent, it could be made more affordable.

    A clean and welcoming atmosphere. The bedrooms had a good design and facilities.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    10
    I stayed here with my boyfriend one week ago.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I stayed here with my boyfriend one week ago. It was only for one night, but we had a great stay. Very friendly owners, lovely rooms, nice quite location close to practically everything such as Fort William, Glencoe and Loch Ness. I can definitely recommend to stay at this sweet place in Spean Bridge.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    10
    The twin room is lovely with stylish decoration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The twin room is lovely with stylish decoration. We like the sitting room and backyard the most, take some time for photo-shooting :) A detailed introduction was provided in a folder, could get whatever you want to know about the B&B and surrounding areas! Very thoughtful! Although we didn't have breakfast in the B&B, Peter did recommend a good place for us for breakfast. Thanks very much!

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    9.2
    Brilliant location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only issue was slow WiFi for business use, everything else great.

    Brilliant location Friendly professional host Great breakfast Clean and modern room Spieth Bridge is a lovely village with some great places to eat

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    8.3
    location, nice area, lounge, wifi speed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the place was overly clean. we had a little accident with a can of beer spraying drops. we had to pay a cleaning/damage fee of 50 pounds for that. The bed was very hard and not comfortable.

    location, nice area, lounge, wifi speed

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    10
    We showed up almost four hours later than we'd said,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For what it is, I couldn't pick a fault with this accommodation.

    We showed up almost four hours later than we'd said, without making any contact (outwith our control, we're stuck up Ben Nevis with no signal) and Peter couldn't have been nicer or more helpful when we met him.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    10
    Perfect as always!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect as always! Lovely room, great breakfast. Peter and Lesley are very welcoming and helpful, they suggested places to visit and even lent us a road map for our trip. This was our second stay and our best B&B experience in Scotland!

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    7.5
    Located at the door of Spean Bridge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room and bathroom are quite small. Heater is hard to tune to a satisfied temperature. Welcome chocolate milk is not good. Breakfast not included and too expensive.

    Located at the door of Spean Bridge. Good location to stop from north to west. Free car park.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    9.6
    We were heading up to Loch Ewe for a week and had booked in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were heading up to Loch Ewe for a week and had booked in here in order to break the journey from south west Scotland. We were given a warm welcome and shown to a room that was modern, spacious and absolutely immaculate, with a first-class eye for detail - bath products, tea and coffee etc. Breakfast was plentiful and full of choice - the cooked breakfast was delicious and came with toast and tea/coffee as standard. We were so impressed that we booked in for the following week on our way home.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    10
    Everything was great from a nice warn welcome at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was great from a nice warn welcome at the entrance to the comfortable upscale room and lovely full breakfast. Quality sleep in a nice quiet environment.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    10
    amazing room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    amazing room. Attention to detail (face wipes, shampoo/conditioner, bathroom spray, tea/coffee/hot chocolate, sweeties) Bed-SO COMFORTABLE. Lovely family home.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    9.6
    Lovely room - very clean and bright.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely room - very clean and bright. Very friendly and welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    10
    Everything from start to finish very nice couple and rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all Everything was excellent

    Everything from start to finish very nice couple and rooms were excellent to an standard as well as the food

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    5.4
    Overpriced, small room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Overpriced, small room. Breakfast an additional cost Disappointed.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    10
    Great room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great room. Friendly owner. Top location

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    10
    Amazing breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    10
    Owners very helpful with local restaurants,places to see,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Owners very helpful with local restaurants,places to see, etc. Located off the beaten track ,comfortable & quiet, nice common area.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    10
    We have only one point of critic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have only one point of critic.the blankets on the beds are to warm and to big. Furtherone it was realy an excellent accomadation.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    8.8
    Pleasant guest house, nice rooms, good wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was too expensive for the selection - didn't take it

    Pleasant guest house, nice rooms, good wifi

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: