Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dobbins Inn 2 stars

High Street, Carrickfergus, BT38 7AF, United Kingdom

#4 of 4 hotels in Carrickfergus

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 401 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was small and difficult to regulate

    Good central location, in the town centre, close to coast, castle and train station. Nice food in the bar and restaurant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to leave very early in the morning so wouldn’t have been there for breakfast, but when we left at 5am, the staff had set up a small table with a breakfast for us before leaving which was lovely!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only detractor was the renovation work going on. When the renovations are finished I have no doubt it will look superb.

    Staff super friendly, location is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room a bit warm and window wouldn't open

    An older property, lovely warm welcome comfortable room, bath, shower and tea/coffee facilities. Breakfast was excellent all cooked fresh to order. Will satisfy even the heartiest of appetites. Would definitely stay here again, loved it and the people. Whilst no parking plenty of free parking two minutes walk away, no hassle at all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was quite noisy but think this was due to being at the back of the hotel. Sounded like we were next to a generator. But would still go back.

    Clean and super friendly helpful staff. Everything you need in the rooms and a brilliant breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in the room next to the haunted room ! So didn’t sleep much !

    Breakfast and staff where exemplar - Paula on the front desk and the lady who served breakfast - so personable !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some repair work was underway on the outside and some modernisation is required internally as some of the fittings are a bit dated. The hot water system was erratic when the hotel was fully occupied,

    Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ........ though it didn't benefit the look of the place while they're 'poking about' !

    Nice to see that they're investigating the history of the building ........

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There really wasn't anything I didn't like. I even enjoyed the grey, drizzly weather, having come from a hot, parched part of Spain!

    Helpful, friendly staff, a good-sized room with a huge comfy bed, and a fabulous breakfast included…what's not to like?! Plenty of character in the inn itself, and the staff were happy to tell me all about the inn's and the town's history. I certainly plan to return to Dobbin's Inn on future visits to Carrickfergus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything at this hotel was of an acceptable standard so there was nothing to dislike

    good size room , food was good and the staff were very friendly and helpful , good choice of menu at breakfast and cooked fresh to order

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is having its facia removed to go back to the stone and is so scaffolded and dark to appear closed initially. It is dispiriting and dull in consequence, with a menu unable to respond to vegetarian tastes.

    it is an historic building in a quaint town near the harbour and castle

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints about Dobbins In.

    I love staying at Dobbins Inn the staff go out of their way to make my stay comfortable , food is excellent and the breakfast lady is so welcoming and friendly , I would highly recommend Dobbins Inn for your next stay in Carrickfergus

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our twin room was very small, the blankets on the two single beds were narrow and just didn't quite cover us. The water pressure was almost non existant in the miniscule shower. A very large person would not fit in the tiny shower stall.

    We liked that the building was historic and the location was great, short walk to the castle and harbour. No on site parking but you can park for free near the castle. The included breakfast was great with a nice selection of cooked meals. The room was nice and clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food we got was over priced I ordered lasange and it was more like mince with a few pasta sheets on top with cheese.. no tomato sauce or veg in it.. soup tasted pre frozen One of the beds in the room was broken and the bed sank in the middle. Also in the middle of getting ready the door opened at 10.45 telling me checkout was at 11. Hot water goes off at a certain time as well as the heating and it was minus degrees outside so was very cold

    Was amazing view room was a decent size

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit disappointing. Continental breakfast consisted of cornflakes and rice crispies. No fruit yoghurt or toast etc. Also, the cooked breakfast didn’t match up to the high standard of the previous evenings meal. The morning staff were again absolutely lovely and friendly. The lady couldn’t do enough for us and made us feel really comfortable and at home.

    Ambience. Room was immaculate and well presented. Staff set the heating to make sure the room was warm for our arrival (in December) Evening meal was delicious and excellent value for money. waiting staff were lovely and friendly. Real homely touch without becoming unprofessional. It was also a really nice touch giving us a bottle of wine as an anniversary present. Really made us feel welcome and special. As a side note, the age of the building and the obligatory ghost story added to the ambience and romance of the place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hot water in sink and shower only got to tepid even after running for 15 mins. Radiators in the room were hot but the corridors dining room etc had been turned off.

    Helpful staff giving friendly efficient service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is always need of improvement wherever you stay. But this suited my needs and was perfect.

    Catered for gluten free. Bedroom nice and warm. Felt completely at ease traveling on my own. Food is very good, with an excellent choice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower pressure and the room was cold for about a day and a half. It is an old building though!

    The bed, the breakfast, ease of getting to and from the hotel and the good links to Belfast city centre. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heating only on at certain times so the rooms were slightly chilly ,the water pressure was poor and trying to get the water right for a shower was frustrating. A little more upgrading and this would be the place to stay all year round.

    staff very friendly and helpful, comfy bed and very tasty breakfast. Lovely old building steeped in history .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most places in hotel were cold (corridors and restaurant). Noise from downstairs was loud - when in bathroom - as clear as if they were in the same room! Sounded like it was coming through a vent.

    Breakfast was good. Staff very helpful and polite. Location very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    twin room quite small but adequate as had room at top of building quite a lot of stairs to climb but was aware of that before booking . Had a problem with heating but everything sorted out quickly ince staff were informed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, Nothing Nothing Nothing.

    Great food in bar. Heating was no working in room, but when told staff, was fixed In half a hour. Right in town centre with lots of shops.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bed was certainly very comfortable, floors were uneven but that is presumably being an old (listed) building. There was no lift in the property, again due to it being listed and the rooms would not be convenient for anyone with walking difficulties, disabilities etc. The live music on Fri night was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was very clean and functional, but could do with updating.

    Loved the character of the Inn. Staff were very helpful and friendly, and meals were great. Location is fantastic, an easy train ride from Belfast, and easy walking distance from the station. Lovely quiet location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly and really helpful. I arrived late but receptionist made me sandwich and tea in bar. The rooms are old fashioned but the bed was really comfortable and I slept really well. An authentic but old fashioned place... With defers head above an inglenook fireplace. Quaint nothing modern about it. Excellent location to Ulster campus ...just a few miles drive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, my bed was a bit creaky and felt a bit lumpy, but again....for the price of the room I thought it was excellent value!!!

    I thought Dobbins inn was just so unique. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and having the cute little pub downstairs was awesome. The icing on the cake was the day I was leaving "Tommy Foster" Their maintenance man took me on a little tour of the hotel and gave me a rundown on the history. So fascinating and I will definitely return!! I felt very much at home!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Nothing really

    Dobbins was awesome the staff were amazing loved Edith all really helpful and great location close to train etc. Was close to shops resturants as well which was great. Was great food for all meals would stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accommodation is tired and outdated and it would benefit from modernizing and redecorating.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. In particular, one of the waitresses in the bar/restaurant (Rose) went out of her way to search for my mobile phone which she eventually found outside. The bar is quite pleasant and the meal we had was tasty and good value. Cooked breakfast was OK. Central location is good and there is free 24-hour parking across the road in the Castle car park.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Character building which is well situated for exploring the town on foot. Staff were all very welcoming and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was freshly cooked.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a problem with the hot water and those cold showers on the two mornings certainly woke me up, but to be fair when I told reception they did try to resolve the problem, so not really a complaint more a small negative in what was an enjoyable stay.

    Staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. The Hotel is old and it's history was fascinating especially the stories about the ghosts that haunt the building. Carrickfergus is a nice quiet little town and we really enjoyed ourselves. We also experienced some of Northern Ireland's cultural history as on our last night the Orange marching bands paraded outside the hotel. A nice place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Several flights of stairs with my new hip. However I didn't mention this when booking so it was my fault.

    All was very well. The staff in the bar in the evening especially good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a bit of difficulty in finding nearby disabled parking, but this was due to the popularity of the restaurant and bar.

    The room was very comfortable, with plenty of hot water, tea, coffee,etc and a TV. The breakfast was brilliant, as much fruit, cereal or juices as you want and a wonderfully cooked breakfast, as per your own requirements, plus an endless supply of tea and toast. The staff were very friendly and keen to know about their guests. There was so much to see and do in the local area that we stayed far longer there instead of setting off on the rest of the tour.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, great food and a comfy bar to relax in. Plenty of free parking over the road. Great location for driving along the coastal road or you can catch a train just a couple of blocks behind the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our experience was horrible! Our room was on top of the Bar. Birthday party on a weekday- so noisy I have to turn the TV on max volume! DJ and music so loud! No one should have been put into our room as hotel guests! There is an air well right outside our window, people started talking loudly there before the party at 5pm. Very loud music started at 6pm till 12 am. After the music stopped, staff was making a lot of noise cleaning the place collecting glasses etc. We couldn't sleep till 1 am. On top of it, there is a high voltage light that shone so bright like sunlight outside the widow. The curtain was OK to hide a bit of the light but it was like day light in the bathroom! Cant close the bathroom door fully as there won't be ventilation after shutting the curtain in the bedroom. We sent the water jug down to change as it was dirty and rusted. Staff came back with the jug cleaned but brown rust still there, we went and bought bottle water instead of making tea. We were charged a single room rate instead of double but would you like to stay there, no way! Worst experience in my 30 years of travel!!!!

    Location was good. staff told us there is free parking near the castle. The room was small but clean. The breakfast was good, staff friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are a little overdue for a makeover but still comfortable. There is no parking but free parking is available within 5 minutes walk - a bit of guidance on which car parks are free would have helped .... not all are free.

    The staff were very friendly and the bar is excellent with a good menu. It is well placed for the castle and harbour area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom would feel a bit small if we were staying several days..........not a lot of space!

    All staff were friendly and welcoming, we both liked that. We liked the old fashioned fell of the place too, and location couldn't have been better.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening meal left a lot to be desired. Brilliant if you like lumps of potato in you mash. Don't order the prawn cocktail for starters as it came in a bowl which was completely full of sauce and the prawns were warm. I had roast beef which was ok but arrived without gravy and yorkshire pudding as was stated on the menu,also vegetables were not as stated and quite bland. My wife returned her starter and main meal as both were uneatable. The waiter reported the incident and a manager arrived and stated that they had not received any complaints about the food served all day,she was quite defensive. The bathroom floor in the room we stayed at was badly stained / worn.

    The breakfast was included in the stay and was acceptable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pleasant and quaint inn with very welcoming and accommodating staff! Bed was super comfy, fantastic breakfast options and cracking Ulster fry! Restaurant decor is beautiful very fitting for being near the harbour. Would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No crossiants! What really annoyed me was even though I paid in cash they scanned my card and took the money out of my account as well and I am still waiting to get it back!!!! So I have paid twice! That really sucks

    Nice bar and very handy location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't complain at all.

    Very friendly welcoming staff. Excellent food and very comfortable fully equipped room. Would very highly recommend. A beautiful place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed here for one night after coming off late ferry. Reception staff really friendly and accommodating. Good food, we went for the 2 steaks and a bottle of wine for £30 offer and were not disappointed. Good brekkie

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking.... on street poor and limited, got a fine which I should have avoided by displaying my disabled card. In fairness the hotel warned and told us where to park free. Perhaps 400 m away from the hotel. Not all will be able to do that.

    Friendly and down to earth. Excellent breakfast..... no understanding of a small breakfast !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was limited. We had to move the car once we unloaded, although the council car park was very close

    Quaint old inn with great atmosphere. Excellent staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn't overly happy with my room but that was down to my fault booking a single bed and it was also a last minute booking but that was not a fault of the hotel.

    Nice and private, staff were lovely, beautiful breakfast with outstanding customer care and assistance with breakfast. Wifi was great as well which worked well with getting business work done on the laptop with great connection.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was size of a box, it took 3 request for a cup & saucer and a glass of water at breakfast time which was not busy at the time, I ordered the healthy breakfast of grilled bacon & 2 boiled eggs and when delivered it also had 2 fried sausages on the plate, breakfast lady tried to convince me they where grilled, bacon on day 2 was too hard to be chewed. I requested shower gel and was given shampoo, when I pointed out the error I was informed,they had no shower gel, but the (same lady that served breakfast) informed me if she found any shower gel that other guests left behind I could have it, so I declined, a sleepless night as staff chatted from the back yard below my opened window and the second night we had rainfall that could be heard hitting off a timber roof next to our window. The bin in the bathroom had not been emptied before we arrived. Rooms are plain,not one picture on walls,and corridors very narrow. On checking out I gave a male receptionist a run down, he explained he couldnt apologise for the noise as "it's a working hotel", the irony of it!!! Hotel prices for a run down inn. Will never stay here again

    Location, walking distance from train station, castle and Belfast lough across the road.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work, the bathroom was extremely warm and no way to turn off the radiator.

    We ate dinner in the attached bar and it was reasonably priced and very good. Lots of options offered for breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a couple of issues with rooms. The first room was drab and noisy and the second had drain smells. I suggest you check room before accepting.

    The location is perfect. Although the hotel does not have parking, there is a large free car park near the castle. It's only a 5 minute walk. The staff are brilliant and the food very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit pokey and not very clean, there was a dried in stain on the sheets that looked like blood also dust + hair in the bathroom.

    The old world style was lovely. Food was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What didn't you like? and What could be better? are two different things. There wasn't anything I didn't like. Lots of things could be better, I suppose, but I would describe Dobbins as a place with character so you have to accept that not all is perfect. If you want perfect go pay more and stay in some plastic franchise!

    Friendly staff, makes such a difference, very pleasant and helpful. Prompt service at breakfast and very tasty.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a bit fiddly to work because there was a cord to be pulled I didn't notice initially. The duvet was a bit small on the bed. Needed an extra blanket. Radiator not working. The walls are thin and I could hear people in the corridor slamming the door. The door would have benefited from a chain as the lock seemed weak.

    Free toiletries and wifi. Parking was free on Sunday. Hairdryer in room. Night reception available. Free breakfast. Located opposite the castle. Staff pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a little further attention to detail in the cleanliness of the bathroom.

    Huge comfortable bed and breakfast was great. Very welcoming and accommodating staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bubble bath/shower gel would have been handy

    Breakfast was excellent with friendly staff. Great location. Lovely clean bathroom Very comfy huge bed!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service in the restaurant is a bit variable,and needs attention . The breakfasts are a bit hit and miss. More starter items would improve the choice. Hotels can never make toast and this one is no exception.

    Nice clean comfortable room. Quiet location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Partner didn't aprichiate the resident ghost who woke him early hours in the morning. Heard running water constantly. Not sure if it was the old central heating.

    Hotel had lots of character. Food great. Friendly atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise....... it felt like we were trying to sleep in the middle of a pub !. Perfect if you are having a night out on the town but if you are looking for a good nights sleep with kids forget it.

    The pancakes for breakfast were yum .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold but they did bring us a heater which was fine.The floors were creaky but it is 13th century.

    All the food that we had was fabulous especially the breakfast. The staff made the stay they were all lovely and couldnt do enough for us.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheaper beer prices ha ha!! no everything was to my satisfaction. Hope to see all your friendly faces next January.

    Room 15 very comfortable breakfast first class, evening dinner very good, weekend staff very helpful and very friendly, and the big chap serving was A1 the past two years.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating could have been better. Our room wasnt very warm and even the bar area were we had our dinner was quite cold and I had to put my coat on! We were told dinner was served until 8pm and when we went down for dinner at 7.30 we were told we couldnt have any food as the chef's had gone early as they weren't busy!! In the end though they did serve us dinner and it was very nice.

    The bed was comfortable and the food was lovely

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing every thing was great

    Hotel was in a great location just round the corner from Carrickfergus Castle close to all the bus and rail links staff couldn't do enough for you every clean and tidy restaurant and bar were great food was excellent would highly recommend 5 *

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid with a card which was pre-authorisation and they said cos they didn't have our card details then money went back to our card which happened, but receptionist failed to mention anything about it. Later when communicating with them woman called Kirsty said we intentionally didn't pay. Disgraceful! She can't do her job properly and then accusing us for that.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing was any trouble for the staff. The food was excellent and excelent value for money. The rooms were very nice and comfortable. The staff were fantastic.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately I use a crutch so found the stairs difficult as there was no lift. Also there were 3 very high steps leading down into the ensuite which was also a struggle. Another downside was the on Street parking. We arrived in the evening and my husband was out at 10am to pay for parking only to discover we got an £80 parking fine as you don't have to pay because you are only allowed to park for 1 hour. The hotel staff omitted to inform us of this or to suggest alternative parking. Don't think we'll be coming back as our one night stay became very expensive through no fault of our own.

    The bed was so comfy got a great nights sleep.Didn't want to get up.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything.

    We were welcomed by the receptionist, were made to feel at home. Helpful car parking advice and directions to the railway station, which was close by. The breakfast was first class and plentiful!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast setting in the morning very poor not much effort put into it e.g milk and orange juice just left on one of the lounge tables with a basket of mini boxed cereals.

    Nice big bed very comfortable

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold. Our friends room was warm. Didn't mention this as we wouldn't be staying too long in the room.

    Bed very comfortable and the food was delicious

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff went extra mile on everything. Food was to die for .management brilliant. Will recommend Dobbins Inn to all my friends &customers amazing place.My wife & I stayed for our 15th anniversary we our normal average couple we saved for this time away !!! But Dobbins treated us like we were millionaires & same treatment to other guests.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a little worried about the ghost that lives in room 21 . Need not have worried.

    very friendly staff, very helpful. Good food. comfortable room. very warm atmosphere.Historic environment. Really good local knowledge, great legends

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No heating on in bedroom. Staff at breakfast did not ask if we required more coffee/toast. Stopped in corridor going for breakfast and asked wither we were guests !!

    Reception staff on arrival superb and bar staff very friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It wasn't the Ritz, that is meant as a complement as it was homely, comfortable, excellent customer service and the pillows were far from the cardboard ones you get in most hotels. I will return on my next marathon in Antrim.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu has changed since my last visit. Some new dishes looked tempting but some favourites from my last visit were missing.

    The staff are so helpful. Nothing is too much trouble. My room had recently been updated I think as everything looked smart but in keeping with the age of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was very slow and would have been a more comfortable sleep with a extra pillow each as they were very thin

    Very warm and friendly welcome and our favourite Steak Value Meal in Carrickfergus for 2 with a bottle of wine for only £27 with the option to eat in the Restaurant or Bar :-)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missed seeing Edith at breakfast with her tales of the history of Dobbins Inn and the Ghosts used to be great conversation in the mornings and encouraged guests to get to know each other.

    Friendly atmosphere good fun loved seeing Edith, And all the girls and guys, food was amazing 😃

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are dated, the door to our room was not very secure, the room felt dark and dreary, for the price paid it should be much better .

    The location of this hotel was very good, bed was comfortable, breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast, looked lovely, but had an odd taste to it. Like the stove had been cleaned but not rinsed.

    Lovely atmospheric Inn, steeped in history. Very helpful staff. Irish music on the Sunday evening, was extrememly entertaining.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue was the rooms heater would not switch off and the night manager moved us to another larger room at no extra charge

    Friendly welcome Breakfast very good Restaurant excellent All night bar Close to bars Close to railway station Beautiful town Spent 3 nights their

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: