Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dog House Hotel 3 stars

Faringdon Road, Abingdon, OX13 6QJ, United Kingdom

#7 of 14 hotels in Abingdon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 374 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise in bedroom from fans in kitchen as room was above the kitchen - wish I had taken earplugs. Only 1 tea bag to share between us in the room.

    Staff were great, location was good, nice outside area, good service. Comfortable bed and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was as advertised, remote and difficult without a car and no real bus service.

    The new manager was GREAT and very helpful. He will do a lot to improve the place given time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My mum, son and I spent 3 nights in a family room. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean. Staff were welcoming, friendly and very helpful. The rear garden is enclosed and has a small play park, meaning my son could run around and play without worry. We had a great stay and will definitely try to stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom just looked really worn out with stains in various places. Toilet paper stand appeared to be broken and the paper rolls balanced on top of it, which occasionally fell off. Quite a bit of litter around the outside of the building which surprised us. Made it look unkempt and dodgy and did not truly reflect the great food. Receptionist took about 20 minutes to come downstairs on arrival and didn't even apologise which wasn't a great welcome!

    The food was excellent, both the dinner and the breakfast - surpassed expectations by far. Many ingredients appeared to be locally sourced - perhaps from Millets Farmshop?! The room was right next to the bar, downstairs, BUT completely soundproof - we were amazed, especially as the evening wore on and the parties got louder. Must be because the building had very thick walls! The waitress was very helpful and the breakfast guy was good too. The receptionist was good once she finally arrived. Good sized clean room and comfortable bed and bedding.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were quite dated but new manager was lovely and looking to turn the accommodation to something much nicer very soon.

    Fab location, lovely staff, delicious food.. And great service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom could do with a refurb, wallpaper peeling off and generally looked a bit dated. The bed was very small and uncomfortable and the TV didn't work. Staff very pleasant but not particularly attentive in the restaurant. Unfortunately the cooked breakfast was almost inedible. Not worth the £125per night that we paid.

    Beautiful building in nice surroundings and pleasant bar area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hardly anything on the evening menu was available. Breakfast too an age to come, only one member of staff dealing with customers.

    Not a good place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a problem with the evening meal as we were told food was not available, even though we had booked a table in advance. However, it was sorted out and the food was very good. My pudding was forgotten, but was brought straight over when I went to ask about it. There was not a lot of service in the evening, but it was Sunday and very quiet.

    Breakfast was wonderful and the service was very friendly. Please send our compliments to him.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very worn out and could do with a re-fit. Be sure to turn the radiators off if its a hot day, as the thermostats don't seem to work. Food was very nice but long wait times.

    The room was nice and comfortable. Staff very friendly and willing to help.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only half loo roll in bathroom but we ask for mote and got them very quickly,the room did smell damp although there were no signs of it,cobwebs around the room ,I don't think it had been used much,plenty of tea and coffee in the room but sadly no cups and saucers to drink from.

    Lovely location nice big garden cosy pub lots of nice areas to sit relax.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly the internet is only "the Cloud" which is a network I can't use for work. So not having a good internet was disappointing. The mobile signal for Vodafone was also not great in this area, but that is not the hotel's fault of course.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a problem for me but some rooms with old-fashioned angled ceilings a bit tough for tall folk!

    Very close to our event venue at the Frilford Golf Club; easy to find both ways!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely comfortable room, really lovely lady Joanne on arrival and she also served my meal in the bar, Great service from her she was lovely, would stay again when working in the area,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Each time I stay at The Dog House, I'm disappointed that the staff are denied the authority (or perhaps the motivation) to extend a more hotel-like experience, particularly in terms of the social areas of the property.... the bar shuts bang-on 11.00pm and there is no residents' policy meaning that you have to retire to your small (no problem there) room where conversation isn't really an option!

    Always been a lovely mix of pub and hotel and the location is perfect for Frilford Heath GC, which is the driver behind my stays. Food is excellent and the staff generally friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All a bit dated upstairs and wasn't asked if I needed help with my luggage. Quite tricky getting through all the doors with a case. Waiter in the morning was quite frosty and put me across from everyone as I was on my own.

    Beautiful downstairs although quite basic in bedrooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine

    Comfy Beds spotlessly clean bedding & fluffy towels & piping hot water.The food was good & all the staff friendly & helpfull

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been nice if the fire had been lit in the bar. The evening menu might be a little more interesting. One or two areas of the hotel would probably welcome a coat of paint.

    The staff are very friendly, helpful and polite. The location is very good and in a very nice setting. The room was comfortable and pleasant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed In what was supposed to be a superior room was nothing superior. Bathroom was very poor plenty of mould needs updating asap staff were seriously unprofessional

    Food was nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in this hotel for many weeks of the year in 2014 and found it to be good value when the rooms were £60. The hotle has been decorated but I wouldn't say the rooms are much different and still only acceptable (mould in bathroom). At breakfast it felt very rushed with only one person serving breakfast, checking out, answering the phone etc. Not recommended!

    Evening staff very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Severley understaffed! No management takung control! Would have got overcharged by an extra night if we hadnt of questioned it!! Staff didnt seem to have a clue!!

    Lovely setting and comfy large bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower regulator was broken so couldn't see which way was hot and cold. It seemed to be stuck at a luke warm temperature.

    Bed was comfortable and bath was a good size

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single glazed windows so some noise and cold if you didn’t have heating up to max.

    Comfy bed (but take your own pillow if you’re fussy, rather tired ). Bathroom fairly recently updated .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the black mold around my window, on my bath tiles and especially caked upon the shower head, which looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The food was good quality.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No management visible for the duration of our stay + as a consequence the service was really poor & disorganised even though the hotel was not busy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor lighting in room, almost impossible to sit on the settee to read, had to get out of bed to turn off bedside lights. Staff forgot little things, handtowel removed, not replaced. Table booking on second night not notified to restaurant. Difficult staircase for the aged (both in our eighties). Very thin paper napkins at dinner.

    Friendly staff, good cooked breakfast. Large comfortable room in the attic. Clean with a large bathroom. Excellent shower. Big bath but a handle to help to get out of bath would have been useful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were charged £127.50 for one night in a nice ordinary pub room. £87.50 would have been fair but £127.50 was a RIP-OFF. For that we expected something extra special. And the fee was immediately deducted from my card. Beware of Booking.com!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the breakfast was good they didn't have enough staff on so we were asking for drinks, butter more cups etc.

    Good location, nice room and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet seat was broken Air extractor right outside the room on constantly Hotel full could not move room Manager redeemed himself in the morning after offering our friends free breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and food

    Staff were great very friendly and the food was very good 😊 the room could have been a little better but clean and very functional nice comfortable bed thanks !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an aptly named hotel because I certainly felt I'd stayed in an outdoor kennel. The room was so cold (room 5 - radiators couldn't be switched on) I had to sleep in my clothes. The bedding was horrible and pillows so old/flat I didn't use them. The bathroom was horrible - mould all over the ceiling, the bath was stained (have they never heard of bleach) and there was a revolting leak/stain coming from the cistern to the floor. On top of that, there were cobwebs across the corners of the walls. I booked to have a meal/meeting and the restaurant was closed 9/10th October - they could have let me know that. To be honest, the state of the place I wouldn't have chosen to dine there anyway. I'm in the hotel industry so am well aware of standards - this was a health hazard . Oh and someone (don't know if it was The Doghouse) decided to cut the lawn at 7am.

    Can't think of anything. Oh the car park was big/empty (wonder why).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no Croissants at Breakfast. No Condiments at Dinner.

    Location was great for us. Staff were very friendly. Room was clean and the hotel was very Quiet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was cold. They didn't have any heating on in the hotel or pub. Which didn't make you want to linger there. Which was a shame. Room has a little electric heater which we made use of. Large fireplace in the pub but sadly no fire. Frustrating because this place has so much potential to be really lovely. The room would have benefited from a repaint as there were some dirty marks on the walls. Breakfast seemed understaff, just one lovely waiter trying to serve everyone. The makings of a great hotel are here.

    Bed was comfy. Sheets and bathroom were clean. There was a big tv. Large beer garden with swings for kids. Cooked Breakfast was good. Waiter tried his best and was helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite asking for a quiet room our room was over the kitchen/bin area and had an extractor fan which went off at ten-we were told it would not come on until 7 the ne t morning but it was on at 6-30- there was also another extractor near by wh in came on and off throughout the night- Also more attention needs to be made to cleaning-loads of dust visible in corners and dado rail.

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in room 20. Bathroom had mold around bath and hole in the wall where toilet holder had been replaced. Bed headboard was in a poor state. Material coming away. Not a 3 star in my opinion. Needs refurbishment. Had to wait for reception staff as despite phone ringing in the bar more preoccupied with tidying up. Had to eventually go and fetch someone whom aologised but poor customer service.

    Bed was very comfortable and breakfast staff very pleasant. Good quality breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No porridge on at breakfast! Although it was on the menu, same for second day's breakfast. No porridge!

    Nice to have room on ground floor, close to facilities. Bathroom shower hose (Unclean, black with lots of dirt on the loop part hanging down). Also in dining room, bench seating, crumbs and stains on cushions.). Forgot to look at hygiene rating?

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely powerful shower but I couldn't find a hairdryer! This would have been a useful addition to the room

    I was looking for something a little out of town but not a million miles drive - this was perfect. Surrounded by lovely countryside. Room was as it was advertised and a lovely bar to spend the evening. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The boiler had a problem and the first night was very uncomfortable to say the least. I used the duvet off the other twin bed to try and get warm. On the second night I was given an electric heater. The roast meal on Sunday was virtually uneatable. Everything was grossly overlooked to the point of being tasteless and a large amount of gravy was poured over it all. Dreadful and all the staff could do was smile and say "sorry you didn't enjoy it"! When I complained the following evening at reception it was removed from my bill. I certainly will never consider staying at "An Old English Inn" again. It was a good thing that the catering at Frilford Heath Golf Club was excellent which sustained on the Monday.

    Departure

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peace and quiet, the atmosphere and the food.

    Fantastic spot a short distance from Oxford. Had a bit of trouble finding hotel. Address on your site should read Frilford Heath

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel only had one room booked, even though I had confirmation for two. Rooms were cold Heater was requested, it arrived with 2 wheels missing which was dangerous. Extra duvets were requested, which arrived with no cover on and badly stained Rooms were tired looking and bath was stained and ceiling in bathroom was in need of attention

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the second time we stayed here. We came back because we so enjoyed it the first time. This time however, the room cleaning and service was definitely not up to standard. The beds were poorly made- Doonas hastily just pulled up and no attention to detail. Only the bathroom towels were replaced- no cleaning of bathroom. The whole presentation of the room was very sloppy. This was very disappointing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rock hard croissants, when asked for fresh ones they were delivered straight from the microwave with again rock hard edges. Service very slow, not fresh home cooked meals, all pre packed and microwaved. Dirty and dusty restaurant floor Unmade bed on second day and room not cleaned

    Location and access to Oxford

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The traffic on the road disturbed us on Saturday evening.

    Breakfasts freshly cooked. Excellent choice. Meal in restaurant also very good. Choices excellent. Service efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is on a road that sees a certain amount of traffic, so it might be a bit noisy during weekdays. We arrived late and left at 10 am Saturday morning, so we didn't hear too much noise ourselves, though traffic was beginning to increase.

    There was a very friendly welcome. The bar was very well stocked and had the brand of tonic I wanted in my tequila. Comfortable beds, very clean room and bathroom, tea tray facilities good. Breakfast bacon was delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower curtain only went half way across the bath because the roof sloped. I had to spend time after each shower to clean up the floor, I did report it to the staff on reception in the morning but felt I was not really being listened to.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn't like about my room was how hot it was, it made sleeping very uncomfortable.

    I attended a wedding at this hotel. The meal was excellent and the staff very pleasant and helpful. During the evening the staff were on hand and provided whatever we needed with a pleasant smile. The staff helped make the evening the success it was. I stayed for one night and found the room very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Appalled!! Cobwebs hanging thick from the ceiling, dust so thick we could have written our names in it! Brown grime around the bath and no guessing when the carpet had last been hoovered! Worse yet payment was taken before our stay so we had no alternative but to stay with no apologies.Left feeling desperate for wash!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ROOM 4 - Was very drafty as the window would seal properly so, there was a continuous draft room was cold, and noisy, shower had hot water only if you had one before 8am, after that it was only just warm.

    the bed was very comfy ,breakfasts were great, food at dinner has a good menu, and a variety for vegatrains

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On calling to say we would arrive close to 9pm we were told the kitchen closed at that time and we couldn't eat there. We asked if something could be prepared in advance as we couldn't predict traffic (arriving between 8.50 and 910pm) and they said "probably not". We are at a nearby place called the Greyhound which was great. The room was very hot. It was tired and worn. Fixtures were average. The bar had a security metal screen that was visible. It just wasn't quite the image online. Food was average.

    The exterior image/facade was quaint. Like an old English inn. The breakfast was reasonable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One minor niggle is that Google Maps locates it around 400m down the road from where it actually is, which caused me some confusion late in the evening. However the map reference on Booking is fine and I got there in the end.

    Staff were very friendly and my room was very spacious and clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot water the morning of check out but nothing to be done as there was a fault. Have since complained by EMail as well as on the day. Dog House have since offered a 20% reduction if we stay again.

    Nice room. Very clean & comfortable. Food & service good too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a meal in the restaurant and didn't sit down till bout 8.40 - we ordered our drinks at the table and then looked at the menu - the server took our drinks order and we said we will choose our food and place our order - however we had to make a choice quickly as the kitchen closes at 9 we did order a main course each - when we had finished he cleared the table and we would have liked a desert but was told the kitchen is closed - why did they not make it clear before we ordered ? anyway we said we would go and sit in the lounge area and have another drink/coffee after our meal - at about 10 30 the barman came and said did we want more drinks so I said "why " so he said he will be closing the bar soon ! at 1050 he came and said we would have to go to our rooms because he has got to put the alarm on !!!! Now I have stayed in hundreds of hotels and have never experienced this before - it did spoil our evening

    Food cooked perfectly - plenty of choice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The superior room offered us more space, it had character and was very comfortable. Service in the restaurant was prompt and served with a smile. Breakfast offered a very good selection of tasty muffins & pastries as well as the usual fayre. Location was ideal as we needed to do research in Oxford (family tree) and the park and ride was ideal.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The slowest reception and most offhand 'welcome' I've had in any accommodation ever. Temperature outside 30 degrees. Inside, no air con, no fan available in our room; curtains had been kept open and windows closed so it was boiling. Loud party outside under our windows yelling till 1am, staff present at it, doing nothing to keep noise down. Stingy supply of soaps & towels (more provided when we asked for them). Very ordinary pub menu. Vegetarian 'roast' was squashed veg under a glutinous sauce. 'Garden' and its furniture could do with more upkeep. Warm prosecco; champagne only by the bottle. Family room extra bed was an air bed that scrunched noisily every time its occupant moved.

    Restaurant staff amiable and prompt to take orders, though less prompt to bring them. Family friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have been good if the breakfast started a little earlier (8am on Saturday was too late for us)

    Really enjoyed our stay. Large bedroom with seating area and en-suite. Nice cosy restaurant with good, well priced food (particularly if you are prepared to eat early (<6pm). Quite handy for Oxford - just a 20min drive away.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although I booked and paid online I was told at check-out that the payment had not gone through and was asked to pay direct to the hotel and they would ensure the on-line payment was cancelled. When my bank statement arrived it transpired that I had been charged twice. I had to chase this up twice before a refund was made.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    • Wifi was incredibly slow, kept dropping out, and I couldn't get a 4G signal on my phone. • Walls are very thin in the ground floor room in which I stayed - I could hear the person in the next room moving about as clearly as if they were in my room. • I went to check out at 6.25am - early but not ridiculously so for a business trip. There was nobody at the front desk. Guy had just arrived and was expecting me to wait for him to get all set up.

    Relatively convenient for Milton Park.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed not to be able to get a decafinated cappuccino to round off our meal.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, even providing fresh milk for an evening drink. The room was comfortable and mostly quiet. The toast was ' proper ' bread.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The front rooms are close to the road and there is a lot of noise from the bypassing cars starting early in the morning.

    When i arrived it seems that there was no reservation from booking, although i had made it 2 onths before the arrival, however the manager and his associates eventually provided solutions and they didn't even charged every night. They have big variety of drinks and the provided food was well cooked and nicely served. Breakfast was nice and everyone serving in the dining room was more than willing to serve with a smile.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived at 10 pm. Asked if there was any food available, at least a sandwich. Was told no sandwiches after 5pm and kitchen is closed. Only food available was a bag of pork scratchings...

    It was warm clean and quiet

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were very uncomfortable! Pillows were flat so would have been better sleeping on the floor. Room was clean but does need some work doing to bring it up to the standard they are advertising.

    Evening meal was lovely! Breakfast was a little on the small side but tasted fine.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed one night on bank holiday weekend.Have visited The Dog House several times and always enjoyed our stay. Have had evening meal twice and breakfast each time we stayed all meals were pretty good. Room was spacious clean and tidy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice big room to accommodate the travel cot. Hot breakfast was cooked to order and not buffet. Bonus is the garden and play area which our toddler loved.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the person who checked me in on Sunday evening was most unwelcoming and was made to feel as if I was too much trouble. No light meals available on Sunday evening.

    The young lady on reception was very nice she printed out a direction sheet for me and the waitress who seved my breakfast was alsovery pleasant .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not ready when we arrived having previously informed time of arrival. Staff lacked customer skills and appeared disinterested in their work. Food variable.

    Room comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast undercooked, tepid and served on cold plates. Restaurant floor still with debris from night before.

    Room clean and bed very comfortable. Excellent evening meal. Helpful friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No comments necessary. all fine.

    The bedroom facilities were pleasingly spacious and well provided -comfortable beds and a good night's sleep. We enjoyed both the breakfast, which was plenteous and well cooked and the evening meal in the bar the previous evening. A very pleasant short stay due to the sad occasion of a friend's funeral.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start? The room was dated and needed a facelift. The shower worked well. The wifi was very patchy. The breakfast was very poor (the juice dispensers looked like they hadn't been cleaned in weeks). The chef was lacking attention to detail - for instance I ordered a croque Monsieur for breakfast with some boiled eggs. The toast and the sandwich were both cold and the sandwich was just a ham and cheese with no melted cheese on top. Dinner wasn't much better. There is far too much choice on the menu. Either shorten it or actually deliver what it says on it. My hunters chicken was tough and didn't have cheese. My 'thyme roasted tomato' wasn't that. I also tried the fajitas - again disappointing. All in all a very bland and featureless experience.

    Not much

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went as a group of 6 friends, the dog house is a central meeting place as we all live in different areas, so we meet up for a beer, meal and a good catch up, but at 11:45pm we were asked to go to our rooms as they wanted to lock....no great as we're residents there!!

    Good selection of drinks.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room that I was in was at the front and there was a busy road running by, so from around 5am the traffic noise became very loud, if the windows where double glazed I'm sure this would reduce the traffic noise.

    The food, staff and location was very good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Busy road with no footpath so couldn't go jogging, but this was minor. Nothing I didn't like about It the hotel itself

    Nice staff, nice atmosphere. Good breakfast and good choice of meals for dinner. Dinner was good also. Nice beer.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We phoned several times for different reasons and no one answered on reception, even during reasonable hours. This didn't spoil our stay but is worth considering.

    Everything. Very cosy. It was just what we were after. We wanted a ace where we could relax in the morning; aftee breakfast and we felt that we could here. Beds were super comfy and loved that we could control the heating of the room ourselves. Room was quiet. Bed linen very soft. Plenty pillows. Everything lovely and clean. Fabulous breakfast. We really cannot fault the Dog House in anyway and will certainly return and recommend to others.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in room 14 which was overly warm, and noisy due to some sort or extractor/air conditioning unit running all night directly below our window. We complained to receptionist in the morning. She expressed surprise and muttered an apology. We were considering staying an extra night but in view of the above decided not to.

    Liked the food and location. FIrly easy to find. Good restaurant facilities. Reasonably priced food.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sadly, even though I had registered with Old English Inns' Cloud WiFi some years ago, I still couldn't make it work on neither my tablet nor my Windows mobile phone.

    We stayed in Room 15 this time for our visit to relatives and everything was, as usual, excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Love the Doghouse ! cosy and charming inside . Good size bedrooms and bathrooms. Good food and when weather allows lots of comfortable seating outside (not those awful benches !) The serving staff are always exceptionally nice . Excellent value for money

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is in the countryside on quite a busy road. Not possible to get here without a car. The nearest town Abingdon is about 12 minutes drive by car.

    Good choice of food on the restaurant menu. Offers a very good breakfast. The room was very comfortable with a spacious en suite bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Dog House Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: