Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Dog At Wingham 4 stars

Canterbury Road, Wingham, CT3 1BB, United Kingdom

#1 of 2 hotels in Wingham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 141 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike - only comment would be that the bathroom was very small and we both ended up with a few bruises from knocking the shower fitment and door. However, having said that, what there was of the bathroom was lovely.

    Staff very friendly - nothing too much trouble for anyone. The bed was one of the best I have slept in!!Food very good too - especially breakfast - lots of little touches make it a cut above the rest.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff are very friendly and helpful. Both dinner and breakfast were delicious. The room was attractive, the bed very comfortable. Located in a very pretty village.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The position of this property is not ideal. It is situated right on the road, near a bend, in the middle of Wingham and heavy traffic pours through the village all day long. If a village ever needed a by-pass, it's this one. Dog walking is an extremely precarious activity as you enter and leave the property as there are no pavements in places, so you have to try to tuck yourself and your dog in to the edge of the road, hugging the buildings to avoid oncoming cars. The car park at the rear of the building is inadequate and this was especially the case when the pub was hosting a function one afternoon as we had nowhere to park. Rooms 1 & 2 are up in the eaves and can only be accessed by a very narrow and extremely steep staircase at the back of the bar (this is a very old property). Old pubs are beautifully atmospheric but had we known the geography and location of our room, we would definitely not have booked as our poor old dog became really distressed as he struggled to make it up the staircase - as did we when carrying any luggage. The room itself was very cramped, partly because the bed is very generously proportioned, so on one side it was only just possible to squeeze around it. The dimensions of the en-suite shower cubicle and toilet would be very challenging if you weren't reasonably slim. The room had no space for a wardrobe or chest of drawers but there was a little metal rack on the wall on which it was possible to hang a few items. There was nowhere to store bags / cases. The photos and descriptors on the website are certainly not a fair representation of what is provided in respect of the accommodation. Dinner was of good quality but it is pricey and the portions were not overly generous. Breakfast could be much better and felt penny-pinching. It is very unusual nowadays not to have a buffet style table set out with a variety of cereals, fruits, yoghurts, rolls, bread, croissants etc. from which you can initially help yourself.

    The staff were very welcoming and unfailingly polite and helpful. Everyone is very welcoming to dogs too. The room was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The décor of the pub is very pleasing. Gluten free bread was available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely accommodation, but food should be available in the evening
    • Couple
    • King Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a shame that no food was served after 5.00pm, we arrived at 6.30pm after a long drive from Northumberland. Also, when returning to the lounge/bar area in the evening, to relax with a drink before going to our room, we were told at 9.45 that they would be closing in 10 minutes, so everyone had to either vacate the premises, or go to their rooms. If we'd been informed, particularly about the food situation, we may not have booked to stay there under the circumstances.

    Lovely accommodation in a lovely village. Very close to where we needed to be the following day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.1
    Great restaurant, bad room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was tiny. One of us had to sit on the bed whilst the other moved around the room. Could not use the tea/coffee making facilities because you couldn't sit in bed to drink it due to the sloping ceiling. There were no chairs in the room (because they wouldnt fit) so no point in making tea.

    The meal was delicious and the wine list very good. The staff were really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    a modernised ' auld inn'. lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast , scrambled egg, creamy it was not. The food, in general, like the interior design, apart from the bedroom and front bar, was a bit too contemporary for me, not too my taste . Other diners appeared to enjoy the experience.

    Beautiful bedroom, comfortable bed. The front bar room was cosy like a sitting room. Lovely fireplace.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.9
    Lovely, comfortable and welcoming place to stay with great food and beer.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only concern was the noise - quite a lot of traffic noise from the main road through the old single glazed window. The bar/restaurant downstairs was busy and quite noisy until about 11.30 but still managed to sleep well on both nights.

    Lovely old pub in a lovely village. Stayed in Room 2 - a little compact but very well appointed and comfortable. Dinner very nice both evenings, good draft beer and very attentive, efficient and friendly staff. Would stay again when in the area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.5
    Fantastic food and staff and very cosy decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no mention prior to booking that the drainage from the shower/ toilet was on a pump and therefore made a very loud sucking noise upon being used.

    Fantastic food and staff and very cosy decor.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.9
    Excellent staff - every one of them. A nice tucked away b&b with a good bus service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had Room 8 and you could hear everything from the flat above, even talking and particularly toiletry habits!!! Not a huge problem for us as the couple above were hardly in their room but would hate to experience how noise small children would make.

    Lovely breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    Really comfortable - a lovely inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A pasta dish/less 'grown up' options on the dinner menu for children would be handy, but staff happy to let us order two starters for children instead of mains.

    Great gastro pub with food, friendly staff and family suite with bunk beds great with a large master bedroom and a shared family bathroom. Dinner excellent (if menu a little grown up for children under 12).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Unfortunately due to the location of our bedroom we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately due to the location of our bedroom we were kept up until 0100 due to staff talking and clearing up. Also woken early by this. So we didn't really get a good night sleep.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.2
    Great location with good amenities and nice bar and of course nice staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom really tiny

    Nice atmosphere, friendly staff, opportunity to try a couple of gins in the bar, located in a nice little village close to Canterbury nicely furnished room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent food, comfy beds, very friendly and helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was a bit dated, but beds very comfortable.

    Arrived just after kitchens had closed but the very friendly staff happily organised food for us, which was of an excellent quality.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    6.3
    beds where comfortable, and the breakfast was really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was small for the money, which we understand for a grade 2 listed building. Sound travels massively around the hotel. Was disturbed every morning at 6am with banging of pans and staff shouting. Seems to either be no sound insulation. Someone was above our room every morning at 630 we guess they where practicing ballet as it felt they were going to come through the roof

    beds where comfortable, and the breakfast was really good. staff where very friendly and very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely B&B with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. The only gripe, which wouldn't affect deciding to stay again, was that there was no sugar in the room, which we didn't notice until the morning when we were going to make a coffee.

    Very tastefully decorated and clean. The staff were excellent at check-in as well as at dinner and breakfast. The bed was comfortable and even though we had the small double room it was fine for the one night's stay. The dining room was pleasant and sitting in the conservatory for breakfast was a delight. We could not fault the meal service; the staff were all very attentive. The food was excellent at both dinner and breakfast. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.3
    Very enjoyable and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little warm at night, partly due to the muggy weather but also small windows meant not much air could get through.

    The bed in room 6 was very comfortable although it did fill the room. Staff at breakfast were very pleasant and happy and willing to please.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    The Dog at Wingham
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The venue closes early on a Sunday 2100hrs!

    The Dog at Wingham was perfect for what I required. The venue its self was delightful, nice bar and restaurant area. Good selection of Gin's on offer! The room was small but had everything in it. The bed was very comfortable and the duvet was great. Breakfast in the morning was very nice - good coffee. I did not have dinner but friends ate there a couple of weeks ago and rated it highly. Parking was easy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.2
    Staff were very friendly had a great banter going with our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly had a great banter going with our group. Lots of laughs had. Great team. Our room was very comfortable and just what we required although beju.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.3
    Charming and quaint!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room is very small. Bit hard to navigate with a single large case.

    Very modern room and ensuite. Very friendly staff and there is a wonderful restaurant downstairs. Breakfast choices were basic but delicious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms we had were a little on the small size but the pub is very old so there would be nothing you could do about this, however, they did have everything you need as a guest. We found the wine by the glass prices to be on the high side for a village pub.

    The staff at The Dog were very friendly & helpful. The pub was immaculately clean, with really nice furnishings and it has a really lovely beer garden. We stayed at The Dog twice, once on the way to France & again on the way back and the beds were incredibly comfortable after a long journey. The bedrooms had everything that you could need and the breakfasts were superb. We wouldn't hesitate in recommending it and will certainly stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.9
    An extremely pleasant overnight stay, couldn't have asked for anything more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warning about how compact the small bedroom with its doubl bed was!

    Staff very friendly, welcoming and efficient. Food excellent Beds comfotable Decore lovely

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay at this amazing pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access to some of the room might be a little difficult for anyone with mobility issues as the stairs to our room were very steep, however, I'm sure this can be resolved if mentioned at the time of booking.

    We were greeted warmly on arrival and although we were early, were advised that our room would be ready shortly and we could have a coffee while we waited in the garden. Our room, although small was absolutely lovely. All the amenities you could wish for and beautifully decorated. We had our cocktails (vodka martini and gin and tonic from a local Kent distillery) out in the garden and then were shown to our table in the dining room. Nothing prepared us for the excellent meal we enjoyed - the food was simply outstanding. After a very comfortable night, we had a delicious breakfast served in the conservatory, said our farewells to the staff and left, knowing that we will definitely be back if we are in the area again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room very small for four nights before booking contact the Dog they will be more than helpfull

    The staff are what makes the Dog helpfull and very friendly. The Dog is very well appointed both inside and out very comfortable the breakfasts are superb.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.2
    The bed was extremely comfortable, and the room very clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plumbing of the wastes in the wet room had been a bit badly designed / installed so any time you used the shower or basin it sounded like a duck being repeatedly strangled. Hosts are aware and there is a sign advising of it, I found it quite funny but I can see that some guests would be mortified it must be quite loud outside or below the room.

    The bed was extremely comfortable, and the room very clean and very tastfully decorated. Onsuite wet room was a nice size and again very clean. Above all the most important bit a very good night's sleep was had.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.2
    Ideal locationfor a short stay in Kent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kids room (1) had a steep flight of stairs, but it wasn't a problem for them, but it was a bit tight in the room. We had room (6) so we had quite a bit more room.

    Staff were attentive and helpful. Rooms were clean and well appointed. The whole place seems to have had a recent overhaul and is well decorated and clean. Beds were very comfortable. Good and varied choices for breakfast, but we didn't eat here as we had travelled down for a wedding, however the menu did look good. I would recommend this for short stays near to Canterbury and surrounding areas. If you are staying longer I would make sure you try and get one of the larger rooms. We did book quite close to our arrival date so room choice was limited.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful old building renovated excellently with lovely staff!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was a lot smaller than expected Not a lot of floor space No room to iron in th the bedroom??? Th bar prices were a little over priced! Bathroom door had mind of its own

    Thank overall layout of bar restaurant and garden was beautiful Th. breakfast was perfect

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Hidden gem in the country
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More toiletries in the bathroom. More milk pots.

    Attentive but non intrusive staff. Very comfortable bed. Very relaxed atmosphere. Lovely garden. Best of all the food was absolutely first class.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    lovely and clean , and modern very friendly staff ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and extremely warm

    lovely and clean , and modern very friendly staff , breakfast was extremely nice , good location , would highly recommend

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.5
    Stay at the Dog
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small which I wasn't aware of, for the price I paid I wouldn't have booked if I knew the room would be so tiny.

    Staff are very attentive and the food in the restaurant is excellent

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay at The Dog
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful bar area and restaurant. We stayed in suite 7, and were very pleased with the space and comfort. We had dinner with our stay, and the food was very good, as was breakfast. The staff were most attentive. Fantastic selection of Gins here, so this place is a must for gin lovers!! Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.2
    Staff, ambience,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food service was poor, my sole and my potatoes were swimming in Butter although tasty was not what I liked. Breakfast took an age to arrive that said my Scrambled egg and salmon was Excellent and worth the wait.

    Staff, ambience,

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little compact. My partner wasnt impressed with the ale selection in the bar- v limited. Table in restaurant next to kitchen wasn't the best position as v busy traffic through this door all evening by the waiters - spoiled the atmosphere a little.

    Lovely little room. Beautiful comfy bed. Lovely modern ensuite. Great food in restaurant with good service. Great breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    8.8
    Good rooms, Good food, Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in room 2 which is right upstairs from the bar so sadly it was very noisy early in the morning from before breakfast when it is getting prep work. It would benefit from an extra door on the bottom of the stairs but I don't think logistically that is possible. There was also a lot of water noise from a pipe they have said they are fixing. I hope they meant that because currently we could hear every time the family room used the loo or shower.

    This is a lovely pub for a one or 2 night stay. The rooms are very modern and clean and the bed was very comfy. The food in the restaurant is very good and all the staff were lovely.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    10
    Fabulous find
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where's the house dog??!

    Relaxed, happy vibe on a very busy Saturday evening. Whole team helpful and friendly. Delicious dinner at short notice when the place was already packed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    10
    Definitely worth a visit .....
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While eating breakfast the management were sitting in the same area using laptops and having business conversations. I would have preferred to have kept the area for guests as it did feel a little as if we were in the middle of a business meeting.

    The staff were extremely attentive throughout our visit.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    8.8
    Great stop over after a busy day
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was some noise from the pub downstairs, but this did end before I went to bed.

    Welcoming staff, small but extremely comfortable double room, great shower, lovely surroundings.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    10
    FAB U LOUS, as they say on Strictly ...
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole place is beautifully renovated, it is very stylish and comfortable. Staff are very helpful and keen to please. Food in restaurant is fabulous.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    9.2
    Would most definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the room was quite noisy from the busy road and the water pipes

    As soon as you walked into the bar area you felt a warming, cosy and friendly atmosphere. Staff excellent and the food was 10 out of 10

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    Fantastic, loved every minute
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negatives at all - fantastic place to eat, drink and stay.

    Just returned from a weekend away and loved every single minute. Me and my husband stayed in the four poster suite and it was amazing. All the staff was so friendly and accommodating, really couldn't do enough for you. We ate in the restaurant on Saturday night and the food was superb as was the breakfast on Sunday morning. Can't wait to go back. A big enormous thank you to The Dog, Wingham.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's a fire exit light thing above the door which was pretty bright and made it a bit harder to fall asleep...

    Food was amazing, staff were friendly and bed was very comfy!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    7.5
    Breakfast included and really looking forward to it as have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room slightly small

    Breakfast included and really looking forward to it as have already had great lunch and dinner in the past but had very late night locally and didn't make it!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    10
    The Dogs Bollocks
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely no comment,😫😫

    Everything at the dog had the feel good factor,from reception to laying your head on the pillow,I booked a room for one night although I was working in the area for three days,meaning I'm not committed to staying any longer,well I'm only too pleased that they could accommodate me for the next two days,in the past seventeen years I've been through the pits and the greats,the dog is in my top two after the warm welcome from all the staff and family members that make up a fabulous team,the meals are cooked to perfection,the atmosphere in general from locals is brilliant,if a lady traveler was home alone she would feel safe,the staff would make sure of that,it's been a long time since I've had no negatives to say,so I'm back next week for another three days, A Big Thank You To All The Staff And Family Members 👍 🎩 I take my hat off to you

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Set in a lovely little Village, Nicely presented with friendly staff and very good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff were really friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Overnight for business, I prefer to stay in the smaller hotels.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was no so big, ample for one person but would have been a squeeze for two.

    Really friendly country pub. Great staff and food was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.5
    P
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    P

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    An excellent break from London
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lounge area needs to be bigger.

    The friendly atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Staff where great, looked after me in a friendly and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff where great, looked after me in a friendly and professional manner, food was great! Happy to recommend The Dog to anyone! 😎👍

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Ideal for a quiet relaxing break without the kids! We will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the main road - it didn’t bother us as the window was closed

    Comfy bed Nice bar area, very relaxing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.2
    very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise reds in bed room

    Bed was very comfy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    Excellent staff and property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff and property

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.2
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Impeccably clean rooms Awesome breakfast - go for the full English!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food expensive

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    A nice hotel in a nice area and very good and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too small for a couple otherwise spot on

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Our stay at The Dog at Wingham exceeded our expectations by a "country mile"!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant provided one of the finest suppers we had anywhere in the UK. A truly outstanding meal with superb service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    Great location and character. Excellent service,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was rather small.

    Cleanliness and character.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small

    Excellent location. Very clean and tidy. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.1
    friendly and comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room noisy

    decor and outdoor spaces

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    A hidden gem found
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.2
    Superb room, huge bed, lovely decor and impressive breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb room, huge bed, lovely decor and impressive breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.8
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 1 too small for 2 persons Dangerous stair Wifi connection via Facebook

    Friendly staff Excellent food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous find to eat, drink and sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful building, tastefully decorated. Amazing team of staff. Beautiful food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    The staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful room, excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Narrow selection of vegetarian breakfast.

    Beautiful room, excellent staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were anazing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Extremely helpful and friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely helpful and friendly staff!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.2
    All round good b and b pub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in far too slow.

    Rooms were lovely. Bar was quaint. Breakfast was delicious and well presented.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Fabulous hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The team are wonderful and make you so welcome

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.6
    Great room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Special location in a quiet town. One thing to be aware of is it's a small town restaurants close early!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Lovely place, friendly staff, would definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were really comfy and the rooms were all presented beautifully. The food and drink were amazing too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    10
    Stay here its fab
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything top class please call me to get payment for carpet clean

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    7.9
    The breakfast was great, really good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was great, really good choice

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.1
    Compact but beautiful room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Housekeeping on 2nd day - bathroom not cleaned. Dinner menu - some choice not value for money

    Very comfy bed. Fantastic breakfasts.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    8.3
    Recently refurbished to a high standard, rooms excellent but a little small, quality food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    rather slow service in the restaurant but probably not usual as we arrive before the allotted time

    Food excellent

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    .There was nothing not to like.

    Excellent Master Suite. Very Comfortable Bed. Very Welcoming Staff. Decor Was To a Very High Standard.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: