Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dog & Partridge Hotel by Good Night Inns 3 stars

High Street, Tutbury, DE13 9LS, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Tutbury

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 298 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    Good value stay in a historical building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet seat was little wonky!

    Very good value hotel in a great location if you need to go to the castle. Lovely room with gorgeous beams. Bed a little firm for me but great bedding.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Everything was very good, staff were helpful and cheerful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in room 2 and the lighting outside the room was very poor, difficult to find the key hole.I requested a non slip bathmat but it never arrived.

    Everything was very good, staff were helpful and cheerful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    Room had plenty of character and even had aircon which is...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A heck of a lot of stairs anoying if you have lots of bags. Menu and breakfast was a little standard and no room service. Bed a little hard and had a dirty tea cup in my in room tea coffee pack

    Room had plenty of character and even had aircon which is hard to find in a period pub! Staff were friendly and helpful. Nice selection of beer. large car park, good sized desk in room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, friendly staff & a classy traditional spacious bedroom.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to find a fault with,

    I have stayed at the Dog and Partridge a number of times and I like the old England feel to the building. Tutbury where the Dog and Partridge is located is a quiet place to relax away from the hectic urban world,.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    Great stop off in a lovely little village with a bit of history!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    For us, the restaurant was a bit of a let down - bottles of vinegar on every table didn't help. Some of the food was very good, but some also very mediocre. The rest of the place felt like it should have been more "gastro". Friendly staff made up for it!

    Lovely room, hotel had plenty of character and history, and lots of the original features had been maintained. Staff were great - very friendly and helpful. Wines very good value with a couple of stars in a relatively short list.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    10/10 YOU MUST STAY HERE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic old style pub, excellent location in a very quiet village with plenty of local shops. The food at the restaurant was 10/10 it was lovely along with the accommodation was excellent, the staff was very friendly from the moment I walked in. I wouldn't give this place a miss. And I'd definitely consider returning again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location and accomodation, good base to travel from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mirror in the bathroom not light enough to shave, dull lighting.

    Friendly staff, always happy to accommodate.Good choice of food. Great place to stay,would return again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Staff were very helpful and pleasant, I felt that they went...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was a little disappointing. There was lots of choice but the freshness was an issue. I would have had the crumpets but they were stale and rock hard as though they had been out for a few days. I ended up having poached eggs on toast which were ok.

    Staff were very helpful and pleasant, I felt that they went out of their way to address any issues and would go back to stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable in a nice village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ran out of loo paper and only one towel provided in the room. On oversight ,I think.

    We loved enjoying a glass of wine On the garden terrace at the end of day. Dinner was was also very enjoyable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Excelloent value for money and if you want a great night sleep you have to try the new mattresses
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't fault anything

    The girl on reception was very engaging throughout our stay and I had the best night sleep in years with their new special mattresses that they were in the process of installing in all rooms - bliss.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    We LOVED the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We LOVED the place. We were there 51 years ago for our wedding and it has seen two renovations in that time. However, the original building has lost none of its 15th century charm. We were even "kidnapped" by a few of the local folks after the D&P bar was closed for the night. And made our way to another local pub. Our only regret was we didn't stay at least another week. Plans are in the making for a rematch next year. GO MIDLANDS!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    Location perfect, building impressive and worth eating in the restaurant. Service not perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service under-par. Ordered drinks with desert that never came, cups/milk in bedroom were not replaced so I had no drinks on day two and other small things that added up to not quite as good as it should have been.

    Period Building, lovely bedroom and dining rooms with exceptional outside spaces. Food in dining room and the breakfast were excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable stay decent parking , very busy hotel in the evening but very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing wrong was 3 tea bags for 2 people seemed silly but just bought our own.

    The staff were very friendly & helpful nothing to much trouble . Food was lovely we had breakfast & evening meals .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.1
    Stayed many times before and it has been good. This stay was dissappointing.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening meal not good. Forgot starter, offered main course before starter- rejected, after starter main course was not good. Got 1 person out of 3 puddings wrong. Waiter needs a pad and pen rather than try to remember meals for 3 people.

    Comfortable bed. Very clean room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    we loved the history of the building and the location was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we thought that our bathroom was a little tired and needed an overhaul. the shower rail is rusty and there is mould at the back of the bath taps.

    we loved the history of the building and the location was excellent we loved the quirky nature and character of the hotel. the room was comfortable and our dinner was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.7
    Hotel in a very convenient location. Staff friendly. Hotel needs some TLC to update and fix issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower did not work. Only one hand towel between two adults. Door to room left open by cleaner.

    Staff friendly and offered to change our room when they could not fix the problem with the first room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    We like to thank all the team from the chef, to the house team but especially to Grace and Jacob .
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We so enjoyed our stay, having got used to the hot water sink tap that ran rather slow that yes we will return.

    My husband and I were made to feel so welcome. Being a hotel / pub and restaurant we were able to not only have breakfast (included in the hotel rate) but to have a lovely evening meal and drink before retiring to bed. The hotel is wonderfully and charmingly old, which means yes there are stairs instead of a lift, beams and uneven floors, we loved it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable place to stay with plenty of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Dog and Partridge is an interesting place to stay, given the age of the place it has a certain quirkiness that is charming. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. The restaurant serves a commendable breakfast and very good evening meals at a fair price. This is the second time we have stayed here and it was noticeable that it had been spruced up without losing its character.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.3
    Staff were quick to adapt restaurant bookings and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Of the three double rooms I booked, two mattresses needed to be replaced as they were insubstantial and lumpy.

    Staff were quick to adapt restaurant bookings and accommodate us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    A good pub stay, food very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress in Bedroom 1 could do with an upgrade. It was not terrible, but a good mattress sells any hotel room.

    Staff were very helpful. Food great. Room a good size.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel with friendly staff, in a location that quietly civilised.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I like to old world feel of staying in this Tudor Style Inn. All the rooms I have been accommodated in are comfortable, especially after a busy day. The manor house style with wood panelling is pleasant on the eye.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Uncomfortable bed. Wifi in room very poor. No room service which is painful when travelling alone. It desperate need for some TLC - carpets worn etc. Food was ok in resturant, but no more than OK

    It is a good location for my work

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.6
    Apart from the problem with soap our stay was very short but I have no complaints
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no soap in the bathroom the shower curtain was very difficult to manipulate without flooding the floor, we ask for Some more soap but none was forthcoming and eventually went to the shop opposite to buy some

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    5.0
    Expensive B and B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel more like a B and B. Initial impression good as not been for many years , but average when look deeper. Everything average really Service , cleanlinesss. Food ok !! Staff could do better service !

    Food ok.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty carpets in restaurant. Breakfast rather slow . Cleaner vacuum cleaning noisily around the room during breakfast.

    Querky. Comfy . Food very good. Good value for money. Really nice location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant and comfortable on the whole after a few initial difficulties.
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had set room up for only 2 because the fact that we were bringing children hadn’t been communicated to them via booking.com. One member of staff said that this had happened regularly to those who had booked via booking.com. As a result our 16 year old daughter had a restless night on a z bed. There were a few large cobwebs in the room

    Service was great - very helpful and professional. Bathroom was lovely . Food was good in a calm, peaceful environment.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.8
    Characterful hotel in a charming old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old, historical properly with plenty of character. Charming bedroom. Large bathroom. Comfortable bar & restaurant area with log burner. Pretty town with picturesque castle ruins.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    A great party celebration and comfortable break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lighting too low generally - insufficient to read easily. A number of bulbs out in bedroom and bathroom.

    visit part of a family birthday celebration lunch. Welcome and registration efficient. Service, food and attention first class.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location, friendly staff & a classy traditional spacious bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was my 4th stay at 'The Dog and Partridge Hotel' and I will be returning in the future as I like this comfortable and welcoming traditional English Inn and its location in a quiet English village.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.9
    Great location good size rooms friendly welcoming staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant staff were not as attentive as you would expect. The internet access was difficult and inconsistent.

    Great location good size rooms friendly welcoming staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Lovely, relaxing stay. Didn't want to go home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so friendly and efficient from arrival to departure. The food was lovely and well presented. Will definately stop again and reccomend. Thankyou

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.1
    enjoyable but perhaps more thought given to bedrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in our room was poor, only one bedside lamp with inadequate bulb and no lamp on dressing table so very hard to dry hair.

    Comfortable bed and fairly spacious room. Building full of character. Staff fine.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.9
    Price-Performance ratio is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The mattress was very old and not comfortable at all. It would be nice if they replace it soon.

    New shower fitting, very comfortable to use. Quiet room. Restaurant and Pub is in the same building, so very convenient for an after work drink.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable one night stay after a trip to Alton Towers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family room was nice, but for 4 the sofa bed is rather small. Cannot really fit two on this comfortably, although the main bed was large so our youngest (7) had plenty of room to snuggle in. Breakfast little pricey for what it is. And a few more types of tea in the room would give it a bit more comfort.

    Nice comfortable old coach house. The rooms (well room 6 ) is modern and well furnished, the bathroom is clean, and plenty of hot water. Food in restaurant was good, and the staff were all very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely stay and wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lighting in Room 1 is quite limited which made getting ready to go out a little more challenging but it was manageable.

    Comfy bed, lovely decor, very helpful staff, nice food and drinks in a beautiful old building

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The filthy carpet on entry to the dining area quoted by previous guests still there! Instant coffee at breakfast disgusting and disgusted. Only basic green apples/oranges for fruit, bread tasteless. Appear to be using basic ingredients to increase margins. It was always far better in the past. Won't be going back!

    Great staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Great old pub would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a lame affair No water in urn and a tiny toaster with a very small heating element Had to wait for ages for it to heat up Had to wait ages for hot water Little things but niggly things on a Sunday morning

    Good value maybe a touch too expensive for a pub Good location and happy staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    6.7
    Enjoyed it. But could be cheaper.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower did not drain properly (Room 8) and soap dispenser was empty. Room was expensive (£102) but it was a double, and maybe this price is for double occupancy.

    Good food well served. Nice old-world pub.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    6.7
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains were in shreds and carpet in dining room threadbare in places and stained. There was four of us for a meal, only red meat for roast left and we only eat white meat, blackberry and apple crumble sold out, very disappointing, we weren't very happy

    Bed very comfortable, clean and very quant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent rooms and a generally pleasant place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Delayed service in receiving our evening meal, but the hotel was busy.

    The excellent accomodation and the ability to check out at 11am. I like the old style of the inn with its modern comforts. Tutbury is an nice mid English village and the farmers market when we arrived was an added bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.5
    Quaint and representative of an English pub.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was very slow. 2 hrs for dinner. The carpet in the dining area is filthy with spills and stains and needs to be replaced.

    The Food was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    A very nice quiet hotel with a fine restaurant. A good place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the interior of the restaurant is a bit worn but not worth a worry.

    The hotel is very nice, in a great old building in a quiet area. Easy to find and the restaurant is very good. The room was very nice, comfortable and clean. The staff was outstanding and friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.3
    Nice enough, with a little more work, it could be great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed in room no.5 needs new mattress, not comfortable at all. In the bathroom only 3 of 9 LED ceiling lights were working. That made the rate feel expensive for what was on offer.

    Staff were great, friendly and helpful, location is very good, right on the High Street

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    6.7
    Friendly staff, character property and dinner was great.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needed upgrading. Grouting very stained. Cooked breakfast poor quality & overpriced.

    Friendly staff, character property and dinner was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Great location in a quiet high street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only criticism about the whole place was the really filthy stained carpet in the dining room.

    Great location in a quiet high street. Easy access to the castle and church. Characterful bedroom and huge bathroom. Loads of free parking spaces. Very friendly staff and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.1
    Dinner and a night away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was very thin and not very comfortable. No complimentary biscuits on the tea tray, or bottled water. Young staff standing around chatting by the dinner check in area didn't look professional.

    Large clean bedroom. Bath with shower over. Decent cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.7
    The staff were friendly and understand after a long day of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been a bit cleaner

    The staff were friendly and understand after a long day of traveling and Alton towers and the room was nice and bed comfy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    5.4
    Very dissapointing regarding breakfast and the unfriendly approach of the receptionist .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The receptionist who was on duty each morning and served our cooked breakfast on the first morning seemed cold and unwelcoming, Although the bathroom was clean, the area around the shower could have been cleaner.

    The bacon was cold and almost raw making it inedible, creating a possible health hazard. The bread was left uncovered and had become dry. We had to make our own tea and the water was from a flask and not hot enough. Very poor for the amount we had to pay, especially as I had only rice crispies on the last morning and my husband had nothing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful English pub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't eat the fish. Fish must of been frozen and batter ridiculously thick.

    Beautiful English pub. Gorgeous village . Pimms drink excellent, loads of fresh fruit

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    4.6
    Disappointing and overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very hard, the room was quite dusty and the bathroom needed lots of tlc. The TV was temperamental in the room and we had to go right up to it to change channels, most of which kept losing signal. The service at dinner was terrible and we expected much better for the cost of the food and drinks. We waited around 30 mins for our main course despite it not being very busy and had to ask for dessert after about another 30 mins of waiting. I ordered a Calypso coffee at the bar after the meal and again, waited about 15 mins for it. Very overpriced overall and wouldn't recommend to anyone.

    The building is stunning and full of little quirks and lots of character

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect for what we needed. The restaurant looked that good on arrival we stayed for lunch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the front of the hotel and on the main village road which at some points during the morning were noisy.

    The room was massive and extremely comfortable- an added bonus was a refrigerator in the room which we found useful. The wooden beams in the hotel made it feel cosy. I really appreciated them extending my check out until noon.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly the property had not been maintained and is in much need of maintenance both major and minor. Our room was spacious but nothing about it was welcoming. Broken window pane, dirty unusable shower, lights not working, light fitting fell out of ceiling narrowly missing me using bathroom. Duty manager very apologetic about the latter but seemed surprised about the other matters when I reported them. Despite being in need of major works the rooms could be kept clean at least. We have stayed in dozens of pubs over many years but lack of investment from breweries is only pushing people like us towards other accommodation ie Premier Inn and their counterparts who can at least deliver a clean room each and every time. Get your act together Greene King, this pub deserves some TLC to preserve it rather than a demolition order or conversion to a block of flats.

    Lovely old inn in the main street of Tutbury, good location with parking at rear. Rooms looked good on website and had at some time had been refurbished to a good standard. Staff in restaurant were pleasant and service reasonably good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable bed and dark room when curtains drawn to allow...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no "fruit salad" for continental breakfast, which I was looking forwards to with yoghurt. A fruit basket is not a freshly prepared fruit salad. Disappointed.

    Comfortable bed and dark room when curtains drawn to allow for a nice nights sleep

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.3
    Convenient for my purposes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast didn't start until 8am but we needed to leave at 7.30am so can't comment on it, although I had thought that I saw a box on screen when I booked saying breakfast included?? Visiting relatives near by so only had a drink in the bar which was enjoyable. Would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.1
    Good service in the restaurant.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bill for the meal charged to the room was not itemised on the invoice and could not be checked by the management at check out or later. Will not be charging any food or drink to the room in future. Advise any guests to do likewise to avoid mistakes.

    Good service in the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the small things that let the experience down, no spare toilet roll- which we needed. No one answering the phone so we ended up going back down stairs. Cheese board was very very poor quality once we finally got it!"

    Room was nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.8
    Historic pub with lots of character and friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought the bedroom windows could have been opened before my arrival as it was the middle of a heatwave and it was quite warm in there for the first hour or so!

    Lovely old part of the building with stairs and passageways, couldn't hear any noise from the busy bar and dining areas. Large and leafy car park.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.9
    Could not connect to the Wifi and carpet in dining area is...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not connect to the Wifi and carpet in dining area is dirty looking and needs changing also bed mattress needs changing worn. The shower cubical tile grout is stained brown so needs refreshing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyable few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Booked the executive room but could have done with a standard room on a lower floor . The stairs were very steep and uneven .I understand that the property is very old but the condition of the stairs presents a real risk of injury.

    Old historic hotel . Comfortable room and hearty breakfast .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.8
    Old coaching inn in a picturesque village
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar closing early.

    An old coaching inn in a lovely quiet village. They have a great selection of spirits and a varied menu. Ample parking and the rooms are so good you hardly want to go out. Except for the fact that there are lots of great cafes and an excellent community run antique store.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    7.5
    Food to die for , lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service was a little slow even though the place wasn't overly busy. The room was obviously going to be old, we expected that, but the maintenance wasn't good, places had been filled in and not painted, there were electrical cables showing in the bathroom near the shower. The shower was basic. The tea/coffee tray was inside a cupboard which was very dark, there was a light but it didn't work. There were only two sachets of Nescafe and two tea bags which is the least we have ever had in a hotel. There were 4 sachets of milk at the very back of the fridge which had obviously been there for some time. We could probably have gone down to reception and asked for more but we shouldn't have to, especially at the price we paid. In the bathroom there was an empty roll on the toilet roll holder when we arrived. We paid £134 for our room and it was not worth the money. I hate having to point out negatives as the staff were all lovely but if it helps improve the hotel it is worth it.

    We had a two course evening meal at the onsite restaurant and the food was the best 'pub' food we have ever had, we would return just for the food! The breakfast, both hot and cold was good too, the sausage on the breakfast was delicious, not the cheap mush you get in some places. The staff were friendly and professional, a great asset to the hotel and restaurant. The hotel was old and quaint with original windows, large wooden beams and sloping floors, lots of character.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    6.7
    great location for a drink, but don't have any breakfast
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paying two different prices for the same room over two nights, having to use a toilet with a broken seat despite reporting it the first night, and having a sub-standard breakfast on the second visit, inedible sausages, a bowl with two apples and an orange in it described as a 'fruit salad' , and luke-warm watery coffee

    the staff when we checked in on both nights were great, nothing was too much trouble and they were friendly ,efficient and attentive to our needs

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.2
    Lovely establishment...much more preferable than a premier Inn!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy bed bathroom could do with shower regroating as it was yellow and old. Restaurant very busy when we got there but we still had excellent service from friendly attentive staff. Food was good...hot with decent sized portions.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.3
    Great quirky hotel not far from Alton Towers
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not so comfy, rooms got quite hot couldn't open windows wide enough to get a breeze so used air. In which was noisy

    Quirky building, very friendly hospitable staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.2
    Perfect for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is amazing!! So comfortable. The staff were so accommodating as we were traveling with a baby and a toddler, the room was very comfortable for all of us. The large bath was perfect to soak off some jet lag

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    5.0
    Dated facilities and not as shown in photos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated facilities, not evening a kettle, cup or glass in room. Bathroom dated. I would certainly not call it an executive room. Very disappointing.

    Old building and nice location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.2
    Wedding weekend in Derbyshire
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing I liked everything and already planning a return for the christening of our child.

    the room was well provided with iron, kettle the chairs were comfortable alot of space beams, nice carpet warm comfy the shower was huge and nice. We booked seven rooms and all our guests were impressed and happy - even our english friends! The breakfast was plenty, and a good range to choose from. We had a meal one evening and 'Oh that was really nice, as this turned out to be the best stag and hen night provided by the bestman'

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.6
    fantastic food second to non, bedrooms spot on good size...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    when we first arrived (around 6pm straight from a long day at alton towers) we felt a little looked down on as if we wasnt "the type" to stay there other than that no complaints

    fantastic food second to non, bedrooms spot on good size great comfort

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    4.2
    Not to be repeated!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty grout in bathroom, Uncomfortable bed very'!! poor quality of food especially for the price! Very awkward position of bedroom! Had to go up three flights then down a very narrow flight! Staff very off hand! Will not be back!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    5.8
    Tired and in need of outside repairs and an internal refurbishment.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Dog and Partridge was a big disappointment considering our expectations for a discounted 2 night stay. It was not the bargain we thought we had. I opted for a full English breakfast asking that the bacon must be crispy and the tomato well cooked and soft. The bacon looked as if it had been steamed and my tomato was raw. The instant coffee you had to make yourself, hot water being in a pump container. Not good. I had to ask for juice glasses. There were no breakfast staff on duty. The manager served our breakfast and occasionally came into the room but never asked how our meal was. The fruit bowl contained three perished grapes two apples and two oranges. The worst thing we encountered was a blocked drain outside the rear,only,entrance for resident guests. The pathway leading to the residents' entrance was broken and very uneven with a muddy deposit not far from the door which had to be crossed to gain access, it stank and when I brought it to the manager's notice, it did not really concern her.

    Origins of a 15th C Inn with additions. We were really looking forward to a stay in such a place. The food selection was very good and we were not disappointed with our choices for lunch and dinner on the first day. Tutbury Castle ruins were nearby and later on the second evening we enjoyed the hospitality of the locals in the Cross Keys PH. The beer was excellent as was the food which was specially prepared for us out of hours.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    10
    Great room. Great service. Great food. Would definitely stay there again and totally recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't log on to wifi despite having their information. Couldn't get a mobile phone signal either but suspect not the hotel's fault. Was told by local residents that the area has really bad reception.

    Room was larger than expected. LOVELY comfy bed. Breakfast was excellent. Staff helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    9.2
    Just another business trip became a bit special
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Castle and museum were both closed throughout the 3 days. The menu looks good on paper, but did not quite live up to expectations with a few items overcooked. However, it wouldn't stop me going again.

    Quirky and charming building and room. Friendly staff and atmosphere. Lovely area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.3
    Full of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parts of the hotel were a little tired & worn - the bathroom needed a bit of diy. Character more than made up for this though.

    The hotel was full of character - quirky with lots of lovely nooks and crannies. Quite steep stairs but all part of its charm. Room was spacious & quiet. Big bathroom but lacking in toiletries which was a bit disappointing. Good tea making facilities, ironing board etc. Breakfast was quite good value as was the evening meal. The pies were fabulous!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    6.7
    Far more expensive than other local hostelries that included breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought I had booked bed&breakfast but it turned out we had to pay for breakfast,the main advert does not make this clear. Only one bath towel in the room,one water cup and a cold shower.

    The serving staff were very good especially the young ladies

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    9.2
    Unique hotel, giving great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No non-slip mat in bath. Although one could be available at reception....I did not go and get it in my birthday suit!!!! Mold in sealant around bath (room 3.)

    Central location, great character building. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: