Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dolphin Guesthouse 3 stars

151,Columbus Ravine, Scarborough, YO12 7QZ, United Kingdom

#10 of 86 B&Bs and Inns in Scarborough

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 236 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Excellent stay & weekend at the dolphin house we shall be coming back 👍🏻
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great facilities & very comfortable & clean with very friendly staff who was very helpful to us, excellent breakfast & had an excellent weekend 😃👍🏻

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    The reviews for Gary are well deserved
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms we had were very clean excellent service from the host Gary and a very good breakfast each morning to start our days service from the young lady in the morning was good also a credit to the guest house very polite . lots of extras in the rooms nice biscuits and as a bonus traditional sweets and mints . Both rooms cleaned to a very high standard each day. Gary gave us a parking permit which let us park near by . Thoroughly enjoyed our stay Thank you

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Home from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like home from home, Gary is the lovely and very welcoming. Great breakfast. Brilliant location, would definitely recommend and we will be returning in the near future.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    It was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    none

    We like the welcome we had Gary asked if we like a drink which was very good, The food was great very thing you had was cooked fresh. The room are very comfort. Gary was always smiling. we had a great time and will go back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    This is a lovely home from home guesthouse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a lovely home from home guesthouse. Basic and a little dated but it was extremely clean , tidy and comfortable. Made to feel very welcome by the owner Gary, who is a very friendly and cheerful man who cooked an excellent breakfast. If I go back to Scarborough would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Excellent will return in the near future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing to dislike

    The welcoming was excellent from arriving at the door to leaving and on arrival we were offered refreshments before being shown to our room which was spotlessly clean and very comfortable Breakfast was outstanding

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast was very good and set you up for the day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. And you got fresh towels every day. And you got a jug of fresh milk for your tea in the room if you asked for it.Only down side was the tv couldn't be moved and it was on the wall above the wardrobe and it didn't tilt enough to let you watch from the chairs . But we would go back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't want to come home.

    Gary was brilliant, he was very helpfull with everything from warming my little boys bottle to warming his food thanks again Gary and the staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.9
    Brilliant place to stay, excellent hostand close to all attractions on the north bay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room had the bath/toilet outside our room (it was private with keys with us to lock it and was mentioned during the booking), which was a bit difficult but we knew what we got when we booked it.

    Gary welcomed us and gave us a lot of info about the area and how to get about and helped us plan our time there. Breakfast is not just a set of corn flakes or toasts. A full english breakfast and it is cooked with care and a lot of attention.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    Owner extremely helpful with everything without being...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Owner extremely helpful with everything without being overbearing. Top floor room a bit of an issue as I have had a knee problem however he carried my bag up to the room for me.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Friendly owner, nice accommodation, great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gary the owner was very friendly and helpful. The location is close to the beach. The accommodation was clean and breakfast delicious. I can recommend the Dolphin Guesthouse.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    We would love to return. The welcome was warm and friendly and we had a comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service from start to finish was exceptional, quick responses to emails, from being offered a cup of tea and coffee on arrival, being very helpful with directions and suggestions. The bedroom was lovely, very clean, comfortable bed and well laid out. Breakfasts were good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Really nice place to stay staff were friendly and welcoming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Really nice place to stay staff were friendly and welcoming we slept solid for 12 hours breakfast was fresh and well Cooked would highly recommend

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    We were offered a lovely spacious family room as no twin...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were offered a lovely spacious family room as no twin room was available. Nice and light and airy, nice decor. Gary suggested coming straight to the guesthouse to take advantage of the parking he offered, which was a nice touch. He was very friendly and chatty. Will 100% stay again 😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Owner extremely professional and very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking for Scarborough Guest Houses is a nightmare but disc system is an improvement as there is priority over day guests.

    Owner extremely professional and very welcoming. Breakfasts well cooked and a reasonable choice. Newly managed cafe/restaurant nearby where the menu is limited but very good home made food with gluten free options.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    I have to say that Gary is a number one in the service he is providing guests with.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to say at all

    Our staying was just amazing.We have never had such a pleasant time as we had with Gary. He is an amazing man very helpful. He is literally taking care of every single thing. Everything was clean and has been changed after our use. I have to say it was just unbelieveably amazing from the beginning till the end of our staying. Thanks Gary, Peter&Anna

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    A lovely comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The accommodation was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast perfect! We were made to feel very welcome by Gary who had thoughtfully bought our children Easter eggs, which was such a kind gesture. We were centrally located for most attractions and saved some money on entrance too thanks to the vouchers again supplied by Gary.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    I highly recommend the Dolphin Guesthouse!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had an excellent room at a really great price, with lovely amenities, wonderful service and hospitality. Everything was of a high standard, including the breakfast, and I really enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Warm welcome from Gary showed us to our room and made us a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking can be difficult at times but we can live with that and it's free with a permit which Gary supplies.

    Warm welcome from Gary showed us to our room and made us a nice cup of tea after a long drive to Scarborough. This is our second visit to the Dolphin Guesthouse and we look forward to returning in the future, very clean and Gary looks after you very well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Gary the owner was so friendly and welcomining he made me feel like a frind rather than a guest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    N/A

    The spaciousness of my room was a huge surprise. Solo travellers normally get a box room with a single pine bed that creaks every time you move. I had a double divan bed that was very comfortable and a huge en suite bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Breakfast perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to improve on.everthing was well catered for.

    Breakfast perfect...location perfect and free parking .gary the owner was a credit to his guesthouse.we will be returning for definite.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed 2 nights for New Year’s Eve it was central for us & easy to find. The room & bathroom was spacious with toiletries provided & nice white clean towels, breakfast was very good & a good host. We would definitely stop here again & would recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Clean welcoming and just brilliant very happy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was perfectly laid out for family. We were able to watch the tv while the children slept at other part of room. It was all very clean. Spotless. The breakfast was brilliant. But the host was incredible. He made us feel so welcome. He was fantastic with my young children. And small thing but first breakfast I left my tomatoes second breakfast they weren’t on plate. Brilliant so attentive. Had a lovely stay. First experience of bed and breakfast and it’ll be hard to beat. Thank you.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Gary the owner was hospitable and nothing was too much trouble. Good location and wholesome breakfa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No high chair, so bring your own. We just used our car seat so no problem.

    Lot's of drawers and space for luggage. Room comfortable and good breakfast. Great location short walk from the North shore, Open air theatre and Peasholm park. Clean room with toiletries and tea/ coffee making facilities, even a jug of fresh milk if requested. Thank you.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Very clean throughout the property, comfortable bed and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I could not fault any of it

    Very clean throughout the property, comfortable bed and pillows, excellent en suite.. The owner Gary made me feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Superb cooked breakfast. Parking permit free of charge.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing despite our bathroom being separate it was immaculate. VERY clean.

    Gary was a fantastic host. Bless him he even got out of the shower to replenish our sugar and milk. We would definitely stay there again he gives a value for money stay. PS the breakfast was delicious.x

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for money and enjoyed stay at the The Dolphin Guesthouse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have visited The Dolphin the last few years. Very happy with the service we had and Gary was always friendly and happy to help if needed. Nice cooked breakfast, a good choice of cereals, toast, and drinks.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely guest house and great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one small quibble, I'm quite a big lad and found the double bed a little small albeit very comfortable

    The owner Gary was very friendly and accomadating,, had a bottle of bubbly in a bucket of ice waiting for us on our arrival, along with a birthday card for my wife. Breakfast was also very good. We enjoyed it so much we will be going back and with the kids next time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.9
    Fabulous stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a bigger bathroom with a bath but that is just my preference.

    Absolutely lovely stay with fabulous breakfast and wonderful host for which nothing was too much trouble. Comfy beds and lovely clean room, linen and towels.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    We booked the Dolphin based on other reviews and were not disappointed, a very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were happy with everything

    I requested a non standard item and the request was met with no problem and a cheerful response. Room was comfortable and pleasant as was our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic location, really lovely host and a really comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the room with the bathroom outside the room, this wasn't a problem for us. Might want to provide bigger towels as some people may prefer to get dried and dressed in the bedroom.

    Gary is a lovely, attentive host. The location is perfect, I took my 8yr old daughter to a concert at the open air theatre and it was great being able to take a short walk back to the guest house afterwards. Fantastic fish & chips down the road too, best in Scarborough.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.8
    Stay at the Dolphin was very enjoyable and would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was hard

    The owner was really nice, friendly and helpful, very kind man, the breakfast was lovely the place wa comfortable homely tidy and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic - would recommend to anybody
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I travelled with my dad and grandparents and all of our needs were well accommodated. The manager/owner was extremely welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. He was very knowledgeable about the area and offered us leaflets containing discounts for local attractions. The rooms were very nicely decorated and the beds comfortable. The whole place was very clean and tidy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.2
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head was practically vertical & couldn't be altered so it made showering a little difficult.

    The owner was exceptionally friendly & we felt very welcome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    Cliff concert Scarborough
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything. Gary the boss was so helpful and went above and beyond what he needed to do Very comfy room. Lovely breakfast. Impressed with little extras Toiletries face cloths biscuits and chocs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    A lovely relaxing time at The Dolphin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bedroom floor had some squeaky floorboards, but that was part of the charm we thought.

    Gary the owner was a very pleasant character, and nothing was too much trouble for him. He cooked a lovely full English breakfast every morning, and put fresh biscuits and chocolates in our room every day. We were provided with a free parking permit for the duration of our stay, and always found a free spot after we had been out for the day. It was ideally situated for a restaurant with good food at reasonable prices, a lovely park, open top buses to south bay, and a train to Sealife on north bay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.8
    The decoration of the room was very homey and bright.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a strange smell in the bathroom but we kept the door shut so it wasn't really noticeable because we got used to it!

    The decoration of the room was very homey and bright. Very simple with some really nice decorative touches. The bed was really comfy and spotlessly clean, so was the rest of the room. The bathroom was small but a perfect size for a couple. I strongly recommend this guest house!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Excellent Excellent Excellent A+++++++++++++++++++
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was perfect. Amazing host, room, breakfast, just perfect. We went for my boyfriends 30th and Gary the owner sorted 30th banners, chilled bottles of bud and Prosecco and chocolates on our arrival. Just perfect, didn't want to leave. A+++++++++++

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Fantastic B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only criticism (and this really could be my problem actually) are the pillows were too soft for me and I didn't sleep as well as I normally do. My family did though so maybe I am too fussy? If I am the only person to say this then ignore me or if not maybe have a couple of spare 'firmer' pillows in the room for choice?

    We were not expecting the added bonus of a free car-parking space so we were well chuffed. This is a lovely B&B, clean, good price, within walking distance of so many amenities and a good breakfast as well! Whats not to love? The owner is a really nice chap too, this is our go-to B&B when we got to Scarborough again - deffo! Thanks

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Friendly, clean and very welcoming with an excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all was good

    The Dolphin was a wonderful b&b Gary and his lovely staff were friendly and very professional it was a pleasure to stay and I would highly recommend this accommodation

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gary was such a nice host. He greeted us with a smile and that never left him. As soon as we arrived he made us a cup of coffee and then helped us to our room with the bags-a thououghly decent chap, nothing was too much trouble! I couldnt fault the cleanliness of the rooms, and the breakfast was excellent, will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    10
    A wonderful 2 night stay, parking, wifi, breakfast gorgeous, staff really welcoming, professional,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to add here, No negatives at all, everything was wonderful

    The breakfast was lovely, the plate nice and hot, everything you need to keep you going for the day,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Welcoming, comfortable and clean guesthouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower in one of the rooms was a little temperamental, otherwise everything was very good and the positive features far outweigh this minor point.

    The owner was welcoming, friendly, helpful and professional. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. The service from all staff was very efficient. Breakfasts were well-cooked and could be enjoyed in a lovely atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    10
    Great time at the Dolphin
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to find fault with.

    The family room was well designed and not too cramped. The bathroom was a good size and there was plenty of hot water. Breakfast was well cooked and well presented. There was no yoghurt or fruit but a variety of cereals was on offer. I think it would have been possible to have a more continental breakfast but only by prior arrangement. The host was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    10
    Fantastic place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Gary was the perfect host and the breakfasts were superb. Nothing was to much trouble for him. I would recommend the Dolphin as a great place to stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    9.6
    Exceptional guesthouse, warm, cosy and welcoming. Good location, handy for everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very spacious room, lovely and warm. Excellent hearty breakfast. Friendly cheerful owner Gary obviously enjoys looking after his guests., made to feel very welcome. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    10
    Very welcoming host, nice coffee, and eggs cooked to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower pressure bit low and not boiling hot but it wasn't a major issue

    Very welcoming host, nice coffee, and eggs cooked to perfection, great breakfast and very clean, special diet catered for, would definitely recommend

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    8.8
    nice place. excellent owner. a good seaside location.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gary, the owner, went out of hus way to be accomodating. Lovely gentleman. Helpful in every way. Full marks. There was more than enough Breakfast. Restaurants, shops, park and beach within a short walk.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    8.3
    Value for money break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't very comfortable the mattress could do with being replaced.

    The cleanliness throughout the hotel and the quality toiletries also the chocolate mints are a nice touch. Gary is a excellent host who endeavours to make all his guests welcome.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    8.8
    Overall a nice place , clean and good food too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A gap in the window and it was sticking slightly also bathroom door needed adjustment as it was jammed a little .

    Staff were very good and extremely helpful and facilities were very good too..It was convenient for the Peahome park and town too.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.6
    Home from home! Very comfortable with everything you need for a perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath towels could have been bigger but other than that a very comfortable and friendly place to stay.

    A very well located guest house with lots to do within walking distant. The family room we stayed in was spacious and as the kids had a sort of separate room they thought was great! The guesthouse was exceptionally clean and rooms were thoroughly cleaned each day. A fantastic cooked breakfast was served daily which set us up for the day as we set out to explore the surrounding towns. Gary was very friendly and had a mountain of information to share about places to sight see in the area and also further a field. We have already started to plan our next visit!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    9.6
    Gary and his staff were extremely friendly and went above...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gary and his staff were extremely friendly and went above and beyond to ensure our stay was perfect.Great breakfast, comfy beds,spotlessly clean. Couldn't ask for more.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    10
    Enjoyable short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like the host and other guests very polite and friendly,will stay here again.

    Very very clean,lovely room and a great breakfast to start the day 🙂

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    Great time in scarborough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I suffer bad knees and there were quite a few stairs to climb although our host did carry the bags up for me and he did offer to change the room for a lower floor one there would still be stairs . This would be the case for most guest houses though so not really a negative

    Choice of cereals were good host was friendly, polite and helpful he was very welcoming . Breakfast we quick and hot.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    9.6
    Highly recommend for a relaxing break away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Gary,the owner was very attentive and always on hand if needed,even providing us with a local map and marking the quickest way to town. Clean, comfortable rooms,full breakfast.A relaxing break away.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    10
    Excellent Guesthouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Gary and staff were excellent, Nice friendly welcome. Very pleasant and helpful. Could not ask for better. Guesthouse was nice and clean. Will definitely be going back.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    10
    Excellent value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing, it was excellent all round.

    The service and facilities were second to none. They started breakfast early to accommodate my early start, the room was spotless and they were very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    9.6
    Great value for money,Gary the owner so very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few minor things but for the price of the stay no complaints

    Gary the owner was so at tentative, nothing was any trouble to him,requests,help,etc, the room was very clean and had lots of touches associated with a high class hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    10
    We travel quite a lot and never get to meet owners usually,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We travel quite a lot and never get to meet owners usually, the fact the owner is on hand constantly and so helpful and couldn't do enough this place really is an hidden gem x

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    10
    Value for money welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything and more rooms excellent size compliment tea coffee facilities wifi, bedside lamps are touch lamps, hairdryer, radio alarm. You can have a morning call if you want , lounge area which you can use, beautiful full breakfast cereal toast full English juice tea coffee, any question and Gary can answer or help with , any request he can help . We like the room 6 which is a nice sized double and comes with its own private bathroom next door with bath and shower lots of clean towels and complimentary toiletries. Parking is road side but Gary will give you a parking permit for the duration of your stay. Don't think for the price that he charges you would be disappointed If your thinking of coming to Scarborough or surrounding area give Gary at the dolphin hotel a ring and see if you can get a room Excellent bed and breakfast hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    9.6
    Overnight stay with free full English breakfast as part of deal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to park in nearby street but was given free parking permit for use which did compensate for this.

    En suite in room, very friendly owner, quiet guests, good location to faciliities including Peasholm Park, miniature railway, Sealife Centre and a 400 yd walk to pubs and town centre shops.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    10
    Excellent friendly clean property. 100% recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fault.

    Gary the owner and his staff (especially Jasmine, as my daughter is named the same) were very friendly, polite and we were made to feel very welcome. Gary always showed an interest in what we had done or had planned. The property was exceptionally clean, very handy for Peasholm Park and the Beach. Whilst there is no parking at the property all guests are given a parking permit for the roadside where there is ample (safe) room. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend or book this property again. Thank you for an enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    10
    Fantastic relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't find fault!

    It was comfortable, ideally situated value for money, proprietor Gary was warm, accommodating friendly and welcoming. We would definitely make a return visit.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    10
    Made to feel very welcome throughout our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing to dislike at the Dolphin Guesthouse for us.

    Having read the reviews about the Dolphin Guesthouse it is difficult to wright something that's not already been said about Gary and his team. We were looking for somewhere affordable to stay 10/10, Clean 10/10, excellent food 10/10, customer service 10/10, location 10/10 everything was 10/10. On arrival at the Dolphin guesthouse we were made very welcome, Gary made us a pot of tea which we did not expect but was a nice touch also carried the bags to our room , throughout our stay nothing was to much trouble for Gary and his staff, the next time we are visiting Scarborough we do not need to do any searching the Dolphin guesthouse ticked all the boxes for us.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly atmosphere, close to all attractions. Thank you to Gary who was very hospitable and attentive and made us feel very welcomed. Breakfast was excellent. Family room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    10
    Ideal location close to most things you want to do stayed in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Ideal location close to most things you want to do stayed in a family room and was great fresh towels and cups every day the staff were amazing and breakfast was really nice gary and his team bent over backwards to help and always asked if u had a nice day really interacted with the kids will definitely stay again

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    10
    Very close to everything we needed for the weekend owner was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to everything we needed for the weekend owner was very helpful with local knowledge and took an interest in what you were doing my kids loved it

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    9.2
    A very enjoyable stay I would definelty recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The en suite was small and the wash basin was in the bedroom but we managed ok as everything was very clean

    Garry was very friendly and the breakfast was good quality food .The cleanliness was superb Gary also carried our cases to the room and gave us a pass for free parking and it was ideal for the cricket

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    9.6
    Clean ,convenient BnB with a good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient 10min walk from the station,5min walk from Peashome Park.. Gary the owner very helpful and pleasent. Toiletries and a hairdryer in the room . We liked the chocolate left for each of us everyday.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    9.2
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable, clean and friendly owner, breakfast was great Couldn't do enough for you Even got me soya milk without asking when he queries about why I have no cereal

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    10
    Perfect attentive host
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    smallest change move TV to on wall

    Garry was the perfect attentive host.Comfy pillows makes a real change Very knowledgeable and informative even down to prices and times on busses

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    very friendly will definitley be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very friendly will definitley be back

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly owner, good location, spotlessly clean, great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent host couldn't have done enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent host couldn't have done enough

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff very welcoming and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: